Page 3

WELCOME 03

www.installation-international.com

Editor: Paddy Baker pbaker@nbmedia.com +44 (0)20 7354 6034

Content director: James McKeown jmckeown@nbmedia.com Production manager: Jason Dowie jdowie@nbmedia.com +44 (0)20 3829 2617

Senior staff writer: Duncan Proctor dproctor@nbmedia.com +44 (0)20 7354 6037

Digital director: Diane Oliver doliver@nbmedia.com

Sales manager: Gurpreet Purewal gpurewal@nbmedia.com +44 (0)20 7354 6029

Contributors: Bobby Beckham Rob Lane Ian McMurray Steve Montgomery Chris Moore Matt Pruznick

Sales executive: Mark Walsh mwalsh@nbmedia.com +44 (0)20 3871 7377 US sales – Executive vice president: Adam Goldstein agoldstein@nbmedia.com Designer: Tom Carpenter tcarpenter@nbmedia.com

Special thanks: Amy Amesbury Pippa Cranham Kerris Kaya Cover image: Fotolia

PRINT SUBSCRIPTIONS To subscribe to Installation please go to www.installation-international.com/subscribe Should you have any questions please email subs@installation-international.com is published 10 times a year by NewBay Media Europe Ltd, The Emerson Building, 4th Floor, 4-8 Emerson Street, London SE1 9DU www.installation-international.com

© Copyright NewBay Media Europe Ltd 2018 NewBay Media Europe Ltd is a member of the Periodical Publishers Association

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or any information storage or retrieval system without the express prior written consent of the publisher. The contents of Installation are subject to reproduction in information storage and retrieval systems.

A sister title to SCN Printed by Pensord Press Ltd, NP12 2YA Print ISSN: 2050-6104

Online ISSN: 2052-2401

Growth via acquisition

H

ow do you grow your business? The short answer is, by putting more sales on your bottom line. Acquiring another business will do this for you from day one – but how the acquired and the acquiring businesses work together and fit together is crucial to making the deal a success. Three recent acquisitions in the pro AV industry serve as illustrations of how this can work. The purchase of Biamp by Highlander Partners is in some ways the most straightforward of the three. Highlander is an investment company that describes its strategy as ‘buy and build’. By injecting money into Biamp it is looking to catalyse growth – both organically and by acquisition. One might more Paddy Baker, Editor often see this kind of approach in the purchase of a smaller, pbaker@nbmedia.com less prominent company than Biamp. But I’m sure that new @install8ion president and CEO Rashid Skaf, who successfully added many companies to the AMX portfolio during the previous decade, has some good ideas for how he’s going to do this. Midwich’s purchase of Sound Technology is a different beast, as it’s one distributor acquiring another. In these cases, growth comes about from the addition of a new customer base and the ability to sell them a wider range of products. As Midwich’s announcement put it, the deal “enhances the Group’s ability to provide complete audiovisual solutions to its customers”. To take another example of this kind, Stampede’s Kevin Kelly mentioned in these pages (Nov-

‘The fact that companies can attract investment like this shows that the professional AV industry is in a strong position, with healthy growth potential’ Dec issue, page 14) that, despite projector lamps being a declining market, Just Lamps’ sales revenues are increasing because Stampede has more than compensated by selling other equipment to these new customers. Then there’s the acquisition of Picturall by Analog Way (we talk to the two companies on page 12). This is the type of acquisition that I find most exciting because it’s bringing together two R&D teams with complementary expertise. So in due course we can expect to see products that draw on the heritage of two companies, both renowned for product quality and technical innovation. These will be products that wouldn’t have existed if the acquisition hadn’t happened. Analog Way CEO Adrien Corso mentions in the interview that the teams were so keen to work together that they didn’t wait till the deal was signed; it’s almost as if they were bursting with new ideas. The fact that companies can attract investment like this shows that the professional AV industry is in a strong position, with healthy growth potential. And that’s a cheering thought to take into the New Year.

Installation January 2018 Digital Edition  

AV integration in a networked world

Installation January 2018 Digital Edition  

AV integration in a networked world