Page 1

PATIENTS, PAYORS & PIGGY BANKS – HEALTH CARE M&A IN A POST-OBAMA CAREMAGEDDON WORLD PROGRAM GUIDE SPONSOR

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 • California Club


TODAY’S PANELISTS Bill Gil Facey Medical Foundation Bill Gil is President and Chief Executive Officer of Facey Medical Foundation, a non-profit medical foundation that manages Facey Medical Group, a 130 physician medical group with 200,000 patients, 120,000 of which are prepaid enrolled members. Facey Medical Group has been in operation for 84 years. Mr. Gil previously served as Chief Operating Officer for UniMed Management Company, a physician practice management (PPM) organization that manages over a million capitated lives. Mr. Gil’s background includes senior executive positions at Pacific Physician Services, CEO of a start-up Management Services Organization (MSO) and CEO of CareFirst, an HMO based in Los Angeles. Mr. Gil holds an MBA from Pepperdine University. He has written several published articles on health care, especially on managed care. Mr. Gil also teaches at the University of Southern California (USC), in their Masters Program.

Jeffrey L. Linden RadNet, Inc. Jeffrey Linden is the Executive Vice President and General Counsel of RadNet, Inc., the largest provider of fixed-site outpatient diagnostic imaging services in the United States through a network of 236 owned and/or operated outpatient imaging centers. Prior to joining RadNet, Mr. Linden’s practice was diverse, representing healthcare organizations, banks, silver mines, shopping centers, among many other types of businesses. Mr. Linden personally handled the roll-up, public financing, reorganization and sale to RadNet of Diagnostic Imaging Services, Inc., a large medical diagnostic imaging company in California. Mr. Linden received his bachelor’s and law degrees from the University of California, Los Angeles. He was an attorney for the Securities and Exchange Commission from 1967 to 1968, and has been in private practice since that time.

Robert A. Zielinski Riordan, Lewis & Haden Equity Partners Rob Zielinski is a Managing Director of Riordan, Lewis & Haden Equity Partners. Mr. Zielinski joined RLH from Lake Capital, a $650 million private equity group, where he focused on sourcing and analyzing investment opportunities in the business and healthcare services sectors. Mr. Zielinski’s investment experience also includes three years with Trivest Partners, an $800 million private equity group focused on middle-market investments across a range of industries. Mr. Zielinski received a B.A., magna cum laude, from Michigan State University and an MBA from the University of Chicago. Mr. Zielinski serves on the Boards of three current RLH portfolio companies: ABBConcise, Total Woman and The Apothecary Shops.


TODAY’S PANELISTS Richard D. Cordova, FACHE Children’s Hospital Los Angeles Richard D. Cordova joined Children’s Hospital Los Angeles in 2005, after more than three decades of accomplishment as a healthcare executive at hospitals and healthcare systems in California. Before coming to Children’s Hospital, he was President of the Southern California Region for Kaiser Permanente where he guided a three million member Health Plan and Health Care Network of 11 hospitals and 52 medical office facilities. Mr. Cordova serves on the Board of the California Children’s Hospital Association (CCHA) and has served as its chair for 2011-2012. He currently serves on the Board of Trustees and Executive Committee of the California Hospital Association (CHA). Mr. Cordova serves on the Board of the Hospital Association of Southern California. He is a founding member and first chair of the National Forum for Latino Healthcare Executives. Mr. Cordova was selected one of America’s “Top 100 Most Influential Hispanics” by Hispanic Business magazine and was selected “CEO of the Year” by the Los Angeles Business Journal. Mr. Cordova received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from California State University at Los Angeles in 1972, and an MBA from the Graziadio School of Business and Management at Pepperdine University in 1984. He completed a PEW Fellowship at the National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems in 1987.

TODAY’S MODERATOR Aytan Dahukey Sheppard Mullin, Richter & Hampton, LLC Aytan Dahukey is Counsel at Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP in the Corporate Practice Group in the firm’s Century City Office and is a member of the firm’s Healthcare Industry Team. Aytan’s healthcare practice focuses on public and private mergers and acquisitions and general corporate counsel representing a wide variety of healthcare-related clients in California and nationally. His clients include independent physician associations, large physician groups, hospitals and hospital-affiliated foundations and other integrated multi-specialty medical clinics, provider management services organizations, accountable care organizations (ACOs) and other healthcare entities as well as those private equity funds and strategic investors that participate in the healthcare sector. Aytan also possesses deep experience representing clients in the fields of aerospace and defense, manufacturing, technology, personal services, retail and food services. He has represented private equity funds in numerous large leveraged buy-out, add-on and divestiture transactions and has also represented owners of a wide variety of private businesses in sales to private equity funds and other strategic investors.


SPONSOR ACG LA Sponsoring ACG LA meetings is a great way to increase your firm’s visibility among the decision makers and deal makers who attend. Members know that your support helps maintain our high quality programming and they appreciate your involvement. For more detailed sponsorship benefits, please visit www.acgla.org or call Ramesh Swamy, Vice President, Sponsorship at 213.688.3356.

TODAY’S SPONSORS

PROGRAM CHAIR Aytan Dahukey, Counsel, Sheppard Mullin, Richter & Hampton, LLC Eric Klein, Partner, Sheppard Mullin, Richter & Hampton, LLC

PROGRAM GUIDE SPONSOR Greenberg Glusker is a 100 attorney, Los Angeles-based, full-service law firm that provides the highest quality legal services and strategic business advice to entrepreneurs and companies. Our areas of practice include: Corporate, Tax, Bankruptcy/Insolvency, Litigation, Intellectual Property, Entertainment, Real Estate, Environmental, Employment, Estate Planning, and International transactions. Contact: Andrew Apfelberg, Partner, 310.553.3610 or AApfelberg@ greenbergglusker.com.


2013 ANNUAL SPONSORS ACG LA is generously supported by our Annual Sponsors, whose commitments enable us to produce the highest quality programming with reasonable attendance fees:

Avant Advisory Group

James F. Davidson, Managing Director, 714.924.7888, JDavidson@AvantAdvisory.com

Comerica Bank

Geoff Matthews, Vice President & Group Manager , 818.379.2941, gjmatthews@comerica.com

Crowe Horwath

Jeff Tillman, Director, 818.325.8416, jeff.tillman@crowehorwath.com

Crystal & Company

Shawn Bernardini, Executive Director, 619.265.6305, Shawn.Bernardini@crystalco.com

DLC

Rahul Merani, Director of Client Services, 310.895.7000, rmerani@dlcinc.com

Grant Thornton

Daina Petronis, Marketing Manager, 213.688.1780, Daina.Petronis@gt.com

Green Hasson Janks

Anant Patel, Partner, 310.873.1672, apatel@greenhassonjanks.com

Houlihan Lokey

Scott Kolbrenner, Managing Director, 310.712.6524, SKolbrenner@hl.com

Intrepid Investment Bankers LLC

Gary S. Rabishaw, Managing Director, 310.478.9000, grabshaw@intrepidib.com

Loeb & Loeb

Jennifer Manton, Chief Marketing Officer, 212.365.8279, jmanton@loeb.com

McGuireWoods, LLP

Richard Grant, Partner, 310.315.8234, RGrant@mcguirewoods.com

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Robert C. Kelly, Assistant Director of Marketing, 213.612.2500, Robert.kelly@morganlewis.com

PNC Business Credit

Gail Bernstein, Executive Vice President, 626.432.7540, gail.bernstein@pnc.com

Polsinelli | Shughart

Tracey M. Ginn, Principal, 310.203.5304, TGinn@Polsinelli.com

Sheppard Mullin, Richter & Hampton, LLC Eric Klein, Partner, 213.228.3728, eklein@sheppardmullin.com

SingerLewak LLP

Suzie Doran, Partner, 310.477.3924, sdoran@singerlewak.com

Troy Gould PC

Larry Zamora, Marketing Coordinator, 310.789.1336, lzamora@troygould.com

Windes & McClaughry

Peter Lee, Partner, 562.435.1191, plee@windes.com


ABOUT ACG

Driving Middle Market Growth in Los Angeles ACG LA is one of the largest and most active chapters of the Association for Corporate Growth (“ACG”) and the premier association for professionals involved in corporate growth, corporate development and mergers and acquisitions. ACG LA delivers thought provoking, knowledge-based events and networking opportunities for professionals responsible for facilitating corporate growth initiatives at middle market companies. Participants in ACG LA’s monthly meetings, world class conferences and intimate roundtable discussions include corporate officers, private equity sources and service providers who seek to remain abreast of current issues relating to corporate growth and to interact with thought leaders. ACG presently has 57 chapters in North America and Europe, with 14,000 members from corporations, private equity, finance and professional service firms. Visit www.acgla.org or call 310.426.9710 to join.


MEMBER BENEFITS • ACG’s dynamic global membership database. • Intergrowth, ACG’s annual global conference, facilitates informal deal exchange and networking with more than 2,000 leading international corporate growth professionals. • Mergers and Acquisitions: The Dealmaker’s Journal, ACG’s monthly publication. ACG members may submit articles and columns for publication. • Achieving Corporate Growth, ACG’s monthly e-newsletter. • Merger Mogul, an e-newsletter from Source Media that provides expert commentary, analysis and news on corporate and private equity-backed mergers and acquisitions, focusing primarily on middle market deals, people and transactions. Become a member today to gain access to the above benefits and more: • Attend ACG LA’s monthly events at a large discount from the non-member rate. • Attend ACG LA’s Annual Conference on September 17-18, 2013 a $150 savings. As a reminder, any ACG member who refers a new member to our chapter will receive free admission to one of our monthly chapter meetings. For more details, please contact Christyne Buteyn or Ari Nadelman, our VP of Membership.


2013 ACG LA DIRECTORS & OFFICERS Andrew Apfelberg - Chairman Greenberg Glusker aapfelberg@greenbergglusker.com 310.553.3610 Jason Brown - Past Chairman GE Capital jason.brown@ge.com 213.615.2116 John Brumlik - Co-VP Awards KPMG jbrumlik@kpmg.com 213.955.8180 Thomas Cleary - Secretary Dykema Gossett tcleary@dykema.com 213.457.1760 Suzie Doran - Treasurer SingerLewak, LLP sdoran@singerlewak.com 310.477.3924 Chris Hebble - VP ACG Cup Cerberus California chebble@cerberuscalifornia.com 310.903.5016 Stephen Lee - Co-VP Awards K & L Gates stephen.lee@klgates.com 310.552.5015 Steven Moon - VP Private Equity Duff & Phelps Securities, LLC steve.moon@duffandphelps.com 424.249.1689 Ari Nadelman - VP Membership Lionfish Advisors, LLC ari@lionfishadvisors.com 310.396.8000 Amy Oswick - Co-VP Women of ACG Revo Payments amy.oswick@gmail.com 310.904.9819 Michael Patrick - VP Communications Gallagher Equity Advisors michael_patrick@ajg.com 818.539.1421 Gary Rabishaw - VP Programs Intrepid Investment Bank grabishaw@intrepidib.com 310.478.9000

Lewis Stanton - VP Corp Exec Forum Stanton Associates, LLC lstanton@stantonassoc.com 818.752.6500 Ramesh Swamy - VP Sponsorship Deloitte Corporate Finance rswamy@deloitte.com 213.688.3356 Tracy Washburn - Co-VP Women of ACG JP Morgan Chase tracy.e.washburn@jpmchase.com 213.621.8036 DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paul Gurrola BDO USA, LLP pgurrola@bdo.co.com 310.203.1208 Eric Klein Sheppard Mullin eklein@sheppardmullin.com 310.228.3728 Scott Kolbrenner Houlihan Lokey skolbrenner@hl.com 310.712.6524 Peter W. Lee Windes & McClaughry plee@windes.com 213.327.0575 Rahul Merani DLC rmerani@dlcinc.com 310.895.7000 Margaret Shanley Duff & Phelps margaret.shanley@duffandphelps.com 424.249.1780 Bill Webster - Chief Executive Officer bill@acgla.org 310.245.5942 Christyne Buteyn - Chapter Executive info@acgla.org 310.426.9710 Anne Ettley - Chapter Administrator anne@acgla.org 310.426.9710

UPCOMING EVENTS March 12, 2013 - ACG Cup Evening Event Toyota Museum March 20, 2013 - Politics and the L.A. Business Community Breakfast Event AMC Century City Theater

March 27, 2013 - Rush Hour Networking Oviatt Penthouse

ACG LA February Program  

Health Care

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you