Page 1

Spring/Summer2018

Island Envy Double K hosts beautiful day

Celebration of the Century

Castle Farms gears up for 100th Anniversary

â–· northernMIweddings.com Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 0430.indd 1

1

4/5/18 1:30 PM


PN-429623-1

WED-2018 0430.indd 2-3

PN-424802-1

2

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

PN-429623-1

3

4/5/18 1:30 PM


On the cover

FinePearls

Next issue Publishes October 2018 Contact Molly Hauxwell Currier, editor mcurrier@petoskeynews.com

NORTHERN MI

Weddings

Editor Molly Hauxwell Currier Writers/contributors Alexandra Myers Savannah Kolacek Schlehuber Design & layout Wendy Wolfsen Renée Tanner Contributing photographers Alexandra Myers with The Weber Photographers Captured By Grace Photography Chris Van Winkle Photography Cory Weber with The Weber Photographers Jenna Borst Photography Morning Light Photography Paul Retherford Photography Paxton Photography Ryan Gearhart of North Star Photographs Stephanie N. Baker Photographer Tatum Photo and Design Advertising Christy Lyons, Advertising director clyons@petoskeynews.com Jennifer Foley, Advertising manager jrfoley@petoskeynews.com

Northern MI Weddings is published by Northern Michigan Review, Inc., 319 State Street, Petoskey, Michigan 49770

PA XTON PHOTOGRAPHY

Elizabeth Blair

Sarah and Spencer Bondy on their big day. Photo by Ryan Gearhart of North Star Photographs

Publisher Doug Caldwell

AREA PHOTOGRAPHERS:

Send us a CD or flash drive of your best wedding shots to use in the next issue of Northern MI Weddings

Sara Smith ssmith@petoskeynews.com

Send or drop off to: Northern MI Weddings, 319 State St., Petoskey, Michigan 49770

northernMIweddings.com

The Grand Unity Event Center & Sweetwater Catering Creating Exceptional and Memorable Events

GRAND UNITY EVENT CENTER

Dressing bridal parties for ten years! PN-319305-1

115 W. Main Street | Harbor Springs, MI | 231.526.7500 westmainpearls.com | ElizabethBlair.com Member Cultured Pearl Association of America american Gem Society

4

WED-2018 0430.indd 4-5

Northern MI Weddings PN-450273-1

www.knightsofcolumbusonthebay.com www.grandunityeventcenter.com • 231-347-4461 Northern MI Weddings

Established 1984 www.sweetwatercateringcompany.com • 231.347.5998 5

4/5/18 1:30 PM


â– WEDDING SHOWCASE orthern MI Weddings sponsored a wedding showcase with a team from The Talcott Event Center in Walloon Lake, Michigan, in January this year. More than 20 vendors from the area went above and beyond to set up stations displaying their work and giving couples more of a hands-on show full of on-site examples compared to the usual expo experience. The boutique event got positive feedback from vendors and attendees alike.

PHOTOS BY ALEX ANDRA MYERS

make wedding day memories... on Northern Michigan’s

Newest & Largest

Trolleys!

Alcohol allowed on trolleys

www.mackinacoldtimetrolley.com

call 231-818-0468 for reservations & rates!

PN-441823-1

6PN-442703-1

WED-2018 0430.indd 6-7

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

7

4/5/18 1:31 PM


SUMMER 2018

Creating food as

beautiful as the bride

14

(well, almost). Weddings

Lovely day at Double K

ReheaRsals shoWeRs day-afteR bRunCh

Laura

Jake

PN-435984-1

pRivate venue spaCes

&

26 231.347.0101

Romantic island wedding

WINEGUYSCatErING.com

Zheng

8

Northern Weddings t h R e e R e s ta u R a n t s | o n e R e m a R k a b l e C at e R i n g e x p e R i e nMIC e

WED-2018 0430.indd 8-9

Northern MI Weddings

&

Vinny

9

4/5/18 1:31 PM


33

Mackinaw City

Prep work

Renovated Spa at the Inn at Bay Harbor

The Ideal Getaway

CONTENTS

Décor Floral trends for 2018

31

Inspiration The art of invitation suites

35

Menu The Bow Tie Baker

37

Advice 2018 bridal makeup trends

41

Trends Keeping up with the ‘in’ thing

46

Your First Sunrise As A Married Couple

10

WED-2018 0430.indd 10-11

Wedding Dining For Over 200 Guests

APPAREL..........................................................................................34

FROM THE EDITOR........................................................................13

FLOWERS........................................................................................36

FOOD AND DRINK.........................................................................19

DETAILS..................................................................................38 & 40

SERVICES AND RENTALS....................................................... 20-21

PHOTOGRAPHY.............................................................................42

MUSIC..............................................................................................30

VENUES.....................................................................................48-49

Intimate Lake Setting

231.818.0468 | mackinaw-city.com | mackinawgroups@yahoo.com

PN-441831-1

Beautiful BeachfrontViews

WEDDING SHOWCASE................................................................... 7

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

11

4/5/18 1:31 PM


Vacation MACKINAW

FROM THE EDITOR

Bringing the big day into focus

PROPERTIES

edding season is here again! While we love the beautiful winter and fall weddings, June is definitely the true “wedding season” and with a new year comes a new batch of original ideas from this year’s crop of couples. If you were “Pinteresting” last year in preparation for the big event, you may have seen a flurry of doughnut walls, backless dresses and metallic stationery but it’s how you incorporate the trends into your day and make it your own that will make it memorable for you and your guests ... and the vendors, too!

TATUM PHOTO AND DESIGN

CONTRIBUTORS

Alexandra Myers

Alexandra Myers is a Petoskey native, graphic designer, photographer and actress. Whether it’s creating, capturing, or being part of it, her passions will always lie in the arts.

Chris Van Winkle

Northern MI Weddings sponsored a wedding showcase at The Talcott Event Center in Walloon Lake, Michigan, in January. With more than 20 top-tier vendors participating and bringing their ideas to life in front of a crowd of about 150, it was amazing to see the enthusiasm on both sides of the table. Couples working with the vendors and the back-and-forth conversation about their ideas for the day was inspiring. It’s such a creative process and it was great to see guests and professionals connecting.

GROUP RATES for Weddings

Of course, the real magic comes from seeing everything come to fruition. After all the planning, blood, sweat, tears and money, the masterpiece is complete and you see what was in the mind’s eye of the planners. Some start planning at childhood, some gather ideas from friends’ weddings and others rely on the vendors for their expertise but it always comes down to a memorable day for those involved. I can’t wait to see what fun ideas, photos and looks come from this year to influence the next wave of duos celebrating their love in their own style.

Molly Hauxwell Currier

800.647.8286

Molly Hauxwell Currier Northern MI Weddings editor mcurrier@petoskeynews.com

800.633.1515

Chris Van Winkle is a former menswear executive turned wedding photographer. He shoots weddings six months out of the year and travels for six months. Follow him on instagram @ chrisvanwinklephotography.

Stephanie N. Baker

Stephanie N. Baker captures portraits, weddings and travel images around the world from her home base in Harbor Springs. In addition to her photography business, she also owns Gather, a new DIY art studio in Harbor Springs.

PN-427835-1

12

WED-2018 0430.indd 12-13

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

13

4/5/18 1:31 PM


■ LAURA

&

JAKE

Lovely day at Double K

Laura

& Jake

Story by Molly Hauxwell Currier Photos by Stephanie N. Baker

ows written by Laura Baker’s uncle, Tom Muth, during her wedding to Jake Drier tell the story of a couple’s journey to the altar and the romantic and sometimes realistic path modern love takes when couples are separated by distance but reunited in love. Laura Baker The couple and Jake Drier originally met in 2011 and Boyne Falls, through jobs, Michigan moves and two starts, the couple finally found themselves together despite being separated by living in different states in 2014. During a trip to Jackson Hole, Wyoming, in February 2016 Jake popped the question on the top of a ski hill with a photographer at the ready. “Remembering an awful family picture from a similar ski trip when I was much younger, I wanted no part of this. I finally caved in and next thing I know Jake is down on his knee. The photographer was in on it so we got great pictures to relive every moment,” said Laura. When it came time to choose a wedding venue, they credited their start together in Michigan with bringing them together and decided to make it part of their big day. “Having been to Northern Michigan many times, we knew it would be a beautiful backdrop for our nuptials. With friends and family spread out all across the nation, no matter where we had the event, CONTINUED ON PAGE 16

14

WED-2018 0430.indd 14-15

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

15

4/5/18 1:31 PM


■ LAURA

&

Resources from

JAKE

&Jake's wedding

Laura

Continued from page 15 guests would be required to travel,” said Laura. On June 17, 2017, the two gathered family and friends at Double K Estates in Boyne Falls and as the rain clouds parted they pulled off a very special day. With Muth officiating, reciting their own vows and near perfect weather, the couple was able to heed advice from their married friends, take it all in and not worry about the day being perfect. In fact, a problem with a dysfunctional iPod led to one of the day’s best memories. “During the dance with my dad the song suddenly shut off and there was no music, leaving my dad and I awkwardly dancing to no sound. All of our guests started singing “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay” and shortly after the band picked up their instruments and played the song,” said Laura, “I later learned that they didn’t know the song at all, but improvised perfectly. Who knew our friends and family could carry a tune? They turned a technical glitch into a very special daddy/daughter dance.” Minor glitches aside, the couple felt fortunate to have so many friends and family members with them for the day. “There was love all around — not just between Jake and I, but in bringing two families together. I could not have asked for anything more,” said Laura. The couple recently moved to Seattle for Jake’s job and currently enjoy being Pacific Northwesterners, who do not miss the Midwest’s snowy winters.

Photography

Invitations

Stephanie N. Baker

A Milestone Paper Co. in Minneapolis, Minnesota

Videographer Trosper Productions, Holland, Michigan

Catering

Betsy Petersen, Etsy

Crow’s Nest, Harbor Springs

Wedding Planner

Cake

Smitten Events, Janelle Warnemuende and Ellen VanderZee

Assortment of desserts from Simply Sweet by Jessica in downtown Petoskey

Music Bluewater Kings, Detroit

Dress Monique Lhuillier

“There was love all around — not just between Jake and I, but in bringing two families together. I could not have asked for anything more.”

Save the Dates

Hair Karissa Burkee, Northern Michigan

Makeup

Flowers Smitten Events, Northern Michigan

Venue Double K Estates, Boyne Falls

Rentals Rental Express in Indian River, American Rentals in Traverse City and Serradella Vintage in Charlevoix

Blushed by Amanda Buckingham, Northern Michigan

— LAURA DRIER 16

WED-2018 0430.indd 16-17

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

17

4/5/18 1:32 PM


■ FOOD/DRINK

TATUM PHOTO AND DESIGN PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Small Wedding Packages Private natural setting near Walloon Lake with lodging and food service on site.

PN-439710-1

elvynlea.com 231/535-2475 www.facebook.com/elvynlea

BIRCHWOOD FARMS GOLF & COUNTRY CLUB

HARBOR SPRINGS, MI

• Small & large events • Convention room that seats up to 500 in convention room • An arena that will seat over 2,000 • Kitchen Facilities • Room layout ideas • Linen rental available • Pipe & drape rentals to customize the arena

PN-428681-1

WED-2018 0430.indd 18-19

231.526.2166

I

WWW.BIRCHWOODCC.COM

Just as you Dreamed

We have everything you need to make your dream celebration come true.

www.littlebeararena.com

CEREMONIES I RECEPTIONS I SPECIAL EVENTS PN-330746-1

18

I

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

COURTESY OF WEBER PHOTOGRAPHY

19

4/5/18 1:32 PM


■ SERVICE/RENTALS

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

TENTS, TABLES, CHAIRS & MORE

PN-439707-1

P a r t y & W e d d i n g T e n ts Te n t H e a t e r s Va r i e t y o f Ta b l e s & C h a i r s Fine Linens Lighting & Fixtures Barbecue Grills D.J. & Dance Floors Catering & More!

Cheese • Catering • Special Events 440 E Mitchell • Petoskey

PN-442700-1

The full-service rental company you can rely on.

(231) 753-2805

C a l l (2 31) 54 7-9 733 Today! c har le voix te nt.c o m

We enjoy helping you with the details of your wedding! From large to small … Taylor Rental has it all:

‘I do’ like we do

.

• Fine China - several patterns • Linen Tablecloths • Stemware & Flatware • Tents - Assorted colors & sizes • Lighting • Crystal & Glassware • Chafing Dishes • Banquet & Round Tables • Chairs - white wooden, chivari • Dance Floors

Teents,, Tables & Chaiirs Restroom trailers

No one helps you say

Beautiful sailcloth tents now available.

Complete line of wedding rentals including upscale restroom trailers. We’re more than just products at work.®

PN-333377-1

RENTALS • SALES SERVICE

20

WED-2018 0430.indd 20-21

1436 S. Straits Highway • Indian River • 231.238.9696

WWW.RENTALTIME.COM

1888 E. Mitchell Street, Petoskey

(231) 347-1840

taylorrentalpetoskey.com PN-326019-1

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

21

4/5/18 1:32 PM


Jordan Valley Barn

Blue Sky Barn

Elmira, Michigan 231-714-4582 • blueskybarn.com

East Jordan, Michigan 231-714-4582 • jordanvalleybarn.com ON-SITE GUESTHOUSE

22PN-329141-1

WED-2018 0430.indd 22-23

Northern MI Weddings

ON-SITE GUESTHOUSE Northern MI Weddings

23

PN-329146-1

4/5/18 1:32 PM


Military meant to be

moved forward without them. A friend stood in for Ryan during the rehearsal and Taylor’s mom called the Minneapolis airport and was able to have his connecting flight delayed so he could make the flight back in time for part of the rehearsal. By the next morning, with travel nightmares behind them, regular wedding day nerves set in. “Upon arriving ... at the Castle, the sky had grown gray and I started panicking about the rain ruining my perfect day. Long story short, it starts raining during our pre-ceremony photos, but it blew over quickly and we were able to have the perfect ceremony I dreamt about. Being able to have my dad walk me down the aisle is something I will hold close to me forever. He really has beaten all odds and expectations against this disease, his will and determination far exceed anyone else I’ve ever met,” she said. Ryan was impressed at the extent everyone went to for them. “I speak for us both when I say that Castle Farms and our vendors put on a display for us that wildly exceeded our expectations. The food, décor, scenery, atmosphere, just about everything they

touched turned to gold. We couldn’t have been more pleased with the final result,” Ryan wrote. The couple consider themselves so lucky to have the experience. Taylor is currently helping care for her father in Michigan as his disease has progressed and Ryan is finishing up his enlistment and will be back in Michigan soon. “Reminiscing back on our wedding day now still feels like an absolute dream come true. As this year’s contest just recently concluded, I can remember every single ounce of excitement and relief Ryan and I felt, knowing we were going to give our families this beautiful experience they can hold near and dear forever,” Taylor said.

Resources from

&

Taylor Ryan's wedding Date June 18, 2017

Venue Castle Farms

2018 free wedding winners: - Sam and Katie

Catering

- Connor and Natalie

A Matter of Taste

Find out details about both couples on Castle Farms’ Facebook page, www.facebook.com/CastleFarms

DJ Entertainment Ryan Rousseau Enterprises

Floral Story by Molly Hauxwell Currier Photos by Paxton Photography

very year Castle Farms gives away a free wedding to one lucky military couple. With five years behind the tradition and a stable of vendors willing to donate their time and efforts, the wedding, which is free to the couple, is one of the highlights of the year for the venue and the couple, full of gratitude, love and celebration. There was no exception for 2017 winners, Taylor Ramsey and Ryan O’Byrne, both active duty in the Navy. Taylor’s submission was chosen out of a selection couples. And her story of falling in love with Ryan is enough to melt even the biggest cynic’s heart. “Ryan was an energetic, thrilling and extremely handsome guy that everyone loved to be around. I had my eye on him since day one! I have always been someone who isn’t afraid to go after what I wanted, but any time he looked my way I could feel all of the blood in my body, rush to my cheeks,” Taylor wrote about meeting Ryan while stationed together in Pensacola, Florida. “I was addicted to his smile and contagious laughter. We had both recently ended our long-term relationships and wanted to take it slow, but that was far from the case. I fell madly in love with Ry.” 24

WED-2018 0430.indd 24-25

After a brunch date that led to a over a year of dating, Ryan proposed on Christmas Eve 2016. “The house was illuminated by candles, everywhere! There were photos of us and notes all over the place, saying sweet things. A

handpicked playlist of a few songs was playing in the background and a path of rose petals lay on the floor, leading me to the bedroom. When I opened the door, Ry was standing in a circle of candles and he asked me to dance. We danced to “Crash” by Dave Matthews and after it ended he got down on one knee and proposed. I immediately said yes!!” Taylor wrote. During the exciting and romantic time for the couple, Taylor’s dad was dealing with adenocarcinoma, a type of esophageal cancer. After a lengthy surgery with promising results the family was hopeful about the outcome. Unfortunately, it didn’t last long and a CT scan to examine a string of headaches revealed 13 tumors in his brain and a diagnosis of terminal illness. “In December we cruised to Mexico for an “End of Life” celebration, where Ry and dad developed a special bond and he gave Ry his blessing to marry me,” wrote Taylor. The importance of having a wedding where Taylor’s father could walk her down the aisle became a priority and luckily the couple won the contest and were married at The Castle in June 2017. Despite the groom’s travel plans causing everyone great stress — canceled and delayed flights caused him and a groomsmen to be stuck in Virginia the day before the wedding — things Northern MI Weddings

A Touch of Spring and Other Things

Hairstylist Last Tangle Salon and Tanning

Hotel Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Officiant Northern Michigan Ministers

100 years of Castle Farms This year Castle Farms is celebrating its 100th anniversary. What was once a dairy farm became an art mecca, then hosted large rock concerts, and now is one of the premiere wedding venues in Northern Michigan. It is safe to say that Castle

Farms has a lot of history to share. Join the fun on July 3, 4 and 5, 2018, to celebrate the different eras, with themed days including a peek into the past, kids day and music. Visit CastleFarms.com/Centennial for more details and ticket info.

— Amanda Brown, marketing and public relations at Castle Farms Northern MI Weddings

Photography Paxton Photography

Photo Booth Shutterbooth

Videography 97 Films 25

4/5/18 1:32 PM


&

■ ZHENG

VINNY

Romantic island perfect for an intimate wedding

Zheng

& Vinny

By Molly Hauxwell Currier Photos Chris Van Winkle Photography

hat started as an office romance for Vinny Mirabella and Zheng Liu blossomed among the blooms on Mackinac Island last August during an intimate wedding ceremony involving just Zheng Liu their closest loved ones. and Vinny Mirabella Vinny and Zheng were working at the same Mackinac company in St. Louis, Island, Missouri, when they Michigan met in 2014. Vinny, a native of St. Louis, and Zheng, born and raised in China, had their first encounter over a sushi lunch with coworkers. The lunch led to a date and then dating and finally, Vinny eventually realized what his next move would be. “I proposed to Zheng on the rooftop of a restaurant in downtown St. Louis. I had her convinced the entire day it was just a regular date night,” Vinny said.“I had the host move us over to the fire where champagne and her favorite dessert waited for us. After a few minutes, I got down on one knee and proposed.” Needless to say, she said yes. “I was absolutely happily overwhelmed about everything that happened that night. Vinny is the most romantic and sweet guy I ever met in my life,” Zheng gushed. The couple set out to find the perfect spot for their wedding that would still be close enough to Chicago for Zheng’s family to fly in from China and drive there. “At first, we were thinking an intimate destination wedding with a good driving distance, somewhere breathtaking, romantic and unforgettable, said Zheng. “Thanks to a cousin’s suggestion while researching, we finally set our eyes on CONTINUED ON PAGE 28

26

WED-2018 0430.indd 26-27

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

27

4/5/18 1:32 PM


■ ZHENG

&

Resources from

VINNY

&

Zheng Vinny's wedding

Continued from page 27

Photography

Mackinac Island. It is unique in so many ways — it’s pristine and green, it is a real-life fairy tale place. Ferries, horses and bicycles are the only transportation, it seems as if time slows down to relax in this beautiful place.” Mackinac Island did not disappoint. The couple married at The Inn at Stonecliffe, a historic landmark built in 1904 situated high on the west bluff of Mackinac Island. The ceremony was held in the Woodland Grotto while the reception took place in the Bridgeview Tent all on the inn’s grounds. “The wedding day for me happened so quickly, one minute I’m waking up from bed and the next thing I know I’m standing in front of the inn seeing my beautiful wife in her wedding dress for the first time. It’s an amazing feeling. Having both our full immediate family there was something I will never forget. It took a lot of work to get everyone there, but when I look back, it was completely worth it,” said Vinny. The theme of family ran through the day with only 14 adults and “one cute baby” in attendance, highlights for both involved first and foremost their family and friends. Vinny gives his mom a lot of credit for her hand in planning and helping with the day. Zheng remembers the “heart-warming” speeches given by the best man and maid of honor. She also remembers fondly the horse-drawn carriage ride they took around the island, especially along the lakeshore. “Everyone on the island was congratulating us during the carriage tour!” said Zheng about the island well wishers. Vinny was excited to show off his new moves. “The highlight for me was our first dance, we had been practicing with dance lessons and it was fun to show both families our hard work,” said Vinny. With so many memorable moments it’s no wonder the couple talk about the day so fondly. “This day will always hold a special place in my heart. I can vividly remember all of the faces and events that day. It fills my heart to the brim with happiness. Whenever I think about that day I appreciate my life and loved ones even more,” said Zheng. They now live in the suburbs of St. Louis, Missouri.

28

WED-2018 0430.indd 28-29

Chris Van Winkle Photography

Catering The Inn at Stonecliffe

Cake Bella e Dolce

Music Sylvia Norris, Harp

Dress Town & Country Bridal

Hair “The highlight for me was our first dance, we had been practicing with dance lessons and it was fun to show both families our hard work.” — VINNY MIRABELLA

One month after their August 2017 ceremony in Michigan, Vinny and Zheng flew to China and had another ceremony that included family and friends in Shandong, an eastern Chinese Province, with 1,000 guests in attendance. Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

Vintage Glam

Stationery, Invitations, Save the Dates The Paper Patch

Flowers In Bloom, St. Ignace

Pastor Tom Marx

29

4/5/18 1:32 PM


■ MUSIC

■ DÉCOR

Floral Trends for 2018 By Alexandra Myers

amie Platte, owner and lead creative at A.R. Pontius Flower Shop in Harbor Springs, says the new trend in wedding flower arrangements and décor is leaning more toward the natural, unstructured look vs. the more organized. As she books 2018 weddings, the floral designer is seeing:

Garlands and Greenery “This trend has been seen the last few years and because of how simply beautiful this trend is, we can expect to see it this summer as well,” Platte said.

Installations There are definitely brides out there who are looking to push the limits a bit and go for something unique. Platte says this is true for her brides this summer as she is getting more and more requests for installations. Installations can range from a full flower wall to floras incorporated into the chandeliers or larger pieces for the back of the aisle or on an arch.

Candles JENNA BORST PHOTOGRAPHY

All different types of candles mixed with floral setups are popular for almost any style or season of wedding.

Gold Platte noted that among color trends for this summer, gold is going to be seen a lot more than silver. While green, white, blush and burgundy are still ongoing color trends, Platte says many couples are adding pops of color into muted color palettes which she finds very fun to work with when designing florals.

PHOTOS BY TATUM PHOTO AND DESIGN

Highland Bagpiper

Slow Flower Movement

Serving Northern Michigan since 1965.

Choose from hundreds of traditional, religious or contemporary selections.

Gregor MacGregor

www.bagpipesnorth.com

(906) 458-0999 PN-440463-1

30

WED-2018 0430.indd 30-31

dgmacgregor@gmail.com

231 348 8185 • WWW.PLU-ENT.COM www.petoskeydj.com

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHY

PN-318162-1

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

An up and coming trend Platte sees picking up speed and making its way north is the Slow Flower Movement. “There is a community of florists passionate about growing local flowers,” Platte explains. “This is the epitome of the Slow Flower Movement.” A.R. Pontius started its own Flower Farm last year and Platte says they’re looking forward to a second season of flower farming and using their very own flowers to serve their clients. “We love when brides want to use local flowers, and are so thrilled to be part of the movement as it catches on in Northern Michigan,” Platte said. 31

4/5/18 1:33 PM


■ PREP WORK

The newly renovated

Spa at the Inn of Bay Harbor

Treatment: Northern Luxury, Signature Service By Alexandra Myers

s a first-timer at The Spa at the Inn at Bay Harbor, and a first-timer to any service other than a massage in general, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect. Thinking in true Northern Michigan fashion, I thought maybe they would throw some sidewalk salt mixed with some lavender from Sweetwater Lavender Farm and Petoskey stones from the beach on me, and scrub me down with a high-end car scraper. Thankfully, I was wrong. They use loofahs instead of car scrapers. Of course, I’m kidding. The entire experience was nothing short of magical. The worst part about the experience, was when I had to leave. Disclaimer: If you don’t enjoy feeling relaxed, this is not the experience for you. You could perhaps check into laser tag to prep for your big day. Walking into the spa’s newly-renovated space felt very inviting, calming and cozy. This theme continued throughout my entire treatment. The robe they give me to wear is nicer than my comforter at home. I am quite certain I blacked out for most of the actual treatment. They take you to a warm treatment room, with dim lighting, calming aromatherapy and serene music and then wrap you in warm things. Even the pillow I laid on was made of water. At certain points, I truly could not decipher between my limbs and the warm sheets because my body was so relaxed. I am convinced that the therapists are trained by magical fairies, because this treatment, as I said, was otherworldly. Before you change back into being a normal person, you get to reflect on your experience (for me, my whole life as I was trying to figure out a career path that would let me do this everyday) with a warm lavender towel, a little chocolate and infused water. I left feeling like I had just taken a really long luxury bath. I also got to sit down with Trisha Stefanic, spa group coordinator, to talk about all they offer to wedding parties. They have a large hair

PN-340643-1

32

WED-2018 0430.indd 32-33

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

your body, perfect for the day or week before (I can attest to that and give them my highest recommendation to relieve any stress you may be feeling). The spa also offers all kinds of waxing. Waxing is safe to do up to the day before your wedding. Facials are a little trickier when it comes to timing. Stefanic explained it’s a good idea for brides to start a regiment maybe three months or so before the wedding with maybe one facial a week. Doing so, will prevent your skin from having a strange reaction the day before or day of your wedding. Don’t assume all of this is just for the brides and bridesmaids. Mothers and grooms, The Spa at the Inn at Bay Harbor has you covered as well. Mothers, I have no doubt you have worked hard throughout this process so make sure you treat yourself to a massage, facial, or body treatment. Grooms, the spa offers natural pedicures, waxing and men’s haircuts and, hey, don’t knock it until you try it. And for couples? Why not schedule a couples massage as a send off back home or to the start of your honeymoon.

Stefanic’s tips

and makeup space to accommodate an entire wedding party. It becomes a custom experience for brides and their squad as they can either order food or bring treats with them, choose the music that plays and sip complimentary mimosas. They offer traditional makeup as well as airbrushing. They also offer hair extensions as an option which I am told is important to brides. As far as the body treatments go in preparation for your big day, they offer an incredible variety. Stefanic mentioned a popular combo is a body treatment and a spray tan. The airbrush spray tanning is a great alternative to a tanning bed and the body treatments are like a facial for

— Makeup trials are suggested. Especially if you don’t usually wear a lot of makeup. And if that’s you and you are on the fence about even getting your makeup done, see what they can do at a trial. Their goal is to make you look naturally beautiful and like yourself. — If you are thinking of scheduling treatments for everyone either the week of or as part of the bachelorette party, the more in advance you book, the better. — Keep in mind the hairstyle you have your eye on and consider if the style will call for hair extensions. — When to wash your hair: wash oily hair the day of but have completely dry hair when it comes time to get it styled; wash normal to dry hair the day/night before. — Did you leave a facial product you need at home or in your room? Don’t worry, the benefit of being a full spa and not just a salon is that they can accommodate all your needs. 33

4/5/18 1:33 PM


■ APPAREL

■ INSPIRATION

Dirty Dress?

The art of invitation suites By Alexandra Myers

A-1

The Clothes Post

cleaningg & ppreservation

A-11

Monday-Saturday 9:30 am - 5:30 pm Evenings by appointment

PN-436999-1

326 E. Mitchell Street Petoskey, Michigan theclothespost.com

Ciarra Claire

iin Northern Michigan by

% off

Wedding Dresses October 31, 2018

MORNING LIGHT PHOTOGRAPHY

KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA BOGS • NAUTICA • TOMS • SPERRY • MINNETONKA • TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL LIVERPOOL • AVENTURA • TRIBAL SPORTSWEAR • NORTH RIVER • REEF • ROYAL ROBBINS • MINNETONKA • ENRO • VERA BRADLEY • SPERRY • KÜHL • NAUTICA • KÜHL • ROYAL ROBBINS KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • SOREL • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA • BOGS • NAUTICA • TOMS • SPERRY • MINNETONKA • TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL • LEVI • LIVERPOOL • NOMADIC TRADER • TRIBAL SPORTSWEAR • NORTH RIVER • KÜHL • ROYAL ROBBINS • HABITAT • ENRO • SOREL • VERA BRADLEY • PATAGONIA VERA BRADLEY • TOAD & CO • MINNETONKA • HABITAT KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA BOGS • NAUTICA • PATAGONIA • SPERRY • MINNETONKA TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL • LEVI • LIVERPOOL • NORTH RIVER • TRIBAL SPORTSWEAR • AVENTURA • KÜHL • ROYAL ROBB REEF • WOOLRICH • BOGS • MINNETONKA • REEF KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA • BOGS • NAUTICA • TOMS • SPERRY • KÜHL MINNETONKA • TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL • LEVI • LIVERPOOL • NOMADIC TRADER • ENRO

Bridal Party & Graduation Specialist! Catering packages starting at $6.95 per person! Call us or visit our website for more information. 143 W. MAIN STREET (next to Solli’s)

(989)448-2065

FORGET SOMETHING? OPEN 7 DAYS. PN-440454-1

Facebook

in Northern Michigan by

This coupon must be presented at the time of drop off.

DOWNTOWN GAYLORD!

Instagram

DRY CLEANERS

10

(231)347-4562

Twitter

VOTED BEST DRY CLEANERS

302 Michigan Street I Petoskey I 347-8151

A Menswear Store for Tuxedos & More

ORDER ONLINE THEIRONPIGSMOKEHOUSE.COM

DRY CLEANERS

PN-434767-1

CAPTURED BY GRACE PHOTOGRAPHY

ableau Events and Ciarra Claire, formerly Silver Fox Calligraphy, are two local business specializing in beautiful, carefully designed and timeless invitation suites that are, truly, works of art. Tableau Events is a boutique event planning and design studio and Ciarra Claire is a talented calligrapher and designer offering organic hand lettered calligraphy and made-to-order design services inspired by fine art.

Downtown Charlevoix • Open AllYear 231.547.6361 • www.myclothingco.com

THE WEBER PHOTOGRAPHERS

PN-441837-1

34

WED-2018 0430.indd 34-35

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

Q. You specialize in detailed, unique, heirloom invitation suites. What makes what you do so special and desired by couples? A. “I am so glad that the artisan movement is carrying over into the wedding industry,” said Ciarra Rouwhorst, owner. “In an increasingly digital world couples are craving tactile things, and supporting artists. This couldn’t make me happier. Not only do more and more people want custom artwork and paper goods designs just for them and their story, but they also appreciate the value of handmade goods. I love that I can support other artisans with my business. I always prefer using the best materials, from handmade paper imported from Spain to hand dyed silk ribbon from a shop in Minnesota. One heirloom invitation suite can help support more than five different small businesses and artisans. And each element is unique so no two invitations are exactly alike. It’s this kind of detail that makes your invitations increase the excitement for your wedding, and make your friends and family feel, oh so, special” Q. For those who may not know, what does “heirloom” mean when speaking about the invitations you design? A. “Great question! Definition: something of special value handed down from one generation to another,” said Rouwhorst. “As opposed to inexpensive, mass produced invitations, my invitations are made to incorporate the story of the couple in one-of-a-kind art, such as venue illustrations and custom crests. I also use high quality materials, made to last. Every custom invitation order comes with two keepsake suites, presented in a custom linen

box, lined with antique velvet to preserve your invitations as a mementos for future generations.” Q. Wow, the level of fine art your craft possesses takes the pieces from a way to convey information, into a keepsake piece from a memorable and special day. Where do prices start? A. “My custom invitation suites require a minimum investment of $2,000. However every couple and invitation suite are unique, as is the investment,” said Rouwhorst. Ciarra Claire www.ciarraclaire.com Hello@ciarraclaire.com @ciarraclaire (instagram)

Tableau Events

Q. You have been working with clients and designing weddings and, more specifically, wedding invitation suites for a few years now. What are some trends you are noticing for this season? A. “We’re noticing a trend toward a more refined and simplified invitation design featuring focal point calligraphy, whimsy organic details paired with modern fonts that create beautifully clean lines,” said Sheila Dodson-Wright, owner of Tableau Events. “Patterns and colors tend to be used sparingly as an accent with envelopes, liners and custom monograms. I’m really loving this classic, timeless style for our clients.” Q. I am sure you used a variety of processes and design elements to achieve a classy, yet unique look for each client. Do you have a range of prices for your services? A. Our invitation suites range in investment based on process, whether it’s digital print, letterpress, or foil, and can range anywhere from $8-$18 a suite depending on how intricate the customizations, number of colors and accessory details, and final production process,” said Dodson-Wright. Tableau Events P.O. Box 426, Petoskey, MI 49770 (231) 330-1927 @tableauevents #tableauevents info@tableauevents.com Tableauevents.com 35

4/5/18 1:33 PM


■ FLOWERS

■ MENU

The Bow Tie Baker By Alexandra Myers

aking his sweet debut is Northern Michigan native Tracy Thomson, who has been in the wedding industry for six years as a wedding planner for Stafford’s and Boyne USA. Thomson’s new venture, The Bow Tie Baker, is no longer just a hobby but a growing business. He specializes in custom wedding desserts and more specifically, French macarons. Thomson has noticed a significant trend shift from traditional, large four-tier cakes with elaborate decoration, to smaller cakes accompanying dessert bars as well as a variety of mini sweets. “I’ve seen a lot of couples who want more of a dessert station than just cake that servers bring out, such as mini pies, create your own ice cream sundae station and doughnut bars,” said Thomson. “The fact of it is that not everyone loves sugar. Some people in the summer are trying to be more health conscious and that can be hard to do at weddings.” The mini sweets/dessert bar trend allows guests to grab a brownie bite or cake pop and head back to the dance floor — where the fun happens at the reception.

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Downtown Petoskey 231-347-7770

SPECIAL FLOWERS FOR YOUR SPECIAL EVENT

f

Like Us On Facebook /upsydaisyboyne

Tuxedo rental from Jim’s Formal wear. 5 W. Main Street, Boyne City, MI 49712 231.582.0972 www.upsydaisyflorist.com

Flowers from PN-433028-1

F L O R A L

Jackie Burrell AIFD, Michigan Certified Florist flowersfromskysthelimit.com

PN-441843-1

S

KY’S THE LIMIT

PN-442597-1

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHY

317 East Mitchell Street Downtown Petoskey 231-347-7449 monarchgfd.com

36

WED-2018 0430.indd 36-37

“The great part about French macarons is the ability to customize their colors and flavors,” Thomson said. “Macarons are also a great option as an alternative to a groom’s cake as they can reflect the groom’s favorite sports team without having a large, bright sports logo on a cake that doesn’t necessarily go with the wedding scheme. “Some of the most popular mini sweets for 2018 are cake pops, French macarons, mini cupcakes, mini pies and doughnuts.” For couples who aren’t really looking for the large, multi-tier cake, but also want something to cut that isn’t a pie, Thomson suggests they do a “small 6-inch or two-tiered cake, something really small that they can cut, as it’s a huge tradition and really important for grandparents, and then have the dessert bar, or whatever it may be for everyone else.” Some macaron flavors that are among the most popular for weddings are Tahitian vanilla, salted caramel and chocolate. But couples can always venture into the more exotic with botanical flavors like rosewater, lavender, lemongrass, as well as savory flavors like thyme and rosemary. “Another really fun way to incorporate a groom’s cake, or just for some fun flavors in general, is to use a favorite cereal and incorporate that into the buttercream,” Thomson said. “You could do Fruity Pebbles, Cocoa Crispies, Lucky Charms, really any favorite childhood cereal makes the perfect filling to go into the frosting.” To book The Bow Tie Baker for your wedding, inquire online at www.thebowtiebaker.com, by email tracy@thebowtiebaker.com, or by phone (231) 838-0135.

ALEX ANDRA MYERS

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

37

4/5/18 1:33 PM


■ DETAILS

Your Day. Your Vision.

Wedding and Event Planning, Coordination and Design

231.547.5061

TATUM PHOTO AND DESIGN

From

Simple to

Extravagant...

PN-436121-1

info@merrymkr.com

|

www.merrymkr.com

BJ's Catering

Call today for your personalized quote! BJ'S RESTAURANT, RENTAL & CATERING • 990 N. CENTER AVE. • GAYLORD

989.732.4010

w w w.b jscaterin g.co m • w w w.faceb o o k .co m/bjs gay l o rd SERVI NG ALL OF NORTH ERN M ICH IG AN

38

WED-2018 0430.indd 38-39

PN-332057-1

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

39

PN-330798-1

4/5/18 1:33 PM


■ TIPS

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Last Tangle

■ DETAILS

Salon & Tanning

1516 Bridge St., Charlevoix, MI 49720

(231)547-5555

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Your Vision + Our Experience = A Personal, Meaningful, Unique

Wedding Ceremony

PN-441846-1

Bridal Hair & Airbrush Makeup

CHARLEVOIX

BARBER SHOP

Reverends Judy and Ken Grimes 231-582-2908 kenandjudygrimes@aol.com www.northernmichiganministers.com

HAIRCUTS GROOM & GROOMSMEN GIFTS Call For An Appointment!

(231) 437-3607 PN-437004-1

PN-428686-1

2018 bridal makeup trends

1 OPEN ALL YEAR IN DOWNTOWN CHARLEVOIX 231-437-3425 403 Bridge Street thelakehousecharlevoix.com

NORTHERN MICHIGAN TROLLEY

40

WED-2018 0430.indd 40-41

2

The bold lips meets wine country: The bold lip trend is leaving the vibrant coral and pinks trend we saw in 2013 and has fallen for the moody depths of dark berry and wine tones. We see this trend picking up in our on trend brides as well as our bohemian brides.

3

That red lip classic thing you like: The bridal accessories for 2018 have made a bold presence. Brides are wearing bigger and shinier jewelry on their big day, lending a beautiful harmony to the classic red lip. Muted and natural eye shadow tones give the red lip a beautiful palette for a look that is beautiful and not over done.

4

Smoky fell in love: The smoky eye has made a surprisingly whimsical presence. Soft gray tones paired with a deeper nude lip shade adds a hint of sexiness to an overall natural makeup look.

5

Glowing and radiant: This look is wonderful for summer brides, because if the weather is going to be humid and dewy anyway, might as well embrace it! This look is achieved with shimmery nude toned eye shadows and perfectly placed highlighters.

Savannah Schlehuber, owner of Nakina Artistry, is an on-site makeup artist serving Northern Michigan. She resides in Harbor Springs with her husband and two children and is deeply passionate about family and community. She is continuously inspired by her bride’s natural beauty and the love story between their fiancés. She believes every fine detail should shine and reflect the hearts of her clients and every bride should feel stunning and radiant on the day she marries the love of her life.

CALL US TODAY! 989-272-2588 www.northernmichigantrolley.com PN-437281-1

Brides are taking on the no-makeup makeup trend: We see it on the runway, we see it in high fashion ads, we see it on Alicia Keyes and now it’s taking on the bridal beauty industry. Highly defined lashes, dewy foundation finishes, brushed eyebrows and a defined lip gives a very refreshing look to the no-makeup trend.

By Savannah Kolacek Schlehuber

PN-443373-1

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

41

4/5/18 1:33 PM


■ PHOTOGRAPHY

x

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

A Grand Wedding Destination

TATUM PHOTO AND DESIGN

For a truly grand wedding location, choose Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island—America’s Summer Place. available for your ceremony, cocktail reception or meal function. Begin your special day at Astor’s Salon and Spa, off-site restaurants provide many rehearsal luncheon and dinner options. We offer all the services you need including flowers from Margaret’s Garden, cakes from Grand Hotel’s bakery, and live music by the Grand Hotel Orchestra. Let us take care of all the details to create an unforgettable event. tyy Davis at 906-847-3331 or weddings@grandhotel.com Contact Marty

chrisvw.com 917.826.6161 42

WED-2018 0430.indd 42-43

PN-431868-1

1-800-33GRAND • g r an d h o te l . c o m

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

PN-331903-1

43

4/5/18 1:34 PM


(wineries, vintage/rustic, waterfront, golf/country clubs, outdoor , hotels/inns, resorts and reception hall)

• • •

• • • • • •

PN-232874-1

44 PN-450209-1

WED-2018 0430.indd 44-45

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings Weddings

WEDDING-2017 0430.indd 25

25 45

4/13/17 AM 4/5/18 10:56 1:34 PM


■ TRENDS

What’s

IN By Alexandra Myers

Winery weddings growing in popularity t’s undeniably noticeable how mainstream winery weddings have become. “They have become a popular wedding venue because they are usually very beautiful and they tend to be less formal and can handle a wide variety of wedding sizes,” said Marta Dennis, co-owner of Walloon Lake Winery. Walloon Lake Winery has the capacity to host intimate weddings, bridal parties, or rehearsal dinners of just 20 people all the way up to larger groups of 200. The winery overlooks 36 acres of rolling vistas and grapevines, and provides a beautiful backdrop for wedding portraits. “We pride ourselves on creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere for your guests,” Dennis noted. Couples are also using the large, casual spaces to entertain guests right when they come into town for destination weddings. “Welcome parties have become a big deal, too,” said Vickie Wysokinski, who owns Rudbeckia Farm and Winery with her husband, John. Dennis said their their venue accommodates full and partial rentals depending on the couple’s needs, including a 50x60 tent. Their license allows them to serve wine, but not liquor, which is important to keep in mind when choosing a venue. Wysokinski said wineries are great for those interested in using food trucks. “When hosting a wedding at a winery, brides may be able to be a little more creative, relaxed and inspired! Of course, wine is an important aspect of having your wedding at a winery location, try their wines! Pick a winery where you enjoy their wines, their staff and their setting and you will enjoy your special day,” Dennis said. “Walloon Lake Winery is always honored to be chosen as your wedding, reception, or rehearsal dinner location.”

46

WED-2018 0430.indd 46-47

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

Walloon Lake Winery 3149 Intertown Road Petoskey, Michigan 49770 (231) 622-8645

Rudbeckia Farm and Winery 3379 Lake Grove Road Petoskey, Michigan 49770 (231) 622-4173

47

4/5/18 1:34 PM


■ VENUES

Historic Banks Township Hall Tucked away in the quaint village of Ellsworth

WEDDING PAVILLION!

Please consider us for your wedding reception. PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Nub’s award-winning lodge is...

Say your vows overlooking Lakes Charlevoix and Michigan or under our flowing willow tree. Continue celebrating with dinner, drinks, and dancing in our whimsical barn and new pavilion! End your night, just steps away, at our beautiful Cottages.

...just right for your wedding, banquet or any “special” occasion.

dunmaglas.com

• Able to accommodate any size event • Complete catering and kitchen facilities • Patio & bar • Lounge with fireplace • Fully carpeted & paved parking • Air Conditioned

For details, call 989-620-0386 or email mpung@dunmaglas.com

500 Nubs Nob Road | Harbor Springs, MI 49740 Snowline: 800-SKI-NUBS | 231-526-2131

9031 Boyne City Rd. Charlevoix, MI 49720

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

PN-321564-1

PN-431861-1

www.nubsnob.com

PN-330680-1

Call 231.675.2828 for 2017 and 2018 Rental Rates & Available Dates www.bankstownship.net

HospitalityA Family Tradition

5th Annual Mackinaw City Bridal Show February 17th, 2019

Tucked away from the world, down a small path bordered by nature, you will find a place for the most beautiful moments of your life. Happiness is nothing unless shared, so treat yourself to a magical day in the ultimate fairytale setting-Double K Estate. PN-442847-1

48

WED-2018 0430.indd 48-49

PN-44271 PN N-44 442713-1 1

Northern MI Weddings

Northern MI Weddings

doublekestate.net 49

4/5/18 1:34 PM


“THE MOST MAGICAL BARN,, MAYBE EVER!”

Photo by Anthony Tori

shanahan’s barn

PN-431872-1

Whether you are seeking the destination for your special day, for an unforgettable honeymoon, or for a setting to relax and have fun with friends, BOYNE’s resorts are the perfect choice. And with three spectacular spas, our experienced staff can delight you from head to toe...feeling refreshed and beautiful for your wedding day.

50PN-428752-1

WED-2018 0430.indd 50-51

Northern MI Weddings

9600 clubhouse dr, charlevoix, mi | 231-547-9796 | shanahansbarn.com 51

Northern MI Weddings

4/5/18 1:34 PM


52

WED-2018 0430.indd 52

Northern MI Weddings PN-335433-1

4/5/18 1:34 PM

Profile for Northern Michigan Review Inc.

Northern MI Weddings April 2018  

Northern MI Weddings April 2018