Durham â€‰ Chapel Hill
Table of Contents This is an incomplete work . . . there is so much to tell that hasnâ€™t been told . . . so many venues that havenâ€™t been included. My family are all native North Carolinians . . . our roots go back to this state prior to the Revolutionary War. I can honestly say that it has been a pleasure to take my favorite camera and my daughter on this adventure. All that Allison and I have seen, researched, and explored has been a pleasure. I delight in sharing our experiences. And there is so much more to treasure. Thank you to every destination that has allowed us access and invaluable information. I will update new adventures on our website. Join us. More will follow.
Science & Nature North Carolina Museum of Natural Science http://naturalsciences.org/ pages 6 - 21
Morehead Planetarium http://moreheadplanetarium.org/ pages 22 - 31
Museum of Life and Science http://www.lifeandscience.org pages 32 - 43
Duke Lemur Center http://lemur.duke.edu/ pages 44 - 57
Gardens North Carolina Botanical Gardens ncbg.unc.edu pages 60 - 77 2
Duke Gardens gardens.duke.edu pages 78 - 91
History & Government North Carolina State Capitol http://www.ncstatecapitol.org pages 94 - 109
American Tobacco Warehouse District https://americantobaccocampus.com pages 110 - 117
North Carolina History Museum http://ncmuseumofhistory.org pages 118 - 133
Art North Carolina Museum of Art http://ncartmuseum.org/ pages 136 - 146
Parks Pullen Park http://www.visitnc.com/listing/pullen-park pages 148 - 157
Yates Mill / Lake Wheeler http://www.wakegov.com/parks/yatesmill | raleighnc.gov pages 158 - 163 3
Museum of Natural Science
â€‰ Museum of Natural Science
Since the beginning, mankind has been drawn to the exploration of our physical world. From the discovery of ancient fossils to the habits of creatures we see daily, the desire to know more,
understand more and connect more has been a driving force of exploration. The Museum of Natural Science in Raleigh offers a unique opportunity to connect with the natural forces of our world through interactive experiences and exhibits. With free general admission, it is one of the Triangle's great places to visit at any age.
bringing science to life
Lumbering giants of the past almost seem to come to life in the prehistoric exhibits. With a special focus on creatures that once roamed our state and the southeast, these remarkably well-preserved fossils offer a glimpse into a bygone era. The Museum provides a wealth of information regarding habitats, life spans, and general habits of long-extinct animals that dominated our world over 230 million years ago. This exhibit hosts more than 56,000 vertebrates, 55,000 invertebrates and 1,000 paleobotanical specimens, many of which come from the North Carolina Triassic beds in the central part of the state. The Paleontology and Geology Research lab focuses on the evolutionary relationships and paleoecology of theropod dinosaurs . . . including the iconic megapredator Tyrannosaurus Rex.
Gripping arms of the past reach out to entice the curious nature & inquisitive spirit within us
provide hours of entranced viewing From mountains to coast, ocean to air, each ecosystem on our blue planet has yielded an abundant variety of life. Here at the Museum, it is possible to get a glimpse into the lives of creatures who share our world. These exhibits range from the desert t o tropical rain forests, deep oceans to shallow streams. The Arthropod Zoo inspires fascination with creatures that are often feared or considered "creepy." In fact, these creatures have a starring role in the web of global life, often in ways that go u nseen. The butterfly house not only allows close viewing of beautiful specimens, but teaches about the critical role they play in pollinating plants we use for food.
The 10,000 gallon aquarium in the â€œOur Changing Oceanâ€? gallery represents the look of a typical habitat off of the North Carolina coast. A bonnethead shark and the invasive lionfish are just a few of the inhabitants.
To explore deep oceans, researchers must raise millions of dollars to use submersibles to expose great depths. Here, a model submersible lets you take a 2,000 foot virtual dive off the NC coast.
touch feel have you ever felt a raccoon?
a wolf? a fox? a beaver? a skeleton?
there are drawers of fascinating items waiting to be held and investigated One of the unique elements of the Museum of Natural Science is its emphasis on education and interaction. This is not a place with a strict â€œlook don't touch" policy. Interaction is not only available, it is encouraged. Curiosity Classrooms host a variety of specimens ranging from insects to mammals to geological formations. What better way to learn more about the physical world than to explore it first hand. Each specimen is tagged and coded. When placed on investigation tables, a world of information is unlocked. The interaction provides details about each individual creature, including habitats, size, life span, diet and more. Compare the skulls of a black bear to that of a coyote or examine the depths of small insects and fossils under high-powered microscopes. With thousands of unique creatures to explore, it is impossible to constrain innate curiosity to learn more. The two Curiosity Classrooms are open to the public. They are used in Summer Camps and can be reserved for birthday parties.
The Investigative Labs are another way to experience the Museum. The Natural World Lab allows visitors to observe and study plants, animals or themselves! The Micro World Lab explores genetic engineering and protozoa alike, creating interaction with the smallest creatures in our world. The Visual World Lab demonstrates the latest simulation technologies scientists use in research.
seeing is believing
see a velvet ant up close, understand how Magnified bird and mammal bones differ . . . from a visual perspective
from the shore to the mountains
As the state's most popular museum, it is no surprise that there is special attention given to the natural habitats and wildlife that are unique to our area. A two-story waterfall is the centerpiece of the Mountains to Sea exhibit highlighting the interrelationship between each of the three environmental zones . . . coast, piedmont, and mountains.
Though the Museum does incorporate much of our state into its exhibits, there is more to discover. The WRAL 3-D Theater features documentary films covering the Ice Age, coral reefs and dinosaurs to name only a few. Study weather by uncovering the various methods used by meteorologists and learn about weather station satellites and how they differ from weather balloons and rockets. Enjoy the Prairie Ridge Ecostation . . . a 45-acre facility and outdoor classroom featuring a prairie, forest, stream and ponds. This off-site facility furthers the Museum's mission of enhancing public understanding and appreciation of the natural world. Better understand how we connect to nature by investigating the whales and learning how laws and regulations passed aid in the protection of the animals we cohabit with on this diverse planet.
With so many elements to view and explore, it is possible for visitors to spend days and still only brush the surface of all this exciting museum has to offer. Research is a constant, driving force behind much of what happens here. Touring exhibitions and new events are constantly being added to the schedule. Their website, naturalsciences.org, provides updates regarding current activities and schedules. Another way to keep up with the Museum is by becoming a member. Discounts to special exhibits, behind-thescenes tours, discounts at the Museum store and other perks are available depending on your membership level, and the cost makes it accessible to most. Membership also provides free or discounted admission to over 300 museums worldwide. Explore the wonders of the natural world and unleash your inner scientist. You never know what you might discover.
Nature Exploration Center
11 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: 919.707.9800 Monday–Saturday: 9am–5pm Sunday: noon–5pm The Living Conservatory and Discovery Room are closed on Mondays.
Nature Research Center 121 West Jones Street Raleigh, NC 27603 Phone: 919.707.9800
Monday–Saturday: 9am–5pm Sunday: noon–5pm The Naturalist Center and iLabs close one hour before the rest of the Nature Research Center. The Naturalist Center is closed to the public on Mondays.
Prairie Ridge Ecostation
671 Gold Star Drive Raleigh, NC 27607 Phone: 919.707.8888 Monday–Saturday: 9am–4:30pm Sunday: noon–4:30 pm Prairie Ridge Ecostation is closed on New Year’s Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and all state holidays.
admission is free 21
On the north end of the campus of
The University of
North Carolina at Chapel Hill stands a beautiful tribute to the vast study of science.
Planetarium and Science Center was the first planetarium to be built on a college campus in the
Planetariums were seen as a powerful tool for education. In 1925, Elis Stromgren, director of Copenhagen Observatory, lauded, “Never has a means of entertainment been provided which is so instructive as this, never one which is so fascinating, never one which has such general appeal. It is a school, a theater, a cinema in one; a schoolroom under the vault of heaven, a drama with the celestial bodies as actors.” The building that Morehead constructed under the counsel of Harlow Shapley wasn’t just another staid lecture hall but was rather a means of projecting science education to a wider audience – one out beyond the stone walls of the University.
“A scientist himself, he recognized that the American people must understand science.” These were the words the WinstonSalem Journal and Sentinel used in 1949 to describe John Motley Morehead III and his motivation for giving his alma mater the first planetarium on a university campus.
Morehead, who had discovered acetylene gas and a new process for the manufacture of calcium carbide, felt a great degree of debt to the University of North Carolina, for his successes in life were so closely tied to his education in Chapel Hill. Consequently, Morehead met with University President Frank Porter Graham in 1938 to find a gift that could express his gratitude to the University and that could open the minds of young North Carolinians to science. After the philanthropist began to speak about possibly building a planetarium, the University arranged for him to meet with Harvard University astronomer Harlow Shapley. In 1947, construction for the Morehead Planetarium began. When
Morehead Planetarium was unprecedented. The first planetarium in the South, it was only the sixth to be built in the United States. Designed by the same architects who planned the Jefferson Memorial, the cost of its construction, $3 million, made it the most expensive building ever built in North Carolina at the time. first opened in
after seventeen months of construction,
The same construction (not including the 1972 addition) in today’s dollars would be nearly $50 million. The architectural firm of Eggers and Higgins, the same firm that had previously designed the Jefferson Memorial, designed the Morehead Planetarium Building. From the West Entrance, visitors can see the influence of the Jefferson Memorial design on the building including the dome and columns. The Jefferson Memorial design was, in turn, based on the Pantheon in Rome. Since Zeiss, the German firm that produced planetarium projectors, had lost most of its factories during World War II, there were very few projectors available at the time. Morehead had to travel to Sweden, where he had previously served as American Ambassador, to purchase a Zeiss Model II to serve as the heart of North Carolina’s new planetarium. Morehead Planetarium was officially dedicated during a ceremony held on May 10, 1949 and attracted some of North Carolina’s most prominent citizens. U.S. Senator Frank Porter Graham, N.C. Governor Kerr Scott, Acting University President William Carmichael, University Chancellor Robert House, and John Motley Morehead III as well as other members of his family attended the ceremony. Following the dedication, assembled dignitaries viewed the Planetarium’s first show, “Let There Be Light,” narrated by Planetarium Director Roy K. Marshall. While “Let There Be Light” was the Planetarium’s first show, it would be followed later in 1949 by another show seen perhaps by more Morehead Planetarium and Science Center visitors than any other show to date: “Star of Bethlehem.” This planetarium show was designed to take full advantage of Zeiss projection technology and was revised several times (its final revision was in 2002) before its retirement when Morehead’s Zeiss VI star projector was decommissioned and removed in spring 2011.
Ten years Planetarium
was called to serve not only
the people of
the nation’s burgeoning space program.
needed training in celestial
navigation to ensure that they would be able to pilot their spacecraft if navigational systems failed.
Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Apollo-Soyuz programs trained at Morehead. While the need for such training ended in 1975 as computer navigation became more reliable, long-time Planetarium Director Tony Jenzano could once claim that, “Carolina is the only university in the country, in fact the world, that can claim all the astronauts as alumni.” astronaut who participated in the
More than once, the training that astronauts received at Morehead saved lives. After automated navigational controls failed following a loss of electricity on the Mercury-Atlas 9 mission, Gordon Cooper had to use the stars to guide his reentry into the Earth’s atmosphere. His splashdown eventually proved to be the most accurate in mission history. When the rocket launching Apollo 12 into space was hit by lightning during take-off, astronauts had to reset their navigational equipment by sighting key stars.
25 years after the safe conclusion of the mission, lessons learned at Morehead were still being passed on to others. In
1995, mission astronaut James Lovell, who was advising the producers of the film “Apollo
wrote to former
Planetarium Director Tony Jenzano: “It
has been a long time since those days at
Morehead Planetarium when you taught me about the stars. I thought I would let you know that your training sank in and
25 years later I was teaching Tom Hanks about the stars.”
Many more people than James Lovell and his fellow astronauts have learned about the stars at Morehead Planetarium. By Morehead’s 50th anniversary in 1999, more than five million spectators – half of them schoolchildren
had visited its
to learn about the cosmos.
the past half-century,
these five million spectators have all benefited from ongoing updates to the planetarium’s facilities.
In 1969, the planetarium replaced the Zeiss II star projector that Morehead had purchased in Sweden with a Zeiss VI. The Model VI provided a clearer star field, along with improved operational controls and features. Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the Moon, also has the distinction of being the first astronaut to train with the Model VI.
In 1973, John Motley Morehead’s full vision for his building was realized when the building’s
which is fitted with a
addition included the
telescope and is operated by
UNC-Chapel Hill’s department of physics and astronomy. This observatory is open, upon reservation, for the public each
Friday night during the academic year.
In 1984, Morehead became one of the first planetariums
to utilize computer automation for its programs. Before automation, each feature of a planetarium show was set into motion by a technician following a cue by the narrator. With its new capacity for automation, the planetarium expanded its ability to present more complex shows.
Today, Morehead Planetarium and Science Center is renewing itself. In 2002, John Motley Morehead’s gift to his state and his alma mater was rechristened the Morehead Planetarium and Science Center to reflect an expanded mission. From now on, Morehead will no longer just be a gateway to the stars, but rather a gateway to all the sciences, exposing audiences to fields like genetics, virtual reality and nanotechnology.
While the Morehead Center is entering a new era, it remains committed to the original vision of its benefactor, John Motley Morehead III, to educate and inspire its visitors about the wonders of science.
John Motley Morehead III (1870-1965) Carolina
graduated from the
his lifetime, he was most widely known as a successful
businessman and chemist due to his role in the founding of the
Corporation. Morehead was also politically active as mayor of Rye, New York and U.S. ambassador to Sweden. 28 64
In May 2003,
made the first step towards fulfilling its
new mission with the debut of the film
“DNA: The Secret
Center produced in collaboration with U.K.-based filmmakers, Windfall Films, and James
Watson, co-discoverer of the structure of DNA.
One imagines that John Motley Morehead, a chemist, would be pleased to know that the institution he created is now growing to educate North Carolina about all the branches of science. After all, as the Winston-Salem Journal and Sentinel said more than a half-century ago, “A scientist himself, he recognized that the American people must understand science.” Nearly 160,000 people visit the Morehead Planetarium and Science Center annually, including 85,000 schoolchildren. Planetarium schedules at Morehead feature multimedia shows and live star shows narrated by planetarium staff members. The Science Stage offers Science LIVE! demonstration shows as well as Science 360 presentations. Non-credit classes for adults and children, special courses for teachers, summer camps for children, monthly sky watching sessions and other programs for all ages keep the community involved in science. 29
Morehead Planetarium.org 250 EAST FRANKLIN ST. CHAPEL HILL, NC 27514
919-962-1236 Main Office 919-918-1155 Information Hotline Monday | Closed Tuesday | 10 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Wednesday | 10 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Thursday | 10 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Friday | 10 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Saturday | 10 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Sunday | 1-4:30 p.m. 30
Planetarium Shows Morehead Members | FREE for all regularly-scheduled shows. You must present a valid Morehead membership card for free admission. If you are not a member, you can join online or at the Morehead ticket counter.
For current events and special programs, check the website :
Adults | $7.68 Children, students and senior citizens | $6.51 If you want to see more than one planetarium show, you can add additional shows to your same-day ticket for just $3.26 each. Tickets go on sale 30 minutes before show time in the Morehead Bookshop.
Special pricing is available for field trips and groups (10 or more visitors) with advance reservations. Contact Morehead Guest Relations for more information on field trips and group reservations. Science Stage Programs & Exhibits Morehead offers a regular schedule of public Science Stage programs and exhibits FREE. Special pricing may apply for field trips and groups with advance reservations.
North Carolina Museum of Life & Science
North Carolina Museum of Life & Science Over sixty years ago, around1946, a group of dedicated volunteers began Durham, North Carolina’s first trailside nature center. Known as the “Children’s Museum,” the center flourished, and soon a collection began with dinosaur fossils and minerals. At the same time, in 1947, construction began on the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill’s campus for the Morehead Planetarium. It was there that astronauts began training for space flights. Between 1959 and 1975, nearly every astronaut who participated in the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Apollo-Soyuz programs trained at Morehead. The fever of space exploration and astronauts who trained in Chapel Hill motivated the search for an aerospace exhibit. Due to this focus on space exploration and training, a kind soul rented a truck to haul the now-famous landmark Mercury Redstone rocket from Alabama to its new home on Murray Avenue in Durham to grace the exterior of a burgeoning indoor/outdoor museum.
Prepare to be Enthralled
where learning is fun
minds expand 36
The 1970’s marked a period of expansion that included a name change to the “North Carolina Museum of Life and Science”, and outdoor exhibits for large animals were added. Aerospace and Geology exhibits were expanded, and the Ellerbe Creek Railway was installed. The County of Durham appropriated operating funding for the first time in 1973, and the NC General Assembly provided capital support for facility improvements. In 1986, a comprehensive Master Plan was devised introducing a second major period of growth in the Museum’s history. First, construction of an indoor Nature Center, featuring live North Carolina animals, was completed. In 1991, the Museum completed its Mercury Meeting Room, temporary exhibit gallery, expanded lobby and gift shop, new discovery rooms and an additional 6,000 square feet of exhibit space. This included a real Apollo Space Capsule, a full-scale Lunar Lander and a 13-foot tornado. The Lab provided a place for hands-on experiments and observations. 1993 marked the completion of the Science and Technology Wing including a range of programs in the natural and physical sciences making the Museum one of the premier centers of informal science in the country. An area called Soundspace allows visitors to explore how movement affects what you hear and see. For children 6 and under, Play to Learn gives them the opportunity to learn as they play. For children who enjoy building, Contraptions offers them the use of pulleys, ramps, catapults and more as they design their own contraptions. Future thinking of how the Museum might grow using its 84-acre campus emphasized the expansion of natural science learning opportunities. Strategic plans resulted in developing a two-phase interactive science experience dubbed BioQuest, one that the National Science Foundation proclaimed would become a “national model,” the first science center linking people with plants, animals and interactive exhibits in the out-of-doors.
and Quality Time has meaning for Children & Adults
Phase One began with the now beloved Magic Wings Butterfly House, an outstanding three-story tropical conservatory that is regarded as one of the nationâ€™s finest. Bringing visitors into intimate contact with exotic butterflies in a tropical indoor environment, the facility supports over 200 tropical plant varieties. It is one of the largest museum butterfly houses in the Southeastern U.S. The 5,000-squarefoot tropical conservatory is encased by an additional 13,000 square feet of learning labs and the Bayer Crop Science Insectarium, which officially opened in March 2000. The Insectarium features a rare assortment of exotic insects from around the globe, making it one of the top destinations of the Southeast to admire entomological life cycles.
from camouflage to brilliant color
As you approach the Butterfly House, stroll through the Farmyard. This has been a popular family tradition for more than a generation. The Museumâ€™s farm animals are from both common and rare breeds. They include four alpacas, two pigs, a donkey, a Jersey steer, two rabbits, an owl and a collection of goats.
Phase Two of the BioQuest expansion plan included several exhibits. The National Science Foundation validated the quality of this one-of-a-kind outdoor learning experience with a $2 million grant. The people of Durham County offered resounding support for this project with over $11 million in bond funding.
the native to the exotic
Explore the Wild opened in 2006. It offers a study of black bears, red wolves and exotic lemurs. There is also a 750-foot deck and lookout over a 2-acre wetland habitat. Catch the Wind opened in 2007. It gives visitors the opportunity to understand the important role wind plays in the natural world. Several hands-on activities are designed to help visitors discover how people, animals and plants move with the air. Dinosaur Trail opened in 2009, thanks to private support of over $800,000 to supplement the $675,000 secured in Durham County Bond Funds. It takes the visitor into the world of late Cretaceous, North American dinosaurs. Included in this exhibit is the Fossil Dig with dirt that is filled with remains of ancient sharks, fish, corals and shells. 39
Nearby, children can stay cool in the mist that fills the Larry and Sharon Play Scape. They can explore Into the Mist to experience the lure and phenomenon. They can watch as droplets of water suspended in air form clouds that hover over small valleys. Participants can listen to the rhythmic sounds of rain as it falls upon rock. Children can stroll through the lush green landscape and watch as rainbows appear, then disappear. Nearby, a young visitor can sail skyward on the bungee trampolines. Jumpers can reach heights of twenty feet above ground when aided by the kinetic energy from some super-stretchy bungee cords. Just outside the Museum doors sits Loblolly Park, a play yard filled with all kinds of structures to entertain and delight. Children can create music with drums and bells, or climb the multi-level play structure. An old caboose is nearby for further investigation. The Ellerbe Creek Railway provides the visitor with an old-time train ride through the Museum grounds. This 10-minute ride makes two laps through the Nature Park on a scaled replica of the C.P. Huntington locomotive, made possible by a generous donation from the Teer family. New initiatives are underway at the Museum and are referred to as the Climbing Higher Campaign. The philosophy is this, go play outside! A different type of childhood can be discovered. What were your days like as a child? Did you ride your bike everywhere? Look for bugs under rocks? Play hide-and-seek until called in for dinner? Chances are you answered “yes” to at least one of these questions. The nature of childhood has changed. When today’s children are outside, they’re typically participating in a sporting event or organized activity. What children really need is time outdoors to look at the world up close, make up a game or simply reconnect with the wonder of the natural world. Research indicates children who regularly spend time playing outdoors are more creative, better problem solvers and more attentive in school. Hideaway Woods is a two-acre nature-based play scape that will be built inside the existing train loop and accessed by a pedestrian tunnel. It will engage children in healthy movement, exploration and skill development. The current 40
Museum playground is a gathering spot between the Museum building and the outdoor adventures. Earth Moves is an innovative exploration of Earth sciences and systems situated near the existing Catch the Wind exhibit. Visitors will control and witness powerful natural forces including erosion, moving water, an earthquake and more. The Museum of Life and Science wants to immerse children in a natural learning environment that stimulates their senses, strengthens their bodies and expands their minds. By creating these two spectacular learning environments that allow children and families to interact with the science and wonder of nature in new and amazing ways this will be achieved. Daily programs are available at the Museum. In The Lab, a visitor can become a scientist and ask questions, and make observations which lead to discoveries. Expert volunteers are there to assist with these classes. This offers a wonderful opportunity for teachers to coordinate science lab programs with their science studies at school. Science-based summer camps are an ongoing part of the Museum. Some offerings include LEGO, Robotics, Flight, Exhibit Design, Art, Geology, Reptiles and Superheroes. Two locations are now offered for this summer. One is at the
Museum in Durham; the other is at Glenwood Elementary School in Chapel Hill. Other changes to the Museum are the outdoor Picnic Pavilion, the new Sprout CafĂŠ, where breakfast and lunch items are available, and a unique gift shop and full service coffee bar. Adults may find the Museum amenable for events such as weddings and receptions, private parties, or business. One thing is certain: the Museum of Life and Science is the perfect spot for family entertainment.
there is always something new to explore
84 Acres to Discover Located just blocks from downtown Durham, the Museum of Life and Science is one of North Carolinaâ€™s top family destinations. Our interactive science park includes a two-story science center, one of the largest butterfly conservatories on the East Coast and beautifully landscaped outdoor exhibits which are safe havens for rescued black bears, lemurs, and endangered red wolves. With over 84-acres of outdoor exhibits and over 60 species of live animals, there is always more to explore.
Location 433 W. Murray Avenue Durham, NC 27704 Phone: (919) 220Â-5429
Offsite Parking The Museum provides free offsite parking and all day shuttle service on Saturdays and Sundays through September 5 on a first-come, first-serve basis.
* OPEN TO MEMBERS AT 9 AM
Check the website for special offerings and price changes: www.lifeandscience.org/
Prices* General Admission
Seniors $18 Children ages 3-12
Non-school groups of 10+ (48-hr notice required; learn more)
Children age 2 and under
Member Train Ride
General Train Ride $5 *Subject to 7.5% sales tax on admission fees
WINTER HOURS: SEPTEMBER 13 – MARCH 13 TUESDAY – SATURDAY 10am - 5 pm* SUNDAY 12 - 5pm SUMMER HOURS: MARCH 14 – SEPTEMBER 12 MONDAY – SATURDAY 10am - 5 pm* SUNDAY 12 - 5pm 43
Duke Lemur Center photography by David Haring 45
Jewels of Madagascar A bit of Madagascar in Durham, North Carolina 46
Nestled comfortably on 70 acres of Duke Forest is one of the Triangleâ€™s most fascinating and under discovered delights ... the Duke Lemur Center. Here, research, conservation, and natural wonder come together to form an unforgettable atmosphere for professionals and casual viewers alike. But in order to understand how exceptional the DLC really is, you first need to meet its incredible inhabitants ... the Lemurs of Madagascar. Lemurs are found in the wild only on the island of Madagascar. Their story and evolution are not only demonstrative of survival instincts but also of natural curiosity and creativity. The island broke away from the African continent long before Lemurs existed. As the number of primate species exploded on the mainland, the first Lemurs crossed the Mozambique Channel in a random rafting event occurring millions of years ago. Small bands, usually families, of Lemurs were trapped in floating debris.
Calm mind brings inner strength and self-confidence, so thatâ€™s very important for good health.
48 58 60
~ Dalai Lama
Look deep into nature, and you will understand everything better.
Swiftly flowing rivers carried them out to sea, across the Channel, and finally landing on the island of Madagascar. This crossing created the opportunity for the Lemurs to evolve separately from other primate varieties as well as create a vast array of Lemur species. The various climate niches on the island required the animals to adapt in ways not seen in other primates. Torpor, seasonal fat storage, strict breeding seasons and female societal dominance are just a few of the many Lemur traits that are seen in no other primate on the planet. Sadly, it is also the most endangered mammal on the planet. The Duke Lemur Center houses the largest collection of Lemurs outside of Madagascar. Their conservation efforts, breeding programs, education and research allow us all to preserve and protect these fascinating creatures here and in their native land. 49 59
But it is really difficult to understand how exceptional they are without meeting them. Raven is a native of the dry, deciduous forests in Western and Southern Madagascar. The normal diet of seeds, nectar and small insects is highly seasonal. In a stroke of evolutionary genius, this Lemur adapted to use its tail for fat storage in lean
Many Lemurs were once categorized as sub-species of other varieties. This is true of Mosi, a Crowned Lemur. He and his kind were thought to be a sub-species of Mongoose Lemurs until recently. Native to a small area of land in the Northern section of the island, much of their habitat has been destroyed by deforestation.
seasons and before entering the torpor state in the winter. Though other varieties also enter a torpor state, the Fat Tailed Dwarf Lemurâ€™s is the longest. It is the torpor state that is fascinating. Typically, it slows the metabolism, rendering the animal not fully awake and not fully asleep. But these Lemurs actually sleep during torpor. The science behind this could open incredibly interesting areas of study including human hibernation like sleep during long surgeries or space exploration.
Fat Tailed Dwarf Lemur
50 60 62
the Crowned Lemur
the Red Ruffed Lemur Rufted Lemurs are located in the Northern forests of Madagascar. Their thick coats protect them from the unpredictable, seasonal weather. The species spends most of its life in the canopy, spending relatively little time on the ground. While most Lemurs travel in smaller family communities, some of these Lemurs live with groups of up to 32 individuals.
Nosferatu the Aye Aye
There is a reason this Aye Aye has such an ominous sounding name. In his native land, there is negative Fady or taboo surrounding his species. The stories range from village to village, but all believe he is a bad omen or bringer of death. Often, if this nocturnal creature is spotted, he will be killed or the villagers will burn their village to
Within the world of Lemurs there is great diversity of size, diet, social behavior and coloration. Each is uniquely adapted to its habitat. The Duke Lemur Center has created remarkable facilities offering indoor/outdoor experiences to create a stimulating environment for each of these varied groups. Enrichment programs keep these intelligent Lemurs mentally active, as well as physically healthy. Each diet is different and 250+ meals are made on site, per day to cater to individual needs.
the ground and move. Nosy, as the Duke Lemur Center nick-named him, is content eating his snack.
our future Summer Science Camp & Art & Writing Camp Available As a leader in the world of Lemur conservation, the DLC participates in numerous efforts both domestically and in Madagascar to protect and preserve habitats and species. Reforestation, education programs, and ecological technology and innovation are just a few of the efforts in place to protect and preserve Lemurs in their homeland.
But what they do domestically is no less impressive. Breeding programs both within the center and in cooperation with other facilities help keep the most at risk of these endangered primates at more sustainable population levels. The Blue Eyed Black Lemur, seen on the bottom left, is testament to that goal. His variety of Lemur is the most endangered of the Lemurs housed at the DLC. There are others in the wild also highly at risk. The research conducted also offers a fascinating glimpse into what Lemurs can teach us about ourselves and the broader world. Areas of study include pheromone secretion, sleep habits, locomotion and the evolution of human intelligence. And when looking at the picture above, it is hard not to wonder - who is doing the studying?
And what is even more incredible is that only a portion of the funding comes from Duke. The remainder is raised through donations, foundations and grants. Cooke Property is proud to be a donor to this one-of-a-kind program.
eware. These enchanting, curious creatures will steal your
There are other conservation centers and research facilities in the US and around
the globe, but few offer the public the ability to interact with their efforts in the same way as
the DLC. A variety of tours are available to the public. Photographic tours allow people to enter into the forests with the Lemurs and observe their behavior in the wild. Guided tours offer a glimpse into the facility and introduce you to around ten different Lemur species, while explaining their unique evolution as well as their similarities. It is even possible to go behind the scenes and share in the experience of the technicians and volunteers who make every day function. Summer camps create an unrivaled opportunity for youths to learn about primatology, study behavior and engage their curiosity about the larger ecological and biological world. Here, in the heart of Durham, we have a treasure. A place that inspires scientists, intrigues youth, and offers a glimpse into our past. I challenge anyone to go here and not instantly fall in love with these jewels of Madagascar ... I know I did.
For additional information about the Duke Lemur Center, please visit their website lemur.duke.edu or call (919) 489-3364 54
Going to the Source the Madagascar Experience
On occasion the DLC offers an opportunity to travel to Madagascar with one of the foremost professionals in the field of Lemur conservation and study. Charles Welch has lived and worked in Madagascar for 15 years, was knighted by the government for his conservation efforts, and has extensive knowledge of the culture and environment. It is truly an amazing experience. Contact the DLC or visit their website at http://lemur.duke.edu. for information about upcoming opportunities. 55
Lemur.Duke.edu All tours are by appointment only. You must be on a guided tour to see the animals. Tours often book at least 2 weeks in advance, and we cannot often accommodate walk-in visitors. Please call 919-401-7240 to make your reservation. The gift shop is open to the general public without appointment during operating hours.
Camps and Workshops
3705 Erwin Road Durham, North Carolina 27705
The Duke Lemur Center is open all year round from 9:30-4:00 and welcomes visitors to tour and learn about these amazing animals.
All tours by appointment only, there are no self-guided experiences. To schedule a tour call 919-401-7240. Tours are paid for the day of by cash, check or any major credit card. Tours tend to book up 2-3 weeks in advance for weekdays and 4-5 weekends during the spring and summer months. If you leave a voice message, please give the staff up to 72 hours to return your call..
The gift shop is open to the public during business hours. Be sure to check the tour page as the times of tours change from season to season and on holidays.
Sunflower Bench artist, Jim Gallucci 60
North Carolina Botanical Garden
"to inspire understanding, appreciation, and conservation of plants and to advance a sustainable relationship between people and nature." This is Our
Guiding Mission 61
A clump of bushes was the "Respected Faculty." A larger clump of bushes were the "Fellow Students." And a smaller group were his "Beloved Classmates." Kemp P. Battle rehearsed in his sylvan stage, "so
North Carolina Botanical Garden is a legacy . . . a gift of dedication . . . a history of regional science . . . and a quest for the love of knowledge.
often that it would be impossible for my memory to fail." This well-versed valedictorian was to become the
From William Chambers Coker's inspiration in 1903 until now, botanists have pledged themselves and the University of North Carolina to act as a leading center for research and
president of UNC. Kemp Battle blazed the first trails through the forest and his sylvan stage was named after him . . . Battle Park.
education of the flora native to the southeastern United States. Committed leaders have valued the tenuous relationship between the habitat, the environment, and the quality of human life. Today, commitment is as strong as it was in 1792 . . . when the story begins.
In 1792, Mark Morgan Jr., his cousin, and several local farmers donated 1,000 acres of land to create the University of North Carolina and the village of Chapel Hill.
Imagine the legacy
Mary Elizabeth Morgan Mason (a relative of the original donors) bequeathed an additional 800 acres of Mason Farm to the University of North Carolina in 1894. Her gift stipulated that the land
Of this land, 93 acres of forest were located east and south of
was never to be sold or divided, and that UNC
the original campus. Many trees and plants in this locale pre-
would maintain her family cemetery.
date the first European settlement in 1740. Of that land, now 200 acres are Finley Golf Course, In 1849, a University senior sat in these forests and practiced
the remaining 600 acres are now the
his valedictory address. A projecting rock was
Friday Center, several athletic fields,
the "Venerated President."
the Mason Farm Biological Reserve, and the North Carolina Botanical Garden.
Cattail Gate 63
In 1903, five and a half acres of boggy land east of campus were used primarily for grazing livestock. Its most notable occupant was UNC President David L. Swain's white mule, "Old Cuddy."
William Chambers Coker was the first Botany professor at the University of North Carolina and the first chair of the University Buildings and Grounds Committee. Coker began transforming this boggy pasture into an outdoor classroom for the study of trees, shrubs, and vines native to our State. Henry R. Totten enters the picture in 1916. He was a Ph.D. student of Dr. Coker's and an instructor at the university. Together, Totten and Coker planted a "physic garden" in the Coker Arboretum. Totten's specialty was pharmaceutical botany. Dr. Totten's "drug garden" became a highly respected site for research and teaching.
During and after World War I, there was a shortage of raw drug plants (the best available medicine) from Europe. Dr. Stockberger of the USDA's Drug and Poisonous Plant Investigation made a donation of seeds and roots for study and growth. In the late 1920s, Coker and Totten proposed a more complete botanical garden to be located south of the main campus.
Coker Arboretum grew to the home of 176 drug plant species and was selected by the United States Department of Agriculture as one of the best pharmaceutical gardens in the United States.
After World War II, drugs began to be synthesized in laboratories. Pharmacy students no longer needed to know about the uses and preparation of medical plants. The "drug garden" fell into a state of neglect. 64
Spider Gate 65
Digressing a bit, in the 1930’s Alma Holland Beers, the first female botanist at UNC, began teaching undergraduate and graduate students. Her favorite subject was the "Structure, Growth and Classification of Ferns."
Plantings were made by Coker, Totten and their students in the 1940’s on the land that is now the North Carolina Botanical Garden. And in 1952, the Trustees of the University of North Carolina dedicated 72 forested acres for the creation of a botanical garden.
William Lanier Hunt, a former student of Coker and Totten, donated an additional 103 acres. This newly acquired land was hallmarked by a dramatic creek gorge.
In 1945, Dr. Coker retired. He bequeathed 25 wooded acres, “the Coker Pinetum," to the University of NC. The bequest stated that the property was to be used for teaching purposes . . . to be a living laboratory. It could specifically NOT be used for athletic fields. If his stipulation was not honored, the land would revert to Coker College.
William Hunt helped found the Botanical Garden Foundation to offer membership support. The first public offering opened on Arbor Day in 1966. Work-study students created nature trails for all to enjoy.
William Chambers Coker:
William Coker was born in Hartsville, South Carolina. Even as a young child he was fascinated by nature. His intrigue was shared and encouraged by his father. William's early schooling was with his governess, but later he went to a preparatory school, and to the University of South Carolina. Coker's first job was to be a "runner" for the Atlantic Bank in Wilmington, NC. He was promoted to be a vice president of the bank only two years later. But William Coker still craved more education. He left banking in 1897 and studied at Johns Hopkins where he received a Ph.D. with high distinction. He completed additional studies in Germany. Destiny brought Dr. Coker to the University of North Carolina. In Chapel Hill, he found a habitat that was botanically rich and unexplored. William Chambers Coker became a world-renowned botanist, particularly known for his studies of fungi (mycological studies). He published five books and was eminent in his field. William also had a talent for landscape architecture as is evidenced in Coker Arboretum and throughout the UNC campus where buildings were softened by informal plantings. Coker experimented with grasses in an attempt to find a mixture of seed suitable to keep the lawns of Chapel Hill green throughout the year. A mixture was finally selected and a pamphlet was published telling in great detail how to prepare the ground and plant the seeds. William Coker's favorite class to teach was General Botany, and he was a favorite professor. He was cherished by his advanced students for the intimate (3 or 4 person) classes, and for his participation in their research. But his highest acclaim was that he was, "never too hurried to look at something of interest that a student had found, and he had a rare ability to stimulate the student to want to find out more, and to believe in the importance of what he or she was doing."
Sarracenia leucophylla, Tarnok
In 1966, the North Carolina Botanical Garden was chartered as a non-profit organization and it was incorporated. William Hunt acted as the first president of the Botanical Garden Foundation. More works were published by professors at the university drawing attention to their respected research and the fledgling facility. C. Richie Bell became the first salaried employee of the NC Botanical Garden. His job was to supervise work-study students. The work of volunteers for 65 years came to fruition. A new planting project, Azalea Hill, was sponsored by the Men's Garden Club of Chapel Hill. It was designed by William Hunt and was the Garden's first specific planting project. Native azaleas were placed along the new trail through an opening in the forest that was created by a fallen oak. The North Carolina Botanical Garden prepared an exhibit for the State Fair in 1970 entitled "Planting with Native Plants." It included botanicals from the Mountains, the Piedmont, and the Coastal Plains. Similar exhibits were established over time at the Botanical Garden. Added to these were the plant collections of Carnivorous Plants, Aquatic Plants, Southeastern Ferns, Sandhills Habitat, and Plant Families. Also in 1970, the NC State Legislature allocated state funds for some of the Garden operations. Fortunately, the Garden's formative period coincided with an interest in plants and in conservation fueled by the environmental movement. The first was celebrated and it drew national attention to the environment.
Tour guides (all volunteer) began leading visitors through the "Habitat Hikes" and long range plans were made for headquarters on Laurel Hill Road. At this time, there were only two garden staff . . . Ken Moore and his horticultural assistant Anne Benson. They had five work-study assistants. Classes were offered for the first time in the gardens. In 1973, the Herb Garden was established and in1975 staff moved into the Totten Center from the "Green Shed" (a tool shed that had sheltered staff). Garden membership totaled 200 people. A substantial growth in only 3 years!
ilestones . . . moving forward
Post 1973 there have been myriad achievements and many national recognitions. Yet still the core of success for the North Carolina Botanical Garden comes from the people. It is their inspiration, their dedication, and their commitment to hours of service that make the Garden a vibrant, innovative source of botanical knowledge.
Mark Morgan Jr, and his cousins
Mary Elizabeth Morgan Mason
Kemp P. Battle
William Chambers Coker Henry R. Totten Alma Holland Beers William Lanier Hunt Ken Moore Anne Benson C. Ritchie Bell
the Garden Club of North Carolina
James and Delight Allen
and all contributors who give of their time & resources 70
programs include Conservation & Environmental Protection
Educational Plant Collections and Habitat
Multi-Generational Education Programs Native Plant Studies Botanical Art and Illustration Plant Protection Inspiration of Literature & Science Wildflower of the Year Children's Wonder Garden
Use of fire to maintain habitat & natural areas
Environmentally Responsible Gardening Practices & More The North Carolina Botanical Garden remains a strong botanical and educational leader. It continues to inspire and to innovate. It is a non-constrictive venue for planting, learning and growth. We owe much gratitude to those who protected their native environment for us. Hopefully we will pay them back by protecting it for future generations.
Eleanor Smith Pegg Exhibit Hall
Arthur DeBerry Gallery
James and Delight Allen Education Center
greets all who enter the North Carolina Botanical Garden. The facility is a leader and a model for green building. The Education Center combines the use of water efficient systems, renewable energy, energy conservation and healthy building materials to earn LEED Platinum status. It is the first public building in the state of North Carolina to earn the green building top award. Most impressive . . . more than six hundred individual donors raised 100% of the funds needed for construction. The Allen Education Center celebrates relationships between humans and nature through integration of indoor and outdoor spaces.
The freshman who wrote, "Surrender to the Enemy," was Paul Green. Paul was born in Buies Creek, NC. Nationally acclaimed, Paul Green won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama in 1926. The play, "In Abraham's Bosom" depicted the plight of African Americans in the South. His outdoor play, "The Lost Colony," was first produced during the Great Depression. It is the oldest outdoor historical drama in the United States, and is still being enacted today. The cabin pictured to the right was originally built by Robert Davis as a basket weaving and casket making shop. In 1939, Davis' widow offered the cabin to Paul Green. He treasured the cabin and moved it to the back of his home on Greenwood Road in Chapel Hill where it became his writing studio and retreat. Paul Green was devoted to the plants native to North Carolina. The native flora and the people of the region gave him inspiration for his best works.
The Paul Green Cabin was restored and moved to the Mountain Habitat section of the North Carolina Botanical Garden in 1991.
F T orest
In 1917, a freshman at the University of North Carolina wrote a one act play, "Surrender to the Enemy," that was performed in Battle Park.
Impressed by the performance in a natural, outdoor venue, Professor Henry Koch (founder of Playmakers Theatre) suggested an outdoor theatre. Dr. Coker selected the site for a stone amphitheater set into the hillside in Battle Park. The Forest Theatre opened on July 31, 1919. Its inaugural performance was Carolina Playmakers' "Taming of the Shrew."
Forest Theatre was rebuilt with Work Projects Administration funds between 1940 and 1942. The WPA with a $20,000 budget added two lighting towers, a director box, a ticket box, terraced flagstone seating, and stonework around and behind the stage. In 2004, the Forest Theatre became a part of the North Carolina Botanical Garden.
the North Carolina Botanical just celebrated its 29th annual
Sculpture in the Garden
L. Attar, R. Esprit
artist, Mike Doig
The North Carolina Botanical Garden is open Tuesday through Saturday: 9 am - 5 pm Sunday: 1 pm - 5 pm Closed Mondays and University Holidays The Piedmont Nature Trails, Coker Arboretum, and Battle Park are open from Dawn to Dusk every day of the year. Leashed dogs are allowed on the Piedmont Nature Trails. Dogs are not allowed inside the fenced area of the display gardens.
artist, Tinka Jordy
Other Annual Events Include: Winter in the Garden Holiday Festival Evelyn McNeill Sims Native Plant Lecture Spring Plant Sale and Festival Carolina Moonlight Garden Party Discovering Magic in the Garden Fall Plant Sale and Festival Pumpkins in the Garden: BOO-tanical Jenny Elder Fitch Memorial Lecture For more information and other opportunities go to
http://ncbg.unc.edu The Garden is a non-profit unit of UNC All donations are appreciated
artist, T J Christiansen
D U K E
G A R D E N S “ “A garden is a journey paved with success and setbacks.” Water has always been the ebb and flow of Duke Gardens. It’s the garden’s frustration and its majesty. I n
the early 1920’s when James B. Duke founded Duke University, no one imagined that the gardens would be
as integral to the university as Duke Chapel and the classrooms. In fact, it was James B. Duke’s desire to create a waterscape where the gardens are now. He envisioned a series of waterfalls cascading into a recreational lake. Plans were drawn, the lake bed was excavated and approximately two hundred thousand square feet of land were cleared. Then, to the planner’s dismay, the project was stopped because money was not available for its completion. The setback turned out to be a gift to many generations. A new vision was born in the mind of Frederic M. Hanes, a neurosurgeon at Duke’s newly opened medical school. Every day, Dr. Hanes walked a winding path from his home through the ravine created by the excavation to his work. The area was unsightly, it was now waist-deep in scrubby weeds. Neighbors used it as a site to dump trash. Dr. Hanes was an avid gardener with a passion for iris. He saw the refuse pit as a garden to devote to his favorite flower. In 1932, with the University’s approval, Dr. Hanes hired a landscape architect and head of the American Iris Society, John C. Wister, to create a plan and proposal. Wister’s vision was that the garden would be a site where, “all interested people could here acquire practical knowledge to help them make their own surroundings more attractive.” The initial cost to begin the project was $30,000. In the throes of the Great Depression, the University could not in good conscience sponsor such an expensive garden. So Dr. Hanes took his plea to Sarah P. Duke, who donated $20,000 to the project. Construction began in 1934. Removing abandoned mule carts, refuse and tangled weeds was challenging. The soil consisted of clay, rock and sand. But the insurmountable obstacle proved to be water. 79
l i v i n g
w o r k
The ravine collected prodigious runoff after every rainstorm. “Even after a moderate shower it was from two to four days before man or animal could venture on the ground without getting mired.” To help hold a newly created stream, two thousand iris were planted on its curved banks. They were the first flowers planted in Duke Gardens. It wasn’t long before a violent storm flooded the entire valley washing away hundreds of plants and the recently added garden loam. An exasperated superintendent described it as, “A hell’uva mess.” Planting continued and the following spring, a dazzling flower display enthralled everyone who
came to visit the new gardens.
Disaster struck again in early July when eleven days of rain soaked the ground, and the summer heat combined to create a steam bath. Disease decimated thousands of plants. It was time to start over. This time a female landscape architect, Ellen Biddle Shipman was hired. She was dubbed the “dean of American women landscape
Duke Gardens was dedicated in May of 1939. The wrought iron pergola with its original octagonal design and crowned with a pineapple finial . . . the symbol of welcome, was in disrepair. To celebrate its seventy fifth anniversary, the iconic pergola was restored.
a r t
architectsâ€? by House and Garden Magazine, and was the founder of an all female architectural firm in New York City at the age of 51. After studying the site, Shipman proposed creating a strong geometric landscape that would climb the north rim of the natural slope where the land was much drier.
The all too familiar issue was funding. In 1936, Sarah B. Duke passed away, she endowed money to
the gardens, but not enough to meet the expense of the grand new plans. Dr. Hanes presented the new design to Mary Duke Biddle, Sarahâ€™s daughter, as a fitting memorial to her mother. Mary donated an additional $40,000.
The magical garden scene created by their gift still reigns supreme today, creating awe, wonder, and serenity for all who visit. Lotus blossoms, water lilies, a natural waterfall, and brightly colored coi thrive in the pond. Their mystical message changes by the hour, the day, and the season. Beckoning all to return.
The original Chinese wisteria had not been healthy in recent years. As it wound its way between narrow slots in the metal, the plant had choked itself over the decades. In a commitment to sustainability, it was replaced with a native species.
s e r e n e
s y m m e t r y
Expanding Boundaries The Gardens’ expansion was initiated in the late 1950’s by Richard Fillmore and Paul Kramer. They were serving as the chief horticulturist, and director of the Gardens.
and Kramer hired a landscape architect, William Leong, to devise a plan that would “make good and artistically effective use of the entire fifty acres.” The planners were shocked to discover that no official boundaries had never been set for the Gardens. It wasn’t clear whether the Gardens “had dibs” on any additional land. In fact, the medical school and hospital just across the road were eyeing the upper tract as a place to build a parking lot. Fortunately, in 1959 the Board of Trustees of Duke voted to dedicate the entire fifty-five acre tract to Sarah P. Duke Gardens. Duke recognized the significance of the Gardens to the University and to the community. The new master plan could proceed. Leong was professionally trained as a landscape architect and as a city planner. This dual training made him conscious of circulation . . . the way pedestrian traffic and water flowed through the Gardens. Among his early improvements was the addition of a main entrance from Anderson Street. Joseph Barnes created the gates to “uplift the human spirit.” Inspired by Duke Chapel, copper alloy panels were inserted into the wrought iron. Each panel was inscribed with abstract symbols. The subtle blue, gray and copper tones were reminiscent of stained glass. Unfortunately, a cleaning to remove rust also removed much of the patina. An alley leads from the gates to the memorial garden. Leong envisioned the memorial rose garden as a formal, symmetric beginning . . . a center from which paths would radiate into various sections of the Gardens. The roses added fragrance and elegance to the traditional beginning. In 2011, the Roney Fountain was restored and moved from the entrance to Trinity College (now East Campus) to the center of the Memorial Gardens adding its grace and tradition for all to enjoy. 82
Anne Roney donated the fountain to Trinity College in honor of her brother-in-law, Washington Duke in 1897.
n a t i v e
n a t u r a l
The Blomquist pavilion features a base of stone claimed from Duke Forest, and slate shingles salvaged from the Old Methodist Orphanage in Raleigh. The orphanage was built with support from the Duke Endowment.
n u r t u r i n g The Blomquist Garden Dr. Hugo Blomquist was the first chairman of Duke’s department of botany. In the early 1930’s when the Garden was in conception, Dr. Blomquist warned university officials that it was not fitting for a Duke garden to be “the object of one person’s hobby.” He envisioned more than a tribute to iris. Blomquist espoused a garden with native plants . . . ferns, sphagnum mosses, wild ginger and other herbaceous plants that would blend in with the surroundings. Upon his death, Dr. Blomquist’s former students, colleagues, and friends contributed to creating the Blomquist Garden of Native Plants, still viable today. Along with additional support from the Ornamentation in the native gardens includes millstones salvaged from 19th century North Carolina grist mills.
Mary Duke Biddle Foundation, funds were adequate to open the original three-acre garden in 1968.
Many plants featured in this native garden were rescued from sites destined to be razed for development or propagated from seeds and cuttings collected from plants in the wild.
b o t a n i c a l More than fifty years after the original iris garden washed away, twenty plus acres on the northern end of the garden remained a frontier. In 1984, William Louis Culberson, director of the gardens, proposed a new garden to be built on this woodland frontier stating, “We plan to use our remaining (acres) for another educational collection --- a woodland-style Arboretum of Asiatic trees and shrubs.” Linda Jewell was hired as the landscape architect for the new Asiatic Arboretum. Her mission was to address the longstanding flood control problem and to create a garden of delight with sanctuaries for reflection. Wheelchair paths were created to lead from the hospital to the gardens. The central feature of the Asiatic Arboretum is the Teien-oike Garden Pond. This one and a half acre pond serves as the funnel for a 165 acre watershed. Prior to the pond’s construction, flooding was a recurring problem. Former Garden staff members remember rescuing fish washed
out onto the lawn after a heavy rain. A group of Duke engineering students calculated that the amount of excess water produced by the largest storm in a seven year period was 200,000 cubic feet. The available capacity of the Teien-oike Garden Pond was engineered to accommodate the calculated maximum rainfall. Duke Garden’s flood control was finally in check. The long pond opened distant vistas inviting visitors to walk and explore. At the far end of the pond, a Japanese style bridge gracefully arches a photogenic path. Dedicated in 1994, the iconic Arched Bridge was originally pale gray to mimic the color of aged wood. In 2010, it was 86 painted red at the recommendation of a visiting landscape designer from Toyama . . . Durham’s sister city in Japan.
c o u s i n s Dr. Culberson pointed out that while many American gardens reflect European landscaping traditions, “if we look abroad for the present-day vegetation most like ours in eastern North America, we discover it not in nearby Europe but in the distant Orient.” He went further to explain that the connection stems from the time of dinosaurs, when a lush forest grew across the conjoined continents of the northern hemisphere. Advancing glaciers wiped out many species on the European continent while the Asian and North American continents were able to creep farther south, enabling more diverse species to survive. “For millions of years plants evolved in tandem in Asian and in the American forests . . . producing botanical cousins half the world apart.” Paul Jones joined Duke Gardens as curator of the arboretum. He created, “a sense of moving from room to room, designing clearings to provoke
a sense of freedom and spaciousness and intimate enclosures to invite meditation. Windows through the trees provide picturesque views of distant parts of the garden.” Architectural elements in the Asiatic Arboretum include new and antique lanterns to guide the way, an artistic arrangement or rocks and waterfalls, and a stepping stone path leading to a rock water basin. Tradition is that travelers crossing the Garden’s Yatsuhashi or Zig-Zag bridge sidestep evil spirits, which can only travel in a straight line. A small, refined garden pavilion functions as a venue for chanoyu, the preparation and service of Japanese tea in a traditional, historical manner. The tea ceremony is designed to celebrate life’s smallest moments of beauty. Utensils are carved from plants in the Gardens. 87
wi t h d e d i cation t o e d u c a t i o n
o u r Bees
p as t
fu t ure &
The Charlotte Brody Discovery Gardens is an active teaching garden and a legacy to Charlotte Brody, a passionate organic gardener who wanted people to know how to grow their own food. The garden is just one acre in total size, which presented a challenge to landscape architects and engineers. One mission was for the garden to be sustainable. Bioretention cells were incorporated to capture stormwater and filter it using native plant species with natural cleansing properties. Excess water discharged into a fore bay that feeds the Duke Garden pond. Two 2,500 gallon cisterns collect runoff from the roof of the barn and store it for use irrigating the vegetable gardens on the upper terrace. One and a half tons of wood were reclaimed from two historic North Carolina tobacco barns to build the Burpee Learning Center.
salvaged brick were used to construct the planting beds and pergola. Native fruits and vegetables are grown organically, and over 1,600 pounds of produce are donated to local food banks every year. Bees, chickens, and insects play an ecological role in creating a healthy garden environment. Another mission is education.
A multitude of hands-on horticulture and
nature discovery activities are available to all through workshops, camps, and demonstrations.
D U K E
Internationally Acclaimed Over three hundred thousand visitors come to Duke Gardens each year. They come from all over the world to view the majesty of the formal gardens, the tranquility of the Asian Gardens, the serenity of the native gardens and the activity of the Charlotte Brody gardens. Perpetually growing and changing, every season in the garden brings new delights. From parking by the Doris Duke Center pictured above, there are maps for personal exploration, tours (pedestrian and trolley), and a myriad of events for adults and children alike. The
excellent source for information about nature walks, classes and workshops, musical events, exhibits, Japanese tea ceremonies, and so much more. The garden is a gift to us all. A gift from the Duke family . . . who were agronomists . . . from professors and physicians, and from . . . many, many volunteers and donors.
Lifetimes of memories were made in these gardens.
Memories of weddings and joy, memories of respite. We marvel at intimate views of lotus, coi, ducks, herons, bees and even chickens 90
G A R D E N S
s. Acclaims and awards for every aspect of Duke Gardens are stellar and too many to note. The real value is the emotions evoked at the wonder in every corner, the interaction, and the joy each new visit and each new discovery brings.
North Carolina State Capitol circa 1833
"Henceforth our youth may never need to roam the arts to study , better seen at home." The Raleigh Star
Prior to 1722 North Carolina was without a fixed capital, Governors (who were appointed by the King) lived in their own homes and the Assembly moved from place to place, meeting in private homes, and courthouses. Edenton was selected as capital in 1722, but by the time modest facilities were constructed, the population center had shifted to the south, so the NC government migrated along with the population.
Americans of the early national period admired the classical architecture of the Greeks and Romans. Americans believed that they were shaping a form of government that had not existed since the time of the Roman Republic. A government in which the power resided with the voting citizens and the voting citizens chose their representatives.
In 1766 New Bern was selected to be the capital of North Carolina. One year later the construction of Tryon Palace began. The project was complete in 1771. Tryon Palace was designed to function as the governor's residence and office and as the meeting place of the Upper House. A few years later, during the American Revolution, New Bern was threatened with revolutionary attack and the government fled the city. The "palace" was deserted and in 1798 all but one wing burned to the ground. Post war, the population base of North Carolina shifted further west. In 1788 a State Convention was held in Hillsborough to consider ratification of the United States Constitution. It was at this convention that the delegates voted to locate a new capital within ten miles of Hunter's Tavern in Wake County. Commissioners were selected by the General Assembly to determine a specific site. They met at Hunter's Tavern on March 20, 1792. Hunter apparently hoped to sell his land for the capital, but the commissioners adjourned to the residence of Joel Lane, from whom they purchased the land where the capital is now located. Joel Lane was a kinsman of Ralph Lane, the first governor of North Carolina. When first established in 1792, Raleigh consisted of four 99 foot streets, a few 66 foot streets, and five public squares. A central square was reserved for a capitol building. These plans were based on the city of Philadelphia which at the time was the capital of the United States. The state legislature allotted $10,000 for construction of the State House. It was completed in 1796. In 1822 an architect named William Nichols, was hired to embellish the building. He added classical details, a third floor, a rotunda and a dome. Ironically, in 1831 a smelting pot of zinc being used to fireproof the building tipped over onto the roof and started a blaze that destroyed the State House. The original statue of George Washington by Antonio Canova was damaged beyond repair. Today a replica of the original stands in the center of the State Capitol rotunda.
In December of 1832, the legislature appropriated $50,000 for the new Capitol, and specified that it be built as an enlarged version of the old State House . . . a cross-shaped building with a central, domed rotunda. And, most important, it was to be fire proof. Plans were submitted by William Nichols Jr., whose father had worked on the original building, and by the New York architectural firm of Ithiel Town and Alexander Jackson Davis. The TownDavis firm was famous for designing buildings in the Greek Revival Style. Both groups participated in the project. Construction began based on the William Nichols, Jr. plan. The cornerstone was laid on July 4, 1833 with full masonic honors by the Grand Master of the State, Simon Jones Baker. Although walls were already several feet high, Nichol's was replaced by Town and Davis as the architectural firm to re-design and complete the project. Their firm is credited with its exterior appearance and plan. David Paton was hired by Town and Davis to supervise construction. Paton was born in Edinburgh and was the son of an acclaimed builder and architect. He attended Edinburgh University and trained as an architect and builder under his father's tutelage. After the death of his young wife, David came to the United States to start over. Arriving in New York, Paton sought employment, and found such in the offices of Town and Davis. Due to his vast experience with the construction of fine-jointed, stone-built Neoclassical buildings they readily employed him and sent David Paton to North Carolina to oversee construction of the North Carolina State Capitol. His rich heritage and classical training led Paton to make valuable changes to the interior design. He is responsible for making the first floor offices and corridors fireproof by spanning them with masonry groin vaults. He shifted the position of the stairs in both stories. Paton moved the Supreme Count and Library rooms from the second to the third floor, and redesigned the east and west wings to provide more offices and committee rooms. Public galleries were added at the third floor level. Top lit, domed vestibules were designed. In his most dramatic change to the edifice, Paton introduced the galleried circular opening between the first and second floor levels in the rotunda, employing sophisticated engineering techniques to create the breath-taking full height view from ground level to the sky lit dome. His cantilevered "pen-checked" stone stairs and simple Greek inspired coffers are elegant and spatially inspiring. Paton patterned the moldings, ornamental plasterwork, and the honeysuckle crown atop the dome after features of ancient Greek temples such as the Parthenon, the Tower of the Winds and the Erectheum. Paton's interior changes effectually made the building more functional, while introducing greater spacial sophistication and drama. Town was offended by the significant alterations that were made to the original design without his approval, and he officially withdrew from the project. In March 1835 the commissioners appointed David Paton as the official architect. The commissioners increased Paton's salary from three dollars a day to five dollars a day, effective February 1, 1837. By early 1840, tension between Paton and the commissioners over Patonâ€™s demands for additional compensation rose to a level the commissioners would not tolerate, and Paton was dismissed. 98
For many years to follow, Paton futilely pursued his claim for additional compensation. He contended that his services as architect were far more extensive than those called for by his initial contract as superintendent.
The Capitol was completed in 1840. The total cost including furnishings was $532,682.34. That sum was more than three times the yearly gross income of the state.
House of Representatives This chamber was originally called the House of Commons, but was changed to the House of Representatives in 1868. It seats 120 members in a semicircular plan based on the design of a Grecian amphitheater. The ornate plaster moldings and column capitols are executed in the Corinthian style like those seen in the Tower of the Winds in Athens. The top podium was used by the Speaker of the house, the middle podium was occupied by the clerks, and the lower curved table was assigned to newspaper reporters. The Secession Ordinance of 1861 was signed at this curved table. The Thomas Sully portrait of Washington (circa 1818) was saved during the State House fire of 1831. The carpet is a conjectural reproduction of the thirtyone-star pattern which was added in 1854 for warmth. There were thirty-one states in the nation at that time. The original 84 candle brass chandelier was lowered each day by pulley to light the candles. The mid-nineteenth century brass and copper chandelier that hangs in the house today is lowered on that same mechanism to change the light bulbs.
Behind The desk The desks are original and were built by William Thompson, a local cabinetmaker.
Standing in the chamber, it is fascinating to think of the men and women who served in this chamber. A personal favorite is Lillian Exum Clement. Lillian Clement was the youngest of six children, and was born in the Black Mountains of North Folk, North Carolina. In her early teens, Lillian's father moved his family to Asheville, where he helped construct the Biltmore House. Lillian attended school at All Souls Parish and then at Asheville Business College. An eager learner, she furthered her education by studying law under two local practicing attorneys -- J.J. Britt and Robert C. Goldstein. Lillian worked for the Buncome County sheriff's office while studying law. In 1917 Lillian passed the bar exam and became the first woman in North Carolina to open her own law practice. Within four years she had earned a reputation as a quick-witted and highly skilled criminal lawyer.
In 1920, the Buncome County Democratic Party asked
Lillian Clement to run for a seat in the North Carolina House of Representatives. The 19th Amendment had not been ratified and women were not allowed to vote. Unable to vote for herself, she won by a landslide over two male opponents. On January 5, 1921, at the age of 26, Lilian Exum took her seat in the North Carolina House of Representatives. She introduced the "Clement Bill", a measure calling for private voting booths, and secret ballots. 101
the Senate The senate chambers are Ionic in style, and its details resemble the Erechtheum, a temple in Athens. This room served the fifty member Senate until 1961.
The two rooms at the north end of the chamber were originally the offices of the Speaker and the principal clerk of the Senate. The Senate has two additional rooms at the south end of the chamber that acted as committee rooms. There are three public galleries with balcony seating. The rostrums at the front are slightly smaller than those in the House and originally seated the Speaker of the Senate, now known as the President of the Senate, or lieutenant governor. The desks are original and were built by the same craftsman who provided those for the House of Representatives, William Thompson. The window shades feature olive wreaths, a symbol of victory and honor. The lithograph to the right of the podium is a print of the Cordova statue of Washington seen in the rotunda. This 1840's print features the only known interior view of the 1794-1796 State House. 102
The exterior Capitol walls are built of gneiss, a form of granite that was quarried in southeastern Raleigh and transported to the site on a mule-drawn Experimental Railroad, North Carolina's first railway. Raleigh gneiss is about 544 million years old. It can be identified by characteristic streaks, bands and lines, as well as veins of igneous rock containing pink feldspar and gray quarts cutting across the gneiss.
State Geologist Office Originally designed for and occupied by the Supreme Court, this room became the State Geologist's Office in 1856. The Supreme Court relocated to the first floor (for convenience) in 1843 and presided in this room for only three years.
state geologist, Dr. Ebenezer Emmons, took over this room to conduct a geological survey to determine the commercial and agricultural value of minerals and plants native to North Carolina. In glass cabinets, he displayed specimens from the piedmont section of North Carolina. They included soil, seeds, rocks, and mineral samples. The Gothic gallery was added in 1858 to expand the collection, but it is likely that the upper shelves were actually used to store an overflow of books from the State Library. In April 1865 Union troops occupied Raleigh, and General Sherman's troops rifled the mineral collection. In 1866, the collection's remnants were donated to the University of North Carolina, and by 1868 the mineral cases were removed from the room. After the Civil War, the room housed the office of the superintendent of public instruction.
Dr. Ebenezer Emmons A pioneering American geologists whose work includes the naming of the Adirondack Mountains in New York. Ebineezer Emmons (1799 - 1863) geologist, educator, and physician. Emmons pursued a vigorous tripartite career for over a decade. He became one of the four head geologists involved in a significant geological study for the state of New York. When Emmons discovered and proposed the presence of a system of stratified rocks beneath the Potsdam, which he named as the Taconic system. It caused great furor among geologists. Emmons became embittered by the ridicule and the ostracism of other geologists. So embittered, that he accepted a position with the state of North Carolina as chief geologist in 1851. The work of Emmons and his assistants were lost during the Civil War. 105
State Library located in this room from 1840 until 1888
In 1942 the staircase, gallery and shelves were added to hold the growing collection of North Carolina books and papers. The collection began with more that two thousand volumes and grew to nearly forty thousand. Originally the library was only open to state officials . In 1845 the general public was admitted. By 1859 the State Library had outgrown this space and was storing contents 106
into other areas of the Capitol. In the late 1880's, the State Library moved to a larger building. Gothic elements pervade the room . . . from the iconic arches . . . to the decorative ceiling . . . to the highly decorative white oak woodwork and vertical elements. It is an exquisite masterpiece and a pleasure to the eye to see.
History Remembers Built in 1840, the North Carolina State Capitol is often described as being one of best preserved capitols in all our nation. It is a monument to our heritage, a living view into our past, and an inspiration for our future.
Each of us has unlimited opportunities to explore this historical and architectural gem. My apologies for only referencing a brief scatter of the many stories and beautiful scenes surrounding and inside the walls.
To explore possibilities to participate in activities at the State Capitol, to read the newsletter, to shop and support or to see ongoing projects go to
www.ncstatecapitol.org Over 100,000 visitors visit the North Carolina State Capitol each year. Self guided tours are available Monday through Saturday from 9 am until 5pm. Admission is free though donations are welcome and appreciated. Public guided tours are available every Saturday at 11 am and 2 pm. For group tours of 10 or more contact www.nccapvisit.org.
1 East Edenton St, Raleigh, NC 27601 (919) 733-4994
â€œbehind the velvet ropesâ€? Check the website for dates and times. Book ahead the tour fills quickly
American Tobacco Historic District
Old Bull River 111
Washington Duke was released from Libby Prison in 1865. He had been held there since the Confederate Army’s retreat from Richmond. Libby Prison, had an infamous reputation for overcrowded and harsh conditions. It fell into Union hands after the battle for Richmond. Washington Duke was then sent to New Bern, where a federal soldier gave him 50 cents for his five dollar Confederate note, and Duke walked to his 300 acre farm four miles north of Durham. Upon his arrival, Washington Duke found little left of his farm ... except for a small bit of Bright Leaf tobacco. He pulverized and cleaned the tobacco, put it into muslin sacks and started in the tobacco business. In 1890, after years of hard work and great success as an entrepreneur, Duke’s four biggest rivals joined him and formed The American Tobacco Company Trust. It was the largest tobacco company in the world. The first of the buildings on the now-historic campus, Hill, Reed, and Washington, were built in 1902 and 1903. The Power Plant was built in 1930, followed by Fowler in 1939, Strickland in 1946, and Crown in 1955. When anti-trust issues forced the tobacco giant to dissolve into four separate companies, they gradually moved out of Durham, leaving the facility abandoned. There is no mistaking Durham’s association with tobacco. For over 140 years, Durham has been a city dominated by the tobacco industry – either by its boom or its bust. Magnificent brick warehouses constructed during its run as the “Bull City” – stemming from the Durham Bull tobacco logo as a manufacturing company – still physically commandeer the downtown area. After a long period of prosperity, many of the properties became vacant or under utilized, victimized by mid-twentieth century suburban population shifts and the decline of the tobacco industry. No longer driving the city’s growth, the brick buildings actually stymied Durham’s emergence from the economic slump of the latter twentieth century. Few commercial developers – and even fewer conventional bankers – trusted the properties’ future
because the brick buildings were so vast in size and number and so poorly maintained, combined with the bleak outlook of the downtown area. The 13-acre complex, totaling approximately one million square feet, was abandoned at the south end of downtown in 1987. As the former center of Durhamâ€™s identity and its primary employer, the fate of the American Tobacco District and the health of Downtown Durham were inextricably linked. However, several savvy financial investors saw potential in Downtown Durham to help finance the rehabilitation of the American Tobacco campus into a mix of new uses. Today those thick brick walls are humming again, recast as the home to top-notch office space (among them renown investment firms, Duke Universityâ€™s corporate education school, a North Carolina NPR affiliate, advertising firms, software companies and smaller businesses and non-profits), several restaurants, a YMCA and, of course, the Durham Performing Arts Center. The first phase of the revitalization project was launched in 2004. Phase I rehabilitated five of the historic properties into 500,000 square feet of Class A office space, a few restaurants, and a new water feature, the Old Bull River, which courses through the center of the campus. The $85 million Phase II continued the rehabilitation of the remaining historic buildings, including some of the very oldest tobacco warehouses and factories in the United States. It also created the Old Bull Apartments and a handful of condos. The $67 million Phase III (new construction only) produced the $44 million+ Durham Performing Arts Center and was planned to yield 380 residential units, additional commercial office space and 40,000 square feet of retail and restaurants. Equally impressive is the economic impact of the American Tobacco project. Phase I brought 3,450 jobs to the campus, and Phase II, more than 2,200. Property values are estimated to have risen more than 30% after each phase, increasing city revenues. The project has had a tremendous catalytic effect as well.
from Bleak to Chic 113
Data shows that the pace of downtown development increased substantially following the opening of the American Tobacco District. For example, during the siteâ€™s 17-year period of vacancy (1987-2003), less than one significant development project, on average, was completed downtown each year. In the five years following the completion of Phase I, 16 major projects were completed downtown, averaging more than three per year.
The real bottom line, which shouldnâ€™t be lost in the tally of impressive figures and square footage, is that now Downtown Durham is a lively, vibrant, interesting place to be, at all times of day or night. And best of all, the American Tobacco project was able to change peopleâ€™s assumptions about what they thought downtown to be, or what it could be, without allowing its rich architectural heritage and history to go up in smoke.
American Tobacco the Place to be for:
Moe’s Southwest Grill Nana Steak
Only Burger Saladelia
Tyler’s Taproom WXYZ Bar 116
Campus . com the Durham Bulls http://www.milb.com
the Power Plant Gallery http://powerplantgallery.org
the YMCA http://www.ymcatriangle.org
Durham Performing Arts http://www.dpacnc.com
Back Porch Music on the Lawn Outdoor Music and Entertainment from May 12 until September 8 117
the North Carolina
where the past
Frederick Augustus Olds (1853â€“1935) Fred Olds was the father and founder of the North Carolina Museum of History. As a journalist in the 1880s and 1890s, he wrote newspaper stories about North Carolina's history. Olds asked readers to bring him their artifacts from the state's past. He amassed nearly three hundred objects, the basis for the Hall of History, which opened in 1902. For the next thirty-two years, Olds ran the museum. He visited every county in the state at least three times and collected almost 30,000 artifacts. Some of Olds' prized items (such as the alleged Blackbeard bottle) are probably not authentic. But Fred Olds collected many genuine historical treasures and interested hundreds of people in the state's history. Serving as the "Pied Piper of history" to children all over North Carolina was Frederick Olds' greatest joy. His legacy lives on in the modern North Carolina Museum of History.
Museum of History
comes to life
those who came before us persevered great hardship to survive. They give us inspiration to believe in ourselves and in our future. The English, Scots Irish, German, Native American, and African,
each brought their talents, their hopes, and a love of North Carolina to this . . . our "Goodliest Land". Frederick Olds was an early advocate of "social history" ... history about and for the people.. Sauratown Woman: See a life-sized forensic reproduction of female associated with the Siouanspeaking Saura tribe, dating to the 1680-1715 period. Siouan home: Walk into an authentic Siouan Indian home ... produced of simulated bark and bent tree stalks. Imagine cold winters, hot summers, and close family quarters.
Experience the lifestyle of our forebears. Two full-size historic houses immerse museum visitors in places where North Carolinians have lived and worked. One is the state's 4th oldest house. It is the restored house that carpenter Solomon Robson built in Pitt County in 1742. The other is a slave cabin from the 1860s that was home to seven slaves.
a cannon like Blackbeard's from the Queen Anne's Revenge and a pirate's chest to see the bounty. your knowledge of whether a ship is friend or foe.
a movie about North Carolina's role in the American Revolution, and a model militia man.
battle scars on Confederate flags carried in major battles, including Gettysburg.
the division and pain of the Civil War. North Carolina was the second-to-last state to leave the Union, and loyalties were divided. More than 5,000 African-American men joined the Union Army regiments.
North Carolinians have answered the call to arms. They have been cautious to engage, but fierce and fearless on the battlefield , earning the name "tar heels". They would stick around when â€‰the fighting was tough.
of the great bravery and heroism of North Carolinians in World War I and World War II. From the Old Hickory division that broke the Hindenburg line to the replica of USS North Carolina and her brilliant Naval victories. 123
Milk a cow. Gather eggs. Lift a bucket of water.
Interactive opportunities allow visitors to experience North Carolina's agricultural past.
an early cigarette making machine. The tobacco industry was dominant in North Carolina for many years.
and textile mill.
to the ear-piercing machinery, the vibrating floor the lint fly in the weaving room of an early 20th century
Agriculture dominated business in North Carolina â€‰â€‰throughout the 18th and 19th centuries. However, from the late 1800s until today our state has been a leader in manufacturing and technology . . . from tobacco, textiles and furniture to medicine, banking and computers.
the turn of the century where the Durham Traction Company (later Duke Power) erected a large electric sign as a gesture of thanks to downtown merchants. See banners and signs for women's suffrage and marvel at the early automobiles.
at the exquisite detail of gowns made by Willie Kay, a designer and seamstress who turned "dreams into dresses." this and other passing exhibits that change throughout the year.
North Carolina is home to a vast array of inventions . . . from aircraft, to medicine, from food and drink, to weaponry. Our ancestors have worked from their barns, their laboratories, their garages . . . and even in prison to think, imagine and create.
Workshop of David Marshall
Imagine . . .
In August 1957 Igor Bensen landed a â€œroadableâ€? gyrocopter at the state fairgrounds in Raleigh and then drove it to Cameron Village to do some shopping. Later his wife met him in a station wagon. They then packed the gyrocopter in the back and went home. The unusual flying machine was designed and manufactured by Bensen Aircraft Corporation, located near the RaleighDurham Airport. It was designed and sold to be assembled in a garage and provide air and road transportation.
Soar . . .
The brothers tossed a coin to see who would first test the Wright Flyer on the sands of Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina. Older brother Wilbur won the toss, but his first attempt on December 14, 1903 was unsuccessful and caused minor damage to the aircraft. Three days later, Orville, in coat and tie, lay flat on his stomach on the planeâ€™s lower wing and took the controls.
Marvel . . .
aka "Carbine" Williams
at the story of Carbine Williams whose life is as fascinating as his inventions. At 19 Carbine had a reputation for making quality moonshine. A raid on his still in 1921 changed Carbine's life forever. The moonshiner got into a shootout with law enforcement officers and a deputy was killed. Carbine was convicted and sent to prison for 30 years. He spent endless days in solitary confinement thinking of ways to make more efficient firearms. In the prison blacksmith shop Carbine used scrap iron and wood to make gun parts. Here, Carbine invented the floating chamber and the short-stroke piston. The first gun Carbine made is in the museum exhibit. Other weapons invented by Williams include the U.S. Carbine, Caliber .30, and the M1.
Think . . .
The inventor of the Gatling gun, Richard Gatling, whose first patent for a rice seed planter with a cartridge feeding mechanism was the inspiration and design for the first machine gun. 127
North Carolinians Sports Hall of Fame is a 4,000 sq ft permanent exhibit gallery. It was established to, "celebrate excellence and extraordinary achievement in athletics." Inductees, who are elected annually, have donated mementos of their sports careers for display.
Watch the thrilling moments of
iconic games. Learn how each sport has evolved.
From Arnold Palmer's Ryder Cup golf bag, to Meadowlark Lemon's Harlem Globetrotters basketball uniform and Charlie, "ChooChoo" Justice's jersey . . . here is a fascinating array of memorabilia from great athletes in all sports. 128
the North Carolina Museum of History The museum is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. It is located at 5 E. Edenton Street Raleigh, North Carolina and is open Monday through Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: Noon to 5:00 p.m. http://ncmuseumofhistory.org/ 919-807-7900 Permanent Exhibits include:
The Story of North Carolina
A 20,000 sq ft exhibit that traces life in North Carolina from its first inhabitants through the 20th century.
North Carolina and the Civil War the Bitter End, 1864 - 1865
This exhibit begins in the spring of 1864, when heavy fighting in Virginia was thinning the ranks of Tar Heel troops, and closes with the surrender of the CSS Shenandoah in Liverpool, England.
David Marshall "Carbine" Williams
The workshop of this famous inventor contains examples of his weapon innovations and information about his life.
North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame
The hall of fame celebrated its 50th year in 2013. Enjoy audio, video, and interactive biographies as well as sports artifacts.
History of the Harvest
This outdoor exhibit connects the state's agricultural past with today's cutting-edge research and development by universities and companies.
Meet the Statues
Learn about the three statues on the museum steps. They include Frederick Olds, journalist and founder of the museum. A Sauratown Woman who was approximately 18 to 21 years old. Historical and scientific research indicated a costume comprised of a hood, dress, and possibly moccasins, made of brain-tanned deerskin, sewn with sinew, and embellished with multicolored glass trade beads, wampum, and brass hawk bells, triangles, cones and beads. And Thomas Day, perhaps North Carolina's most unique and well-known cabinetmaker. Thomas Day was a free African American who, through his skills and personal endeavors, became one of the most prolific producers of furniture in the state during the antebellum period.
History in every Direction: Tar Heel Junior Historian Association Discovery Gallery
Learn history through fun and informative handson activities, along with award-winning projects by students from across North Carolina.
A Thousand Words: Photographs by Vietnam Veterans Photographs taken by service personnel from the Piedmont Triad of North Carolina during their tours of duty in Vietnam.
A 1920s Drug Store
New to the museum, this exhibit shows a classic, charming soda shop with shelves of cosmetics, medicines, and candies sold during the era.
Traveling Exhibits: There are several sections of the museum reserved for limited time exhibits. These are always intriguing, fun, and informative.
the North Carolina
Museum of Art
Building of the Year 2010 the nation’s largest museum park an amphitheater for outdoor performances a permanent collection spanning more than 5,000 years 164 acres of trails and parkland containing major works of art
In 2010 architect Thomas Phifer’s creation, the West Building of the North Carolina Museum of Art, opened its doors. An ethereal structure with transparent qualities, the West Building was designed to infuse natural light, shadows and vibrancy into the renown works of the North Carolina Museum of Art collection. The building’s “skin” is a rain screen of pale, matte anodizedaluminum panels. These sheets are arrayed like great vertical 138
pleats that softly pick up surrounding colors and movement. Underlying strips of mirror-polished stainless steel angle the panels off the facade capturing broken, intriguing reflections. The landscape appears to permeate the solid walls only to reemerge inside as a luminous foil to the works of art.
In some respects, the Museum can be considered a single 65,000 square foot room. Overhead, hundreds of elliptical oculi in long parallel vaults punctuate the interior with an even spectrum of daylight, modulated by layers that filter out damaging rays. This gently luminous setting is magnified by reflective pure white walls and gossamer window coverings. Large panes of glass cast the gardens as an intimate foreground to a larger landscape. Equally liberating is the interior layout. A succession of wall planes, primarily free standing, float through the galleries. The open galleries encourage fluid movement inviting visitors to wander from Renaissance to Judaica, from Classical to Contemporary American, and from the Renaissance to the Rodin court. Museum goers float freely from indoor galleries to outdoor sculpture courts or to the gardens and back again.
High ceilings, long sight lines, and the glow cast by overhead oculi create a sense of serenity. Visitors can perceive changes in the sky as lighting levels adjust to weather conditions. This captivating feature emphasizes the synergy that exists between the inner and outer worlds. It is easy to see why in 2010 the West Building of the North Carolina Museum of Art was acclaimed Building of the Year. The Museumâ€™s history begins in 1924 with another Phifer, Robert F. Phifer, whose bequest of 75 paintings was the first art acquisition. These paintings were displayed in the Agriculture Building in Raleigh. Robert Lee Humber, a native of Greenville, NC, worked tirelessly with the legislature to appropriate one million dollars for additional art purchases. The Kress Foundation matched the appropriation with a gift of seventy works of art. 139
The original Museum was designed by Edward Durrell Stone and opened in 1983. Other buildings designed by Stone include the Kennedy Center in Washington DC, the Museum of Art in New York and the State Legislative Building in downtown Raleigh. The building is now a dedicated home for rotating exhibitions and public programs.
The mission statement of the North Carolina Museum of Art acknowledges the ownership of its collections and facilities by all the people of North Carolina. Entrance to the permanent collection is free.
Here, the masterpieces of Monet, Richard Diebenkorn, Winslow Homer and John Singleton Copley (to name a few) are open for daily viewing. It is one of only two American museums that feature a Judaica gallery. Other galleries include African, Ancient American and Egyptian art and artifacts. Anticipate a spectrum from the ancient to the modern . . . from the bronze age to contemporary.
The Kress gift to the Museum became the largest and most important of any except that given to the National Gallery of Art. It established the North Carolina Museum of Art as one of the premier museums in the country. And it deserved a new gallery.
The Blue Ridge Road site has a colorful history. First home to Native American inhabitants, it was later used as a Civil War training site. Later still it was the locale for Polk Youth Prison for juvenile offenders. A smokestack remains as a reminder of the youth prison. 140
Rodin The Museum is actively building the collection with recent acquisitions, including a gift from the Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Foundation of 30 works by Auguste Rodin, making the NCMA the leading repository of this artist’s work in the southeastern United States. A promised gift of mid- to late-20th-century art from the collection of Jim and Mary Patton includes works by Jackie Ferrara, Adolph Gottlieb, Ellsworth Kelly, Per Kirkeby, David Park, Sean Scully and others.
”The artist, in representing the universe as he imagines it, formulates his own dreams. In nature he celebrates his own soul. And in doing so, he enriches the soul of humanity.” Auguste Rodin
The NCMA’s Museum Park Theater is the largest concert venue of any art museum in the country. There is limited reserved seating as well as ample lawn seating amid beautiful shade trees. You may enjoy the inspired food and beverage offerings provided by the Museum or pack your own picnic. The amphitheater hosts a summer long festival that features America’s finest singer-songwriters and musical ensembles from around the world. Outdoor movie screening includes something to suit every taste and genre . . . from children’s favorites like Cars to Lincoln and Argo. Dates and times of concerts and movies can be found on the Museum website.
At NCMA you will discover the nation’s largest museum park offering 164 acres of trails and parkland containing major works of art. Juxtaposing the created and the natural . . . the whimsical and the profound. Visitors encounter dramatic works of art by riding bicycles, walking dogs, or wandering along scenic paths. Step inside a cloud chamber. Picnic near spinning works of art, or jog along wooded trails. Discover points of interest on trailside signs with information on art, plants, animals, and ecology. The Reedy Creek Greenway system is a paved multiuse pathway that connects the eastern portion of the Park to Meredith College and North Carolina State University via a pedestrian bridge. The Greenway connects the western portion of the Museum Park to Umstead State Park and Schenck Forest. Come often and enjoy!
Because NCMA is nationally and internationally recognized as a venue that supports and respects fine masterpieces, it draws rotating exhibits of renown quality. Past exhibitions have included: Monet in Normandy, Temples and Tombs: Treasures of Egyptian Art from The British Museum, Rembrandt in America, and a myriad others. Currently on display is Masterworks from the Chrysler Museum . . . upcoming is Porsche by Design: Seducing Speed.
Experience the NCMA after dark. Share small plates with friends. Wander the galleries. Relax with a glass of wine and live music. Our lobby-turnedlounge in the new West Building is a great place to kick off the weekend! Small plates and beverages, including wine, beer, and non-alcoholic options, are available for purchase.
Explore a variety of engaging programs for toddlers, teens, and everyone in between. Make cool art, see live performances, or take a family-friendly tour of the Museum. Our programs and in-gallery materials invite you to look, talk, and interpret works of art together.
Special Exhibits keep checking for current and upcoming â€œtravelingâ€? exhibits
They are diverse, fun & entertaining
AMANDA PARER: INTRUDE (pictured here)
KS : R S AM R WO D E A T L S E S MA AN
GEO CON RGIA O TEM ’KEEF FE A POR ND ARY ART PORSCHE BY DESIGN: SEDUCING SPEED LEONAR DO DA V INCI COD LEISTER A EX: ND THE C REATIVE M IND JOHN JAMES AUDUBON’S: THE BIRDS OF AMERICA & S L L A H ER, E M R E T, V D S. N E A I R R B A R M E R M PO E T N O THEIR C LOOKING SOUTH: PHOTOGRAPHS BY EUDORA WELTY
NORTH CAROLINA MUSEUM OF ART 2110 Blue Ridge Rd. Raleigh, NC 27607 (919) 839-6262
HOURS Tuesday–Thursday 10 am–5 pm Friday 10 am–9 pm Saturday–Sunday 10 am–5 pm Monday Closed The Museum Park is open daily, including holidays, dawn to dusk. The Museum is closed on some holidays.
to learn more about events and opportunities
where pigs fly ... tigers circle ... paddle boats glide on the lake ... a train chugs by
Fun is had by Everyone!
the Land In the heart of Raleigh near downtown and NC State rests an historic site and one of the area's great treasures. Originally farm land, the 66.33 acres site was donated by Richard Stanhope Pullen on March 22nd, 1887. He expressly stated that the site was to be used for the "recreational enjoyment of citizens and visitors to Raleigh." This vision became the first public park in North Carolina. Though it was named Pullen Park, Richard Pullen was opposed to the park bearing his name, as he was consistently shy of publicity and thanks. He was actively involved in the planning and funding of improvements until his death in 1895 at
the age of 73; however, no monument or plaque to honor his contributions was erected for nearly 100 years. The city of Raleigh feared violating the clause stating that the land must be preserved for recreational purposes, but finally honored his gift in 1992 while other renovations and improvements to the park were undertaken. Pullen Park has seen great evolution over the years, but its contributions to the enrichment of the community have maintained the vision of its founder. Today, it is the 5th oldest amusement park in the country and 16th in the world. 150
Swimming In 1891, Pullen Park added its first swimming pool. Made out of wood and surrounded by a large pavilion and fountain, it was exclusively used by men. Four years later, renovations and additions were made to the structure which allowed women and girls to participate. North Carolina's Jim Crow laws prohibited the use of the pools by African Americans, but the rest of the park was completely integrated. This differed greatly from other NC parks, which designated "white" and "black" sections. The pool remained in place until 1992 when construction of the new Pullen Aquatic Center was completed.
Open year round, the facility also hosts the Special Olympics of North Carolina Summer Games in May and June. Housed here are an Olympic sized swimming pool, a warm water therapy pool, a mezzanine with spectator seating, an outdoor patio and indoor locker rooms. Water exercise programs, recreational swimming, swim instruction for a variety of skill levels and lifeguard training are just a few of the options available to the general public. Passes can be purchased for yearly use, or a simple day of fun in the water. 151
Boating Park Keeper Wiley Howell is the namesake of Howell Lake, one of Pullen Park's popular attractions. Pedal boats and kiddie boats are available for leisurely rides to view some of the intricate landscaping. Howell and Pullen worked closely together on all of the landscape design elements, and many of the Magnolias, Oaks and Maple trees were planted by the partners. During the most recent renovation, the lake was dredged and drained for maintenance and a geothermal energy system was installed.
In 1899, Howell started a small zoo within Pullen Park. Stemming from the national trend of incorporating zoological parks into public parks, it began modestly with two raccoons. Eventually it housed an Australian owl, mink, bears, alligators and more. In 1938, the zoo was closed after Howell passed away. None of the other staff members had the experience to care for the animals, so they were relocated and sold to other zoological parks. It is one of the many attractions that has arrived and departed in the park's long history, but Howell's contributions are forever etched in both history and present. 152
Trains Always moving with the times and seeking to improve the park, a miniature train was added in 1950. It goes through a tunnel and around the park grounds. This train is a near exact replica of a locomotive built by the Danforth-Cooke Locomotive Works in 1863. Built during the Civil War in Patterson, New Jersey, the full sized train was 29 feet long, weighed over thirty-nine thousand pounds, and was tasked with the construction of the new track across the Rocky Mountains. The one in Pullen Park is a third of
The size of its predecessor, and is tasked with delighting children of all ages. There are several swing sets, sand areas and other various playground equipment for children to enjoy, but the park caters to many recreational appetites. From the lighted tennis courts and baseball fields to the picnic areas and the well-manicured trails, there is something to be explored with every visit. In addition, the Pullen Park Arts Center and the Theater in the Park offer rotating classes and productions for the enrichment of all. 153
Carousel It is impossible to mention Pullen Park without including its most popular and most historic feature, the Carousel. In 1915, the park boasted a steam driven Merry-go-Round, but by 1920, the Raleigh City Board voted to "replace the antiquated machine." America's first carousel company was founded by German immigrant, Gustav Dentzel. Though he began as a cabinet maker, he switched to building carousels full time in 1876. The Dentzel Carousel Company closed in 1928, but their works are still considered to be the finest of their era. The one residing in Pullen Park was made by Salvatore Cernigliaro, a master craftsman of the Dentzel Carousel Company. 52 hand carved basswood animals, 18 canvas panels, 18 large gilded mirrors and 2 chariots each display unique design elements and distinct artistry. A restoration between 1977 and 1982 uncovered and documented the original factory paint, and each element was restored to its exact Munsell Color System paint color. This careful preservation of an artistic treasure has enabled it to still delight and inspire even today. Of the thousands of American made carousels, there are less than 200 antique carousels left and less than 25 are Dentzel. Of those, only 14 are still in operation. It should come as no surprise that it was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1976 and is a designated Raleigh Historic Landmark. Of all of Pullen Park's attractions, this is the most likely to bring out your inner child. 155
408 Ashe Ave. Raleigh, NC 27606
Tickets are required for each ride in Pullen Park. Tickets are $1 for all riders 13 months and older. Riders 12 months and younger are free with a paying adult. Tickets sales close 15 minutes prior to the rides closing. Pullen Park Amusements hours will vary depending on the season. Some rides may close early due to darkness or inclement weather.
Gustave A. Dentzel Carousel From 1911, listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Ride requires one ticket per person. Must be 42 inches tall to ride alone, if under 42 inches a parent/guardian must ride with them and both require a ticket Purchase ride tickets at the welcome center.
Kiddie Boats Ride requires one ticket per person. Only the ride operator is permitted inside the fenced ride area while the ride is in motion. Riders must be between 30â€? and 54â€? to ride.
C.P. Huntington Miniature Train C.P. Huntington miniature train, a one-third size, near-replica of the famous locomotive of the same name. Ride requires one ticket per person. Must be 42 inches tall to ride alone, if under 42 inches a parent/guardian must ride with them and both require a ticket. 156
Pullen Park Pedal Boats Pedal Boats Ride around Lake Howell. The pedal cruisers require six tickets for a half hour boat rental and up to 4 people can fit in a boat.
free play Swing Area Traditional Belt Swings for all ages Tire swing
2-12 years old Sand Diggers Shade Structures Playhouse Music Making Equipment and Stage Water Mister Accessible Spring Platform
Play Structure Climber Triangle Climber Slides
School Age Climb and Slide Universally Accessible Slides Climbing Opportunities See-Saw Shade Structure Sand & Water Play Water Play Sand Area Sand & Water Play
Preschool Play (Enclosed by a positive barrier of fence and vegetation) Slides Preschool Full-Bucket Seat Swing Accessible Molded Bucket Swing See-Saw Stepping Stones Shade Structures
Historic Yates Mill County Park
Yates Mill County Park is sited on 174 acres that include over three miles of hiking trails. These scenic trails traverse the pond, creek, forest and wetland habitats. There are picnic areas, boardwalks, overlook decks, a field classroom and an amphitheater available all year-round. This exciting learning and recreation site is located only five miles south of downtown Raleigh.
Steep Hill Creek and a 3,300 acre watershed feed the 20 acre mill pond.
The Finley Center is the park's main support facility. The Education Wing houses an exhibit hall, auditorium, classrooms and staff offices. NC State University conducts biological studies in the Center's Research Wing. Enjoy an excellent view of the pond and mill from a rocking chair on the Finley Center's back porch. 158
Yates Mill served Wake County as a water-powered mill for over 200 years. It was an important economic and social center from colonial times through the early 1900's. The mill pond was popular for fishing, swimming, and picnicking. It remains a destination for fun today.
"Escape the daily grind" Every week there is something new at Yates Mill County Park. Programs are varied and constantly changing samples include: Saturdays at the Old Mill Tours Half-hour tours to view the main power drive and milling machinery which explore the mill's history and aspects of its preservation. (ticket required)
Butcher, Baker and Candlestick Maker With Winter just around the corner, come and learn how colonial frontier communities prepared for the dark, chilly days ahead. Knead bread, roll candles and try your hand at corncob darts to sharpen your hunting skills. Free for all ages.
Paddle the Pond Learn basic canoing skills and a bit about the mill pond's history, then head out to explore the pond's many features as seen only from the water. Canoes, paddles, and life jackets are provided. For ages 5 and up with one adult in each boat. Registration and a fee required.
Wayside Activities These activities encourage families and friends of all ages to enjoy a park experience together. Recent programs included: Fossil Finds, History Mysteries, National Sandwich Day, and The Shortest Day.
Park Tales Come listen to stories of the Headless Horseman, the First Thanksgiving and an Orange for Frankie. Free for all ages. for all current programs and activities go to www. wakegov.com/parks/yatesmill or call 919.856.6675 160
Lake Wheeler Park was constructed in 1956 with the aid of the Army Corps of Engineers. The park is composed of 800 acres . . . 650 acres of lake and 150 acres of land buffer. In 2010 Lake Wheeler was reinstated as a primary water supply for Raleigh and surrounding Wake County communities. It feeds water to the Dempsey Benton Water Treatment Plant.
Lake Wheeler Park
For current information & offerings:
http://www.raleighnc.gov/parks/content/ParksRec/Articles/Parks/LakeWheeler.html or call 919.662.5704
Come out and rent a boat . . . or pay to launch a boat . . . and ask about the fishing rod and reel loaner program. Boats are allowed to launch into Lake Wheeler with the purchase of a daily or annual launch pass. Motorized boats are allowed with the exception of Personal Water Crafts (i.e. "jet ski"). Watersport activities such as skiing and tubing are allowed, however, swimming is not. Boat rentals include: Jon Boats, Rowboats, Canoes, Kayaks, and Pedal Boats. Rental can be by the hour or by the day.
Bring the family out to experience and learn the art of fishing. Fishing classes cover the fundamentals of fishing, including fish habitat, equipment and techniques. Equipment is available if you do not have your own.
Sites and shelters are available for events and outings. There is a conference room with kitchenette, tables, covered veranda and deck; a sand volleyball court; and six shelters with grills all available for rental. 163
Learning from the Past . . . Living Today . . . and Looking toward the Future
Exclusively created and provided by
Triangle real estate professionals www.cookepropertyinc.com 919.225.3181 or 919.818.5641