Issuu on Google+

STATE OF PRIVATE EQUITY PROGRAM GUIDE SPONSOR

Wednesday, June 20, 2012 • California Club


TODAY’S PANELISTS WILLIAM BARNUM Brentwood Associates Mr. Barnam joined Brentwood Associates in 1984 and co-founded the firm’s private equity effort. Presently, Bill Barnum serves as the Chairman and Director of ThreeSixty Asia, and as a Director of Ariat International, Filson Holdings, K-Mac Holdings, The Teaching Company, Zoës Kitchen and Zumiez (NASDAQ: ZUMZ). He also serves as an outside Director of Quiksilver, Inc. (NYSE: ZQK) and as a member of the Board of Trustees of Stanford University and Harvard-Westlake School. Prior to joining Brentwood, Mr. Barnam worked at Morgan Stanley & Co. in the investment banking division. He is a graduate of Stanford University, Stanford Law School, and Stanford Graduate School of Business. Bill was both an Arjay Miller Scholar and a member of the Order of the Coif.

CHRISTOPHER LEWIS RLH Equity Mr. Lewis co-founded RLH in 1982 and is currently Managing Director. Mr. Lewis serves on the Boards of five current or past portfolio companies – Tetra Tech (NASDAQ: TTEK), maxIT Healthcare, Secure Mission Solutions, IntriPlex Technologies, and Silverado Senior Living. Mr. Lewis is also a member of the Los Angeles chapter of the World Presidents Organization and has been a judge for the Greater Los Angeles Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award. Mr. Lewis received both a B.S., cum laude, and an MBA from the University of Southern California. While at USC, he was a three-time All-American in tennis. He also serves is on the Board of Advisors of the Entrepreneur Program at the Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California.

MICHAEL NUTTING Gores Group Mr. Nutting is the Managing Director of the Gores Group. Mr. Nutting is responsible for leading all corporate finance transactions and capital markets activity for Gores portfolio companies, as well as managing the firm’s relationships with corporate finance providers. Prior to joining Gores, Mr. Nutting was a Director in Investment Banking at Credit Suisse where he maintained primary coverage responsibilities and executed financings, mergers and acquisitions, and other corporate transactions for financial sponsors and their portfolio companies. Prior to Credit Suisse, Mr. Nutting was an Associate in Investment Banking at Merrill Lynch and CIBC Oppenheimer. Mr. Nutting earned a B.A., cum laude, in Economics-Accounting from Claremont McKenna College and an M.B.A. from the UCLA Anderson School of Management.


TODAY’S PANELISTS JONATHAN SEIFFER Leonard Green Partners Mr. Seiffer joined LGP in 1994 and serves as Partner. Previously he worked in corporate finance at DLJ in Los Angeles. Jon Seiffer presently serves on the Board of Directors of AerSale Holdings, Inc., Authentic Brands Group, BJ’s Wholesale Club, Inc., David’s Bridal, Inc., HITS, Inc., Motorsport Aftermarket Group, Scitor Corporation, The Sports Authority, Inc., The Tire Rack, Inc., and Whole Foods Market. Mr. Seiffer has served on the Board of Directors of Arrow Group Industries, Inc., Big 5 Sporting Goods Corporation, Diamond Triumph Auto Glass, Inc., Dollar Financial Group, Inc., Gart Sports Company, Liberty Group Publishing, Inc., Varsity Brands, Inc., and White Cap Industries, Inc. He earned a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Systems Engineering and a Bachelor of Science degree in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania.

TODAY’S MODERATOR EDWIN MOSS Lincolnshire Management Mr. Moss is a Managing Director of Lincolnshire and manages the Los Angeles office. Ed Moss has over 20 years of private equity experience, previously with Mellon Ventures where he focused on middle market transactions in the West. In addition, he was a founding partner of Kline Hawkes & Co. and a Senior Vice President of Bank of America’s private equity group. Prior to entering private equity, Mr. Moss was an executive with the Times Mirror Corporation. He has served as a director of eleven companies. Ed is a graduate of Williams College (B.A.) and Yale University (M.B.A.).


SPONSOR ACG LA Sponsoring ACG LA meetings is a great way to increase your firm’s visibility among the decision makers and deal makers who attend. Members know that your support helps maintain our high quality programming and they appreciate your involvement. For more detailed sponsorship benefits, please visit www.acgla.org or call Gary Rabishaw, Vice President, Sponsorship at 310.286.1700.

TODAY’S SPONSORS

PROGRAM CHAIR Tom Hayes, Senior Vice President, Steel City Capital Funding

PROGRAM GUIDE SPONSOR Greenberg Glusker is a 100 attorney, Los Angeles-based, full-service law firm that provides the highest quality legal services and strategic business advice to entrepreneurs and companies. Our areas of practice include: Corporate, Tax, Bankruptcy/Insolvency, Litigation, Intellectual Property, Entertainment, Real Estate, Environmental, Employment, Estate Planning, and International transactions. Contact: Andrew Apfelberg, Partner, 310.553.3610 or AApfelberg@greenbergglusker.com.


2012 ANNUAL SPONSORS ACG L A is generously suppor ted by our Annual Sponsors, whose commitments enable us to produce the highest quality programming with reasonable attendance fees:

Avant Advisory Group

James F. Davidson, Managing Director, 714.924.7888, JDavidson@AvantAdvisory.com

Crowe Horwath

Jeff Tillman, Director, 818.325.8416, jeff.tillman@crowehorwath.com

DLC

Rahul Merani, Director of Client Services, 310.895.7000, rmerani@dlcinc.com

Frank Crystal & Company

Shawn Bernardini, Executive Director, 619.265.6305, bernardinis@FCRYSTAL.COM

Grant Thornton

Harris Smith, Partner, 213.596.3445, harris.smith@us.gt.com

Green Hasson Janks

Kari Schott, Director of Marketing, 310.873.1628, kschott@greenhassonjanks.com

Houlihan Lokey

Scott Kolbrenner, Managing Director, 310.712.6524, SKolbrenner@hl.com

Intrepid Investment Bankers LLC

Gary S. Rabishaw, Managing Director, 310.478.9000, grabshaw@intrepidib.com

Loeb & Loeb

Jennifer Manton, Chief Marketing Officer, 212.365.8279, jmanton@loeb.com

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Scott Adamson, Partner, 213.612.7365, sadamson@morganlewis.com

PNC Business Credit

Gail Bernstein, Executive Vice President, 626.432.7540, gail.bernstein@pnc.com

Sheppard Mullin

Eric Klein, Partner, 213.228.3728, eklein@sheppardmullin.com

SingerLewak LLP

Suzie Doran, Partner, 310.477.3924, sdoran@singerlewak.com

Troy Gould PC

Pauline Kosanke, Client Development Administrator, 310.789.1336,. pkosanke@troygould.com

Windes & McClaughry

Peter Lee, Partner, 562.435.1191, plee@windes.com


ABOUT ACG

Driving Middle Market Growth in Los Angeles ACG LA is one of the largest and most active chapters of the Association for Corporate Growth (“ACG”) and the premier association for professionals involved in corporate growth, corporate development and mergers and acquisitions. ACG LA delivers thought provoking, knowledge-based events and networking opportunities for professionals responsible for facilitating corporate growth initiatives at middle market companies. Participants in ACG LA’s monthly meetings, world class conferences and intimate roundtable discussions include corporate officers, private equity sources and service providers who seek to remain abreast of current issues relating to corporate growth and to interact with thought leaders. ACG presently has 57 chapters in North America and Europe, with 14,000 members from corporations, private equity, finance and professional service firms. Visit www.acgla.org or call 310.426.9710 to join.


MEMBER BENEFITS • ACG’s dynamic global membership database. • Intergrowth, ACG’s annual global conference, facilitates informal deal exchange and networking with more than 2,000 leading international corporate growth professionals. • Mergers and Acquisitions: The Dealmaker’s Journal, ACG’s monthly publication. ACG members may submit articles and columns for publication. • Achieving Corporate Growth, ACG’s monthly e-newsletter. • Merger Mogul, an e-newsletter from Source Media that provides expert commentary, analysis and news on corporate and private equity-backed mergers and acquisitions, focusing primarily on middle market deals, people and transactions. Become a member today to gain access to the above benefits and more: • Attend ACG LA’s monthly events at a large discount from the non-member rate. • Attend ACG LA’s Annual Conference on September 11-12, 2012 a $150 savings. As a reminder, any ACG members who refer a new member to our chapter, will receive free admission to one of our monthly chapter meetings. For more details, please contact Christyne Buteyn or Ari Nadelman, our VP of Membership.


2012 ACG LA DIRECTORS & OFFICERS Andrew Apfelberg - Chairman Greenberg Glusker aapfelberg@greenbergglusker.com 310.553.3610 Jason Brown - Past Chairman GE Capital jason.brown@ge.com 213.615.2116 Thomas Cleary - Secretary Dykema Gossett tcleary@dykema.com 213.457.1760 Suzie Doran - Treasurer SingerLewak sdoran@singerlewak.com 310.477.3924 Paul Gurrola - VP Programs BDO USA pgurrola@bdo.com 310.203.1208 Stephen Lee - VP Awards K & L Gates stephen.lee@klgates.com 310.552.5000 Ari Nadelman - VP Membership Lionfish Advisors, LLC ari@lionfishadvisors.com 310.396.8000 Michael Patrick - VP Communications Gallagher Equity Advisors michael_patrick@ajg.com 818.539.1421 Gary Rabishaw - VP Sponsorship Intrepid Investment Bankers grabishaw@intrepidib.com 310.478.9000 Lewis Stanton - VP Corp Exec Forum Stanton Associates lstanton@stantonassoc.com 818.752.6500 Steven Moon - VP Private Equity Duff & Phelps Securities steve.moon@duffandphelps.com 310.689.0070 Amy Oswick - VP Women of ACG amy.oswick@gmail.com 213.689.4205

Chris Hebble - VP ACG Cup Cerberus California chebble@cerberuscapital.com 310.903.5016 DIRECTORS AT LARGE John Brumlik KPMG jbrumlik@kpmg.com 213.955.8180 Tom Hayes PNC Business Credit thomas.hayes@PNC.com 626.432.6134 Eric Klein Sheppard Mullin eklein@sheppardmullin.com 310.228.3728 Scott Kolbrenner Houlihan Lokey skolbrenner@hl.com 310.712.6524 Rahul Merani DLC rmerani@dlcinc.com 310.895.7000 Margaret Shanley Duff & Phelps margaret.shanley@duffandphelps.com 310.689.0072 Lisa Westhafer PNC Business Credit lisa.westhafer@pnc.com 310.809.9701 Bill Webster - Chief Executive Officer bill@acgla.org 310.245.5942 Christyne Buteyn - Chapter Executive info@acgla.org 310.426.9710 Paulette Dallas - Chapter Administrator paulette@paulettedallas.com 310.426.9710

UPCOMING EVENTS July 11, 2012 - Rush Hour Networking 5:30 – 7:30 pm – Napa Valley Grille Westwood

July 18, 2012 - Social Media Panel Breakfast Event Beverly Hills Hilton


ACG LA June Program