Page 11

Kazi Tasneem, a Ph.D. student in Dr. James Hickman’s lab, won the Presentation Fellowship from the College of Graduate Studies for 2015 which provides funding for enrolled master’s, specialist, and doctoral students to share their research at a professional meeting. Tazneem was also selected for the Frank Hubbard Engineering Endowed Scholarship for 2016-2017.

SENT Featured on National Nanotechnology Initiative Supplement to the President’s 2017 Budget

Lauren Austin, a former student of Dr. Qun Huo, was recognized by Chemical and Engineering News magazine as one of their ‘Talented 12’ feature, which highlights young researchers using chemistry to solve global problems. Hao Chen and Juan He were recognized at the Society for Information Display’s Display Week in San Francisco. Chen, a Ph.D. student in Dr. Yajie Dong’s research group, won Outstanding Paper for “High Efficacy, High Color Quality Hybrid White OLEDs Incorporating Red Quantum Dots with Narrow Emission Bands.” He, a Ph.D. student co-advised by Dr. Yajie Dong and Dr. Shin-Tson Wu of CREOL, was honored as having presented a distinguished paper for “Integrated Sensing Platform Based on Quantum Dot Light Emitting Diodes.” Both students were invited to submit a full paper to the Journal of the Society for Information Display and received student travel grant awards for their conference trip. Joseph Sleppy, under the supervision of Dr. Jayan Thomas, won the Best Project in the Mathematics & Physical Science II category at the Showcase of Undergraduate Research Excellence for his research in A PCBM Assisted Perovskite Growth Process to Fabricate High Efficiency Semitransparent Solar Cells. The award is joined by a $750 scholarship. Dan Elbrecht, an undergraduate researcher in Dr. Hickman’s lab, won the Distinguished Undergraduate Researcher Award of December 2015 from the Student Undergraduate Research Council for his research project Incorporation of Skin into in Vitro Drug Screening Platforms. The award included a $200 scholarship. Kripa Ahuja won second place for a poster presentation in the Florida American Society of Microbiology meeting. A high school senior at Trinity Preparatory School who has been volunteering with Dr. Swadesh Santra’s Research Group for the past year, she competed in the undergraduate category and was awarded the second place prize. Ankur Gupta, a member of Dr. Seal’s research group, was awarded the $300 Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Travel Grant to present his research entitled “Gradient Electrochemical Response of Template Synthesized Thickness Sorted MoS2 Nanosheets for Cellular Level Free Radical Detection.” This is one of many honors of the past year for Mr. Gupta who was also recently selected as a student board member on the Thermal Spray Society Board of Directors. Dr. Soumen Das, a member of Dr. Seal's research group, received a young investigator award for the International Conference on Ionizing Processes (ICIP 2016). Dr. Das presented "Cerium Oxide as Radio-modifier." Swetha Barkam, a PhD student in Dr. Seal's research group, is the recipient of several very prestigious awards and honors in the past year. She received a $1000 travel scholarship from the American Ceramic Society (ACerS) to attend the European Ceramic Society's (ECerS) Summer School in Limoges, France. That organization also honored her with the Artistic Creativity award for the 1st Annual ACerS PCSA Creativity Competition. Ms. Barkam was selected for the ASM Board of Trustees as a student member. ASM International is the world's largest association of metals-centric materials engineers and scientists. She was recognized as an outstanding student leader for Women's History Month by the Lead Scholars Academy. Most recently Ms. Barkam was selected for a Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) Award for 2016. John Bittman, a PSM student under the supervision of Dr. Swadesh Santra, is a finalist for the prestigious U.S. Presidential Management Fellows (PMF) program. The PMF is a prestigious two-year training and development program at a United States government agency. The PMF Program received approximately 6,370 applicants for 2017 and John is one of only 417 finalists.

Outside left: Society of Emerging NanoTechnologies (SENT) student group at the University of Central Florida; photo by Alexis Vilaboy

The Society for Emerging and Nanotechnologies (SENT), a UCF student group, was featured on the cover of the National Nanotechnology Initiative Supplement to the President’s 2017 Budget. The document serves as the NNI annual budget and report to Congress as mandated by law. The mission of SENT is to raise awareness of current research and potential applications of nano and emerging technologies, build an interdisciplinary community of students interested in technologies of the future, facilitate interaction with faculty and industry, and promote science and engineering innovation.

Fall 2016 Seminars at NSTC Bioimaging and -sensing from In Vitro to In Silico Personalized Medicine Professor Jari Hyttinen and Project Researcher Kerstin Lenk Tampere University of Technology / BioMediTech Finland Evolutionary Shape Modification of Semiconductor Nanostructures Prof. Hirokazu Tatsuoka Graduate School of Integrated Science and Technology Shizuoka University Japan Nano-Materials for Practical Applications: Opportunities in Computing and the Internet-of-Things Dr. Supratik Guha, NAE Center for Nanoscale Materials Argonne National Laboratories The Institute for Molecular Engineering The University of Chicago Squeezing Light into Small Spaces Dr. Teri W. Odom Associate Director of the International Institute of Nanotechnology (IIN) Northwestern University Graphene Plasmonics and Nanoelectromagnetism for Biosensing Applications Dr. Pai-Yen Chen Wayne State University Finding Bacteria: The Bad, The Good, and The Better Dr. MinJun Kim Southern Methodist University Live, Free, Democratized Electronics: Bridging Catalyst of MultiDisciplinary Research Dr. Muhammad Mustafa Hussain King Abdullah University of Science and Technology Saudi Arabia The Evolution of GaN LED Technology Dr. Balakrishnan Krishnan, Associate Director of Research and Technology Services International Consortium for Advanced Manufacturing Research (ICAMR)

Nano Materials Spring/Fall 2016  

Volume 8, Issue 1

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you