Issuu on Google+

TECHNOLOGY M & A AND CAPITAL RAISING IN LOS ANGELES PROGRAM GUIDE SPONSOR

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 • The Olympic Collection


TODAY’S PANELISTS Kevin Covert Covert & Co. Kevin Covert is CEO of Covert & Co., an investment bank providing premium M&A and financing services to media and technology companies globally. Mr. Covert is an investment banking veteran with nearly 20 years of experience assisting U.S. and international clients with over 100 transactions totaling over $5 billion. Previously, Mr. Covert founded and built investment bank Montgomery & Co. over 10 years to nearly 100 employees with offices in six cities. He was a primary architect of the firm’s core M&A and private placement business, and headed both the Software Group and the Media Group at Montgomery. Mr. Covert was previously a Vice President at Credit Suisse providing corporate finance and M&A for Fortune 500 companies. Prior to that he worked in investment banking at Salomon Brothers (now Citigroup). Mr. Covert received his MBA from Stanford University and B.S. in engineering from California Polytechnic University, Pomona. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Special Olympics of Southern California.

Eytan Elbaz Scopely Eytan Elbaz is the Co-Founder and Chief Strategy Officer at Scopely, a mobile gaming platform. He previously served as Google’s Head of Domain Channel, growing channel revenues from $13M to $600M annually during his five year tenure. Prior to Google, Eytan was Vice President and founding member of Applied Semantics (formerly Oingo), which was later acquired by Google. At Oingo, Eytan conceived the ideas for applying the company’s meaning-based technology towards domain name selection and monetization, and towards contextual targeting, launched as Oingo AdSense in 2000. Eytan lives in Los Angeles where he graduated from UCLA with a B.S. in Computer Science and Engineering in 1995.

Jeff Solomon Amplify.la Jeff Solomon is currently a Founding Partner and Executive Director at Amplify.la, a hands-on startup accelerator and multi-faceted entrepreneurial campus in Los Angeles. Amplify.la helps startups by providing seed funding, access to additional capital and guidance from highly engaged mentors, and advisors who have a unique connection to media and entertainment. Amplify.la, via its 10,000 SQF campus in Venice, delivers a unique value proposition previously inaccessible to entrepreneurs by committing to a development of a community of like-minded professionals and fostering innovation through organized mentorship, quality events and vital education. Amplify.la is at the heart of the startup movement in Southern California.


TODAY’S PANELISTS Rick Smith Crosscut Ventures Rick Smith is a Co-Founder and Managing Director of Crosscut Ventures. He has been involved in private equity for over two decades. Crosscut is an early-stage venture capital fund that is backed by several of the leading entrepreneurs in Southern California, with an investment focus on the Internet, mobile and digital media. Crosscut portfolio companies include JustFab, Shift (aka GraphEffect), Docstoc, GumGum, Pulpo Media, Verve, Shoedazzle, Dermstore and Ipsy. Prior to co-founding Crosscut, Rick was a managing director at an early-stage venture capital firm based in Santa Monica, California, with over $500 million under management. Mr. Smith began his career as a corporate attorney, working five years at the Los Angeles office of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley and McCloy, a New York-based firm. He graduated from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, with a degree in finance.

TODAY’S MODERATOR Aaron Gafni Greenberg Glusker Aaron Gafni represents clients in a wide variety of general corporate and transactional matters, ranging from entity formation and structuring to equity financings and mergers and acquisitions. He advises entrepreneurs, start-ups and middle market companies across a broad range of business sectors, including technology and new media, food and beverage, consumer goods and real estate. Aaron is actively involved in the Firm’s sponsorship of Amplify.la. Mr. Gafni’s roster of clients includes a number of Southern Californiabased technology companies in a variety of sectors including internet, online gaming, mobile apps and digital media. Mr. Gafni graduated with high honors from the University of California Santa Barbara before receiving his J.D. from the University of California Los Angeles School of Law.


SPONSOR ACG LA Sponsoring ACG LA meetings is a great way to increase your firm’s visibility among the decision makers and deal makers who attend. Members know that your support helps maintain our high quality programming and they appreciate your involvement. For more detailed sponsorship benefits, please visit www.acgla.org or call Ramesh Swamy, Vice President, Sponsorship at 213.688.3356.

TODAY’S SPONSORS

PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS Aaron Gafni, Greenberg Glusker, Attorney Gary Rabishaw, Intrepid Investment Bankers LLC, Managing Director

PROGRAM GUIDE SPONSOR Greenberg Glusker is a 100 attorney, Los Angeles-based, full-service law firm that provides the highest quality legal services and strategic business advice to entrepreneurs and companies. Our areas of practice include: Corporate, Tax, Bankruptcy/Insolvency, Litigation, Intellectual Property, Entertainment, Real Estate, Environmental, Employment, Estate Planning, and International transactions. Contact: Andrew Apfelberg, Partner, 310.553.3610 or AApfelberg@greenbergglusker.com.


2013 ANNUAL SPONSORS ACG LA is generously supported by our Annual Sponsors, whose commitments enable us to produce the highest quality programming with reasonable attendance fees:

Avant Advisory Group

James F. Davidson, Managing Director, 714.924.7888, JDavidson@AvantAdvisory.com

Comerica Bank

Brandon J.E. Ferrera, Senior Vice President, 562.590.2519, bjferrera@comerica.com

Crowe Horwath

Jeff Tillman, Director, 818.325.8416, jeff.tillman@crowehorwath.com

Crystal & Company

Shawn Bernardini, Executive Director, 619.265.6305, Shawn.Bernardini@crystalco.com

DLC

Rahul Merani, Director of Client Services, 310.895.7000, rmerani@dlcinc.com

Grant Thornton

Damon Frier, Partner, 213.688.1780, Damon.Frier@us.gt.com

Green Hasson Janks

Anant Patel, Partner, 310.873.1672, apatel@greenhassonjanks.com

Houlihan Lokey

Scott Kolbrenner, Managing Director, 310.712.6524, SKolbrenner@hl.com

Intrepid Investment Bankers LLC

Gary S. Rabishaw, Managing Director, 310.478.9000, grabshaw@intrepidib.com

Loeb & Loeb

Jennifer Manton, Chief Marketing Officer, 212.365.8279, jmanton@loeb.com

McGuireWoods, LLP

Richard Grant, Partner, 310.315.8234, RGrant@mcguirewoods.com

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Robert C. Kelly, Assistant Director of Marketing, 213.612.2500, Robert.kelly@morganlewis.com

PNC Business Credit

Gail Bernstein, Executive Vice President, 626.432.7540, gail.bernstein@pnc.com

Polsinelli

Tracey M. Ginn, Principal, 310.203.5304, TGinn@Polsinelli.com

Sheppard Mullin, Richter & Hampton, LLC Eric Klein, Partner, 213.228.3728, eklein@sheppardmullin.com

SingerLewak LLP

Suzie Doran, Partner, 310.477.3924, sdoran@singerlewak.com

Troy Gould PC

Larry Zamora, Marketing Coordinator, 310.789.1336, lzamora@troygould.com

Windes & McClaughry

Peter Lee, Partner, 562.435.1191, plee@windes.com


ABOUT ACG

Driving Middle Market Growth in Los Angeles ACG LA is one of the largest and most active chapters of the Association for Corporate Growth (“ACG”) and the premier association for professionals involved in corporate growth, corporate development and mergers and acquisitions. ACG LA delivers thought provoking, knowledge-based events and networking opportunities for professionals responsible for facilitating corporate growth initiatives at middle market companies. Participants in ACG LA’s monthly meetings, world class conferences and intimate roundtable discussions include corporate officers, private equity sources and service providers who seek to remain abreast of current issues relating to corporate growth and to interact with thought leaders. ACG presently has 57 chapters in North America and Europe, with 14,000 members from corporations, private equity, finance and professional service firms. Visit www.acgla.org or call 310.426.9710 to join.


MEMBER BENEFITS • ACG’s dynamic global membership database. • Intergrowth, ACG’s annual global conference, facilitates informal deal exchange and networking with more than 2,000 leading international corporate growth professionals. • Mergers and Acquisitions: The Dealmaker’s Journal, ACG’s monthly publication. ACG members may submit articles and columns for publication. • Achieving Corporate Growth, ACG’s monthly e-newsletter. • Merger Mogul, an e-newsletter from Source Media that provides expert commentary, analysis and news on corporate and private equity-backed mergers and acquisitions, focusing primarily on middle market deals, people and transactions. Become a member today to gain access to the above benefits and more: • Attend ACG LA’s monthly events at a large discount from the non-member rate. • Attend ACG LA’s Annual Conference on September 16-17, 2014 a $150 savings. As a reminder, any ACG member who refers a new member to our chapter will receive free admission to one of our monthly chapter meetings. For more details, please contact Christyne Buteyn or Ari Nadelman, our VP of Membership.


2013 ACG LA DIRECTORS & OFFICERS Andrew Apfelberg - Chairman Greenberg Glusker aapfelberg@greenbergglusker.com 310.553.3610 Jason Brown - Past Chairman GE Capital jason.brown@ge.com 213.615.2116 John Brumlik - Co-VP Awards KPMG jbrumlik@kpmg.com 213.955.8180 Thomas Cleary - Secretary Dykema Gossett tcleary@dykema.com 213.457.1760 Suzie Doran - Treasurer SingerLewak, LLP sdoran@singerlewak.com 310.477.3924 Chris Hebble - VP ACG Cup Cerberus California chebble@cerberuscalifornia.com 310.903.5016 Stephen Lee - Co-VP Awards K & L Gates stephen.lee@klgates.com 310.552.5015 Steven Moon - VP Private Equity Duff & Phelps Securities steve.moon@duffandphelps.com 424.249.1689 Ari Nadelman - VP Membership Lionfish Advisors, LLC ari@lionfishadvisors.com 310.396.8000 Amy Oswick - Co-VP Women of ACG Revo Payments amy.oswick@gmail.com 310.904.9819 Michael Patrick - VP Communications Gallagher Equity Advisors michael_patrick@ajg.com 818.539.1421 Gary Rabishaw - VP Programs Intrepid Investment Bank grabishaw@intrepidib.com 310.478.9000

Lewis Stanton - VP Corp Exec Forum Stanton Associates lstanton@stantonassoc.com 818.752.6500 Ramesh Swamy - VP Sponsorship Deloitte Corporate Finance rswamy@deloitte.com 213.688.3356 Tracy Washburn - Co-VP Women of ACG JP Morgan Chase tracy.e.washburn@jpmchase.com 213.621.8036 DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paul Gurrola Buxbaum HCS, LLC pgurrola@buxbaumhcs.com 323.273.5534 Eric Klein Sheppard Mullin eklein@sheppardmullin.com 310.228.3728 Scott Kolbrenner Houlihan Lokey skolbrenner@hl.com 310.712.6524 Peter W. Lee Windes & McClaughry plee@windes.com 213.327.0575 Rahul Merani DLC rmerani@dlcinc.com 310.895.7000 Margaret Shanley Cohn Reznick margaret.shanley@cohnreznick.com 310.843.9700 Bill Webster - Chief Executive Officer bill@acgla.org 310.245.5942 Christyne Buteyn - Chapter Executive info@acgla.org 310.426.9710 Anne Ettley - Chapter Administrator anne@acgla.org 310.426.9710

UPCOMING EVENTS October 22, 2013 - Rush Hour Viceroy Hotel

November 20, 2013 - Restructuring Panel

November 12, 2013 - Rush Hour City Club

December 4, 2013 - Holiday Party

Beverly Hilton Mr. C Hotel


ACG LA October 2013