Page 1

R


RRR.003

MN LB SM


RRR

003

Not unlike RRR.002, one year ago, when we were in the initial throws of the oil disaster in the Gulf, RRR.003 finds us dealing with the aftermath of another disaster – the recent earthquake in Japan and the ensuing nuclear catasrophe. It’s a scary, scary world, and the times, they are a feelin’ fragile. But there’s a strength to discover and pull out of these delicate moments. When the world is forced to pause for an instant and reflect - when we stop and recognize ourselves as part of something larger, we begin to re-consider the power of what we have, what we have done, and the possibility of what could be next. And it’s probably not all so bad.

When we start to rejoice in reflection and layer moments, we discover a richness of shared experience, and we gain a freshness that, while honoring what has come before, still tells us that we can continue. We hope that there is always a chance to “start tomorrow,” but we know that no matter what, there is always the chance to start today. To stop for a second, to remember, reflect, rejoice and reconstruct - and re-start with the knowledge that there is yet more out there to experience. RRR.003 comes to us, perhaps for the last time, on Earth Day 2011 – we honor our Mother Earth by joining together as a community of makers to reflect on all that she gives us, the good and the bad – the experience of being apart of something bigger than ourselves. On this third strike, we acknowledge that it’s not too late to rescue ourselves from the seemingly endless spate of wreckage and start tomorrow to rebuild, or even better, start today. —LB, 2011. For more info check www.rrrproject.com RRR is a proud supporter of the Japanese Red Cross and their efforts in provide shelter, food and medical supplies to the families affected by the March 11th incident. Please visit www.jrc.or.jp and do your part today. LB design. Scott Massey www.nohawk.com co–design. Laura Bernstein laurabernstein.com


CVDR SM


MP


LS


CK PS


MC


AH


MN EF AB


SM RT


ALB


CB


AZ


MB


AD BS


WM


WB IC


AW


WB


MP


SR

BW


SM


AB SW


TL DT


PM

AB

MN


AD


RT WB


SP


MN SM


PM


BL WB


MN JG


BR*


CA


PM SW


SM


JV


SF


CK


CVDR


CK


SF


RT SM


BB


PM


SP


RB


BL IF CK


AB


CK


BR


CK


BS

SS


MN


AB


AB


DD


DAYS AWAY Three-striped blankets. Unshined shoes. Dark-waxed boards, with raspy deck patches and resin finger prints. “What does it mean?” He asks. “It means this ship’s sinking, but we’ll stay afloat.” “No, what does it mean.” “It means there’s time to let loose and blow tail in the fading north sun.” Last November when we battened down the hatches. Last November with the last of the sea-strong days still in our grasp, we set off to Scarborough. You let down your hair. You were there. We made chaise lounges of driftwood, tall thrones from dock foam and rusty loose bolts. The cast off rope of red roach pots gave us fine fabric, the last, with the deer. The last of the deer. “When will we be back again?” They asked in succession. “Will we be back?” “Yes. We will be back again when they learn they don’t want it — as they do every year.”

JC MP


PD


EF


AB


GL


MN KJ


CL AB AZ


PM


TL IL


JS


TK


IF


AB


SM


BR*


AB BR PM


TK


AB TL


BS LM MN SM


CK


HG


AW


AB LB


RRR.003 contributors:

Alex Weinstein www.vaguestudio.com Andrew Holder www.andrewholder.net Andrea LaBarge Mills www.labargephoto.com Ania Diakoff www.aniadiakoff.com Anthony Zinonos www.anthonyzinonos.com Art Brewer www.artbrewer.com Benedikt Rohlmann* <b.rohlmann@gmx.de> Benjamin Woodlock www.benjaminwoodlock.com Bijan Berahimi www.bijanberahimi.com Brandi Strickland www.brandistrickland.com Brandon Lomax www.brandonlomax.com Brookes Reeder www.stumpystudios.net Carlo Van de Roer www.carlovanderoer.com Catherine Lee <catherinelee@alum.calarts.edu> Chad Kouri www.longliveanalog.com Charles Adler www.rustyoldcamera.com Chris Burnett www.chrisburnett.us Dalton Portella www.daltonportella.com Devin Dailey www.merritt.la Ed Fladung www.edfladung.com Greg Lamarche www.greglamarche.com Hillary Greenbaum www.hilarygreenbaum.com Ian Cooley www.toggleandswitch.com Ian Lynam www.ianlynam.com Inserirefloppino www.flickr.com/inserirefloppino Jeremyville www.jeremyville.com Joe Conway www.driftsurfing.com Jonathan Sandridge www.jonathansandridge.com

Josh Gurrie www.joshgurrie.com Kate Johnston www.katejohnstonportfolio.com Laura Bernstein laurabernstein.com Lisa Smit www.lisasmit.tk Lynn Milosz www.lynnmiloszphotography.com Masato Nakada www.mstnkd.com Michael Bartalos www.bartalos.com Mike Perry www.mikeperrystudio.com Mitchel Cox www.mitchelcox.com Paul Dâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;Elia www.screenin4achange.com Pierre Masseau <onirodyni@hotmail.com> Peter Skvara www.futurish.blogspot.com Peter Sunna* www.petersunna.com Rich Browd www.richbrowd.com Ryan Tatar www.ryantatar.com Sarah Faith www.sarahgottesdiener.com Sean Patrick <andrasklang@gmail.com> Scott Massey www.nohawk.com Scott Richards www.slightlychoppy.com Scott Szegeski www.surfboard-gyotaku.com Steph Walker www.walkersteph.com Thea Lorentzen* www.thealorentzen.com Thomas Sullivan www.thomasbrendan.com Tom Kracauer www.betterforever.net Triplab www.triplab.com.ar Will Bryant www.will-bryant.com William Morrissey www.wmwmwm.com

Archer by H&FJ www.typography.com Carousel by Gary Gillot www.linotype.com Frankfurter by Nick Belshaw www.myfonts.com

The entire contents of this book is copyright by RRR Project and the artists who made it possible. None of it can be reproduced in full or in part without written consent or authorization from the publisher or artist.

Our Intention, Your Contribution The idea of this project has been to collaborate and bring together visual thinkers and makers from across a wide range of disciplines, geographies and generations that might not ordinarily come together as a group. In the next couple of months we will be finishing up this last round of RRR, adding more artists and making the most of what we have. A lot can happen in a couple of months, we hope that all of those changes will be for the better.

special thanks. Chris Massey, Kim Zadigian, Charles Adler, Jonathan Sandridge, Mary Dunlap, Yuhei Kawaguchi, Drift, Quality People, Anthony & K & Cameron Cardona + Jen Davis, Chris Young, the Masseys (Amy, Ollie, Ma & Pa), Masato Nakada, Laura Bernstein, Bomb. with love & respect

Even though we may not be able to raise much money through this venture, we would greatly appreciate it if you would contribute a donation to the Red Cross after viewing the pdf. Download it, send the link to friends & family, whatever you want, but please resist the urge to print it out. Thank you, for questions or inquires email, contact@rrrproject.com. JP

For more info check www.rrrproject.com


TK


3

RRR.003  

The idea of this project has been to collaborate and bring together visual thinkers and makers from across a wide range of disciplines, geog...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you