Page 1

published by the cha mber of medford/jackson county

August 2011

Business Review Helping

WACE & OSCC

B usine ss

S u c c e e d

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m i n

Newsmakers Member FYI’s.......................................... 20,21 New Members ............................................. 24 Ask the Coach.............................................. 14

Creating A Strong Economy: Time to Register for the Next Leadership Class, p. 8

e v e r y

i s s u e

Buy Chamber............................................... 26 Calendar of Events ...................................... 17 Visitor Information........................................ 16

Renewing Members................................ 22,23 Ribbon Cuttings...................................... 30,31 Caffeine Buzz............................................7

I t w a s a B L AST !

92nd Excellence in Business Awards, p. 21

Networking: 2011 Midsummer Mixer, p. 18 New Member Profile, p.30 Greeter of the Month, p. 29

Representing Business Issues: Legislature Adjourns, p. 4 Forum Features U.S. Chamber Guest, p. 15

Promoting the Community: Homeless Population on the Rise, p. 19 GEO: An International Resource for Businesses, p. 28

Photos courtesy of Jez Kline

at the Jackson County Fairgrounds and H eld Expo Park for the first time, the Fourth of July

celebration this year was a joint effort of The Chamber, the City of Central Point and the City of Medford, with the Red Robin Restaurant as the primary sponsor. The larger facility and more central location accommodated a record-setting number of attendees—about 3,000 people showed up to enjoy the free activities and to experience the program on stage in the amphitheater. It’s estimated that an additional 5,000 people were also tailgating in the parking lots. Of course, these numbers don’t take into consideration the many gathered in nearby shopping centers, schools and homes for the fabulous display. Although the little over 20-minute fireworks show was the main attraction, the festivities started at 4:30 with children’s face painting, games, musical performances and shows from a magician and Annie the Clown. Crowds were also treated to a spectacular jet flyover and a Presentation of Colors from the Young Marines. Music

from local talent exuded cheers from loyal fans—there was Sheri Parker singing the Star Spangled Banner, the Rogue Suspects, Purple Heart Band and Wicked Effects. Food at the Expo’s concession stands was popular and the line at Umpqua Dairy ice cream stretched a long ways from the entrance! And in a very special presentation, veterans from the Rogue Valley were honored for their service during World War II. Kay Chaffey and Catherine Murphy, both recipients of the Congressional Gold Medal, were some of the first women in American history to fly military aircraft. Several public figures were in attendance for the event, including Mayor Gary Wheeler, Mayor Hank Williams and Oregon Secretary of State Kate Brown. Thanks to our dedicated sponsors and volunteers, Red, White & BOOM was a great success. See you again next year! (Sponsors of this year’s event are listed on page 8.)

Feature sponsor Residential Commercial • Industrial • •

See Ad Inside for Details!

We do that!

Rogue Disposal & Recycling has been providing innovative solid waste solutions for Southern Oregon since 1938. www.roguedisposal.com


2

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

more than 90 years ago,

a community of loggers

Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon

is an Independent Licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association

came up with an innovative idea.

Living was difficult in those days. Births were difficult. Even minor injuries could bankrupt a family. So to help each other survive, each worker contributed to a community fund. That way, medical costs were shared by everyone. That’s how Regence began. Out of necessity and a sense of responsibility for one another. To learn more about Regence and our health plans, please contact: Lance Reyes, Senior Sales Executive (541) 734-8926 or lance.reyes@regence.com

Š 2011. The Regence Group, all rights reserved.

04438_Chamber of JC Biz_rvw_ad.indd 1

4/13/11 1:43 PM


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

3

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

Whatever you need, no matter the size of the job, we have the equipment, the bins and the service to assist you. • Solid Waste Collection • Recycling Collection • Confidential Document Destruction • Large item & extra rubbish removal

Residential - Commercial - Industrial As our valued customer, no matter what you need, you can give us a call and we will be happy to say:

We do that!

Rogue Disposal & Recycling has been providing innovative solid waste solutions for Southern Oregon since 1938.

On-Site

Document Shredding!

Convenient - Cost-Effective - Confidential

Have a question for us?

Call (541) 779-4161 or visit: roguedisposal.com

0708 P029

Business Review

Official Magazine of The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County Your Business Voice For More Than 80 Years Published monthly by: The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County

The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County 101 East 8th Street, Medford, OR 97501 (541) 779-4847 • FAX (541) 776-4808 www.medfordchamber.com business@medfordchamber.com Copyright© 2011 All Rights Reserved

Brad S. Hicks ��������������������� Publisher Fylvia Fowler Kline ��������������� Editor Nicole Richey ��������������������Advertising

Rogue Valley Country Club

Memberships for any age and any family • 27

holes winding through majestic trees Memberships available • Sharpen your golf skills at our deluxe practice facilities for families, singles • Over 50 social events annually and companies • The best dining experience in the valley • Enjoy this summer by our pool • Improve your tennis game on our indoor/outdoor courts

Rogue Valley Country Club 2660 Hillcrest Road • Medford, OR 97504 • 541-772-5965 • www.rvcc.com


4

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

representing business issues The Chamber also works year-round to ensure local elected officials and other decision makers are educated on the impact their actions have on the local economy.

Legislature Adjourns! by John Watt

Oregon Legislature adjourned T heon 2011 June 30, 2011. Though it was a notable

session due to a number of factors, cooperation is the first thing that comes to mind. It has been a long time since Oregonians have seen willingness for policy makers to cooperate in a bipartisan fashion in Salem. But this session was different and one of the reasons was the outcome of the 2010 November elections. Oregon voters sent an equal number of Democrats and Republicans to the House of Representatives. In the Senate, led by Senate President Peter Courtney, only one vote separated Republicans from Democrats. After the contentious 2009 session, when one party had a super majority in both houses, this was a welcome development. CoSpeakers Bruce Hanna (R-Roseburg) and Arnie Roblan (D-Coos Bay) were elected to lead the House of Representatives. They selected Co-Chairs for every House committee. Southern Oregon was well represented when Peter Buckley (D-Ashland) and Dennis Richardson (R-Central Point) were tapped by their leadership to represent the House as Co-Chairs on the powerful budget-writing Joint Ways & Means Committee, with Sen. Bruce Devlin (D-Lake Oswego) representing the Senate. Few capital insiders predicted the effect of this forced cooperation. Throughout the session, members of both parties rose above partisan differences to fairly debate virtually all the important issues the state was facing. A great deal

of credit also goes to Governor John Kitzhaber, who worked with legislators in an open and bipartisan manner. Every ten years a census is taken and new district lines are drawn to reflect the change in the country’s population. Historically, neither political party has been able to agree where those boundary lines should be drawn and the process has been handled by the Secretary of State or the courts. For the first time in decades, the legislative body agreed on drawing new lines for Oregon’s legislative and congressional districts. Following are some of the positive actions that came out of the 2011 Oregon Legislative Session: • The legislature balanced the state budget without raising taxes, even though Oregon is slowly recovering from the Great Recession, tax collections are running lower than expected and unemployment numbers are very high. Prioritized spending was a key to success when analyzing agency budgets. Due to a move away from current service level budgeting and toward long term budgeting, Oregonians should see sustainable budgets in the future. • Oregon businesses can now access federal tax incentives to make capital equipment purchases due to the passage of SB 301, which reconnects Oregon to the federal tax code. • Education reform efforts by the 2011 Oregon legislature may be the signature

accomplishment of the session. The Prosperity Project was particularly pleased with the passage of enhanced Career and Technical Education. • Healthcare Efforts included the passage of a Health Insurance Exchange—SB 99—that is market-based and met the principles of the Prosperity Project. The legislature made the best out of a tough situation with this bill. • SB 766 accomplished two important goals for land zoned for industrial use: It speeds up permitting processes for industrial projects on this land and protects this land from conversion to other uses or unnecessary overlays and restrictions. • HB 2700 fixed a major regulatory nightmare for obtaining permits for linear facilities like transportation corridors and transmission lines. Oregon is now open for investment in these projects. By a vote of the people last November, the legislature will convene annual sessions for the first time in history. The legislature meets again in February 2012 for a 35-day session. The topic of that short session should be primarily focused on the budget for the second year of the biennium and the state of Oregon’s economy. John Watt is the managing partner of John Watt and Associates, a government relations firm.


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

5

No other hospital in our region has more heart experience.

1993


6

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

The Chamber is excited to invite all member businesses to participate in the Chamber Discount Card Program! This free advertising program is sponsored by The Chamber. It’s easy to sign up and designed to bring you new customers.

Automotive Bob Thomas Automotive Dick's Wrecker Service Expert Tire Kelly's Automotive Service Meineke Car Care Rogue Automotive

Medical Delia Smith Physical Therapy, PC Katzen Orthodontics Professional Services Fast Fix Jewelry Repair Finish Line Real Estate, LLC Gerry Katz Photography Gill’s Indoor Air Quality, Inc. Jackson County Video and Alarm Specialists Kathleen Hoevet Photography Pamela Wilmoth, ASID Interior Design Signs Now Spring Air Heating & Cooling, Inc. Sundance Signs The Green Book Top Notch Cleaning, LLC

Catering Sunrise Cafe & Catering Entertainment and Leisure Bear Creek Golf Course Dance Arts Center Eagle Point Golf Course Kid Time! Discovery Experience Laurel Hill Golf Course Orange Torpedo Trips Rogue Rock Gym The Oregon Vortex The Rrrink Health and Beauty Aspire Personal Training Avamere Health and Fitness Club Elite Power & Fitness King Aesthetics Regis Salon Sanctus Salon Take Shape For Life-Weightbusters for Life, LLC Total Massage Therapy-Eric Hawkins

Restaurants Dairy Queen - South Medford Gaetano Ristorante Italiano Golden Wok Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant Habaneros Mexican Restaurant Papa Murphy’s Pita Pit Pretzelmaker Roxy Ann Lanes Togo’s Great Sandwiches Shopping Alpacas at Lone Ranch

Ashley Furniture & Beds For Less Diamond Wireless Exercise Equipment of Oregon Gurrlie Girl Jim Wise Golf Shop Judy’s Central Point Florist & Gift Little Feet Children’s Shoes Master Stitch Pendragon Crafts Quality Consignment Refashion Consignment Shop Silpada Designs Teddy Bear Creations The Hot Tub Man Urban Minx Valley Sewing & Vacuum

Wild Birds Unlimited Wine Shop at Home

Travel & Accommodations Ashland Springs Hotel Bybee’s Historic Inn Cobblestone Cottages Bed & Breakfast Edgewater Inn Lithia Springs Resort Morrison’s Rogue River Lodge Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek Running Y Ranch Resort The McCall House Bed & Breakfast Touvelle House Bed & Breakfast Under the Greenwood Tree

Sign Up Today! 608-0882 Contact Us and Get (888) Merchant@ChamberDiscountCard.com Started Today! www.ChamberDiscountCard.com

Shop Local. Benefit Local.™


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

Caffeine Buzz

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

7

Aug 2011

G+ is here. I am going to give the stage to one of my pack, Bobby Kaufmann. I’ve been using G+ for little over a week now. And the more I use it, the more I absolutely love it. It seems like every day I think of a different way to tweak G+ to fit my social needs. Not all my friends and family share my enthusiasm, though. That being said, here are some G+ features I really enjoy and others that I think could evolve into something special. Stream Stream is very similar to Most Recent or Top News on Facebook. This is where you can see a Stream of information flowing to you. One of the things that make this different from Facebook is that it’s real time—The information automatically updates your Stream as it comes in. With Facebook, you need some sort of interaction with the page before it refreshes, even if it’s just moving the mouse over the active page. But, where Stream really shines is in its comments. I just saw +Mark Cuban make a post on G+ with a picture attached and the comments started coming in at real time, under his post. Being part of real time conversations with people all over the world is amazing! One of the things that annoy me about Facebook is the need to refresh a post or my wall to see updated comments. Using the Mark Cuban reference, your Stream can get a little overwhelming when so many people reply at once. But, if you utilize your Circles, it really isn’t that bad. Also, if a post you’re following is clogging up your Stream so much that it becomes annoying, you can “Mute This Post” to remove it from your Stream. Circles Circles is something totally new to social networking. When I first signed up for G+ I thought of Circles as a group of people with whom to share. While Circles can be used simply as a way to keep in touch with others, it can also be a powerful tool to keep your social networking life organized. Let’s compare Circles to twitter--My twitter timeline can get very convoluted. I follow roughly 100 people ranging from sports personalities, tech nerds, friends, news, politics, etc. Now with G+ I can create my Circles using these categories. I can then fill these categorized Circles with the appropriate people. When I look at my Stream, I just click on the Circle related to Tech Nerds, for example, and see what’s going on with +Kevin Rose, +Tom Anderson, +Mike Elgan etc. Being able to choose which specific Circle I want to catch up on, without being distracted by unrelated news such as what’s going on in Iran, is so convenient. Just like you can follow/like on twitter/Facebook Pages, with G+ you can also put people into your own Circles without accepting a friend request. What G+ does differently with that feature is with the “Incoming” Stream. When you click the incoming Stream, you can see what’s going on with people who are following you, but whom you are not following. Hang Out I’ll be honest. At first this new feature didn’t seem that cool to me, and I didn’t think I’d ever use it. But, after using it, I began thinking outside the box and utilizing it to fit my life. First, this is probably the best video conferencing software out there; and it’s totally free. You can Hang Out with up to 10 other people. If you make it a Public Hang Out, anyone can join or you can choose to invite one person or a Circle of people to join your Hang Out. The reaction I’ve gotten the most is “Well, I can do that with Skype.” Well, yes you can, but it will cost you about 9 bucks a month. Newt Gingrich just had a public Hang Out (you can see it on YouTube now) and it was really cool watching people come in, ask questions and interact with someone so high profile. Also, this can be awesome in the workplace. Our company has employees all over the state and, at times, all over the country. Coordinating a staff meeting is a pain, trying ooVoo, Skype, the Kinect. With Hang Out, having a quick Helix staff meeting is a snap. You can also watch YouTube clips together in sync and have a chat session going at the same time. Probably not something I will use much, but it’s a pretty cool concept. Also, when I want a face to face with a customer, odds are I don’t have their Skype username; but I most certainly have their email address! This makes it simple to invite them to my video conference ... er ... Hang Out. Sparks Sparks is still a work in progress. I relate it most to having an RSS feed on your Stream page. You create Sparks or interests such as Android, iPhone, Portland Trailblazers, etc. Clicking on that Spark, populates your Stream page with related articles. For example, I clicked on my Portland Trailblazer Spark and was given the articles NBA Free Agency 2011: Should the Trail Blazers Sign Carl Landry? and The History of the Portland Trail Blazers: The Drexler Era Part 1. I use my Sparks quite a bit to help me stay current on news. continued @ www.helixinc.com/blog

ASANTE�WORK�HEALTH

Good health is good for business. Worker wellness programs can make a positive impact on productivity as well as employee morale, recruiting, and the community. Asante Work Health is your partner in building a healthy workforce—and a stronger bo�om line. For more information about Asante Work Health services visit our web site at www.asanteworkhealth.org or call ���������-����. ��WORK���


8

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

LEADERSHIP

Talk to us about: • Automobile

• network with and develop long-term business relationships with others in the class.
 • examine the major business sectors that contribute to the vibrancy and growth of Southern Oregon.
 • participate in finding creative and insightful solutions to community needs.
 • enhance the skills needed to become a decision maker and leader in your community. • discover how you and your organization can make a positive impact within your business interactions.

2 0 1 1

Peace of mind from people you trust.

• Homeowner’s

Where one day of the month, eight months of the year, you will

A u g u s t

• Individual Life and Health • Group Benefit Planning • Business Insurance

More options. Local relationships. When you talk to the agents of Western States Insurance, you’ll discover people you know and trust. You may have met us volunteering for the Chamber or coaching a Little League team. We’re involved in the community we share and we’re committed to taking care of the families and futures of our neighbors. At Western States, you’ll hear better questions, get better answers and find better value. Jay Christensen Commercial Insurance

Rob Swallow Personal Insurance

Scott Sherbourne, Branch Manager 38 N Central Avenue • Suite 100 Medford, OR 97501 541-779-1321 • www.wsi-insurance.com/medford

Your Leadership Contact: Fylvia@MedfordChamber.com

541-608-8520

The 2011 Red White & BOOM was Made Possible by These Generous Sponsors! PLATINUM PRESENTING SPONSOR Red Robin Restaurant

GOLD SPONSORS

SILVER SPONSORS

Charter Communications Croman Corporation  KOBI - TV  KTVL - TV  KDRV - TV  Opus Broadcasting  People’s Bank of Commerce  Radio Medford  Sherm’s Food 4 Less  Southern Oregon Audio Visual 

America’s Best Kids Avista Utilities Bennett Financial Group Boise CenturyLink KFBI TV KOGAP Lithia Motors Umpqua Dairy

Additionally, there were ten Bronze sponsors and three Patriot sponsors.


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

ENGINEERS

Eric Maxwell, Owner Papillon Rouge and La Strada Boutiques

At Papillon Rouge, personal style is our passion. We select fashions from all over the world to achieve the right look for any occasion. Thankfully, we can count on HomeFed to outfit our business with the perfect combination of commercial banking solutions to help us reach our financial goals.

Call your local Home Federal Bank today!

My Boutique. My Designer Trends. My HomeFed.

Medford North Medford South Grants Pass Downtown Grants Pass South

(541) 779-1141 (541) 858-5180 (541) 479-8383 (541) 956-6322

MyHomeFed.com

9


1 0

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

Pacific Power Celebrates Copco and Southern Oregon was the California Oregon Power Medford got its first electric service in 1894 from displays were a common sight until they were C opco Company. The name says it all. It was about a small, wood-burning steam plant near Bear discontinued at the outbreak of World War II.

this region—about bringing modern conveniences to local citizens, about helping grow the local economy and about making a difference in local communities. It’s still about that. This summer marks 50 years since the merger of Pacific Power and Copco, which was headquartered in Medford, where it served more than 100,000 customers in Southern Oregon and Northern California.

Creek operated by Medford Electric Company. That company was purchased by the City of Medford in 1900, and then bought by a Copcopredecessor company in 1907.

Consolidation of local electric companies continued, with incorporation in late 1911 of the California-Oregon Power Company, later known as the “hyphen company.” The local Copco—the hyphen company— was purchased in 1921 by another Copco, this one without a hyphen in its name, based in San Francisco and formed in 1920. Headquarters moved to Medford in late 1921.

Copco was founded in Early 1900s: Linemen from Ashland 1911 and would have turned 100 years old this year, while Pacific Copco helped Southern Oregon and Northern Power celebrated its centennial just last year. “It’s California prosper by investing in generation, an honor to look back on a century of service transmission and distribution resources to and to celebrate a company like Copco,” said meet growing needs. Some of this increased Pat Reiten, Pacific Power president. “A lot has demand was driven by the company’s storefront changed, but many things haven’t—commitment displays of modern electrical appliances. Their to customers, working to maintain strong communities, investing for growing electric needs. These priorities started with Copco and continue today.” To recognize the milestone, Pacific Power leaders attended the annual Copco retiree picnic on June 18 in Grants Pass, and participated in a June 16 reception at the Copco Library at Medford’s Rogue River Valley University Club. Copco traces its roots back to 1882. It started out like most utilities of the time, with small generating stations serving local mills, then branching out to street lights, local homes and businesses. These small generators banded together over time, helping reduce overall costs and making it easier to handle the enormous investment needed to bring reliable, 24-hour electric service to the region.

1910” Medford Electric Light Plant on Bear Creek. The barnlike building contained two steam pumps for city water from a 30-foot diameter well at the creek bank. This facility provided Medford with its first electric service from a small, wood-burning steam plant originally owned by R. A. Proudfoot. It was purchased by the City of Medford in 1900, and operated by the city until 1907 when it was purchased by Condor Water and Power Company. That same year Condor properties are deeded over to Condor’s subsidiary, the Rogue River Electric Company.

The post-war boom put heavy demand on electric power in the area, and in 1947 Copco spent almost $3 million on new capital additions to serve a record number of new customers. Copco found innovative approaches to address the need for more electricity. One of its major accomplishments was the construction of the

1911: Interior of the Rogue River Electric Company in Medford, which changed names twice that year. In August it was acquired by Siskiyou Electric Power and Light Company and later that year, all SEP&L Company properties were consolidated into the formation of Copco.

eight-project North Umpqua hydroelectric system, a nationally-acclaimed engineering feat built between 1947 and 1956 in the rugged, steep canyons of the Cascades. When the Big Bend hydro project, later renamed J.C. Boyle, was completed in 1958 on the Klamath River, Copco had built 10 hydro plants and associated transmission lines and facilities during the 10-year period between 1949 and 1958. This increased Copco’s generating capacity almost three-fold. Still, it wasn’t enough. While demand for electricity continued to increase, options for inexpensive hydropower were becoming scarce. The 1961 merger of Copco and Pacific Power helped both companies band together to meet the region’s growing hunger for electricity. With the merger, Pacific Power increased the total number of customers served from 318,000 to 411,000


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

1 1

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

innovation, and those who led Copco went on to lead Pacific Power into its next phase of growth. This is seen in the legacy of Glen Jackson, longtime Copco officer. Jackson served as Pacific Power chairman of the board while also guiding Oregon through an unprecedented expansion of the state’s freeway and bridge system as the 20-year chair of the Oregon Transportation Commission.

1927: Copco began selling electric appliances and using storefront displays to advertise them.

This is also seen in the engineering expertise of John C. Boyle. In his 53-year career with Copco and Pacific Power, Boyle oversaw the engineering and construction of most of the area’s hydroelectric facilities still serving customers today, including the North Umpqua hydroelectric system.

and almost doubled its hydroelectric generating capacity, from 590 to 1,000 megawatts. Remarkably, no employees were laid off during the merger. The people at Copco were also the people who met the needs and provided leadership in the local communities—whether it involved helping with War Bond drives, leading local school funding efforts, steering new businesses to town or helping orient the entire state. Copco built a culture of community leadership and

system and make the necessary investments to ensure we can provide our customers with the reliable, safe and low-cost electricity they’ve expected ever since Copco first turned the lights on,” Reiten said. “We are proud to share the legacy of Copco, and it has been our privilege to have had a role in helping this region grow and prosper. We look forward to a bright future together.” Pacific Power is headquartered in Portland, and provides electric service to more than 730,000 customers in Oregon, Washington and California. It is part of PacifiCorp, one of the lowest-cost electricity producers in the United States, providing 1.7 million customers with value for their energy dollar and safe, reliable electricity. With a generating capability of more than 10,620 megawatts from coal, hydro, gasfired combustion turbines and renewable wind and geothermal power, the company works to meet growing energy demand while protecting and enhancing the environment. For more information, visit pacificpower.net.

Late 1940s: Camp set up to build the North Umpqua hydro facilities.

It’s been 50 years since Copco and Pacific Power merged, but the Copco presence remains in communities throughout Southern Oregon and Northern California. It’s in the name of a hydroelectric plant and a substation. It’s also part of the local fiber. “There have been few mergers where people still feel so strongly about a company 50 years later. That says a lot,” said Reiten. “It’s vital to honor such rich history, and we’re proud to be a part of the Copco legacy, even as we look forward to the future.” Today, Pacific Power is again in a period of heavy investment. “Policies have changed, and costs have certainly changed, but the underlying principles haven’t. We will continue to manage our

1964: Crews installing new pole in Medford.

1929: New transmission being built.

Safe, reliable service. Guaranteed. © 2010 Pacific Power

planning for the future

Our seven customer service guarantees – from restoring your power to keeping appointments – are just some of the ways we show our commitment to you. Find out more at pacificpower.net.


1 2

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

Exciting Changes in Accounting by Jason Lukaszewicz

exciting might be too strong a word, but there are some potentially O kay, significant changes on the horizon in the world of accounting. You

might be asking why you should care. These changes will be of relevance to you when business partners such as bankers, investors, vendors or insurers ask you for financial statements in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles/GAAP.

So, what exactly is GAAP? These are accounting standards issued by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), a not-for-profit organization recognized as the authority on accounting standards in the United States. There are two significant movements relating to GAAP: private company financial reporting and international convergence. A Blue Ribbon Panel, chaired by Rick Anderson, CEO of Moss Adams LLP, recently recommended that there should be differences in GAAP for private companies versus public companies. There has been a lot of discussion about this in the business world over the years. A lot of complex accounting standards have been developed in response to the perceived needs of public

Certified Public Accountants Business Consultants

mOss AdAms

symPOsium

Join Moss Adams LLP and other financial professionals for appetizers, wine, and a complimentary seminar covering: • • • •

Interstate tax issues Emerging topics in human resources Efficiencies in manufacturing Business owner succession strategies

EdenVale Winery in Medford, Oregon Wednesday, September 28, 2011 | 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m. RSVP by September 13 at www.mossadams.com/ORsymposium Turtle Bay Exploration Park in Redding, California Thursday, September 29, 2011 | 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m. RSVP by September 13 at www.mossadams.com/CAsymposium

companies and often in response to major accounting scandals such as Enron and WorldCom. But do these standards make sense for private companies? Do your bankers or other financial statement users care about variable interest entities or fair value levels 1 through 3? Does it make sense to incur the time and cost to address these GAAP issues if the users of the financial statements are going to disregard the results? This is the primary driver behind differences in GAAP for private companies. International convergence relates to the FASB’s attempt to merge U.S. accounting standards closer to international financial reporting standards (IFRS). Along the way, both sets of standards have been going through a makeover with possible significant changes relating to lease accounting, recognition of revenue and even the look of the standard balance sheet and income statement. The end result of this process may be scrapping US GAAP and the adoption of IFRS. While there are numerous similarities between US GAAP and IFRS, there are also some differences, such as the prohibition of LIFO inventory costing under IFRS. In general, IFRS is said to be principlesbased while US GAAP is rules-based. As noted, these changes could significantly alter the appearance of your financial statements. Starting to discuss these issues with your financial statement readers now can reduce confusion and frustration later. Regardless of these changes, communication among the readers of your financials, your accountant and yourself will ensure that your financials are meeting the needs of those to whom you provide them and that you are fairly presenting the financial position, results of operations and cash flows of your company. Jason Lukaszewicz is a CPA and partner at Moss Adams LLP.

FO

Yo u

RU

M

r B A monthly event, usin ess October through June, Lin k the Forum provides attendees with knowledgeable speakers, a delicious lunch and networking opportunities. Host an event, sponsor a table or purchase a season pass. For more information contact Fylvia: 541-608-8520; Fylvia@MedfordChamber.com


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

1 3

c r e at i n g a s t r o n g e c o n o m y The Chamber is dedicated to helping local companies grow their businesses by taking the lead in programs and efforts that help create a strong local economy and make our community a great place to do business.

ch a m b e r l e a d e r s h i p

net presence

2010-2011 Chamber Board of Directors Chair of the Board: Randy Jones, Veranda Park Retirement Living Chair Elect: Curt Bennett, Bennett Group Past Chair: Bruce Hoevet, Rogue Regency Inn & Suites Treasurer: Kathy Peckham, U.S.Bank Secretary: Dixie Hackstedde, Realtor President & CEO: Brad S. Hicks Vice Chairs: Creating A Strong Economy: Kingsley Kelley, KTVL-TV Promoting the Community: Bill Maentz, 5 O’ Clock Marketing Group Networking: David Wright, CPM Real Estate Services Representing Business Issues: Curt Burrill, Burrill Real Estate Facilities: Stephen Gambee, Rogue Disposal & Recycling, Inc.

Board of Directors

Curt Bennett, Bennett Group Steve Braden, Umpqua Bank Curt Burrill, Burrill Resources Mike Crennen, Knife River Materials Sid DeBoer, Lithia Motors Carol Flinn, Rogue Valley Physicians Stuart Foster, Foster Denman, LLP Stephen Gambee, Rogue Disposal & Recycling, Inc. Dixie Hackstedde, Windemere Van Vleet Tom Hanenburg, Providence Medford Medical Group Brad Hicks, The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County Bruce Hoevet, Rogue Regency Inn & Suites Randy Jones, Veranda Park Retirement Living Kingsley Kelley, KTVL – TV Dan Kosmatka, Kosmatka Donnelly & Co. LLP John Larkin, Roxy Ann Lanes Bill Maentz, 5 O’Clock Marketing Group Bob Mayers, Adroit Construction Company Mike Mastroni, Beecher Carlson Insurance Brian McQuade, Umpqua Dairy Monte Mendenhall, Pacific Power Gary Miller, ACCESS, Inc. Kathy Peckham, U.S. Bank Gene Pelham, Rogue Federal Credit Union Barry Robino, Grange Co-Op Steve Vincent, Avista Utilities Mark Von Holle, S&B James Construction David Wright, CPM Real Estate Services

ConnectForLunch is one of the most affordable and effective ways to grow your business and to make new friends and valuable contacts-all while you’re enjoying lunch. To learn more, visit: ConnectForLunch online. ConnectForLunch is just another way that The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County is “Helping Business Succeed.”

Business Productivity Through Technology www.medfordchamber.com

Working for you! June 2011 Total Visits (Google Analytics)

4,715

Page Views (Google Analytics)

15,588

Total Referrals (Weblink Connect) 555,733

Top Categories Searched (Weblink Connect) 1

#

2

#

#

#

4

#

Working for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. www.medfordchamber.com

3

5

Economic Development Employment Agencies-Permanent Restaurants Entertainment Hospitals

The Chamber’s website is designed to better meet the needs of our member businesses, the community and visitors. www.medfordchamber.com


1 4

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

a s k t h e c o a ch

Would a Disaster Bring Out the Best in You? Advice from America’s Marketing Coach,™ Mark Dennett, exclusively for Chamber members. If you have a question you would like answered, please send it to: askthecoach@ medfordchamber.com

QUESTION: How well do you think the Oregon Shakespeare Festival has dealt with the closing of the Bowmer Theatre? ~ Martha, Ashland

THE COACH - I think the worldrenowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF) has done an outstanding job in dealing with a significant business challenge. When OSF discovered a major structural problem that would compel them to close down their largest indoor theater during peak season, this award-winning, regional theater company could have panicked, especially since it all happened when the senior management team was out of town attending a conference. But instead of panicking, company leadership, actors, support staff, volunteers and theater patrons came together to make the best of a bad situation. Using an old military armory, a small college theater, Medford’s Craterian Theater and a giant tent, the company and its patrons have been working together to deal with a highly stressful situation because “the show must go on.” Is your company equipped to handle a major crisis? In my book, I emphasize the importance of

having policies in place to handle unforeseen crises and how this correlates to customer satisfaction. Loyalty programs such as frequent flyer miles testify to the critical need for rewarding and supporting customers. I find it curious that companies often would rather spend money on attracting new customers than on current customers are satisfied. Most companies simply don’t place enough value on keeping their customers happy. The only real business asset you have is a satisfied customer. Great employees, wonderful facilities, a top-rated product or even a commitment to excellence mean little when you don’t have a satisfied customer. It is clear that OSF has spent more than 75 years creating satisfied customers. Do you have a relationship with your customers that would make them a partner in solving a potential business disaster? It is obvious that OSF built that connection.

Passion. Innovation. Accountability.

541.772.1111 707 Murphy Road, Medford OR 97504 Mike Mastroni

Barbara Pinkham


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

1 5

representing business issues The Chamber also works year-round to ensure local elected officials and other decision makers are educated on the impact their actions have on the local economy.

Final Forum Features U.S. Chamber Guest last Forum presentation of the T he2010-2011 season was sponsored by

such as control over government spending. To illustrate the issue of government spending, The Chamber Board of Directors, with guest Anderson pointed out that when historically speaker Stanton Anderson of the U.S. Chamber the revenues have been 18% of the GDP, of Commerce. this year they have been 15%. Expenditures this year have been 25% of GDP when they have historically been 21%. This structural deficit, Anderson said, has been growing while contributing to our problem with the debt ceiling.

Beginning with an overview of how and why the Campaign for Free Enterprise is designed to be non-partisan and long-term, Anderson emphasized the two major goals of the Campaign: to educate youth to understand the free enterprise system and to create more job opportunities. In a society where the average 10-year-old spends 8 hours a day on electronic devices, communication tools used by the Campaign have to be unique and effective. To compensate for the recession we have experienced, an estimated 20 million new jobs need to be created over the next 10 years. In a business environment where workers are more expensive than equipment, unemployment is a challenging issue for the U.S. Chamber.

So how do we decrease spending and increase revenue? Andersen feels it is a difficult, longterm problem. Corporations are reluctant to give up subsidies or deductions and individuals are reluctant to give up Social Security or Medicare. He suggests we modify corporate deductions and broaden individual tax codes so that more people pay taxes at a lesser rate, thereby closing the gap between those who pay income tax and those who either don’t or receive money back from the government. The U.S. Chamber of Commerce is of the firm opinion that a comprehensive tax reform will solve the problem effectively and equitably and predicts that we will see changes within the next couple of years.

In 1971 there were 7,000 federal regulations; today there are 169,000, with an annual cost of about 1.7 trillion dollars. This results in the average cost of compliance per employee of a Anderson presented two philosophies that exist small business to about job creation. In the first, the government be about $10,000. New regulations “primes the pump” using means such as are constantly being accelerating mortgage modification programs made. For example, and re-inflating the economy. In the second, the national labor key underlying issues are addressed. The U.S. license board has about Chamber strategizes ways to address issues

100 new regulations pending that the U.S. Chamber feels would be disadvantageous to businesses and labor unions. Anderson went on to illustrate the U.S. Chamber’s stand on other issues. In a world where 95% of consumers live outside the United States, often in countries with a closed economy, the U.S. Chamber supports open markets, the passing of agreements with other countries to facilitate open markets and the enforcement of these agreements. Where the development of projects for renewable sources of energy have been impeded by Congress, the U.S. Chamber feels it is imperative to have our own energy sources, especially in a climate where we get 40% of our oil from sources that could be cut off at any time. In spite of the seemingly wide gap between the present and the ideal environment for the growth and sustainability of small businesses and their employees, Anderson is encouraged by the positive attitude he witnesses among representatives and lawmakers that fosters honest debate about these issues. And he is just as positive about finding solutions.


1 6

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

c r e at i n g a s t r o n g e c o n o m y The Chamber is dedicated to helping local companies grow their businesses by taking the lead in programs and efforts that help create a strong local economy and make our community a great place to do business.

visitors & convention bureau w w w. v i s i t m e d f o r d . o r g

Dust off Your Running Shoes

Matching Grants from Travel Oregon

Crater Lake Rim Run

T

he Oregon Tourism Commission is pleased to announce the opening of the 2011-2012 Matching Grants Program for investment in travel and tourism organizations across the state. The grant program is part of Travel Oregon’s tourism development mission to assist Oregon communities and organizations in the creation, enhancement and implementation of quality tourism plans and products. Cities, counties, port districts, federally recognized tribes and non-profit entities located in Oregon and involved with tourism promotion and development are eligible for grants from the Matching Grants Program. Applicants must equally match the amount of the awarded grant with up to 50% of the match in kind. Each applicant may request a minimum of $1,000 and up to $10,000 in grant funds, with a limit of one grant project request per cycle.

V

oted one of the most beautiful lakes in the world by Budget Travel, Crater Lake is gearing up to host the 36th Annual Crater Lake Rim Runs and Marathon on August 13, 2011. There are several runs to choose from--the 6.7-mile route that you can run or walk, the 13-mile run or the marathon. This beautiful and challenging course is along the rim of Crater Lake with altitudes ranging from 5,980 to 7,850 feet above sea level. The participant limit of 500 fills up quickly. So, register now to ensure your spot. Find more information and registration details at visitmedford.org

Rogue Run Half Marathon

The deadline for completing the online electronic application is August 22, 2011. More information and the application can be found online. Several steps need to be completed before an application can be submitted online. These are covered in detail in the Grant Guidelines, but other deadlines to mark on your calendar include: • August 8: Last day to contact your Destination Marketing Organization (DMO) and Regional Destination Marketing Organization (RDMO) about your Grant Project idea. • August 10: Last day to submit your Grant Project Idea Worksheet to Travel Oregon. New components to this year’s application include: •

The grant application form and the grant-supporting documents need to be combined and uploaded as a single PDF. (Documents were uploaded separately in the past.).

The deadline to submit a grant project idea to your DMO and RDMO is earlier than the deadline to submit your grant project idea to Travel Oregon. This is to give the DMOs and RDMOs extra time to review project ideas.

A preliminary budget is required as part of the Grant Project Ideas Worksheet.

If you have questions, please contact Michelle Woodard, Industry Relations Liaison at Grants@TravelOregon.com or 503.378.8850. All applicants are required to contact their DMO and RDMO, and submit the grant project idea worksheet by August 8.

T

he inaugural race of The Rogue Run Half Marathon will be on September 25, 2011. The entire half marathon will take place along the Bear Creek Greenway beginning at Lyn Newberry Park in Talent and ending at the Jackson County Fairgrounds in Central Point. Participants can enjoy running the full course on asphalt without the hassle of battling traffic or intersections. The finish line of the race leads participants right into the entrance of Jackson County’s Harvest Festival and Microbrew Festival, featuring events such grape stomping, draft horse pulls, crafts, live entertainment and much more. A perfect ending place to well deserving runners! Find more information and registration details at visitmedford.org For information on many more events throughout the Rogue Valley, check out visitmedford.org.


A u g u s t

1 7

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 0 1 1

2011

Calendar of Events

For a complete listing of events visit: w

ww.VisitMe

August 2011 Sunday

Monday 1

Tuesday 2

Join us on

Wednesday 3

8

4

Friday 5 Opening Night Champagne Picnic - Britt Festivals 6:00pm

Britt Orchestra - James Ehnes@ Britt SO. Speedway - 6 pm

Club 101 - New Member Briefing 9:00am - Chamber Conf. Rm

Legislative Action Team 7:30am - R.V. Country Club

Comedy Night @ Chadwicks

Champion Raceway - 6 pm

Concerts in the Park - 7:00 pm

Comedy Night @ Chadwicks

Greeters 8:00am - RoxyAnn Gem & Mineral

9

10

11 Rogue Valley Growers & Craft Mkt Medford Armory - 8:30am-1:30pm

12

13

Britt Orchestra / Time for Three

Crater Lake Rim Run Movies in the Park - Toy Story 3 Britt Orchestra / Sharon Isbin

Comedy Night @ Chadwicks Champion Raceway - 6 pm

21 Britt Orchestra - Christopher O’Riley

15

22 World of Wine

28

TRADCO Mtg 12:00 Medford Library

Chamber Executive Comm. Mtg 7:30am - Chamber Conf. Rm

16

17

18

Concerts in the Park 7:00pm - “Jakob Martin”

Rogue Valley Growers & Craft Mkt Medford Armory - 8:30am-1:30pm

Chamber Board of Director’s Mtg 7:30am - R.V. Country Club VCB Advisory Comm. Mtg 3:30pm - HEC Bldg

Greeters 8:00am - Boys/Girls Club - 3275 Ave. G White City Chamber PAC Mtg 3:00 pm - Chamber Conf. Rm. Mid Summer Mixer 5:00pm - Roxy Ann Winery

23 World of Wine

24 World of Wine

Greeters 8:00 am - Royal Oak Retirement Community 2180 Poplar Dr.

29 Cheap Trick @ Britt Festivals

30

19 3rd Friday Art Walk Festival Favorites / Britt Orchestra Comedy Night @ Chadwicks Champion Raceway - 6 pm

25

26 Bill Maher @ Britt Festivals

Greeters 8:00am - South Valley Bank & Trust - 600 Biddle Rd.

**Ribbon Cutting 7:00am** Kids Spree - JC Penney - RV Mall **Ribbon Cutting 10:00am** Medford Food Co-op 945 S Riverside

Rogue Valley Growers & Craft Mkt Medford Armory - 8:30am-1:30pm World of Wine

Aimee Mann / The Weepies @ Britt Festivals

Contemporary Autos of Southern Oregon Event 34th Annual Friendship Meet

6

Rogue Valley Growers & Craft Mkt Medford Armory - 8:30am-1:30pm

Concerts in the Park 7:00pm - “Kris Orlowski & Dawn Mitschele”

14

Saturday

Concerts in the Park-7:00pm “Musician’s Friend Jam”

Visit Medford Oregon

7

Thursday

dford.o rg

20 Aaron Lambert Car Show & Shine Movies in the Park - Dusk Family Concert Night - Britt Orch./Christopher O’ Riley SO. Speedway - 6 pm Greeters Summer Party 2:00pm - Cascade Comm. Pool - White City

27

World of Wine

World of Wine

SO. Speedway - 6 pm

SO. Speedway - 6 pm

Comedy Night @ Chadwicks

Comedy Night @ Chadwicks

Champion Raceway - 6 pm

Champion Raceway - 6 pm

31 Transportation Action Mtg 7:30am - Chamber Conf. Rm. Ambassador Action Mtg 8:00am - Homewood Suites

Medford Visitor’s Center

1314 Center Drive, Suite E, Medford OR 97501 (541) 776-4021


1 8

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

Mi d s um m e r

er x i M

It’s that time of the year again . . .

Summer breeze and the backdrop of RoxyAnn vineyards Locally-made wine, hors d’oeuvers and desserts

Sponsored by:

Save the date . . .

Thursday, August 18, 2011 5 p.m. at RoxyAnn Winery

For more information . . . Nicole Richey

541-608-8523 Nicole@MedfordChamber.com Fylvia Fowler Kline 541-608-8520 Fylvia@MedfordChamber.com

Networking opportunities with the Valley’s business community Sponsored by PremierWest Bank and promoted by BNI and The Chamber, this event is open to all, but limited to the first 300 to register. Download the registration form or register online. Enjoy an evening of business connections and delectable tastings from . . . HoneyBaked Ham Jacksonville Inn Rogue Creamery RoxyAnn Winery


A u g u s t

1 9

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 0 1 1

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

Homeless Population on the Rise A

ffordable housing and rental assistance for people who are economically disadvantaged are increasingly important solutions in helping the homeless population that has risen by over 16% in the past two years.1 During the count, the Jackson County Community Services Consortium and Homeless Task Force identified 1,049 people experiencing homelessness. Children under the age of 18 represented 315 (30%) of homeless. In 2009, 899 people in the survey were identified as homeless—compared to 466 in 2008.

“Everyone deserves a place to live,” said Ed Angeletti, ACCESS Planning Director and member of the Community Services Consortium and Homeless Task Force. “Children especially need a safe, warm home and families need to stay together in a secure environment to succeed.”

Chief causes of homelessness include drug and alcohol issues (33% of survey respondents), followed closely by the inability to afford rent (26%). Rental costs continue to be out of reach for many working families, and for families who have recently been unemployed or underemployed.   “While many alcoholics and addicts are not homeless, they are disproportionately represented among the homeless population,” said Rita Sullivan, OnTrack Executive Director. “Contributing to this, I believe, is the increasing competition for scarce low income housing because those with disabilities such as addictive and mental disorders are more likely to lose out and find themselves living on the streets. Homelessness and addictions complicate each other and investing in addressing these problems would pay large dividends for us all.”   In 2009, according to the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 133,660 low-income renter households in Oregon paid more than half of their monthly cash income for housing costs. When housing costs consume more than half of household income, low-income families are at greater risk of becoming homeless. About 39% of those cost-burdened renters are elderly or people with disabilities, while 25% are families with children.   “Affordable housing and rental assistance are key solutions to the problem of homelessness in our county,” said Linda Reid, Chair of the Jackson

County Homeless Task Force. “We are committed to preserving as many units of affordable housing as we can to keep families safe, secure and stable.” Of the 1,049 individuals experiencing homelessness, 315 (30%) were children under the age of 18. Of those children, 12 were unaccompanied by an adult.   Of those who answered the related questions during the one-night survey: • 407 people (39%) had been homeless for a year or more • 405 people (39%) experienced four episodes of homelessness during the past three years   Overall, Homeless Prevention and Rapid ReHousing Program (HPRP) funds have helped limit the number of people experiencing homelessness in Jackson County. In 2010, ACCESS served a total of 276 households with HPRP funds affecting the lives of 754 people who were experiencing homelessness or at risk of homelessness. These funds stabilize households with rental assistance and case management for people at risk or experiencing homelessness. 1. January 2011 Point-in-Time

Look no further. DEPENDABLE and KNOWLEDGEABLE agent seeks customers looking for real PROTECTION and long term RELATIONSHIP. SINGLE, ARTSY LADY SEEKS SINGLE ARTSY GUY. If you love painting, decorating, baking and

Having one special person for your car, home and life insurance lets you get down to business with the rest of your life. It’s what I do. GET TO A BETTER STATE™. CALL ME TODAY.

541-772-0000 * 800-772-7284 Larry Nicholson, Agent 1380 Biddle Rd, Ste B Medford, OR 97504 Bus: 541-772-3233 larry@larrynicholson.com

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, State Farm Indemnity Company, State Farm Fire and Casualty Company, State Farm General Insurance Company, Bloomington, IL 1101201

WWW.OROP.COM

Our full service real estate brokerage is ready to assist you Farm & Ranch * Rural Residential  Industrial * Business Opportunity    Auctions * Property Mgmt  1031 Exchanges *Consulting   Commercial Investments 


2 0

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

Chamber Member FYI’s CORE BUSINESS SERVICES Partners with ShoreTel

CORE Business Services announced that they will begin selling and delivering ShoreTel Unified Communication solutions as a new Champion Partner. ShoreTel enables companies of any size to seamlessly integrate all communications—voice, video, messaging and data—with their business processes. Tom Hamilton, ShoreTel Senior Director of Worldwide Channel Marketing, says, “We’re pleased to welcome partners such as CORE Business Services into the Champion Partner Program—especially those that have a commitment to sales and technical training, infrastructure development and focus on customer service in delivering our innovative products and leading business solutions.”

each year.” Businesses interested in volunteering with JA can contact Holbrook at 541-842-3920 or mholbrook@ja-pdx.org.

MEDFORD PARKS AND RECREATION Donation helps local youth

The Medford Parks and Recreation Foundation has contributed a record-setting $18,000 to the City of

PREMIERWEST BANK Long-time executive retires

DISCOVERY OFFICE SYSTEMS New owners take on leadeship

Discovery Office Systems has new local owners. John and Angie Mytinger have acquired the Medford branch of the Santa Rosa, CA-based company and renamed the venture Discovery Business Systems, Inc. The Mytingers have retained their local service and administrative staff and are in the process of recruiting local sales personnel. John says, “We will keep all business functions in our locale. When our customers need service they will call a local number and be greeted by a local staff member. The same will hold true for supply and equipment needs.”

JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF JACKSON-JOSEPHINE COUNTIES Offices move to new location

Junior Achievement ( JA) of Jackson-Josephine Counties has moved to its new location in the Medford School District Education Center. It will continue to collaborate with schools and the community to prepare over 4,000 local students to succeed in a global economy each year. JA is transitioning from its partnership with ACCESS, the Community Action Agency of Jackson County, and will become an independent district operation of Junior Achievement of Oregon. District Director Mary Holbrook says, “The organization is confident the community will continue to support Junior Achievement and the local students served

over 31 years of banking and commercial lending experience. He is currently a faculty member for the Risk Management Association and serves as president of the board of directors for its Southern Oregon chapter. He is also a member of the board of directors for Court Appointed Special Advocate and the Rogue Valley Foundation. Young was previously a course trainer for the Western School of Commercial Lending and the Oregon Bankers Association.

Medford for youth program scholarships. Thanks to the “Parks Uncorked” wine tasting and auction, a grant from the Kimmel Foundation, and numerous corporate and individual contributions, up to 700 local children will be given the opportunity to participate in recreation programs. Parks and Recreation Director Brian Sjothun says, “This much-needed scholarship funding will make a positive difference in the lives of so many kids and families in our community.”

PEOPLE’S BANK OF COMMERCE Young receives promotion

Steve Young of the People’s Bank of Commerce has been promoted to Senior Vice President and

Richard R. Hieb, of PremierWest Bank, has retired after 48 years in the banking industry of the Western United States. Hieb started his banking career in 1963 with Idaho First National Bank, and joined Western Bank in 1979. He served as the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer until 1997 and in 1998 became the Chief Operation Officer of The Bank of Southern Oregon, which in 2000 became PremierWest Bank. Hieb will remain on the Board of Directors at PremierWest and continue to provide his insight to the executive management team.

Scholarships awarded to local students

PremierWest Bank has awarded $13,000 in scholarships to 13 area students. The recipients were selected from among 51 qualified applications, and were chosen based on their academic achievements. Each student received $1,000 toward the university or college of their choice. President/ CEO Jim Ford says, “The education of our children has a profound impact on the quality of life in the communities in which we serve. We are proud to be able to help some of the area’s most deserving students achieve their dreams.”

ROGUE VALLEY MEDICAL CENTER Donation made towards neonatal care

Manager of its Commercial Lending Division. Young joined People’s Bank in 2007 and has

The Rogue Valley Medical Center Auxiliary has presented the Asante Foundation with a check for $100,000 in support of the Rogue Valley Medical Center Neonatal Intensive Care Unit expansion project. On June 30, the Three Rivers Community Hospital Auxiliary will present the Asante Foundation with a check for $48,000 to fund three vein viewers—devices that sense the location of a patient’s veins and projects a map of them on the patient’s skin so a nurse or lab tech can insert a needle with greater safety and accuracy. Karin Guy,


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

director of Volunteer and Spiritual Care Services at Asante Health System, said that “with this year’s generous gifts, the auxiliaries are continuing to improve the lives of our patients and the community.”

SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY Student receives scholarship to study abroad

The Southern Oregon University Foundation received a study abroad annual scholarship from the Friendship Force of Southern Oregon. This summer, the organization’s gift will provide an opportunity for SOU junior Christina Burns to travel to Oviedo, Spain. “I am honored to receive this scholarship,” said Burns. “Friendship Force of Southern Oregon’s mission is to create relationships with other countries, and learning about other cultures is so important. I am happy to be a part of this mission.” An organization rooted in cultural exchange, the Friendship Force of Southern Oregon promotes global understanding through mutual respect, cultural diversity and cultural exploration.

Student receives research scholarship

Environmental Studies majors Paula Richter and Sarah Rudeen have been selected as recipients of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Research Experience for Undergraduates Scholarships. Richter’s scholarship allowed her to conduct applied scientific research in conjunction with the University of Idaho. Rudeen will be conducting her senior capstone research this year at the Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory in Colorado on a project studying the interactions between plants, herbivores, herbivore mutualists and predators. According to Dr. John Gutrich, the program is highly competitive, with over 100 applicants for ten scholarships. He adds, “Paula and Sarah are examples of exemplary SOU students with interdisciplinary environmental scientific training that has been acknowledged by NSF and premier scientific research laboratories.”

Professor publishes book

Dr. John Gutrich, SOU Associate Professor of Environmental Science, is a co-author of the recently released book Climate Change and Environmental Ethics. The book highlights a collective call to action for new modes of governance, policy, economics and ethics to address global climate change by international scholars. Dr. Michael Nelson of Michigan State University says, “The important and thoughtful essays in Climate Change and Environmental Ethics are precisely the kind of re-conceptualizing we so desperately need”.

THE 92ND ANNUAL MEETING AND AWARDS CEREMONY

THURSDAY SEPTEMBER 8

2011 ROGUE VALLEY COUNTRY CLUB 2660 HILLCREST ROAD, MEDFORD 5 P.M. RECEPTION ON THE TERRACE 6 P.M. AWARDS DINNER BLACK TIE OPTIONAL

GET YOUR TICKETS NOW $55.00 EACH

VALLEY VIEW WINERY Their Voigneir wins the gold

The 2008 Anna Maria Viognier was the only Gold Medal winner in its class at the 2011 San Francisco International Wine Competition, the largest, most influential international wine competition in America. Judged by a prestigious panel of nationally recognized wine experts, Valley View’s Anna Maria Viognier beat 42 other wines from 5 states and 2 countries in the category with this review: “A fully flavorful wine framed by succulent citrus, guava, floral, honeysuckle and spice, this a shoo-in for cocktail hour!” This is the third major award that the wine has won in the past month including being named Best Viognier in Oregon by Oregon Wine Press Magazine and the Oregonian. 

Call us about sponsorship opportunities Contact Fylvia Kline at fylvia@medfordchamber.com or (541) 779-4847


2 2

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

Support Renewing Members - Buy Local A Burgess Company (541) 770-7133

Buntin Construction, LLC (541) 776-0032

Fred Meyer (541) 857-4650

A1 Pavement Maintenance (541) 664-5014

Carini, Peter PC (541) 734-7001

Gill’s Indoor Air Quality, Inc. (541) 476-1107

Abeloe & Associates, A.I.A. (541) 734-3853

Central Oregon & Pacific Railroad (541) 957-2512

Green Valley Pump (541) 535-4275

Adams, Toni B., CPA (541) 770-2086 America’s Best Kids - ABK (541) 245-0432 Applied Refrigeration Technology (541) 245-5513 Avista Utilities (800) 659-4427 Barrett Business Services (541) 772-5469 Belfor Property Restoration (541) 664-5454 Bell Hardware Of Medford (541) 773-7918 Bella Union Restaurant & Saloon (541) 899-1770 Black Bear Diner- Medford (541) 773-4060 Black Oak Pharmacy (541) 773-5356 Boise (541) 776-6666

Clearwater Oasis, LLC/ Cabana Boys (541) 772-2436 Costco Wholesale (541) 734-4227 Crouse & Associates Real Estate (541) 770-1668 Cut-N-Break (541) 779-1482 Data Supplies & Systems (541) 476-3514 Direct Effect, Inc. (541) 482-3275 ECS Regenesys (541) 772-8023 Evergreen Federal Bank (541) 779-1165 Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott (541) 665-4141 Finish Line Real Estate-Vicki (Macormic) Fletcher (541) 821-6922

Helix Information Services, Inc. (541) 772-4692

Kolpia Counseling Services, Inc. (541) 227-6729 Liberty Northwest Insurance Corp. (800) 463-6381 LifeWise Health Plan of Oregon (800) 926-6707

Hellgate Jetboat Excursions (541) 479-7204

Madrone Trail Public Charter School (541) 842-3657

Hertz Car Sales (541) 857-4000

The Mail Tribune (541) 776-4411

Home Source Real Estate Co. (541) 772-6799

Main Antique Mall (541) 779-9490

The Human Bean Inc. (541) 608-0564 Industrial Source (541) 779-0167 The Insurance Center, Inc. (541) 899-9535

Master Stitch (541) 261-3884 Medford Irrigation District (541) 779-1462 Medford Open MRI (541) 857-8563

The Jackson Travel Agency (541) 779-5525

Medford Sports Injury & Therapy Center (541) 779-6146

Kid Time! Discovery Experience (541) 772-9922

Morrison’s Rogue River Lodge (800) 826-1963

Knife River Materials (541) 770-2960

Noah’s River Adventures (541) 488-2811


A u g u s t

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 0 1 1

2 3

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

Noel Lesley Event Services, Inc. (541) 482-1982

Prospect Historic Hotel Motel and Dinner House (541) 560-3664

Scherr Management Consulting (541) 552-0340

Umpqua Dairy Products Co., Inc. (541) 664-9174

North Medford Mini Storage (541) 772-3800

Quail Point Golf Course (541) 857-7000

Skurdal, Elvira - Ind. Assoc. Prepaid Legal Services, Inc. (541) 821-0087

Veranda Park Retirement Village (541) 494-5004

Office Depot (541) 772-5571

R. A. Murphy Construction, Inc. (541) 776-2336

Smith West Company (541) 773-6200

White City Medical Clinic, LLC (541) 826-5252

Smith, Stephen CPA (541) 773-7077

The White House Bed and Breakfast (541) 301-2086

Original Roadhouse Grill (541) 776-3050 Pacific Electric Contractors, Inc. (541) 773-7751 Paradise in Bloom (541) 973-5200 The Party Place (541) 776-7729

Refashion Consignment Shop, LLC (541) 772-2302 Rogue Regency Inn & Suites (541) 770-1234

Southern Oregon School of Business - SBDC (541) 552-8300

Rothfus Family Dental, LLC (541) 858-7994

Southern Oregon Speedway (541)772-6264

S & S Sheetmetal, Inc. (541) 826-6661

Stone Tech, Inc. (541) 779-7703

Patterson Plumbing Company Sanitech Building (541) 773-2768 Maintenance (541) 773-4883 Precision Structural Engineering (541) 858-8500

Superior Windows & Doors (541) 482-0061 Top Notch Cleaning (541) 941-3722

SPRING SPECIALS ARE HERE! HEAVY DUTY MUFFLERS STARTING AT

59 95

$

4 TIRES FOR ONLY $199 00

*

*Installation not included. Most cars & light trucks. See store for details. Must present coupon at time of purchase.

*Includes mounting, balance & valve stem check. 175/70R13. Must present coupon at time of purchase. Expires 4/31/11

VACATION CHECK AND OIL SERVICES ONLY

3495

$

*

Includes filter. Please call for appointment.

“Look for the Orange & White Stripes!”

2390 N. Pacific Highway • Medford • 779-3421 www.edstirefactory.com

Wild Birds Unlimited (541) 770-1104 Women Entrepreneurs of Southern Oregon (888) 436-2338 ZCS Engineering, Inc. (541) 884-7421


2 4

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

New Members Offer You Greater Variety and Service Applied Refrigeration Technology Clyde Smith P.O. Box 1628 Medford, OR 97501 (541) 245-5513 artech1@earthlink.net Full service commercial refrigeration, commercial and residential heating and air conditioning provider. Whether you need air cleaners or cooling towers, we can help. We service supermarkets, convenient stores and restaurants. Our trained technicians are prepared to handle all your cooling needs. Artisan Bakery Cafe Scott Brechtel, Owner 1325 Center Dr. Ste. 106 Medford, OR 97501 (541) 245-3500 artisanbakery@qwestoffice.net http://www.artisanbakery.biz European-style full line bakery, café & donuts. Serving hand crafted breads, pastries, cakes, cookies, donuts and other baked goods. Our full lunch menu includes a gourmet selection of soups, salads, sandwiches and locally roasted coffee and espresso.

(541) 734-8581 cslmedford@gmail.com http://www.cslmedford.org We are an open and diverse spiritual community recognizing the divine in everyone. We are committed to individual and collective transformation based on the teaching and principles of Science of Mind. We embrace the Global Heart Vision. A world that works for everyone!

(541) 646-3020 mike.towery@imortgage.com http://www.imortgage.com At imortgage we understand that in today’s market, home financing requires a company with a proven track record, financial strength and integrity. Our unwavering commitment to excellence in these three key areas has earned us a reputation as one of the most wellrespected companies in the industry.

Cupcake Creations Parry Morris, Owner 1739 E. McAndrews Rd. Medford, OR 97504 (541) 857-2797 cupcakecreationsmedford@yahoo.com http://www.cupcakecreationsmedford. com Cupcake Creations is a family-owned, local business. We make amazing little indulgences out of the finest products. Purchase one for yourself or a dozen or more for your meetings, gatherings, groups or teams. Eat in or take out! Birthday parties? We do that too! In a hurry? Call in your order and we will have it ready.

Medford Anytime Fitness Jake Scheid, General Manager 3654 Lone Pine Rd. Bldg. 7 Medford, OR 97504 (541) 664-5200 medfordor@anytimefitness.com http://www.anytimefitness.com Anytime Fitness of Medford, OR, is the fitness center that fits your on-the-go lifestyle. At our health club, you can exercise any time using your own security access key. That’s 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Talk about no more excuses! Currently pre-selling membership. Contact our Central Point club.

Atlas Group, The Scott Gephart, Principal Broker 2240 Tower East Ste. 100 Medford, OR 97504 (541) 608-9500 scott@tagbrokers.com http://www.TAGBrokers.com Our real estate team is dedicated to helping you achieve your real estate goals. Our team consists of several talented and experienced professionals with a wide variety of skills and resources necessary to effectively assist you with any aspect of real estate in Southern Oregon.

Experienced Wedding Dress Louise Kish, Owner 2055 Alamar St. Medford, OR 97501 (541) 944-9918 experiencedweddingdress@gmail.com http://www.experiencedweddingdress. com We sell previously-owned wedding apparel at bargain prices. At ExperiencedWeddingDress.com, fabulous comes cheap. We carry full, cocktail and tea-length dresses, including something for bridesmaids, mothers of the bride and flower girls. Styles from simple to ornate and vintage to modern.

Center for Spiritual Living Joy-Anne Fournier, Minister 1119 Ellen Ave. Medford, OR 97501

iMortgage Mike Towery, Branch Manager 3389 Crater Lake Hwy. Medford, OR 97504

Rogue BBQ Catering Sharon Wittmers, Owner 1204 Stowe Ave. Ste. 100 Medford, OR 97501 (541) 779-2269 service@roguebbqcatering.com http://www.roguebbqcatering.com Big or Small Events, Full Service or Delivery, Rogue BBQ will make sure you have a smokin’ event! Rogue BBQ is dedicated to one thing, excellence, in the products we provide and the service we give. So the next time you are looking for something different and delicious to eat, go rogue—Rogue BBQ. StaffChex John Gallo, Branch Manager 2382B West Main St. Medford, OR 97501 (541) 232-7163 jgallo@staffchex.com

http://www.staffchex.com In today’s competitive job market, finding the right employee for your business can be extremely challenging and rewarding. The same challenges and rewards exist for our candidates. Our goal is to offer clients and candidates a perfect placement experience founded on personalized service and a commitment to quality. Venue Community Civic Center, The Masao Williams, Executive Director 1029 Narregan St. Medford, OR 97501 (541) 622-6086 masao@medfordvenue.com http://www.medfordvenue.com Community Civic Center and boxing club. Over 20,000 square feet both indoor and outdoor available for rent including catering, full bar service and concert facilities. Good for concerts, business events, weddings, baptisms, quinceaneras or any large event. Easy to find with plenty of parking. Yotopia Yogurt, LLC Kathie Troy, Owner 970 Biddle Rd. Medford, OR 97504 (541) 622-6111 kathie@iloveyotopia.com http://www.iloveyotopia.com Self-serve frozen yogurt shop with over 95 different toppings for you to create your fro-yo masterpiece. Located in the Bear Creek Shopping Center next to BiMart. Open at 11:00 a.m. seven days a week. Free wi-fi. Civic Member Michel Voz, Student Jacksonville, OR 97530 (541) 840-9240 michelvoz@gmail.com


A u g u s t

2 5

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 0 1 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

You make tough decisions every day. FOR MORE THAN DUNGAREES

T-SHIRTS • SWEATSHIRTS • SHORTS JACKETS • VESTS • SHIRTS JEANS • COATS • LINED PANTS SOCKS • BELTS • HATS OVERALLS • RAINWEAR • GLOVES WOMEN’S CARHARTT INFANT AND CHILDRENS IN STOCK

YOUR INSURANCE DOESN’T NEED TO BE ONE OF THEM. Liberty Northwest is the clear choice. Our complete line of insurance solutions will have you covered—from your business operations and workers’ compensation to your home and auto. Contact your local Liberty Northwest independent agent or call us today at 800-463-6381.

LOW EVERYDAY PRICES

With us, you’re much more than a policy on paper. You’ll get timely service from great people who know this business and our community.

CUSTOM EMBROIDERY AVAILABLE

HOURS: Friday 8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Saturday 8 a.m. - 12 p.m.

One company. All lines. Let us help you simplify.

772-7538

1321 North Riverside

Visa Discover Mastercard American Express

Medford

Serving the valley in sales & service for 46 years, 1965-2011

Crater Chain Saw

| libertynorthwest.com |

O OP PU US SB BR RO OA AD DC CA AS ST TIIN NG G ((5 77 72 2--0 03 32 22 2 54 41 1)) 7

OPUS Where’s everybody going?

Listener growth in the past year Adults 25-54 in Jackson County

KROG

Up 129%

The Rogue

969therogue.com

KCNA

Up 12%

The Drive

1027thedrive.com

KRTA

Up 181%

La Gran D

N/A

KRVC

Up 178%

HOT

hot989fm.com

KEZX

Up 2000%

Fox SportsRadio

sportsradio730.com

Source: Arbitron – Monday-Friday 6a-7p Jackson County Cume – Fall 2010 vs Fall 2009

Opus Broadcasting (Jackson County’s only locally owned and operated radio group) welcomes all our new listeners. We’re glad you’re here! To Opus, that’s where!

If you’d like to talk to those listeners about your business, event or project, give us a call!


2 6

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

B UY C H AM B ER

PAID ADVERTISING exclusively for Chamber members. Call Nicole Richey at 541 608-8523 for information.

Accountants / CPA’s

Electrical Contractors

Providence Eagle Point Physical Therapy, (541) 826-3052

Brewster, Richard CPA, PC, (541) 773-1885

Double D Electric, (541) 664-5483

Providence Hand Clinic, (541) 732-5700

Kosmatka Donnelly & Co. LLP, CPA’s, (541) 773-6633

Welburn Electric, Inc. (541) 535-3727

Providence Home Care & Hospice, (541) 732-6500 Providence Medford Medical Center, (541) 732-5000

Michael L. Piels CPA’s, LLP, (541) 779-8261 Moss-Adams LLP, (541) 857-1040

Employment Services

Providence Medical Group-Cardiology, (541) 732-7850

Goodwill Industries of Southern Oregon, (541) 772-3300

Providence Medical Group-Central Point, (541) 732-8000 Providence Medical Group-Doctors Clinic, (541) 732-6000

Architects Steve Ennis Architect, (541) 618-9155

Engineers-Civil

Providence Medical Group-Eagle Point, (541) 826-8160

Ogden Roemer Wilkerson Architecture, AIA, (541) 779 - 5237

Hardey Engineering & Associates, Inc., (541) 772-6880

Providence Medical Group-General Surgery, (541) 732-7874 Providence Medical Group-Medford Family Practice, (541) 732-7950

Brophy, Schmor, Gerking, Brophy, Paradis & Maddox,

Engineers-Consulting / Construction Material Testing

LLP , (541) 772-7123

Marquess and Associates, Inc., (541) 772-7115

Providence Medical Group-OB/Gyn Health Center, (541) 732-7460

Attorneys

Providence Medical Group-Phoenix Family Practice,

Hornecker, Cowling, Hassen & Heysell, LLP, (541) 779-8900

Auto / Truck Dealers

Grocery Stores

(541) 535-1274

Sherm’s Food 4 Less/Thunderbird Market, (541) 857-0850

Providence Medical Group-Siskiyou Surgical, (541) 732-8388 Providence Nutrition Services, (541) 732-5288

Lithia - Auto Stores, (541) 776-6401

Heating and Cooling Automotive Service / Repair Bob Thomas Automotive, (541) 734-3743

Providence Medical Group-Medford Pediatrics, (541) 772-9449

Southern Oregon Heating/Air Conditioning, (541) 773-8733

Providence Rehabilitation Services, (541) 732-6619

Property Management StreetRents, (541) 201-0010

Banks

Insurance

People’s Bank, (541) 776-5350

Ashland Insurance, (541) 857-0679

Real Estate

PremierWest Bank, (541) 776-7480

Beecher Carlson Insurance Agency, LLC, (541) 772-1111

Crouse & Associates Real Estate, (541) 770-1668

South Valley Bank and Trust, (541) 858-2989

Insurance Marketplace, Inc., (541) 779-0177

Umpqua Bank, (541) 618-6702

Western States Insurance, (541) 779-1321

Recreation Roxy Ann Lanes, (541) 772-7171

Construction / Contractors

Internet / Cabling Service

Adroit Construction Co. Inc., (541) 482-4098

Hunter Communications, (541) 772-9282

Signs Hale Signs, (541) 773-6505

Construction Materials

Medical

Knife River Materials, (541) 770-2960

Asante - Rogue Valley Medical Center (541) 789-7000

Signs Now, (541) 608-6800

Asante - Rogue Valley Medical Center Cancer Services

Telecommunications

Credit Unions

(541) 789-7000

InfoStructure, (541) 773-5000

Rogue Federal Credit Union, (541) 858-7328

Asante - Rogue Valley Medical Family Birth Center (541) 789-4218

Tire Sales / Automotive Repair Ed’s Tire Factory, (541) 779-3421

Dental

Asante - Rogue Valley Medical Center Heart & Vascular Center

East Main Dental Center, LLP - Gregory N. Miller, DMD,

(541) 789-7000

(541) 773-3422

Asante - Diabetes Care Center (541) 789-5906

Title Companies

Asante Health Systems (541) 789-4100

Ticor Title Company of Oregon (541) 773-7711

Document Shredding

Asante Hospice (541) 789-5005

Rogue Shred, (541) 779-4161

Asante Work Health (541) 789-5815

Utilities

Providence Cancer Center, (541) 732-7000

Pacific Power, (541) 776-5499

Education

Providence Center for Occupational Medicine, (541) 732-5554

St. Mary’s School, (541) 773-7877

Providence Central Point Physical Therapy, (541) 732-8280


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 7

networking opportunities Networking through The Chamber has provided opportunities for members to showcase their products and services to their peers and benefit from ideas and savings that have enhanced their bottom line.

The

Directory of Medford/Jackson County

The new Chamber Member Directory should be delivered to you any day now! If you don’t get your copy by August 15, be sure to let us know. We have extra copies too!


2 8

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

GEO: An International Resource for Oregon Businesses n an effort to help grow the global connections of Oregon business and organizations, the Oregon University System International Programs group has formalized a global internship program to create an Oregon Global Expertise Network. The program is free to Oregon businesses and organizations that seek to enhance their global reach.Â

I

Global Expertise Oregon (GEO) is an Oregonbased, global internship program placing top international graduates and undergraduate students from partner universities outside the US in selected internships around Oregon. GEO is designed to enhance the global outreach of Oregon business, industry and organizations, strengthen export opportunities and advance new international connections for Oregon. GEO is a collaboration of the Oregon University System International Programs Office, global university partners around the world and Oregon business, industry and non-profit organizations. Why should your business or organization host a global intern? GEO global interns bring a unique perspective, motivation and cultural skill set to your enterprise--for free! Interns are carefully selected and have proven, excellent English language skills and success in their field of study. Oregon businesses now have access to the top graduate and undergraduate students in the fields of business, finance, marketing, engineering, graphic design, social media, public

GOT A

QUESTION?

policy and other professional fields. Participants coming to Oregon in 2011 represent Germany, Denmark and France with additional countries scheduled in 2013, including China, Mexico, the UK, Australia and beyond. GEO global interns can solve critical business problems, work on an important one-time project or help you with dayto-day business activities. The GEO team will take care of any visas, paperwork, site visits and the intern screening process. In addition to the benefit brought by a GEO global intern, participating businesses become part of the GEO Global Professional Expertise Network. As a participating business, you will have access to all the knowledge gained by other businesses who have participated in the program. Additionally, your benefits will not be limited to the home country of your specific intern. Within the network, you will find a rich source of knowledge and be able to ask questions of any business that has hosted a student from any country and even be able to directly contact with a GEO intern alumni. Such networking will add to your own knowledge base and global connectivity. To qualify, you must have a physical office in Oregon, a workspace and supervision for the intern and 32 hours of work per week for the intern over a period as short as three weeks to as long as 12 months.

541-773-8946

MEMBER FDIC

For additional information: Anne George, Program Director Global Expertise Oregon (GEO) Oregon University System International Programs tel: (001) 503.502.2003 email: anne.george@ous. edu web: http://geo.ous.edu/ twitter: @GEO1Oregon

ARE YOU SO READY TO GROW?

Ask Bill

southvalleybank.com

Take a look around your enterprise and imagine how helpful it might be to have a fresh, intelligent perspective from another culture, for free!

Southern Oregon Regional Economic Development, Inc. is the place to go when you are looking to expand, recruit or retain jobs in this region. Our revolving loan fund and business mentoring network are ready to get to work. Are you?

Click to find out what we are doing and what we can do for you.


A u g u s t

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

2 0 1 1

2 9

promoting the community The Chamber takes the lead in promoting the community by helping to recruit new businesses to locate here, participating in efforts to improve our quality of life and by advocating our community as a great place for people to work, do business and raise a family.

greeter of the month June, 2011 I am honored to be selected as the Greeter of the Month. For the last 2 ½ years I have been helping my wife, Laurie Gallup, launch her insurance agency. When she gets busy working with clients and running the office, I step in to help where needed. Gallup Insurance Solutions is an insurance agency that specializes in providing health insurance for Mike Gallup individuals, families and small businesses. GIS offers Gallup Insurance a full range of health, life, LTC, dental/vision and Solutions guaranteed acceptance plans to meet all your needs. There are currently four agents in the Rogue Valley, one in Portland and another in Las Vegas. Through these agents, GIS is able to provide insurance products in 14 states. One of the primary events I have attended to help out has been the Medford/Jackson County Greeters. This group has provided GIS with an outstanding amount of support. Whenever a question comes up at work, I know that someone at Greeters will have the answer and provide me with the service needed or refer me to someone who can help. People are always asking how things are going and looking for ways to help a new member. I would say that one of the best investments an individual starting a new business can make is a chamber membership and the time to be involved with Greeters.

JuLY, 2011 In 1975, my wife Sally and I moved to Southern Oregon where we raised our two children on 20 acres near Butte Falls. We finally have our first grandchild, Oliver, a two-year-old who has made us active babysitters! Some of you know Sally from the years she attended Greeters for her business, The Help. Many of you old timers may remember me from Greeters back in the day, where my tag line was “If you can’t see me, Daryl Ackley come see me!” This was from my 22-year position as A.C.E.S. the vocational rehabilitation counsel with the Oregon Commission for the Blind Two years ago I retired and started Ackley Counseling & Employment Services (ACES), where I provide employment consultation and job placement services under contract with a number of agencies that work with individuals with disabilities. My passion is to help people with disabilities reach their highest potential through employment. I currently work under contract with Oregon Vocational Rehabilitation Services, Creative Supports, Inc., Oregon Commission for the Blind, ColumbiaCare, Inc., and the Social Security Administration. Greeters has been a wonderful support all these years, providing me with new friends and business partners. I was so nervous to end my career with the state and strike out on my own, but the encouragement and support I received from the Greeter community of entrepreneurs has helped me immensely.

CLUB 101 Member Briefing Participants July 6, 2011 Seated, L to R: Louise Kish, Experienced Wedding Dress; Bill Hubbard, IKON Office Solutions; Jason Calderwood, Rogue River Valley University Club; Mike Robinson, Pacific Bible College


3 0

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

new member Profile Bill Hubbard IKON Office Solutions

How long have you been in business? IKON Office Solutions has been in the Rogue Valley since 1984 under the name, Automated Office Systems. IKON is owned by our manufacture Ricoh, and we have combined award-winning products with end-to-end professional services and support to deliver comprehensive, flexible solutions tailored to each organization’s document management and workflow goals. I have been with the company for 26 years. Who inspired you to go into business? A friend suggested that I go into servicing office products since I enjoy fixing things. So, I started out as a technician in Bend, and later moved into service management in Portland. Last year, I changed roles in the company and became the major account sales representative for Southern Oregon. Over the years I have had great mentors and a wealth of education provided to me. Is there any family information you’d like to share? My valued treasures are my family! My lovely wife of 34 years and our two beautiful daughters provide me with the happiness of life. It is now a pleasure to watch our grandkids grow up. We are expecting another grandchild in October.

A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

r i bb o n c u t t i n g s To schedule a ribbon-cutting ceremony with The Chamber, please contact Judy Six at 608-8526.

Kid Time! Discovery Experience Surrounded by her board members and Chamber Ambassadors, Kid Time! Discovery Experience Executive Director, Sunny Spicer, commemorates the facility’s new location in downtown Medford. Located at 106 N. Central, next to the Southern Oregon Historical Society, Kid Time’s new location features an expansive space for kids to play and learn, offering memberships, field trips, birthday parties and volunteer opportunities. Geared towards children from infancy to age eight, Kid Time! is a non-profit, interactive children’s museum that promotes early education learning and readiness through hands-on activities that engage the whole brain and the whole family in learning. Kid Time! features several exhibits such as Art Alley, Water Works, a Construction Zone, the Brainforest and much more!

What do you love to do outside of work? God, family and fun--We enjoy camping and spending quiet time with each other. Fishing, hunting, golfing, supporting our church and participating in Rotary fill up our free time. In your opinion, what are some of the difficulties businesses face in Jackson County? There are a lot of the same businesses in the county trying to gain market share. IKON Office Solutions differentiates itself by combining awardwinning products with end-to-end professional services and support for customers willing focus on future return for current investment rather than focusing on the initial cost. What do you think are the advantages of doing business in Jackson County? Partnering with The Chamber and the unique networking opportunities between organizations are great advantages. My IKON associates and I have become very close with other members and we cannot say enough about the efforts of the staff and other volunteers at the Chamber!

Camelot Theatre Surrounded by board members, benefactors and local supporters, Camelot Theatre Company’s Artistic Director Livia Genise celebrates the completion of their brand new intimate, 164-seat, year-round theatre. Just five miles north of Ashland, Camelot Theatre is dedicated to creating the finest affordable theatrical experience in Southern Oregon. The theatre is known for producing high-quality affordable plays, musicals and musical events, providing a supportive environment for professional and amateur theatre artists and technicians, and inspiring and training adults, teens and children in the theatre arts. Camelot is the Rogue Valley’s longest running theatre company as well as off-Broadway’s most successful live theatre. It is a must for visitors and locals alike seeking live entertainment.


A u g u s t

2 0 1 1

w w w . m e d f o r d c h a m b e r . c o m

3 1

Great Harvest Bread Company

Genuine Property Management

Great Harvest Bread Company owners, Lisa and Dan Allen, commemorate their new building and location at 203 Genessee Street in Medford with a ribbon cutting surrounded by Chamber Ambassadors. Open, warm and truly welcoming, their new, larger building offers plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, an expanded menu (They now offer breakfast and lunch selections.) as well as room for retail items such as jams and jellies, mixes and even dog biscuits! Great Harvest has been milling wheat and making bread for family and friends in the Rogue Valley for over 10 years. Their passion for great tasting, nutritious bread as well as Lisa and Dan’s desire to run a community-based business led to Medford’s Great Harvest; come by and see them and enjoy all that their new location has to offer!

Lori Tallman, owner of Genuine Property Management, celebrates her Chamber membership with a ribbon cutting surrounded by Chamber Ambassadors. Genuine Property Management is a local, independently-owned property management company, specializing in residential properties. Whether you are looking for a property management company or trying to find a rental, Genuine Property Management, LLC is here to help. Lori prides herself on taking the time to get to know every client and listening to their specific needs and wishes. She offers high-quality property management with years of experience and believes that integrity and honesty is the only way to do business. Lori would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver the best service in property management.

Roxy Ann Gem & Mineral - Gift Store Ed Parker cuts the celebratory red ribbon on behalf of Roxy Ann Gem and Mineral who celebrated the grand opening of their expanded gift store in June. The large, open gift store features endless intriguing rocks, gems, publications and novelty items for anyone from the curious to the well-versed rock collector. The museum’s gift store also includes an art gallery filled with the works of local artists from the Roxy Ann Gem & Mineral Club. The museum exhibits include a collection of world class minerals, as well as a large collection of petrified woods and indigenous rocks of Oregon, the US and Mexico. Other exhibits feature fossils, Native American artifacts, a mid-1800s scrimshaw collection, a collection of glass works by Dale Chihully and his students and a wonderful collection of shells. The Crater Rock Museum was founded in 1954 by Frieda and Delmar Smith. The Smith collection and the collections and donations of members and others have created one of the finest displays of rocks, minerals and gems on the west coast.

Southern Oregon Credit Service Southern Oregon Credit Service President Brian Watkins, along with his wife, daughter, staff, colleagues, and Chamber Ambassadors celebrate their new location in downtown Medford at 201 W. 6th Street. Southern Oregon Credit Service works for many companies performing consumer debt collection. Healthcare, utilities, financial services, retail sales and other types of businesses continue to trust Southern to improve their own financial bottom line every month. Commercial debt collection requires a specialized approach, working for businesses owed by other businesses (B2B transactions). Southern has certified Commercial Collectors who work to collect bills owed by other businesses while working to maintain a professional and positive relationship for our clients.


7997

3712 345678 95006 Valid Thru

00/00

PREPAID GIFT CARD

Business Review  

News about The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County specifically for its members and the business community of Southern Oregon.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you