Page 1

The Most Interesting Animals

Prepared by Nurten FINDIK Alpsencer ÖZDEMİR Muhammed Orhan KEÇECİ

Supervisor Fatma BARLAS

Halicephalobus Mephisto

Halicephalobus mephisto is a species of nematode.

It was discovered by geoscientists Gaetan Borgonie and Tullis Onstott in 2011. It was discovered in deep rock fracture water in gold mines in South Africa about 1 km under the surface of the Earth. High temperature, low oxygen and permanent darkness are no problem for this species of nematode.

Golden Lion Tamarian The family of Golden Lion Tamarin is Callitrichidae. They live in the tropical rain forests in South America. They are only 20 to 36 cm tall but not including tail. They weigh less than 900gr. They have got sharp, curved claws on their toes for gripping tree trunks and branches. They have got silky fur, particularly at the shoulders. They live in family groups. They eat insects, small vertebrates and fruits.

( -leontopithecus-rosalia.html

Gray Whale

The family of Gray Whale is Eschrichtiidae. They live in eastern North Pacific (North American and Asian). Their lenght is 14.9 metres and they weigh 30 tons. They live about 50-70 years. This mammal descended from filter-feeding whales that developed at the beginning of the Oligocene, over 30 million years ago. The gray whale is traditionally placed as the only living species in its genus and family.

Komodo Dragon Komodo Dragons live in the Indonesian islands. They grow about 3 metres length and 100 kilos weight. The Komodo Dragon is the largest living land lizard. Komodo Dragons are both runners and swimmers. They have about 60 razor sharp teeth. Their saliva contains poisonous bacteria. When they bite their preys, their poison doesn’t kill the prey immediately but within 2-3 days. animals/reptiles/? reptile=lizards&animal=komodo_dragon

Morpho Butterfly

Blue Morpho Butterfly is a species of arthropoda. It is one of over 80 species of butterflies in the genus. They are found mostly in South and Central America and Mexico. Its wingspan is between 7.5 cm and 20 cm. The name Morpho, meaning changed or modified, is also an epithet of Aphrodite and Venus.


Cockatoos are large members of the parrot family. They are native in Australia and New Guinea. There are several species. They may be a mix of white, grey, black, rose-pink or red, but the best known is the sulphur-crested cockatoo. They are strong birds and use their beaks to help them to climb. Their height can be about one metre.


Their family is Myrmecobiidae. They are marsupial anteaters. They live in the wild only in a small area in the southwest corner of Australia. They have stripes on their bodies and tapering head. The gentle and squirrel-like numbat grows up to 10 inches (25 cm) long.

African Civet The habitat of African Civet is the Africa continent and especially Sub-Saharan Africa. They live along riverside and they are capable swimmers. They often spend their time hunting and resting in the trees as well as on the ground. They grow about 70 centemetres length and around 4.5 kilos weight. The average life span af them is 15-20 years. African Civet has a special musk which is produced by glands close to its reproductive organs. The most well-known parfumes in the world has the musk of African Civet.

Aye Aye

Jerboa The family of Jerboa is Dipodidae. They live in Northern Africa and Asia east to northern China and Manchuria. It’s called Arabic Rabbit. They generally live in hot deserts. They look like kangroos. They have similarities with kangroos. They have got long hind legs, short forelegs and a long tail. They move by hopping and their tails help them balance their bodies.

Aye aye is a lemur. It has rodent teeth. It is the largest nocturnal primate in the world. It has got a thin and long middle finger. It has got a different method of finding food. It finds the food in the holes of trees.To find the grubs through the holes, it uses its long and thin middle finger. It grows about 2.5 kilos weight and 35 centimetres height. Its life span is between 10 and 23 years.

They can run about 25 kilometres per hour. Most species of them eat plants but some species eat beetles and insects.


King Crab The family of King Crab is Lithodidae.They live in Bering Sea, Aleutian Islands and St. Lawrence Island in Pasific Ocean.

TasmanÄąan Devil The family of Tasmanian devil is dasyuridae. They grow about 6-8 kilos weight and 57-65 centimetres height. Their favourite food is mice.

The red king crab, Paralithodes camtschaticus, is a very large species. Their width can be 28 cm and their leg span can be 1.8 m. Their diet consists of sea stars, urchins, clams, barnacles, and other benthic invertebrates.

King crabs are commercially caught recently so they’re in danger.

Their habitat is forest underbrush. They generally live 5-8 years.They live in Australian island.

Although the Tasmanian devil's closest relative is a kangaroo, the Tasmanian devil has the appearance of a wild dog.

Flashlight Fish

Angler The family of Angler is lophiidae.They live in the Mediterranean Sea, the Marmara Sea, the Aegean Sea, Black Sea in Turkey and in the Atlas Ocean. In the depth of sea they hunt small fishes by giving light in dark. Their body is flat and they have a big head and a big mouth.

The family of Flashlight Fish is Anomalopidae. They are nocturnal fish and live Indo-Pacific Ocean. They have got bioluminescent organs under its eyes. With these organs they attract their preys and evade their predators. Flashlight fish live in caves and crevices by day and rise to depths of 3-20 meters at night to feed. They are about 14 cm long.

They have thorns on their back. One of the thorns is longer than the others. At the top of this thorn they have bacterias which give light. They use that like a line. So they attract their preys with the light and eat. They grow between 40 and 60 cm. Anglers are very delicious.


The Most Interesting Animals

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you