Page 2

2

THE GLACIER APRIL 25, 2014 VOLUME 47, ISSUE 15

ABOUT THE GLACIER  The Glacier is published biweekly during the fall and spring semesters by the students of Moraine Valley Community College. SUBMISSION POLICY All submissions should be typed and letters to the editor must include the author’s name, phone number and email address. Anonymous submissions will not be accepted.

9000 West College Parkway Palos Hills, IL 60465-0937 U Building Room U207 Phone: (708) 608-4177 Fax: (708) 974-0790 glacier@morainevalley.edu www.mvccglacier.com Twitter: @mvccglacier facebook.com/mvglacier

By submitting content to The Glacier, the sender acknowledges that they represent and warrant all rights to the content. They agree to indemnify and hold harmless Moraine Valley Community College, The Glacier, hosts, affiliates, officers, readers or employees from any liability, damage or cost. The sender agrees to also hold this true for any claim or demand by a third party due to or arising out of the content they submit. The sender agrees to give The Glacier unlimited license in perpetuity to the content and the information therein. The Glacier reserves the right to edit content as deemed necessary. EDITORIAL POLICY  The opinions expressed in the Glacier do not reflect the views of the faculty, staff or administration of Moraine Valley Community College. Views expressed by non-staff do not reflect the views of The Glacier. All content decisions for The Glacier are under the authority of student editors. Material is not submitted to college administration for advance approval.

Faculty Adviser Ted Powers powerst@morainevalley.edu

Sports Editor Sean McDermott sports@mvccglacier.com

Graphics Editor Thomas John Schultz graphics@mvccglacier.com

Editor-in-Chief Anne Parker editorinchief@mvccglacier.com

News Editor Ashley Meitz news@mvccglacier.com

Layout Editor Connor Reynolds layout@mvccglacier.com

Views Editor Jayne Joyce views@mvccglacier.com

Graphics Intern Brian Ederhardt EderhardtTb3@student. morainevalley.edu

Editorial Assistant Matt Galvin editorialassistant@ mvccglacier.com

Entertainment Editor William Lukitsch entertainment@mvccglacier.com

Features Editor Ciara Barnett features@mvccglacier.com Online Editor Jake Coyne online@mvccglacier.com

Photo Editor Erica Sinnott photo@mvccglacier.com

Contributing Staff David Alexander Samantha DeBias Yosef Eby Sidney Fluellen Dan Hajnos David Kowalski Heather Martensen

Distribution Manager Robert P. Boyer distribution@mvccglacier.com

Thoughts enhancing action By Ashley Meitz News Editor Sasha Tillman, Counselor at Moraine Valley’s Counseling and Career Development Center, presented “Positive Thoughts Positive Mind,” a positive thinking workshop.

On Tuesday, April 15, students were informed how thoughts possess power essential to influencing emotions, behaviors and beliefs. Strategies aimed toward ceasing negative thoughts capable of blinding people from what is good in life were discussed. Students were also taught how to avoid such

Sarah Tillman, counselor at Moraine Valley’s Counseling and Career Development Center, explained the inevitable power of thought and shared helpful methods and strategies to prevent negative thinking. [Erica Sinnott]

negative thoughts. “People think that you can’t control thoughts because they just happen, but our own beliefs directly trigger our thoughts,” said Tillman. “Beliefs are powerful, I don’t expect anyone to

change them overnight.” Every person derives beliefs from a number of origins, both internal and external. Culture, religion, media, family, friends, past experiences, THOUGHTS | page 3

Mvcc Glacier  
Mvcc Glacier  

4 25 14

Advertisement