Page 48

Education in England is overseen by the Department for Education and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills. The education system is divided into nursery (ages 3-4), primary education (ages 4-11), secondary education (ages 11-18) and tertiary education (ages 18+). Full-time education is compulsory for all children aged between five and 16, with a child beginning primary education during the school year they turn five. Students may then continue their secondary studies for a further two years (sixth form), leading most typically to A-level qualifications, although other qualifications and courses exist, including Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC) qualifications, and International Baccalaureate (IB).

Early years education All three- and four-year-olds are entitled to 15 hours of free nursery education for 38 weeks of the year. This applies until they reach compulsory school age (the term following their fifth birthday). Free


early education places are available at a range of early years settings including nursery schools and classes, children’s centres, day nurseries, play groups, preschool and child minders. Early learning is available through: nursery classes, nursery schools and day nurseries, Sure Start Children’s Centres, pre-school playgroups, reception classes, accredited childminders who are part of an approved network.

Moving to London; A Practical Companion for Irish People  
Moving to London; A Practical Companion for Irish People  

A helpful, practical and comprehensive guide to Moving to London for Irish people. Published by the London Irish Centre in May 2012.