Page 23

EXPLORE 2017 23

sion. The Museum is not handicapped accessible. Blandford Church and Cemetery Blandford Church was built in 1735 as the seat of worship for members of Bristol Parish. The church building was abandoned in 1806 when membership in its congregation dwindled as a result of the consecration of a new church building in downtown Petersburg. In 1901, work began to restore the building for use as a Confederate Memorial chapel. As part of the restoration project, the

Ladies Memorial Association solicited funds from each former Confederate state for the creation and installation of a stained glass window in memory of the Confederate soldiers from that state. Louis Comfort Tiffany’s studio was commissioned to design the fifteen memorial compass windows. The cemetery adjacent to Blandford Church has been used as a burial ground since the early eighteenth century. The oldest marked grave dates from 1702. Among the more noted individuals buried within the cemetery is one foreigner, Major General William Phillips, British citizen and commander of the British

Kelly Heating & Cooling

HVAC Specialist Basil C. Kelly Sr. Owner

Servicing Richmond, The Tri-Cities and Surrounding

7007 Cox Road Ford, Virginia 23850 (804) 265-3888 kellyheatingcooling@yahoo.com www.kellyheatingandcooling.com

FINANCING AVAILABLE

Explore2017  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you