Page 1

Jingle Bell Doc

dec 9, 11

Jingle Bell Doc with the Minnesota Orchestra Doc Severinsen, conductor and trumpet • Kathy Saltzman Romey, conductor Blaire Reinhard, vocals • Gray Reinhard, vocals and piano Vanessa Thomas, vocals • Minnesota Chorale • Twin Cities Bronze U.S. Bank Pops Season Friday, December 9, 2011, 8 pm Sunday, December 11, 2011, 2 pm

Orchestra Hall Orchestra Hall

The program will be announced from the stage. There will be one intermission.

Doc Severinsen, conductor and trumpet

Kathy Saltzman Romey, conductor

Pops Conductor Laureate Doc Severinsen, the Minnesota Orchestra’s principal pops conductor from 1993 to 2007, has achieved the status of an American icon during his six-decade career as conductor, trumpet soloist and bandleader. He rose to fame as music director of The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson, and he has since conducted and performed with major orchestras throughout the U.S. and Canada.

Kathy Saltzman Romey, artistic director of the Minnesota Chorale since 1995, was named choral advisor to the Minnesota Orchestra in 2004. Next month she will conduct the Chorale and Orchestra in Brahms’ Schicksalsleid and Nänie. Romey is the creative and organizing force behind the Chorale’s programs, including Bridges, which is recognized nationally. She is also director of choral activities at the University of Minnesota as well as principal chorus master for the Oregon Bach Festival Chorus. More:

Severinsen made his Minnesota Orchestra debut in 1965 and in 2003 was featured with the Orchestra in the world premiere of Stephen Paulus’ Double Trumpet Concerto, a work written for Severinsen and Principal Trumpet Manny Laureano. In recent years he has appeared twice at Orchestra Hall with the El Ritmo de la Vida ensemble. With more than 30 albums to his credit, including the Grammywinning Doc Severinsen and the Tonight Show Band— Volume I, he has recorded everything from big band and jazz-fusion to classical works. More:

thank you

Blaire Reinhard, vocals Singer-songwriter Blaire Reinhard performs regularly with her roots rock band, the Blaire Reinhard Band, and records music for films and television shows ranging from The Young and the Restless to So You Think You Can Dance; she also composed and performed the theme to ABC Family’s Lincoln Heights. She was introduced to the music industry at age 9, when Doc Severinsen, her grandfather, invited her to sing Silent Night with him for an album with the Tonight Show Band. More:

With Friday’s concert, we recognize the support of the Deluxe Corporation Foundation.


All materials copyright © 2011 by the Minnesota Orchestra.



Minnesota Orchestra

dec 9, 11

Jingle Bell Doc

Gray Reinhard, vocals and piano

Vanessa Thomas, vocals

Gray Reinhard, based in New York City, is active as a session pianist, composer and studio engineer. In addition to writing music for television and film with his sister, Blaire Reinhard, he is co-founder and recording engineer of Hearsay Productions. He has lent his talents to such programs as The Voice, One Life to Live, Felicity and Making Over America, and was featured on MTV for Dove’s “Fresh Takes” campaign. A Princeton graduate, he is the grandson of Doc Severinsen. More:

Soprano Vanessa Thomas last appeared at Orchestra Hall in June 2011 with Doc Severinsen’s Big Band. She has performed with such notable players as Mike Matheny and Gary Foster, and she was featured in the world premiere of Kirke Mechem’s opera John Brown with Lyric Opera Kansas City. She has also performed with the Lyric Opera Express of Kansas City, and her upcoming engagements include roles in musicals with the New Theatre of Kansas City.


Minnesota Chorale Kathy Saltzman Romey, artistic director Barbara Brooks, accompanist/artistic advisor Profile appears on page 25.



Rebecca Amey Jill H. Apple Sarah Bassett Susan Benjamin Erin Berg Kristi Bergland* Ivy S. Bernhardson Michelle Crottier Julia Frost Tricia Hanson Jennifer Henriksen Janice M. Kolles Juliann Kunkel Jami Lercher Michelle Liebl* Wendy Lukaszewski Randi Lundell Barbara Temme Lundervold Lynn Pauly Elizabeth Pemberton Rebecca Poppke Laura Roller Shari M. Speer* Deborah Croker Treece Eryn Tvete Madeline Veenker Lori Vosejpka Lola R. Watson* Jan Storhoff Weber Allison Wells Jan Wenndt Carole Whitney


Judy Arnstein Shannon Bartlett Summer R. Bielke Deanne Dohrman* Cheryl M. Friedrichs Michelle Hackett Michelle Marie Hoffman Jennifer Lund Jorgens Suzanne Kennedy* Heather Kurtz Miriam Backman Lender Kimberly D. Meisten Cynthia Messer* Louise M. Miner Kate Biederwolf Newby Linda J. Nygren Britta Overbee Erin Rohde Teresa S. Rowe Diane Schroeder Kristen Schweiloch Althea Schaller Sell Tiffany Skidmore Suzanne Wiebusch

Twin Cities Bronze

Monica S. McGowan, artistic and music director Twin Cities Bronze, a frequent participant in holiday concerts with the Minnesota Orchestra and Doc Severinsen, specializes in the music and artistry of English handbells, performing a diverse repertoire year-round using sets of handbells from the U.S., England and the Netherlands. In July 2011 it played the opening night concert at the Handbell Musicians of America National Seminar in Minneapolis. Its additional initiatives include collaborative concerts and a hands-on workshop program, Insights Into Artistry. More: Sharon Barton Alyssa Boock Bill Carlson Philip Holst Christopher Johnson Jeni Jonett Monica S. McGowan


Eric Alman Mark Bergaas Fred Berndt, Jr. Patrick L. Coleman Benjamin G. Cooper Dana M. Dostert Bruce Engelbrekt Kevin H. Gust Robert Kriesel Victor Lund Spike Maiden Müller* Rich Maier David L. Mennicke* Geoff Michael Kevin Navis William G. Opsahl Mark Pladson Scott Sandberg David W. Schwarz Mark L. Trease Robert Wilcox Daniel Zillmann

Martiey Miller Patti Munter Sara Ralston Maggie Sonsteby Beth SummersMinette Bonnie Tranby


Scott Chamberlain Steven J. Dahlberg* James J. D’Aurora Greg Dokken* Allen F. Effenberger David A. Fielding Gary Gardner Matt Johnson* Jon C. Lahann* Arthur LaRue* Gary Thomas Nelson Robin Partch David Peterson Steve Pratt Taylor C. Quinn Peter Robinson-Ferlito Robert Rynkiewicz Bob Simon Rick Treece Russ Vander Wiel Karl Wahoske John Walsh Jr.

* section leader


All materials copyright © 2011 by the Minnesota Orchestra.

Minnesota Orchestra