Page 1


M AI NLI NE newspapers

Ebensburg Borough council reorganizes Vol. 163 No. 21

USPS 166680

Ebensburg, Pa.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Since 1853

Newsstand Price 75¢

(814) 472-4110

32 Pages

By Calem Illig

for Mainline Newspapers

After Magisterial District Judge Fred Creany administered the oath of office to newly elected and re-elected council members at the Ebensburg Borough reorganization meeting, the council unanimously reappointed Doug Tusing as president for the year. Susan Barber was appointed as vice president of the borough council. L.R. Kimball was appointed as the borough’s engineer after receiving six of seven votes from council members — newly elected council member Scott May abstained. Pawlowski, Homady, & Long was appointed



First National Bank Ebensburg branch manager Barb Kirby (third from left) presents a $4,000 check to Central Cambria Education Foundation board member Jeremy Wilson, school board president Dennis Simmers, high school principal Dr. Tricia Murin, acting superintendent Jason Moore, and CCEF alumni director Curt Mellott. The donation was made through the Educational Improvement Tax Credit, a program available to all businesses in the state and a way for local businesses to support the foundation. Photo by Megan Riner.

Game time

Central Cambria students Gavin Guillarmod and Sean Steffen support the junior high boys basketball team as it took on Penn Cambria Monday, Jan. 8. Photo by Megan Riner.

Red Devils fans

Central Cambria students Madelyn Brunatti, Summer Koss, and Sophie Westrick cheer on the junior high boys basketball team from the bleachers on Monday, Jan. 8. Central Cambria took on Penn Cambria at home. Photo by Megan Riner.

Bracken retains chairman position on Cambria Twp. board By Calem Illig

for Mainline Newspapers

At Cambria Township’s reorganization meeting, Tim Bracken was appointed to continue his position as chairman of the board of supervisors for 2018. Robert Shook and Jim Melnyk remain as supervisors for 2018, with Melnyk serving as the vice chairman. Susan Mazenko was

Melnyk to serve as vice chairman

appointed to serve as the secretary and treasurer. Tim Washko was appointed to hold the vacancy board member position, and Gary Costlow was appointed as the township’s solicitor. AmeriServ Financial, First National Bank, and S&T Bank were named as depositories. Bracken, Melnyk, Shook, and Mazenko were appointed as approved signers. Ebensburg Insurance Agency will carry insurance for the township. In accordance with federal guidelines, the mileage rate was set to 54.5 cents per mile.

Linda Makin, who had been the longtime 511 tax collector, elected not to continue her term as the township’s tax collector. Carol Keim-Driskel was therefore appointed as the 511 tax collector. Berkheimer Associates was appointed to collect earned income taxes. David Wilson was appointed as the certified public accountant for the 2017 annual audit. Terry Shulsky was appointed to serve as the zoning and compliance officer, Patti Urgolitis was appointed as a water authority member, and Richard Evans was

appointed as a sewer authority member with a term ending in December 2022. Dennis Simmers was appointed to a four-year term on the planning commission board, but voting was not unanimous for Simmers. Bracken and Melnyk voted yes, and Shook voted no. Norberto Marshal was appointed to the water authority, Terry Shulsky was appointed as the zoning/compliance officer as well as an appeals board member, and Susan Mazenko was appointed as the open records officer. Jack Schaffer, along with CPS

Surveys, was appointed as the township engineer. ASI LLC was appointed to serve as the alternate engineer. Middle Department Inspection Agency was appointed for code enforcement of buildings and inspections. Gary Makosy was appointed as the full-time chief of police for the township. The supervisors approved a motion to allow all supervisors and secretaries to attend the state convention in April. Payment was authorized for registration fees and transportation included in the convention. Township employees will be compensated at their regular rate. Employees compensated


Herald 1 11 18  
Herald 1 11 18