Page 1

WTMSMP

WEST TEXAS MATH CORNER POPULATION 2011 Volume 1, Issue 1

Special points of interest: Upcoming Events

Teacher of the Month Every year I get joy out of teaching my students especially when they struggle and struggle with a concept, and then they finally get it. I must say, though, my favorite concept to teach is System of Equations in Algebra.

Teacher of the Month Math Problems

My name is Kelli Cope, an 8th grade math/Algebra I teacher at Wall Middle School. I am finishing my 6th year at Wall and my 18th year of teaching.

Inside this issue:

Upcoming Events

2

Goals & Accomplishments

2

Math Problem

2

Mathematics

3

Statistics

3

Math & Technology

3

WTMSMP Staff

6

Newsletter Date June 2011

I love teaching math but had forgotten how much I really ENJOY doing math until I became involved with the WTMSMP. I will be sad to see the program end this year as I finish my 3rd summer with all the wonderful professors with whom we have worked. I almost want to go back to school.

have a wonderful husband Robert (who absolutely hates being around me during TAKS time) and two wonderful children, Jessi, who is in 7th grade and Jody, who is in 4th grade. I am looking forward to next year because I will have my daughter in class (I don’t think she is looking forward to it.) We spend a lot of family time in Colorado in the summers riding ATV’s through the mountains. In five years, I see myself still teaching but nearing the end of my career.

“The doors to the world of Math!” WTMSMP is supported by National Science Foundation Mathematics and Science Partnership grant # 0831420


WTMSMP

Page 2

WEST TEXAS MATH CORNER

Upcoming Events Winner of our Newsletter naming is… Seth Jackson from San Angelo, TX Congratulations you are our winner!!!

WEST TEXAS MATH CORNER POPULATION 2011 The life of a mathematician is dominated by an insatiable curiosity, a desire bordering on passion to solve the problems he is studying. - Jean Dieudonne, from Mathematics – The Music of Reason.

Upcoming Spotlight Teachers

Rebecca Whipkey Teacher at Frenship ISD

Julie Drainer Teacher at Ector County ISD

Math Problem of the Month Which sign makes the sentence true? 4.9 × 104 ? 4.59 × 104 A. >  B. < C. = Have your students give you an explanation In their own words.  Clip art by Microsoft and Google Images.

Submit your best explanation and share with our community, through facebook or email it  to us. 


WTMSMP

Volume 1, Issue 1

Page 3

Mathematics/Statistics Why Students Should Write in Math Class The process of writing requires gathering, organizing, and clarifying thoughts. It demands finding out what you know and don't know. It calls for thinking clearly. Similarly, doing mathematics depends on gathering, organizing, and clarifying thoughts, finding out what you know and don't

know, and thinking clearly. Although the final representation of a mathematical pursuit looks very different from the final product of a writing effort, the mental journey is, at its base, the same - making sense of an idea and presenting it effectively.

what their student are learning.

Writing can assist math instruction in two ways - by helping children make sense of mathematics and by helping teachers understand

Math & Technology Free downloads: The FREE Microsoft Word 2010 Math Add In makes it easy to plot graphs in 2D and 3D, calculate numerical results, solve equations or inequalities, and simplify algebraic expressions in your Word documents.

Math Links: 

Math Dictionary



Math Power (K-12)



NCTM Lessons & Resources



NCTM’s Illuminations Lessons & Resources



Texas Essential Knowledge & Skills.

C-Scope TIPS & Discussion Talk on Facebook

Graphing Calculator: http://my.hrw.com/math06_07/ nsmedia/tools/ Graph_Calculator/ graphCalc.html

What are your methods and strategies for your students? Discussion: Intervention Some students need more support more time, and specialized instruction to learn. All teachers provide intervention instruction that meets the needs of their struggling students and help them succeed.

- Albert Einstein

http://www.microsoft.com/ download/en/details.aspx? displayLang=en&id=17786

The following information and links can be used for extra resources for your students.

Pure mathematics is, in its way, the poetry of logical ideas.


WTMSMP

“Life begins anew when the seed of education is sown” Angelo State University, Department of Mathematics

WTMSMP

Julie A. Tilton, Project

Director Email: julie.a.tilton@ttu.edu : 806-742-1997 ext. 339

Paul Swets, Department Head, Mathematics E-Mail: paul.swets@angelo.edu Jana Barnard, Instructor in Mathematics E-Mail: jana.barnard@angelo.edu Cathy Talley, Instructor in Mathematics E-Mail: cathy.talley@angelo.edu Ellen Moreland, Instructor in Mathematics E-Mail: ellen.moreland@angelo.edu

Sul Ross State University, Department of Computer Science and Mathematics Faculty David Martin, Department Chair of Computer Science and Mathematics E-Mail: dmartin@sulross.edu Eric Holt, Assistant Professor of Mathematics E-Mail: eholt@sulross.edu

Texas Tech University, Department of Mathematics & Statistics

www.wtmsmp.math.ttu.edu

Faculty: Gary A. Harris, Professor of Mathematics and Statistics E-Mail: gary.harris@ttu.edu Zenaida Aguirre-Muñoz, Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction E-Mail: z.aguirre@ttu.edu Raegan Higgins, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Statistics E-Mail: raegan.higgins@ttu.edu Tara Stevens, Associate Professor of Educational Psychology E-Mail: tara.stevens@ttu.edu Staff: Julie A. Tilton, Project Director E-Mail: julie.a.tilton@ttu.edu Maria Gregory, Student Assistant E-Mail: maria.o.gregory@ttu.edu Jeff Liles, Student Assistant E-Mail: jeff.liles@ttu.edu

QUESTIONS:

Erin Moore, Student Assistant E-Mail: erininthesky@gmail.com Gloria Calderon, Graduate Assistant E-Mail: gloria.calderon@ttu.edu

IDEAS:

Alan de la Torriente, Graduate Assistant E-Mail: alan.torriente@ttu.edu Xun Liu, Graduate Assistant E-Mail: xun.liu@ttu.edu Kristin Parnell Campos, Graduate Assistant E-Mail: kristin.parnell@ttu.edu

CONCERNS: University of Texas of the Permian Basin, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science Faculty:

Call us at: 806-7421997 ext. 339

Juli Ratheal, Associate Professor of Mathematics Education E-Mail: ratheal_j@utpb.edu Warren Koepp, Assistant Professor, Mathematics Education E-Mail: koepp_w@utpb.edu

West Texas Math Corner  

Newsletter for West Texas Middle School Math Partnership

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you