Page 3

ACTIVATING VOICES “Broadcast audio is going through fundamental change”

W

hile experiencing my first IBC Show last month, it dawned on me just how much goes on behind the scenes of television that the viewer has no idea about. After running around all 15 of the RAI’s halls, I began to realise how much technology is used in the making of programmes I love to watch. It’s staggering really, and I suspect the average content consumer would be shocked at the level of IT and infrastructure there is within the television idndustry. It felt at times like a baptism of fire as I dashed from meeting to meeting, but I returned to London feeling as though I had learned a great deal, and I surprised myself on occasion – I definitely wouldn’t have been able to discuss packet loss before the show! There seemed to be three distinct themes at this year’s show: IP, the cloud and security. IP and the cloud are not new areas of discussion for the industry, and I suspect we’ll still be talking about them at IBC2018. But security and piracy are becoming more important, especially as viewers move away from linear TV to OTT and streaming. This year, we’ve had examples of major series such as Orange is the New Black and Game of Thrones being leaked ahead of their launch dates. The other big issue in terms of piracy is sport. The English Premier League and Germany’s Bundesliga have both

announced measures to combat the issue of illegal streaming. Streaming piracy is regarded a ‘faceless crime’ – those that do it think it doesn’t matter because as far as they’re concerned no one gets hurt. What they’re not considering is the people working so hard behind the scenes so they can watch their favourite team. Bring them to IBC2018 and they would soon learn the difference! Back in the mists of time, or the mid-1990s, radio went through a fundamental change. Out went quarter-inch tape and in came digital. It was a game changer for everyone working in the industry. I was in my first job at Capital FM. Six weeks after I started, Capital moved from the old Euston Tower to its new home in Leicester Square, and with it everything I knew about radio production went out the window. Of course for radio, the introduction of digital has been life-changing and now broadcast audio is going through its own fundamental change. I keep hearing phrases like VoIP and AoIP, while voice activation seems to be about to dramatically alter the way we search for programming. So, I hope you enjoy this month’s issue focusing on the future of broadcast audio. n

JENNY PRIESTLEY, EDITOR

EDITORIAL Content Director: James McKeown jmckeown@nbmedia.com

Senior Account Manager: Richard Carr rcarr@nbmedia.com +44 207 354 6000

Designer: Sam Richwood srichwood@nbmedia.com

Editor: Jenny Priestley jpriestley@nbmedia.com

Digital Director: Diane Oliver doliver@nbmedia.com

US Sales: Michael Mitchell mjmitchell@broadcast-media.tv +1 (631) 673 0072

Senior Staff Writer: James Groves jgroves@nbmedia.com

Human Resources Director: Lianne Davey ldavey@nbmedia.com

Japan and Korea Sales: Sho Harihara sho@yukarimedia.com +81 6 4790 2222

Contributors: George Jarrett, Neal Romanek

Head of Production: Alistair Taylor ataylor@nbmedia.com

Sales Manager: Peter McCarthy pmccarthy@nbmedia.com +44 207 354 6025

Managing Director: Mark Burton mburton@nbmedia.com

PRINT SUBSCRIPTIONS NewBay Subscriptions: The Emerson Building, 4-8 Emerson Street London - SE1 9DU Please email: subscriptions@TVBE.co.uk

TVBEurope is published 12 times a year by by NewBay Media Europe Ltd, The Emerson Building, 4th Floor, 4-8 Emerson Street, London SE1 9DU NewBay is a member of the Periodical Publishers Association

© Copyright NewBay Media Europe Ltd 2017 All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or any information storage or retrieval system without the express prior written consent of the publisher. The contents of TVBE are subject to reproduction in information storage and retrieval systems. Allow eight weeks for new subscriptions and change of address delivery. Send subscription inquiries to: Subscription Dept, NewBay, Sovereign Park, Lathkill Street, Market Harborough LE16 7BR, England. ISSN 1461-4197 Printing by Pensord Press, Tram Road, Pontllanfraith, Blackwood NP12 2YAww

TVBE OCTOBER 2017 | 3

03 Welcome v3 JG.indd 1

29/09/2017 10:45

Profile for Future PLC

TVBE October 2017  

TVBE October 2017  

Advertisement