Issuu on Google+

monogram club the

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N


“The pride that earning a Monogram gave me came from the fact it is an award that one can earn only by performing at the highest level academically and athletically. It symbolizes the meaning of student-athlete.”

— Pat Garrity (’98, basketball) 1997, 1998 Academic All-American 1997 BIG EAST Player of the Year 10-Year NBA Veteran

Renew your membership now

To renew your Club dues, please fill out and mail in the attached dues card using the envelope provided in the center of this book. You can also pay your dues online by visiting http://alumni.nd.edu/monogramdues


renew your monogram club membership

“Collectively, we make an incredibly positive impact on the lives of current student-athletes at Notre Dame. Becoming a dues-paying member of the Monogram Club is a significant and meaningful way to give back to a place that means so much to so many.” —  Beth Hunter | Executive Director

annual dues structure

Top 10 Benefits & Privileges Of Being A Monogram Club Member

>> $75 Basic dues level

2. Free admission for members and guests at Monogram Club events during home football weekends

Includes all benefits except football ticket application

3. Access to Brennan-Boland-Riehle Scholarship Fund

>> $150 Dues with football ticket application Monogram winners who graduated from the University prior to 1964 or within the last 10 years (2003–12)

>> $300 Dues with football ticket application Monogram winners who graduated from the University from 1964-2002

1. Access to home and away football tickets

4. Invitation to Monogram Club regional events 5. Invitation to Riehle Open golf outing and summer party 6. Monthly Inside Irish e-newsletter 7. Free admission to Annual Mass and Dinner during Blue-Gold weekend 8. Opportunity to form on-field tunnel during a select home football game 9. Discount at Warren Golf Course pro shop and access to faculty/staff rate for greens fees 10. Free admission to select Notre Dame home athletic contests with membership card

Membership fees are due December 31, 2012.

To pay your dues, either mail in the card to the left with payment or visit http://alumni.nd.edu/monogramdues to pay online.

MEMBERSHIP INFORMATION Varsity athletes and team support members who have earned the athletic insignia of the University of Notre Dame, as well as those who have been awarded an honorary Monogram for their extraordinary contributions to Irish athletics, comprise the membership of the Notre Dame Monogram Club. Dues-paying members of this exclusive group receive a variety of benefits for their continued support and dedication to maintaining Notre Dame’s illustrious athletic heritage as well as the missions of both the Monogram Club and the University.

Football Ticket Access Information The University allots the Monogram

Benefits for Former Football Players and Senior Football Managers

Club 4,500 tickets for each home game.

Notre Dame football Monogram winners/

If demand exceeds the allotment, the

senior football managers who are dues-

Notre Dame Ticket Office holds a special

paying members of the Monogram Club

Monogram Club lottery for each home game.

also receive the following additional benefits: • Friday night receptions prior to home football games in the Schivarelli Football Players’ Lounge at Notre Dame Stadium • An invitation to the Blue-Gold Football Alumni Weekend in conjunction with the annual Blue-Gold football game • Opportunity to form the pre-game tunnel with fellow football alumni at one selected football game each fall

Photos by Mike and Susan Bennett, AP, Getty Images, Matt Cashore, Maike Rinaye, Jon Kerzetski and Mark LaFrance.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

1


• • •

Monogram Winners in the Olympics St o c k hol m 191 2

Forest Fletcher, High Jump and Long Jump George Philbrook, Decathlon, Discus and Shot Put James Wasson*, 100 Yards

A n t w e r p 192 0

August “Gus” Desch, 400-Meter Hurdles, Bronze Johnny Murphy, High Jump

Pa r i s 192 4

Tom Lieb, Discus, Bronze

A m s t e rda m 192 8 Alex Wilson, (Canada) 400 Meters, 800 Meters and

s a lt l a k e c i t y 2 0 0 2 Marton Gyulai, (Hungary) Four-Man Bobsled

at h e ns 2 0 0 4 Christel Bouvron, (Singapore) 200-Meter Butterfly Shannon Boxx, Soccer, Gold Monica Gonzalez, (Mexico) Soccer Andrew MacKay, (Cayman Islands) 200-Meter Individual Medley and 400-Meter Individual Medley

Kate (Sobrero) Markgraf, Soccer, Gold Ruth Riley, Basketball, Gold Jan Viviani, Fencing (Individual Epee) Mariel Zagunis, Fencing (Individual Sabre), Gold

4 x 400-Meter Relay, Bronze

T u r i n 2 0 0 6

l o s a ng e l e s 193 2

Marton Gyulai, (Hungary) Two-Man Bobsled and Four-Man Bobsled

Alex Wilson, (Canada) 400 Meters, Bronze, 800 Meters, Silver and 4x400 Meter Relay, Bronze

b e i j i ng 2 0 0 8

l on d on 194 8

Shannon Boxx, Soccer, Gold Thomas Chamney, (Ireland) 800 Meters Candace Chapman, (Canada) Soccer Kelley Hurley, Fencing (Individual Epee) Kate (Sobrero) Markgraf, Soccer, Gold Gerek Meinhardt, Fencing (Individual Foil) Selim Nurudeen, (Nigeria) 110-Meter High Hurdles Melissa Tancredi, (Canada) Soccer Mariel Zagunis, Fencing (Individual Sabre), Gold and

Vince Boryla, Basketball, Gold

t ok yo 196 4 Shaun Fitzmaurice, Baseball (Exhibition)

m u n ic h 197 2 Rick Wohlhuter, 800 Meters

mon tr e a l 1976 Adrian Dantley, Basketball, Gold Rick Wohlhuter, 800 Meters, Bronze and 1,500 Meters

Fencing (Team Sabre), Bronze

mo s c ow 198 0

Natalie Achonwa, (Canada) Basketball Shannon Boxx, Soccer, Gold Candace Chapman, (Canada) Soccer, Bronze Molly Huddle, 5,000 Meters Courtney Hurley, Fencing (Individual Epee) and

Debbie Brown^, Volleyball (boycott) Tim Glass, Fencing (Individual Epee) (boycott) Bill Hanzlik, Basketball (boycott)

l o s a ng e l e s 198 4 Mike McCahey, Fencing (Individual Foil) and Fencing (Team Foil)

Bjorn Vaggo, (Sweden) Fencing (Individual Epee), Silver

s e ou l 198 8 Mike Gostigian, Modern Pentathlon Molly Sullivan, Fencing (Individual Foil)

b a rc e l ona 1992 Mike Gostigian, Modern Pentathlon Leszek Nowosielski, (Canada) Fencing (Individual Sabre)

Molly Sullivan, Fencing (Individual Foil)

at l a n ta 1996 Mike Gostigian, Modern Pentathlon Jileen Siroky, 200-Meter Breaststroke Sara Walsh*, Fencing (Individual Foil)

s y dn e y 2 0 0 0 Christel Bouvron, (Singapore) 200-Meter Butterfly and 400-Meter Butterfly Nick Radkewich, Triathlon Kate (Sobrero) Markgraf, Soccer, Silver

2

l on d on 2 01 2

Fencing (Team Epee), Bronze

Kelley Hurley, Fencing (Team Epee), Bronze Lee Kiefer, Fencing (Individual Foil) and Fencing (Team Foil)

Gerek Meinhardt, Fencing (Team Foil) Selim Nurudeen, (Nigeria) 110-Meter High Hurdles Amanda Polk*, Rowing Mary Saxer*, Pole Vault Melissa Tancredi, (Canada) Soccer, Bronze Mariel Zagunis, Fencing (Individual Sabre)

*Denotes alternate ^Honorary Monogram recipient

Former Irish standout Shannon Boxx (’99) hoists the American flag in Beijing after helping the U.S. women’s soccer team earn the gold medal in 2008. With the Americans’ golden repeat in London, Boxx became the first-ever Monogram winner to claim three Olympic gold medals (’04, ’08, ’12). The Notre Dame department of athletics hosted eight Monogram winners who competed during the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing on campus during the 2008 Notre Dame football season.


The Monogram Club Mission Statement: Bridging The Gap Between Legend And Legacy The Notre Dame Monogram Club is comprised of individuals who have earned the University’s varsity athletic insignia for their athletic or team support endeavors or who have been honorary Monogram recipients. The Notre Dame Monogram Club supports the primary goal of the University, which is the spiritual, intellectual and physical development of its students and alumni. The Monogram Club provides its members the opportunity to foster and maintain relationships across different sports, generations and geographical locations. In this way, the Club aspires to contribute, through the common bond of sport, to the social and professional enrichment of its members and provide a means of ongoing association with the University. As an integral part of the Notre Dame family, the Monogram Club strives to uphold and enrich the great tradition of Notre Dame athletics.

I n troduc t ion

1 2 4

Renew Your Monogram Club Membership Monogram Winners in the Olympics Letter from the Monogram Club Executive Director

NAT IONAL MONOGR AM R EACH

6 7 8

Regional Road Trip Irish Across America

Visiting Our Nation’s Heroes

MONOGR AM WINNERS OF DISTINCTION

10 11

Our Lady’s Olympians Military Medicine Man

12 13

Blazing a Trail

2 8 30

Monogram Club Contributions

Supporting the Dream

Q&A with the Monogram Club President

YEAR IN REVIEW

14 16 18

2011-12 Athletics Year in Review

2011-12 Year in Photos

Q&A with the Director of Athletics

MONOG R AM CLUB HIGHLIGH T S

21 22 24 26

Scholarship & Service

MONOGRAM LEADERSHIP & SUPPO R T

32 34 35 36 37

Monogram Club Board of Directors Monogram Club Board Members

Connect with the Monogram Club Alma Mater

In Memoriam

Recognition Fellowship

2011-12 Honorary Monogram Recipients

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

3


L e tt e r fr o m t h e m o n o g r a m c l u b E x e c u t i v e D i r e c t o r

D

uring the middle part of the 19th century, University of Notre Dame founder Father edward Sorin and a contingent of Holy Cross priests departed South Bend to serve as Union Army chaplains during the American Civil War.

One of those priests was future University president Rev. William Corby. Corby played a monumental role during the Battle of Gettysburg in 1863, mounting his horse to offer encouragement and absolution to the members of the Irish Brigade who fought during the decisive victory for the Union. Ever since that Fighting Irish mission some 150 years ago, the students, faculty and staff of the University of Notre Dame have served our country with a strong sense of national pride. When walking around campus, one only needs to look to the flag flying high in Notre Dame Stadium, or the phrase, “God, Country, Notre Dame,” etched into the Basilica of the Sacred Heart, to recognize that Notre Dame nationalism is still as prominent today as it was during that critical time in our country’s history. Whether it be on the playing field, in the political realm or through military service, Notre Dame studentathletes have represented the University on the national stage since the inception of the Monogram Club in 1916. This past year was no different, as both the Club and its members engaged in service and outreach initiatives throughout the United States. It is with this proud history in mind that we’ve decided to give the 2011-12 Monogram Club annual report a distinctly patriotic theme. In the pages that follow, you’ll read about Monogram winners who represented the United States and Notre Dame at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London, a former fencer and

4

military veteran who heals his fellow patriots in Afghanistan and a team of Monogram winners from all parts of the country who banded together to help a fellow athlete achieve his American Dream. You’ll also learn about outreach efforts with current student-athletes and Monogram winners on the ground in South Bend, as well as ways in which our members are gathering and reconnecting in cities and towns across the country. After reading this series of unique and inspiring stories, in addition to the many amazing accomplishments of the Club this past year, I hope you will consider becoming a dues-paying member in 2012. With your support, we can strive to improve the benefits offered to our members, while continuing to enhance the educational and competitive experiences of Notre Dame’s current student-athletes. Thank you for your ongoing support of this extraordinary Club. We hope to see you on campus during the 2012-13 academic year. Go Irish!

Beth Hunter

Executive Director


National Monogram Reach

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

5


regional road trip

T

Become a Smithsonian savant. Ring the Liberty Bell. Experience a Mile High moment. Walk the Freedom Trail. he Monogram Club checked some of the finest American cities off the list during the organization’s regional road trip, as hundreds of Monogram winners and their guests attended Club-sponsored events around the country. All in all, the Monogram Club hosted a record four regional receptions in 2011-12.

The campaign kicked off in November, as the Club descended on the nation’s capital to host a tailgate prior to the football team’s game against Maryland at FedEx Field. Partnering with the Notre Dame Alumni Association, the Monogram Club welcomed more than 80 Monogram winners and guests to the event. In addition, the Club donated $1,500 to sponsor entry to the tailgate and the game for five Army service men, through the Yellow Ribbon Fund initiative.

During hoops season, members of the Monogram Club staff ventured to the City of Brotherly Love to host a pre-game reception before the men’s basketball team took on Villanova at the Wells Fargo Center in

6

South Philadelphia. More than 60 Monogram winners and guests gathered at Chickie’s and Pete’s restaurant before watching the Irish complete a 20-point comeback and defeat the Wildcats in overtime. Two months later, the Monogram Club headed west to join the Notre Dame Alumni Association in Denver April 1 at the official pre-game pep rally before the women’s basketball team’s Final Four contest against Connecticut. Monogram winners enjoyed complimentary appetizers and some first-rate Monogram Club gear giveaways before watching the Irish defeat the Huskies at the Pepsi Center. And as it was the Irish—and not the British—that were coming to Boston over Memorial Day weekend, the Monogram Club partnered with the Notre Dame Club of Boston to host a pre-game pep rally prior to the men’s lacrosse team’s Final Four matchup with Loyola (Md.). More than 50 Monogram winners and their families attended the reception at the Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel before heading to Gillette Stadium to cheer on the Irish.


irish across america

T

Notre Dame student-athletes are afforded incredible opportunities to travel and compete across the United States during their Irish careers, but between practice, homework and film sessions, it can be difficult for teams to find the time to appreciate their surroundings while on the road. hrough the Monogram Club team hosting program, Notre Dame squads can take a break from the rigors of competing to enjoy a unique cultural event during away contests. In 2011-12, a number of Fighting Irish teams took advantage of this popular program. No trip to New York City is complete without a Broadway show, and thanks to the Monogram Club, the fencing (“Blue Man Group”), cheerleading (“Jersey Boys”), women’s soccer (“The Lion King”) and women’s basketball (“Blue Man Group”)

teams sat front row, center, for a show-stopping performance on the Great White Way. While in Florida during its spring break trip, the women’s lacrosse team (pictured above) hung out with Mickey, Minnie and Donald while spending the day at the Magic Kingdom in Walt Disney World. And just a short trip from Orlando down Route 4 to Tampa, Monogram Club board member Terri Vitale (’94, ’95, tennis) hosted a group of women’s tennis student-athletes while they competed at the International Collegiate Clay Court Championships in November. As snow and sleet pelted the South Bend area in March, the women’s tennis team took advantage of the team hosting program to enjoy the sights and sounds of a Hawaiian luau during competition on the islands. And while it wasn’t a state-side experience, the softball team certainly appreciated a Monogram Club-sponsored climb of the Sydney Harbour Bridge during the squad’s trip to Australia this past fall.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

7


Monogram Club officers, board members and staff visit with a wounded soldier. (Left to right): Colonel Bryan Fenton (’87, student manager), Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77, baseball), Kevin O’Connor (’89, lacrosse), Reggie Brooks (’93, football), Haley Scott DeMaria (’95, swimming) and Mike Sullivan (’09, student manager). Photo courtesy of Walter Reed National Military Medical Center.

Visiting our nation’s heroes

T

For close to 100 years, the United States of America has honored its military service men and women with the observance of Veterans Day annually on November 11.

“Just like regular patients, the soldiers like to see folks come in and take their minds off of what they’re dealing with physically,” Fenton said. “Visitors can lift the spirits of our wounded heroes by letting them know there’s a light at the end of the tunnel of their journeys.”

he federal holiday represents a chance for Americans to reflect on the freedoms that define our status as U.S. citizens, and the lengths that the military goes in order to protect those freedoms.

“There’s also a flip side to these trips, as visitors often come out of the experience uplifted because they develop a new perspective on life,” Fenton said. “The wounded heroes at this facility are dealing with a lot of adversity, but they have an incredible amount of strength.”

In an effort to pay tribute to some of our nation’s finest heroes, members of the Monogram Club board of directors and staff spent Veterans Day 2011 visiting with a group of soldiers wounded in combat at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda, Md.

The visit to Walter Reed was coordinated by Monogram Club board member Colonel Bryan Fenton (’87, student manager), a U.S. Army Special Forces officer who has served in various locations in the United States and overseas, participating in Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi Freedom and numerous other military operations.

8

During each visit, the Monogram Club group presented a Notre Dame gear package and talked football with the soldiers, many of whom identified themselves as Irish fans. “Our experience at Walter Reed was powerful, and something never to be forgotten,” president Dick Nussbaum (’74,’77, baseball) said. “We owe these soldiers a lifetime of thanks and support— they inspired us to be better people and to realize the strength of this country’s resolve to protect our fundamental freedoms.”


monogram winners of distinction

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

9


Our Lady’s Olympians

A

fter witnessing two weeks of competitive

dominance by American female athletes, media pundits and fans were quick to dub the 2012 Summer Olympics, “The Women’s Games.” From the high-flying brilliance of Gabby Douglas to the aquatic excellence of Missy Franklin, women accounted for 58 of our country’s 104 medals (including 29 of 46 golds), more than all but three countries’ total medal counts.

The results were no different for Notre Dame Monogram winners, as a school-record 11 former student-athletes (nine of them women) competed in London. What’s more, the Irish accounted for a schoolrecord five medals – all won by female athletes – and completed a number of historic firsts for Our Lady’s University in the process. Track Monogram winner Molly Huddle (’06) represented one of those firsts. After earning All-America honors an astounding 10 times during her Notre Dame career, Huddle has continued her elite distance career as a member of Team USA. The Elmira, N.Y., native won the 5,000m title at the 2011 USA Track & Field Outdoor Championships, and qualified for the 2012 Olympics after finishing second in the 5,000m at the U.S. Olympic Trials in June. With her time of 15:14.40, Huddle became the first female Notre Dame track & field Monogram winner ever to qualify for the Olympic Games. “For me, it’s the fulfillment of a dream,” Huddle said after the trials. “I have always been inspired by the Olympics and what they represent. It’s overwhelming to imagine representing my country on such an incredible stage.” Once she arrived in London, Huddle did not disappoint. After leading for much of her heat, she qualified for the finals of the 5,000m with a fifthplace finish. In the final race on Aug. 10, she would have to place ninth to secure the best-ever finish by an American in the event. Huddle flirted with the American record for the majority of the event, but ultimately placed 11th in a time of 15:20.29.

“I’m proud to represent Notre Dame track & field every time I race. Some incredible athletes have come through our program, and I’m hopeful we’ll have more Olympians to come in Rio 2016.” —Molly Huddle (’06, track)

Now looking back on the games, Huddle’s first Olympics competition was by all accounts a success, and she hopes there’s more to come from our Irish competitors. Photo courtesy of Pat Holleran (’72, ’77, ’79, track).

10


Military Medicine Man

F

or former Notre Dame fencer Roy Seitz (’74), practically every day involves a life or death scenario.

An ER doctor in the Cleveland area, Seitz regularly ensures his trauma victims receive the precise care they need to survive. But it’s his part-time, emergency military work overseas that gives him the greatest sense of purpose. Having long been interested in utilizing his ER skills to benefit the armed forces, Seitz found an opportunity to take action after the tragic events of Sept. 11, 2001. He trained for three years to become a battalion doctor before being deployed to Kuwait in 2004 to provide medical services in a non-combat setting. Seitz appreciated his time in Kuwait, but felt he could have a greater impact by aiding his battalion of 800 Marines on the front lines of war. He received that opportunity in 2010 after being re-deployed—this time to Afghanistan. “During my second trip, I was able to provide care for combat victims that were literally coming in 5 or 10 minutes removed from the battlefield,” Seitz said. “The work was often executed near live fire, and many of the soldiers we assisted likely had three to five minutes remaining before they died.” Despite the adverse circumstances, Seitz and his team of surgeons and anesthesiologists worked tirelessly around the clock to ensure every wounded soldier that arrived alive would be able to eventually return home. Miraculously, they all did.

“These soldiers have little regard for themselves and are solely committed to their fellow soldiers and their duty. Working with them was truly a life-changing event for me.” —Roy Seitz (’74, fencing)

Now that he’s back in the U.S., Seitz continues to find ways to support veterans who served in Iraq and Afghanistan. He is active in the Notre Dame Club of Cleveland, and has worked with the organization’s leaders to ensure soldiers and their families receive proper services and support once they return home. And this past summer, Seitz and two of his sons biked from Ohio to Maryland to raise nearly $3,000 for the Wounded Warriors fund. During the trip, Seitz visited Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda, Md., to meet with some of the Marines he worked with during his time in Afghanistan.

Roy Seitz (’74, fencing) provides medical care for young Afghan girls. In addition to his work with U.S. Marines, Seitz aided many innocent Afghan villagers who were persecuted by the Taliban.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

11


Blazing A Trail

W

hen lining up the impressive list of honors Ruth Riley

(’01, basketball) has accumulated during her 15-year basketball career, it’s evident that she just may be the most well-rounded student-athlete to ever walk the halls of the JACC. Here’s a sampling.

NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Player. Academic All-America Hall of Famer. Olympic Gold Medalist. Two-time WNBA Champion. United Nations spokesperson for malaria prevention in Africa. The former Irish All-American is certainly proud of her accomplishments, but also understands her groundbreaking career might not have been possible, had it not been for the landmark legislation that afforded American female athletes equal footing on the playing field. “Title IX has given me the opportunity to do what I do,” Riley said. “My mother didn’t have the opportunity to go to college or to compete in athletics. She instilled in me at a young age that I should appreciate what I have and work really hard. I’m very grateful for that.” With 2012 not only marking the 40th anniversary of Title IX, but also the 40th anniversary of coeducation at Notre Dame, it’s important to highlight the extraordinary achievements of the University’s women’s athletics programs over the past four decades. The first female student-athletes began their careers on campus in the early 1970s as members of interhall squads, interest groups and club teams. In 1976, women’s tennis and women’s fencing became official varsity sports, and from there, 12 more female programs would be added over the next 20 years. Since those humble varsity beginnings in 1976, Fighting Irish women’s athletics programs have achieved astounding success while producing more than 200 All-Americans and eight national championships. To ensure participation in women’s athletics continues to thrive at Notre Dame and in institutions across the country, Riley realizes the importance of encouraging girls to become active in sports at an early age. It’s at that critical time when a dream can surface in a girl’s mind. That one day, maybe she too can achieve greatness in the playing arena while helping others. Just like Riley has.

12

“The realization of the dreams of generations to come will not only transcend women’s sports as we know it, but will also make our world a better place as these women set and achieve goals beyond their respective athletic talents.” —Ruth Riley (‘01, basketball)


Supporting The Dream

T

he meaning of the American Dream is

interpreted in many different ways by many different people. But for most, the concept involves taking advantage of the freedoms established by our country’s forefathers to achieve one’s life goals to the utmost extent. The Monogram Club mentoring program strives to make as many of these American Dreams come true for Notre Dame student-athletes, and one such success story from the program is that of lacrosse Monogram winner Billy Maloney (’11).

The Bethesda, Md., native approached the end of his senior year with hopes of beginning a career in finance, and was looking to build his professional network and land a promising new job. With the help of Monogram Club staff member Reggie Brooks (’93), Maloney utilized the mentoring program to connect with football Monogram winners Ryan Leahy (’95) and Tom Galloway (’87), who shared their experiences as financial professionals and offered valuable interview tips that assisted Maloney during his job search. Brooks also put him in touch with former student-athletes in the Washington, D.C., area, where Maloney hoped to work after leaving Notre Dame. “The conversations were extremely helpful and gave me a stronger knowledge of the industry,” Maloney said. “My mentors were confident that I would end up in a great place even if I wasn’t always confident in myself. I think that’s what made me feel so much more comfortable in interviews going forward.” Maloney’s preparation certainly paid dividends, as he impressed in a number of interviews and received three job offers in 10 days this past January. He accepted a position with Pace Global as an energy analyst, and now works in the company’s Washington, D.C., office. Maloney credits his strong career network for helping him secure the position, as well as his dedication to the job search (Galloway noted that Maloney walked almost two miles from the Baltimore train station to his office for their in-person meeting). Now, Maloney is already giving back to the program and serving as a Monogram Club mentor to other Notre Dame student-athletes hoping to achieve their versions of the American Dream.

“The connections you make with other Monogram winners are critical, because with the Notre Dame alumni base, everyone genuinely wants to help. They might not be able to give you a job directly, but they tend to find a way to get you where you need to be.” —Billy Maloney (‘11, men’s lacrosse)

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

13


2011-12

Athletics Year In Review Baseball

Men’s Fencing

BIG EAST Championship Semifinalist

NCAA Championship – Third

(31-26, 14-13 BIG EAST)

Joe Hudson, Dan Slania, Will Hudgins – Second-Team All-BIG EAST

(29-6)

Enzo Castellani (foil) – First-Team All-America

Women’s Fencing (25-6)

Men’s Basketball (22-12, 13-5 BIG EAST)

Jack Cooley – BIG EAST Most Improved Player

Grace Hartman (foil), Madison Zeiss (foil), Ashley Severson (epee), Lian Osier (sabre) – Second-Team All-America

Women’s Basketball

Football

NCAA Championship National Runner-Up

Champs Sports Bowl Participant

NCAA Championship Second Round

(35-4, 15-1 BIG EAST)

Skylar Diggins, Natalie Novosel – First-Team All-America

Men’s Cross Country

(8-5)

Tyler Eifert – First-Team All-America

Men’s Golf (66-62-3)

NCAA Championship – 24th

NCAA Midwest Regional – T-Sixth

NCAA Great Lakes Regional – Fourth

BIG EAST Champion

BIG EAST Championship – Sixth

14

NCAA Championship – Third

Max Scodro – BIG EAST Individual Champion

Women’s Cross Country

Women’s Golf

NCAA Championship – 22nd

NCAA Central Regional – 15th

NCAA Great Lakes Regional – Fifth

BIG EAST Runner-Up

BIG EAST Championship – Sixth

Ashley Armstrong – BIG EAST Individual Champion

(61-84-3)


Hockey

(19-18-3, 12-13-3 CCHA)

CCHA Championship Second Round T.J. Tynan – First-Team All-CCHA

Men’s Lacrosse (13-3, 6-0 BIG EAST)

NCAA Championship Semifinalist John Kemp, Kevin Randall – First-Team All-America

Women’s Lacrosse (13-5, 6-2 BIG EAST)

NCAA Championship First Round Maggie Tamasitis – Second-Team All-America

Rowing NCAA Championship – 15th BIG EAST Champion Molly Bruggeman – First-Team All-America

Men’s Soccer

(9-5-4, 5-3-1 BIG EAST)

BIG EAST Championship First Round Aaron Maund – First-Team All-BIG EAST

Women’s Soccer (10-8-3, 6-3-2 BIG EAST)

NCAA First Round

Women’s Swimming & Diving (6-6)

BIG EAST Championship Runner-Up Kelly Ryan – All-America Selection (7th in NCAA 200 Back)

Men’s Tennis (21-9)

NCAA Championship Second Round Greg Andrews – BIG EAST Player of the Year

Women’s Tennis (21-8)

NCAA Championship Second Round Kristy Frilling, Shannon Mathews – All-America Selections (Doubles)

Men’s Track & Field BIG EAST Champion (Indoor, Outdoor) NCAA Indoor Distance Medley Relay National Champion Kevin Schipper – All-America (4th in NCAA pole vault)

Women’s Track & Field BIG EAST Indoor Championship – Fourth BIG EAST Outdoor Championship Runner-Up

Melissa Henderson – Third-Team All-America

Maddie Buttinger (Indoor), Rebecca Tracy (Outdoor) – All-America Selections

Softball

Volleyball

NCAA Regional Runner-Up

BIG EAST Championship Runner-Up

Laura Winter – BIG EAST Pitcher of the Year

Kristen Dealy, Jeni Houser – Second-Team All-BIG EAST

(40-16, 16-3 BIG EAST)

(17-13, 8-6 BIG EAST)

Men’s Swimming & Diving (6-4)

BIG EAST Champion Frank Dyer – All-America Selection (4th in NCAA 200 Free)

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

15


Blue-Gold Football Alumni Flag Game MVP Scott Cengia (’98) celebrates the award with his family.

Fraderica Miller (’12, basketball) chats with Monogram Club past president Joe Restic (’79, football) during April’s Annual Mass, Meeting and Dinner.

2011-12

Year In photos The leprechaun leads the Notre Dame football team through the Monogram Club’s pre-game tunnel before the Oct. 22 USC game.

Women’s basketball Monogram winners (left to right) Imani Dunbar (’01), Ericka Haney (‘02), Ashley Barlow (‘10) and Alena Christiansen (‘10) at the Monogram Club’s Denver reception. 16

University president Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C. (’76, ’78), and football student-athlete Andrew Hendrix (’14) at the 2012 spring letter jacket ceremony.

Jeremy Rae celebrates as he crosses the finish line to help the Notre Dame distance medley relay team capture the national title in the event at the 2012 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships. Rae earned All-America honors along with teammates Randall Babb, Chris Giesting and Johnathan Shawel.


Softball Monogram winners join with the current Irish squad to celebrate the dedication of the Charles and Marie Doherty Batting Cages in November.

Monogram Club board member Carolyn Cooper (’06, volleyball), pictured left, catches up with teammate Lauren Kelbley Miller (‘06) at the Blue-Gold young alumni reception.

Heisman Trophy winner Tim Brown (’88, football) coaches up the campers at Notre Dame Football Fantasy Camp in June.

Family members and players of former Notre Dame football coach Dan Devine gathered in October to celebrate the dedication of his sculpture outside Notre Dame Stadium.

Former student manager Kristin Yudt (‘00), far left, with her family and friends at the Monogram Club’s regional reception in Philadelphia this past February.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

17


Q&A

F i v e Qu e s t ions W i t h T h e di r e c t or of At h l e t ic s

Jack Swarbrick (’76) enters his fifth year as vice president and director of athletics at his alma mater. During his tenure, Notre Dame has produced 124 All-Americans, 21 Academic All-America selections and five NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipients.

Q: What is your favorite Monogram Club event to attend during the year? It’s hard to pick one. I enjoy the events that provide the best opportunities for dialogue. For example, I appreciate meeting with the Monogram Club board of directors, because we always have a question and answer session. I get to hear what’s on their mind and that gives me an opportunity to respond to those things and make sure they have the information they need. While a lot of the Monogram functions have that component to it, the ones that create a formal setting for dialogue, such as the Annual Dinner, are the best.

Q: You’ve strived to build a championship-oriented culture at Notre Dame and the Monogram Club supports the initiative by purchasing post-season rings

18

and awards for student-athletes. How does this help reinforce that mindset?

Q: What are some of the most important objectives of the athletics department in 2012-13?

It’s symbolic of that commitment to excellence. More importantly, the Monogram Club helps to support the foundational pieces that help build championships. The rings honor the accomplishment, but the Monogram Club also makes computers available to help student-athletes keep up with their coursework while on the road. That’s critical. In addition, by also funding facilities upgrades and providing other services important to team development, in a subsidive way, the Club is helping us achieve that goal of winning championships.

I mentioned that we want to be a better career services resource as a complement, and not a replacement, to the University’s program that is run so well. The studentathletes have special needs in that regard and we want to make sure we address them.

Q: What role can former studentathletes play in enriching the careers of current Notre Dame student-athletes? I think we’ve done a number of specific things to enhance the interaction between past and present student-athletes, specifically the mentoring program and our focus on trying to offer more effective career services support for our studentathletes. The Monogram Club helps a lot with this initiative. But the most valuable contribution of former student-athletes is that they’re “proof of concept.” By enjoying the success they’ve achieved in their professional lives after successful careers as athletes, it provides a compelling message for our student-athletes. It says, “You can do this. You can achieve your goals, and have the sort of success that Notre Dame makes available to its student-athletes.”

The second component is digital media. I think we’ve done a very good job in our first year, but it’s critical we become a producer of more video content, distributed in a host of ways. It’s a huge priority for us in the coming year. In addition to an increased focus on impacting young people through community outreach and youth programming, we’re also looking to build our capabilities in terms of athlete performance. That’s the sports science of what we do, whether it be medical services, strength and conditioning, nutrition or training, we want to get better in that area and distinguish ourselves from our peers.

Q: What do you feel are the biggest obstacles facing college athletics today? It has not been a particularly impressive period for our industry in the past two years. In the wake of the NCAA’s decision relative to Penn State, as well as a number of compliance failures among college departments and the way conference realignment panned out, the biggest challenge is to get re-grounded in our core mission. That’s using athletics to educate and to promote our universities.


monogram club highlights

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

19


Men’s soccer student-athletes celebrate earning their first Monogram during the 2012 spring letter jacket ceremony.

Christopher Iverson (’12, student manager) was one of two Monogram Club postgraduate scholarship award winners.

20

Athletics department chaplain Rev. Paul Doyle, C.S.C. (’65), celebrates a 2011 Monogram Club post-game Mass.


2011-12

highlights As the Monogram Club bridges the gap between legend and legacy, the organization continues to focus on its core values of scholarship and service, recognition and fellowship. All 2011-12 projects, programs and initiatives directly addressed these values while engaging former and current student-athletes to promote the Club’s vision of spirit, unity, leadership and sportsmanship.

Scholarship & Service Career Development

During the 2011-12 academic year, the Monogram Club made great strides to improve its career development services with a primary purpose of aiding both current student-athletes and Monogram winners looking to make meaningful connections in their respective fields of work. The Club continued to facilitate its popular mentoring program, founded in 2009, to connect current student-athletes with established Monogram winners in their targeted fields of study. Partnering with the Notre Dame Career Center and the Office of Student Welfare and Development, the Monogram Club has matched more than 150 student-athletes with mentors since the program’s inception, helping individuals gain valuable networking advice and career development opportunities. In 2011, the Club expanded the program to also afford graduated Monogram winners the opportunity to benefit from the program through the member-to-member mentoring initiative. For more information about the mentoring program, contact Monogram Club staff member Mike Sullivan at (574) 631-2909. The Monogram Club’s LinkedIn group continues to thrive, as close to 1,000 Monogram winners are a part of this interactive and exclusive online forum. Established in 2011, the main goal of the social networking tool is to drive industry discussions and career development between Monogram Club members while providing the opportunity for individuals to connect with friends and teammates. Monogram winners moving to a new city or looking to make industry contacts often utilize the LinkedIn group’s discussion page and receive responses from multiple former student-athletes looking to help out their fellow Domers. Bossy Scholars In addition to service projects by Monogram Club members in 2011-12, current student-athletes were active in the community in partnership with the Bossy Scholarship program. Through the generosity of two-

time Monogram winner Dave Bossy (’77, hockey), the Notre Dame Monogram Club continues to team with the University’s Center for Social Concerns to provide $10,000 in financial assistance for studentathletes who work in summer service projects. In 2012, four student-athletes received Dave Bossy Scholarships to pursue a variety of volunteer efforts. Rowing student-athlete Carlee Becker (’15, Burbank, Calif.) worked with the developmentally disabled at L’Arche Harbor House in Jacksonville, Fla., while track studentathlete Eddy Gibbons (’14, Cary, Ill.) volunteered at the Northern Illinois Special Recreation Center. Fencer Ryan McDonough (’15, Long Grove, Ill.) spent the summer in Chicago working at a local Boys & Girls Club and at Our Lady of the Angels, an organization which aims to establish a Catholic presence in the city’s Humboldt Park area. London, Ohio, native and track studentathlete Emily Morris (’15) spent time volunteering at East 10th Street Methodist Summer Program in Indianapolis. Brennan-Boland-Riehle Scholarship Fund Since 1980, the Monogram Club has awarded more than $3.8 million in financial aid to close to 300 sons and daughters of Monogram winners who attend the University through the Brennan-Boland-Riehle Scholarship Fund. Named in honor of Joe Boland, Rev. Thomas Brennan, C.S.C., and Rev. James Riehle, C.S.C., the BBRSF offers a minimum award of 75 percent of the student’s normal work and loan component of the financial aid package. In 2011-12, 32 children of dues-paying members received a combined $307,750 in tuition assistance. As one of the University’s more significant endowed scholarship funds, the BBRSF currently boasts an impressive market value of more than $6 million. The fund has the 25th largest endowment of the University’s 1,820 endowed undergraduate scholarships and is the second-largest scholarship fund among alumni club scholarships, behind only the ND Club of Los Angeles. Postgraduate Scholarships In 2011-12, the Monogram Club presented its fourth annual postgraduate scholarship awards to women’s tennis student manager Christopher Iverson (’12, Dubuque, Iowa) and fencing student-athlete Stephanie Myers (’12, El Paso, Texas). Both Monogram winners received a onetime, $5,000 grant to continue their educations. Iverson, a two-year manager with the football team (2009-11) and senior manager for women’s tennis, graduated from the University’s College of Science with a degree in science business and plans to attend medical school this fall at the University of Iowa. Myers, who compiled a 37-35 career record as an epeeist on the fencing team, earned her degree from Notre Dame’s College of Science/Arts and Letters in biological sciences and sociology. She plans to enroll in Texas A&M’s College of Veterinary Medicine this fall.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

21


Recognition

Student-Athlete/Team Recognition The Monogram Club sponsored several events and activities in 2011-12 that recognized the contributions of individuals and teams who have filled the Notre Dame community with a great sense of pride through their accomplishments both on and off the field.

Matt Besler (’09), pictured right center, was honored in October for becoming the first MLS All-Star in Notre Dame men’s soccer history.

The Club welcomed Sporting Kansas City defender Matt Besler (’09)—the first Major League Soccer (MLS) All-Star in Irish men’s soccer history—back to campus to be honored at halftime of the Notre Dame soccer match versus top-ranked Connecticut on Oct. 8. Monogram Club executive director Beth Hunter led Besler to midfield and presented him with a framed collage during the ceremony. Besler then gave Hunter a game-worn jersey from Sporting Kansas City as well as a flag from the MLS All-Star Game that will be donated to the men’s soccer program. In October, more than 200 family, friends, colleagues and players of Dan Devine gathered at Gate A of Notre Dame Stadium during the Air Force football weekend Oct. 7-8 to dedicate a sculpture in the Hall of Fame coach’s honor. Devine’s sculpture complements those of Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy, Ara Parseghian and Lou Holtz, representing the national championshipwinning head coaches of Notre Dame football. During basketball season, the Monogram Club hosted former All-American Adrian Dantley on March 2 in conjunction with his induction into the Purcell Pavilion Ring of Honor. A number of former teammates and other basketball Monogram winners joined Dantley for a reception in the Monogram Room, including former Irish cagers Tom Hansen (‘74), Peter Crotty (‘75), Roger Anderson (‘76), Casey Newell (‘85) and Chris Nanni (‘88).

“Adrian was Mr. Everything,” basketball Monogram winner Jim Monahan (‘67) said. “He was a leader on and off the court and just a tremendous player. He continued to fuel the success of the program after Austin Carr graduated—he came right in and took over where Austin left off.” Adrian Dantley (’76, basketball) addressed a capacity crowd in March after being inducted into the Purcell Pavilion Ring of Honor.

Notre Dame’s 167th commencement in May featured a distinctive Monogram flair, as first vice president Haley Scott DeMaria (’95) served as principal speaker and received an honorary degree during the ceremony. DeMaria, who made an inspiring recovery from critical injuries suffered in a 1992 bus accident involving the Fighting Irish swimming team, spoke about how the tragedies she’s experienced have helped her develop some necessary perspective in life. “Life may not take you down the path you planned, but with the foundation you’ve laid at this University, it can still be a very good path,” DeMaria said. “I truly believe that each of us has a choice every day; that each of us can wake up tomorrow and find something negative in our lives on which to focus. But even in our darkest days, we can choose the brighter path; the one of gratitude.” During commencement weekend, DeMaria also joined the Notre Dame athletics department in hosting graduating senior student-athletes for a brunch on Saturday morning. More than 250 student-athletes, family members, coaches and athletics staff attended the inaugural event in the Notre Dame Stadium press box.

Monogram Club first vice president Haley Scott DeMaria (’95, swimming) served as the University’s 167th commencement speaker in May.

22


Awards and Honors The Monogram Club continued its popular letter jacket ceremonies in 2011-12 to honor close to 200 first-time Monogram winners. Two-time Olympic gold medalist Kate Sobrero Markgraf (’98, soccer) served as the keynote speaker at the fall ceremony, while two-time football All-American Allen Pinkett (’86) addressed the student-athletes at the spring event. In addition to letter jackets, the Monogram Club also continued its tradition of providing all studentathletes with their annual varsity Monogram awards, including rings, stadium blankets and watches (totaling close to $50,000 in 2011-12). The Club contributed nearly $80,000 for postseason gifts and awards to various varsity teams, and was thrilled with the opportunity to purchase national championship rings for members of the Notre Dame indoor track & field distance medley relay team. As a part of this program, during the USC football weekend on Oct. 22, Monogram Club executive director Beth Hunter and president Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77, baseball) presented men’s and women’s fencing student-athletes with their Monogram Club-purchased national championship rings to commemorate the programs’ championship seasons in 2011. Former Indiana governor Joe Kernan (’68, baseball) received the Monogram Club’s 2012 Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award during the Club’s Annual Dinner in April. Kernan has served the United States for the past six decades as both a naval officer and government official. In May 1972, he was shot down over North Vietnam and was held as a prisoner of war for nearly 11 months. For his service, Kernan received numerous awards, including the Navy Commendation Medal, two Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Flying Cross. He served as mayor of South Bend from 1987-96, and was appointed governor of Indiana in 2003.

Monogram Club president Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77, baseball) presents fencer Nicholas Crebs (’12) with his national championship ring.

“This award is unexpected, but something that I will treasure forever,” Kernan said. “This family of Monogram winners that we’re all so blessed to be a part of reinforces how important we can be to each other and what a difference we can make by pooling our resources and becoming a part of something that’s bigger than we are.”

“This award is unexpected, but something that I will treasure forever,” Kernan said. “This family of Monogram winners that we’re all so blessed to be a part of reinforces how important we can be to each other and what a difference we can make by pooling our resources and becoming a part of something that’s bigger than we are.”

Director of athletics Jack Swarbrick (’76) and football head coach Brian Kelly held a Q&A with Monogram winners during the 2012 Annual Dinner.

The Monogram Club played a large part in the hosting of the 10th annual O.S.C.A.R.S. awards ceremony on May 2. The Club annually supports the production of the highlight video featuring all 26 varsity sports and sponsors a number of awards at the ceremony. The Trophy Award, which the Club, along with the Alumni Association, gave to the 2011-12 women’s golf team, recognizes an athletics program that has demonstrated its commitment and dedication to the community through unparalleled community service to Notre Dame and South Bend. Additionally, the Club honored an important member of each athletics team through the Monogram Club MVP award, and partnered with Fighting Irish Digital Media to produce a video, featuring Markgraf and 10-year NBA veteran Pat Garrity (’98), which educated student-athletes in attendance on the services the Monogram Club provides to its membership.

Joe Kernan (’68, baseball) received the Monogram Club’s 2012 Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

23


Fellowship Throughout the year, the Monogram Club provided several opportunities for Monogram winners to gather, celebrate and reconnect. Football Weekend Events During the 2011 Irish football season, the Monogram Club continued to hold its popular post-game Masses following each home game in the Monogram Room for dues-paying members and their guests. Athletics department chaplain Rev. Paul Doyle, C.S.C. (’65), an honorary Monogram recipient in 2008, celebrated each service during the season. A capacity crowd filled the Monogram Room for the post-game Mass during the Michigan State football weekend.

The Club also continued its pre-game gatherings three hours before each football game in the Monogram Room. Close to 4,000 Monogram winners and their guests enjoyed refreshments and connected with friends and teammates at the receptions during the season. Football Monogram winners were invited to form an on-field tunnel for the current Irish team before the USC game in October, while all dues-paying Monogram winners were asked back to create an on-field tunnel prior to the Boston College contest in November. For former football players and senior football managers, the Club hosted receptions in the Schivarelli Football Players’ Lounge in Notre Dame Stadium on Fridays during home football weekends. In addition, more than 100 Monogram winners and their guests enjoyed a function in the Schivarelli Lounge on Jan. 14 during the University’s Alumni Sports Weekend. Team/Program Reunions Members of the 1997 women’s basketball NCAA Final Four squad returned to campus to celebrate the 15-year anniversary of their memorable tournament run Jan. 6-8 on campus. Team members took part in a number of social functions throughout the weekend and were recognized at midcourt during the current Irish team’s matchup with No. 2 Connecticut (a 74-67 win for Notre Dame).

Members of the 1997 women’s basketball NCAA Final Four team celebrated the 15th anniversary of their magical season in January.

“We can reflect back on that magical season now and say we did something special—but when you’re in the moment, it feels like it’s what you’re supposed to be doing and what you’re playing for,” team member Mollie Peirick-Busam (’98) said. “I don’t know if we ever had the Final Four as a goal, but we strived to work hard and win every game we played.”

Ara Parseghian (center) reconnected with members of his 1966 national championship football team in September.

24

More than 80 members of Notre Dame’s 1966 national championship football team, along with head coach Ara Parseghian, reunited at events throughout the Michigan State football weekend (Sept. 16-17) to celebrate the 45th anniversary of the squad’s undefeated campaign (9-0-1). The 1966 team featured arguably the best defense in Notre Dame history and won by an average of 32.4 points, the largest margin of victory for any Notre Dame national champion.

“Ara’s motto was that we had no breaking point. He felt that if we kept persisting, we would prevail,” former center George Goeddeke (’67) said. “That’s what stuck with me in life. You have ups and downs in life, but you rise above those things that affect you in the real world. Those are the life lessons that he taught.”


The baseball program held its annual reunion and alumni game during the USF Football Weekend Sept. 2-3, while a host of softball alumni returned to campus during the Boston College weekend Nov. 18-19 to dedicate the new Charles and Marie Doherty Batting Cage facility. More than 250 members of the Notre Dame hockey community—including 80 former players, coaches, managers and trainers—gathered on campus Feb. 3-4 to celebrate the life and legacy of the late Charles “Lefty” Smith, during a series of “Lefty Fest” weekend events. As part of the festivities, the Lefty Smith Rink was officially dedicated in the new Compton Family Ice Arena, thanks to a generous gift from the Boler and McCormack families.

Spring Reunions/Receptions The Monogram Club, which again held its annual spring board meeting the weekend of the Blue-Gold game, entertained hundreds of dues-paying members with a pre-game reception in the Monogram Room on April 21. Nearly 300 Monogram winners and their guests attended the Club’s Annual Mass, Meeting and Dinner in Heritage Hall following the game. The evening included a special conversation featuring Notre Dame director of athletics Jack Swarbrick (‘76) and football head coach Brian Kelly, as well as remarks from women’s basketball student-athlete Fraderica Miller (’12).

The children of Charles “Lefty” Smith—including Monogram winner Tom Smith (’89, hockey)—dropped the ceremonial first puck during the “Lefty Fest” celebration in February.

For the first time in three years, weather did not prevent football Monogram winners from participating in the Blue-Gold football alumni flag game. Scott Cengia (’98) took home MVP honors during the contest in Notre Dame Stadium. In addition to the flag game, more than 550 football Monogram winners and guests attended the Friday night football dinner with members of the current football staff and team. Two-time Superbowl champion Justin Tuck (’05) served as the dinner’s keynote speaker and discussed how his time at Notre Dame has continued to inspire him during his NFL career with the New York Giants.

“I get goose bumps when I fly over the Stadium, when I walk by the Dome, when I watch the Irish play on NBC,” Tuck told the current Notre Dame team. “It took me four years to realize it. I hope it doesn’t take you that long. I’ll be rooting for you. I’ll fight for you. Believe me, I bleed Blue and Gold.”

Two-time Superbowl champion Justin Tuck (’05) served as the keynote speaker at the Club’s annual Blue-Gold Football Dinner in April.

During the Blue-Gold weekend, the Club also hosted its inaugural young alumni reception, which welcomed Monogram winners who graduated within the past 10 years (2002-11) to Club Naimoli for a Friday night function. In June, more than 100 Monogram winners and their guests hit the links for the Club’s fifth annual Riehle Open at Notre Dame’s Warren Golf Course. In addition to the Monogram winners in attendance, a number of Notre Dame coaches and administrators took part in the Open, including head coaches Susan Holt (women’s golf), Jim Kubinski (men’s golf), and Joe Piane (track & field). More than 20 football Monogram winners participated at Notre Dame Football Fantasy Camp in June. In addition to keynote addresses from Steve Beuerlein (’87), Tim Brown (‘88) and Shane Walton (‘03), Luther Bradley (‘77), Heisman Trophy winner John Lattner (‘53) and many more worked with the participants in drills and helped with conditioning. The camp—co-sponsored by the Monogram Club—allows Irish fans the chance to experience a week in the life of a Notre Dame football player.

(Left to right): Jim Stone (’81, football), Monogram Club second vice president Kevin O’Connor (’89, lacrosse), president Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77, baseball) and advisor Marty Allen (’58, manager) hit the links at the 2012 Riehle Open. 2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

25


2011-12 Honorary Monogram Recipients Annually, the Monogram Club has the distinctive privilege of granting honorary membership to deserving individuals who have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to Notre Dame, its student-athletes and/or its athletic programs. In 2011-12, the Notre Dame Monogram Club awarded honorary membership to: Rees LaBar, Notre Dame Athletics Supporter LaBar and his wife, Carol, are valued members of and contributors to the Notre Dame athletics family. The LaBars endow the directorship for academic services for student-athletes, the department that provides academic support for Notre Dame’s 650 student-athletes. Also significant contributors to the athletics department’s facilities upgrade initiative, the LaBars served as the lead benefactors for the $2.5 million LaBar Practice Complex, a three-field football practice facility that opened in 2008.

“This is truly something I would never have expected,” LaBar said. “Being aligned with Notre Dame is truly a special honor. It’s a unique place, and the people here make it easy for you to feel good about yourself.”

Deanna Gumpf, Notre Dame Softball Head Coach Under Gumpf’s tutelage, the Irish have claimed four BIG EAST Conference Championship titles and 10 trips to the NCAA Tournament. Even more, Notre Dame staked the BIG EAST’s regular-season championship during her first four seasons on the bench (2001-04) and hoisted the regular-season hardware once again in 2010 and 2011. Gumpf, the leader of the 2002 and 2004 BIG EAST Coaching Staffs of the Year, is the all-time winningest coach in Notre Dame softball history, and her record of 425-176-1 (.706) is the highest victory average of any BIG EAST skipper.

“Notre Dame is a very, very special place and I look out and see the girls and the alumni and I am so lucky to have you guys in my life,” Gumpf said. “I always say Notre Dame is such a special place because it makes everybody better who comes here, but it’s the people who walk out of here who make each other better.”

Tricia Bellia, Notre Dame Faculty Board on Athletics Chair A professor of law and Notre Dame Presidential Fellow in the Notre Dame Law School, Bellia is in her third year as the

26

chair of the Faculty Board and the University’s NCAA faculty athletics representative. In that role, Bellia oversees the principal advisory group to the President on educational issues related to intercollegiate athletics. She also works closely with the football and volleyball programs as each team’s faculty liaison.

“It’s a privilege for me to work with the University’s student-athletes,” Bellia said. “I’m completely overwhelmed and honored that the Monogram Club would recognize me for the small role I play in trying to help them become all they can be here at Notre Dame.”

Pat Holmes (’79), Notre Dame Director of Academic Services For Student-Athletes Holmes was appointed Rees Carol LaBar Director of Academic Services for Student-Athletes at Notre Dame in January 2003. He and his staff provide counseling, guidance and tutoring for more than 700 student-athletes. Holmes serves as the primary counselor for the men’s basketball and women’s tennis programs. Over the past nine years under Holmes’ direction, 69 Notre Dame studentathletes have earned Academic All-America recognition (more than any other University).

“There is not a more important person on our staff, team or basketball family than Pat Holmes,” men’s basketball head coach Mike Brey said. “He’s a good friend to our guys, he’s a motivator, a counselor, a therapist, a shoulder to cry on, a guy to kick them in the backside. He does a little bit of everything. We couldn’t have the glowing graduation rate that our program has without all that he does.”

Joe Russo, Former Director of Notre Dame Financial Aid A critical voice in making the Monogram Club’s Brennan-BolandRiehle Scholarship Fund (BBRSF) a reality, Russo encouraged the Club in the late 1970s to combine the two funds and create an endowment. Under Russo’s watch, the fund has grown exponentially, providing $3.8 million dollars in scholarship assistance to close to 300 children of Monogram winners since 1980.

“I like to say that goodness begets goodness, and because of the generosity of Monogram winners, many more dreams of attending Notre Dame have come true,” Russo said of the individuals who contribute financially to the endowment each year. “Someday, those students will donate their time and resources, and even more students will benefit as a result. It’s special to see the continuation of this beautiful network that is the Notre Dame family.”


Tricia Bellia (center) celebrated her honorary Monogram with her family, as well as Monogram Club president Dick Nussbaum (far left), executive director Beth Hunter (far right) and director of athletics Jack Swarbrick (top right).

Pat Holmes (pictured center with his family) received an honorary Monogram at the men’s basketball banquet in April.

Joe Russo (center) received a surprise Monogram from Monogram Club executive director Beth Hunter (right) and board member Tom Galloway (’87, football) in June.

Rees LaBar, along with his wife, Carol, were on hand to accept his honorary Monogram from Nussbaum and Hunter in September.

Notre Dame softball head coach Deanna Gumpf (right center) celebrates with Nussbaum, Hunter, honorary Monogram recipients Paul and Linda Demo (far right and left) and softball Monogram winner Kas Hoag (’02). 2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

27


Monogram Club contributions Special Projects

$1 million commitment pledged in 2008

$1 million in funding allocated to Notre Dame

Funding toward new outdoor varsity athletic facilities (lacrosse, soccer, track & field)

Notre Dame Stadium graphics enhancement project, which added street pole signage, banners around the Stadium concourse and permanent themed displays at each Stadium gate

athletics department through 2010

$600,000

Renovation of Sports Heritage Hall, the Monogram Room and the basketball hallway completed in 2009

$100,000

Funding utilized by the Club to install the most recent decade of the Ring of Names in Sports Heritage Hall (Monogram winners from 2000-2009), which was completed in November 2010

$10,000

Monies allocated to furnish renovations and purchase desktop computers for the new Student Welfare & Development lounge (“The Commons”), benefiting current student-athletes

Assistance to Members and Current Student-Athletes

$6.2 million

Market value of Brennan-Boland-Riehle Scholarship Fund (BBRSF)

$3.8 million

Total scholarship assistance distributed to more than 275 children of Notre Dame Monogram winners through the BBRSF to date, since 1980 ($307,750 in 2011-12)

$164,000 $80,000

Funds allocated to provide current student-athletes with post-season gifts in 2011-12, including BIG EAST championship rings, and national championship rings for the men’s indoor track distance medley relay team

$50,000

Monies provided to purchase Monogram awards (letter jackets, blazers, etc.) for current student-athletes in 2011-12

$45,000

Funding provided to host 2011 football Saturday receptions for dues-paying members and their guests, including the Shamrock Series contest in Washington, D.C.

$35,000

Funding set aside in 2011-12 for the team hosting program as well as Monogram Club regional receptions in Philadelphia, Denver and Boston

$20,000

Monies allocated to host former football student-athletes on football Friday nights in the Schivarelli Players’ Lounge

$18,000

Funding set aside annually to host fall and spring letter jacket ceremonies for all first-time Monogram winners

$15,000

Grant provided annually for the upkeep and maintenance of Sports Heritage Hall in the Joyce Center

$10,000

Funding set aside annually to support student-athletes who volunteer to work in summer service programs (through the David Bossy Scholarship Grant)

$10,000

Monies provided by the Club for two annual, postgraduate scholarship awards

$2,500

28

Market value of Catastrophic Relief Fund (CRF)

Funding allocated in 2011 to support a trip by several Notre Dame current student-athletes to Tuscaloosa, Ala., where they aided in tornado relief efforts through the “Fight For Tide” program


The Monogram Club contributed $1 million over the course of six years (2005-10) to fund a series of enhancements to Notre Dame Stadium.

As part of the team hosting program, the Monogram Club funded the softball team’s Sydney Harbour Bridge climb during the squad’s trip to Australia in fall 2011.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

29


Q&A

F i v e Qu e s t ions W i t h T h e mono g r a m c lu b p r e s i de n t

Q: What do you think was the most important goal or initiative the Club accomplished in 2011-12?

Nussbaum (left) presented friend and mentor Joe Kernan (’68, baseball) with the 2012 Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award in April.

Four-time baseball Monogram winner Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77) enters his second year as the president of the Monogram Club. Since 1996, Nussbaum has served as a partner in the South Bendbased law firm, Sopko, Nussbaum, Inabnit and Kaczmarek.

Q: Reflect back on your first year as Monogram Club president. Is there a specific memory that stands out in your mind? The most memorable moment from last year was visiting the wounded warriors we had the opportunity to meet with at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda. We were so fortunate to have Monogram Club board member Bryan Fenton provide us this opportunity during the Shamrock Series weekend last November in Washington. The young men we visited had all lost multiple limbs in the very recent past. Their youth, courage and willingness to sacrifice for us in defense of our country will be something I never will forget. The power of Notre Dame was evident when we provided each warrior some Notre Dame memorabilia. It always elicited a big smile and was very gratifying to see.

30

It is difficult to single out a most important goal since many of them are interrelated. However, we made it a real priority to reach out to our members. The Monogram staff put together a terrific plan to segment our membership into subsets. Monogram winners were contacted in a very focused manner to show them what benefits are available to them each year, and to encourage them to join the Club as duespaying members. We saw our membership increase as a result of not only this marketing effort, but our continued efforts to provide benefits outside of just football ticket applications. Regional functions in Philadelphia and Boston, and our popular home football Saturday pre-game receptions and postgame Masses are examples of how we continue to serve, and thereby strengthen our membership.

Q: In April, you presented one of your mentors—former Indiana governor Joe Kernan (‘68)—with the Club’s highest honor. What was it like to give Joe the Moose Krause Award? The opportunity to present the award was a real honor for me. Perhaps the best part of it was the fact so many of our members and guests at the Annual Dinner were able to see and understand what a special person Joe has been, and how important Notre Dame is in his life. I am sure his life story will continue to be an inspiration to all of us.

Q: What do you hope to accomplish in your second year as president? During my second year as president, I hope to continue the momentum created by our past presidents—especially my

predecessor Joe Restic—and to harness the incredible talents of our officers and board of directors to improve what is already the best letter winners club in the country. In particular, I hope our mentoring program will continue to thrive in order to provide employment and life skill opportunities to our members who have graduated and Notre Dame current student-athletes. We are in very good shape with the BrennanBoland-Riehle Scholarship Fund, and with such a strong dues-paying membership, we are able to have the resources to fund our core programs such as the member outreach described above, letter jacket ceremonies, Notre Dame student welfare and development initiatives and to support the mission of the University and its athletic department. It is my hope to turn over the leadership of the Club to Haley Scott DeMaria this April in an even better state than when I became president in 2011.

Q: For Monogram winners considering paying their dues for the first time, why would you encourage them to become active with the Club? To all Monogram winners, especially those who are not dues-paying members, I strongly encourage you to join, as the Monogram Club is a great way to stay connected and involved with Notre Dame and its athletic programs. We can be proud of all 26 of our sports, and there are relevant membership benefits for all Monogram winners, whether it be enhanced football ticket access, fellowship opportunities, group worship, career development, scholarship assistance for children or the feeling of continuing to be part of the Fighting Irish programs we all love. Everyone is welcome.


monogram leadership & support

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

31


Joe Restic, Lake Oswego, Ore.

Monogram Club Board of Directors The Monogram Club board of directors is comprised of 37 Monogram winners, including 15 directors and 14 advisors, with one spot being reserved for the director emeritus. Dick Nussbaum (’74 & ’77, baseball) will serve as president until April 2013, when first vice president Haley Scott DeMaria (’95, swimming) will take over until 2015. Monogram Club Officers

attorney Dick Nussbaum ’74, ’77 (South Bend, Ind., baseball) was elected Monogram Club president in April 2011 after spending the previous two years as first vice president. Since 1996, he has been a partner with the South Bend-based law firm Sopko, Nussbaum, Inabnit and Kaczmarek. The four-year Monogram winner also served as the general counsel for former Indiana lieutenant governor and former Notre Dame catcher Joe Kernan. When Kernan became the state’s top executive after the death of Governor Frank O’Bannon, Nussbaum served as special counsel to Governor Kernan. A native of Pittsburgh, Nussbaum received his undergraduate degree in English and then graduated from the Notre Dame Law School in 1977. He has also worked as the City of South Bend’s Corporation Counsel. Nussbaum served as the president of the Notre Dame Alumni Association and was recently re-elected to the University’s Board of Trustees. He has also been an active board member of several local charities and nonprofit organizations.

32

Haley Scott DeMaria ’95 (Annapolis, Md., swimming) joined the Notre Dame Monogram Club Board of Directors in 2006 and now serves as its first vice president. As an undergraduate, DeMaria was a threeyear member of the Notre Dame women’s swimming team. She recently published a book, “What Though the Odds,” that recounts her recovery experience after suffering severe injuries in the 1992 bus accident that took the lives of two of her Irish teammates. After receiving her degree in history from the University, DeMaria served as assistant dean of students, history teacher and assistant swim coach at Xavier College Prep School in her hometown of Phoenix. She recently completed her master’s in teaching from the University of Southern California. DeMaria now lives in Annapolis, Md., travels as an inspirational speaker, is actively involved in religious education classes at the U.S. Naval Academy and serves as chairperson for ND Women Connect, an affinity group of the Alumni Association in Washington, D.C.

Former Associate Attorney General of the United States Kevin O’Connor ’89 (West Hartford, Conn., lacrosse) moved on to the executive committee as second vice president in 2011 after previously serving as an advisor on the board. As Associate Attorney General, O’Connor was responsible for overseeing the work of 13 components in the Department of Justice, including the Tax Division, Antitrust Division, Environment and Natural Resources Division, Civil Rights Division, Civil Division, Office of Justice Programs, Office of Information and Privacy, Foreign Claims Settlement Commission and the U.S. Trustees. Prior to his appointment, O’Connor served as the United States Attorney for Connecticut. In his current role, he advises United Technologies (UTC) as the organization’s vice president for global compliance. A three-time Monogram winner in lacrosse, O’Connor competed with the Irish from 1986-1989, appearing in 41 games. He picked up 78 career ground balls and served as captain of the 1989 squad, earning All-Great Lakes Conference and All-Midwest first team honors as a senior.


Kevin O’Connor, West Hartford, Conn.

RHOD ISLAN

Beth Hunter, Granger, Ind. Dick Nussbaum, South Bend, Ind.

NEW JERSE

Haley Scott DeMaria, Annapolis, Md.

DELAWARE MARYLAND

Joe Restic ’79 (Lake Oswego, Ore., football) sits on the board as past president. The former Irish football player joined the board in 2000 and joined the executive committee in 2005 before serving as Monogram Club president from 2009-11.

Beth Hunter (Granger, Ind.,

Staff Information

honorary member) was named executive director of the Notre Dame Monogram Club in September 2009 after serving as the director of sports marketing since 2003 and as marketing and promotions coordinator since 2001.

Beth Hunter Executive Director 574-631-5450 Hunter.33@nd.edu

An orthodontist with his own practice in Wilsonville, Ore., Restic was a two-time GTE Academic All-American (1978, 1979) as an undergraduate at Notre Dame. He was one of 10 college football players nationwide who received the Scholar-Athlete award from the National Football Foundation. The starting safety on Notre Dame’s 1977 national championship team, Restic also received a prestigious NCAA postgraduate scholarship and was one of the recipients of the annual Byron Kanaley Award. Restic received his doctorate in dental medicine from the University of Pennsylvania in 1985 and received certification from the orthodontic residency program at Oregon Health Sciences University in 1988.

In addition to managing day-to-day Monogram Club needs, Hunter serves as an assistant athletics director for student-athlete alumni relations. In this role, she spearheads and coordinates outreach to all former Notre Dame student-athletes, beyond the scope of the Monogram Club. She also oversees all special events, such as reunions and new facility dedications, which directly impact former Notre Dame student-athletes. The men’s soccer program also falls under the administrative responsibilities for Hunter. Prior to her current role, Hunter worked closely with the Monogram Club and its board of directors for seven years during the tenure of former executive directors Jim Fraleigh (’88) and Bill Scholl (’79). During that time, Hunter oversaw the renovation of Heritage Hall and helped manage and plan the Monogram Club’s sponsorship of the 60th Celebration of Black Student-Athletes at Notre Dame and the 35th Anniversary of Women’s Athletics. The Shrewsbury, Mass., native was awarded an honorary Monogram in 2008.

Reggie Brooks (’93, football) Manager for Monogram/Football Alumni Relations 574-631-0446 rbrooks2@nd.edu Mark LaFrance Communications Associate 574-631-8476 mlafranc@nd.edu Mike Sullivan (’09, manager) Membership Coordinator 574-631-2909 msulli17@nd.edu Karen Demeter Monogram Club Coordinator 574-631-5450 Karen.S.Demeter.2@nd.edu

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

33


Monogram Club Board members Executive Committee

Directors to 2013

Advisors

President – Dick Nussbaum (’74 & ’77, baseball) - South Bend, Ind.

Mike Brown (’01, cheerleading) – Chicago, Ill.

Marty Allen (’58, manager) – Grand Rapids, Mich.

Don Casey (’82, swimming) – Coronado, Calif.

Don Bouffard (’66, manager) – Bonita Springs, Fla.

First Vice President - Haley Scott DeMaria (’95, swimming) – Annapolis, Md.

Andrea Loman (’03, softball) – Riverside, Calif.

Jim Carroll (’65, football) – Davie, Fla.

Second Vice President – Kevin O’Connor (’89, lacrosse) – West Hartford, Conn.

Kevin McShane (’90, football) – Chicago, Ill. Chris Parent (’93, lacrosse) – Seattle, Wash.

Julie Pierson Doyle (’85, volleyball) – Lynchburg, Va.

Treasurer – Ken Haffey (’78, manager) – Chesterland, Ohio

Directors to 2014

Tom Galloway (’87, football) – Baltimore, Md. Pat Garrity (’98, basketball) – New Canaan, Conn.

Secretary – Mike Frantz (’73, football) – Avon Lake, Ohio

Tom Arkell (’94 & ’97, hockey) – Bloomington, Ill.

Past President – Joe Restic (’79, football) – Lake Oswego, Ore.

Bryan Fenton (’87, manager) – Alexandria, Va.

Legal Counsel – Mike Heaton (’68 & ’71, football/golf) – Wilmette, Ill.

Chris Stevens (’74, basketball) – Wellesley, Mass.

Kate Sobrero Markgraf (’98, soccer) – Whitefish Bay, Wis.

Advisor – Marty Allen (’58, manager) – Grand Rapids, Mich.

Directors to 2015

Van Pearcy (’85 & ’87, football/track) – Midland, Texas

Executive Director – Beth Hunter (honorary member) – Granger, Ind.

Michael Bathon (’86, fencing) – Cincinnati, Ohio

Michael Richerson (’85, football) – Atlanta, Ga.

Laura Dougherty Ely (’85, basketball) – Hillsdale, N.J.

Jim Tyler (’86, CC/track) – Bismarck, N.D.

Carolyn Cooper (’06, volleyball) – Princeton, N.J. Byron Spruell (’87 & ’89, football) – Warren, N.J.

Dennis Lahey (’65, wrestling) – Venice, Fla. Lance Legree (’01, football) – New York, N.Y. Jen Sharron Richardson (’01, softball) – Woodland Hills, Calif.

M. Marc Kelly (’82 , basketball) – Newport Beach, Calif. Chuck Lennon (’61 & ’62, baseball) – South Bend, Ind.

Terri Vitale (’94 & ’95, tennis) – Lakewood Ranch, Fla. Kerrie Wagner Debbs (’89, golf) – Spring Lake Heights, N.J.

Director Emeritus Jim Murphy (’49, track) – Austin, Texas

34


connect With The Monogram Club Whether you’re a resident of South Bend or South dakota, it’s easy to keep up to date on the latest Monogram Club news and events from the comforts of your home computer. Check out some of the ways the Club is making its presence known on the World Wide Web. Facebook

Twitter

NDMonogramClub.com

Close to 1,400 individuals are fans of the Monogram Club page on Facebook. Unveiled in September 2010, the page provides regular updates on Monogram Club members in the news, upcoming event information, Notre Dame athletics updates, and more. “Like” the Club’s Facebook page to see photo and video recaps of Club activities and comment on some of your favorite posts. You can also win exclusive Notre Dame prizes by participating in the page’s regular trivia contests. Like the Monogram Club page by visiting https://www.facebook.com/ NotreDameMonogramClub.

The Monogram Club Twitter feed is followed by more than 800 individuals, including several Irish alums competing professionally in the NFL, NHL and Olympic circuits. Founded in September 2011, the Twitter account provides up to the minute coverage of Notre Dame athletics events, updates on notable Monogram winners and exclusive, behindthe-scenes coverage of Monogram Club events. Follow the Monogram Club or tweet at us (@NDMonogram) by visiting https://twitter.com/NDMonogram.

With more than 150,000 hits per year, ndmonogramclub.com continues to serve as the cornerstone of the Club’s digital media presence. With full-length feature stories on Monogram winners, a full schedule of Club events, video coverage and a number of other elements, the website is your comprehensive guide to the premier letter winners organization in the country. You can also pay your annual dues on the site and check out a guide to member benefits, board of directors bios and more.

Inside Irish

Monogram Club Text Alerts

All dues-paying members of the Monogram Club receive Inside Irish, a monthly e-newsletter that highlights the latest Club news while providing exclusive content and event information. Whether you need to sign up for a Monogram Club regional event or want an update on how your former team is doing this season, Inside Irish has you covered.

Debuting this fall, the Monogram Club text alert program will offer once-a-month texts to Monogram winners, promoting exclusive Club prizes, giveaways and upcoming events. To opt in to the text alert system, simply text “Monogram” to the phone number “74574.” You can discontinue the texts at any time by texting “Stop” to “74574.”

LinkedIn Launched in June 2011, the Monogram Club LinkedIn group consists of more than 900 members looking to network with their fellow Monogram winners. Through job postings, industry discussions and news updates, group members engage in career development while helping out other Monogram winners on the job trail.

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

35


Alma Mater (notre Dame our mother) Notre Dame, Our Mother, tender, strong and true, Proudly in the heavens, gleams thy gold and blue, Glory’s mantle cloaks thee, golden is thy fame, And our hearts forever, praise thee, Notre Dame. And our hearts forever, love thee, Notre Dame. 1930 • Joseph Casasanta, music Charles O’Donnell, C.S.C., lyrics

36


In Memoriam Each spring, at the Monogram Club’s Annual Mass in April, the Club honors those Monogram winners who have passed away over the course of the previous year. Based on information received from University records, the following individuals were recognized during the 2012 Annual Mass held on April 21: Burnett C. Bauer (’38, football)

Andre F. Jones (’97, football)

Victor J. Paternostro (’67, football)

MaryJean Beetel-Jones (’88, field hockey)

Paul F. Kelley (’54, honorary)

Raymond J. Petrzelka (’49, baseball)

Rex A. Bell (’57, honorary)

Blair A. Kiel (’84, football)

Francis B. Quinn (’42, basketball)

J. Patrick Bradley (’88, swimming)

David E. Knee (’80, golf)

James E. Quinn (’47, tennis)

J. Robb Brady (’40, baseball)

John T. Lentz (’66, trainer)

Elmer D. Silha (’44, fencing)

C. Maxwell Brown Jr., M.D. (’59, tennis)

Thomas H. Lotze (’50, cheerleader)

Charles W. Smith Jr. (honorary)

Joseph R. Bush (’54, football)

John C. Lyons (’50, track)

Richard H. Snooks (’64, fencing)

George W. Cannon Jr. (’36, tennis)

James E. Madigan (’43, fencing)

F. James Delaney (’43, track)

Robert J. McBride (’44, football)

Michael P. Dentino Jr. (’52, fencing)

John E. McCullough (’55, honorary)

Peter N. Duranko (’66, football)

Robert L. McGoldrick (’56, manager)

Robert J. Finnegan (’46, baseball)

Xavier T. Murphy (’11, manager)

Patrick C. Green (’59, fencing)

John R. Panelli (’49, football)

John F. Stephens (’55, basketball) Duane H. Straight (’59, trainer) William J. Sullivan (’54, basketball) George I. Viamontes, M.D., Ph.D. (’73, fencing) Martin P. Wendell (’49, football) Anthony J. Zambroski (’52, football)

2 0 1 1 - 1 2 A N N U A L R E P O R T & D U E S I N F O R M AT I O N

37


2011-12 Monogram Club Annual Report