Issuu on Google+

STUDENTNEWSLETTER

BLACK AND WHITE UPCOMING EVENTS:

Feb. 13: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. B&W Logo Design voting outside of Sleaze & Slime Cafe Feb. 13: 12:15 - 1:00 p.m. - Myers Auditorium Orientation for Internships Feb. 14: 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Callicott, Visiting Artist Tom Konyves (Visual Poet) Feb. 15: 8:00 p.m. Callicott, Movie &Pizza Night - “Ted” Feb. 16: 11:30 a.m. Home Depot Trip (van leaves from front steps of Rust Hall) Feb. 22: 7:00 - 9:00 p.m. Downtown Trolley Night (shuttle on continous loop from front steps of Rust Hall) Feb. 22: 6:00 - 8:00 p.m. Brinkley Plaza Student Exhibition Opening Feb. 27: 8:00 - 10:00 p.m. Student Alliance Coffee Night, Sleaze & Slime Cafe. Need a break? Swing by for a cup of caffeine!

RESUME WRITING WORKSHOP AMANDA WEIDMAN Black and White Reporter amanda.weidman@mca.edu

Keep it short! Try and keep your resume no longer than one page. The average employer makes a decision withing the first 10 seconds of looking at a resume. So make sure yours is short and to the point. Be succinct! Avoid using unnecessary words or phrases, like “sort of,” “maybe,” or “a little bit”. Employers don’t like it. Prioritize! Make sure your most important infomation is listed first, and do your best to list in in reverse chronological order (most recent stuff first). Don’t use 1st person language! No “I,” “me,” or “myself’s”. And be sure to use action verbs when describing your accomplishments. Ex: DO NOT SAY - “I helped with...” DO SAY - “Assisted with...”

Director of Career Services, Carrie Brooks, leads the resume writing work-

Contact information! Make sure they can contact you. Your contact information should be listed at the top of your resume and should include your name, current address, cell phone number, email address and a link to your online portfolio. If you don’t have one, make one. You’re going to need one if you want a career in the art industry. Objective! Give a statement somewhere in your resume that states what you can do, and what you would like to do. This should be customized for each job you apply for. Preparation! The meat of your resume should explain how prepared you are for the job you want. This typically comes down to three things: education, skills, experience. Education! Give the name of the school (or schools) you attended and list your degree, your GPA, and (expected) graduation date. If your GPA is below a 3.0 you may be justified in leaving it out. And your graduation date should be written as month year (ex: May 2016). Skills! List any work-related skills. These can be intangible skills, like organization or public speaking, to more measurable skills, like drawing and painting. Also, list any programs or tools that you are comfortable with, such as Photoshop or ToonBoom. Experience! Here you may list any official work experience. But remember to prioritize: list the relevant experience first and non-relevant experience second. Each work entry should be formatted neatly and should include the year, job title, city, state and job description.Example: - 2011 - Painter; Memphis, TN Mural commissioned by local children’s hospital.


BLACK & WHITE: Staff Members

KEVIN MITCHELL OPENS NU GALLERY

Contributing Writers | Editors | Illustrators | Designers

SIGNE JOHNSON Black and White Reporter & Photographer signe.johnson@mca.edu

It’s just possible that a great professor of MCA, Kevin Mitchell, has just opened a gallery this February first! The gallery NU features current contemporary artists and is located on 2577 Broad Ave., Memphis. The opening was a great success holding a one-night show, Co LAB - A Collaborative Experiement. Feel free to check it out or go to the website at www.nugallery.net.

Jessica Haas jessica.haas@mca.edu Jennifer Johnson jennifer.johnson@mca.edu Signe Johnson signe.johnson@mca.edu Mary Tuttle mary.tuttle@mca.edu Amanda Weidman amanda.weidman@mca.edu

Staff Representatives

HORN ISLAND 29: INFORMATIONAL MEETING

Susan Miller smilller@mca.edu

MCA’s Horn Island Program is a unique experience that bonds discoveries of self, wilderness, art and communities.

Ashley Walker awalker@mca.edu

Horn Island is a gulf barrier island located off the coast of Mississippi. The American artist and naturalist Walter Anderson found solitude, spent time ovserving, sketching, painting and writing of life on the island. The Horn Island Program provides students, faculty and alumni a chance to experience first hand some of the same discoveries that Walter Anderson lived. The program is held during hte summer session and this will be MCA’s 29th year on the island.

Aaron White awhite@mca.edu

To find out more information about this unique program, please attend the Horn Island 29 meeting scheduled for Friday, Feb. 22 at 4 p.m. in Myers Auditorium or contact Program Director Don DuMont at ddumont@mca.edu.

WORD SEARCH: VALENTINE’S DAY EDITION T F X Q I W B H E Y V K E T S N N V B H L A H L D A O L X M B R E F C L W E I K L O G A K V B I M L B N H A R E B N O K M R A M T O Z E A H N E I T I U X A C L N R M T D T T S O X O R F S O B I G I T I O R S O K F I P T M E O U B N N O H P L S X R F R M H P I E E S J K D R A W K W A E C P L H E O E F E C R U S H Z R I A T S R J H E S A F M R S O C L S L S Z AWKWARD CHOCOLATES CLICHE COMMERCIAL

DISSAPPOINTMENT GUILT HALLMARK HEARTBREAK

ROSES SINGLE THENOTEBOOK VALENTINE

DO YOU WANT TO WORK FOR THE BLACK & WHITE? The Black & White is looking for more staff members! Do you have work study and like to write, draw, design or take photographs? Let us know! Email blackandwhite@ mca.edu. You may submit a one-time article if you don’t want to be a permanent member of the staff. We are looking for news reports, interviews, summaries of school events, opinion pieces and whatever else you can come up with.

SCHOLARSHIPS & TWITTER Did you know you can use Twitter to find (and win) scholarships? Follow these Twitter handles for scholarship leads, tips and advice: @FAFSA @PayingForSchool @CollegeBoard @CollegeNET @DebtFreeScholar @CollegeWeekLive @Scholarshipscom @USNewsEducation SCHOLARSHIP SEARCH LINKS College Board - www.collegeboard.com College Net - www.collegenet.com FastWeb - www.fastweb.com Scholarships - www.scholarships.com Scholarship Monkey - www.scholarshipmonkey. com Sallie Mae Scholarship Search - http:// go.salliemae.com/scholarship


Black & White - February 2013