Issuu on Google+

2014-15

Your Federation What we do and who we are


Our Mission The Federation’s mission is to support and promote the work of housing associations and campaign for better housing and neighbourhoods.

Our Values We put our members at the heart of everything we do and we work together as one team to deliver our mission.

Our Offer This document clearly sets out what we deliver for members and who you can speak to on the issues that matter to you.

2

Your Federation


What we do Influencing decision makers

Helping you prepare for the future

National and local media profile for housing to ensure it remains high on the political agenda.

Access to research and ideas on the long-term future for the sector through our HotHouse brand.

How it helps your business Helping to shape the national and local environment for your business to flourish.

How it helps your business Helping you map a long-term strategy for your organisation.

National and local campaigning and influencing on the issues that matter to you.

Access to local meetings with peers to discuss the latest thinking and shape our policy work.

How it helps your business Changing the hearts and minds of decision makers and local communities. Influencing the direction of future government policy. How it helps your business A policy framework which works with, not against, your interests. Sector access to the most senior politicians and officials. How it helps your business Direct routes to the people whose decisions will impact on your business.

How it helps your business Access to support and information to understand the operating environment. A new series of webinars available to you, your staff and your board members. How it helps your business Information available in a way which is easy for your organisation to access. Invites for your staff and board members to networking events. How it helps your business Helping your team understand and respond to the important issues. Your Federation

3


What we do Helping you to meet your challenges

Locally tailored support

Access to some of the most knowledgeable experts in the sector.

A named point of contact within the Federation who knows you and understands your business.

How it helps your business You have first move advantage – knowing how the policy agenda is unfolding. A suite of national publications on the key issues that affect the entire sector. How it helps your business Giving you the information you need about the national context for your work. The market-leading Directors’ and Officers’ liability insurance included as part of the membership fee. How it helps your business Gives boards and senior staff protection and reassurance.

4

Your Federation

How it helps your business Continuity of support and a go-to person for any issues that arise. A suite of locally tailored publications and briefings. How it helps your business Helping to start conversations with key stakeholders. The ability to work with other associations to influence and shape the local Federation offer. How it helps your business You shape the local offer to meet your needs.


A range of paid-for products Over 30 national conferences, exhibitions and awards ceremonies. How it helps your business Providing learning, networking and direct access to key politicians. Publications delivering unrivalled practical advice and guidance.

Sector-leading business intelligence and procurement services through HouseMark and Procurement for Housing. How it helps your business Measuring and improving performance to enhance value for money and reduce cost.

How it helps your business Offering information covering key topics and legislative change.

Access to established service providers, often at discounted rates, including recruitment (Guardian Jobs), insurance (National Housing Federation Insurance Services) and IT (Microsoft, Adobe).

A range of services designed specifically for housing association tenants, under the Federation’s My Home brand.

How it helps your business Helping members secure the best support services at the greatest value for money.

How it helps your business Helping members support tenants in key areas such as home contents insurance and energy supply.

For more information about what we do for our members, go to www.housing.org.uk

Your Federation

5


Who we are Board members Lord Taylor of Goss Moor Lord Taylor was ennobled in May 2010 and previously served as the Liberal Democrat MP for Truro and St Austell. Matthew has been Chair since September 2009. Mark Washer Vice Chair, Board, and Chair of nominations committee. Group Finance Director at Affinity Sutton, Mark joined the board in September 2011. Sinead Butters Chair of audit and risk committee. Chief Executive of Aspire Housing, Sinead has been on the board since November 2009.

6

Your Federation

Mervyn Jones Chief Executive of Yorkshire Housing. Mervyn joined the board in September 2013. Mick Kent Chief Executive of Bromford Housing Group. Mick has been on the board since September 2008. Ashwin Kumar Director of Liverpool Economics and Vice Chair of the homelessness charity Broadway. Ashwin joined the board in September 2013. David Montague Chief Executive of L&Q. David joined the board in September 2013. David Orr Chief Executive of the National Housing Federation.

Cath Purdy Chief Executive of Vela Group. Cath joined the board in September 2012. Victoria Stark Chief Executive of Look Ahead. Victoria has been on the board since November 2009. Peter Williams Board member of Thames Valley Housing and Director of the Cambridge Centre for Housing and Planning Research. Peter joined our board at the 2010 AGM. Penny Young Chief Executive of NatCen Social Research. Penny was co-opted to the board in January 2013, and joined the board officially in September 2013.


Leadership Team David Orr Chief Executive 020 7067 1021 david.orr@ housing.org.uk

Ruth Davison Director of Policy and External Affairs (job-share) 020 7067 1071 ruth.davison@ housing.org.uk

Simon Charlick Director of Operations 020 7067 1075 simon.charlick@ housing.org.uk

Elaine Walder Director of Commercial Services 020 7067 1050 elaine.walder@ housing.org.uk

Gill Payne Director of Policy and External Affairs (job-share) 020 7067 1093 gill.payne@ housing.org.uk

Strategic Management Group

Strategic Management Group consists of the Leadership Team and assistant directors throughout the organisation Simon Nunn Assistant Director of External Affairs and Member Relations 0117 952 9915 simon.nunn@ housing.org.uk

Henry Gregg Assistant Director of Communications and Campaigns 020 7067 1081 henry.gregg@ housing.org.uk

Stuart Ropke Assistant Director of Policy and Research 020 7067 1103 stuart.ropke@ housing.org.uk

Jackie Cunningham Assistant Director of Operations 020 7067 1106 jackie.cunningham@ housing.org.uk

Adam Jones Assistant Director of Marketing and Commercial Services 020 7067 1055 adam.jones@ housing.org.uk

For more information about our board and our senior staff, go to  www.housing.org.uk/whoweare

Your Federation

7


Who we are External Affairs and Member Relations

8

Simon Nunn Assistant Director of External Affairs and Member Relations 0117 952 9915 simon.nunn@housing.org.uk

Claire Astbury External Affairs Manager for the East of England 07788 148 590 claire.astbury@housing.org.uk

Rob Warm Head of Member Relations 07766 780 066 rob.warm@housing.org.uk

Monica Burns External Affairs Manager for the North East 07720 038 448 monica.burns@housing.org.uk

James Green Head of External Affairs 020 7067 1185 james.green@housing.org.uk

Dave Smith External Affairs Manager for London 07879 697 761 dave.smith@housing.org.uk

Jenny Allen External Affairs Manager for the South West 07775 722 258 jenny.allen@housing.org.uk

Gemma Duggan External Affairs Manager for the West Midlands 07919 111 060 gemma.duggan@housing.org.uk

Your Federation


A named point of contact within the Federation who knows you and understands your business

Warren Finney External Affairs Manager for the South East 07768 103 993 warren.finney@housing.org.uk

Kate Warburton External Affairs Manager for the East Midlands 07919 110 536 kate.warburton@housing.org.uk

Daniel Klemm External Affairs Manager for Yorkshire and the Humber 07881 857 977 daniel.klemm@housing.org.uk

Lucy Grove Public Affairs Manager 020 7067 1067 lucy.grove@housing.org.uk

Katie Teasdale External Affairs Manager for the North West 07785 710 179 katie.teasdale@housing.org.uk

Michelle Smith Member Engagement and Relations Manager 020 7067 1044 michelle.smith@housing.org.uk

For more information about the External Affairs and Member Relations team, go to www.housing.org.uk/whoweare

Your Federation

9


Who we are Policy and Research Stuart Ropke Assistant Director of Policy and Research 020 7067 1103 stuart.ropke@housing.org.uk

Catherine Ryder Head of Policy for Health and Wellbeing theme 020 7067 1096 catherine.ryder@housing.org.uk

Rachel Fisher Head of Policy for Delivering Great Homes theme 020 7067 1142 rachel.fisher@housing.org.uk

Jake Eliot Policy Leader for health, care and support 020 7067 1084 jake.eliot@housing.org.uk

Adam Morton Policy Leader for investment, planning and land 020 7067 1077 adam.morton@housing.org.uk

Amy Swan Health Partnerships Project Manager 020 7067 1090 amy.swan@housing.org.uk

Emily Bird Policy Leader for asset management, regeneration, social enterprise and quality 020 7067 1180 emily.bird@housing.org.uk

10

Your Federation


Access to some of the most knowledgeable experts in the sector

Kevin Williamson Head of Policy for Resilient Businesses theme 020 7067 1087 kevin.williamson@housing.org.uk

Javier Stanziola Head of Research and Analysis 020 7067 1184 javier.stanziola@housing.org.uk

Sue Ramsden Policy Leader for welfare reform 020 7067 1080 sue.ramsden@housing.org.uk

Veronika Gstir Research Manager 020 7067 1091 veronika.gstir@housing.org.uk

John Bryant Policy Leader for regulation 020 7067 1082 john.bryant@housing.org.uk

Joe Sarling Senior Analyst 020 7067 1183 joe.sarling@housing.org.uk

Joseph Carr Policy Leader for finance 020 7067 1094 joseph.carr@housing.org.uk

For more information about the Policy and Research team, go to www.housing.org.uk/ whoweare

Your Federation

11


Who we are Communications and Campaigns Henry Gregg Assistant Director of Communications and Campaigns 020 7067 1081 henry.gregg@housing.org.uk

Clare Bevis Paredes Communications Manager 020 7067 1042 clare.bevis@housing.org.uk

Anna Brosnan Head of Media, Digital and Campaigns 020 7067 1028 anna.brosnan@housing.org.uk

John Pierce Campaigns Manager 020 7067 1027 john.pierce@housing.org.uk

Anne Arnold PR Manager 0161 873 1445 anne.arnold@housing.org.uk

Membership and Governance Paul Bayly Membership Manager 020 7067 1036 paul.bayly@housing.org.uk

12

Your Federation

Stephen Bull Head of Governance and Company Secretary 020 7067 1035 stephen.bull@housing.org.uk


Commercial Services Adam Jones Assistant Director of Marketing and Commercial Services 020 7067 1055 adam.jones@housing.org.uk

Natalia Plant Business Sales and Support Manager 020 7067 1065 natalia.plant@housing.org.uk

Chris Bancroft Conference Manager 020 7067 1063 chris.bancroft@housing.org.uk

Trina Chakravarti Marketing Manager 020 7067 1057 trina.chakravarti@housing.org.uk

Octavia Williams Business Development and Partnerships Manager 020 7067 1089 octavia.williams@housing.org.uk

For more information about our staff, go to www.housing.org.uk/whoweare

Your Federation

13


Our paid-for products National events, exhibitions and awards The National Housing Federation is the UK’s leading provider of events designed specifically for social housing with over 30 annual national conferences, exhibitions and awards ceremonies. These offer the latest business intelligence, policy thinking, hot topics and unprecedented access to top politicians and expert speakers. Publications Providing up-to-the-minute practical advice and guidance on key subjects such as governance, finance policy and asset management, Federation publications are widely recognised as indispensable reading for the housing sector.

14

Your Federation

My Home Contents Insurance (MHCI) Our innovative tenants’ insurance product protects over 35,000 households. My Home Energy Switch (MHES) This free and impartial service saved member tenants and staff almost £250,000 on their annual energy bills last year alone. Guardian Jobs Providing housing associations with the market leading reach and recruitment services of the Guardian, at specially discounted rates.


National Housing Federation Insurance Services (NHFIS) A free insurance procurement advice helpline, insurance consultancy services and a range of competitively priced specialist insurance products. Subscriber Scheme From large household names to small specialist charities, each subscriber has a distinct offer for members. Phoenix Software - Preferred Supplier Specially negotiated prices from leading IT companies including; Microsoft, Adobe, Citrix, VMWare and Symantec.

HouseMark HouseMark is social housing’s leading provider of business intelligence, knowledge transfer and performance enhancing services. Procurement for Housing (PfH) The only national procurement organisation dedicated to the needs of social housing.  Harnessing the collective purchasing power of our members, PfH successfully saved the sector £55m last year alone.

For a full detailed list of our current range of innovative products and partnerships, go to  www.housing.org.uk

Your Federation

15


Our Business Plan strategic themes 2013-16 ENABLING THE DELIVERY OF GREAT HOMES

PROMOTING HEALTH & WELLBEING

SUPPORTING RESILIENT BUSINESSES

RUNNING AN EFFECTIVE EFFICIENT FEDERATION

For more information on our Business Plan, go to www.housing.org.uk/businessplan

National Housing Federation Lion Court 25 Procter Street London WC1V 6NY

Tel: 020 7067 1010 www.housing.org.uk www.yestohomes.co.uk Find us or follow us on:

16

Your Federation


Your federation what we do and who we are