Issuu on Google+


M A I NLI NE newspapers


email: (814) 472-4110

LaMantia, Markovich to lead Nanty Glo Borough Council in 2014 Vol. 93 No. 2


Nanty Glo, Pa.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Since 1921

Newsstand Price 75¢

32 Pages

By Jim Lauffer

of Mainline Newspapers

The first order of business at the Monday, Jan. 6, meeting of Nanty Glo Borough Council was for tax collector and notary Judy Sherwood to swear in Mayor Steve Szymusiak, who was reelected in November. After being duly sworn in, the mayor opened the borough’s reorganization meeting, a precursor to council’s regular monthly meeting. His first task was to administer the oath of office to councilors Patricia LaMantia, Ken Smith, and Dennis Stephens Jr., who, like the mayor, were reelected in November. After all the swearing-in was complete, Szymusiak called for nominations for council president and vice president. LaMantia was nominated for the former office and Michaela Markovich for the latter. After nominations were closed, both LaMantia and Markovich were unanimously elected to their respective offices. After receiving the meeting gavel from the mayor, LaMantia asked for and received a motion to approve, as presented, a list of borough appointments for 2014 — a list that included the following positions (and those appointed to them): solicitor (Raptosh, Lehmier and Carbonara), engineer (Stiffler, McGraw and

Mayor Steve Szymusiak (front) and members of Nanty Glo Borough Council (from left) Dennis Stephens Jr., council vice president Michaela Markovich, council president Patricia LaMantia, Karen Lytle, and Kenneth Smith will look after the borough’s interests in 2014. Councilman Thomas Kasecky was absent when the picture was taken. Photo by Jim Lauffer.

Associates), secretary (Melissa Weekes), treasurer (Melissa Weekes), codes delegate (Steve Mikesic), depositories (First Commonwealth, C & G Savings Bank, and the Pennsylvania

Local Government Investment Trust), auditor (Robert Shaffer), municipal authority board (Bob Rosenberg and Dennis Stephens Jr.), sewer authority board (Steve Mikesic), water authori-

ty board (Nancy McCreary), and zoning board (Walter Marchu). With the business of the reorganization complete, LaMantia opened the regular monthly

meeting of council — a meeting that began with a resident’s complaint about the lack of snow plowing on Ash Street and

J.A.M. Trio to perform Jackson Township supervisors hold benefit concert at CCHS annual reorganization meeting Three alumni hope to raise funds for music scholarship

By Jim Lauffer

of Mainline Newspapers

Members of the J.A.M. Trio — Josh Duman, A.J. Pagano, and Mariah Seymour — are also members of the Central Cambria High School Class of 2010. Following graduation nearly four years ago, they pursued bachelor’s degrees in music education at Slippery Rock University — with each pursuing study in the field of vocal performance. In a few months, following student teaching assignments, Josh, A.J., and Mariah will graduate as members of Slippery Rock’s Class of 2014. However, before they, as the saying goes, move on with the rest of their lives, Josh, A.J., and Mariah feel as though they have a debt to repay. All three believe that their lives — who they are today and who they will be for their rest of their days — have been molded by the choral and musical theater programs of Central Cambria High

School. “We want to give back to the programs that helped shape us,” Mariah said. To give back, the J.A.M. Trio will perform a benefit concert at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 16, in the Central Cambria High School auditorium. Admission is free of charge; however, donation baskets will conspicuously be present, and donations will be appreciated. All money raised will be used to fund an annual scholarship to be given to a senior from the CCHS choral program. The trio has partnered with the Central Cambria Education Foundation, which will handle all funds collected before and after the concert. Checks — which are tax deductible — should be made out to the Central Cambria Education Foundation with “J.A.M. Trio” in the memo line. Josh, A.J., and Mariah are currently working with CCHS teacher Paul Seymour to write criteria for the scholarship. The trio’s goal is to award a $500 scholarship during the high school’s awards assembly, held in the spring of each academic year. Mariah pointed out that the scholarship isn’t intended only for a senior who will be going to college, but might also be awarded to a senior SEE CONCERT, PAGE 3A


By Jim Lauffer

of Mainline Newspapers

The Jackson Township supervisors held their annual reorganization meeting Monday morning, Jan. 6. They passed, en masse, the 30 reorganizationrelated actions with a single motion, made by Bruce Baker and seconded by John Wallet. Included in those motions was one affirming that supervisors are employees of Jackson Township. In addition, Baker was appointed as chairman and Wallet as vice chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Township manager Dave Hirko was reappointed as Jackson’s secretary and treasurer. Supervisors will continue to serve as the township’s roadmasters. Supervisors also reappointed William G. Barbin and the law firm of Gleason, Barbin and Markovitz as the township’s solicitor; Calvin J. Webb and the firm of Smorto, Persio, Webb and McGill as the zoning hearing board’s solicitor; and Keller Engineers Inc. as the township’s engineer. In other actions, three reappointments were made: Barry Rouzer as chairman of the township’s vacancy board, George Burkey as zoning officer, and Middle Department Inspection Agency as building codes enforcement officer.

Jackson Township supervisors John Wallet (left) and Bruce Baker will serve as vice chairman and chairman, respectively, of the township’s Board of Supervisors in 2014. Supervisor Mark Westrick was absent when the picture was taken. Photo by Jim Lauffer.

Baker was appointed as regular attending member of the Cambria County Association of Township Officials, and Wallet was appointed as alternate attending member of the same organization. In addition, the

supervisors, the manager, the auditors, the tax collector, and the zoning officer were authorized to attend county conventions.


Journal 1 9 14