Page 1

2016-17

ANNUAL REVIEW


“OUR VISION IS A WORLD FREE FROM MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS (MS) AND ITS DEVASTATING IMPACT.”

FINANCIAL INFORMATION Our 2016–17 Special Purpose Financial Report is available in full from our website msqld.org.au Thank you to everyone who contributed to this 2016–17 Annual Review. Multiple Sclerosis Society of Queensland ABN 56 731 473 412


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

Contents CHAIR & CEO WELCOME

1

IMPACT 3 STRATEGIC DIRECTION

5

LOOKING AHEAD 7 FINANCIAL SUMMARY

9

SERVICES 11 FUNDRAISING 15 RESEARCH 17 ADVOCACY 18 PEOPLE 19 GOVERNANCE 21 THANK YOU

23

HELPING THE MS CAUSE

24


CHAIR & CEO WELCOME PROGRESS ON THE JOURNEY

CHALLENGES ALONG THE WAY

This year the team at MS Queensland once again made good progress in our efforts to help people living with MS to get the best out of life, advocate for change and search for a cure.

It is always a challenge to balance investments we make inside the organisation (readiness for the NDIS, new systems, additional people resources and new fundraising products) with expanding activities outside the organisation (more services for people living with MS and more funding for MS research). We continue to rely heavily on fundraising to “plug-the-gap” in our finances.

We again acknowledge everyone involved with MS Queensland and our work over the past year – customers, board members, staff, members, volunteers and supporters. We are so very grateful for your continued support on the journey towards a world free from MS and its devastating impact.

HIGHLIGHTS THIS YEAR

1

This year we were able to expand our service offerings to people living with other progressive neurological diseases, through our multi-partner SPARK NeuroCare initiative in Townsville. We also completed two new housing projects for 15 residents in Lutwyche and Albany Creek. It was great to see the 10-patient Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV) Clinical Trial for MS at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, almost reach completion. We made great progress with our bold Project Dignity 120 housing initiative, commencing construction of our first project at Springfield. We took another step in unlocking the potential of our real estate assets by selling a long held property on the Gold Coast and formulating a detailed plan for the divestment of our flagship Dutton Park site.

We were sad to make the decision to close some of our longstanding MS Immunotherapy Nursing Service due to a lack of pharmaceutical industry funding. Managing the tempo of change and project workloads as a result of the roll-out of the NDIS is tough at times - but living with MS can be so much harder. This perspective helps us put our customers first and to keep them at the forefront of our thoughts and actions, even when things are uncertain and challenging for the organisation.


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

STAFF AND SUPPORTERS We sincerely thank the outstanding team of staff and volunteers at MS Queensland for their excellent performance and dedication to living our organisational values of respect, hope, commitment and collaboration. We also thank our fellow Board Members who voluntarily gave their time and talents to the MS cause over the year. Thank you to our members, donors, sponsors, community fundraisers, lottery and event participants, bequests, grant makers and philanthropists for their generous and ongoing financial support.

THE FUTURE

Looking ahead, the next year will again bring both opportunity and challenge, especially as we continue to transition further into the NDIS environment, deliver on major projects and drive organisational change in line with our 2025 strategy. The most significant initiatives will be:

1. completing construction and commencing

operations of our Project Dignity 120 Springfield Apartments

2. securing further sites for Project Dignity 120

housing projects for people living with MS and other progressive neurological diseases

3. transitioning to the NDIS in more of the state, including parts of South East Queensland

4. executing our major IT update project

2

5. activating plans to divest the Dutton Park site for maximum value

6. securing strong fundraising results in a highly competitive environment

7. evaluating the success of phase two of the SPARK NeuroCare project

To everyone living with MS – you are the reason we exist. Thank you for your inspiration and the hope you give through the daily choice you make to live positively with MS.

Roger Burrell, Chair

Lincoln Hopper, Chief Executive Officer


IMPACT

MS PREVALENCE

More than

2.3M people live with MS globally The annual cost of MS to individuals and the Australian community is

$1 billion

23,000 this number is increasing

Australians live with MS and

3 x women:men MS affects almost three times more women than men

Did you know? MS is most commonly diagnosed between the ages of 20 & 40

PHYSIO & EXERCISE THERAPY

2,862

We have registered customers in Queensland

1,016 individual and 381 group neurological physiotherapy and exercise therapy sessions have been held this year

3

GIVING We welcomed

3,300

new fundraising supporters

$1,056,843

was raised by 5,500 riders in the MS Brissie to the Bay bike ride

$590,464

was raised by 4,400 walkers to help fight MS in the MS Moonlight Walk

$241,110

was raised by 1,100 people through 10 MS Swimathon events around Brisbane and regional Queensland

11,000

people took part in 12 different fundraising events

102 community fundraising supporters helped raise

$115,016 for MS research 11 generous supporters contributed

$288,335

through gifts in their wills

6,936 hrs were contributed by volunteers Volunteers provided

$133,000

worth of in-kind support


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

ACCOMMODATION

7,575 & 2,848

We provided occupied bed days at Granston Lodge

occupied bed days at Annerley Apartments

15 new accommodation places were created through housing projects in Lutwyche and Albany Creek

218

people received face-to-face immunotherapy training and support

SUPPORT

3,788

people were supported by phone and

511

people received immunotherapy nursing advice through the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (RBWH) and Princess Alexandra Hospital (PA) MS clinics

CUSTOMERS

We welcomed

381 new customers 2,101 customers received 5,069 hrs of support coordination through our NeuroCoordinate Service Spark NeuroCare served customers in Townsville

29 30

159

customers received NeuroPhysio services in their NDIS plan customers received NeuroFunction (OT) services in their NDIS plan since the NDIS rolled out in Mackay and Townsville in December 2016

16 NeuroWellbeing education and information sessions were held across Queensland

240 people attended 20 NDIS information sessions across Queensland

4

COMMUNICATION Our NeuroAssist information line answered

2,198 470

phone calls and emails

618 phone calls and 70 emails

were about NDIS

2,393 resources were

downloaded from our website


STRATEGIC DIRECTION Our strategic direction is guided by our 2025 Strategic Plan. The plan identifies four overarching goals and outlines how we will measure our success. Each year we undertake a number of strategic projects that contribute to these overarching goals.

STRATEGIC GOALS OF THE 2025 PLAN ARE: 1. high quality solutions for people living with

progressive neurological disease, by raising the access, quality and geographic spread of service solutions

2. societal, policy and sector reform that directly “I LIVED AT HOME FOR 11 YEARS, WHICH WAS A BIT OF A STRAIN ON MY WIFE. I WENT FOR TWO WEEKS RESPITE AT DUTTON PARK BUT WHEN THEY SAW HOW BAD I WAS THEY GAVE ME A PERMANENT POSITION. MOVING TO ALBANY CREEK MEANS I’M NOW BACK IN THE SAME SUBURB AS MY WIFE AND CAN SPEND MORE TIME WITH MY FAMILY.”

5

RON ON LIFE AT HIS NEW HIGH-CARE HOME.

benefits our clients through highly regarded and influential advocacy

3. a strong, developing and sustainable organisation by having excellent people, strong finances, efficient processes, clever systems and market presence

4. supporting and promoting cutting-edge MS research

MEASURING OUR SUCCESS By 2025 we want to be able to measure our success through the positive impact we have made as an organisation in the lives of people living with a progressive neurological disease in Queensland. For us, success is measured through improvements in: 1. the proportion of people living with a progressive neurological disease in Queensland that can access quality, timely and convenient service solutions

2. the quality of life of people living with a

progressive neurological disease in society and the level of general community awareness of disability issues

3. the strength of our balance sheet, profitability,

diversified revenue and having safe, skilled and engaged staff and volunteers

4. the amount of funds raised and contributed by MS Queensland towards MS research


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

OUR STRATEGY FOR 2016–17 During the year we planned to undertake 39 key projects and this was (as always!) ambitious. By 30 June 2017, 34 (87%) of the projects had commenced and 21 (54%) of these were fully achieved. A total of 13 (33%) were partially achieved while five (13%) were not started and will be carried forward into next year for actioning.

KEY PROJECTS FOR 2016–17 ▲▲ determine and assess six regions for the roll-out of the Integrated Service Delivery Model under the NDIS ▲▲ launch MS Care Partners and endorse two providers as official MS Care Partners ▲▲ continue MS Queensland’s Brand Evolution by creating specific product brands for each individual service delivery component of the end-customer product suite

6

▲▲ identify and secure at least three Project Dignity 120 sites for future high-need housing ▲▲ operationalise the new Albany Creek high-need housing service ▲▲ operationalise the new Lutwyche accessible housing apartments 5 projects not started

“I DIDN’T THINK THERE WAS ANY SUPPORTIVE CARE FOR YOUNG PEOPLE WITH MS, BUT MS QUEENSLAND CHANGED MY LIFE. THEY GAVE ME A HOME WHERE I COULD BE INDEPENDENT AND STILL HAVE THE SUPPORT AND CARE THAT I DESPERATELY NEEDED. I DREAD TO THINK OF WHERE I WOULD BE WITHOUT THEM.”

39 projects

13 projects partially achieved

21 projects fully achieved

BROOKE ON HOW MS QUEENSLAND CHANGED HER LIFE.


LOOKING AHEAD There are so many exciting projects underway at MS Queensland, including our Queensland-first housing initiative, industry-leading SPARK NeuroCare collaboration and the roll-out of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS).

HOUSING - PROJECT DIGNITY 120 We have a plan to deliver a total of 120 high-care apartments (across 10 locations) over the next 10 years. Known as Project Dignity 120, the scale of this initiative appears to be the first of its kind in Queensland and seeks to lead the way in ending the high need housing crisis for people living with progressive neurological diseases in Queensland. Our first Project Dignity 120 development - Springfield Apartments - commenced construction in June 2017, however has been in planning for several years now. Construction is anticipated to complete in April 2018 and will soon after become home for 18 people requiring high physical support housing. Built to Livable Housing Australia ‘Platinum Plus’ standard and compliant with NDIS Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) guidelines, each apartment offers life-changing opportunities and we would like to say “exceptional futures” to our customers.

7

Our plan to divest the Dutton Park site will take another step forward when Brisbane City Council announces the outcomes of the Dutton Park/Fairfield Neighbourhood Plan, which we expect will increase redevelopment options for the site and thereby increase its potential value. We anticipate then selling the site for maximum value and reinvesting this capital in the Project Dignity 120 project.

projectdignity.com.au

CEO Lincoln Hopper during construction of our Springfield project.


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

COLLABORATION - SPARK NEUROCARE

SERVICES - NDIS

SPARK NeuroCare is a new model of comprehensive coordinated care that actively engages with people with progressive neurological diseases to bring all facets of their care and support needs together. Initially trialled in Townsville, SPARK NeuroCare will be expanded into Toowoomba in the coming 12-months, with a view to taking it state-wide under the NDIS. We are grateful for the active support of our partners, Epilepsy Queensland, Huntingtons Queensland, MND Association of Queensland, MND and Me Foundation, Parkinson’s Queensland and Youngcare.

The rollout of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) across Queensland from July 2016 has been a game changer not only for our organisation but for everyone with a disability. The NDIS is a long-term funding commitment for people who need lifelong support, their families and carers.

sparkneurocare.com.au 1800 875 244

The NDIS is a significant shift from the old approach where organisations received “block” funding in advance and determined what programs and services will be provided, to the new approach where people have individual plans and payments based on their specific situation and needs. We have been working hard to make sure we’re ready to help you understand the NDIS and what it means for you. Our highly skilled and experienced staff can support you to set your goals, plan your supports and provide expert, personalised care and advice to anyone with a progressive neurological disease. As the NDIS has rolled out we have held free workshops to help you get ready for the NDIS and developed a wide range of online resources to explain the process. We also introduced a suite of specialised neurological services including NeuroCoordinate – support coordination, NeuroPhysio – neurological physiotherapy, NeuroFunction – occupational therapy, NeuroHome – accommodation, NeuroWellbeing – information and education services and NeuroAssist – our information hotline.

Hon Corale e O’Rourke - Minister and the fo for Disabili unding par ties (thir tners of SP ARK Neuro d from right) Care Town sville.

Our promise is to put our customers’ wellbeing at the centre of everything we do. We are committed to helping you get the best out of life, advocating for change and searching for a cure. MS Queensland is a NDIS registered provider. msqld.org.au/ndis 1800 177 591

8


FINANCIAL SUMMARY FINANCIAL POSITION Our financial position continues to be strong, with net assets as at 30 June 2017 of $14.5M (2016: $12.6M) and a current ratio (a key indicator of liquidity) of 1.7 (2016: 2.7). Our strong net assets position, together with appropriate debt financing and philanthropy will assist us to deliver on our housing strategy. TOTAL INCOME 2016-17 $19.4M

TOTAL EXPENDITURE 2016-17 $17.6M

9

Services $1,071K

Services $10,139K

Fundraising incl. lotteries $8,269K

Fundraising incl. lotteries $5,928K

Government and other grant funding $6,565K

NDIS capacity building $687K

Interest & dividends $184K

Research $536K

Gain on sale of property $3,084K

Contribution to MS Australia $179K

Other $231K

Other $82K

CAPITAL INVESTMENT The Board of MS Queensland, as part of the approval of the annual plan of activities and budget, approves an annual capital expenditure program. A summary of capital investments for 2016-17 is on the following page. Investment in capital projects is funded through a combination of reserves, debt financing and philanthropy.


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

CAPITAL INVESTMENT SUMMARY 2017-18 PROJECTED ($’000)

2016-17 ACTUAL ($’000)

2015-16 ACTUAL ($’000)

2014-15 ACTUAL ($’000)

2013-14 2012-13 ACTUAL ACTUAL ($’000) ($’000)

Capital Investment Funding 69

59

-

48

298

235

MS Queensland Cash Reserve2

2.127

7,671

1,230

701

531

424

Debt funding3

8,000

-

-

-

-

-

10,196

7,730

1,230

749

829

659

Grant Funding1

1

Grant funding projected for 2017-18 to be utilised for Services Equipment purchases. 2 Proceeds from property sales, Project Dignity 120 and debt funding sources assist in funding the delivery of MS Queensland’s housing strategy. 3 Debt funding comprises bank and social impact loan facilities.

Capital Investment Services Capacity IT Systems

315

29

50

11

190

250

Equipment

118

454

344

359

96

215

-

-

302

-

-

-

Project Dignity 120 NDIS Capacity Building Land & Buildings (Springfield - 18 units, Lutwyche - 4 units, Youngcare/MS Queensland Albany Creek Apartments - 11 units)

80

48

-

-

-

-

9,141

6,889

258

64

-

30

9,654

7,420

954

434

286

495

298

167

-

141

486

82

Organisational Capacity IT Systems Equipment Building

23

124

151

145

33

33

200

-

105

8

-

28

521

292

256

294

519

143

21

18

20

21

24

21

10,196

7,730

1,230

749

829

659

Client Support

NDIS & GOVERNMENT FUNDING MS Queensland is currently contracted by Queensland Health and the Queensland Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability to deliver a range of services to people with MS and other progressive neurological diseases in Queensland. These services include residential care and accommodation at Granston Lodge, Annerley Apartments and our brand new Albany Creek Apartments (a joint venture with Youngcare and the Queensland Government). Other contracted services include respite accommodation and care at Granston Lodge, information and education services, physiotherapy, case management, service coordination and the SPARK NeuroCare Pilot. Our current funding agreement ends on 30 June 2019. Government funding is critical to the ongoing viability of our organisation, however, current State Government funding does not cover the full cost of delivering contracted services and some services delivered by MS Queensland do not receive any government funding support. The shortfall between the cost of providing these services and government funding received

is made up through the generosity of our donors, community fundraising events and lotteries. Without them, these services would not continue. The NDIS is a new system to provide customers with a full choice of service providers for all their identified disability support needs through individualised funding support packages. The NDIS commenced roll-out in Queensland on 1 July 2016 and is now available in many parts of the state. MS Queensland is successfully delivering services through the NDIS and when the rollout is complete in June 2019, we anticipate that NDIS income will have replaced our service contract funding. We are also optimistic that the NDIS will provide disability funding at a level that is closer to the true cost of service delivery. The NDIS is not a panacea however, and we continue to advocate for state and federal governments to recognise the need to continue to centrally fund universal services such as information, advocacy and education. These are vital services supporting people with MS and other progressive neurological diseases that are not covered through individual funding support.

10


“PEOPLE DON’T JUST NEED A CHARITY TO BUILD THEM A HOUSE. THEY NEED AN ORGANISATION THAT CAN PROVIDE THE SERVICES AND SUPPORT ONCE THE BUILDING IS DONE. IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT A BUILDING…ITS UNDERSTANDING THE DISEASE AND THE PERSON BEHIND THE DISEASE THAT MAKES THE HOUSE A HOME.” HEATHER ON THE HOUSING CRISIS AFFECTING PEOPLE LIKE HER SON ROBBIE

11

SERVICES We are the only service provider specifically dedicated to supporting people with MS in Queensland and more recently we have worked with others living with a progressive neurological disease. With 2,862 registered customers across the state, our services need to be diverse, flexible and importantly – accessible. During the year we developed new product brands for each service delivery component of our services suite. Each starting with the prefix ‘Neuro’, these new brands will serve to promote our specialist neurological knowledge to those living with MS and other progressive neurological diseases.

Our Service Coordinators are a team of skilled professionals who work alongside people with MS and other progressive neurological diseases and their families to help them manage the varied impacts of their disease. We have Service Coordinators based across Queensland providing information, referrals to other service providers, support coordination, advocacy and more. DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ provided 5,069 hours of support to 2,101 customers through our NeuroCoordinate service ▲▲ welcomed 381 new customers to our services (net growth of 15% for the year) ▲▲ continued the successful SPARK NeuroCare model of coordinated care in Townsville, with 159 customers


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

Our team of highly skilled and passionate physiotherapists and exercise therapists have expertise in neurologically based programs for people with MS and other progressive neurological diseases. Enhancing quality of life and encouraging the ongoing independence of our customers is the key focus for our physiotherapy and exercise therapy team.

Access to specialist nurses can make the often difficult and daunting task of administering medications much easier for people living with progressive neurological diseases. Our specialist MS nurses provide training and support for peoples’ prescribed immunotherapy medications. DURING THE YEAR WE...

DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ commenced services under the NDIS in December 2016 with 29 participants since receiving NeuroPhysio within their approved plan ▲▲ delivered 1,016 individual sessions and 381 group sessions ▲▲ delivered neurological physiotherapy and exercise therapy in several locations across the state: Dutton Park, Chermside, Robina, Helensvale, Kippa-Ring, Nambour, Caboolture, Darling Heights, Springfield, Toowoomba, Mackay, Rockhampton, Ipswich and Cairns

Specialised neurological occupational therapy can maximise participation in activities that may otherwise have been limited due to MS and other progressive neurological diseases. Our highly skilled occupational therapists offer personalised assessments and advice to assist with home, work and self-care tasks. DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ commenced NeuroFunction services with 30 NDIS participants ▲▲ delivered three Sleep and Fatigue workshops for 27 participants across Gladstone, Sunshine Coast and Rockhampton

▲▲ provided face to face, individual immunotherapy training and support to 218 people with MS across Queensland; and a further 3,788 people were supported via telephone ▲▲ provided immunotherapy nursing advice to 511 people with MS through the Royal Brisbane and Women’s (RBWH) and Princess Alexandra Hospital (PA) MS Clinics

12


Workshops, programs and webinars delivered by neurological specialists are a great way to learn about different aspects of MS and other progressive neurological diseases. We provide these education programs to people right across Queensland.

Our NeuroAssist team is a one-stop-shop for evidencebased information and support for people living with progressive neurological diseases and their families. Information, fact sheets and resources to assist and support customers can be accessed by phone, mail, email or online.

DURING THE YEAR WE... DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ held 16 education and information sessions on MS symptoms, symptom management, current drug therapies and latest research – topics included Mindfulness, Resilience, Better Self-Management, Employment and MS and Chronic Disease SelfManagement ▲▲ held 20 NDIS information sessions in seven different regions of Queensland, with 240 participants

13

Albany Creek Apartments

▲▲ answered 2,198 calls and responded to 470 emails ▲▲ responded to 618 phone queries and 70 emails regarding the NDIS ▲▲ offered a range of online information with more than 2,393 resources downloaded directly from our website


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

Our NeuroHome service offers those living in specialised disability accommodation quality individualised personal care and support, community linking and capacity building tailored to each person’s life goals. We currently offer three high-care accommodation options – Granston Lodge, Annerley Apartments and the newly completed Albany Creek Apartments. A further four independent living units, Spectrum Apartments at Lutwyche were made available to tenants in early 2017. We also support the carers of those with a progressive neurological disease still living at home by offering planned and emergency respite. GRANSTON LODGE Our primary care facility Granston Lodge has been operating for more than 40 years. Granston Lodge provides residential accommodation for 16 people living with progressive neurological diseases and has six beds for planned or crisis respite, which helps keep many Queenslanders out of aged care and hospitals.

ANNERLEY APARTMENTS Annerley Apartments is a community-based living model with four modern townhouses catering for up to eight people living with progressive neurological diseases needing 24-hour care. Annerley Apartments encourages independence and community involvement. Each townhouse accommodates two people and operates with its own individual routine and life rhythm, thereby reducing the risk of institutional practices developing. ALBANY CREEK APARTMENTS Recently completed as part of a joint venture with Youngcare and Queensland Government, our new Albany Creek development includes eight units for people with a progressive neurological disease needing 24-hour care and three social housing units for independent living. Residents will move into these new units in the new 2017/18 financial year. SPECTRUM APARTMENTS AT LUTWYCHE Completed in early 2017, our Spectrum Apartments development at Lutwyche includes four independent living units with full disability access. These groundfloor units have been custom designed to include a large, fully accessible bathroom and private courtyard.

14

DURING THE YEAR WE ▲▲ provided 7,575 occupied bed days of long-term accommodation and respite in Granston Lodge ▲▲ supported nine people living with MS with highcare needs, providing 24-hour care at Annerley Apartments equating to 2,848 occupied bed days ▲▲ made a further 15 accommodation places available through the completion of housing projects in Lutwyche and Albany Creek

Spectrum Apartments at Lutwyche

CEO Lincoln Hopper at the opening of Albany Creek Apartments


FUNDRAISING THE FIVE PILLARS OF FUNDRAISING & PROJECTED GROWTH Whilst continual development of the ‘five pillars of fundraising’ was our main focus, foundation blocks have also been laid to secure philanthropic support for Project Dignity 120, a capital campaign to bridge the gap in the market for high-care housing. This important campaign will continue to gain momentum over the next 18 months alongside growth of the overall fundraising portfolio.

PILLAR 1 – FUNDRAISING EVENTS

PILLAR 2 – COMMUNITY FUNDRAISING

Another stellar year for our fundraising events saw more than 11,000 participants take part in 12 different fundraising events held throughout the year.

In 2016–17 we launched an exciting new brand for our community fundraisers called Team Cure MS, to unite our fantastic community fundraisers and support our commitment to raising more funds for research to find a cure for MS. DURING THE YEAR WE...

DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ had a crowd of more than 4,400 walkers raise $590,464 to help fight MS in the MS Moonlight Walk

15

▲▲ had 5,500 riders registered to take part in the MS Brissie to the Bay bike ride, raising an incredible $1,056,843

▲▲ launched the new Team Cure MS brand ▲▲ had 102 community fundraising supporters help raise $115,016 for MS research

▲▲ ran 10 Swimathon events around Brisbane and regional Queensland that engaged over 1,100 people to raise $241,110

Charlie Bennett an d Ian Bloemendal at the MS Brisbane to the Bay bike ride


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

PILLAR 3 – LOTTERIES (ART UNIONS) The MS Limited Edition Art Union is our oldest fundraising campaign. We hold eight MS Limited Edition draws a year with prizes including luxury cars, holidays and goods. For loyal supporters, we also hold two invitation-only MS 300 Club draws a year where the first prize is valued at over a quarter of a million dollars. DURING THE YEAR WE..

PILLAR 4 – DONATIONS, APPEALS & INDIVIDUAL GIVING We recognise that charitable giving is as individual as the person making the donation and strive to meet the individual needs of our donors. To this end we undertake four targeted direct mail appeals throughout the year – each of these tells the story of a person living with MS. The appeals are sent at the end of financial year and Christmas with two smaller campaigns at Easter and the beginning of Spring.

▲▲ sold out seven Limited Edition draws and one MS 300 Club draw

DURING THE YEAR WE...

▲▲ focused heavily on acquisition, enabling us to grow the program and exceed budget overall

▲▲ undertook one targeted premium acquisition direct mail campaign ▲▲ welcomed approximately 3,300 new supporters

PILLAR 5 – GIFTS IN WILLS Our ‘Gifts in Wills’ bequest program allows us to support our purpose of helping people living with MS get the best out of life, advocate for change and search for a cure. We sincerely appreciate the significant contribution provided by individuals and families who have so thoughtfully left a gift in their will. DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ were incredibly grateful for the generosity of 11 supporters who contributed $288,335 through gifts in their will

16


RESEARCH OUR CONTRIBUTION TO MS RESEARCH We work closely and collaboratively with our national research arm, MS Research Australia, and provide funding to support their research program. We are proud of our public commitment to double the funds we make available for research by 2020 and our Team Cure MS fundraising initiative will get us there (see page 15). Funding for research from MS Queensland has been used to support a number of important projects including:

PHASE 1 CLINICAL TRIAL OF AUTOLOGOUS EPSTEIN-BARR VIRUS-SPECIFIC T CELL THERAPY We continue to collaborate with colleagues at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (RBWH), The University of Queensland, QIMR Berghofer and MS Research Australia to progress the Phase 1 Clinical Trial of Autologous Epstein-Barr virus-specific T cell therapy.

17

Importantly, the 10-patient Phase 1 Clinical Trial is so far showing that the therapy is safe and has additionally provided encouraging clinical improvements in MS symptoms in some patients. Some positive responses in patients included increased mobility, increased musculoskeletal function, reduced fatigue and improved vision and bladder function. These findings will need to be confirmed in a follow-on larger study, however these preliminary outcomes are promising.

Professor Michael Pender

THE PREVANZ VITAMIN D MS PREVENTION TRIAL The PrevANZ Vitamin D MS Prevention Trial is investigating whether supplementation with vitamin D can prevent a diagnosis of MS in those people who have only had a single demyelinating event. The trial will cover a range of doses of vitamin D to determine the best dosage level and the safety of vitamin D as an option for future treatment. The trial is being conducted at two sites in Queensland, Wesley Research Institute and the Gold Coast Hospital with results expected in 2017. DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ contributed a total of $535,786 to MS research: 32% to Brisbane’s MS clinic and 68% to MS Research Australia


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

ADVOCACY For almost 60 years, MS Queensland has provided care and support to Queenslanders living with MS, and more recently, other progressive neurological diseases. We are committed to helping you get the best out of life, advocating for change and searching for a cure. In addition to this individual support, we actively promote, engage and collaborate with a cross section of stakeholders across Queensland to promote key advocacy issues, including the NDIS, impact of the cost of Energy, Housing, accessible and inclusive communities and employment retention. On behalf of the MS community we work with external stakeholders to assist with informed decision making. Key bi-partisan relationships with Members of State and Federal Government are ongoing, with targeted activity undertaken producing further understanding of issues affecting the MS and progressive neurological disease community.

WORLD MS DAY Working with the MS International Federation (MSIF), World MS Day is an opportunity to unite with the global MS community to enhance the lives of people living with MS and their families. The theme for World MS Day 2017 was ‘Life with MS’ – where the MS community was asked to share their everyday tips for managing challenges of ‘Life with MS’ and how they live positively with MS. DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ coordinated an Employment Retention Q&A for people living with MS and progressive neurological diseases - our expert panel included Disability Discrimination Commissioner, Alastair McEwin; Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Hon Grace Grace; NDIA, General Manager, Markets and Sector Development, Esther KerrSmith; representing Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services, Jane Prentice – Joanna Carey together with representatives from MS Queensland and the NeuroCare Network, Disability Employment Services, Council of Unions, MS Research Australia, MS Australia and Griffith University ▲▲ celebrated World MS Day with events for volunteers, staff and residents at Granston Lodge and Annerley Apartments ▲▲ held another successful World MS Day function at Government House with our Patron His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC Governor of Queensland

with MS Living Positively noon tea er aft celebration

MS Queensland staff at the World MS Day BBQ

18


PEOPLE OUR STAFF

OUR VOLUNTEERS

Every day our committed team works collaboratively to ensure that we are the first choice for MS information, education, treatment, care and support for people living with MS and other progressive neurological diseases across Queensland. We operate through three core departments – Services, Fundraising and Operations – each with a Director and small management team overseeing its day-to-day operations. Our structure is designed to ensure the right people are in the right roles in order to deliver high quality services for our internal and external customers.

The thousands of hours generously donated by our committed volunteers play a significant role in helping us achieve our strategic goals and objectives. Our wonderful volunteers support us in a variety of areas, including residential care, community based service delivery, event support and fundraising, project involvement, legal, tax and governance and administrative support.

Our focus is to build an organisational culture where performance, learning and wellbeing are key and to increase organisational productivity by attracting, retaining and developing the best people.

19

DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ continued to expand our Exercise Support Volunteer program outside Brisbane metropolitan areas ▲▲ continued to expand our corporate organisations’ support in the delivery of our events ▲▲ continued the placement of psychology students in our service coordination team

DURING THE YEAR WE... ▲▲ developed and introduced a new Employee Value Proposition (EVP) that captures the essence of why our staff love to work here and will ensure we continue to attract and retain the best people ▲▲ created a three-year learning and development strategy that will ensure MS Queensland continues to deliver high quality services

▲▲ introduced new volunteering opportunities at our newly opened accommodation facility – Albany Creek Apartments ▲▲ measured the satisfaction of our volunteers through event and service-based surveys

▲▲ continued to rollout our leadership program for new managers ▲▲ implemented an employee kiosk to automate payslips and timesheets and provide access for staff to update their employee details and apply for leave electronically

rs

alk voluntee Moonlight W MS Queensland staff


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

OUR EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP TEAM Our Executive Leadership Team (ELT) is made up of the CEO and three Department Directors and meets regularly to discuss strategy, operational performance, planning, safety and people.

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER LINCOLN HOPPER

DIRECTOR OF SERVICES KAREN QUAILE

DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS NIGEL FLETT

DIRECTOR OF FUNDRAISING JULIA SENIOR/PRUE DENSLEY

▲▲ STRATEGIC LEADERSHIP

▲▲ SUPPORT COORDINATION

▲▲ CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ADMINISTRATION

▲▲ EVENTS

▲▲ ADVOCACY

▲▲ EDUCATION AND INFORMATION SERVICES

▲▲ FINANCE, RISK AND GOVERNANCE

▲▲ GOVERNMENT POLICY ADVICE ▲▲ PHILANTHROPY ▲▲ PROPERTY DEVELOPMENT ▲▲ COMPANY SECRETARY

▲▲ HUMAN RESOURCES

▲▲ PHYSIOTHERAPY AND OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY SERVICES

▲▲ VOLUNTEER COORDINATION

▲▲ RESIDENTIAL SERVICES

▲▲ INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

▲▲ IMMUNOTHERAPHY NURSING

▲▲ MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS ▲▲ FACILITIES MANAGEMENT ▲▲ WORKPLACE HEALTH & SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENT

▲▲ COMMUNITY FUNDRAISING ▲▲ INDIVIDUAL GIVING ▲▲ GIFTS IN WILLS ▲▲ LOTTERIES ▲▲ PHILANTHROPY

20


GOVERNANCE OUR BOARD The MS Queensland Board performs a very important governance function, establishing the organisation’s strategic direction and monitoring progress towards the achievement of our strategic objectives. ROGER BURRELL, CHAIRMAN Board Member since 1996 Director of MS Australia, Solicitor, Director of Burrell Stockbroking Pty Ltd and related entities, Director of Access Funds Management Limited, consultant to QM Properties and Property Solutions, former partner of Clayton Utz (1987–00) and Phillips Fox (2000–06) and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

21

LINCOLN HOPPER, SECRETARY CEO, MS Queensland since 2011 Worked in the health and community services sector for over 27 years and holds post graduate qualifications in Commerce and is a non-graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. JOHANNA ROCHE, TREASURER Board Member since 2010 Non-executive Director and Corporate Tax Consultant. Non-executive Director of Handball Australia and a number of private companies. Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, Member of the Tax Institute of Australia and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Former partner of PwC Australia.

WENDY LOVELACE, MEMBER Board Member since 2008 MS Ambassador and advocate. Architect and universal access consultant. Convenor of Queensland Action for Universal Housing Design and representative on the Brisbane Regional Disability Advisory Council. Person with MS. CARMEL MACMILLAN, MEMBER Board Member since 2013 Non-executive Director, Marketing and Corporate strategy specialist and Principal of CM Strategy Consulting. Board Director of Queensland Poetry Festival, Piovesan Nominees Pty Ltd and Lagberry Pty Ltd. Mater Foundation Sub-Committee board member. Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. TRACEY PARKER, MEMBER Board Member since 2011 Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary of the Pradella Group, a large private builder and developer of residential, commercial and industrial properties in South East Queensland. Member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

BRETT BASSETT, MEMBER Board Member since 2017 Commissioner of the Queensland Building and Construction Commission. Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia; Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Certified Fraud Examiner; Masters of Business Administration and Bachelor of Education. LIBBY MARSHALL, MEMBER Board Member since 2017 CEO and founder of Steam Capital. Former Associate Director MBA, UQ Business School, Co-chair of the MBA Career Services and Employers Alliance 2017 Asia Conference (Shanghai) and has held previous board directorships with Tourism and Events Queensland and the Celebrate Queensland Committee (Australia Day Council Queensland). Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Masters of Business Administration.

VIVIENNE JOHNSON, MEMBER Board Member since 2017 Development Manager for Museum of Brisbane. Fundraising and marketing communication specialist. Former General Manager External Relations at QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Centre, non-executive director of Epilepsy Queensland and member of Australian Institute of Company Directors. RACHEL MATTEWS, MEMBER Board Member 2007-2016 Co-convenor of Brisbane LSG of Qld Disability Network. Former medical secretary, jillaroo, journalist and instrumental music teacher. Longtime community, arts and disability activist in Mt Isa, Townsville, Roma and Brisbane. Person with MS.

“I JOINED A LOCAL SUPPORT GROUP AND MADE LOTS OF GREAT FRIENDSHIPS WITH OTHERS LIVING WITH MS. THE SUPPORT GROUP HELPED ME FIND A LOCAL DOCTOR AND NEUROLOGIST AND INTRODUCED ME TO MS QUEENSLAND AND THEIR SERVICES.” BEV ON THE VALUABLE CONNECTIONS SHE MADE THROUGH HER LOCAL SUPPORT GROUP

22


THANK YOU TO OUR MEMBERS, DONORS, SPONSORS, COMMUNITY FUNDRAISERS, LOTTERY AND EVENT PARTICIPANTS, BEQUESTS, GRANT MAKERS AND PHILANTHROPISTS FOR YOUR GENEROUS AND ONGOING SUPPORT. WE ALSO THANK THE QUEENSLAND GOVERNMENT FOR THEIR FUNDING SUPPORT.

23


2016-17 ANNUAL REVIEW

HELPING THE MS CAUSE There are many ways YOU can help Queenslanders living with MS and other progressive neurological diseases. DONATE Help us continue to deliver our vital services with a donation, no matter how large or small, or by becoming a regular giver. p: 07 3840 0888 w: msqld.org.au/donate MAKE A BEQUEST A bequest is one of the most valued and special gifts a donor can make, which is why many donors choose to make a lasting legacy by leaving a donation to MS Queensland in their will. p: 07 3840 0874 e: bequest@msqld.org.au

PURCHASE A LOTTERY TICKET Support us and win amazing prizes by buying a ticket in our latest MS Limited Edition car draw. p: 1800 060 210 w: mslimitededition.com.au FUNDRAISE Organise and hold your own fundraising activity for the MS cause in your local community. p: 07 3840 0887 e: events@msqld.org.au VOLUNTEER We could not do what we do without the amazing support of our volunteer community. Contact our Volunteer Coordinator to find out how you can make a difference. p: 07 3840 0870 e: volunteer@msqld.org.au CORPORATE PARTNERSHIPS Help us find a cure for the most common neurological condition in young Australian adults. As a corporate partner you can provide MS Queensland with financial support, in-kind contributions or pro bono work. p: 07 3840 0863 e: partner@msqld.org.au


Ron’s New Home Just recently, Ron had the pleasure of cutting the ribbon to his new home, the Albany Creek Apartments, with the Premier while his proud family watched on. Within days of that special moment, Ron was moving into the apartment that he now calls home. For Ron, moving to the Albany Creek Apartments meant he returned to live in the same suburb as his wife. Ron was diagnosed with MS in 1995 but five years ago Ron’s MS escalated to a point where he had no choice but to move into MS Queensland’s Granston Lodge at Dutton Park. This came about following a short respite at Granston Lodge where the MS Queensland staff saw how much support Ron needed. “I lived at home for 11 years, which was a bit of a strain on my wife, because she had to hoist me on and off chairs and things. I went for twoweek’s respite at Dutton Park. When they saw how bad I was they gave me a permanent position,” said Ron. With a spare bedroom and plenty of space, Ron can have his wife, children and grandchildren visit. He has the dignity of being in control of his life while knowing that help is just a button press away.

Ron spending time in his new home with grandson Xander

“Everything’s at my fingertips, my doctor’s surgery is across the road, all the shopping centres are really close by, there’s a lot of specialists in Albany Creek – it’s renowned for specialists,” “We have an iPad, we just flick a button and the doors will open. Flick another button and the television will come on. We can adjust the lights and curtains from the iPad,” said Ron. For Ron, being at the Albany Creek Apartments gives him his independence and freedom back.

CONTACT DETAILS NEUROASSIST 1800 177 591 PHONE 07 3840 0888 FAX 07 3840 0813 ADDRESS Locked Bag 370, Coorparoo DC QLD 4151 WEB msqld.org.au | projectdignity120.com.au | sparkneurocare.com.au facebook.com/msqld instagram.com/msqld twitter.com/msqld youtube.com/c/MSQueensland linkedin.com/company/MSQueensland

Multiple Sclerosis Society of Queensland ABN 56 731 473 412

Profile for MS Queensland

MS Queensland Annual Review 2016-17  

Our review this year features the highlights and progress achieved during the 2016-2017 financial year.

MS Queensland Annual Review 2016-17  

Our review this year features the highlights and progress achieved during the 2016-2017 financial year.

Profile for mslife
Advertisement