Page 1

MEDIA CONTACT: Marc Kozlin 561-297-1399,

FAU Race Team Returns from 2010 Formula SAE Competition Team Places Second Overall Among Universities in Florida BOCA RATON, FL (May 28, 2010) – Florida Atlantic University’s Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) race team recently returned from competing in the 2010 Formula SAE Competition held in Brooklyn, Michigan. The team made a valiant effort, finishing second overall among all universities in Florida. “The competition allowed us to connect the dots from the theoretical classroom environment to the real world,” said Conor Sullivan, president of the Owls racing team. “The team has future aspirations of a top 10 finish, but we need to expand to find the best talent at FAU. Building a car is not the hard part; it’s all the little details.” The team, comprised of students from FAU’s College of Engineering and Computer Science, brought its latest creation, built over a period of one year, to the competition for judging and comparison with other vehicles from colleges and universities throughout the world. The competition also provided practical experience, helping to prepare the students to effectively work in any group environment. The Formula SAE race competition is intended for SAE student members to conceive, design, fabricate and compete with small formula-style race cars. The restrictions on the car frame and engine are limited; therefore, challenging the knowledge, creativity and imagination of the students. This hands-on approach to learning is valuable to educating students in the College of Engineering & Computer Science at FAU. For more information, contact Marc Kozlin at 561-297-1399 or, or visit About Florida Atlantic University: Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit

Formula SAE Team  

Team Places Second Overall Among Universities in Florida

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you