Page 6

EDITOR’S COLUMN

MarineLoG December 2016 Vol. 121, NO. 12 ISSN 08970491 USPS 576-910 PRESIDENT Arthur J. McGinnis, Jr. amcginnis@sbpub.com PUBLISHER & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF John R. Snyder jsnyder@sbpub.com MANAGING EDITOR Shirley Del Valle sdelvalle@sbpub.com CONTRIBUTING EDITOR Paul Bartlett paul.bartlett@live.co.uk WEB EDITOR Nicholas Blenkey nblenkey@sbpub.com

I

Coast to Coast to Coast

n November, we performed our own version of the John Candy-Steve Martin comedy Planes, Trains and Automobiles (there were a couple of ferry rides mixed in, too), piling up a few thousand frequent flyer, road and nautical miles, eating some cold fast food, and slurping down a cup or two of lukewarm coffee as we visited shipyards on the U.S. East, Gulf and West Coasts. It’s actually one of the most enjoyable parts of being a marine industry journalist; we get to sneak a peek behind the curtain to watch the metal plate get cut and bent, plates and components assembled into blocks, and erected into larger blocks or modules. It just never gets old. During our visits, our gracious hosts let us touch, tour and walk onboard a smorgasbord of vessels: a coastal cruise ship, ATB and line haul tugs, and aluminum catamaran ferry at Nichols Brothers in Whidbey Island, WA, a car ferry at Vigor in Seattle, a series of 50,000 dwt product tankers at Philly Shipyard in Philadelphia, and New York City’s Citywide Ferry Services’ new aluminum catamaran passenger-only ferries at Metal Shark’s Franklin, LA, facility. With all the buzz around NYC about the launch of the new ferry service, it was a blast to see how quickly these boats are taking shape. That’s Managing Editor Shirley Del Valle

with Metal Shark’s Carl Wegener and Josh Stickles in the photo above on the bridge of one of the boats. As you flip to this month’s Update section, you’ll notice stories on the expansion of Metal Shark’s Franklin shipyard as well as our visit to Nichols Brothers Boat Builders. Also, special thanks to Vigor for hosting a shipyard tour for delegates from Marine Log’s FERRIES 2016 Conference & Expo. Meanwhile, our sources indicate that Philly Shipyard, which has orders for four product tankers for APT and two dual fuel containerships for Matson Navigation, has been shortlisted with KeppelAMFELS, Brownsville, TX, to compete for the contract to build two 3,400 TEU dual fuel containerships for Pasha Hawaii. That will be one of the stories we’ll report on in the coming year. My thanks to all of you for reading Marine Log and best wishes for a Happy and Healthy Holiday Season and Prosperous New Year.

Art Director Nicole Cassano ncassano@sbpub.com Graphic Designer Aleza Leinwand aleinwand@sbpub.com MARKETING DIRECTOR Erica Hayes ehayes@sbpub.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Mary Conyers mconyers@sbpub.com EUROPE MANAGING SALES DIRECTOR Neil Levett neil@aladltd.co.uk SCANDINAVIA SALES MANAGER Brenda Homewood brenda@aladltd.co.uk FRANCE SALES MANAGER Paul Thornhill paul@aladltd.co.uk NATIONAL SALES DIRECTOR Jeff Sutley jsutley@sbpub.com REGIONAL SALES MANAGER Heather Bonato hbonato@sbpub.com SALES ASSOCIATE Amy Lennox alennox@sbpub.com

John R. Snyder Publisher & Editor jsnyder@sbpub.com

Marine Log Magazine (Print ISSN 0897-0491, Digital ISSN 2166-210X), (USPS#576-910), (Canada Post Cust. #7204654), (Bluechip Int’l, PO Box 25542, London, ON N6C 6B2, Agreement # 41094515) is published monthly by Simmons-Boardman Publishing Corp, 55 Broad Street, 26th Floor, New York, NY 10004. Printed in the U.S.A. Periodicals postage paid at New York, NY and additional mailing offices. PRICING: Qualified individuals in the marine industry may request a free subscription. Non-qualified subscriptions Printed AND/ OR Digital Version: 1 year US $98.00; foreign $213.00; foreign, air mail $313.00. 2 years US $156.00; foreign $270.00; foreign, air mail $470.00. Single Copies are $29.00 each. Subscriptions must be paid for in U.S. funds only. COPYRIGHT © Simmons-Boardman Publishing Corporation 2016. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reproduced without permission. For reprint information contact: PARS International Corp., 102 W 38th St., 6th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10018 Phone (212) 221-9595 Fax (212) 221-9195. For Subscriptions, & address changes: Please call (800) 895-4389, (402) 346-4740, Fax (402) 346-3670, e-mail marinelog@halldata.com or write to: Marine Log Magazine, Simmons-Boardman Publishing Corp, PO Box 3135, Northbrook, IL 60062-2620. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Marine Log Magazine, PO Box 3135, Northbrook, IL 60062-2620

2 Marine Log // December 2016

CREATIVE DIRECTOR Wendy Williams wwilliams@sbpub.com

SALES REPRESENTATIVE KOREA & CHINA Young-Seoh Chinn corres1@jesmedia.com CLASSIFIED SALES Jeanine Acquart jacquart@sbpub.com CONFERENCE DIRECTOR Michelle M. Zolkos mzolkos@sbpub.com CONFERENCE ASSISTANT Stephanie Rodriguez srodriguez@sbpub.com Simmons-Boardman Publishing CORP. 55 Broad Street, 26th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10004 Tel: (212) 620-7200 Fax: (212) 633-1165 Website: www.marinelog.com E-mail: marinelog@sbpub.com

December 2016 Marine Log  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you