Page 10


Kathy Roth Elected to FDI Council At its 2013 Annual Meeting in Istambul, Kathy Roth, D '74, was elected to a three-year term on the FDI’s World Dental Federation’s governing council. As one of 10 councilors from around the world, Roth will represent MU and the United States as a voice for the global dental community. Dennis Engel Receives Top 2013 WDA Honor Dennis Engel, D '75, received the Wisconsin Dental Association Lifetime Achievement Award for 2013

Kathy Roth

in recognition of his significant contributions of time, energy and expertise to organized dentistry throughout his 38-year career. According to the WDA, Dr. Engel has demonstrated significant personal commitment to the dental profession through leadership positions at the local, state and national levels.
Active with the Greater Milwaukee Dental Association and Washington Ozaukee County Dental Society, he served as WDA president from 2003-2004 and three terms as WDA editor.
He recently concluded a four-year term representing his 9th District colleagues in Wisconsin and Michigan on the American Dental Association Board of Trustees.
A certified dental editor, he is also editor of the International College of Dentists - Wisconsin Section and serves on the editorial board for the

Dennis Engel

Journal of the ADA. He is also a member of the American College of Dentists and a fellow of the ICD and Pierre Fauchard Academy.

Also recognized by the WDA with special honors: Monica Hebl, D '85 Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring Award

Monica Hebl and Lakisha Arif-Holmes:

Debra Palmer, D '87 Community Outreach Award

First Recipients of WOHC Warren LeMay

Ronald Stifter, D '67 WDA Foundation Philanthropic Award

At the Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition (WOHC)

Oral Health Champion Award Annual Meeting in September, the coalition Monica Hebl

Debra Palmer

Jane Wright, D '09, Grad '11 New Dentist Leadership Award

awarded the inaugural WOHC Warren LeMay Oral Health Champion Award to Monica Hebl, D '85, and Lakisha Arif-Holmes, D '08, for their work to create meaningful change to improve oral health and access to care in Wisconsin.

Ronald Stifter

Jane Wright

Chris Kammer, D '81, who started the Halloween Candy Buyback

Arnaldo J. Guzman-Garcia, D '89, Past Clinical Dean and Associate

program that donates more than 127 tons of candy annually to U.S.

Professor at UPR School of Dental Medicine, was appointed as

soldiers overseas, was quoted in an article in TIME magazine last

reviewer for ADEA’s Journal of Dental Education. Dr. Guzman-Garcia

year about the program. He said that the troops also receive floss,

also completed a project for the construction of a new clinical simulation

mouthwash, toothbrushes and toothpaste because, apparently, you

laboratory incorporating the newest technology. Pre-clinical courses

can eat as much candy as you want as long as you brush your teeth

such as Fixed and Removable Prosthodontics, Operative Dentistry,

immediately afterwards.

Endodontics and Pediatric Dentistry will be taught in the new lab, which will also be used for the administration of licensure examinations.

Share your news! Send submissions to 8


Dental Images Winter 2014  

Dental Images Winter 2014

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you