Issuu on Google+


LOOSE ENDS by Tara Janzen

Genre: Romantic Suspense Reviewed by: Susan I started this book with many expectations and I can honestly say that I was not disappointed with the way Tara Janzen has wrapped up her Loose series. It’s a fast riding, hang on to your seat conclusion with the Steele Street agents. These are the characters that the fans of Tara Janzen have fallen in love with as their stories tantalized and thrilled the readers with intrigue, danger and red-hot romance. Loose Ends will get you revved up with the hot guys and the dynamite women we have come to know through previous novels. Conroy Farrel is full of mystery and he puts the Steele Street agents on their most personally challenging mission yet as he attempts to rescue a friend

of his. Conroy doesn’t remember his past and his past is definitely haunting him with each full throttled race through the streets of Denver with a woman that gets caught up in his plans. The sexy Jane Linden is determined to help Conroy remember his past and the relationship they once shared. Their attraction burns with a passion that will leave the reader sizzling while the conclusion will have your heart racing as fast as the cars they drive. Loose Ends-a story I have been waiting many years to read. With unfinished business and hearts to heal, Tara Janzen delivers a fantastic story to conclude the Loose series. This is a keeper for my bookshelves and I look forward to future novels by Ms. Janzen with hopes to see more Steele Street novels. Enjoy!


Features •

Featured Review............................................................3

Q & A With the Authors................................................6

Romance by Mary Eason...............................................8

Urban Fantasy and the Paranormal by Roxanne Rhoads ....................................................................................20

Cooking Up A Storm With Kyrainse............................24

Author Interview by Tammie King..............................27

SFF Insider by Shartyrant............................................32

Tantalizing Tidbits by The Book Nerd..........................36

Teen Reads by MonicaBBB..........................................38


Night Owl Reviews™ WEtap Media, LLC ™ 2459 SE TV HWY, #153, Hillsboro, Oregon 97123 NightOwlReviews@gmail.com Editor-In-Chief: Tammie King Director of Marketing: Tammie King NightOwlReviews@gmail.com © Night Owl Reviews 2011 These are just a small portion of the reviews that Night Owl Reviews has available on our website. For a full listing and the most up to date reviews visit our website www.NightOwlReviews.com. Reviews are provided by our review staff. Reviewers get books via NOR and we get books direct from the publishers, authors and publicists. Reviews are based on reviewer thoughts.


Q & A With Author Colleen Helme

Question:

Please tell us your latest news!

Answer:

Songbird is my first published novel to be released, but I am looking forward to two more novels coming out in 2011 from Mundania Press. They are Flame of Destiny due out the end of January and The Relic due out in late September! All are fantasy romance novels and I am thrilled to be writing in this wonderful genre. http://www.colleenhelme.com

Q & A With Author Joyce Lamb

Question:

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Answer:

I have so many favorites. Linda Howard, Tami Hoag, Christy Reece, Karen Marie Moning, just to name a few. Some of their novels are pretty dark and twisted, so I’m thinking that’s what draws me to them. TRUE COLORS is also quite dark and twisted at times, so I blame them. www.joycewrites.com


Romance by Mary Eason Things to come - Looking ahead Into 2011 and some new, not to be missed romance novels Well, it’s that time again. Time to put away the Christmas decorations, take down the tree, and say goodbye to 2010. What’s that you say? You’re not ready for a new year with a brand new set of problems. You’re still working through the ham and dressing and pies and…I get the picture. Perhaps Santa didn’t bring you what you wanted this year. Well, I can’t help you with the food or the poor gifts choices from the man in red, but if romance is on your mind for 2011, well then stick around. I think I have just the ticket. Personally, I love this time of year because the possibilities are still endless. You have a brand new slate, all clean and shiny. A new year holds the promise of just

about anything you might want from it. It’s like a doover. You get another chance at fulfilling your goals. So, as we look forward to 2011, let’s take a peek as some must-have romance novels to kick your year off right. Starting with… Captive (Forbidden) by Christina Phillips

A new erotic historical series set in a world of magical heroines and sexy warriors. When the Romans destroyed her world, Morwyn took a vow of celibacy to spite her goddess. Then she’s captured by a mercenary whose animal charms and chiseled body will test her conviction... Brennus has spent three years undercover in the


Night Owl Reviews

Roman Legion. So when his men brutalize the fiery Celtic beauty, he saves her-by claiming her as his own. As they near Roman headquarters, Morwyn resolves to honor her vow of celibacy-but if Brennus were to ravage her, could she be blamed for enjoying his body? With just a hint of seduction, sooner or later the warrior will succumb to his exquisite captive. Berkley Trade (February 1, 2011) The Backup Plan by Sherryl Woods

Intrepid foreign correspondent Dinah Davis fears that she is all washed up. After escaping the car bomb that killed her cameraman and lover, she is subject to panic attacks, so she quits her job and comes home to Charles-

ton, South Carolina. She plans to finally accept childhood sweetheart Bobby Beaufort’s 10-year-old marriage proposal, but his big brother, Cordell, always a thorn in Dinah’s rose garden, has other ideas. The quintessential bad boy has grown up to be a successful and respected building restoration expert, and he has always been in love with Dinah. Cord is alternately tender and supportive, then teasing and seductive, as he helps her work through her post-traumatic stress and encourages her to revisit her priorities. The first in a trilogy, Woods’ latest also sets the stage for Dinah’s best friend, Maggie, to find romance, while Dinah’s parents rekindle the passion they once knew. Strong supporting characters, a vivid sense of place, and a strong appreciation for the past add to the appeal of Woods’ contemporary romance.


NightOwlReviews


Night Owl Reviews

Mira; Reprint edition (December 28, 2010) The Prodigal’s Wife by Marcia Willett

In this gentle, charming novel of indiscretion, grudges, love and mortality, two middleaged couples reunite late in life following long separation and marriages to others. As the children of these first marriages fall in love, they draw everyone together again, including a couple of trouble-making ex-spouses. With so much deferred loveinvolving infidelity, divorce, traumatized kids, wasted years, and more-there is much to be emotional about, and the latest from British novelist Willett (The Way We Were) is chiefly engaged in rehashing these feelings endlessly. For all the introspection, however, there is

a lack of nuance-characters’ emotional self-exploration is more prolific than profound. Still, a generally likable cast outweighs their emotional transparency, and the plot clicks along with pleasant, cathartic rhythms and an intriguing mystery subplot. St. Martin’s Griffin; First Edition (January 18, 2011) Visions of Magic: An Awakening Novel by Regan Hastings

In the ten years since magic has reemerged in the world, witches have become feared and hunted. For weeks Shea Jameson has been haunted by visions of fire. When she unintentionally performs a spell in public, she becomes one of the hunted. Her only hope is Torin, a dangerously sensual man who claims to be her eternal mate.


NightOwlReviews


Signet (February 1, 2011)

Pleasure Me by Monica Burns Youth and beauty are a courtesan’s greatest assets. Concerned, at forty-one, that she is no longer desirable, Lady Ruth Attwood is uncertain whether to be offended or flattered when a younger man makes her an unusual offer. In need of funds, she agrees. But then she does the unthinkable-she falls in love... Berkley Trade (March 1, 2011)

Deadly Ties: A Novel (Crossroads Crisis Center) by Vicki Hinze Her enemy will stop at nothing for control … and

everything is not enough A horrific crime shatters Lisa Harper’s idyllic childhood. Her father is dead and her desperate mother, Annie, quickly marries Dutch Hauk, an abusive monster who soon reveals his hatred for Lisa. To protect her, Annie defies her ruthless husband and forfeits custody to a trusted friend. Enraged, Dutch vows to keep Annie and Lisa apart—and he does. Years later, though keenly aware of Dutch’s evil intent, Lisa and her mother seize a chance to be a family, safe in a home where love dwells. But they fail to fathom how far Dutch will go to keep his vow. Determined to control his women, Dutch proves resourceful. His associates in crime are feared at the highest levels across the globe—and for Lisa they


plan a fate worse than death. Yet she too has formidable connections: ones like former Special Operations officer Mark Taylor. Burdened by his own traumatic past, Mark has loved Lisa from afar. Now, for Lisa and her mother to survive, Mark must risk his life—and even more difficult for him, he must trust God—as one question haunts them all: Can Mark and Lisa untangle these deadly ties before. Multnomah Books (February 8, 2011) Falling Under by Gwen Hayes

Theia Alderson has always led a sheltered life in the small California town of Serendipity Falls. But when

a devastatingly handsome boy appears in the halls of her school, Theia knows she’s seen Haden beforenot around town, but in her dreams. As the Haden of both the night and the day beckons her closer one moment and pushes her away the next, the only thing Theia knows for sure is that the incredible pull she feels towards him is stronger than her fear. And when she discovers what Haden truly is, Theia’s not sure if she wants to resist him, even if the cost is her soul. NAL Trade (March 1, 2011) A Wedding Quilt for Ella by Jerry S. Eichler

Ella Yoder’s wedding with Aden Wengerd and the build-


ing of their dream house is set for June. But when Aden is suddenly taken from her, Ella begins to doubt God’s love. When her family pressures her to marry the new young bishop, Ella asks for six months to heal from Aden’s death. Meanwhile, Aden’s brother, Daniel, helps Ella build her dream house based on a drawing by Ella’s sister, Clara and now incorporated into Ella’s wedding quilt. Harvest House Publishers (February 1, 2011)

Primal by Michelle Rowen, Jory Strong, Ava Gray Four all-new stories of primitive desire- with a neverbefore- published novella of the Breeds.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Lora Leigh returns to her sensual world of the Breeds in an all-new novella that explores just how savage, and how far, a man is willing to go in the name of desire. Plus three other stories of irresistible passions from three masters of hot paranormal romance. Berkley Trade (February 1, 2011) So who needs Santa. Just grab one of these great romances and make your own wishes come true in 2011. Happy New Year!

Mary Eason

Mary Eason is the author of books such as “A Night to Remember” and “Root of All Evil”. You can find Mary online at http://www.maryeason.com.


Urban Fantasy

and the Paranormal

by Roxanne Rhoads

Roxanne Rhoads is a story stumpet, tome loving tart, and lover of all things paranormal. She is also a freelance writer and the author of erotic paranormal romances.

I hope everyone’s winter holiday was filled with the gift of reading. I know I have plenty of new books to read with more on order. January is filled with many of my must-have series books. A couple that I’ve already ordered (with my Amazon gift cards I received for Christmas) include: Home for a Spell (Bewitching Series #7) by Madelyn Alt; Tempest’s Legacy (Jane True #3) by Nicole Peeler, and Secrets of the Demon (Kara Gillian #3) by

Diana Rowland. Other January releases I am looking forward to include: Frostfire (Kyndred #3) by Lynn Viehl; Vicki Lewis Thompson’s A Werewolf in Manhattan (I love her humor); Kiss at Your Own Risk by Stephanie Rowe is already in my to-read pile; Seducing the Vampire by Michele Hauf is getting added to my wish list; Taken By The Others (H&W Investigations #2) by Jess Haines is another already in my to-read pile as is I Dream of Genies by Judi Fennell.


What books are you looking forward to reading this year? Is your wish list already filled up with all the upcoming new releases from your favorite authors? Are you still reading vampires or are you done with the fanged bloodsuckers? I am a diehard vampire fan from way back, like back to the nineteen eighties when I first discovered Anne Rice’s Interview with a Vampire at a yard sale. I don’t

think I’ll tire of my fanged friends anytime soon. Though I must say some “types” of vampires have started to irritate me. Whiners in particular, you know the ones who are filled with despair over being a monster. I like the vampires who revel in all their vampiric glory while still remaining a “hero”. What do you love or hate most about current vampire books and characters? I’d love to know. If you want to talk vamp books drop me a line at: RoxanneRhoads@aol.com or tweet me@RoxanneRhoads on Twitter.


Night Owl Reviews

Cooking Up A Storm

With Kyraninse

The Bon Appetit Dinner Party Cookbook Author: Knapp Rating: 4 stars

Reader beware: This cookbook is not for the faint of heart. It has a 4 star rating, yes, but only with certain provisions. This cookbook is the one you whip out when you need to have a dinner party to impress. Be it the future in-laws, or your spouses’ boss, or your direct supervisor, or your future spouse -- this is the cookbook to turn to. For those purposes, it will serve admirably and I will be shocked if your dinner party guests don’t stagger home in a food coma, bewildered at your sorcery in the kitchen.

That said, this cookbook isn’t for the faint of heart. If you try too many recipes from this cookbook, neither your wallet nor your kitchen nor perhaps even your waistline will have many good things to say. From crown roast of lamb to the king crab stir-fry to the lobster fricassee primavera with beurre blanc... this isn’t exactly everyday fare, as one might guess from the title. Also, this cookbook makes certain assumptions about the reader’s culinary skill. I would suggest that people who intend to use recipes from this cookbook practice a couple of


times well in advance if they’ve never made that particular dish before. Wasting the ingredients is small potatoes compared to the angst that will ensue when you realize that you’ve been slaving in the kitchen, dirtying every pot and spending the equivalent of a week’s salary on the ingredients only to find that the soufflé collapsed, the game hens are charred on the outside and barely rare on the inside, the clam pilaf’s grains are chewy and tough rather than al dente and creamy --- and the guests are due in less than an hour. Since I’m personally on a limited budget for both spending on books and the groceries, not to mention the over spilling bookshelves – this wouldn’t necessarily be on my list of books that I must have for the kitchen. However, if my budget for all of the former expands, I can see this book being invaluable for the all of three times a year that I will drag it out for and it will be well worth it to see the look of dazed awe on the faces of my guests.


Featured Interview by Tammie King with Mark Sadler Blood on His Hands Suspense/Thriller

Q:

Please tell us your latest news!

is your Q: Who favorite author

and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

on His Hands I am A: Currently A: Blood recently went ereading just about book so check for it at all the usual places you can down-load books.

had to do Q: Ifit you all over again,

would you change anything in your latest book?

A:

Don’t want to second guess myself after all the rewrites and changes. I think I said it the way I needed to.

everything that two authors write, Lee Childs and Jim Crace. Two totally different styles, but both, funnily enough, Englishmen like myself.

Childs of course writes the Jack Reacher stories, while Crace is a little more involved and does not have one particular protagonist or continuous storyline but is just a fine teller of


tales.

you have a speQ: Do cific writing style?

A: inholdyourbackface!onIthedon’t No holds-barred,

subject at hand. You are going to get a pretty graphic ‘photo’. I do not however believe that just because one is a writer of a specific genre that proper use of language should be abandoned.

you see writing Q: Do as a career?

always hopes A: One that your next book

is the one that the publisher and the public will discover and I can’t think of anything I’d rather be doing than cranking

out a book a year for the rest of my life.

you recall how Q: Do your interest in writing originated?

interest in readA: My ing came first. You

have to be able to read to write well. I literallu have been a reader all my life. My mother, a pre-school teacher, had me reading at three years old. By the time I was ten my school essays where eight to ten pages in length and I knew that some day I would write a book.

you have any Q: Do advice for other writers? A: Everyone has a story


tell your own and get a good editor... and I don’t mean your spouse. I have read a couple of novels recently for review purposes that yoiu could tell the wife talked him into writing down the guy’s ‘war-stories’ and then put her own slant on it during the editing process!

time? What did you do before you became a writer? Or Still do?

the family? Do they read your books?

the seat of your pants or a combination of both?

work full time A: Istill, as a debt col-

lector! My dream is to be able to spend the day hunched in front of my own computer not the one in my office however.

How does your is your writQ: What feel about ing process? Do Q: family having a writer in you outline, fly by

sure my mother not sit with A: I’m A: Iadospecific is very proud outline. though I’m not sure she approves of some of the adult content! My style is not exactly a Miss Marples cozy!

Q: Do you write full

I know who the main character is, and a little of anidea of what I want him/her to be able to do and then just let the creative voices come to me. For instance the book


I am currently writing, MANACLED, is about a police detective in Tucson, Nate Duarte. I have spent several hours with local law enforcement and border patrol agents learning about what their job involves so my character is more beleivable.

you have a Q: Do favorite object that

is pertinent to your writing? If so what is it and please describe it.

Mark over A: Makers ice, my new affliction you have a ritual Q: Do when it comes to writing?

washing maA: bloody chine off.. not even Quiet.. turn the

white noise!

main genre do Q: What you write in? A: Suspense / Mystery

Thanks so much for giving me the opportunity to tell folks about my novel, Blood on His Hands. I love hearing from readers and my website allows them to email me directly to tell me if they enjoyed reading my book. http://www.markpsadler.com


Night Owl Reviews

Science Ficion & Fantasy

by Shartyrant

Science Fiction & Fantasy News & Reviews Eureka: Brain Box by Chris Ramsay is a tie-in novel to the popular comedy TV series, Eureka. From what I understand, it is set between seasons 3 and 4 of the show (going by the official website), but I cannot attest to that myself as I have never seen the TV series (yet). It is a fun story with a Sheriff in charge of a town full of geniuses. With so many smart people, the town has many devices and technology created, which sometimes cause some truly unintentional chaos for the town or some of the people there (like the sheriff). Specifically in this book, a general and a scientist bring in a brain box. It is a device that can capture and store

human thoughts. When the brain box starts messing with people’s minds, the Sheriff has his hands full trying to save the town. This is a complete fluff and fun book that definitely got me interested in trying the TV series, which is a recommendation in of itself as that is rare with tie-in novels of TV shows. I give this one 3.5 stars and recommend it for fans of the TV show Eureka. Alien Tango by Gini Koch is the second novel in this series that has Katherine “Kitty” Katt who used to be a marketing manager working now with aliens from Alpha Centauri as a commander in the elite Centaurian Division. Her relationship with the Alpha Centaurian Commander Jeff Martini is progressing and the


NightOwlReviews


Night Owl Reviews

two are growing closer. However, when an experimental spacecraft is returned to the Space Center in Florida, Katt and her team are sent to investigate. The action becomes nonstop as Kitty and her team must survive attacks, remove a space entity from a group of astronauts and other crazy situations involving a woman who had a crush on Kitty’s high school boyfriend. Not only that, but Katt must also deal with meeting Commander’s Jeff family whose culture has its own laws regarding intimate relationships with humans. This is a fun and action packed sci-fi romance story that has some outlandish moments that will make you laugh. It starts off a bit slow, but is definitely a fun way of relaxing. This is recommend for those who liked the first novel Touched by an Alien and those who are tired of the paranormal romance with vampires. 3.5 stars Twelve: Thirteen Years Later by Jasper Kent is a historical paranormal military fiction. The book is set during 1825 which leads up to the mysterious death Tsar Alexander I of Russia and the Decembrist Uprising. Set thirteen years after

Aleksei Danilov’s first encounter with the mysterious Twelve, Danilove now finds himself a Colonel in the Imperial Life Guards with a complicated life, but convinced everyone is safe from the Twelve. Unfortunately, someone has returned for revenge for a broken promise and Danilov finds that the vampires have returned to threaten all he holds dear. For those who have read the first novel, the sequel differs from its predecessor as the author has shifted from writing in first person narrative to a third person narrative. The change allows for the reader to see more events, people and items that would’ve been limited by using first person, but at the same time, the readers have lost a bit of a view into why Danilov feels or makes certain. The beginning starts very slow, but then the pace picks up quickly. This is recommend for those who like historical novels but heavy on reinterpreting history with a minor paranormal twist or has a fascination with Russia. Also recommend for fans of the first book as there are lots of revelations in the latter half of the book to satisfy. I give it 4 stars for being an entertaining read. Recommend.


NightOwlReviews


Night Owl Reviews

Tantalizing Tidbits

The “W OW ” Factor

by The Book Nerd

It’s January and I want to know who in the world came up with the word, “resolution”? Why do we torture ourselves year after year with good intentions that are broken a mere two weeks later? I mean, seriously! If you remember from last year, my resolution was to gain one pound. Well, you’ll be proud to know that not only did I NOT gain one pound, but I lost a ton! Yippeee for me! All because I told myself I refused to make a silly resolution. Now a bigger problem I have is this deep need to reserve books from the library, and then have them pile up on the dining room table. Unfortunately, this horrible habit has caused me to get behind in book reviews, writing articles and doing other stuff I’m really supposed to be doing throughout the day. What about you? In this age of Ebooks and ordering books from the comfort of your computer, are there still a few of you going to

the library? If so, do you hate to give the books back? What’s your reason for hanging out over there? I have a few reasons – most of which won’t matter to you the least, but here they are anyhoo. I’m cheap, so if I can borrow a book I love for absolutely FREE, I’m down. Seeing a book on-line with the blurb just doesn’t do it for me. I have to have that little novel in my hot little hands to look at the copyright, the author’s real name, the reviews that are actually on the back of the book or inside, and call me crazy, but I love to see who authors give shout outs to. When a writer takes the time to include thanks and kudos to friends and family, I’m super impressed. There is a downside, of course. (Isn’t there always?) The Library Police can be very expensive and downright persistent, so books must be returned. Some of the most fun reading happens to be in the world of erotic romance, and a few libraries are horrified when an author throws a clit or cock into a


NightOwlReviews

novel, so it may be sadly unattainable. Anything that’s super popular is going to cause you to have to be placed on the waiting list – sometimes for quite a while. Sometimes you may not feel like driving over there. But if you like to keep your books, or want some of the spicier titles without waiting, or enjoy reading them again, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or your local Wal-mart are right there waiting for you. What the heck, even when

I try to disguise my looks they still know who I am. So against my better judgment, I find myself once again resolving to make an unrealistic change to my life that nobody in the world will believe anyway. Oh well, back to my carrot sticks and celery. Hugs and Happy New Year! The Book Nerd

The Throne of Fire Kane Chronicles Series, #2

In this exciting second installment of the threebook series, Carter and Sadie, offspring of the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane, embark on a worldwide search for the Book of Ra, but the House of Life and the gods of chaos are determined to stop them.


Teen Reads

by MonicaBBB

There are so many amazing new teen reads coming up in the shiny new year. I wanted to take the time to get you set up now so you know what to watch for as the year progresses. There are many new novels coming, a ton alone in January 2011. Look out for tales from the crazy to the extreme. Authors this year are going above and beyond the usual paranormal and taking their writing and creative ideas to a whole new level. - Warped by: Marissa Guibord is a magical story that weaves the unexpected into histories unknown.

- Darkest Mercy by: Melissa Marr is the next and final installment

of the Wicked Lovely series. Magic, fairies, and edge of your seat drama will have you glued to this well written series. - Royally Crushed by: Niki Burnham is a collection of books by the author in an intriguing story for contemporary, not your everyday, read.

- Huntress by: Malinda Lo is the prequel to Ms. Lo’s other book ‘Ash’. The world is filled with magic and Chinese themes.

- Chain Reaction by: Simone Elkeles is the third book in the Perfect Chemistry series. This is a great set of books for older teens. It’s steamy, contemporary, and totally addicting. - Entangled by: Cat Clarke is a mysterious new tale with a sinister side.

- Vesper by: Jeff Sampson is a story that is by far one of the


most original of the January line up. More than mysterious and intriguing.

- Unearthly by: Cynthia Hand is the next great book featuring angels, fate, love, and everything else a teen loves in their books.

- The False Princess by: Eilis O’Neal is a great story about a young lady whose life gets turned around when she finds out she is a false princess, standing in for the real princess. Magic ends up in the picture and a story that is worth the read. There are so many books coming out you will be wondering where to start. Pick your favorite genre and there will definitely be a new book for you. Also keep an eye out in the Teen Reads column for the inside story for a TON of new authors and books. MonicaBBB is a lover of books and more books!



Night Owl Reviews Magazine, Issue 14