w w w. r e u t t e . c o m
ts, The key sigh ion rs cu ex st lovelie d sporting an ns io at tin des the attractions in gion re rk Pa e Reutte Natur at a glance!
Welcome to Reutte – the capital of the district! Alois Oberer, Mayor of Reutte
Enjoy your stay and with us you get to experience unspoilt natural surroundings combined with wonderful cultural treats like Ehrenberg and the town of Reutte, characterised by its historic town houses. Have a wonderful holiday!
Publisher and Issuer: Naturparkregion Reutte, Untermarkt 34, A-6600 Reutte Responsible for content: TVB Naturparkregion Reutte As at: September 2015 2
Welcome to the Reutte Nature Park region (Außerfern)! Dear Guest, it is with that time-honoured Tirol greeting – ”Grüß Gott“ – that we cordially welcome you to the Reutte Nature Park region, to Außerfern, and we hope you enjoy a pleasant stay, plenty of sunshine and a relaxing time for both body and mind. Außerfern is the political district of Reutte, which has 37 parishes, of which there is one urban municipality and one market town. In terms of geographical make-up it is very varied, being renowned for its wide variety of plants and animals, nestling between the main ridge, the Lechtal and Allgäu Alps, the southern edge of the Ammergau Alps and the Wettersteinstock, making it almost completely secluded from the rest of Tirol. Außerfern still has a natural landscape with lots of genuinely relaxing areas, which have been spared the ravages of environmental pollution. The purity of the air is a special feature of the relaxing Außerfern area and according to the latest measurement results, it has almost consistently been graded as being of quality category I. There are countless oases of tranquillity and relaxation here, places where you can find yourself. Yet Außerfern is still free from the impersonal mass tourism, without having to renounce the progress of time and its many technical achievements. The many clear lakes, which are all freely accessible, the superb mountains, the great efforts which have been made in gastronomy and by the accommodation providers, cable cars and lift facilities and last but not least the hospitable nature of the Außerfern people, are special conditions here and ensure you get to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Then there is the favourable location of Außerfern. Within a one to two hour drive there are wellknown cultural and art sites, as well as the impressive glacier realm of the Ötztal and Stubai Alps, which can be accessed in half or full day trips, enhancing your holiday experience. The following pages will help provide a guide of this lovely little part of the world, its history and infrastructure, where there are a great deal of hiking and excursion opportunities. We hope you have a relaxing holiday here with us! Kind regards, the Reutte Nature Park region 3
Contents Reutte today – Let us introduce ourselves
Reutte then – from ”lacklustre“ times
The towns around Reutte
Sights24 – ”Das Grüne Haus“ museum of local history 24 – Ehrenberg castle ensemble 27 – highline179 32
We are here for you: Reutte Nature Park region tourist office Untermarkt 34, 6600 Reutte Tel.: +43 (5672) 62336, Fax: +43 (5672) 62336-40 E-Mail: email@example.com Tourist information Höfen Hauptstraße 24, 6604 Höfen Tel.: +43 (5672) 64937, Fax: +43 (5672) 65702 E-Mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Sporting activities – Außerfern sports meet-up – Reutte railways Summer / Winter – Valley hikes – Mountain hikes – Nordic Walking – Run routes – Cycle tours – Mountain bike tours – Hikes in the winter – Alpentherme Ehrenberg
34 34 35 38 45 50 52 53 55 57 60
Excursions62 – Culture 62 – Nature 68 – Stroll through historic Reutte 71 Other ideas … – When the weather isn’t great
Tourist information Vils Stadtplatz, 6682 Vils Tel.: +43 (5677) 8229, Fax: +43 (5677) 20044 E-Mail: email@example.com Tourist information Wängle Oberdorf 4, 6610 Wängle Tel.: +43 (5672) 63601, Fax: +43 (5672) 64226 E-Mail: firstname.lastname@example.org Tourist information Weißenbach Kirchplatz 3, 6671 Weißenbach Tel.: +43 (5678) 5303, Fax: +43 (5678) 5265 E-Mail: email@example.com 4
Let us introduce ourselves … Thanks to its central location and its road links, from the 1950s until today, Reutte has experienced a tremendous upsurge. The at one time predominantly agricultural structure, in terms of economy and society, has vanished. Today it is trade, commerce, industry, tourism and administration which characterise the town. This market town is located at 854 m, in the middle of the broad valley basin on the Lech, surrounded by mountains. There are 6700 inhabitants in this, the main, town in the district.. Towns in the area: Ammerwald, Klause, Archbach and Tränkesiedlung.
For Außerfern, Reutte is … … an administrative centre: It is the headquarters for the district authorities and district offices (district authority, district court, district schools inspectorate, health authority, economic chamber, finance office, job centre, and much more) … a cultural centre: There are a great deal of schools and kindergartens, a museum of local history, a state-of-the-art district hospital, pharmacies, GPs, specialist doctors and dentists, Red Cross, mountain and water monitoring services, mountain rescue and the Reutte library. … a transport hub: In Reutte several key routes in South Germany converge (Ulm, Augsburg, Sonthofen) with the Lechtal and Fernpass roads. It has long been a significant transport hub. The train station is the starting and end station for the famous Außerfern- / Mittenwaldbahn via Garmisch-Partenkirchen to Innsbruck and Kempten. Both trains connect Reutte with the international rail network. Reutte is the starting point for several bus lines within in the district, to Innsbruck, Imst and to Bavaria. 7
From ”lacklustre“ times The comparatively recent history of the market town of Reutte has at times been very eventful. There is no evidence of the existence of permanent settlements in the Außerfern area from pre- and proto-historic times. Archaeological finds thus far merely indicate that certain sections of the district were occasionally used, whether that was by hunters or shepherds, soldiers or traders. Only three water body names from times past have remained, namely Lech, Vils and Loisach. At the time of the Romans Außerfern was a part of the province of Raetia, whose capital is Augsburg today. The main long-distance route, the Via Claudia Augusta, very probably ran through the Reutte area, even if its path has still not yet been completely clarified. Settlement in the area took place in the High Middle Ages and Late Middle Ages from the Lech-Iller area, and on the initiative of the Guelphs, with subsequent ownership by the Staufers, and the Bishops of Augsburg. The name and the coat of arms of the market town of Reutte are reminiscent of the former clearances of the land. The name means ”clearing of the woodland“ = ”cultivation of the farmland“. Reutte first appears in written documents dating from 1278 as ”Ruthi“. In 1440 it is written as ”Rythy“ and as ”Reutj“ in a census dating from 1489. The town name is also listed as ”auf’m Reitti“ in the 18th century (inscription above the door of the Gasthof ”Krone“). Towards the end of the 13th century Count Meinhard II of Tirol left the border fortress of Ehrenberg to the south of Reutte in a narrow section of the valley and constructed a building on a cone-shaped rock. As a result, Ehrenberg fortress, as well as being a border guard, also dealt with administrative matters and was a judicial headquarters for the Außerfern area. Upon the construction of the fortress the road was set out in such a way that it proceeded through the Klause, with the road immediately beneath the fortress blocked, and then went through Reutte via the Kniepass to Füssen and Augsburg. Thanks to this direct contact with passing traffic, Reutte advanced quickly. Within a short time it grew to be one of the key transport and trading hubs in Außerfern. From the thriving salt trade and salt transport between Hall in Tirol and the Bodensee area and also 8
Historic depiction of Reutte from 1777
from the Augsburg-Venetian trade link, Reutte was burgeoning. Branch-office buildings, impressive guesthouses, an increase in draught cattle husbandry, haulage and craft businesses brought prosperity to the people of Reutte and also left their mark on the town. Reutte’s upsurge can only briefly be touched upon – on 5th July 1489 Reutte was raised to ”market town“ status by Archduke Sigmund of Tirol in view of ”its faithful, assiduous and subservient services“. In 1493 the subsequent Emperor Maximilian I bestowed the all-encompassing area of the Ammerwald to the people of Reutte. A year later Reutte was bestowed ”staple right“ by the same emperor, which meant that foreign traders who were proceeding through Reutte, had to offer their goods to the local people for those few days, before continuing on their way. A ”Pallhaus“ (goods storage area), granary and salt store also had to be set up and expanded. However above all else, Reutte was now regarded as a key transhipment point for salt, with a variety of rights which were ratified again and expanded upon thereafter by the respective local rulers. In times of war Reutte, as a result of being close to the border and its favourable positioning in terms of transport links, suffered particularly badly from armies and other external intruders. The market town was relinquished to the Schmalkaldens in 1546, and in 1552 to the troops of the Electors of Saxony, to the Swedes in 1632, in 1703 and often in the Coalition Wars to the French, the Bavarians and their confederates. The market town was plundered often. In 1611 and 1635 the ”Black Death“ claimed many lives, with plague chapels and the plague graveyard, today the ”Soldatenfriedhof“, in Pflach and Rochuskapelle on the road from Reutte to Breitenwang, today redesigned to become one of the most art-filled war memorials in Tirol, are reminders of times of terrible plagues, for which at that time there was no help available. Fires often ravaged the town. Towards the end of the 18th century a temporary end to Reutte being a transport hub came about. The construction in 1780 of a road across Arlberg presented a new shorter route to traffic heading for Vorarlberg and to the Bodensee area. With the arrival of train (construction of the Arlbergbahn with its 10 km long tunnel), the bulk of the transport proceeded via the Fernpass, the at one time so influential long-distance transport route via the Fernpass became merely a route for local transport. Bit by bit the market town became less influential. However Reutte was not impoverished with the decline in passing traffic. The busy market town even early on moved on 10
”Geierwally“, Anna Stainer-Knittel
to find other undertakings and sources of income. Even in the 16th century the carer-givers and judges of Ehrenberg moved their official seat to Reutte. Reutte then became even more of a hub for Außerfern in political and legal terms. Economic losses through the dwindling of freight transport caused Reutte to be superseded by other areas. Ample amounts of gypsum were mined early on (16th century) and processed in the mills. Sales of this were good in Bavaria. A paper mill was built in 1767 (decommissioned in 1875), other small businesses (whalebone manufacturing, tannery, a leather factory, comb makers among others) created new jobs. Eventually in 1825 the textile business started up, cotton spinning in 1845 and cotton weaving in 1857. Between 1901 and 1903 the district got its own electricity plant, at the time highly controversial. Today it is one of the most important and valuable properties of the town. In 1905 the Kempten – Pfronten – Reutte train line opened and in 1913 the route from Reutte via Garmisch/Partenkirchen to Innsbruck. In 1921 today’s world renowned Plansee metal works was established. See also ”Breitenwang“, page 14. After the setbacks of the two world wars and economic weaknesses in the inter-war period, around 1950 a resurgence began in Reutte. The main emphasis was on industry, tourism, trade and commerce. Agriculture fell to a minimum. Less drive meant that Reutte advanced in ecclesiastical and religious terms. Whereas several centuries beforehand the town drifted away from its ”parental“ town of Breitenwang, it only separated in ecclesiastical terms in the 20th century, on 1st October 1945, as its own parish separate from the ”parental“ parish of Breitenwang. At the end of the 15th century a chapel to honour Holy Mother Anna was built in Reutte. In 1500 this was expanded to create the ”Annakapelle“ and a chaplain was named here in 1518. Archduke Leopold II. of Austria laid the foundation stone of the Franciscan monastery in 1628, whose padres have also carried out parish rights since 1945. An increase in the population meant the construction of a chapel in the Tränkesiedlung became necessary in 1956. Protestants also built a place of worship which was consecrated in 1958 as a Church of the Holy Trinity and this has become the seat of the evangelical ministry for West Tirol. Many talented people have come from Reutte. Some of them have attained international fame and respect. Reutte is home to the famous Baroque painting family, the Zeillers, whose importance stretches well beyond Tirol to South Ger12
many. Their main works can be found, among other places, in the well-known dioceses of Ottobeuren, Ettal, Benediktbeuren, Altenburg. Other well-known people from Reutte include the painter Franz Anton Leitensdorffer (1721 – 1795) and Father Anton Maria Schyrle (1604 – 1660) optician astronomer and inventor, his lunar discoveries have been named Reutte. There are influential people from Reutte today too: Prof. Dr. Paul Schwarzkopf, founder of the Plansee metal works and leading researcher in metallurgy and sinter technology Prof. Dr. Ignaz Dengel, historian; Prof. Dr. Otto Lutterotti, art historian. Not forgetting the musical performances by the ”Engelfamilie“, who have brought Tirol popular music and the Reutte Nature Park region to the attention of almost all of the planet with their concerts and records. 13
The towns around Reutte Variety-packed … Breitenwang
Districts: Lähn, Mühl, Neumühle, Plansee 854 m altitude, 1600 inhabitants Breitenwang is the main town in Reutte and one of the oldest settlements, perhaps even the oldest in Außerfern. Breitenwang is the headquarters of the deans for the deanship of Breitenwang, which includes all of the political district of Reutte. When it comes to housing, today Breitenwang has grown, along with Reutte. Breitenwang is first mentioned in documents dating from 1095, on the occasion of the ducal court gifts to the Swabian monasteries. In the 12th century the name Breitenwang entered into German historiography with the death of the German-Roman Emperor Lothar III. The emperor, with his entourage returning from Italy, fell ill in Northern Italy and passed away here in Breitenwang in a paltry farm lodging on 4th December 1137, as Otto von 14
F reising wrote ”from him, the poverty of all mankind was evident“. Around 1400 a court (Dingstatt) was established in the town. In terms of the economy Breitenwang, and Ehenbichl, Pflach and Reutte, are a cooperative market society, whose administrative management was taken on by Reutte in 1507. In 1409 Emperor Maximilian I allowed the Hoechstetter brothers from Augsburg to forge copper and brass, with the right to operate a raft on the Archbach, the outlet of the Plansee. They were also given iron digging rights on the Säuling, where they operated an iron mine. In 1938 Breitenwang was united with Reutte to create one main district, but in 1945 Reutte broke free and once again became an autonomous district. Since 1965 Breitenwang has had a municipal coat of arms. It was by chance six decades ago that the district of Breitenwang and the valley basin was presented with its biggest industrial operation. It was on Breitenwang soil that the small beginnings in the area of metallurgy in terms of production and research took place in Europe’s leading metal plant in Plansee. Since 1952 the renowned international Plansee seminars have taken place here every four years, attended by leading metallurgists and 15
sintering technicians from across the globe. The founder of this significant work was Prof. Dr. Paul Schwarzkopf, who in the world of metallurgy is one of the pioneers and significant researchers. St. Peter and Paul parish church is worth a visit; built in the 16th century, it was renovated between 1685 and 1691 for 8500 guilder and between 1974 and 1978 extensive renovation work was undertaken. The ceiling fresco in the presbytery was painted by Johann Jakob Zeiller. The new ceiling fresco in the nave was created in 1975 by academic painter Wolfram Köberl. The organ with its beautiful Rococo housing comes from the Carmelite church in Augsburg at the time of secularisation and was purchased in 1811. The side chapel, renovated in 1973, contains two groups of sculptures, the birth of Christ and the Mount of Olives scene, by renowned sculpture Anton Sturm (1716) and in the cove in cartouche sections there are symbols of the death as a stucco relief (1725, Dance of the Dead). In the cemetery our attention is drawn to some artistically valuable forged crosses. Emperor Maximilian I enjoyed Plansee and its woodlands and mountains with the popular fishing and hunting areas. King of Bavaria, Ludwig II, wanted to build a Chinese castle at Plansee.
District: Rieden 864 m altitude, 700 inhabitants The elongated village at the foot of the Schlossberg, which has the Ehrenberg Ruins, was originally a settlement of the old parish and market town cooperative of Breitenwang. In 1833 it left the one time main district and became politically independent. A fresco from number 18 shows the oldest crossing of the Lech in the Reutte area, which up to 1464 (construction of the Lechaschau’s Lech bridge) was located between Ehenbichl and Höfen. The district name was first mentioned in written documents in 1404 and is a reference to a family name. The Magnuskirchlein built around 1680/81 has a Gothic statue of the Virgin Mary (around 1450) and crossroad paintings by Balthasar Riepp (1740) which are worth seeing. 16
The territorial prince of Tirol owned an extensive zoo beneath Ehrenberg Fortress. Stag antlers are seen in the coat of arms for the district. Ehenbichl was for some time the landing area for wood from Lechtal which had been washed up on the River Lech. From here it was taken to the Fernpass on horse and cart. On Ehenbichl soil, since 1964, in a sunny setting on the southern edge of the Sintwag is the modern district hospital. In 1976 a pedestrian bridge was built between Ehenbichl and Höfen which, among other features, has a shortened pedestrian connection to the train station in Reutte.
Districts: Ober- Unterletzen, Wiesbichl 864 m altitude, 1150 inhabitants Almost completely connected to the district capital of Reutte in terms of settlement, Pflach is located to the north-east at the foot of the impressive border mountain area, part of the 2047 metre high Säuling. The village spans a wide area and at the start of the 16th century gained an economic upsurge by the Augsburg trading house run by the Hoechstetters. The Hoechstetters set up a brass smelting works on the Archbach, which was the first and most significant business of is kind in west Austria. The Gothic St. Ulrich’s chapel from 1515 is today still evidence of the prosperity of the of this Hoechstetter business. In the presbytery of the chapel, which is worth seeing, there is a precious painted winged altarpiece from the era of Emperor Maximilian. In Pflach a great deal of flax grew in days past. To the north west of the village at the Kniepass was an outlying estate for Ehrenberg fortress. The town names ”Oberletzen“ and ”Unterletzen“ are evidence of one-sided fortifications which were to keep the enemy at bay.
Districts: Brandstatt, Saba, Roßschläg 821 m altitude, 375 inhabitants Musau is a scattered settlement whose towns are dispersed over a length of some 4 kilometres. Until after the Second World 17
War, agriculture, cattle breeding in particular, was the was the main way the village inhabitants made a living. However this did not provide all they needed to live, which meant that, like all the areas around the Ausserfern, some of the men and children (Swabian children!) had to earn extra money as guest workers abroad. Little wooden containers were also made in the former Fassfabrik Höllmühle and these were mainly used to pack cement. Up until 1914 small amounts of iron vitriol were mined. A few striking customs have been kept right up the present day. On the late afternoon of Carnival Monday, the ”Bareibuben“ proceed with their leader, wearing colourful peaked hats and carrying long sabres, from house to house asking for a little gift (”Bareien“), to drive out the ”Perchten“ and ”Bareien“. On the first Sunday in Lent (Funkensonntag) there is ”disk flinging“ and ”burning of the witches“, where winter is driven out at long last. In recent times the three chapels (Mariahilf, Maria-Heimsuchung and Antoniuskapelle) have been restored and are now wonderful little jewels in the townscape. Raintal, and its managed alpine inns Musauer Alm, Otto-Mayr- and Füssener Hütte, is a popular excursion destination.
Districts: Ober-/Unterpinswang 819 m altitude, 450 inhabitants Pinswang – the name is a reminder that this area is pastureland, where rushes grew – was first mentioned in writing in 1095. Due to its location close to the border and – at an at one time key road across the Kniepass – it was of strategic significance, which was lost with the abandoning of the fortress buildings at the Kniepass (1782). This ”Sternschanze am Kniepass“ was an outpost of the Ehrenberg fortress and has been renovated, little by little. At one time lots of pilgrims came to ”Gottseligen Bruder Ulrich“, above whose grave is the parish church built in 1725 by the famous Baroque builder Johann Fischer from Füssen. One old custom is still nurtured by the young people of the 18
village today – the burning of the witches. At one time this was symbolic of the driving out winter; afterwards they sped along on their glowing wooden discs from Scheibenbichl through the farmland. On the ”Tag der Unschuldigen Kinder“ the custom of ”Holla gehn“ is alive and well. To the north of Pinswang at Schwarzenberg there was a fortress, in a wide natural cave, called the ”Schloss im Loch“ (castle in the hole). It was already a ruin by the 16th century.
828 m altitude, 1500 inhabitants The only town in the distrirct to have a village character, at one time surrounded by circular walls. Vils is set in charming landscape, 12 km to the north west of Reutte on the Bavarian border. At the foot of the Vilsegg Ruins is the St. Anna church and a hammer mill with a water wheel which the Herren von Hohenegg used as an armoury. Vilsegg Ruins, built around 1220, were, until around 1540, the residence of the Herren von Hohenegg. The Baroque Maria Himmelfahrt parish church was bulit between 1709 and 1714 according to plans drawn up by Füssen master builder Johann Jakob Herkomer and was consecrated on 21st April 1714. Vils was once known far and wide as a place where lutes and violins were built. In the course of the 20th century the town became one of the most important crib sites in Tirol. A starting point for superb hikes and mountain tours, road bike and mountain bike tours, tennis courts, ice-skating rink and asphalt curling pitches, ski lift – Konradshüttle.
Districts: Buchenort, Weidasiedlung 850 m altitude, 1950 inhabitants Today’s district of Lechaschau, until 1888 known as Lech, forms, together with Wängle, Höfen, Weißenbach and Vorderhornbach, a closed administrative, economic, judicial and pastoral care association, known as the ”Niedergericht Aschau“, since the settlement in the 8th century by the Alemannen right into the 16th century. This area was, until 1609, the property of 19
St. Mang monastery in Füssen. Lech (Lechaschau) was the place of jurisdiction, Wängle was the parish town. The Bavarian government dissolved Aschau court during the occupation of Tirol and combined it with the court in Reutte. In the municipal coat of arms, which depicts the oldest representation of the erstwhile court seal, continues to be a remembrance of the court of Aschau. The historic ”Marienglocke“, which today can be seen in the ticket office of the Lechaschau branch of Sparkasse Reutte, is worthy of note. It bears a circular inscription and lots of relief decorations. It was cast around 500 years ago (1484) in Augsburg by Stefan Wiggau. In the ”Turm der Heiliggeistkirche“ hangs an even older, beehive-shaped ”Christusglocke“ (Christ’s Bell) which is dated pre-1400. In Lechaschau there was a well-known pottery, brewery and an iron foundry, where bells were also cast and fire engines were made. In the 19th century a few families dedicated themselves to reverse glass painting and wood carving. There are a few famous people who have also come from Lechaschau, such as the man who was the first to scale the Zugspitze (in 1820) Josef Anton Naus (1793 – 1871), the famous biblical scholar, P. Arduin Kleinhans (1882 – 1976), a Franciscan monk and one of the greatest theologians of recent times and artist Ludwig Schmid, Professor at the Grand Ducal Art Academy in Karlsruhe. Largely unknown is that one of the most famous painters of the previous century, Franz von Lenbach, came, on his father’s side, from Lechaschau. His father Franz Josef was born in Lechaschau in 1788 and moved overseas to work as a skilled construction worker. His son, Franz Lenbach, came into the world on 13.9.1836 in Schrobenhausen. A superb career as an artist lay before him. In 1995 in the Weidasiedlung / Lüß area a new pedestrian bridge was constructed.
Districts: Hinterbichl, Niederwängle, Winkl, Holz Altitude: 883 m, 916 inhabitants Along with Breitenwang, the oldest settlement in Außerfern. The parish dates back to the 9th century and is described in of20
ficial documents dating up to the 18th century as the parish of Aschau. Wängle was the seat of the parish for Aschau and the location of the parish church and the cemetery. Towards the end of the 17th century the town’s first own pastoral care facility was set up. Wängle, under the priest Johannes Reichardt, was from 1741 until 1747, the seat of the dean for the state capital of Füssen. As in all the towns in the district many seasonal workers left Wängle in the summer (here it was predominantly bricklayers and carpenters) to head abroad, so many children worked as shepherds or nannies (Swabian children!). St. Martin’s parish church built between 1702 and 1704 with its ceiling frescoes showing the ”installation of the sacrament of the altar“ and ”Ingathering of the Manna in the desert“ by Franz Anton Zeiller (1786). The altar leaves ”St. Martin“ and ”Hl. Familie“ were painted in 1704 by Paul Zeiller. In 2004 the church was lovingly restored. A small part of the at one time burgeoning salt transport across the Gaichtpass through Tannheimer Tal into the Bodensee area was carried by sumpters, when there was no snow, from Wängle via Tiefjoch to Nesselwängle. These days Wängle is a sought-after area for relaxation and recuperation. Wängle is also the home parish of the downhill skiing world champion Harti Weirather.
Districts: Hornberg, Platten, Graben Altitude: 869 m, 1252 inhabitants Höfen has developed from a small settlement of the at one time district court area and large district of Aschau to become the politically independent district it is today. The dispersed village of Höfen first appears in written documents dating from 1427. In 1642 in Platten, a town in the district, Georg Nigg set up a ”Haarstampfe“ or a flax-roasting and crushing plant which later gave rise to Reutte’s textile works. The flax flowers in the municipal coat of arms are a reminder of the former flax cultivation and flax processing. In the 19th century there were several brickworks here and lime kilns, whose ovens still fire to the present day. Until the construction of the Lechaschau Lech 21
bridge (1464), between Höfen and Ehenbichl the Lech was crossed using a ford. Baroque painter Josef Anton Köpfle (1757 – 1843) came from Höfen, as did vicar general of the bishopric of Augsburg, Dr. Cölestin Nigg (1734 – 1809). Höfen is, measured by its inhabitants, a town which is growing slowly – a town whose aim is to retain its village character. An active community life, together with the town’s location at the foot of the Hahnenkamm creates the basis for numerous events which have a regional and international character. The Reutte cable cars, whose company headquarters are in Höfen, connect the superb skiing and hiking area at the Hahnenkamm. In Höfen the only airfield for gliders and motor planes in the district of Reutte.
District: Gaicht Altitude: 887 m, 1350 inhabitants Weißenbach has long been part of the main parish of ”Aschau“. This area is, according to legend, said to have been a gift from Pippin, king of the Franks, around 750 to St. Magnus to set up a monastery in Füssen. During excavations in the Oberhof area, the oldest town of Weißenbach, a human skeleton was found in 1948. Experts place it at the 3rd to the 4th century A.D. First mentioned in documents dating from 1200, in the 14th century, Weißenbach was already split into 12 courts. The main upsurge for the town only came about after the road across the Gacht was built in 1550, for transporting salt to the Allgäu and the Bodensee area. It is also known as the ”salt“ or the ”Hall“ road. Since a bridge always had to be taken across the steep pass, the Weißenbach people had only humble levels of prosperity for the conditions at that time. The result was that the town expanded quickly. At the Gachtpass in 1632 a fortification was set up as an outwork of Ehrenberg fortress. According to a report from 1694 the garrison consisted of just three men. In Weißenbach the people in Lechtal crossed the Lech using rafts. According to an old law, the people of Eden-, Laggen- and Zittenhof also enjoyed the right to use this route. In a document dating from 22
1751 they re-affirmed their old right from the lower court of Aschau and also by the ”Pfleger von Ehrenberg“. The biggest area of wood gathering in Lechtal was between Weißenbach and Rieden. The Tirol territorial princes needed lots of firewood for their brine works in Hall. In 1776 the Hirn brothers acquired 234.700 fm from wood gathering in the Lechtal on behalf of the brine works in Hall. Although there were a great deal of different handcraft professions in the village, a section of the seasonal workers, in particular the bricklayers and plasterers, went to neighbouring Bavaria. The women then had to look after the small farms by themselves in the summer. There was a large number of children at the time there. They helped out as shepherd boys or as nannies, while children of school age were sent to Allgäu. They were then known as the ”Swabian children“. In ecclesiastical terms, Weißenbach belongs to the parish of Wängle. In 1635 the Plague rampaged and claimed many victims. Those who were spared, vowed, by way of thanks, to build a little church to St. Sebastian. Initially they built a chapel which was still not completed by 1642. In 1684 Weißenbach had a chapel. Only 100 years later, from 1734 – 1738, the current parish church was built by master builder Jakob Lutz from Weißenbach. Under Emperor Josef II in 1786 Weißenbach became a local filial parish and in 1891 a parish proper. Chapels in Weißenbach: Mariahilf chapel in Untergaicht, constructed in 1714 and extended in 1860. The Johannes von Nepomuk chapel in Oberdorf, built in 1826. Lourdeskapelle, built in 1885, at the entrance to the village. Ölbergkapelle was built in 1901 and Wieskapelle in 1974. The altars in the church were created by artistic carpenter Josef Buck from Weißenbach. The altar images were painted by artist Josef Hellweger. In both side altars are St. Leiber von St. Clara and St. Wenceslaus from the Catacombs of Rome. Traditions: Since time immemorial in Weißenbach on the 1st Sunday in Lent, the following Tuesday and Thursday, ”Disc throwing“ has taken place. This tradition was probably brought by the first settlers. On 24th October 1846 Emperor Ferdinand I. in a document to the people of Weißenbach conferred that a market day be held every 26th September. 23
Sights For young and old alike ”Grünes Haus“ – the museum of local history
painted wooden signposts provide information about the transport. At Ehrenberg Fortress, which was also an administrative and judicial seat, old weapons and cannonballs, the iron cash office with its elaborate palace and interesting aspects (water colours, engravings) are reminders of this at one time large fortress and are worth a look.
The museum of local history provides a great insight into the cultural past of the district of Reutte. On a guided tour we get to see how the people of the district lived in centuries past. As well as painted cabinets and carved chests, there all sorts of household goods. This image is complemented by old customs and items of clothing. Numerous commercial products of days past can also be seen – ceramic products, old clocks, decorative combs, tiles dated 1571 from an old kiln and the like. A few exhibits are also a reminder of the guild system in Außerfern, however the biggest part of this collection is in the Zunftmuseum in Bichlbach, which opened in May 2006. Reutte was a key transport centre of its time; it was located on the rote where salt was transported from Hall to Switzerland and to other areas of southern Germany. Two large 24
Numerous exhibits are evidence that in the district of Reutte art has always been nurtured. We are reminded by musical pieces by some of the old musical instruments, including a harmonium, which was built by Franciscan priest from Häselgehr, Peter Sin-ger, when he was a twelve year-old boy. Fine art works range from objects of simple, agricultural art, compositions which are religious in content (monastic pieces) through to work by local painters which were also appre ciated in other countries. A highlight in the museum is without a doubt works by the family of painters who lived in Reutte, the Zeillers. We come across numerous pieces which have religious motifs by Franz Anton Zeiller (1716 – 1794) and pictures by his cousin Johann Jakob Zeiller (1708 – 1783) and his father Paul Zeiller (1658 – 1738). Other painters of this era who lived in Reutte and whose pictures are shown include Balthasar Riepp (1703 – 1764), Johann Christof Haas (1753 – 1829), Josef Anton Köpfle (1757 – 1843) and Karl Selb (1774 – 1819). The Baroque façade paintings on the ”Grünes Haus“ are by Johann Jakob Zeiller.
Ehrenberg castle ensemble
The museum ”Grünes Haus“
1293: Ehrenberg castle ruins Ehrenberg provides everything you would expect of a medieval castle – defensive walls, high towers and plenty of history. With the construction of Ehrenberg, Meinhard II determined the Tirol border to the north. Ehrenberg was on several occasions the focal point for military struggles. – In 1546 Protestant Schmalkalden took the fortress. – In 1552 it was taken by surprise by the electoral princes of Saxony – In 1632 the Swedes stopped before its walls. In 1703 it fell into Bavarian hands during the War of the Spanish Succession. – Between 1716 and 1717 Ehrenberg, was appropriated by the Russian czarevitch Alexej, as a residence, when he was fleeing from his father, the czar Peter the Great.
1480: Ehrenberger Klause Shortly after Ehrenberg was first mentioned in written documents, it is mentioned in 1317 as being the ”underlying“ Klause. In 1480 it was expanded under Sigmund dem Münzreichen to become a dam and customs station. – In 1490 Emperor Maximilian I assumed reign in Tirol and the Klause became a key part of this realm. A marble information post on the north side is a reminder that in 1609 Archduke Maximilian III initiated building and renovation work to be carried out by master German builders. – The Klause, which is the focal point of 18 castles in Tirol and the Allgäu, accommodates the European Castles Museum. 1645: Fort Claudia The strategic significance of Ehrenberg opposite the mountain ridge has long been recognised. – From 1639 to 1645, under Tirol ruler archduchess Claudia, Fort Claudia, which bears the name of this princess, was built. – In 1703 Fort Claudia as taken by the Bavarians, who lead the occupation of Ehrenberg from here. – The fortress was abandoned in 1782. 1741: Fortress at Schlosskopf The most recent and at the same time most impressive of all these castles is the Schlosskopf. It started in 1733 with the construction of the fortress which was completed using the most contemporary military knowledge, in 1741. It enjoyed only 41 years of being in existence, until in 1782, like all other building works, it was abandoned. The impressive remains are still a reminder that the fortress was said to be impregnable.
2001: Restoration The reclamation of the Ehrenberg castle ensemble has been a success story. Here, where at one time castle and fortress facilities closed the route across the Alps, is where the Ehrenburg Castle realm came about, connecting the people and generations, with the maxim being ”grasp history and experience it up close!“ In 2001 the ”Verein Europäisches Burgenmuseum Ehrenberg“ was founded with the aim of securing the continuance of the Ehrenberg Ruins, the fortress on the Schlosskopf, Fort Claudia and the Klause in particular. Thanks to the efforts of volunteers and considerable financial expenditure, parts of the castle ensemble are able to be restored, which will now be used as a museum and for all kinds of events. The Ehrenberg Historical in particular, a multi-media journey through time through the history of Ehrenberg, which takes place every week within the historic walls of the event arena, provides interesting insights into the chequered history of Ehrenberg. ”Der Letzte Wilde“ nature exhibit Since the summer of 2014 in the same building, the visitor’s centre, there has also been a nature exhibit ”Der letzte Wilde“. There is the option here at the nine stations to solve exciting puzzles based on the final wild river landscape in the North Alps. In our adventure cinema, visitors get to fly like a bird above the vast area of the Lech and learn how the water has creates a river bed itself, containing sand and stones. Head out on a journey through time and listen as the colourful Lech pebbles recount their unique story. Scenes from days past about life on the Lech reveal everyday life as it used to be. 29
Hiking in Ehrenberg
Museum & Exhibits
The Klause is the starting point for the easy hiking trails to the fortress areas. The Ehrenberg Castle ruins (1100 m) opposite Fort Claudia (1050 m) is accessible via a suspension bridge. The Schlosskopf fortress (1250 m) provides views across the Tiroler Lech nature park.
”In the footsteps of knights“ adventure- packed museum: Follow in the footsteps of the
Heads up kids!
”Der Letzte Wilde“ nature exhibit
Be knighted here or become a damsel. Or head out on a treasure hunt to find the ”Magical Ehrenberg sword“ or the ”Legendary Schlosskopf treasure“.
What is it that makes the Lech the last wild river in the Northern Alps? Nine adventure stations tempt you to explore, be amazed and understand. Search for tracks, listen to the history of the stones and lots more! Hikers proceed from the ”Lechweg“ on the Ehrenberg route via the fortress areas to the exhibits in the Klause.
Record-breaking highline179 bridge NEW to the Burgenwelt family – ”highline179“, the longest Tibet style pedestrian suspension bridge in the world. Further information available at: www.highline179.com
Klause 1, A – 6600 Reutte/Tirol Tel.: 0043 (0) 5672 / 62007 www.ehrenberg.at
knights in the adventure museum and take a look at long-forgotten time. Experience the Middle Ages up close: LISTEN to stories told by crusaders, pilgrims and merchants. SEE the knights’ joisting in 3D and immerse yourself completely in all the goings-on – just like being in a film. FEEL the weight of the knights’ armoury.
Exhibits open: daily from 10.00 a.m. To 5.00 p.m.
Iron ore mining in Weißenbach
highline179 Cracking views! Tackle the 406 m suspension bridge between the Ehrenberg Ruins and Fort Claudia and enjoy the stunning views from the dizzy 114 m height – an unforgettable adventure for all the daredevils out there! highline179 is entered in the Guinness Book of Records as the world’s longest Tibet style pedestrian suspension bridge.
At the time salt was transported from Hall via the Fernpass to Reutte, through Tannheimer Tal to Lindau, horse and cart at Ehenbichl and by raft to Höfen. At the entrance to the town of Weißenbach the old-established farrier and nailsmith Zitt operated a smithy where horses were able to be shoed. The raw material for this was mined for free from the iron ore caves at the Alten Gaichtpass and processed right there. At this time around 50 commercial businesses had set up in Weißenbach. In 2015 the iron ore caves at the Alten Gaichtpass were managed by Mr Eduard Zitt and were made accessible to interested visitors via a staircase. Getting here: in Weißenbach at Cafe-Pizzeria-Dobler bear left, heading for ”alter Gaichtpass“ until you get to the chapel. You can park there and visit the caves.
Opening hours: Daily from 8:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. Contact: Burgenwelt Ehrenberg, Klause 1, 6600 Reutte Tel.: +43 (0)5672 - 62007 Prices: Adults aged 15 and over Children aged 4 to 14
Family ticket: 2 adults + children
Groups of 20+ people (adults)
Ticket sales: Info centre:
8,– € 5,– € 24,– € 7,– €
May to November: 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. December until April: 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Ticket machine: 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. (only full price tickets)
Sporting activities For all the family …
Außerfern sports meet-ups Tennis – Squash – Sauna – Fitness – Pool – Darts – 3 indoor courts for group, individual, fitness and mind training with expert guidance from Reutte tennis school. – 2 Squash courts. – Strength and strength endurance work in the fitness studio, body styling, aerobics, keep fit for your back with guidance from a qualified trainer. – Head to the sauna to relax, enjoy some refreshments in the tennis snug. Or forget the worries of the day over a game of pool or darts!
Hahnenkamm adventure arena with the cable car and bare foot hiking trail: hiking, skiing and paragliding area Summer An 8-seater monocable gondola which spans a wide area takes you from Höfen (930 m) in ten minutes to the mountain station (1742 m) on the Hahnenkamm in the Höfener Alm area. There is a superb panoramic view here across the valley basin in Reutte and the mountains of the Lechtal, Allgäu (Tannheimer) Alps and the Wetterstein massif which includes the Zugspitze. The mountain station, where you will also find a mountain restaurant which has a large sun terrace, is the ideal starting point for a variety of Alpine mountain hikes. Older holiday guests and families with children also have the opportunity to walk in the loveliest Alpine areas, without any danger, or any great exertion – the nearby Hochalmen (Höfener Alm, Schneetal Alm, Lechaschauer Alm and Gehrenalm) are easy to get to. The crossings into Tannheimer Tal, to Gimpelhütte and into 35
Raintal are part of easy day hiking tours. Only expert mountaineers can scale the Gaicht, the Geh-renspitze, the Kellespitze, the Gimpel or the Rot Flüh, to name but the most significant via ferrata routes in the area. A network annual ticket, summer season ticket or points card for paragliders means you get to fly in the Hahnenkamm, Tannheim, Bach, Pfronten and Nesselwang areas. Whether young or old, the experience of all these mountain adventures and beautiful natural features is made easy thanks to the ”Reutte ner Bergbahn“! (Hiking suggestions for the Hahnenkamm area can be found under ”Mountain hikes“) Another attraction is the 1st Alpine barefoot hiking trail, which is just 2 minutes from the mountain station for the Reutte cable car. On a route spanning 1.2 km, 18 stations invite you to relax and feel great. Health for the barefoot hiker – fun for children – and the cows gazing in wonder at it all.
Winter An 8-seater monocable cable car, an altitude T-bar lift and a 4-seater chair lift provide fastidious beginners ideal conditions for skiing and snowboarding. The main Hahnenkamm run has snow-making facilities from the valley up to the mountain station (130,000 m2), which means snow cover is for the most part assured from December through to April. The mountain restaurant has a large sun terrace and two ski lodges (overnight stay available) in the altitude ski area and tempts you in to enjoy a refreshment stop. The 16 km ski pistes (500,000 m2) are prepared daily using state-of-the-art piste machinery. Ski school, ski hire and ski service direct at the valley station for the Reutte cable car. In total there are 24 km of pistes available in the Reutte Nature Park region! Ski pass association with 93 ascent aids and 173 km pistes in the Reutte Nature park region, Tannheimer Tal, Lechtal, Jungholz and in neighbouring Pfronten, Nesselwang, Ober- and Unterjoch, Hindelang, Schwangau, Buching and Wertach. Ski passes from 2 to 17 days entitle you to entry to Alpenbad Pfronten, to Pfronten ice stadium and to the Alpspitz-BadeCenter in Nesselwang.
5. Archbach educational forest trail (1 ½ hours) As for Urisee, however after crossing the Archbach bridge, bear left along the Archbach to Pflach. After crossing the Archbach again bear left via Pestfriedhof, or right via Pflach (underpass) and Lüß, back to Reutte. 6. Lüß – Prantlhof – Lechsteg – Lechaschau (1 or 2 hours) Augasse, Oberlüß heading for Pflach then left to the Prantlhof and follow the signposts ”zum Lechsteg“ to Lechaschau, back on the Lechaschau side to Reutte, or continue to Höfen to the gliding airfield and via the Lechsteg in Ehenbichl.
Valley hikes 1. Wolfsberg (15 minutes from the town centre) A small elevated area in the centre of the town. Access opposite Lindenstraße 19. Lovely panoramic views across Reutte and the surrounding area. 2. Circular route around the Sintwag (1 hour) Particularly lovely walk, heading in a south-westerly direction out of Reutte. Access point left after Kög (street heading for Ehenbichl), or bear right before the ”Waldrast“ guesthouse. Very well designed forest trails, fun-packed hikes, heading in all directions and to the Sintwaghöhe hill. 3. Ehrenberg Ruins (1 ½ hours) Wonderful walk (climbing slightly) to one of the loveliest viewing points in Reutte. Proceed along Ehrenbergstraße and after Gasthof ”Waldrast“ bear left up to the ”Katzenmühle“, climbing moderately up to the Ehrenberger Klause. Right after the ”Klause“ the route bears right to the ruins. After you have passed the first archway, you can proceed right up to the Ehrenberg Ruins. 4. Urisee (½ hour) As for Urisee, however after crossing the Archbach bridge, bear left along the Archbach to Pflach. After crossing the Archbach again bear left via Pestfriedhof, or right via Pflach (underpass) and Lüß, back to Reutte. 38
7. Stuiben Waterfall (1 ½ hours) – to Plansee (2 hours) Particularly lovely and enjoyable walk. From Mühl, passing the metal factory in Plansee to the turbine building for the electric power station in Reutte. From there bear right to a cliff gorge, from which the Archbach breaks out via several rocky sections, the start of the ”Hermannsteig“. Initially on a good, secured steep path past the little waterfalls when you come to open terrain and via lovely forest floor areas to the Großen Stuibenfall. In serpentines up to the Kanzel and continuing to a second, somewhat smaller waterfall. Continue from there to Plansee. Ministersteig back to Mühl At the Hermannsteig you can also get via Breitenwang – Stegerberg and Hurt, where there is a connecting route to the Hermannsteig. A circular hike from Mühl via the Hermannsteig to Kleinen Plansee is recommended and via the Ministersteig back to Mühl, which re-opened in 2005 after heavy floods in the summer of 1999. 8. Neumühle – Lähn – Mäuerlein – Heiterwangersee (3 hours) Really lovely, yet somewhat steeper route. Superb panoramic views to Reutte. From Reutte next to the main road to Neumühle. Bear left, crossing beneath the bridge, do not continue on the road to Plansee but take a right and proceed on the somewhat steep road up to the ”Alphof – Lähn“ and from there bear left to the forest and to the railway crossing area. Through a sunken road you get to the path which bears right heading up to the forest ridge. It is noticeable that you get to the altitude location of the Mäuerlein, and that later on the forest trail which bears right is 39
to be used, otherwise you have to continue on the forest trail to the left. From this height the path then descends slightly until you come to a signpost. From there you can either proceed to the steep path to Heiterwangersee or, staying on the hill, continue on the wide trail which bears right again, which finishes off a bit above the town of Heiterwang, proceeding on the main road to Reutte. 9. Through the Klausenwald to Rieden (3 hours) As for 3. (”Ehrenberg Ruins“) up to Ehrenberger Klause, then, initially flat, later on climbing somewhat through the forest up to the Klausenwaldhöhe. Beyond this hill there is a moderate descent down to Riedener See and to Rieden. From there, along the Lechdamm back to Reutte. A second route proceeds from the Ehrenberger Klause on the south-facing slopes of the Schlosskopf, heading west, you then bear south, crossing the previously mentioned route and continue south of this, passing Riedener See and heading to Rieden. 10. P inswang – Fürstenstraße – Schlösser Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau (1 ½ hours) From the estate to the Schluxen in Unterpinswang, following the signposts for ”Fürstenstraße“ to the right, climbing slightly initially, along Alpsee to the Bayerischen Königsschlössern. 11. Frauensee (1 ½ hours) Via the Lechsteg in the Lüß to Hinterbichl, continuing to Frauensee. 12. Reuttener Bergbahn (1 hour) Via the town of Kög, Floriangasse to Tränkesiedlung. From there on the path to Hotel Maximilian. Pass the hotel, go straight ahead along the Lech, proceeding to Rieden. Cross the Lechsteg, passing the sports ground heading for the main road. Cross this and after around ten minutes you come to the valley station for Reuttener Bergbahn. Or, at the roundabout near Reutte church take the exit for Lechtal, cross the Lech, bear left before Lechaschauer church, along the Lechs to Höfen, pass the sports grounds until you get to the main road; cross this and you will get to the valley station for Reuttener Bergbahn. 40
13. Altitude panorama hike Höfen – Wängle – Lechaschau (total length 12 km) The main starting point for the 12km altitude panorama trail is Oberhornberg (the district of Höfen) – at the farm proceed along the reservoir to the forest – follow the signposts until you get to the forest trail, bear right to the exit area for the Schollenwiesen- lift-cable car valley station – up the reservoir via Hirschbach-Laimbach – along the municipal road to Winkl – at 4.3 km bear left through the town of Winkl – left, up to the Wängler Bärenfalle, via a climbing woodland path to the forest trail – bear right across the Lein, at the area where there is an area to feed the animals – bear right at the three-way point, down via the pasture – head up left to Frauensee – through the forest to Oberletzen. At the end of the altitude trail bear right, connecting area to the circular route, where you can get back to your starting point. The panorama altitude trail, which provides details of kilometres covered, is signposted clockwise. There are several starting points for the altitude panorama trail. a) Farm at the Schollenwiesen lift in Höfen, uphill to the exit point (km 2). b) Holzer Bridge (town of Holz, km 4). c) Wängle village square, via the Oberhofweg trail, km 6.5. d) Ottilien chapel – Frauenseeweg, left past Frauensee to km 8.5. 14. Circular hike – Wängle – Lechaschau – Höfen (total length 13.5 km) Starting point: village square in Wängle. On the municipal road to Niederwängle – Ottilienkapelle – Hinterbichl – around 100 m after the massage practice bear right across Lechdamm on a few steps to get to the Lechuferweg – continue along the Lech through Lechaschau – to Höfen – via Leimbachsteg to the gliding airfield in Höfen – pass under the main road, continue to Oberhornberg and to the Schollenwiesen lift – on the forest trail to Bergbahnstraße and via Holz and Winkl back to the starting point. 15. Costaries Chapel – Frauensee (1 ½ hours) From the centre of Wängle, bear right at the supermarket to the Oberhofweg – take the road to the left, proceeding along the old 41
Frauenseeweg (altitude trail) until the turn-off for Costaries Chapel. Steep ascent to the chapel. Back initially on a narrow forest trail and then on the forest trail to Frauensee, and Niederwängle – Wängle. 16. Plansee – circular hiking trail (3 ½ – 4 hours) Starting point is the Hotel Seespitze. There is a wide hiking trail which runs behind the hotel to the Hotel Forelle (around 1 ½ hours). This section has only slight inclines and is also suitable for older or for guests who have any difficulty walking. From the Hotel Forelle the route proceeds to the Seewinkel, continuing around the lake back to the starting point. The hike may then be cut short with a trip in a motorboat. 17. Weißenbach – hike, lower banks of the Lech (1 hour) From Riedener Bridge in an easterly direction on the left banks of the Lech, there is a lovely asphalt cycling and hiking trail which, after crossing the main road at the end of the town, at the Hotel Bären, proceeds via a farm track to the Gaichtpass and back to the town centre. 18. Weißenbach – Unteres Lechufer – Höfen – Lechsteg – Rieden – Weißenbach (3 hours) As 17., however at the left banks of the Lech continue to Höfen. Cross the Lech at Höfen’s Lechsteg and proceed west on the right banks of the Lech to Rieden and back to Weißenbach. Easy, straightforward hiking trail! 19 Weißenbach – Oberes Lechufer – Baggersee – Dreibrunnen – Stuiben Jagdhütte – Schwarzwassertal – Vorderhornbach (3 hours) a) From Riedener Bridge, head west on the Lechtal cycle trail on the left banks of the Lech to Weißenbach bridge and continue to the outdoor swimming pool. (Hike through the town or back from the swimming pool to the town centre). From the swimming pool continue west and you proceed through the particularly charming Au landscape to Baggersee, Johannesbrücke, Dreibrunnen. After crossing the Lechtal main road at the Dreibrunnen continue to hike to the 42
Stuibenhütte, Jagdhütte until Vor-derhornbach. Back via the Postautobus. b) After crossing the main road, half way along you cross the Lech at the suspension bridge and via Forchach back to Weißenbach c) Into Schwarzwassertal, following the signposting at the Schwarzwasser bridge. Steep to start with initially then not much descent through Schwarzwassertal to Unterlichtalm – 12 km. 20. Weißenbach – Wässertal – Lourdes Chapel (1 ½ hours) From Weißenbach to the Gaicht pass until the first hairpin bend, following the signposting on a trail through Wässertal to Lourdes chapel. Through the town or back via the bike trail. 21. Weißenbach – Riedener Bridge – Rotlechschlucht – Bergle – Forchach or Johannesbrücke – Baggersee (2 ½ hours, not including Forchach) At Riedener Bridge, cross the Lech, following the road to the right to the Rotlech ravine and continuing at the foot of the Schartenberg to the Bergle and the Lechtal main road. Continue hiking either to Forchach or via Johannes bridge and bear right on the bike path and hiking trail at Baggersee back to Weißenbach. From Baggersee there is the option to hike on the main road, cross the road and hike back to the upper part of the town of Weißenbach (Oberhof). A straightforward walk with no climbs. 22. Weißenbach – circular hike around the Knobel (1 hour) From the town centre on the Oberbach village trail to Oberhof heading for ”Böser Weg“, bear right before the quarry heading for ”Schleichtäla“ until you are just beneath the Knobel, then via Oberbacher Feld back to the town centre. 22. Vils – Alatsee (around ¾ hour) From Vils town square past the parish church into Untertor, across the new Vilsbrücke, then follow the inside right signposts for Lände-Alatsee (No. 1). After around 300 m bear left, pass the ”Schartenhof“ (large farm), on the asphalt trail to the 43
turn-off for Alatsee. Take a right there and proceed on the recently constructed, climbing hiking trail up to the banks of the lake. 24. Vils – Lände – Faulenbach – Alatsee – Vils (around 4 hours) From the town square in Vils, past the parish church to Untertor, across the new Vils bridge, then follow half-right of the signposts for Rich-Lände (No. 2), past the stables and through the underpass for the expressway to the former ”Ländehof“. Proceed along the Lech via the agricultural road, past the state limits to the Lechfall. Through the spa town of Bad Faulenbach on the asphalt road back to Alatsee and to the starting point at Vils town square. 25. Vils – Ranzental – Musau (around 1 hour) From the town square in Vils at the Hotel ”Grüner Baum“ and past the museum into Obertor, continuing to the curling rink. At the junction bear left following the signposts for Musau (No. 4), past Ranzenhof (farm) through Ranzental, initially on the asphalt agricultural road and later on a gravel trail to the town of Musau. 26. Vils – Zirmen – Pfronten (around 1 hour) From the town square in Vils past the parish church to Untertor, across the new Vils bridge, then to the left, to the sports grounds past St. Anna church and the castle ruins, following the signposts for Pfronten (No. 5). Past the Celtic tree circle and on the new Zirmenweg to Pfronten.
Mountain hikes Please … – start off with easy walks and slowly work up to a strenuous mountain tour! – only when you use good equipment (sturdy, mountain shoes with ankle support and grippy soles, pullover, wet weather gear) will your hike be a true experience! – keep to the signposted trails! – do not head out on mountain tours alone! – don’t leave any rubbish behind! – close field gates! – don’t be noisy! – preserve and protect our Alpine plants! 1. Dürrenberg Alm (1434 m, 2hours) From Reutte to Urisee, continuing on the signposted trail to the Dürrenberg Alm. 2. Säulinghaus (1720 m, 2 ½ – 3 hours / Säuling summit 2047 m) Reutte to Pflach, around 100 m before the Hotel ”Zum Schwanen“ go across the railtracks (signposted!) on the trail which takes you to the foot of the mountain. The route now proceeds
steep up through the open forest and across flower-filled mountain pastures which have weather-beaten wooden lodges, heading up to the Säulinghaus. From Säulinghaus on the signposted trail through the cliffs and up to the summit. Slippy in wet weather, partially loamy soil! State border at the ridge of the mountain. Views into the distance into the Bavarian Alpine foothills and into the northern limestone alps. Crossing to Hohenschwangau and in possible. 3. Raaz Alm (1720 m) Starting point for the Reutte altitude trail Ascents: a) from Rinnen near Berwang on the designated trail via the hamlet of Rauth in the south west, through the forest up to the alpine terrain of the Raazalpe. 2 hours walk from Rinnen. Easy mountain hike also suitable for children. b) From Rieden, district of Ehenbichl, through Rotlechtal to Rinnen up to the reservoir. Via the reservoir to the climb to the Raazalpe. Walking time from Rieden 3 ½ hours, from the reservoir 1 ½ hours 4. Musauer Alm (1300 m – Otto Mayr Hütte, 1530 m – Füssener Hütte, 1550 m) Starting points: a) From Roßschläg (Bärenfalle) via a very good forest trail to the Alpe. 2 hours walking time. b) Musau train station, via pastureland and rocky elevations up to the forest trail, continuing to Musauer Alm. Around 3 hours walking time (easy hike) c) Reutte – Lechaschau – Frauensee. To the left, continue on the forest trail via Sulztal, Schallerkapelle and Hahlejoch up to the Alpe. Around 4 hours walking time, can be tackled by anyone d) Reutte – Höfen – by train to the Hahnenkamm – Alpenrosenweg trail – Lechaschauer Alm – Tiefjoch –Sabachjoch – Musauer Alm. Around 3 hours walking time from the mountain station. 5. Hahnenkamm area – made easy with Reuttener Bergbahn in Höfen Superb area for alpine hiking with lovely alpine flower garden, barefoot hiking trail and superb viewing points. Ascent and climb: Either as46
cend via the Reuttener Bergbahn (cabin cable car) town of Höfen, or from Holz, district of Wängle, on the signposted trail (mostly along the descent route). Other ascents also possible from Winkl or from Wängle. a) Hahnenkamm, 1940 m: From the mountain station on a good trail, it is possible to get to the summit in 30 minutes, with not too much difficulty, even for children. b) Alpenrosenweg – altitude trail: Proceeds beneath the mountain station on a wide section to the Lech aschauer Alpe (managed), continuing to Gehrenalpe (managed). Very easy hike, also suitable for children. Walking time of around an hour. c) Gaichtspitze, 1988 m: from the ridge above the mountain station the trail proceeds to the ridge which runs south, up to the summit. Beneath this ridge which continues east, up in a westerly direction to the summit. Around 1 hour walking time. d) Ditzl, 1820 m: Between Hochjoch (to the north) and Tiefjoch (to the south) there is a protruding grass-covered mountain berg, which is best tackled from the Lechaschauer Alpe, without much difficulty e) Schneidspitze, 2009 m: A grassy, south-facing steep and rocky elevation. From Gehrenjoch (crossing between the Schneid and Gehrenspitze) via steep grassy slopes in around 30 minutes Gehrenspitze, 2164 m: Elegant Wettersteinkalkgipfel, which dominates the valley basin in Reutte in the west; providing superb views; it is recommended that expert mountain hikers tackle this; a popular climbing mountain with steep cliff faces. g) Around the Gehrenspitze, day hike: a day hike for endurance-oriented hikers. from Reutte to Wängle, past the former rifle range, either up the steep forest trail or along the forest trail up to Luchseris, from here climb to the Gehrenalpe and continue to the Gehrenjoch, descend to the managed Musauer Alpe. Now on a wide forest road through pine forests to Roßschläg, district of Musau, and from here back to Reutte – for the most part doable on pasture land. A second trail to Reutte branches off from the 47
forest road (signposts) after around one hour of walking, heading south and proceeds through Frauenwald, past Frauensee, via Lechaschau back to the starting point. 6. Weißenbach – Gaichtkapelle – Fengge – Fahlenbachtal (around 2 hours) Bear right in the town centre at Weißenbach bridge, follow the hiking trail on the right banks of the Weißenbach along through Loach to the covered Untergaichtsteg, cross the bridge, continue hiking to the lower Gaicht and Gaicht chapel. From the chapel the trail continues to the gypsum works to the upper gypsum quarry. At the hairpin bend at the gypsum quarry a path to the left continues via the Fengge – Fahlenbachtal back to Weißenbach. Very steep in parts. This tour is not advisable in wet weather. 7. Weißenbach – Gaichtkapelle – Birkental – Rauth a) As for 6., however at the junction to Fengge bear right on the wide trail and follow the route into Birkental. On the left banks of the Weißenbach follow the path to the little town of Rauth, continue to the Gaichtpass and back to Weißenbach. Around 4 ½ hours. b) At the junction for Fengge bear right on the trail and continue on the path. Just after the climb at the ”grünen Boden“ bear left following the signposts for Fahlenbachtal and back to Weißenbach. Around 2 ½ hours. c) Climb from Birkental via the Gappenfeldalm to Landsberger Hütte. Descend to Vilsalpsee. Around 8 hours to Vilsalpsee. 8. Weißenbach – Gaichtpass hike To Gaichtkapelle and continue on the old Gaichtpass road, pass Weißenbach reservoir to get to the new Gaichtpass and back again to Weißenbach. After the junction of the old/new Gaicht pass you can climb up to the little town of Gaicht. Walking time around 2 hours. 9. Schwarzhanskarspitze (2228 m, 6 to 7 hours) From Weißenbach via the Lech to Bergle. At the foot of the Weißenbacher Scharte (signposts) access to Hallander. Past the dilapidated alipne lodge to the Schartenjoch (1897 m), continuing to Schwarzhanskarspitze. Descent via Älpele to 48
Forchach. By Postautobus from here or on foot back to Weißenbach. 10. V ils – Vilser Alm (1226 m, around 1 hours) Vilser Alm is the starting point for lots of different mountain hikes, e.g. to the Rossberg, Große and Kleine Schlicke, Kegel, Luskopf and into the Tannheimer mountains. 11. Vils – Salober Alm – Zirmengrat – Falkenstein (around 5 hours) From Stadtplatz Vils past the parish church into Untertor, across Vilsbrücke, half-left at the sawmill, along the Ritterweg until you come to the signposts for ”Salober Alm“. Right on a narrow forest trail across the Schlosswiese, and on an ascending forest trail up to Salober Alm. From there on a narrow footpath up to the highpoint of the Zirmengrat ridge at 1292 m and partly on the ridge up to the Falkenstein. Descend via ”Mariengrotte“ to Pfronten to Pfronten-Steinach train station, or via the Zirmenweg back to Vils. 12. Thaneller, 2343 m Highest elevation in the Reutte basin, the wonderfully shaped Dolomite pyramids with superb views into the Alpenvorland and the mountains of the limestone Alps in North Tirol, when visibility is good you can see the glaciers of the Ötztaler Alps. Climbs: a) From Berwang on the signposted sunny trail after heading through Rainwald, via the southern ridge, it takes some 3 ½ hours to reach the summit. No difficulty in terms of the terrain, can also be tackled by children who have a decent level of endurance. a) The signposted Riezler trail through Thanellerkar is only recommended for expert climbers, the ascent area for which starts before Heiterwang at the second feeder train station. Further information about mountain hikes can be found in our ”hike atlas“ and in the ”Hiking and cycling map“, available in all tourist and information points in the Reutte Nature Park region. 49
4. Moosbichl route (5 km) Starting point in Wängle at the sports ground. Tour for beginners, can only be tackled in the summer. 5. Lechufer Trail (4.8 km) Starting point below Lechaschauer Bridge (church), tour for beginners, can be tackled in summer and winter. 6. Panorama Hill Walking (5.6 km) Starting point in Wängle at the sports ground, or in Holz, Tour for advanced level hikers, can only be tackled in the summer. 7. Nordic Hill Walking Höfen Starting point at the car park for the Reutte cable car, route 3.7 km hillwalking. Tour for fit walkers – ascent via the altitude trail, descent via the Hahnenkamm hiking trail, can only be tackled in the summer.
Nordic Walking – 9 routes to keep you fit Even early on the Reutte Nature Park region was renowned as being a key area for Nordic Walking and provides visitors with a wide variety of routes in summer and winter alike. Nordic Walking is whole body training, including stretching and strength work. Proper Nordic Walking improves physical fitness and the cardiovascular system and reduces weight. Your upper body is also strengthened by the specific use of the poles, taking the strain off your joints and shoulder and neck flexibility increases. 1. Hahnenkamm-High course (3.5 km) Accessible via the Reutte cable car. Starting point: Bergrestaurant Hahnenkamm, tour for advanced level hikers, can only be tackled in the summer. 2. Panorama Walking 1 (6.2 km) Starting point in Wängle at the sports ground or in Holz, tour for advanced level hikers, can be tackled in summer and in winter, also suitable as a running and a hiking route. 3. Panorama Walking 2 (5.5 km) Starting point in Wängle at the sports ground, or in Holz, Tour for advanced level hikers, can only be tackled in the summer. 50
8. Lechufertrail Höfen Starting point in Höfen at the sports ground, 5 km route, flat, suitable for beginners, can only be tackled in the summer – also a running route. 9. Höfen circuit Starting point in Höfen at the sports ground, 7.2 km route, tour for advanced level walkers; slight inclines, can only be tackled in the summer. Also a running route.
Tips from us: Warm-up before you start and cool down and stretch after a tour. Don’t forget to walk with an appropriate heart rate. Wearing a heart-rate monitor is recommended. Warm-up exercises, walking technique and stretches, as well as heart rate level guidelines are available on the information boards at every starting point for each of our tours.
Cycle tours for all the family
Starting point for all the running routes is Riedener Bridge in Weissenbach.
Please … – look out for hikers – pedestrians always have right of way! – be mindful of the natural surroundings and do not deviate from the trails! – close gates! – do not litter! – check your speed on downhill sections, make sure you can see what’s coming, especially around bends – do not ride in the dark without lights! – protect your head – wear a helmet!
A – Bergle 8.5 km B – Lechufer 12.5 km C – Rotlech 10.5 km
Run tips from us: Warm-up slowly for around 10 minutes. Choose short routes to begin with. Bring plenty of liquids with you. Slow runs will give your body recovery time. Stretching is key!
1. Through Klausenwald Total length: 16 km Difficulty level: easy Altitude difference: 200 m Lowest point: Reutte 850 m Highest point: in Klausenwald 1030 m Ride time: Around 1 hour 30 minutes Refreshment stops: Gasthof Kreuz, Rieden; Landgasthof Klause. Brief outline: Easy tour along the Lech to Rieden. The ascent starts at Riedener See into Klausenwald. After this there is a flat section through Klausenwald and descent via the forest 53
trail to the old inn. There is now a short but somewhat steeper descent via Katzenmühle to the Waldrast. From here cycle back to Reutte. 2. Along the Lech to the Forchach suspension bridge Total length: 28 km Difficulty level: easy Altitude level: around 110 m Lowest point: Reutte 850 m Highest point: suspension bridge 910 m Ride time: around 2 hours Refreshment stops: there are plenty of inns in every village off the route. Short outline: Easy tour with no major climbs, always keeping to the last great ”wild river“, the Lech. On the gravel roads on the left banks of the Lech, heading slightly uphill. Before Weißenbacher Bridge stop on the left again and take the forest roads to Forchach. At Johannes bridge the tour can then be cut short or can be continued on the same banks of the Lech until you get to the suspension bridge. Cross this and cycle along the other banks of the river (or head left until you get to Vorderhornbach). After crossing the main road in Lechtal an asphalt cycle trail proceeds through the Flussauen back to Reutte. 3. Vilstal circuit Total length: 63 km Difficulty level: medium Altitude level: 500 m Lowest point: Reutte 850 m Highest point: Nesselwängle 1140 m Ride time: 3 hours 45 minutes Stop-offs: lots of inns on the way Short outline: Relatively long, but not-too-difficult circular tour, in part along the little river Vils. With some clever route guiding almost all of the route can be done off road (pay attention to the signposts). The Gaicht-pass can also be tackled by mountain bikers on the redesigned old road!
Mountain bike tours 1. Plansee – Kuhklause – (Dürrenberg) or the other way round Total length: 30 km (33 km) Difficulty level: moderate/difficult! Altitude difference: around 850 m (1150 m) Lowest point: Reutte 850 m Highest point: beneath the Melkalpe 1200 m (Dürrenbergalm 1430 m) Ride time: around 2 hours (around 3 hours) Refreshment stops: Hotel Forelle (Dürrenberger Alm) Short outline: Variety-packed circuit which can be tackled in both directions. Alternating continually between up and downhill sections. After the circuit of the Melk, fit mountain-bikers can still tackle the Dürrenberg (the local mountain for mountain bikers in Reutte – that would be another 3 km and 300 metres altitude). 2. Plansee – Naidernach – Griesen Total length: 10 km Difficulty level: easy/medium Altitude difference: around 150 m Lowest point: Griesen border station 930 m Highest point: Plansee 975 m 55
Ride time: around 1 hour Refreshment stop: Hotel Forelle Short outline: Wonderful cycle trail to Naidernach (3 springs!), from here you can continue on the Bavarian side along a lovely mountain stream to the border station in Griesen. There is the option here of joining the trans-regional Zwischentoren – Loisachtal cycle trail. 3. Musau – to Raintal Total length: 9 km Difficulty level: medium Altitude difference: around 710 m Lowest point: Musau/ Bärenfalle 830 m Highest point: Füssener Hütte 1540 m Ride time: around 2 hours 15 minutes Refreshment stops: Bärenfalle, Musauer Alm, Otto-MayrHütte, Füssener Hütte Short outline: Forest trail through Raintal. Moderately difficult route with short, steeper climbs to the alpine inn, Musauer Alm, Otto-Mayr Hütte and Füssener Hütte.
Hikes in the winter 1. Reutte – Stegerberg circular route (2 hours) From Reutte to Breitenwang, past the parish church, continuing to the right to Gipsmühlstraße to the Stegerberg hiking trail to Mühl and continuing to Planseestraße – Gasthof Waldhof – back to Breitenwang. 2. Reutte – Urisee – Mösle – Pflach – circular route (2 ½ hours) From Reutte to Mühl to the Hotel Urisee on the hiking trail above the bypass to the fields in Pflach. After the subway continue to Füssener Straße, and crossing the main road you get to Pflach on the old road, follow this to Reutte through the Lüßweg to the Augasse in the Allgäu road and back to Reutte 56
again. The Shorter route proceeds along the Archbach to Pflach (after crossing the Archbach, bear left before the shooting range). 3. Pinswang – Fürstenweg – Schlösser Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau (2 hours) Gutshof to Schluxen in Pinswang via the Fürstenweg along Alpsee to the Bayerischen Königsschlössern. 4. Ehenbichl – Rieden (1 ½ hours) a) From Waldrast car park on the cleared hiking trail (Lechdamm) to Rieden. b) From Waldrast car park on the cleared hiking trail around Sintwag (¾ hour).
9. Salober Alm (1120 m, ½ hour) From the northern banks of the Alatsee on the cleared forest trail to the Salober Alm which is set in a sunny location. The opening hours and days when the lodges are closed can be found in our newsletter for guests. 10. Vilser Alpe (1226 m, 1 hour) Western area out of the town of Vils half-left to the Kühbach bridge at the edge of the forest. Continuing on the cleared trail past the Alpstrudel Waterfall through Kühbachtal to Vilser Alpe. The opening hours and days when the lodges are closed can be found in our newsletter for guests
5. Wängle – Frauensee (1 ½ hours) From Niederwängle to Lechaschau and Ottilien chapel. At the chapel bear left on the cleared forest trail to Frauensee. 6. Wängle – Lechaschau – Höfen – circular trail (2 hours) From the municipal square in Wängle to Ottilien chapel, continuing to Hinterbichl. After the massage practice bear right to the Lechdamm, continue along the banks of the Lech through Lechaschau to Höfen and via Holz and Winkl back to Wängle. 7. W eißenbach – Schwarzwassertal (2 hours) From the swimming pool in Weißenbach on the trail to Johannes bridge. To the right, next to the bridge on the cleared forest trail to Schwarzwassertal to the suspension bridge, crossing this to Forchach or continuing to Jagdhaus. 8. Dürrenberg Alm (1434 m, 2 hours) From Reutte, Hotel Urisee, on the designated route to Dürrenberger Alm. The opening hours and days when the lodges are closed can be found in our newsletter for guests.
Alpentherme Ehrenberg Fun swimming & a variety of saunas Whether the sun is shining outside or the weather isn’t great – have a great time swimming with all the family here, and exclusive saunas for those aged 16 and over! Swim area
„ Luxury pool with Current channel „ Salt water pool (outdoors) „ Health pool „ Juhui’s children’s area „ Sun terrace „ Giant slide 120 m „ Bistro
„ Sauna area (5 different Saunas) „ Salt water steam bath „ Relaxation pool „ Sauna lounge „ Panorama sun terrace „ Spacious relaxation rooms „ Well-being massages (Appointments by request)
Swim area: 10:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m. Sauna: 10:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Contact: Tel.: +43 (0)5672 - 72222 6600 Reutte, Thermenstraße 10 www.alpentherme-ehrenberg.at
Excursions Cultural highlights … In Lechtal Stanzach St. Michael parish church built in 1660 is worth seeing. In Stanzach, bear left after Namlos and Kelmen, the altar in the renovated chapel is worth seeing. Back via Rinnen and Berwang to Reutte. Elbigenalp The oldest pastoral care station in Lechtal and one of the churches in Außerfern which is most worth a visit is the St. Nikolaus parish church in Elbigenalp. In 1776 the renowned Baroque painter Johann Jakob Zeiller painted here. Tabernacle, angel, ray crosses and ceiling lights were made in the local woodcarving workshops. As a guest in ”Duarf“ you definitely shouldn’t miss the Elbigenalp Chamber of Wonder; here you get 62
to find out about the culture and history of the Lechtal people from the eyes of collector and lithographer Johann Anton Fal ger and immerse yourself in his comprehensive collection of art and curious items. Carving school: In four classes pupils are trained in the art of wood carving and if they are talented enough they receive a Master qualification. A visit to the exhibition sales rooms is recommended. Bach Expositurkirche Hl. Josef in Oberstockach. Externally a modest village church with frescoes which are worth seeing in the interior. High altar image by Johann Jakob Zeiller. Holzgau Plenty of façade paintings with borrowings from castle architecture and church paintings dating from around 1800, when the Holzgau people were, on account of their brisk trading and as seasonal workers (bricklayers and plasterers) in Germany, Holland and Switzerland, became affluent. The houses which were bricked up to their cross gable roofs – a rarity at that time – are evidence of the wealth of the owner (museum of local history). 63
Im Zwischentoren Heiterwang ”Unsere liebe Frau Maria Himmelfahrt“ village church, originally Gothic, which later became Baroque, with Rococo altar, ceiling paintings by Anton Josef Walch dating from around 1750. Bichlbach St. Josef guild church. The only guild church in Austria, was the guild church of the Außerfern bricklayers, stone carvers and carpenters, was set up according to the plans of Swabian Baroque master Jakob Herkommer, under the later town master mason from Prague, Hafenegger, from Tannheimer Tal. The church is regarded as a Baroque gem, yet became derelict after the dissolution of the guilds and the introduction of freedom of trade. Due to several invocations and actions the guild church was extensively refurbished in 1973/74 and today is a unique piece of cultural heritage. Since May 2006 there has also been a guild museum in Bichlbach. Berwang Berwang parish church. The wood-carved altar with the presentation of the last supper is worth seeing. Johannes Obleiter created this superb carving in 1945. Lermoos St. Katharina parish church. Baroque central building (1753) with ceiling paintings and Baroque crypt. Ehrwald ”Maria Heimsuchung“ and the Annenkapelle (1729 – 1734) are worth seeing, the Ludwig Ganghofer Haus and the home and grave of Clemens Krauss.
Grän Worth a look – the ”Zum heiligen Wendelin“ Baroque church with ceiling paintings by Franz Anton Zeiller, depicting the honouring of the Holy Lamb. Tannheim In Tannheim, the main town in the valley, there is a fantastic church ”Zum heiligen Nikolaus“, one of the biggest rural churches which has lots of stucco work by Georg Pflauder and a ceiling painting ”Eucharist“ by Josef Keller dating from around 1800. Schattwald Parish church building from 1893 with Neo Romance features. In the adjoining town of Wies the church, which was revised in 1860, has a latten vault and a depiction of the ”Death Dance“ by A. Falger in the entrance hall. Zöblen In Zöblen today’s church has been preserved and dates back to the time of the Plague in 1630 and was extended in the 17th century to become a church with Nazarene design. Ceiling frescoes by J. Kärle.
In Tiroler Oberland and the state capital Innsbruck
Maria Locherboden To the east of Mötz at the highest point of the Locherboden is the ”Maria Locherboden“ pilgrimage church. A mine collapse and the fortunate rescue of the miners lead to the erection of a painting of the Mother of God outside the cave. After prayers were said, in 1881 a chapel was constructed in front of the cave. Since that time many sufferers have made the pilgrimage to this picture which is purported to have miraculous powers, so in 1896 a neo-Gothic style Marienkirche was built above the cave.
Rauth Holy Trinity Chapel with late Gothic Magnus statue and Rococo stucco work.
Stift Stams Between Imst and Telfs in the Oberinntal is one of the most significant sights in North Tirol. Journey time around 1 ½ hours to
Biberwier Until 1938 galena and zinc blende were mined here. The parish church and the plague chapel ”auf der Geißel“ as a memorial to the year of the Plague, 1611, are worth seeing.
Nesselwängle ”Unserer lieben Frau Maria Himmelfahrt“ parish church from 1712 was destroyed by a large fire and was renovated in 1885.
the Cistercian monastery, ordained in 1273 by Elisabeth, the wife of Meinhard II. of Tirol, in memory of the execution of her son Konradin, the last Staufer emperoe. Until the middle of the 16th century, the burial ground of Tirol territorial princes, the biggest Baroque church in Tirol, stuccoes from the Wessobrunner Schule, frescoes by J. G. Wolker. Monastery building converted to Baroque style with the Bernhardsaal, state rooms and cloistered courtyard. Several schools are accommodated in the monastery today, among them the only Ski College in Austria.
Schloss Linderhof (30 km) Sightseeing tours only available as part of a guided tour (summer around 2 hours, winter around 45 minutes) 1.4. until the middle of October from 9:00 a.m. Until 6:00 p.m. Mid October until 31.3. from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Closed on 1.1., 24., 25., 31.12. and Pancake Tuesday
State capital of Innsbruck In addition to the many world renowned sights, a visit to the Landesmuseum Ferdinandeum, Tiroler Volkskunstmuseum and the Natural History Museum in the former armoury of Emperor Maximilian I are advised. They provide a comprehensive insight into the culture, art, nature and people of Tirol. Sports lovers can also pay a visit to the Olympic venues. Europe’s highest located zoo, Alpenzoo Innsbruck, is an adventure-packed, educational, research and conservation zoo and is open year-round.
3. Kloster Ettal – Famous Baroque church, Benedictine abbey (founded in 1330) – Oberammergau (40 km) Crammed with artistic, old, painted houses from the 18th and 19th century. Passion Plays – the story of the suffering of Christ, starting with the entry into Jerusalem and ending with his resurrection and Transfiguration – since 1634 held every 10 years. Parish church.
... and in neighbouring Germany 1. The town of Füssen (12 km) An old town with historic interest. Benedictine monastery (Baroque building by Johann Jakob Herkommer), which was secularised in 1802 and since 1909 has been used as a town hall. 2. Bayerische Königsschlösser Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau (15 km) Sightseeing tour only as part of a guided tour (around 35 minutes) Schloss Hohenschwangau 1.4 – 30.9. from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. 1.10. – 31.3. from 10:00 to 4:00 p.m. Closed on 24.12. Schloss Neuschwanstein 1.4 – 30.9. from 9.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m. 1.10. – 31.3. from 10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. Closed on 1.1., 24., 25., 31.12. 66
4. St. Peter and Paul (Rococo), built 1736 – 41, Steingaden abbey (30 km) Former Premonstratensian monastery founded in 1147. Romanesque Basilica with an alpine style ground plan, externally it has retained its original, stunning Romanesque form. 5. Wieskirche (35 km) Pilgrimage church to the Gegeißelten Heiland. Built between 1745 – 54 by Dominikus Zimmermann. One of the loveliest Rococo churches in Germany. 6. The Romanesque Basilica in the old town near Schongau (50 km) Clear, monumental structure of the exterior. Particularly worthy of note – the crucifixion group of the ”Große Gott von Altenstadt“, around 1200. Remains of an early Gothic fresco cycle. Baptismal font around 1200. Also worthy of note the Madonna dating from around 1330. 7. Schongau (50 km) Well maintained old town on a hill next to the Lech, with fully maintained town walls which have towers and defensive corridors. The Mariä Himmelfahrt parish church with its Baroque chancel (mid 17th century) by Dominikus Zimmermann. 67
Excursions – natural surroundings Plansee – the second biggest lake in Tirol This lake which is like a fjord, and whose colours alternate between light mossy green and dark bluish-black green, is surrounded by the forests of the Zwiesel- and Zwerchenberg, the Spießwand and the Tauern, and you can get to it within ten minutes. Plansee, which is affiliated to Heiterwanger See, is one of the cleanest lakes in Tirol. At its warmest it reaches between 17 and 21°, in particularly hot summers it gets up to 22 to 23°. Except for during the summer months, when the Plansee boat operates, for years no motor boats have been permitted to disturb the tranquillity of the lake. Altitude: 976 m Surface area: 285 hectares Length 6.3 km Breadth 1.2 km Maximum depth: 76.5 m. You can walk around it in about 3 ½ to 4 hours. Those who prefer to enjoy a more relaxing time can use the boat. 68
Lechtaler Alps & Three passes trip Reutte – Lermoos – Fernpass (1210 m) – Nassereith – Imst – Landeck – St. Anton am Arlberg – Arlberg pass (1793 m) – Flexenpass (1773 m) – Zürs – Lech – Warth – Steeg – Reutte (around 200 km). During the three passes trip the Lechtaler Alps are tackled in their entirety, accordingly there is plenty of variety on offer when it comes to taking superb pictures of the high mountains. This journey touches upon the well-known winter sports towns of St. Anton, Lech and Zürs. Hahntennjoch Tonnage restriction – 14 t; no cars with camper or caravan trailers. Closed in the winter. Reutte – Stanzach – Elmen – Bschlabs/Boden/Pfafflar – Hahntennjoch (1903 m) – Imst – Fernpass – Reutte (around 110 km) On the route it is recommended that you visit the Baroque ”Maria Schnee“ pilgrimage church in Bschlabs, St. Josef’s 69
church in Boden. Pfafflar with its old wooden buildings is worth seeing – built without saws and metal components. Stanzach – Namlos / Fallerschein – Berwang Reutte – Stanzach: between Stanzach and Namlos there is a worthwhile walk to the alpine village of Fallerschein (around 1 hour) with its log cabins. Fallerschein is the pasture land and mountain hay area of Stanzach. People lived in this ”summer village“ year-round in times past. In summer it was run as an Alpine dairy – Namlos – Kelmen – Rinnen (the highest located brewery!) – Berwang – Reutte (ca. 55 km). Tannheimer Alpen – Vilsalpsee Reutte – Weißenbach – Gaichtpass – Tannheimertal (around 20 km). Charming high altitude valley which has Haldensee and, located in a nature conservation area, Vilsalpsee. The road to Vilsalpsee is closed to general traffic between 10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. – bus or around a 1 hour walk. Ehrwalder Becken – Zugspitzbahn On the B179 from Innsbruck to Lermoos – Ehrwald (around 25 km). The Ehrwalder Becken with the staggering Wet terstein massif provides one of the most unique landscape images in the Alps. A trip on Tirol’s Zugspitzbahn to the summit of the Zugspitze (the highest mountain in Germany, 2962 m) is something you will always remember; there is a superb view to the summits and the glaciers of the Alps from here. Silvretta high alpine road – reservoirs, power stations Reutte – Warth – Flexenpass – Stuben – through Klostertal to Bludenz (the federal state of Vorarlberg). Take the junction to Montafontal here and climb the Silvretta high alpine road (reservoir, 2036 m, closed in the winter, toll fee!) – Bieler Höhe – through the Paznauntal to Landeck and back to Reutte. (around 270 km). Ötztal – glacier trip – Timmelsjoch Reutte – Fernpass – Imst – Ötztal (around 110 km). From Sölden or Obergurgl there is an opportunity to get to the glacier regions via the cable car. Via the Timmelsjoch (2509 m, closed in winter, toll fee!) Cross the border to Meran / Italy (around 400 km). 70
A stroll through historic Reutte Start your stroll at our offices – Tourismusverband Naturparkregion Reutte (Untermarkt 34) – we will accompany you on your walk through our lovely town and will provide information, taken from the book ”Reutte – 500 Jahre Markt 1489 – 1989“. While walking through the car park area in Untermarkt you will see a cast-iron fountain, featuring decorative elements, dating from 1907. It is one of the many historic fountains which enhance the townscape of Reutte and which were restored to mark the 500-year anniversary of the market town and was re-erected on its original site. 71
A few metres later you come to the Hotel Gasthaus ”Zum Mohren“ – Untermarkt 26. The ”Zum Mohren“ inn is one of the long-established guesthouses in Reutte. In 1765 the owner, Joseph Wagner was mentioned in council minutes as ”Bestandswirt zum Mohrenkopf“. In the course of time the name of the host families did of course change, but the name of the guesthouse remained. The original guesthouse signboard can be found in our museum of local history – ”Grünes Haus“ (Untermarkt 25). Then there is ”Tauscher-Haus“ – Untermarkt 24. The so-called ”Tauscher-Haus“ originates from the 18th century. The fresco of the ”Immakulata“ (depiction of Mary) under the gables of the building, can be dated to around 1780 and is said to have been created by renowned Reutte Baroque painter Johann Jakob Zeiller. The town house was named after its former owner, businessman and mayor of Reutte, Karl Ludwig Tauscher (1827 – 1897). Since 1930 the building has been owned by the market town of Reutte. Diagonally opposite is the re-designed ”Zeiller Platz“ – a lovely quiet area in the midst of Untermarkt –which is surrounded by the historic buildings of the former ”unteren Salzstadel“, ”Zeiller Haus“ and ”Grabherr Haus“. ”Unterer Salzstadel“ – Untermarkt 31: Up to the end of the 18th century, the ”untere Salzstadel“ was located in today’s business location and residential building. Soon after written approval from Duke Sigismund, in 1471, to set up a salt storage area in Unterreute, constructed from wood; in 1712 a new building was made out of stone. A fee has to be paid to the owners, the parish of Breitenwang, to store the salt con tainers. When the salt trade stagnated, the ”untere Salz
stadel“, was, from 1778 – 1841, used as a customs office (”Dogana- Stadel“) for the transport of goods from and to Füssen. Since then the building, with its characteristic hipped roof, has remained structurally unchanged and has been privately owned. ”Zeiller Haus“ – Untergsteig 1: ”Zeiller Haus“ or the ”Lovely house“ was spared by the great fires in Reutte in 1703 and 1704. On the south side of the building there are still fragments of frescos, which date back to around 1600. The paintings on the facades on the three other sides of the house – the frescos on the gable side also are worthy of mention – date to around 1776 and were created by Baroque painter Johann Jakob Zeiller (1708 – 1783). His father and first teacher, Paul Zeiller (1658 – 1738), inherited the building from his father Christoph. Paul Zeiller, is regarded as the founder of the Außerferner painting school and his nephew Franz Anton Zeiller (1716 – 1794), taught here and had his workshops here. His famous son Johann Jakob was born in this house. ”Grabherr-Haus“ – Untermarkt 29. There is also a ”tower“ (Untermarkt 27) and the ”Zeiller-Haus“ which are part of the former inns, ”Zur güldenen Rosen“ (Untermarkt 29). Even in the 15th century the whole property was owned by the old-established Reutte family, the Klainhanns. In the 2nd half of the 17th century it was purchased by affluent Reutte citizen and salt factor Christoph Zeiller and was owned by several generations of the Zeiller family. A fire in 1704 completely destroyed the inn. The building as it is today was completed in 1737 and at the start of Bavarian rule was still used as an inn and as accommodation. Between 1806 and 1814 the ”Königlich Bayerische Rentamt“ (finance office) was located in the building. After the end of Bavarian rule the building was owned by the Grabherrs –Senetin and Hösle. The paintings on the facades with the illusionist architecture portal frames date from around 1800. On the longitudinal facade of the building, on the middle window, a medallion with a rose and a dish held by two cherubs is still on the ”Zur güldenen Rosen“ inn. At the end of the side wall of the ”Grabherr-Haus“ is the ”Turm“ – Untermarkt 27. The ”Turm“ is probably one of the oldest preserved buildings in Reutte. The rooms on the first floor provided a place to stay for travellers. Even Emperor Friedrich III., Father of Maximilian I., was said to have stayed here in 1488 when travelling through. Walking further, you come to the ”Grüne Haus“ – Untermarkt 25. The ”Grüne Haus“ is said to come from the 2nd half of 73
the 16th century, as recently discovered Renaissance paintings in the 2nd floor of the building attest. There is evidence that the prosperous sisters of Strelle were owners around the middle of the 18th century. They probably commissioned Johann Jakob Zeiller to paint the facades in 1779, with a green background. Beneath the gables, around the middle windows, is a representation of the ”Holy Trinity“ symmetrically grouped on clouds. Architectural paintings like the Scheinportal, columns on the corners, cornices and herm pilasters on the cartouche crowned windows adorn the building. It was probably around 1800 that the wrought-iron window baskets in Rococo style appeared. Between 1821 and 1918 the building was owned by the post office family, the Angerer’s (the owners of the large former inn ”Zur Post“, opposite). The market town of Reutte purchased the building in 1986 from private owners. For the Tirol Landesausstellung in 1989, which took place in Reutte on the occasion of the 500-year anniversary of the market town, the building was fundamentally refurbished. For this outstanding revitalisation the building was awarded with the international ”Europa-Nostra-Verdienst diplom“. Since 1990 Reutte’s museum of local history has been accommodated in the building. As well as the uncovered Renaissance paintings and the exquisite stuccoed ceiling, dated to around 1720/30, the museum provides an interesting insight into the artistic and craft developments in Außerfern. Well worth a visit! Diagonally opposite is the ”Rose“ – Untermarkt 16. The former brewery/guesthouse ”Zur goldenen Rose“ is said to have taken its name around 1800 from the ”Zur güldenen Rosen“ inn, when it set up a guesthouse business. Tradition has it that in 1724 Johann Ammann set up this stately Mittelflurhaus above an old Gothic building. His son, prosperous landlord Jakob Mang Ammann, moved the brewery in 1774 to a guesthouse in the vicinity, the ”Goldenes Kreuz“ (Untermarkt 18), as an annex to the ”Goldenen Rose“. Staying on the same side of the street, at the end of Untermarkt, is the ”Goldene Hirsch“ – Mühlerstraße 1. The guesthouse close to the market square, ”Zum goldenen Hirschen“ is one of the oldest guesthouses in Reutte. In 1615 Christoph Zeiller, father of Baroque painter Paul Zeiller, bought the wine tavern for his large family. For over a century the inn remained in the ownership of the eminent Zeiller family and was then transferred to the Geisenhof family, who finally in 1782 were awarded ”Bräustattrecht“. The brewery business continued until 74
1906, however the brewery guesthouse has in the interim changed hands. Diagonally to the left of the main road is one of the loveliest buildings in Reutte, ”Dengel-Haus“ – Obermarkt 3. The extensive Dengel Haus was built in 1704 by ”Handelsfactor“ Johann Ammann. The marble coat of arms of this commercial businessman are located above the entrance portal. Until 1780 the building remained in the ownership of affluent Reutte business family, the Ammanns, who used the building as a business location and as a guesthouse, ”Zum schwarzen Bären“. Subsequent owners, the Strelle von Löwenberg and Strahlenburg families, worked here as large scale manufacturers, beer brewers and landlords. The prosperity of the families was particularly impressive and is evident from the facade commissioned for the property around 1800. The paintings, in the contemporary Empire style of the time, surround the windows and contrast tastefully from the green background. Wonderful Rococo style window baskets which have lots of details adorn the gable area of the building. The expert wrought-iron work – which his among the loveliest of its kind in the Außerfern – are attributed to Ehrwalder Master Johann Franz Guem. Until 1821 the building was owned by the Strelle family and changed hands often. In 1920 it was acquired by Dr. Ignaz Philipp Dengel, an Außerfern scholar and local historian; these days it is named after him. When renovation work was being carried out by Mr. Dengel to the oriel on the north side of the house, he affixed his coat of arms. A quote from Tirol dialect poet Brother Willram makes reference to the renovation work. According to a testamentary decree by Professor Dengel the building was passed on to the market town of Reutte in 1955 with the condition that it be used for social and cultural purposes. This was fulfilled by the market town with the setting up of what was known as the ”Dengel Gallery“ in the old vaults on the ground floor, where exhibitions are held on a regular basis. Immediately before ”Dengel Haus“ is Marktgemeindeamt – Obermarkt 1. This municipal building stands on history-charged soil. Even in 1491 the people of Reutte has set up a granary and a town hall on this site, which has subsequently been renovated and extended. The ground floor of the building was used to store grain for weekly market days, as a trading centre when the weather was bad, as a meeting area and even as a ”Wahllokal“ during the annual vote to choose a mayor. In the upper floor from the 18th century there was an archive room, which was used to store documents and papers for the local 75
area. There was also a meeting room for the council, a chancery area for the town clerks and there was also a room available for the mayor. But it was only towards the end of the previous century that the building lost its main function as a corn store and trading area and since that time became solely the headquarters for municipal administration. In the 15th and 16th centuries outdoor hearings were often held outside the building. From his seat of law (”Dingstuhl“) the judge of Ehrenberg administered justice. Weekly and annual markets also took place around the granary. The image of the market square has been dominated by a large lime tree, which is said to date from the time of the market town census in 1489. Yet due to its size and age the tree had to be felled in 1947. To mark the 500-year anniversary of the establishment of the market town a young tree was planted on the same site, in the middle of a road. The ”Nagelsäule“ has since 1917 stood on the south-west corner of the district offices for the market town and documents the locals’ preparedness to help during the hardships encountered during the First World War. In donating money to war widows and orphans in the district, a nail was struck into a wooden column. After that the district authority offices – Obermarkt 7 were built. In the 2nd half of the 18th century Joseph Carl Falger (1704 – 1777) built the ”Zur Gemse“ guesthouse here for the genteel traveller. Emperor Joseph II was among the guests who stayed, as was Pope Pius VI., who gave his blessings to the people from the balcony of the building when travelling through in 1782. A memorial on the facade of today’s district authority offices is a reminder of this event. Opposite this is the district court – Obermarkt 2. Around 1600 today’s austere building with its steep pitched roof was mentioned as being the ”Ehrenheim“ residence of the moneyed Klainhann noblemen. At the time it was one of the few stone buildings in Reutte and dominated the townscape, along with the neighbouring St. Anna church, on account of its height. The building was purchased after 1600 by who was later to be the caretaker of Ehrenberg, Burkart Layman for Liebenau. In 1606 he transferred trusteeship of Schloss Ehrenberg to ”Ehrenheim“, a little later the office for the judge of Schloss came to be in this building. Between 1854 – 1938 the district authority and the courts were housed here. Since 1938 in the rooms of the old ”Ehrenheim“ there has been the district court and the police station. 76
After this the re-designed church square which has a fountain dating from 1874 proceeds to the Franciscan monastery and St. Anna parish church. On 15th March 1628 Tirol territorial prince Archduke Leopold V and his wife Claudia von Medici in Reutte laid the foundation stone for the Franciscan monastery. The already existing chapel or church dedicated to Hl. Mutter Anna, was affiliated with the monastery that the Franciscan monks moved into in 1631. Parish and monastic church of St. Anna: Today’s church building comes from the time after the fire in 1703. With the catastrophic fire in 1846 the church’s Baroque features were destroyed. In the course of the last main church refurbishment works between 1964 and 1967 the neoclassical features from the 19th century were removed. The prosaic interior of the church is these days decorated by few, but all the more valuable pieces of artworks – both fires spared the late Gothic group of figures of the ”Annaselbdritt“, which were created by notable Allgäu sculptor Jörg Lederer around 1510 / 15. The sumptuous wood carvings are in an elevated location on the front wall of the presbytery, surrounded by an aureole which was made in recent times. Above the right side altar hangs a painting which shows ”Hl. Antonius von Padua as intercessor for prisoners and the infirm“. It is by Reutte man Paul Zeiller and is dated 1707. It is also to be noted that on the left side altar there is a ”crucifixion group with Maria and Johannes“ dating from around 1725, which is attributed to the key Baroque sculptor Anton Sturm (1690 – 1757). (Further information can be found in the art guide which is located in the church.) Along the abbey walls three old chestnut trees are a reminder of the work of the Reutte town improvement committee from the turn of the century. On the other side of the street, ”Lumper Haus“ – Obermarkt 25 is particularly worth seeing. The building constructed around 1500 by territorial hunters is today only remembered by the small picture of a crossbowman on the north facade. The building was destroyed by fire during the catastrophic great fire in 1703 and was rebuilt in 1710. The medallion depicting a suitor above the entrance to the building is a reference to the wedding of Christian Carl Lumper, son of a solicitor from upper Lechtal, and of Maria Anna Jäger, daughter of a Reutte businessman and Ratsbürger, in 1782. The fathers of the bridal pair purchased the building to mark this occasion. Since then the property has been owned by the Lumper family, in in straight succession. 77
Walking through the Obermarkt area, you pass the oldest historic fountain from 1820, which is in front of the Sparkasse building, and then you come to Gasthof ”Zum schwarzen Adler“ – Obermarkt 75. On the square immediately before Gasthof ”Zum schwarzen Adler“ up until 1494 the ”Tanzhaus“ stood. It was used for dancing, as a meeting room to discuss community matters and as a place of jurisdiction. After this until 1766 at this point the ”bürgerliche Guetstadel“ (also known as the ”Pallhaus“), was used as a storage area for trade goods transported through Reutte. The Gasthof ”Zum schwarzen Adler“ dates from the 18th century and is particularly impressive thanks to the paintings on its facades, which Josef Anton Köpfle (1757 – 1843), a pupil of Johann Jakob Zeiller, completed around 1800. Beneath the gable a depiction of the resurrection of Christ can be seen. Classical illusionistic architecture – such as columns and pilasters, Empire vases, ”Blatt- and Tuchfestons“ – surround the portal and the windows. The artistic wire mesh baskets above the entrance to the building are also worthy of note. Make a little detour from the Gasthof ”Zum schwarzen Adler“ and head to the right to the oldest part of Reutte, the ”Kög“. A short walk takes you to Florianskapelle. Tradition has it that after the great catastrophic fire of 1703 a chapel was constructed to honour St. Florian. Florianskapelle in its current guise was constructed around 1760. The fresco of St. Florian on the facade gable and the paintings on the ceiling in the interior of the church date from 1951 and are by Innsbruck painter Franz Seelos. Reutte painter Johann Christoph Haas (1753 – 1829), a pupil of Franz Anton Zeiller, presumably created the altar image ”Hl. Florian protects the market town of Reutte“ around 1780. Among the features of the recently restored chapel is a statue of ”Maria dolorosa“ and also the figure of the so-called ”Wiesheiland“ (Christus an der Geißel säule). Upon returning to Obermarkt you come to the ”Krone“ – Obermarkt 46. In the main Mittelflurhaus dating from the 17th century there is still the Gasthof ”Zur goldenen Krone“, which used to have its own brewery. From 28th to 29th July 1777 Emperor Joseph II stayed the night, hosted by the landlord at that time Paul Deutsch. Above the portal is an image of a carriage drawn by six horses and a text explaining this occasion. At the end of Obermarkt bear left into Kai-ser-Lothar- Straße and after a few minutes you will come to the town of Breitenwang, where Emperor Lothar III died on 4th December 1137 on 78
the way back from the Italian war, in the presence of Heinrich der Stolze. The thought that the emperor passed away in the village of Breitenwang in an ”impoverished farm“, has recently been convincingly refuted. For in Breitenwang since 1094 it has been proven that there was a Guelfic farm and it is supposed that the emperor died in his son-in-law’s farm, who was of Guelfic lineage and was called Heinrich des Stolzen (a memorial plaque on the building in Dorfstrasse 3 indicates the presumed location. At the end of Kaiser-Lothar street, on your left, is Breitenwang’s district parish church. It has not been precisely determined when the first chapel or church was built on the present location. However Breitenwang is mentioned in documents from the 12th century as being the centre of the original parish church. Peter and Paul district parish church: The church in its current form was re-built between 1685 and 1691; the church spire came about some time before this. Of the interior of the church, which retains its rich Baroque style design, the following artistic works are particularly worthy of note: The ceiling fresco in the presbytery with its presentation of the ”key delivery to Petrus“ dated 1755 is by Johann Jakob Zeiller. His brother-inlaw, the painter Maler Balthasar Riepp (1703 – 1763) who lived in Reutte created the little picture above the main altar piece which shows the ”Conversion of St. Paul“. The mian altarpiece with the ”the denial of Christ by Peter“, painted by Johann Christoph Haas around 1789 / 90. The two side altar images date from 1809 and are by Lechtal painter Karl Selb (1760 – 1819), a pupil of Johann Jakob Zeiller, and these represent the ”martyrdom of St. Sebastian“ and the ”Holy Family“. In 1975 Wolfram Köberl from Innsbruck painted the Baroque style based nave frescoes. Depicted there are both patron saints Peter and Paul, as they accompanied mankind en route to God. (Please also look at the overlying description in the church.) ”Resurrection chapel“, formerly ”Chapel of the dead“: Added on to the church spire is the so-called ”Resurrection chapel“ which came about around 1680 and was extended in 1724. Hourglass, cross and candlesticks on the gable attachment are a reference to the function of the place of worship as a chapel of rest and resurrection chapel. The interior of the chapel is significant, with the dance of the dead portrayals which were created by stuccoers Nikolaus Kaufmann and Thomas Seiz in the years between 1724 and 1726. The Fresco 79
decoration which is probably from 1725 is by Paul Zeiller. The building also has sculptures dating from around 1730 by sculptor Anton Sturm, who between around 1725 / 30 worked in particular for the St. Mang Benedictine monastery in Füssen. Cemetery: On the southern walls of the parish church, in the area of the old cemetery, are two gravestones for the Klainhann family, with their family coat of arms, dating from the 16th century. At the end of the eastern cemetery arcades there are graves for the couple Christoph Zeiller and his wife Barbara, nee. Hössing, who died in 1628. In the centre of the commemorative plaque Jesus is shown as a friend of children; the kneeling founder parental couple and their many children can be seen in the narrow base area. The patron saint of the departed and two tablets with the dates of their births and deaths flank both sides of the centrepiece. On the superimposed segmental arch is the family coat of arms of the Zeillers and the Höß’s. 80
Also worth seeing in the cemetery is the grave cross – a dual-sided Rococo wrought-iron cross dated around 1760 (Köpfle grave). From the district parish church in Breitenwang the route follows Planseestraße to Rochus chapel, which is dedicated to the two ”Plague saints“ Rochus and Sebastian. Due to the Patroziniums it can be assumed that the chapel was built during the time of the Plague (1611 and 1635). However documental evidence about the exact time it was built is not available. Possibly the number ”1526“ which is above the entrance is connected with its establishment. Between1953 – 1954 the little church was turned into a war memorial chapel. The sgraffito with a cross depicted on the exterior facade and a fresco on the chancel arch inside are by Professor Max Spielmann from Innsbruck. Benches next to Rochus chapel invite you to spend a bit of time relaxing before you continue along Planseestraße to get to Reutte town centre again with its cafes and shops. 81
Other ideas …
When the weather isn’t great
– Bathing, splashing about, swimming in Urisee, Plansee, Frauensee, Alatsee, Weißenbach outdoor pool, Baggersee Weißenbach – Stuiben Falls, Canyoning – Horse-riding in Weißenbach, Gaicht, towards Tannheimertal – Adventure play areas in Breitenwang, Sintwag, Ehrenberger Klause, Höfen and Lechaschau – Climbing forest in Bichlbach: open from the Whitsun holidays until the summer holidays, daily from 9:30 a.m. – 6 p.m. Opening hours after the summer holidays: weekends from 10 a.m. – 6 p.m. Tel.: +49 (170) 6349688 – Climbing forest in Nesselwängle – open from May, Tel.: +49 (8323) 968050 – Kneipp pool in Weißenbach – Archery in Weißenbach – Horse drawn carriage ride in Vils, Peter Petz, Tel. +43 676 4292080 – Horse-drawn carriage and sled rides in Lechaschau, Rief family, Tel. +43 (676) 4247953 – Barbecues at Baggersee in Weißenbach – barbecue sites available – Boat ride on Plansee and Heiterwangersee, Tel.: +43 (5674) 5116 – Barefoot hiking on the Hahnenkamm, Tel.: +43 (5672) 62420 – Animal & play park and fairy-tale realm in Bichlbach (only open in the summer), Tel.: +43 (650) 9114777 – Summer toboggan run in Biberwier and new: summer toboggan run ”Wally Blitz“ in Elbigenalp, Tel. +43 (5673) 2111 – Neuschwanstein, Hohenschwangau fairy-tale castles, Tel. +49 (8362) 930 830; Schloss Linderhof, Tel.: +49 (8822) 920 30 – Forest adventure centre in Füssen-Ziegelwies, Tiroler Str. 10, Tel.: +49 (8362) 93875-50
–C inema in Füssen, Tel.: +49 (8362) 921467 For details about showings: Tel.: +49 (8362) 7690 – E lbigenalp woodcarving school, Tel.: +43 (5634) 20156 (ca. 45 km) –Ö tzi village in Umhausen, Tel. +43 (5255) 50022 (ca. 80 km) –S warovski Crystal Worlds in Wattens, Tel. +43 (5224) 51080 (approx. 113 km) – Schwaz Silver Mine, Tel.: +43 (5242) 72372 (ca. 120 km)
You will certainly strike it rich here!
There is so much to explore …
Sports … – I ndoor pools: • ABC in Nesselwang, Tel. +49 (8361) 921620, around 30 km • Alpenbad Pfronten, Tel. +49 (8363) 8585, around 17 km • Alpspitz wave pool in Garmisch, Tel.: +49 (8821) 753 313 (ca. 44 km) • Ehrwalder family pool, Tel. +43 (5673) 2718, around 30 km • Schwangau spa, Tel. +49 (8362) 819630, around 15 km • Längenfeld spa, Tel. +43 (5253) 6400, around 90 km • Alpentherme Ehrenberg Reutte, Tel. +43 (5672) 72222 • Aqua Nova Steeg, Tel. +43 (5633) 5254, around 48 km –O ther activities: • Tennis-Squash-Fitness centre Reutte, Tel.: +43 (5672) 62260 • Ice rink in Füssen, Tel.: +49 (8362) 50750 • Climbing hall in Rieden at Forggensee, Tel.: +49 (8362) 940187 • Indoor go-karting in Kaufbeuren, Tel.: +49 (8341) 94959 (around 45 km) • Boulder Arena in Breitenwang, Tel.: +43 (676) 7092461 • Ice-skating and curling arena, open from November to May, Tel.: +43 (5672) 62516 83
Reutte Breitenwang Ehenbichl Höfen Lechaschau Musau Pﬂach Pinswang Vils Wängle Weißenbach
Tourismusverband Naturparkregion Reutte Untermarkt 34 A – 6600 Reutte/Tirol Tel: +43 (0)5672 - 62336 Fax: +43 (0)5672 - 62336 40 Mail: firstname.lastname@example.org www.reutte.com
Scan to „like Us“