Issuu on Google+

LEGEND:

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

◆ ◆ ◆ ◆

Lectures & Walk-throughs Library Events Wellness Activities Special Events

★ ● ▲

Exhibition Opening Exhibition Last Day Family Programs

Museum Hours on Fridays: 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.

PUBLIC PROGRA M S

Tuesdays through Thursdays: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays and Sundays: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Events subject to change. Check the museum’s website for updates: www.noma.org.

A p r i L 2011 M

S

3

10

17

24

◆ ◆

◆ ◆

◆ ●

T

4

W

5

11

6

12

18

19

T

13

F 1

7

◆ ◆

20

14

21

◆ ◆ ▲

S 2

8 ◆ ◆ ◆ ▲

9

15 ◆ ◆ ◆ ▲

16

22

23

◆ ◆ ▲

◆ ◆

◆ ◆

◆ ◆ ◆

26

27

28

W 4

T 5

29 ◆ ◆ ◆ ▲

30

Saturday, April 2 Yoga in the Sculpture Garden, 8-9 a.m. Art in Bloom, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Louisiana Iris Rainbow Festival, Sculpture Garden, noon-4 p.m. Sunday, April 3 Art in Bloom, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Docent Tour: “Great Works,” 2 p.m.

Earth Day Celebration

25

Friday, April 1 Art in Bloom, 10 a.m.-9 p.m. Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Book Signings: Debra Shriver, Stealing Magnolias, 5-7 p.m., and Troy Gilbert, Dinner with Tennessee Williams, 7-9 p.m. Music: Laptop Orchestra, 5:30-8:30 p.m. Recycling Workshop with the Craft Mafia, Sculpture Garden, 5:30 p.m. Director’s Series Speaker: Maxwell Anderson, 6 p.m. Scenes from The Belle of Amherst, Sculpture Garden, 6 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m.

Friday, April 8 Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Author Talk and Book Signing: Stephanie Bruno, New Orleans Streets, 5 p.m. Harpist Cathy Anderson, 5:30 p.m.

Museum Shop Featured Artist: Lorraine Gendron, 6 p.m. John Stevens Calligraphy Demo, 6:30-7:30 p.m. John Stevens Walk-through of The Sound of One Hand, 7:30-8 p.m. Dig this Gig: Q&A with author Laura Dodd and guests Saturday, April 9 Yoga in the Sculpture Garden, 8-9 a.m. NVC Fabergé Egg Hunt, 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Sunday, April 10 Docent Tour: “Great Works,” 2 p.m. Educator Evening: “The Arts of Africa,” 4:30-6 p.m. Wednesday, April 13 Educator Evening, 4:30-6 p.m. Tai Chi, 6-7 p.m. Friday, April 15 Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Poets for Hire, 5-8 p.m. Music: The Acadias, 5:30 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m. Anime film and discussion: Tekkon Kinkreet, 6:30 p.m. Saturday, April 16 Yoga in the Sculpture Garden, 8-9 a.m. Poets for Art feat. State Poet Laureate Darrell Bourque, 10 a.m.-3 p.m.

Book Signing: Darrell Bourque and Brad Richard, 3:30-5 p.m. NVC Home and Art Tour (offsite), 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Sunday, April 17 Docent Tour: “Great Works,” 2 p.m. Saturday, April 19 Book Club Field Trip to Mississippi Museum of Art, 8 a.m. Thursday, April 21 Book Club Meeting, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Friday, April 22 Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” PhotoNOLA, 5-9 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m. Recycling Workshop with the Craft Mafia, Sculpture Garden, 5:30 p.m. Friday, April 29 Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Book Club Meeting, 6-7 p.m. Music: Ramblin’ Letters, 6-8:30 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m. Saturday, April 30 Pilates in the Sculpture Garden, 8-9 a.m.

E XHIBI TI ONS NEWEXHIBITIONS EXHIBITIONS NEW Members’ Opening Thursday, May 12 Ancestors of Congo Square: African Art in the New Orleans Museum of Art (Ella West Freeman Galleries, through July 17, 2011) Opening Tuesday, May 24 Read My Pins: The Madeleine Albright Collection (Louisiana Galleries, through August 14, 2011)

Opening Wednesday, June 8 Swoon: The Great Hall Project (Great Hall, through N E W September 25, 2011)

O R L E

Opening Friday, June 17 Bookmarks: The Artist’s Response to Text (Templeman Galleries, through October 9, 2011)

M Ay 2 011 S 1 ●

8

15

22

29

M 2

T 3

9

10

16

11

17

23

24

30

18

★ ◆

◆ ◆

25

12

F 6

19

26

13

◆ ◆ ▲

◆ ◆ ▲

S 7

CURRENTLY CURRENTLYON ONVIEW VIEW ◆ Wednesday, May 4 Tai Chi, 6-7 p.m.

14

20 ◆ ◆ ◆ ▲

21

27 ◆ ◆ ▲

28

◆ ◆

31

J u N E 2011 S

M

5

6

12

13

19

26

T

W 1

7

20 ▲

27 ▲

14

8

21 ▲

28 ▲

15

22

T 2

◆ ▲

◆ ▲

29 ▲

F 3

9

16

10

23 ▲

◆ ◆ ▲

S 4

11

17 ◆ ◆ ◆ ★ ▲

18

24

25

◆ ◆ ▲

◆ ◆ ▲

The Sound of One Hand: Painting and Calligraphy by Zen Master Hakuin (Ella West Freeman Galleries) Last Day: Sunday, April 17

Museum Shop Featured Artist: Book Club Meeting, Craig McMillan, 6 p.m. 6-7 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Walk-through: Friday, May 6 Perspective,” 6 p.m. “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m. Walk-through: The NOLA Project presents A The NOLA Project presents A “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Midsummer Night’s Dream, Midsummer Night’s Dream, Quintron CD Release Sculpture Garden Sculpture Garden Party and Album Signing, 6 p.m. Saturday, May 21 Saturday, May 14 Walk-through: Yoga in the Sculpture Yoga in the Sculpture Garden, “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m. Garden, 8-9 a.m. 8-9 a.m. Film: Marwencol, 7:30 p.m. Art Spark in the Park, The NOLA Project presents A Tuesday, May 24 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Midsummer Night’s Dream, Conversation & Book Signing Sculpture Garden with Madeleine Albright Sunday, May 15 Saturday, May 7 Docent Tour: “Great Works,” Friday, May 27 Yoga in the Sculpture 2 p.m. Walk-through: Garden, 8-9 a.m. “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Wednesday, May 18 Music: Dorian Rush and Harry Sunday, May 8 Book Club Meeting, Mayronne, 5:30 p.m. Docent Tour: “Great Works,” 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Walk-through: 2 p.m. Tai Chi, 6-7 p.m. “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 11 Friday, May 20 Film and Director Q&A: Tai Chi, 6-7 p.m. Walk-through: Pushing the Elephant, 6:30 p.m. “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” The NOLA Project presents A Friday, May 13 Midsummer Night’s Dream, Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Music: Kelcy Wilburn, 5:30 p.m. Sculpture Garden Spotlight Tour” Music and Dance: Luther Gray Director’s Series Speaker: Bonnie Pitman, 6 p.m. Bamboula 2000, 5:30 p.m. One Collins Diboll Circle, City Park

Lofty Ideals: Selections of Nineteenth-Century French Sculpture from the Permanent Collection (Great Hall) Last Day: Sunday, April 24 Residents and Visitors: Twentieth-Century Photographs of Louisiana (Louisiana Galleries) Last Day: Sunday, May 1

Different Strokes for Different Folks: Glass from the Harter, Jastremski, and Sawyer Gifts (Cameo Glass Gallery) Last Day: Sunday, July 10

PO Box 19123 New Orleans, LA 70179-0123

C E L E B R A T I N Walk-through: “Curator’s Saturday, June 18 Perspective,” 6504.658.4100 p.m. | 504.658.4199 | www.noma.org Yoga in the Sculpture Zen Painting from the Permanent Collection Garden, 8-9 a.m. Saturday, June 11 (Japanese Galleries) Yoga in the Sculpture Wednesday, June 22 Last Day: Sunday, July 10 Garden, 8-9 a.m. Tai Chi, 6-7 p.m. Wednesday, June 15 Friday, June 24 Book Club Meeting, Walk-through: “Friday at 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Noon: Spotlight Tour” Music: Friendly Travelers, Friday, June 17 5:30 p.m. Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Speaker: Freddi Williams Evans, “New Orleans’ Congo Saturday, June 4 Music: Kora Konnection, Square: A Cultural Landmark,” Yoga in the Sculpture 5:30 p.m. 6 p.m. Garden, 8-9 a.m. Book Club Meeting, 6-7 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Speaker: Roslyn Walker, Dallas Children’s Summer Art Camps 2011 Friday, June 10 Perspective,” 6 p.m. Museum of Art: “Olowe of Ise: These week-long, morning sessions will feature Walk-through: A Yoruba Sculptor to Kings,” Saturday, June 25 “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” gallery visits and related art-making activities: 6 p.m. Pilates in the Sculpture Music: 5 Kings, 5:30 p.m. Monday, June 13-Friday, June 17 Walk-through: “Curator’s Garden, 8-9 a.m. Artist Talk: Swoon, 6 p.m. Perspective,” 6 p.m. Monday, June 20-Friday, June 24 N E W O R L E A N S M U S E U M O F A R T The Artist’s Book, 2-5 p.m. Museum Shop Featured Artist:

Friday, June 3 Walk-through: “Friday at Noon: Spotlight Tour” Music: DJ Minor Strachan, 5:30 p.m. Speaker: Kristina Van Dyke, Menil Collection: “Making Mute Objects Speak: New Approaches to Malian Antiquities,” 6 p.m. Walk-through: “Curator’s Perspective,” 6 p.m.

John Fleming, 6 p.m.

◆ ◆

FA MILY PROGRA MS

Monday, Monday, Monday, Monday,

June 27-Friday, July 1 July 11-Friday, July 15 July 18-Friday, July 22 July 25-Friday, July 29

For more details, please see http://www.noma.org/learn, call (504) 658-4128, or email education@noma.org.

30 ▲ Family Art Activities Every Friday, 5-8 p.m.

Nex t Up at

NOMA...

For more details, visit www.noma.org or call (504) 658-4100.

Saturday, April 2, noon-4 p.m. Louisiana Iris Rainbow Festival This year’s festival celebrates the 75 newly named and cultivated blooms flourishing in the Louisiana Iris Display Garden, a new addition to the Besthoff Sculpture Garden. Presentations by iris specialists, live music, and art-making activities are all part of the fun. Free and open to the public.

Friday, May 6, 6 p.m. Quintron CD Release Party NOMA celebrates the release of Sucre du Sauvage, the latest album by Quintron, composed entirely on site at the museum in conjunction with the 2010 exhibition Parallel Universe: Quintron and Miss Pussycat, Live at City Park.

SAVE

THE

DATE!

Mark your calendars now for these spectacular fall events: Friday, September 23: LOVE in the Garden Saturday, November 12: Odyssey Ball



AQApril2011Calendar