Page 1

In Review IMPACT: Making it Real-World | 2017-18

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 1


DEAN, COLLEGE OF BUSINESS Brenda Flannery EDITOR Amy Linde

IMPACT: Making it Real-World Dear Friends, I am so proud to introduce the 2017-18 College of Business In Review magazine, Impact: Making It Real-World. Inside you’ll find stories of students, faculty, staff, alumni, donors and company partners, all making a difference in the lives of each other while impacting the business world. One of the many high-impact accomplishments this year was the launch of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (see pages 8-10). The CIE, located in the heart of Mankato, was established to launch the next generation of entrepreneurs, innovators and dynamic organizations through teaching, research and outreach. Business leaders and long-time friends of the University, Curt and Debbie Fisher gifted the space that is gaining rave reviews from students and the community. Among my favorite impact stories are those that highlight students helping students. From the new supplemental instructor program (p. 21) to stories of student entrepreneurs like Social Butterfly coming together to help other startups launch their companies (p. 14-15), our students are extraordinary. College of Business faculty and staff are the foundation of our excellence. This year, COB faculty received some of the most prestigious University teaching, research and service awards. Accounting Assistant Professor John Estall was selected by the students of the University as the most outstanding teacher (MSSA Duane Orr Teacher of the Year) and Dr. Byron Pike was selected by a faculty committee to receive the University’s top research award, the Douglas R. Moore Faculty Research Lecture Award. Dr. Pike was the first College of Business professor to receive this award in its more than 40-year history.

2 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Lisa Cownie Brook M. Ferede Amy Linde Shaela Nelson Joe Tougas GRAPHIC DESIGNER Terri Poburka PHOTOGRAPHERS Amy Linde Gilbertson Photography Marisa Milton Shaela Nelson Social Butterfly SPX Sports Steve Woit Ryan Corrigan Brook M. Ferede PRINTER Minnesota State University, Mankato Printing Services PRINT COORDINATOR Doug Fenske ...................................................................... The mission of In Review is to inform and to connect the reader to the College of Business community. In Review welcomes story ideas supporting this mission. In Review is copyrighted in its entirety. This volume and all articles, images and photographs within may not be reproduced in any form without written permission from the editor. ......................................................................

Brenda Flannery, dean of the College of Business Photo by Steve Woit

Many faculty make an impact by serving as faculty advisors to student organizations. Finance professor Dr. Joseph Reising received the University’s Outstanding RSO Advisor Award (Delta Sigma Pi) and Dr. Oksana Kim was selected by the Accounting Club as the accounting professor of the year. Many more faculty and staff distinctions of impact can be found throughout the issue.

COVER: Features the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Photo by Gilbertson Photography

...................................................................... COLLEGE OF BUSINESS 120 Morris Hall, Mankato, MN 56001 507.389.5420 | cob.mnsu.edu

We hope you enjoy these stories and welcome you to join us as we strive to continue to make a difference in the lives of students, businesses and our communities.

Brenda Flannery Dean, College of Business Professor of Management This document is available in alternative format to individuals with disabilities by contacting the magazine staff at the address, e-mail, and/or fax number listed above or at 800-627-3529 or 711 (MRS/TTY).


Contents From the Dean...........................................  Leadership Team.....................................  Advisory Council...................................... 

12

14

Big Ideas, Real-World Business.... Active Imaginations...............................  Mavs Make MN Cup ............................

2 4 5 6 8 11

From Milk Truck Driver to Dairy Mogul............................................  18 Students Helping Students............ 

21

Global Impact Study Abroad Scholarships............  22 Great Scott.....................................................  24

16

26

Student Entrepreneurs Keep the Big Ideas Coming........................................................................ 12

Inside The Chambers...........................  28 New Student Organization with High Momentum..........................  30 Fraud, Risk & the Mindset of an Auditor................................................. 

31 Power Days...................................................  32 Founded on FUN.....................................  34

The Butterfly Effect............................................................................... 14

Out of the Classroom and into Competition............................  35

Business Alumni Honored......................................................... 16

Faculty & Staff Honor Roll.................  36

Taking a Data-Driven Road...................................................... 26

Real-World Research Impact........  37

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 3


Leadership Team photo taken in the Hubbard Building, the location of the new Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship. Photo by Marisa Milton

College of BUSINESS

LEADERSHIP TEAM The College of Business Leadership Team includes 13 high-impact professionals who are making real-world learning experiences happen each day.

4 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Pictured above left to right.

Luke Howk - Internship and External Partnership Coordinator Marilyn Fox - MBA Director Juan (Gloria) Meng - Department Chair, Marketing and International Business Renee Grams - Administrative Assistant to the Dean Paul Brennan - Department Chair, Accounting and Business Law Ferdinand Siagian - Master of Accounting (MAcc) Director Bryan Hoffman - Technology Director Linda Meidl - Student Relations Coordinator Kathy Dale - Department Chair, Management Brenda Flannery - Dean Amy Linde - Director of Communication and Events Yvonne Cariveau - Director of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Roger Severns - Department Chair, Finance


ADVISORY COUNCIL The Minnesota State University, Mankato College of Business Advisory Council exists to provide advice in developing the college’s strategic plan, monitoring the implementation of plans, and assisting the college in connecting with the business community to achieve its goals.

Glenn Stolt, ’89, Chair

Norb Harrington, ’75

Jay Adams, ’91

Douglas Holtan, ’87

President and CEO, Christensen Farms

Owner, Cranky Ape

Keith Bauer, ’86

Director of Human Resources, Mankato Clinic

Mark Bietz, ’07

Chief Marketing Officer, FUN.COM

Brad Brolsma, ’73

President (Retired), Merchants Capital Resources, Inc.

Curtis Fisher, ’72

Broker/Owner, Coldwell Banker Commercial Fisher Group

Jean Fitterer Lance, ’83

Regional President (Retired), Wells Fargo Bank

President, MSM Financial

Janet Moldstad

Systems & Procedures, Mayo Medical Center

Vice President of Marketing, The Occasions Group, Taylor Corporation

Lisa Hyland, ’88

Brad Peters, ’87

Senior Vice President, Federated Insurance

John Kind, ’79

Executive Director, Mankato Family YMCA

Don Kreye, ’88

National Accounts Director, Delaget

Greg Lea, ’74

Senior Vice President, CFO and COO, EnteroMedics

Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer, Boston Scientific Corporation

Suresh Mathews, ’75

Trudie Gustafson, ’81

Jeff Meyerhofer, ’98

Greater Mankato Growth and Taylor Companies Executive (Retired)

Mike Mitchell, ’71

Senior Vice President and CIO, Unisys Corporation Senior Vice President, UnitedHealthcare Dental at UnitedHealth Group

Dennis Miller, ’89

President, Bremer Bank

Paul Rasmussen, ’92 President and CEO, Zepol

Bron Scherer, ’79 Founder and Partner, Protein Sources

Kyle Smith, ’01

Principal, TAILWIND Group

Ryan Spaude, ’98

Financial Advisor, Eide Bailly Financial Services, LLC

Jennifer Thompson, ’80 Senior Manager, Swanson Hinsch & Co.

Pamela Ziermon, ’80 Senior Vice President of Compliance, Dougherty Financial Group, LLC

President and CEO (Retired), Key City Ventures Member

—VISION— To be the clear business school choice for real-world learning experiences

—VALUES— Student centered, innovative, and professional always pursued in a spirit of collaboration, inclusion and collegiality

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 5


Big Ideas

Real-World Business Students and business work together for a unique and memorable program B Y L ISA C OWNIE as printed in Connect Business Magazine July/August 2017

W

ith a career already started, a wife and a young daughter, Ryan Corrigan decided to make a life change and pursue a degree. He describes himself as a “nontraditional” student. Nontraditional is also the way he likes his learning, which is one reason Minnesota State University, Mankato appealed to him, in particular the United Prairie Bank Integrated Business Experience (IBE) program. “You can sit in a classroom and learn how to balance a budget, or read a book to learn the philosophy of management but there are so many real-world snippets that you can only get by experience,” says Corrigan. “That’s been the best take away from the IBE program.” IBE allows students to combine a suite of required courses into a semester-long real-world entrepreneurial experience. Each cohort of students creates and manages a business as a group. Throughout the semester they organize the company, create a business plan, apply for a business loan and

manage every aspect of the operation. “The goal of the United Prairie Bank Integrated Business Experience is to allow students to learn by applying what they are learning in core functional business areas to the real-world experience of owning and running a business,” says Kathy Dale, director of the IBE program. Corrigan and his team decided to sell products made in Minnesota using digital marketing and selling online. Once the students have the kinks worked out of their business plan, they present it to United Prairie Bank for financing. “I really enjoy hearing the students present their business plans to us. That’s when the fun really begins for us as bankers. We get to start asking those real-world questions that help us determine if they’re on the right track with their business. We actually provide the necessary working capital through a loan for their businesses, so we really do treat them just as we would any business coming to ask for a loan,” says Scott Bradley, CEO of United Prairie Bank.

YouBetcha Trading company team. Photo by Ryan Corrigan. 6 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W


United Prairie Bank not only provides exceptional financial support to the IBE program but also professional mentorship to students. Dale says the school’s partnership with United Prairie Bank is critical to the success of the program. United Prairie Bank staff are actively involved in reviewing business plans, critiquing product and service pitches and attending College of Business networking events. Bradley says, “These students really get what I’d call a ‘backstage pass’ that many other business owners do not get. After they present their business plans to us as a class, we discuss their plans and deliberate just as our loan committee would typically do behind closed doors. Instead, they get direct access to hear those key points we are discussing, and have the opportunity to address them as a group. It’s not just their CEO or CFO with us, it’s the whole class learning from the experience. If we can inject some values of earning trust and working through tough times into these young people through our interactions, we feel we are doing our part.” Formed through a generous gift from United Prairie Bank, the initial pilot program in Spring 2012 included 16 students per semester and increased to 51 students by Spring 2016. “The program presents a great opportunity for us to guide future entrepreneurs beyond the classroom setting. They get to see things from the bank’s perspective, and get a real-world sense of how a business works from the get-go,” says Market President Doug Lago. “When I work with the students, it is fun and challenging to be able to engage with them on a professional level considering I have children of that same age. I really enjoy that interaction when I ask them those tough questions that they may not have considered like, ‘how will you handle it if your product has a defect?’ When the problems come up that they need to work through, that is when the best learning happens.” Corrigan, who was the leader of one of the companies, YouBetcha Trading Co., in Spring 2017 agrees; the challenges are what make the program work. “We had to work through adversity,” says Corrigan. “We had some disagreements within the company. But I learned to manage that to make sure everyone felt they were being heard. We had

a setback with a fourth product we were excited about, but they expected us to have a brick and mortar store and the fact that we didn’t meant they wouldn’t sell to us. So we had a setback there but we went forward with three products and people liked them. So when things go wrong with business, what do you do? Panic? Throw in the towel? In that moment, you learn a lot about yourself and who you are and you figure out how to solve the problem and move on. Having those moments where you put what you learned into practice has been an awesome, exciting and terrifying experience!” And everyone involved notes, it’s a rewarding experience too. Once the student-run businesses make enough to pay back their loan, all other earnings are distributed to a charity of choice. Since its inception, the IBE program has donated more than $40,000 to local charities including most recently, the BackPack Food Program and The Reach Drop In Center. “It has been incredibly rewarding to watch this program grow from that first, small class of around a dozen students to the successful program it has become. It is very rewarding when I get the chance to talk to the students on a one-on-one basis to find out what they’ve learned as a result of taking part in these business ventures. We have also been lucky enough to have made connections with some talented young people that have taken part in the program and are now part of our staff here at United Prairie Bank,” says Bradley.

YouBetcha Trading Company products on display. Photo by Brook M. Ferede

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 7


Active Imaginations New Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship is poised to stimulate thought, growth and careers B Y JOE TOU G AS

8 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Pictured: Students Brook M. Ferede and Miranda Kroyer, both Marketing majors, studying at the CIE. Photo by Gilbertson Photography


T

he College of Business already offers a minor in entrepreneurship and innovation. Meanwhile, the goal of giving students real-world experience in their own business startups recently took a major step. That step was made in June with the opening of The Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, a 4,000-square foot expanse of well-equipped space in the Hubbard Building along North Riverfront Drive in Mankato. The off-campus location in the city’s heavily trafficked Old Town area is space donated for three years by the building’s owner, developer Curt Fisher. Fisher said he was eager to foster more entrepreneurial activity and, as a result, more business occupants. “We thank the Fishers for making this move possible,” said Richard Davenport, president of Minnesota State Mankato, in a 2017 University news release. “We’ve had conversations with local business leaders for many years about such a move, but there was even more interest in making this happen after the Greater Mankato Growth ‘Inter-City Leadership Visit’ to Columbia, Missouri, just over a year ago.” A Mankato delegation comprised of 80 leaders from business, government and nonprofit sectors traveled to Columbia, Mo., home of the University of Missouri, in November 2015, to examine that community’s initiatives, goals and successes as a way to help generate new ideas for Mankato. Davenport said the University’s presence downtown would provide students “real-world experiences and project-based learning conducted in partnership with business, while also creating opportunities for internships and research.” The location also fits well with the center’s aim to give students an energetic and encouraging space to learn and grow as business people. It’s set up so that students who are pursuing their own business ideas are doing so not only alongside other students, and thereby creating a camaraderie and energy, but with others in the Mankato area who have expertise, experience and connections. Beginning with the director, Yvonne Cariveau.

Set Director An ideal director for such a place would have the background of an academic – a Ph.D., say – as well as solid experience as a business owner. Icing on the cake would be a familiarity with Minnesota State Mankato and, in a perfect world, teaching experience in entrepreneurship. Cariveau’s bachelor’s degree is from Minnesota State Mankato. She received her Ph.D. in marketing from the University of Minnesota’s Carlson Business School. In the 1990s she started Internet Connections, one of Mankato’s first internet service providers, and later formed the development and design firm VoyageurWeb. Cariveau recently sold a majority of that business and joined the college as the director of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. She continues to teach the college’s capstone class in entrepreneurship. Grounded and connected as she is in Southern Minnesota’s business community, Cariveau is also one of the least traditional business people in town. A poet and storyteller, she’s a reliable source for colorful if not artistically energetic points of view on business and culture. Such a vibe is all over the center. Consider the main space. It has a layout conducive to young brainstorming: open and flexible, with movable furniture easily assembled for presentations or for getting out of the way. This area

THE CENTER FOR INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP Hubbard Building 424 North Riverfront Drive Mankato, MN 56001 507.389.1018 cob.mnsu.edu/cie is the center’s stage for interaction to happen, for ideas to collide and collude. Along the space’s perimeter are offices including the Small Business Development Center (SBDC) and meeting rooms with tons of tech available — from film studios to 3-D printers. Having the SBDC housed in the facility will also facilitate the goal of getting students and non-student business owners to meet each other. “If there’s an opportunity for that [business owner] to partner with a faculty member or a student, I can help make those partnerships,” Cariveau said. In addition to the practical aspects of the center, there’s a well-thought out playfulness to it. Huge walls throughout have a whiteboard coating, and Cariveau is known to hand visitors a marker and ask them to write something – anything – on the wall. “Everybody smiles when they do that,” she says. “It makes you feel like you’re five again.” In the corner of the open space, four wooden-seat rope swings hang from the ceiling – waiting for someone to hop on. “I read a study that said people who are standing or who are in motion generate more ideas and higher quality ideas than people who are sitting and stationary,” said Cariveau. Swings were made by local makers including professor of management, John Kaliski.

Long Journey College of Business Dean Brenda Flannery said it’s rewarding to watch this latest achievement in entrepreneurship at the college. “For me this is really personal,” Flannery said. “When I was hired here 20 years ago, I was hired to teach the entrepreneurship course. We had one course.” Shortly afterward, Flannery—inspired by travels as a visiting faculty member—initiated the idea of an entrepreneurship fair on campus, one in which students put together a business plan and pitched it to the pros. When Flannery went on sabbatical, Shane Bowyer kept entrepreneurship activities afloat, and when Flannery returned and became dean of the college, she used that capital to do more – creating a minor, facilitating the creation of the United Prairie Bank Integrated Business Experience (in which students start and run a business) and fundraising to launch the CIE, including funding the director position, graduate assistant position, entrepreneurship scholarships and the Integrated Business Experience program. “So, there is a history here and it’s been a journey. Now we feel we’ve taken off, actually having a physical space and hiring Yvonne,” Flannery said. And it’s nothing short of a breakthrough in putting students and tools in one place that is closer to entrepreneurs, innovators and creators, she said. “Every year we’re trying to make tweaks within our land-locked space on campus,” Flannery said. “But we don’t have media rooms

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 9


for students to get access to any time. We don’t have enough collaborative spaces. We have a small commons space, but there’s no technology there for students to be working, using Adobe Photoshop with somebody in the community possibly developing their logo or materials.” The CIE in the Hubbard Building now provides that to students.

Chairman of the Board Sophomore Jackson Jones was always crafty and into arts. He liked skateboarding to the extent that the South Dakota native began making his own longboards for the fun of it. “But I never put the connection between art and business,” he said. His experience two years ago with the College of Business Entrepreneurship Club changed that. “I dove deep into the research, started developing presses, started making boards, built the web site, got some stickers.” Jones is now the founder of Primate Longboards, which features hand-drawn, wood-burned art on each board. Depending on the design, they sell in the $200-$300 range. The company has been running for about a year and a half with more than a hundred boards sold. Jones is also the most recent recipient of the Big Ideas Challenge, which carries a $10,000 grand prize to reward innovative student endeavors.

10 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

He credits the Entrepreneurship Club with the support and motivation for making it this far, and he sees a bright opportunity for other students in the Center. “That place is built for someone exactly like me,” he said. “There’s power in numbers. You have to reach out, you have to get help. That’s one thing the Entrepreneurship Club taught me most was to reach out and ask people. If you don’t know how to do something, find someone who does.” Cariveau agrees. “I really want this to be a resource and I know the University really wants us to be a resource for the whole region, not just for Mankato and not just for students,” she said.

Left: Debbie and Curt Fisher Right: Yvonne Cariveau Below: The CIE offers flexible work space with many seating and collaborative options.


Mavs Make 2017 MN Cup Minnesota State University, Mankato students advance to semifinals B Y BRO OK M . FER EDE

Three Minnesota State University, Mankato students have advanced on to the 2017 MN Cup semifinals. Young visionary entrepreneurs Andrew Hanegmon, Francis Kanneh and Jackson Jones hold innovative entrepreneurial dreams that are just beginning. The three submitted their ideas earlier this year for the competition—the largest statewide entrepreneurial competition in the country. They landed among 80 other Minnesota-based entrepreneurs, inventors and innovators in the race for a share of the $450,000 of seed money. MN Cup Executive Director and Minnesota State University, Mankato alumna, Melissa Kjolsing Lynch says the semifinalists will have the opportunity to choose from 200 mentors to finalize their business models and plans. Finalists will be honored and announced on October 9. Hanegmon and Jones were also winners of the 2016 and 2017 Big Ideas Challenge, an annual venture competition organized by the Minnesota State Mankato College of Business where the winner takes home $10,000+ in prize money.

Jackson Jones Primate Longboards Major: Marketing Jones started his business, Primate Longboards, in a small Mankato garage where he uses his skills to hand make artistic boards. The demand for his longboards prompted him to participate in the Big Ideas Challenge. After winning the challenge earlier this year he invested the prize money in upgrading his shop tools and equipment as well as investing in marketing to expand sales beyond Minnesota. Learn more about Primate Longboards at primatelongboards.com.

Andrew Hanegmon Iron Range Makerspace Major: Integrated Engineering This alumnus’ start-up, Iron Range Makerspace, located in Hibbing, Minnesota helps create jobs while fueling economic development on the range. Hanegmon and his team have outstanding skills and resources to lead entrepreneurs to success. He says they are trying to give people opportunity to unleash their ideas and share them so they are recognized. Learn more about Iron Range Makerspace at ironrangemakerspace.com.

Francis Kanneh UnderRecruited Preps Major: Marketing What started as an idea in his dorm room has become a bolstering online business that gives underrecruited athletes exposure to 50,000+ college coaches from Division I, II, III and NAIA schools throughout the country. Kanneh’s personal struggle with earning an athletic scholarship was the impetus and drive for him to launch his own vision. Kanneh works in-between classes as he works to make his idea a reality. He is committed to athletes and uses his website to shape student athletes’ futures. Learn more about UnderRecruited Preps at underrecruitedprep.com.

To learn more about MN Cup visit: carlsonschool.umn.edu/mn-cup

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 11


STUDENT ENTREPRENEURS KEEP THE

BIG IDEAS COMING

Lloyd family supports third year of the Big Idea Challenge

12 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W


B Y L ISA C OWNIE

S

tarted in 2015, the College of Business Big Ideas Challenge annual competition challenges students and recent alumni to develop a business plan. They make their pitch to a panel of judges consisting of University alumni and area business people. Five finalists are selected for an opportunity to win startup or expansion funds. Judges consider a number of factors in selecting their winners. In addition to the thoughtfulness and structure of the overall business plan, they look at earnings projections, how the business contributes to the community and how much passion the entrepreneur demonstrates.    In 2017, Jackson Jones won both the $10,000 judges award funded by Lloyd Companies and the $2,000 decided by an audience vote.  The winning business, Primate Longboards, creates custom longboards with each wood board having its own unique design. Jones says the boards are a work of art, handmade with a wood-burning pen, stain and paint.   “We don’t use the term ‘hand-crafted’ lightly,” he says. “All of our boards are cut, sanded, designed and finished completely by hand. We do this to ensure quality and to let each deck have, what we call, ‘perfect imperfections.’ Our design methods consist of pyrography, painting and staining. That said, our main design tools here at Primate are paintbrushes, stain rags and wood-burning pens.” 

He was creating them from a garage in Mankato and had sold about 100 before hearing about the Big Ideas Challenge. The Big Ideas Challenge proved to be another Minnesota State Mankato program that, for Jones, was life changing.  “The first year I entered, I didn’t win,” he says. “But I hate to leave an opportunity out on the table, so I learned from my first experience and tried again. This time we did it!”  A South Dakota native, Jones says joining the Entrepreneurship Club at Minnesota State Mankato changed his life.   “It was the second day of school my freshman year,” he recalls. “A lot of what I’ve accomplished now is because I joined that club. It gave me the resources and confidence to start my own business.  “Every community person or University professional I’ve met while here has taken the time to help me in some way; I’ve learned from them all,” adds Jones.  

Left: Finalists in the Big Ideas Challenge Below: The Lloyd family, generous donors who make the Big Ideas Challenge possible, present Jones with his prize money. Photos by Social Butterfly

To learn more about the Big Ideas Challenge, visit cob.mnsu.edu/initiatives/bigideas.html

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 13


The Butterfly Effect Student business emerges from management class B Y L ISA C OWNIE

F

our years ago, Brandon Poliszuk was like many other freshmen starting their college career, anxious to earn a degree and graduate so he could start pursuing his dreams. But that’s not what happened. Instead, surrounded by the knowledge, mentorship and encouragement of the Minnesota State Mankato College of Business faculty, along with discovering his own passions in life, Poliszuk completely transformed during his first two years at Minnesota State and was able to spread his wings long before he donned his cap and gown. While still a student, he formed his own company dubbed Social Butterfly. “I was a sophomore taking MGMT 200 at the time and one of our big projects was to come up with a business idea and create a website, a business plan and some of the other basic tasks for starting a company,” says Poliszuk. “The majority of the class came up with clothing companies, but I believe that is a saturated market. However, I knew there was opportunity in social media marketing. So I decided to start a social media marketing company, managing social media accounts for businesses. It wasn’t until the following year that the team and I realized we needed a way to create compelling content to give these accounts a twist, so we decided to invest into professional grade camera equipment and started learning videography and photography. From there we transformed into the creative agency we are today.” Poliszuk says Social Butterfly’s mission is to give a business wings, establish an identity/personality for every company they work with. He refers to it as the Butterfly Effect, transforming companies. We spoke with Poliszuk about the role the College of Business played in his success and what advice he has for other students fostering an entrepreneurial spirit.

Q A Q A

How did the College of Business help as you got going? Were there any particular classes or faculty that stand out to you? The company really started to gain some attention when I introduced myself to Nick Linde in his BUS 295 class and told him what I had going and where I wanted to take the company. He got my foot in the door with Minnesota State University, Mankato, and that was enough for people to start taking us more seriously. What were some of your challenges in juggling being both a student and business owner? Patience was one of my biggest challenges. I often found myself caught up in the moment and not taking it all in and enjoying the journey. It wasn’t until the end of my senior year that I really realized how perfect the timing is to start something while in college. Being so young was the best time to take big risks. Now as I look back at some of our earlier ideas and projects, I can’t help but smile because we have come such a long way. I think the reason for that is because we are always wanting to improve ourselves, and that can amount to new milestones. Just as the College of Business did for me, I like to push people I believe in to see them reach their full potential.

14 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Brandon Poliszuk

Q A

Do you have advices for fellow student entrepreneurs? Keep your life balanced. By that I mean take time to disconnect and step away from all the stress. I’m a big believer in ‘work hard-play hard’, but only when it’s earned. I found that when I made time in my week to disconnect, I was more productive for the times that I was working (which was the majority of my time). I think you have to accept and understand that you’re going to miss out on things and make sacrifices as an entrepreneur but you don’t want to work just to stay busy, work to stay productive. Another tip I might add is to work with a sense of urgency and never give up. I’m not saying to rush things, but the faster you can produce quality work and move onto the next, the more opportunity will arise. Always be thinking and asking questions like: What can I do now? What can we do better? What if we did this?


Q A

What can you say to “inspire” other students who will be reading this? Don’t give up! I learned this from a first-hand experience last year when I applied for the Big Ideas Challenge and didn’t make it as a finalist. I was down on myself and took a step back and asked myself why I didn’t make it. I worked on my weaknesses, I was persistent with my idea and I kept pushing for more. This year we were fortunate enough to be hired for a promotional video and professional photography for the Big Ideas Challenge. This taught me to never give up and everything happens for a reason, you just have to find out what the reason is. Remember that everything you go through, good and bad, grows you.

Q A

You just graduated in May 2017, what does the future hold for you and the company? As I graduate, I plan to move to the cities and expand our network in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. As we transitioned from a social media marketing company into a creative agency, there is a lot more room for growth and opportunity. I’m excited to build a bigger team and take on more challenges. I plan to expand our brand with some remote team members that have incredible talent from Duluth. My dream is to have a brand that people want to work for and to create a culture that’s recognized and appreciated, I plan to build something way bigger than myself and we aren’t stopping anytime soon.

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 15


Business Alumni Honored Josh Hackbarth ‘01 and Randy Sampson ’80 receive top University alumni awards B Y BRO OK M . FER E DE

E

Josh Hackbarth, Dean Brenda Flannery and Randy Sampson

nvision sitting in a room pitching a business idea to Amazon founder and CEO Jeff Bezos or talking about mergers and acquisitions with media titans like Jeffrey Katzenberg. Maybe even selling engineered adhesives on the top of a skyscraper in Manhattan or buying a horse racing park because you want to keep the sport alive. To most, the uneasiness of not knowing what comes next might avert them from the right track, but this wasn’t the case for former students Josh Hackbarth ‘01 and Randy Sampson ‘80. For them, it was the thrill of not knowing what comes next that set them on this journey of what unexpectedly became the road to success. “I wouldn’t have believed it 15 years ago. It is all of the things I was told was possible when I was at Minnesota State Mankato,” says Hackbarth. Hackbarth and Sampson’s success is a testament to how much someone can accomplish with the right amount of effort. It showed that their success did not go unnoticed as they were honored with the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards, which are presented to graduates who achieve high rank or honor in their professions.

16 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Hackbarth, the recipient of the Recent Alumni Award, studied management information systems (MIS) and international business. At the time, MIS was an up and coming major. This was the time that Hackbarth refers to as the dot-com era. He explains it was all the more reason to study a field that he found interesting. In the business aspect, he believes his choice to study abroad was what influenced him to study international business. Now working at Warner Brothers as the vice president of worldwide franchise management and marketing for their consumer products, Hackbarth says, “I have a passion for exploring. I get bored very quickly and so I am always challenging new things. My hobby is always working. My passion is learning and that was encouraged at Mankato. It is finding that thing that really fires you up and to go chase it.” Hackbarth made the most out of his college career by being involved in many extracurricular activities. Activities ranging from pledging Delta Sigma Pi to getting involved in the honors program and serving as a community advisor. He attributes most of his success to being involved. “The advice I have for currents students is don’t sit around. Get as involved as possible. The network you build will continue to give back.” The recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award was Sampson, owner and CEO of Canterbury Park. Sampson graduated Summa Cum Laude with an accounting degree. Many know Sampson for hosting the biggest University alumni event, the Alumni & Friends at Canterbury Park event. In this event approximately 1,000 College of Business students and alumni come together each year. “I think it is great when you see people able to stay connected to their college through the Alumni Association. I certainly look at our efforts at Canterbury with our annual event as a way to try and make those connections. When you get together and see some of your old friends, classmates and teachers, it just opens up a dialogue and creates more connection.”


Both Hackbarth and Sampson have achieved great things. They both credit most of their success to the education and guidance they received while at the University. “I think back to what I learned in textbooks that certainly was a big part of the preparation and the background that has helped me to become successful in business,” says Sampson.

“I think Minnesota State Mankato is a launch pad. I don’t think I realized that when I went, but looking back I realized that all of the big career decisions I have made, even the big personal decisions I have made, were influenced by my time in Mankato,” says Hackbarth.

To learn more about the Distinguished Alumni Awards or nominate someone visit: mnsu.edu/alumni/awards

Delta Sigma Pi students talk with Josh Hackbarth during a welcome breakfast hosted by the student organization. Photo by Amy Linde

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 17


“ It was an inspiration to listen to him as he exemplifies the dream so many people have.”

“ I am very glad that I attended this lecture. It really did inspire me to be the best that I can be and know that everyone has amazing potential if you put your mind and soul into it. Mark Davis did not give up on his dreams and decided to chase them.”

Comments from students attending and enrolled in Professor Guvenli’s international business course.

18 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

“ Mark inspired me to be more generous and to not be afraid to take risks.”

Photo by SPX Sports


RICHARD & MARY SCHMITZ ENDOWMENT

FOOD ENTREPRENEURSHIP

MARK DAVIS From Milk Truck Driver to Dairy Mogul

“ He really inspired me and made me proud that he graduated from Minnesota State University, Mankato.”

“ I learned what it takes to become a great business leader and I will hold that with me as I continue my future career.”

“ I learned that taking calculated risks is a necessity to being successful in business, and if you have a little bit of luck on your side you can leave quite the legacy.”

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 19


Alumnus Mark Davis headlines this year’s Richard and Mary Schmitz Food Entrepreneurship event | B Y AMY L I N DE

T

he Richard R. and Mary L. Schmitz Endowment for Opportunities in Food Entrepreneurship proudly welcomed alumnus Mark Davis ‘63 to the stage this year. Davis is the founder of Davisco and Davis Family Holdings, which currently includes Davis Family Farms, Cambria and Sun Country Airlines. The Schmitz’ established the endowment in 1999 to create scholarships and support an annual lecture event featuring top industry experts surrounding food entrepreneurship. Richard Schmitz’s ‘64 passion for the food industry grew from his experience and ownership of five grocery stores in Minnesota and Wisconsin. This annual event provides an opportunity for the College of Business and University to engage with the growing sector of agri-business with our faculty, students, alumni and friends in a format that also educates the community about growing needs and trends in the world of food and agriculture. Past lecturers include Dan & Angie Bastian of Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP®, Dave Rettig of Rembrandt Foods and Glenn Stolt of Christensen Farms.

Davis ended the event with the poem ’Tis the Set of the Sail after a student asked him to share a quote that was special to him.

’Tis the Set of the Sail One ship sails East, And another West, By the self-same winds that blow, ‘Tis the set of the sails And not the gales, That tells the way we go. Like the winds of the sea Are the waves of time,

Mark Davis

As we journey along through life,

Davis found his way into the hearts of the audience during his time on the Ostrander Auditorium stage. His humility is obvious and his lighthearted humor had the crowd engaged every minute he spoke. Davis wasn’t always at the helm of a company, his first job was driving a milk truck for his father’s creamery. He woke up at dawn to deliver milk starting in his teens. Davis didn’t go the usual route after high school. He attended college but quickly decided it wasn’t a good fit. He took a break from school but at the request of his wife Mary, returned to finish his business administration degree at Minnesota State Mankato while raising their young family. After graduation Davis got curious. He observed a by-product, whey, coming from his father’s creamery and going to waste. Davis researched and then traveled extensively in pursuit of finding a way to utilize the whey. After visiting Europe, Davis returned with equipment and a new product idea, turning whey into a consumable protein source. Davis noted during the interview that he was the first to bring this technology to the United States. The rest is history. Davis turned that business into Davisco and later established Davis Family Holdings. It was obvious during this evening that his family was everything to him. With many of his family members in the front row, within feet of Davis, he often referenced their importance to him in both life and business. His wife Mary provided constant counsel and support. Marty and Mitch, two of his sons in attendance, both became entrepreneurs themselves and lead the family owned companies including Sun Country Airlines, Cambria and Davis Family Farms. This year’s special event left no empty seats in the auditorium. From students and faculty to business and community leaders, all in attendance were captivated. Davis is a brilliant business man. His personality and positive approach to life are no doubt key ingredients to his success.

‘Tis the set of the soul, That determines the goal, And not the calm or the strife. —Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Mark Davis and Brenda Flannery, Dean of the College of Business, on stage. Photo by SPX Sports

Read more about Mark Davis in Today Magazine at today.mnsu.edu. Watch the full video of the lecture at cob.mnsu.edu/RichardSchmitzEIR/

20 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W


Sudents Helping Students Accounting faculty embrace supplemental instructor program

B Y L ISA C OWNIE

S

tudents helping students. It’s a simple concept that can yield extraordinary results, as in the case of Minnesota State University, Mankato’s first “Supplemental Instructor” program. A tutor, or supplemental instructor, was embedded into Accounting 200, attending each class and helping students with the coursework outside of class as well. Professor John Estall says, “We are committed to having students succeed in their classes. Accounting 200 is a gateway class for accounting and many other majors. We wanted to improve student success so we decided to try this new approach.” Amina Diawara, Accounting Club president, was identified as someone who might be a good fit to lead this program. Diawara, who is from Mali, a country located in Western Africa, has only been at Minnesota State Mankato for a year and immediately embraced the chance to help other students. She says she has “a knack” for accounting and, turns out, a knack for

percent,” explains Geisness. “In addition, after having spoken with several of these students, I could see the positive impact this program has had on their academic careers. They all had very positive things to share about the program and everyone who was involved in it. Many spoke of their belief that the program helped them succeed in the course.” That success will hopefully spread across the University. Professor Estall says, “We think this program increased the engagement and confidence of the targeted students by helping them understand the coursework better and L to R: Sydney Geisness, Amina Diawara and John Estall. giving them alternative Photo by Marisa Milton strategies for learning the concepts of the class. We knowing how best to help others her age. are very encouraged by this data. I think Diawara says, “First of all, we all became this program has the potential to be used in friends! That really helped the learning other classes. Other universities are using it relationship. I didn’t want it to be too formal in different classes and having success with it. so they could open up to me. Because they We are currently discussing that possibility.” were so comfortable, I felt like then those In the initial trial, Diawara tutored students were engaged in class more. They around seven students. She, too, hopes to ended up doing well. All I had to do was see the program continue and grow. “To guide them and let them know they are see the joy on their faces and for them to capable of doing it. Often there were just little say, ‘Yay! I did well on this exam!’ Well, to things missing, once we identified what those see that excitement really impacted me,” were in each student, they could succeed. I she says. “I am really, really grateful to have would sit with them for hours and hours. It been a part of it. I can’t thank the University was more like just studying with my friends enough. Words are not even enough. It was a rather than tutor/tutee and that helped wonderful opportunity for me. Throughout changed the perspective of learning it. I got the College of Business they care about to adapt my teaching to their personality and the students; wonderful people, wonderful learning style.” experience.” It’s an approach that seemed to work. The results were studied by accounting student Sydney Geisness, who compiled the results in her honors research paper. “The best outcome of the program was the tutored students’ average scores improved by 11

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 21


GLOBAL IMPACT

Female faculty, donors and a Mankato business owner partner to provide students with a life-changing experience. B Y L ISA C OWNIE

I

t's not your typical classroom. It doesn't have computers and smartboards and all the high-tech gear so prominent in today's world of teaching. But the learning is just as savvy. It's a classroom that helps stretch the Minnesota State University, Mankato campus beyond the city limits, over state lines and across foreign borders. It's a classroom made not of brick and mortar, but of trees, rivers and caves found deep in the jungle. The sounds aren't of lecturers, but of howler monkeys. The classroom is the country of Belize and the scholars studying there are learning about business, fair trade and life. "Studying abroad in Belize was truly an amazing experience," third-year student Rosalin Cobb reflects. "I learned so much about myself, my classmates and the culture of Belize. I have never been in a place so diverse and beautiful as Belize. I will forever cherish the memories and moments I had with them."

The Belize study abroad program is relatively new to the College of Business. Its inaugural journey was in 2013. And every year since then, with the help of local travel agent Kristin Fisher of Atalanta Journeys, they have taken a small delegation of students. Fisher, who spends a lot of time with her business in Belize, says the trip is powerful for both the students and the Belizean business community. "The Belize business community is extremely open to working with university business students, as they bring expertise especially in the areas of social media marketing," says Fisher. "We set time aside to personally visit the business, speak with the owners and learn about their challenges and successes operating a business in Belize." The students spend eight days entrenched in the culture there. Their mission: put their education to work to help the businesses they visit. "When we come back we do projects for the various businesses," says faculty leader Dr. Kristin Scott. "For example, now we are working with a national park there that needs help attracting visitors. It is a park that is owned between two different villages and run by volunteers. One aspect is that they are setting up a medicine trail

L to R: Dr. Kristin Scott, Rosalin Cobb, Macarena Garcia Soto, Lynette McCue, and Christine Lederer Hellekson. Photo by Shaela Nelson

Below: Students pose with Belizean locals during a recent study abroad trip.

22 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W


IN M E M ORY

Honoring Dr. Chan Lee B Y BRO OK M. F E R E DE

with local bush doctors. My students are putting together a logo and suggestions for marketing materials. We are also working with the Belize Chocolate Company. We will help them with expanding international sales, particularly in the United States, by putting together a promotional package." Another business they are working with, MayaBags, really helps the students put the importance of what they are doing in perspective. "For MayaBags, the students learn how the business provides support to the women in the Maya villages," Fisher says. "We travel to a local village, where the women gather in one home and we join them for lunch and discuss how MayaBags impacts their family. This is a powerful experience for the College of Business students to see how a small business can have such an important impact economically and socially." Cobb says the trip takes real-world learning to a whole new level. "This class is not just about traveling to Belize. This class challenges you to understand your culture in relation to other cultures. As a business student, we learned how to make a marketing plan and work with real companies to help and create content that they could actually use. There are so many cool and new experiences there. I just think that if someone had the opportunity to take this class that they should do it," says Cobb. That opportunity was made possible for Cobb because of a scholarship. Minnesota State Mankato alumna Christine Lederer Hellekson and Lynette Larson McCue each generously set up the scholarships last year. World travelers themselves, they want to make sure others can have the experience. They each donate $2,500 scholarships each year to help two students study in Belize. "We appreciate the uniqueness of other cultures which have enhanced our lives and our view of and concern for our world," says Hellekson. "This scholarship assists students who want to step outside their comfort zone and learn about other cultures and societies. We live in a privileged society, and it’s an eye-opener to realize that our culture is not the only one of value. Different cultures and experiences broaden our world view and are essential to our understanding of the world and the global economy it encompasses. " McCue says it was money well invested in these students. "We felt that the program went well and were impressed with the students’ understanding of their environment," says McCue. "In particular, what caught our attention was the recognition that their presence in these small communities not only exposed them to a whole different way of living and working, but also, as stated by one of the students, they were viewed as representing ‘opportunity’ by the young people living there who now have also been exposed to ideas different from their daily lives. Both parties can benefit from this interaction."

Professor Emeritus of Finance, Dr. Chan Hyu Lee, left his mark during his tenure at the University. This year the College of Business lost a great legend. He will be remembered for his monumental achievements and passion for student success. Among his most notable accomplishments and legacies include establishing the Certified Financial Planner (CFP) program, establishing the Kim Sam Nei CFP Scholarship and starting the College of Business Emeriti Association. His great enthusiasm to create a program that prepares students for the real world had launched the start of a program that became one of the best in the state. Dr. Lee’s belief in the CFP program led him to start a scholarship endowment, in memory of his mother, Kim Sam Nei. He and his wife SoonKi choose to honor his mother who tirelessly supported him throughout his academic endeavors. After retiring in 2006, he was inspired to start the College of Business Emeriti Association that would bring retirees together. At the time he said “It is so nice to be connected…. After I retired, I felt like I got lost. By getting together with this group, I feel much more involved. I feel much better.” Faculty who have worked alongside Dr. Lee speak appreciably of his contribution to the campus. “Dr. Chan Lee was a long-time member of the finance faculty. He will long be remembered by both his students and colleagues as a very kind, generous and considerate man,” says Dr. Roger Severns, chair of the Department of Finance.

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 23


GREAT SCOTT

A beloved colleague creates an endowed scholarship B Y JOE TOUG AS

24 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

D

aniel Sanchez spent summers as a teenager doing fieldwork in Sleepy Eye, Minnesota. He was raised on hot mornings and afternoons clearing fields of rocks while his parents worked at the Del Monte plant. Between ages 6 and 14, Sanchez traveled every summer from Texas to Minnesota for such seasonal work, which he began doing at age 12. When he was 14, the family decided to stay in Minnesota, and Sanchez attended Sleepy Eye High School. Upon graduating, he immediately enlisted in the U.S. Air Force. “My brother had previously served in the U.S. Marine Corps and he was my role model, so I joined upon deciding that college was not an option for me

considering the lack of money and the fact that I was a terrible student in high school,” Sanchez said. He did four years of active duty and after a year out enlisted in the Reserves. This year marks his 13th year of military service, which has put him on six deployments in Qatar, Iraq and Kuwait. Today he is a Master Sergeant in the Air Force and lives in New Ulm with his wife and three children – ages 11, 3 and 2. Formerly working for a local trucking firm, the 2016-17 school year was the first year Sanchez was able to devote his attention full-time toward his business degree at Minnesota State Mankato. He’s now just two semesters away from graduation. One of the people who put him here, he said, is professor emeritus of management, Timothy Scott.


Sanchez’s most recent year of schooling came courtesy of the Timothy W. Scott Endowed Scholarship, an award established by a longtime business professor known for an offbeat but passionate approach to his job. Scott taught in the management department of the College of Business for nearly 40 years, showing up to teach in 1974 and retiring in 2011. Like Sanchez, Scott came to Mankato following military service, with Scott’s during the Vietnam era. And just as the kid who picked rocks wouldn’t be where he is today if not for Scott, neither would the Dean of the College of Business. “Professor Scott is the reason I’m here,” said College of Business Dean Brenda Flannery. Like others who have worked with Scott, Flannery instantly brings up Scott’s enthusiasm for the job, which drew her in when she was fresh out of her University of Nebraska doctoral program and looking for work in 1996. “We bonded in the first 10 minutes,” Flannery said. “I loved the idea of working with colleagues who loved their job. He often said about being a professor that ‘this is the best job in the world.’” Scott remained an influence for Flannery and others in his passionate

dedication to students and the innovative methods he’d use in the classroom. “He was known as a professor who loved working with students shoulder to shoulder, helping to ensure that students would understand the material. Not just memorize definitions of terms, but truly understand the material and be able to apply it,” said Paul Schuman, professor of management in the College of Business. Schuman recalled Scott’s development of a business simulation game back in the days of Apple II and how he taught teamwork through devices such as Legos and origami. “This (origami) would be a team exercise and each team of students had a budget to stay within, both money and time, and they needed then to work effectively as a team to produce beautiful origami which would then be displayed around the college. He would get other faculty and staff to evaluate the student’s origami. And then after, it would be on display for a while.” Some of that origami remains in Flannery’s office as a memento. In retirement Scott expressed an interest in continuing to make a difference. The scholarship, which he could design, seemed an ideal way to carry on his influence and legacy.

“Tim was in the military, so he really wanted to show students who are in the military that we’re grateful for their service and that we want to help make sure they could have an education….” Flannery said. The scholarship has made a world of difference toward Sanchez’s business management degree. “It really allowed me to focus on school rather than work,” he said. “It gave me that extra bit of cushion so I could take my mind off the money that I had to earn and focus on school.” He and Scott keep in touch routinely. “He’s always kept in contact, he’s always taken an interest in how I’m doing” Sanchez said. “He’s offered to help and he’s been very supportive.”

L to R clockwise: Professor Emeritus Tim Scott and Daniel Sanchez at the 2017 Scholarship Awards Dinner; Tim Scott and Jack Jolis, 1963 at Fort Benning, Georgia: Daniel Sanchez, 2017.

N N E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 25 M I NN


E Taking a Data-Driven Road High demand Business Analytics Certificate coming soon. B Y JOE TOUGAS

26 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

very card swiped, every song streamed, every imaginable interaction beyond smoke signals all leave little trails that add up to Big Data. And businesses of all sizes are falling over themselves trying to harness it. “Companies are saying it’s one thing to collect data and another thing to actually know what to do with it,” said Luke Howk, the College of Business’ external partnerships coordinator. After more than two years of crafting the Business Analytics Certificate, the plan has passed through Minnesota State (formerly the Minnesota States Colleges and Universities system) and awaits approval from the accreditation-body, the Higher Learning Commission. The result will be a certificate earned by taking 17 credits in five classes. It’s designed to equip the bearer with abilities to read and analyze data. So how big is Big Data? “Nationally there are studies that suggest the number of people required to analyze data or interpret that analyzed data for the next 10 years could be a couple of million people,” said Deptartment of Finance Chair Roger Severns. “So tremendous demand.” One of the early proponents and designers of the analytics certificate, Severns credits finance professor Joseph Reising with getting analytics a bigger role in Minnesota State Mankato business offerings. Reising approached Severns two years ago with the idea of teaching an analytics course. “I thought it was a good idea,” Severns said, “and we managed to get a special topics course approved.” After offering the special topics course twice (and seeing a doubling in student enrollment between the two), a full analytics course was offered for the 2016-2017 academic year. Meanwhile, the analytics market prompted the creation of a certificate which, while tailored toward students in business and economics, is structured so anyone could take it, regardless of major or status. “So people who maybe already have a degree in communications or geography or something similar could come back to take it,” Severns said. “Or if they were already on campus and just wanted an additional certificate in analytics, they could do so as well.” While working on the requirements of the certificate, faculty asked Howk to check with some of the businesses that partner with the college as to whether they saw value in such a certificate for either incoming or existing employees. Howk checked in with about 20 different firms, including UnitedHealth Group, IBM, Taylor Corp. and Microsoft. “The response was overwhelmingly ‘yes,’” Howk said. “They value these skill sets and thought the certificate would be great. And they all said ‘if we can help further somehow, let us know.’” IBM was particularly interested, expressing its interest in having its Rochester-based international finance center staffed with pros who are well-versed in analytics. Last fall, faculty working on the certificate were invited to visit the center to see how the company was using analytics to transform its operations.


HIGHER ACHIEVEMENT THAT FITS YOUR LIFE. “They showed us exactly what they’re doing, what kind of technology they’re using and the processes they’re using,” Howk said. “It was like a boot camp style day for us.” Later, IBM officials in March spent a full day on campus demonstrating analytics with students and faculty. IBM financial manager and Minnesota State Mankato alumnus Todd Stockmo said the day was an example of a good, mutually beneficial partnership between university and business. “It’s a two-way street, we try to provide them with feedback on course curriculum or skills that we’re looking for, so they’re better prepared not only for us but for whoever they’re going to work for,” Stockmo said. Included in the all-day event were demonstrations of a powerful analytics tool IBM uses called an SPSS Modeler. IBM describes it as a user-friendly data mining and text analytics software that can be used to build predictive models and conduct analytic tasks. “It’s great at using and manipulating and analyzing large volumes of data and we’re using it in a predictive manner,” Stockmo said. “We’re trying to use it to forecast. Maybe a revenue forecast, cost forecast or expense forecast – using that modeling tool to give us the best view of the future that we can get.” And now students will have access to the same tool as the international finance team at IBM – the company has given the University free access to the SPSS Modeler system. “Lots of the heavy duty analytics that businesses do cannot be done without highly powerful analytics tools and systems,” Howk said. “IBM gave us not only a tool, but a very powerful tool.” IBM in Rochester has more than 50 Minnesota State Mankato graduates working in finance. With the certificate on the way to the University’s offerings, that number could increase. “We’re certainly trying to develop, as many companies are, groups of analytics professionals within their finance organizations,” Stockmo said. “That analytics certificate is going to be a good first step toward that.”

✔ Convenient

Twin Cities & Mankato locations

✔ Flexible

Evening classes taught in eight week modules

✔ Accredited

AACSB Accredited

MBA

MANKATO TWIN CITIES

MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

MSA

MASTER OF ACCOUNTING

Graduate Certificate in Taxation also offered

cob.mnsu.edu 507.389.5420

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 27


Inside the Chambers

MBA scholarship established in honor of David C. Olson, long-time Minnesota Chamber president Ellie James, 2017 recipient of the David C. Olson scholarship. B Y JOE TOUGAS

D

avid C. Olson left a lasting mark on the statewide business community and all Minnesotans through his work and legacy. He served as president of the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce for more than 23 years and built the chamber to represent more than 2,300 Minnesota companies, 130 local chambers and 65 business trade associations. Olson also went on to serve as a trustee with Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (now Minnesota State) and served as chair from 2007-2010. Olson passed away in 2014 after a long battle with cancer. Last summer, Olson’s sister Mary Claire had an idea to continue his impact on the Minnesota business community indefinitely by partnering with Minnesota State Mankato to raise funds to endow

28 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

an MBA scholarship and semester-long internship with a chamber of commerce each year. “They wanted to honor David’s legacy because he was so involved in Minnesota as president of the Minnesota Chamber and he did so many great things around the state,” said Marilyn Fox, director of the MBA program. “They wanted him to be remembered in a way that someone else would benefit and that partnerships were created, because he believed in that so much.” Richard Davenport, president of Minnesota State Mankato, said in a 2017 University news release that Olson exemplified “big ideas and real-world thinking” throughout his distinguished career.

“We thank David’s family and colleagues for their commitment to this important endeavor,” said Davenport. “David worked for decades to create business opportunities throughout Minnesota communities and to create higher education opportunities for Minnesota students. This scholarship will help students carry on David’s work.” Steven Rosenstone, former chancellor of Minnesota State, and Bill Blazar, senior vice president of public affairs and business development with the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, both described the scholarship as a fitting tribute to Olson’s career. “We are proud to join in the creation of the David C. Olson scholarship that both honors David’s legacy and provides the support and internship experience that is


critical to growing the next generation of Minnesota business and public affairs policy leaders,” said Rosenstone. Said Blazar: “Hardly a day goes by that we don’t think or say, we need more business leaders active in Minnesota public affairs. The Olson scholarship will be one real step toward solving this problem… supplying these leaders.” The internship provision of the scholarship – in which the recipient will work in a local or the state chamber of commerce – was designed to give MBA students hands-on experience with the work that chambers do in pulling businesses together and coordinating efforts for the greater good of a community. It’s a unique view, and not one typically given business majors, MBA candidates or even professionals on the job. As word went out and applications came in, chambers from around the state submitted their proposals based on their unique needs. In the end, the Owatonna Chamber of Commerce was selected as the partnering chamber for the first year. Ellie James, a Waseca native, was the 2017 recipient of the inaugural David C. Olson scholarship. This was not an MBA student who needed hand-holding in the field – James is a full-time human resources employee for Rice County. She is also on the board of the Elysian, Minnesota, Chamber of Commerce. She received her undergraduate degree from Minnesota State Mankato in management with a focus on human resources. As both sides describe it, chamber staff pointed the way and James took it from there. A key issue in Owatonna was much the same as in other communities – building and maintaining a solid workforce to fill job vacancies. “They provided me with a number of ideas, and I took it upon myself to do a ton of research identifying what I thought would be the best method to help the community,” James said. She coordinated meetings with business leaders, and established two key paths to address the shortage. The first was to establish funding for a career counselor “to help high school graduates without a post-graduation plan and create more options for those graduates to become part of the workforce rather than leave,” James said. The second strategy was to create a publication that would highlight the job and career opportunities in the area. Steele

County Works is slated for publication in late 2017. Owatonna Chamber CEO Brad Meier described James as a self-starter who provided the chamber with great energy and research while learning the intricacies of how chambers and businesses connect with and help each other. “We wanted to give her direction, but then give her the ability to pull it together, to create something out of nothing and give her the opportunity to present her work to really high-level companies, and she was able to do that,” Meier said. “And for us, clearly moving the ball forward on a key issue for the business community, which is workforce. That’s a huge benefit to us.” Educationally and professionally, working with the chamber was an invaluable experience, James said. “Their main objective for the internship was to help a graduate obtain real-life experience with real-world problems through the chamber and that has definitely been the outcome,” she said. “It was great exposure to what community leaders deal with on a daily basis and how they effectively strategize and come up with solutions to the problem. And how they rely on each other,” James said. “Everybody relies on each other to maintain an organization.” The scholarship’s focus on working with a chamber is a great idea, she said, as students aren’t necessarily made aware of what chambers do. “It’s a great opportunity,” she said. “You’re getting to know the business leaders of the community. Making those connections can really help your career while also contributing to the chamber and therefore community.”

David C. Olson

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 29


New Student Organization with High Momentum B Y SHA EL A NEL SON

B

eta Alpha Psi is both an honors and professional accounting organization. Membership in Beta Alpha Psi recognizes academic excellence and complements members’ formal education by providing interaction among students, faculty and professionals. In 2015, Beta Alpha Psi was first introduced at Minnesota State University, Mankato. As one of the newest organizations within the College of Business and on campus, Beta Alpha Psi members are active within the community through professional and service-oriented experiences. Faculty and student leadership is a large reason Beta Alpha Psi has been so successful. Dr. Kirsten Rosacker was actively involved with a chapter at another business school and brought what she learned to aid in starting up the Minnesota State Mankato chapter. The organization is heavily supported by the accounting department, Dean Flannery and local accounting firms interested in building relationships with students. Beta Alpha Psi organizes and leads the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program each year on campus. VITA is a national program that helps individuals

30 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

who meet income guidelines file their taxes free of charge. Members also volunteer their time by tutoring College of Business students in lower-division accounting courses and assist in advising students as they begin the process to apply for the College of Business. Professionally, Beta Alpha Psi helps with and attends the annual Meet the Firms event, hosts Tax 101, which educates the general public about the tax process and requirements, and frequently visits accounting firms for external professional activities. In addition to local experiences, members have also attended national meetings in Anaheim, California, and Baltimore, Maryland. On March 17, 2017, Beta Alpha Psi officially became a recognized chapter after two years of petitioning. Sandra Richtermeyer from UMass Lowell and Mark Myring from Ball State University attended the installation as national representatives of Beta Alpha Psi. They both noted how impressed they were with the leadership of this chapter and their knowledge of the organization.

Top: Members, faculty supporters and national Beta Alpha Psi representatives at the installation on March 17, 2017. Above: Dr. Kirstin Rosacker, Assistant Professor of Accounting, took lead on bringing a chapter to Minnesota State Mankato.


Fraud, Risk & the Mindset of an Auditor Accounting Professor receives the University’s most prestigious research award BY BROOK M. FEREDE

T

he Douglas R. Moore Lectureship is a lectureship where research is celebrated at its finest across Minnesota State University, Mankato. In April, Byron Pike Ph.D. took to the stage to present his research entitled Fraud, Risk & the Mindset of an Auditor. Dr. Pike, associate professor of accounting, was the first accounting professor to receive the award but also, the first award recipient within the College of Business. The Douglas R. Moore Faculty Research Lectureship was established 43 years ago to celebrate the joy and excitement of scholarly achievement. Dr. Moore was president of then-Mankato State University from 1974 to 1978. His tenure saw the transformation of Mankato State College into a university, as well as the consolidation of the upper and lower campuses and construction of a new administration building. Dr. Moore established the lecture; this year marked the 30th year the event was held in honor of him. Pike is a proud alumnus of Minnesota State University, Mankato, receiving his bachelor of science degree in accounting

here. He went on to work for one of the Big Four accounting firms, KPMG, in both the taxation and assurance groups. Later, he became a licensed Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and earned his Master’s of Science in accounting and Ph.D. in accounting (psychology minor). In the next chapter of his life, he decided to give back to the University by educating students in his areas of interest: accounting and auditing. Pike has published articles in The Accounting Review, Auditing: A Journal of Practice and Theory, Journal of Forensic and Investigative Accounting, Journal of Accounting Education, AIS Educators Journal and ISACA Journal. Pike’s most recent publication focused on the research topic Fraud, Risk and The Mindset of an Auditor. “Ideas from my practitioner days as well as the use of networking through former alumni or co-workers was beneficial to my research,” he says. Continued on page 33 Byron Pike. Photo by Steve Woit

Dr. Pike presented to a full house. Photo by Amy Linde M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 31


Power Days Connecting companies, students and faculty

Students participated in a Microsoft session. Photo by Amy Linde B Y JOE TOUGAS

T

here’s a new tool in the box for career development at Minnesota State Mankato’s College of Business. You might call it a power tool. Power Days is a day-long event on campus in which interested students spend quality time with one business. This selective take on the industry-student connection began taking shape two years ago when Luke Howk, College of Business external partnership coordinator, tried a new angle on the traditional formula of business visits at the University. Don Morton, a senior director with Microsoft, was interested in seeing what Minnesota State Mankato could offer in terms of graduates interested in careers at a new sales center in Fargo. “They needed massive amounts of entry level business and sales talent to fill those jobs up there,” said Howk. “So they reached out based on geography and the fact that we are AACSB accredited.”

32 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Howk and his team created a day of specific events in which Morton came to campus with some colleagues and met with students in courses that would apply to Microsoft’s specific needs. Roundtable meetings were arranged with students interested in specific Microsoft jobs and those who were looking to fill those jobs. “It becomes a professional networking with candidates, really, that are already teed up for Microsoft,” Howk said. “They [Microsoft] didn’t have to go to a big career fair and find a candidate of their own. They walk into a room with people who are already interested.” The event was successful and the results were just as everyone hoped: Microsoft started hiring graduates they’d met.

“These students were starting in jobs that have an above average first-year earning potential” Howk said. In July of 2016, the University signed with Microsoft’s Dynamic Academic Alliance, which gives the school free access to ERP (enterprise resource planning) and CRM (customer relationship management) software. “This has all kind of snowballed,” Howk said. The success prompted more work and more interest from other businesses. Howk informally called such events “Power Days.” But with the start of classes in January of 2017, the name became official. Microsoft and others came to campus and received Power Days of their own. “To really target the top-tier students– the students who have the most interest–

In total, spring semester at the College saw 700 students, faculty and industry reps take part in Power Days provided for Microsoft, Optum/UnitedHealth Group, IBM, Eide Bailly, RSM, AEM, Grant Thornton, Enterprise and Wells Fargo Home Mortgage.


is not only a huge time-saver, but it’s substantially a more efficient way to recruit,” said 2009 accounting graduate Ryan Schaust. Now an associate director of accounting at Optum/UnitedHealth, Schaust took part in an April 2017 Power Day devoted to Optum. “And although those can be effective, you run into a much more vast audience of people varying in all different ages, some of whom are just there for the free pizza,” Schaust said. “The Optum Day really allowed us to focus in more on the people who had a desire to learn more.” Schaust recalled specifically enjoying the opportunity to talk with faculty and staff about public vs. private accounting. Microsoft’s day in 2017 included classroom visits to 300 and 400 level Marketing classes, where Microsoft staff met with students to talk specifics on the use of CRM as well as career opportunities in the company’s new sales center in Fargo. One highlight was a seminar titled Millennial Women in the Workforce. “Microsoft, like all other companies, is trying to be more intentional about hiring women in in their entry level positions,” Howk said. “We said let’s develop a

component of this Power Day that helps you achieve that goal. We’re going to be very intentional about getting you in front of women.” The day ended with Microsoft staff judging sales pitches from students in the United Prairie Bank Integrated Business Experience program. “This is adding another component to the IBE – giving the student real-world tips on how to sell more effectively,” Howk said. “And also getting Microsoft in front of a group of up and coming business students who may be seeds to plant for the future.” More “power” is on the way for 2018. “We’re getting to a new level as a college,” Howk said. A Millennial Women in the Workforce session was hosted by Microsoft and Her Campus. Photos by Marisa Milton

Continued from page 31

Dr. Byron Pike presents research The research that Pike conducted focused on the use of psychology to explain how auditors do their jobs. He gave thanks on stage to his partners who did the research alongside him and believes a great factor that aided in the success of the research was merging accounting and psychology principles. In his research, he explains that auditors have a hard time detecting fraud because someone is intentionally trying to hide it from them. “Auditing is the discipline where there is not always a right answer,” says Pike. “What I like to do is take aspects of the audit process, analyze them and then isolate through experimental study to determine how high quality there is in judgment.” Pike proposes having a top-down risk-based approach and his solution is to improve auditor’s fraud risk assessments and response to include a forensic specialist on all audit engagements. Pike believes students should know what he is doing when he is not teaching. “Students don’t understand how faculties are contributing outside of the lecture room. I am conducting research related to the discipline,” he says. “In regards to the lecture, it is a fascinating opportunity to talk to the audience well beyond what I would normally be able to. It was a fantastic venue and I could make it understandable to the masses. Everyone got something out of it. I am pleased I was able to do that and people were able to take something from it. I am very happy!”

The Douglas R. Moore Faculty Research Lectureship celebrates the joy and excitement of scholarly creativity. It honors one faculty member each year engaged in an activity demonstrating a quality of excellence in discovery, communicated in a way that enriches the intellectual life of the University community.

N N E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 33 M I NN


FOUNDED ON

FUN Alumni giving back

B Y L ISA C OWNIE

T

wo of the greatest success stories to come out of the College of Business can be found at one local company— a company that will exceed $80 million in sales this year; North Mankatobased Fun.com. But sales are just part of what drives the company. While founder and CEO Tom Fallenstein, a graduate of the College of Business, has built his company he has also built a culture of community and giving back.  “I see myself trying to reach out more and find more opportunities to mentor,” says Fallenstein. “I have spoken at the University and am now looking for other engagements like that where there are young entrepreneurs out there looking to start a business that I can help with or invest in. I am really eager to teach more people and help Mankato grow. A personal life core value for me is helping people in a way they couldn’t help themselves.”  One of those people he has helped is now his employee, fellow COB graduate Mark Bietz.  “Tom is one of the great success stories of the college,” says Bietz, who is Fun.com’s chief marketing officer. “He is really passionate about helping the community whenever he can.”  Together they are a dynamic duo, both building their careers while not forgetting what gave them their foundation.  “The College of Business as a whole gave me some practical skills in Excel, marketing theory, mathematics and helped me to become a self-starter,” says Bietz.    One professor in particular helped mentor Bietz in his time as an undergraduate, John Kaliski a management professor and entrepreneur himself.  “John took me under his wing and took me through the ups and downs of starting my own business in college,” Bietz says. “I started a website for students to look up coupons, concerts, movie times, things like that. From there it turned into a small marketing firm for small and medium size businesses throughout Southern Minnesota. I used the money I made to pay tuition and living expenses. John’s mentorship was invaluable to me at that time in my life.”  That’s why Bietz is now returning the favor and mentoring others.  “It’s tremendous what he does for the college now,” says Kaliski. “One of the things that is very important is that the students see that this sort of thing is accessible to them. It doesn’t take a genius or tons of money. Mark and Tom show them that if you work hard and are diligent you can be very successful. It’s wonderful having an example

34 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Mark Bietz

like Mark. He is very gracious to the college. He’s contributed his time and energy and expertise in a number of different ways. Fun. com has been a wonderful education partner for the college.”  Bietz says it has been fun seeing the College of Business grow in number and in stature since his graduation.  “I think it’s great that the leadership in the College of Business is not resting on its laurels,” Bietz says. “It really is trying to innovate and bring education to next level. One example of that is the addition of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship in downtown Mankato. That shows the commitment of the college to real-world experience. I think it’s just great!’  It’s a center that plans to use Bietz as it grooms entrepreneurs.  “Mark has very generously given his time for interviews and to advise students in my entrepreneurship class,” says Yvonne Cariveau, director of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. “His story, and that of Fun.com, is always very interesting to the students. He kindly and patiently listens to student ideas of businesses and offers his thoughts to help them move their projects forward. For my students, meeting someone in a position of responsibility in a large organization that started like their idea started, with an idea in college, is inspiring and so encouraging. They can see themselves a few years down the road.”   Bietz also serves on the advisory council helping shape overall direction for the COB.   “I want to see the College of Business continue to lead on integrating curriculums with real-world business,” Bietz says. “That is something I would love to help with.” 


Out of the Classroom and into Competition Four students compete in national diversity competition B Y L ISA C OWNIE

R

eal-world learning is not just a catch phrase used by Minnesota State University, Mankato, it’s a concept that is embraced. Evidence of that can certainly be found in the College of Business where, for three years now, a team of four students has competed in the Kelley School of Business National Diversity Case Competition. The National Diversity Case Competition is a premier event that brings students from colleges and universities across the country to the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University. While they are there, the students attend workshops and networking events, as well as engage in fierce competition. “It is critical for students to have opportunities to shift their orientation from passive recipients of information to active advocates,” says business law professor Wade Davis. “The Diversity Case Competition allows students to put everything they have learned in the classroom to use in a competitive and safe setting. They become the experts in their subject matter, develop an excellent work product, and ultimately take the stage to share their ideas. These types of high-impact learning experiences are transformative because they allow students to step out from behind their classroom desks and become the professionals that they are training to be.” Thirty-five teams from 25 states presented their cases; in the 2017 competition, the Minnesota State Mankato team tied for seventh in the nation. In addition, these talented students connected with recruiters from 21 corporate partners, including Target, GE and Whirlpool. The competition was started six years ago as a way to promote diversity in business. Teams must fit into certain criteria: there

can be only four members, two must be from underrepresented populations, and only one senior is allowed on the team. Team members in the 2017 competition were: Cristian Perez, a marketing major from Young America, Minnesota; Salma Abdelhamid, a corporate finance major from Cairo, Egypt; Othmane Sekkat, a corporate finance major from Marrakech, Morocco; and Connor Martin, an international business major from Chaska, Minnesota. These team members say the experience of preparing for and participating in the competition was beneficial in many ways. It gave them valuable experience in working directly with a topic that is facing companies today. It provided quality networking opportunities for them and allowed them to be ambassadors of diversity as they immersed themselves in the subject and gained a greater understanding of how different aspects of diversity have a large impact in the world of business. Davis says, “It is absolutely critical. Students thrive when they are actively engaged in their education and connected to peers. The Diversity Case Competition, like the forensics team and other activities on campus, are safe places for students to bond with their peers and develop important life skills. Because students compete against others from universities across the nation, they have an extra incentive to push themselves to do their very best. It is one thing to earn an A in a course, it is something completely different to successfully compete against students from an Ivy League school. Without hesitation I would put our students up against students from any other university in the country knowing that we will hold our own and more often than not rise to the top.”

L to R: Cristian Perez, Salma Abdelhamid, Othmane Sekkat, and Connor Martin

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 35


Faculty & Staff Honor Roll John Estall

Joseph Reising

Byron Pike

John Kaliski

Oksana Kim

Claudia Pragman

Associate Professor of Finance Delta Sigma Pi Award: #1 Professor, Business Analytics Certificate Lead Developer, 2017 Outstanding RSO Advisor Award of Delta Sigma Pi

Assistant Professor of Accounting MSSA Teacher of the Year Award, Supplemental Instructor Faculty Lead

Associate Professor of Accounting 2017 Douglas R. Moore Lecturer, 2016-17 College of Business Research Award Recipient

Associate Professor of Management ERP Lead Faculty with Microsoft Dynamics

Associate Professor of Accounting 2017-18 College of Business Research Award Recipient, 2016 Global Citizen Award, Published Book: The Effects and Implications of Kazakhstan’s Adoption of International Financial Reporting Standards

Cheryl Chapman Trahms

Puneet Jaiprakash

Assistant Professor of Management Enactus Advisor, Southern Minnesota Initiative Fund Grant Co-Author

Associate Professor of Finance 2017-18 College of Business Research Award Recipient, Tenured and Promoted to Associate Professor

Kathleen Dale

Christine Brown Mahoney

Associate Professor of Management Delta Sigma Pi Award: Most Caring Professor, New Department of Management Chairperson

Professor of Management 2016-17 College of Business Research Award Recipient, College of Business Research Committee Chair, Tenured and Promoted to Professor

Kirsten Rosacker

Assistant Professor of Accounting VITA Faculty Leader, Beta Alpha Psi (BAP) Founding Chapter Advisor

Kristin Scott

Associate Professor of Marketing 2016 Global Citizen Award, Delta Sigma Pi Award: Most Creative Professor

Other Delta Sigma Pi 2017 awards presented to those outside the College of Business include:

36 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Professor of Management Quality Matters Certification, First MBA Course Certified

Yvonne Cariveau

Assistant Professor of Management Delta Sigma Pi Award: Hardest Working Professor, Director of the new Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Lucas Howk

Internships & External Partnership Coordinator Delta Sigma Pi Award: Best Staff Member Award, Co-Presented at the Midwest Academy of Management conference

Nick Linde Senior Director of Administration, Most School Spirit Robert Simonson Professor of Economics, Funniest Professor Michael Spencer Professor of Economics, Most Enthusiastic


Real-World Research Impact

Congratulations to Retiring Faculty Members

College of Business faculty honored at Annual Research Day B Y BRO OK M . FER EDE

E

ach year faculty, staff and students gather to celebrate fine research lead by faculty in the College of Business. The event, each March, celebrates faculty who are committed to innovative research that makes a difference in the business community. Faculty who demonstrate superior scholarship as evidenced by recent publications in prestigious journals and a consistent record of influential scholarly works are recognized for their scholastic achievements. “Research Day provides faculty the opportunity to present their research to faculty, colleagues and the public,” says Christine Brown Mahoney, professor of management and chair of the research committee. Up to four research awards, approximately $5,000 each, are granted every year to support research activities such as data access, collection and

analysis. The 2017-18 research awards mark the fourth year that the College of Business has presented research excellence awards to its faculty members. The 2016-17 Research Award recipients include faculty members Leon Chen, Ph.D. (Finance), Oksana Kim, Ph.D. (Accounting), Christine Brown Mahoney, Ph.D. (Management) and Byron Pike, Ph.D. (Accounting). The 2017-18 Research Award recipients include faculty members Oksana Kim, Ph.D. (Accounting) and Puneet Jaiprakash, Ph.D. (Finance). “The College of Business research award provides me the time and resources to further pursue my research interests,” says Byron Pike, Associate Professor of Accounting.

Congratulations to the two College of Business retiring faculty members, Dr. Jon Kalinowski and Dr. Jane Baird. Thank you for your years of committed service and passion for developing students into business professionals. Please join us in honoring them as they earn their new title, Professor Emeritus.

Dr. Jon Kalinowski Professor of Management, 33 years

Dr. Jane Baird Professor of Accounting, 24 years

L to R: Leon Chen, Ph.D.; Christine Brown Mahony, Ph.D.; Oksana Kim, Ph.D., ACCA; Byron Pike, Ph.D., CPA. Photo by Amy Linde

CO L L E G E O F B U S IN ES S

RESEARCH DAY

Jon Kalinowski and Jane Baird receiving their retirement gifts from Dean Brenda Flannery at the Retiring Faculty Celebration. Photo by Marisa Milton

M I NN E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 37


Undergraduate Programs Bachelor of Science in Accounting

Minors Accounting

Accounting majors enjoy versatile careers that combine mathematics and logic with frequent interactions with people. Our program prepares you for a career in accounting, including becoming a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) who can work in taxation, auditing, forensic analysis and more. We also offer a Master of Accounting graduate program that fulfills the 150 credit requirements for taking the CPA exam and allows you to advance your career.

Actuarial Science Business Administration Business Law Entrepreneurship & Innovation



Financial Planning

Bachelor of Science in Finance

Human Resource Management

As a Finance major, you’ll choose one of five specialty areas—corporate finance, institutional finance, financial planning and insurance, general finance, and investment analysis—that will prepare you for success as a financial planner, banker, analyst and more. Finance majors are encouraged to enroll in the Maverick Fund course, which provides real-world experience managing investments for the University’s Foundation.

International Business Marketing

Certificates



Bachelor of Science in International

Business

The multidisciplinary International Business major combines business, political science, history, foreign languages and geography to prepare you for a career involving different cultures and different economies. The International Business major equips you with global business skills needed by companies of all sizes practically in all industries. 

Bachelor of Science in Management If you look forward to being a leader, look into our Management major. Our distinct emphases—business management and human resources management—are designed to help you become an organized, effective and efficient leader who is able to work well as part of a team. 

Bachelor of Science in Marketing Marketing allows you to combine creative talents with business skills. You’ll gain a greater understanding of consumer behavior and the role of marketing in moving consumers to act. You’ll learn about contemporary marketing issues, including social media and sustainability, and be ready to work in advertising, retail, sales, market research, logistics and supply chain management.

38 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Business Analytics Certificate

Learn more at cob.mnsu.edu


CFP

®

Certified Financial Planning Program

A professional continuing education program at our Edina campus. The Certified Financial Planner™ is the most highly recognized and respected professional certification among financial service professionals. Employment of personal financial advisors is projected to grow by 32 percent from 2010–2020. CFP® certification is a great way to advance your career. The program is just six courses and takes on average 12 months to complete. Classes are taught in person, meet once per week for four hours and are 12 weeks long.

Program Highlights • • • •

Long history of success, program established in 1997. Our graduates are among the highest CPA exam pass rates in the nation. Access to industry, networks, professionals and career resources. Complete your program at your own pace..... take one or two courses at a time.

Welcome Dan Hiebert, New CFP Director and Assistant Professor of Finance

Dan is a CFP® professional who has been in the financial services industry for more than 20 years. Dan also consults with financial advisors and financial firms on productivity improvements and currently owns a fee-only financial planning firm that specializes in working with closely-held small businesses. Dan blogs on pertinent business valuation topics at beyondvalu.com. Dan earned a BS in Business from Hamline University in St. Paul, Minnesota, a Master of Science in Financial Services from The American College and is currently a doctoral student at The American College pursuing a PhD in Financial Services.

What Graduates Are Saying “Instructors brought a lot of great insight to the classroom.” “Overall the teachers were the highlight of the program.” “Real life experiences from the instructors.”

REGISTER TODAY!

mnsu.edu/cfp 507-389-1094 cfp@mnsu.edu

Center for Talent Development N N E S OTA STAT E U N I VE RSI T Y, M AN KATO / 39 M I NN


NON-PROFIT ORGN. U.S. POSTAGE

PAID

PERMIT NO. 202 MANKATO, MN 56001

Minnesota State University, Mankato College of Business 120 Morris Hall Mankato, MN 56001

bwadv

#mavbiz

40 / C OLLEGE OF BUSIN ES S I N R E V I E W

Shahan’a Chowdhury was a finalist in the Big Ideas Challenge with his website building company, Webytor. Photo by Social Butterfly

In Review Magazine 2017  

The mission of In Review is to inform and to connect the reader to the Minnesota State University, Mankato College of Business community. In...

In Review Magazine 2017  

The mission of In Review is to inform and to connect the reader to the Minnesota State University, Mankato College of Business community. In...

Advertisement