Page 8


Student Researchers Honored at AVS MEETING The Annual Joint Symposium & Exhibition of the Florida Chapter of the AVS Science and Technology Society (FLAVS) and the Florida Society for Microscopy (FSM) was held March 9-10 at UCF. The Symposium consisted of a plenary lecture, technical sessions with invited and contributed presentations, a poster session including a student poster competition and an equipment exhibit for vendors to display surface analytical, vacuum, microscopy, thin film and microelectronic equipment.

NANOFLORIDA WINNERS RAJASEKARAN TAKES 1ST PLACE AT NANOFLORIDA 2014 Dr. Parthiban Rajasekaran took First Prize among oral presentations at NanoFlorida 2014. His presentation was titled “Chitosan-metal composites as a potential prophylactic antimicrobial feed additive for combating antimicrobial resistance.” Rajasekaran is a Postdoctoral Research Associate in Dr. Swadeshmukul Santra’s research group. His research focus includes the study of basic interaction of agricultural pesticides with bacteria.

2015 STUDENT WINNERS First Prize: Hao Li, from UCF’s Advanced Materials Processing and Analysis Center. Third Prize: Mikaeel Young, oral presentation category. Young is a member of Dr. Swadeshmukul Santra’s research group, with a focus on mixed-valence, copper-loaded silica nanocomposite materials.

Page 8

Several NSTC and AMPAC researchers were recognized for their outstanding poster presentations in four categories.

COMPUTATIONAL AND EXPERIMENTAL MATERIALS SCIENCE Second Place: Le Zhou, Advisor: Yong-ho Sohn Third Place: Shashank Saraf, Advisor: Sudipta Seal Honorable Mention: Abraham Vazquez-Guardado, Advisor: Debashis Chanda

ENERGY-RELATED MATERIALS First Place: Zenan Yu, Advisor: Jayan Thomas Second Place: Matthew McInnis, Advisor: Lei Zhai Third Place: Abhishek Mehta, Advisor: Yong-ho Sohn

MATERIALS PROCESSING AND CHARACTERIZATION First Place: Narae Kang, Advisor: Saiful Khondaker Second Place: Swetha Barkam, Advisor: Sudipta Seal Third Place: Xiaochen Wang, Advisor: Lei Zhai Honorable Mention: Ankur Gupta, Advisor: Sudipta Seal Honorable Mention: Jinan Deng, Advisor: Jiyu Fang

UNDERGRADUATE First Place: Rameech McCormack, Advisor: Sudipta Seal Second Place: Eric Calkins, Advisor: Laurene Tetard Third Place: Antonia Bass, Advisor: Swadeshmukul Santra Honorable Mention: David Fox, Advisor: Lei Zhai Honorable Mention: Preeti Kumrah, Advisor: Swadeshmukul Santra

Pictured L-R: Shashank Saraf (2nd from left), Swetha Barkam, Ankur Gupta, and Rameech McCormack

NanoMaterials Spring-Fall 2015  

NanoMaterials provides news and insight from nano and materials science research at the University of Central Florida. The magazine is publi...