Page 1


Land of the South A Football Life

By. Martha Holmes


On December 8-9, 1932, there was a meeting in Knoxville, Tennessee with the 13 most western and southern members of the Southern Conference broke off to form the South Eastern Conference (SEC). The Universities of Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, Louisiana State, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Sewanee, Tennessee, Tulane, and Vanderbilt were all charter members. The new league began playing with the 1933 football season. Now the SEC is headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama. After never winning an SEC game, Sewanee withdrew from the SEC on December 13, 1940. The League eventually was pared to 10 members with the withdrawals of Georgia Tech (June 1, 1964) and Tulane (June 1, 1966). In 1990, the SEC underwent a major new expansion with the admission of the Universities of Arkansas and South Carolina, both began in the 1992 season. That year, the expanded league was divided into East and West divisions, the winners met in a playoff for the SEC title. Undefeated Alabama beat Florida 28-21 in the first


playoff title game. Alabama also won the first national title after formation of the SEC in 1934. On September 25, 2011, it was announced that Texas A&M University will be joining the SEC on July 1, 2012. On November 6, 2011 the SEC commissioner announced that the University of Missouri will also be joining the SEC on July 1, 2012. In 1917, Georgia Tech outscored opponents in a 9-0 season, but turned down a Rose Bowl bid to permit its’ players to join the armed forces in WWI. Alabama

4 Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Ole Miss South Carolina Tennessee Vanderbilt (Texas A&M) (Missouri)

A Football Life  

The history of the SEC

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you