EXPLORE 2016 13
controlled navigation on the river north of Petersburg and was a formidable defensive bastion that wasn’t taken by Union forces until the fall of Petersburg on April 3, 1865. The Fort Clifton Festival is held at the park annually. Free admission. Open year round from 7:00 am to dusk. Fort Clifton is located behind Tussing Elementary School, 5501 Conduit Road, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 520-9390. The Old Brick House Built in 1685 by Richard Kennon, an English gentleman, it is considered the oldest brick house in the region, and thought by some to be the oldest in Virginia. The house is located on the promontory between Swift Creek and the Appomattox River, and was simply called “Brick House.” The peninsula on which it stands is often referred to as “Conjuror’s Neck,” because an old Indian conjuror used to live there.
The property is owned and operated by the Old Brick House Foundation. Tour groups may arrange to have historic presentations. There is no admission fee for interior tours to the site or for exterior visits. Exterior views open dawn to dusk. Interior tours by appointment. The Old Brick House may be rented for special occasions, such as weddings, wedding parties, family reunions, and other public events. The Old Brick House is located at 131 Waterfront Drive, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 5209476.
Fort Lee Quartermaster Museum Since 1957, the Quartermaster Museum has preserved the history and heritage of the U.S. Army Quartermaster Corps, the Army’s oldest logistic branch. From the
TRAILER OUTLET We Stock Cameo RV Parts & Supplies We Stack’em Deep and Sell’em Cheap!
UTILITY TRAILERS SINGLE & TANDEM AXLE CAR HAULERS
5555 County Drive Disputanta, VA 23842
APPLIANCE PARTS FOR ALL MAJOR APPLIANCES 5418 Lakeside Avenue Richmond, VA 23228
YOUR APPLIANCE AND PARTS SPECIALIST FOR OVER 54 YEARS