Experience the culture of Central Virginia
Areas to Explore: Chesterfield County Colonial Heights Fort Lee Hopewell Petersburg Prince George County Richmond
Special Supplement to News~Patriot & The Hopewell News.
FIREARMS & SURPLUS
Established in 2009
Military Surplus, Pawn Shop & Firearms Liberty Firearms & Surplus claims that they are just a little hole in the wall, but the truth is they have LOTS of things at great prices. The staff is friendly and personable, and always trying to accommodate the fine folks to Hopewell and surrounding areas. We strive to create and keep a safe environment for our staff and customers.
You Want It We Have It!
Please visit our web-site at: www.Liberty-Firearms.com â€˘ 442 S. 15th Avenue / Hopewell, VA 23860
4 EXPLORE 2016
Chesterfield County Magnolia Grange Magnolia Grange, a Virginia Historic Landmark and is on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1822 by William Winfree. It is a Federal-style plantation house named after the circle of magnolias that once graced its front lawn. It was originally part of a large land grant to John Worsham in 1691. Here also were a tavern and gristmill in addition to the residence and its dependencies. Magnolia Grange contains elaborate ceiling medallions and sophisticated carvings on mantels, doorways, and window frames. Careful paint restoration has been executed through wood graining and marbleizing. Scenic wallpaper and carpeting of the period combine with authentic furnishings returns the house to the 1820s. Magnolia Grange Plantation House is located at 10020 Iron Bridge Road, Chesterfield. Magnolia Grange is located on the north side of Virginia Rte. 10, at 10020 Ironbridge
MATTRESSES & BOXSPRINGS â€˘ and Used Furniture Also â€˘
Starting at t1 1 Ge Buy 2 Off! 1/
King-Size Matt. & Box Spring Queen-Size Matt. & Box Spring Twin-Size Matt. & Box Spring
Rd., in Chesterfield Court House. It is open daily for tours. An admission fee is charged. Please call 804-796-1479 or visit the Chesterfield Historical Society for further information. Castlewood Plantation Built circa 1817-1819 by Parke Poindexter. Poindexter was Clerk of the Court at Chesterfield County from 1812 until 1847. The original landowner was Henry Winfree, who received the property as a land grant in 1754. Castlewood is one of the finest Federal period houses in Chesterfield County, featuring a formal five-part design with molded plaster ceilings in the main rooms, two stairways to each adjacent wings and beautiful carved mantels with King-ofPrussia marable surrounds. Castlewood currently serves as the headquarters for the Chesterfield Historical Society and research library. Castlewood is located at 10201 Iron Bridge Road, Chesterfield on the south side of VA Rte. 10 in Chesterfield Court House
J&M PROFESSIONAL MOVING & HAULING SERVICES Available 7 Days a Week Family Owned - 17 Years Serving Richmond & Surrounding Area
We Do Landscaping & Much More! We Provide the Muscle Mention this Ad & get 10% Off For Your Moving & Hauling Job!
All Very Good Condition
804-920-8422 We are also a professional delivery service!
EXPLORE 2016 5
between Richmond and Hopewell. It is open to visitors but tours are unavailable as it is not restored and accomodates offices. The research library is available to the public and is free of charge. For further information, please call 804-777-9663 or visit the Chesterfield Historical Society.
Remnants of Union earthworks can be seen along the park road and trails. Hours: Sunrise-Sunset Point of Rocks is located at 201 Enon Church Road, Chester. For more information, call (804) 751-4946, email coatesm@ chesterfield.gov or visit www.chesterfield. gov/parks.
Point of Rocks Point of Rocks was home to the Appamattuck tribe of the Powhatan Confederacy. During the Civil War, Union General Benjamin Butler and his army of the James has their headquarters here. This 176-acre park features several athletic facilities and a diverse natural area. Athletic and picnic areas are concentrated in the upper areas of the park, and access to the lower areas is provided by a system of trails including a floating boardwalk through a freshwater tidal marsh. This area also has historical significance, as the land was the southern end of the Union position during the Bermuda Hundred Campaign.
Henricus Commemorating 400 years, Henricus Historical Park re-creates everyday 17th century life in the second successful English settlement in North America and resides on the original site of the Cities of Henricus. Due to its prime location as a military outpost on a bluff overlooking the James River, the site also boasts rich Civil War history which visitors may experience through special events and programs during the Sesquicentennial. Surrounded by the Dutch Gap Conservation Area, the living history museum offers exceptional Pre-K12 and adult education programs, includ-
GARAGES N MORE Your Quality Solution
24 x 24 Starts at $17,500 Licensed Class A Contractor â€œYour Garage Plans or Oursâ€? Over 30 Years Experience
MIGNOGNA WAREHOUSING LLP 220 Battersea Lane, Petersburg, VA 23803 l43”
x 43” Wire Baskets lCutters lFork Lifts lMetal & Woodworking Equipment lMachine Shop Purchased •Machine & Tooling Available
business opportunities, work space available
Call Steve 804-490-3462
WE BUY JUNK CARS
3701 Woodlawn Street • Hopewell, Va 23860
We’ll Gladly Come Out & Take That Eyesore Off Your Hands, TODAY!
Hot rust blue transfers
Serving all of Richmond & Surrounding Areas
New & used guns ammo & Accessories
804-283-1180 BUY • SELL • TRADE 1997 Chevrolete S10, AT, Extended Cab, Runs good, New insp. $2450 Cash!
HIGHLANDER AUTO SALES
601 E. Nine Mile Road • Highland Springs, VA 23075
804-737-8662 *Prices Exclude Tax, Title, Tags & $100 Processing Fee*
2008 CHRYSLER Town and Country Stow & Go Seats
2005 PONTIAC Grand AM Fully Loaded, Tan, Call for Pricing, Warranty 90 Days
2005 Nissan Maxima SL Black Leather on Black, Automatic
CA$H PAYMENT TODAY!
2004 CHRYSLER Pacifica 1999 DODGE DURANGO 2002 FORD TAURUS SLT, Leather, 4x4, Rear AC, 4 Dr., Black, Fully Loaded, Leather AWD, Silver with black interior, third row seat, sunroof 3rd Seat, Running Board Inter., sunroof! Call for pricing
2004 FORD Expedition XLT 4x4, Blue, 3rd Row Seat, Leather, 5.4L
2000 MERCURY Gran Marquis LS Leather,Tan, Nice 90-day warranty
8 EXPLORE 2016
ing indoor and outdoor meeting and special event space available for rental. Henricus Historical Park is a nonprofit 501(c) (3) organization which operates in partnership with the Henricus Foundation and the counties of Chesterfield and Henrico. Henricus Historical Park is located on 32 acres along the scenic and historic James River and is surrounded by the 810-acre Dutch Gap Conservation Area. The living history museum is located at 251 Henricus Park Road, Chester. For more information about Henricus Historical Park visit www.henricus.org or call (804) 748-1611. Pocahontas State Park Pocahontas offers boating, picnicking, camping, camping cabins, hiking, and interpretive and environmental education programs. The Aquatic Center offers seasonal water-based activities for the entire family. It has a kiddie pool, fountain wet deck, three-foot and five-foot-deep leisure pools, an activity pool and two tubular water
slides. Rowboat, paddleboat, kayak and canoe rentals also are available at the 200-acre Swift Creek Lake during the summer. The parkâ€™s two fishing lakes have crappie, largemouth bass, bluegill and catfish. The park has more than 80 miles of trails throughout 7,925 acres open to hiking, bicycling and horseback riding. The Civilian Conservation Corps Museum, dedicated to the Depression-era workers who helped build the state park system, is one of a handful in the nation. The parkâ€™s Heritage Center is available for meetings, events and seasonal performances. Group facilities with meeting space and primitive overnight cabins also are available. Hours are 7 a.m. - dusk. Pocahontas State Park is located at 10301 State Park Road, Chesterfield. www.dcr.virginia.gov/state-parks/pocahontas.shtml For more information, call 804-7964255 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. gov.
804.458.6333 www.fordag.com 111 W. Poythress Street Hopewell, Virginia 23860 Independent Insurance Agency Full Service Real Estate Brokerage
Servicing the Tri-Cities Area for all of your insurance and real estate needs.
EXPLORE 2016 9
Colonial Heights Swift Creek Mill Theatre The 350-year-old building was originally used as a gristmill in 1663, and was converted into a theatre in 1965, which it has remained since. Swift Creek Mill Theatre is located at 17401 Jefferson Davis Highway, Colonial Heights (southern Chesterfield). For more information, call (804) 748-5203 visit swiftcreekmill.com or email info@ swiftcreekmill.com. The Keystone Tractor Works Museum The 90,000 square feet museum houses 225 restored tractors, classic automobiles, road trucks and vintage advertising. Keystone Tractor Works is located at 880 W. Roslyn Road, Colonial Heights. The museum is open Monday through Saturday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. and Sunday 11 am. - 5 p.m.
For more information, call 804-5240020 or visit www.keystonetractorworks. com. Appomattox River Trail System The Colonial Heights Appomattox River Trail System runs along the Appomattox River through the city. The park features restrooms, picnic tables and benches, a gazebo, fishing areas, 10,000 feet of hard-surfaced trail, a small boat launch at Roslyn Landing Park, a canoe launch area and spur trails and linkages to various points of interest, including adjacent developments. For more information, visit www.colonialheightstrails.org. Violet Bank On July 30, 1864 Confederate General Robert E. Lee was at his headquarters at Violet Bank Farm on the north shore of the Appomattox River overlooking Peters-
RANDOLPH MARK ET Hopewell, VA 23860
Corner of 6th Ave. & Broadway
HOURS Mon. -Fri. 7AM - 8PM ATM Sat. 7AM - 7PM Sun. 8AM - 6PM (804) 458-8543
â€œYour Hometown Storeâ€?
We only sell the finest beef available, Certified Angus!
OUR REPUTATION IS AT STEAK!
10 EXPLORE 2016
burg. There, he received word that Union troops had detonated over 8,000 pounds of gunpowder beneath Confederate defensive lines in what became known as the Battle of the Crater. Today, the home is a superb example of Federal design and American interior decorative arts. The museum interprets the period from 1815 to 1873 and displays a wide array of Civil War era artifacts: guns, furniture, glass, ceramics, textiles, accoutrements, books, swords and others. It boasts some of the most sophisticated and beautiful Adam-style ceiling moldings in the country. Admission is free, donations are accepted. Allow 30 to 45 minutes to visit. Open Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from 1 to 6 p.m. Closed Monday. Violet Bank Museum is located at 303 Virginia Ave., Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 520-9395.
White Bank Park The 22-acre park overlooking Swift Creek features a disc golf course, grills, boat ramp, drinking fountain, fishing pier, horseshoe pits, a playground, restrooms and a volleyball court. The park has two rentable pavilions that can accommodate up to 200 people each. There are also eight individual picnic shelters and several multi-purpose play areas. White Bank Park is located at 400 White Bank Road, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 520-9392. Hours 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. (April 1 - October 31) and 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. (November 1 - March 31). Fort Clifton Fort Clifton was a Confederate stronghold on the Appomattox River, serving as an important link in the line that defended Richmond and Petersburg in 1864 and 1865. Located on a high bluff at the junction of the Appomattox River and Swift Creek, the fort
12 EXPLORE 2016
LINDSAY’S AUTOBODY & PAINTING, INC. Owner: Rickey Lindsay 8715 Oakview Avenue Richmond, VA 23228
804-262-1435 Fax: 804-262-6120
• Free Estimates • All Insurance Claims Welcome • LIFETIME Warranty on All Repairs
“ If you’re a complete wreck.... Call Lindsay’s”
EXPLORE 2016 13
controlled navigation on the river north of Petersburg and was a formidable defensive bastion that wasn’t taken by Union forces until the fall of Petersburg on April 3, 1865. The Fort Clifton Festival is held at the park annually. Free admission. Open year round from 7:00 am to dusk. Fort Clifton is located behind Tussing Elementary School, 5501 Conduit Road, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 520-9390. The Old Brick House Built in 1685 by Richard Kennon, an English gentleman, it is considered the oldest brick house in the region, and thought by some to be the oldest in Virginia. The house is located on the promontory between Swift Creek and the Appomattox River, and was simply called “Brick House.” The peninsula on which it stands is often referred to as “Conjuror’s Neck,” because an old Indian conjuror used to live there.
The property is owned and operated by the Old Brick House Foundation. Tour groups may arrange to have historic presentations. There is no admission fee for interior tours to the site or for exterior visits. Exterior views open dawn to dusk. Interior tours by appointment. The Old Brick House may be rented for special occasions, such as weddings, wedding parties, family reunions, and other public events. The Old Brick House is located at 131 Waterfront Drive, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 5209476.
Fort Lee Quartermaster Museum Since 1957, the Quartermaster Museum has preserved the history and heritage of the U.S. Army Quartermaster Corps, the Army’s oldest logistic branch. From the
TRAILER OUTLET We Stock Cameo RV Parts & Supplies We Stack’em Deep and Sell’em Cheap!
UTILITY TRAILERS SINGLE & TANDEM AXLE CAR HAULERS
5555 County Drive Disputanta, VA 23842
APPLIANCE PARTS FOR ALL MAJOR APPLIANCES 5418 Lakeside Avenue Richmond, VA 23228
YOUR APPLIANCE AND PARTS SPECIALIST FOR OVER 54 YEARS
14 EXPLORE 2016
Revolution to the Persian Gulf, America’s secret weapon is the one that keeps soldiers supplied with food, water, clothing, fuel, shelter and other things they can’t survive combat without. This weapon is the Quartermaster Corps, and at the Quartermaster Museum, you’ll see how it’s sustained American soldiers since 1775. The Quartermaster Museum is located at 1201 22nd Street, Fort Lee. For more information, visit www.qmmuseum.lee.army. mil or call 804-734-4203. The museum is open Monday - Friday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., weekends 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. It is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day.
U.S. Army Women’s Museum The museum’s expert staff of curators, archivists, historians and educators is an excellent source for information about the service of Army women from 1775 to present. The Museum’s archive has one of the most comprehensive and expansive collections in the world of primary and secondary documents pertaining to the history of U.S. Army women. The U.S. Army Women’s Museum is located at 2100 A Avenue, Fort Lee. Exhibits are open to the public Tuesday - Friday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. and Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. For more information, visit www.awm. lee.army.mil or call 804-734-4327.
JAMES SERVIS CUSTOM GUITARS
EXPLORE 2016 15
Visitor’s Center Fort Lee’s Welcome Center is adjacent to the Lee Gate, just off Route 36, named in honor of Major General Harry L. Dukes. The Visitor Center is adjacent to the Lee gate, just off Route 36. The staff can help visitors find a destination on post and answer general questions about installation services and events. The Visitor Center hours of operation are 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday (closed holidays). Numerous military displays are on post such as Anzio Annie, a historic railway gun used by the Germans in World War II to attack Allied troops in Italy. The visitors center is located at 500 Lee Ave, Building 5228. All visitors will be required to show a
Common Access Card, a military identification card, or approved government-issued identification such as a state driver’s license or state-issued identification to gain access onto Fort Lee. All adults are required to possess valid ID. All juveniles without valid ID must be accompanied by an adult family member. Drivers must be able to show a valid driver’s license, current vehicle registration and proof of insurance. For more information, visit www.lee. army.mil or call (804) 734-4593.
Hopewell Appomattox Plantation The land that surrounds Appomattox Manor on City Point was patented in 1635
16 EXPLORE 2016
Southern Comforts 11023 Boydton Plank Road Dinwiddie, VA 23841
EXPLORE 2016 17
by Francis Eppes and remained in the Eppes family until 1979. The area was first settled in 1613 and was first known as Bermuda City and later as City Point. During the American Revolution, British soldiers commanded by Benedict Arnold marched through area. Appomattox Manor was used in the Civil War as the Union headquarters during the Siege of Petersburg. It is now part of Petersburg National Battlefield. In June 1864, Gen. Ulysses S. Grant arrived at City Point several months and one bloody campaign after President Abraham Lincoln made him commander of 800,000 Union troops. As Union forces were tightening their grip around Petersburg, Lincoln visited Union Headquarters at Appomattox Manor, spending three weeks of the last month of his life watching the war come to an end. The site is now owned by the National Park Service as part of Petersburg National Battlefield.
Appomattox Plantation is located at the corner of Cedar Lane and Pecan Avenue in Hopewell. For more information, call (804) 7323531. St. Johnâ€™s Episcopal Church St. Johnâ€™s Episcopal Church is steeped in history at its location on Cedar Lane in City Point. As City Point began to grow, the Rev. Malcolm MacFarland arrived and the church was first organized in April 1840. The Eppes family, which owned Appomattox Manor, donated the land upon which the church sits and the building was finished and consecrated as the first church in City Point in June 1842. The church bell, which was purchased in 1843 for $84 (about $1,900 in 2008 dollars) and now sits on a brick pedestal in the churchyard, once hung from an oak frame in the yard and was later attached to the roof of the church. It was later taken down when it was determined that the roof could not
support its weight. During the Civil War, the church took on a a different use. As Union forces shelled City Point, slaves took refuge in the church cellar. After Gen. Ulysses S. Grant captured the town, the church became a signal station, a theater and also a dance hall. Once the war was over, the building was in disrepair. In 1867, the building was restored and services resumed that June 30. Nearly 30 years later, several changes were made to the building and, in 1919, the transepts were added along with electric lights donated by the Tubize Silk Co. The stained glass windows were added around the same time. The historic church is located at 505 Cedar Lane and the church offices may be
reached at 804-458-8142. City Point Early History Museum The City Point Early History Museum is located in the St. Dennis Chapel in the National Historic District of Hopewell. The chapel was constructed in 1887 as a Catholic chapel for Navy personnel. In 1981, the private home was deeded to the Historic Hopewell Foundation. It was restored and opened to public in 1995. Currently the exhibit called â€œSeeking Freedom Where the Rivers Meet: Contraband, Colored Troops and City Pointâ€? is there until 2015. The museum is located at 609 Brown Avenue and is typically open by appointment only. For information, call 804-458-4682.
Taking Care of the Tri-Cities Since 1978
EXPLORE 2016 19
20 EXPLORE 2016
The Beacon Theatre Built in 1928, the historic Beacon Theatre is located at the intersection of North Main and East Cawson Streets in Hopewell. The art-deco, 650-seat theater showed its last movie in the 1950s. Information on concerts can be found at http://thebeacontheatreva.com or by calling (804) 4463457. HOPEWELL-PRINCE GEORGE TOURISM OFFICE The Hopewell-Prince George Tourism Office is located at 4100 Oaklawn Boulevard, Hopewell. The tourism office is the destination marketing organization for the City of Hopewell and Prince George County. The office handles advertising, promo-
tion, trade shows, group tours and other related activities. The Hopewell-Prince George Tourism Office offers one-stop shopping including statewide tourist literature, local real estate information, maps, snacks, beverages and a gift shop. The Hopewell-Prince George Tourism Office is open (7) days a week. Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. and on Sunday’s from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. For more information, call (804) 5412461. Hopewell City Marina The Marina is operated by the Department of Recreation and Parks and is located at 1051 Riverside Road in Hopewell.
850 South Sycamore Street • Petersburg, VA 23803
Most Major Credit Cards Accepted
EXPLORE 2016 21
The Marina offers rrecreational boaters and fisherman a variety of amenities on the Appomattox River. The Marina features both covered and open slips, transient vessel temporary docking, a four-vehicle boat ramp, canoe and kayak launch, marina store, ample parking, ice machine, restroom facilities, and propane exchange. The Marina is managed by Fish Tales 2. Please call (804) 541-6417 for additional information regarding the Hopewell City Marina. Weston Plantation The main house was built in 1789 by William and Christian Eppes Gilliam near the Appomattox River and now serves as the headquarters of the Historic Hopewell Foundation. It is a classic example of Virginia Georgian architecture. The three-story home is furnished with antiques and reproductions. In 2008, two new structures were added to the site after extensive archeological re-
search: the summer kitchen and the laundry. Weston Plantation is located at 400 Weston Lane, Hopewell. Guided tours of the house and grounds are available year round. For information call 804-458-4682 or visit www.historichopewell.org. City Point National Cemetery City Point National Cemetery is the final resting place for nearly 6,800 veterans, most from the Civil War. The cemetery has a large marble monument dedicated to the Army of the James and a superintendent’s lodge built in 1928. Seven hospitals operated in the area during the Civil War and the need came for a centralized cemetery. In July 1866, the federal government established City Point National Cemetery. Many of those buried here were transferred from other cemeteries. The cemetery closed to new burials in July 1971.
Aperion Bail Bonds • Confidential Bail Bonds • Collect Calls Accepted • Accept All Major Credit Cards • Payment Plans Available 1 CALL FROM FREEDOM
24 Hour Service
Office: 804-862-1821 • Mobile: 804-721-8751 5721 Courthouse Rd., Prince George, VA 23875
Bill Auton Realtor ®
OLD TOWN SILVER EXCHANGE
LAKESIDE PAWN SHOP
MANY TO CHOOSE FROM, MORE SIZES TO COME!!
HOURS: MONDAY - FRIDAY 10AM - 6PM SATURDAY 10AM - 3PM .30 Cal , .50 Cal, 40mm, m120
5601 Lakeside Ave Richmond, VA 23228
Cavalier Square Shopping Center, Hopewell
Serving Lunch, Dinner and Carry-out Since 1994
Owners Kenneth & Linda J. Purdie Open Monday - Friday 11am - 8pm
EXPLORE 2016 23
City Point National Cemetery is located at 10th Avenue and Davis Street, Hopewell. For more information, call (804) 795-2031.
Petersburg Petersburg National Battlefield The Eastern Front Unit of Petersburg National Battlefield is the location where Union troops made their first major attacks on the City of Petersburg in mid-June, 1864. Today, visitors can learn more about the history of the site by touring the museum, viewing the 17 minute video, or travelling the Unit’s four-mile, seven-stop tour road. There are also 10 miles of nature trails suitable for hiking, bicycling and horseback riding. The Eastern Front Unit of Petersburg National Battlefield is located at 5001 Siege Road in Petersburg. Petersburg National Battlefield was created in order to commemorate the campaign and siege and defense of Petersburg in 1864 and 1865. The park staff is committed to preserving and protecting the historical, cul-
tural, and natural resources within the park in a manner that will provide interpretation, education, and enjoyment for the visitors. Petersburg National Battlefield is open every day of the year except for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years. Visitor Center and Contact Stations hours of operation are 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Grounds open at 8:00 am. For more information, visit www. nps.gov/pete/ or call (804) 732-3531. Centre Hill Museum Built in 1823 by Robert Bolling IV, Centre Hill Mansion remained an opulent Petersburg residence until 1936. Through guided tours, visitors learn about the history of Centre Hill, including its role during the Civil War and the two presidential visits to the house. Visitors can also view the tunnel, constructed in the 1840s that led from the back of the house to nearby Henry Street. The Greek Revival style porch with Ionic columns was added during an extensive remodeling by Robert Buckner Bolling in the 1840s. The basement galleries in Centre
YOUR HEALTH MATTERS Locally Owned & Operated Great Service & Great Prices Free Delivery & Mailing Services Free Flavoring for Liquid Prescriptions
• NO INSURANCE, NO PROBLEM •
We Take Your Insurance!
Mon-Fri 9am-7pm Sat 9am-5pm
GUN TRAILER, portable Gun Shooting Trailer 6x10 HD trailer (camo), built in house & can be custome built with any changes - Call for info. & Pricing
HAULMARK PASSPORT 7 x 16, with ramp In Stock
HAULMARK PASSPORT 6 x 12, with ramp 2990 GVWR
WELL-BILT 83” Wide x 16’ Long’ built in house, 24” sides, split tailgate lots of tie rings & treated floor
82” Wide, 16’ Long, 4’ High sides built on site, Call for Pricing
HAULMARK KODIAK 7 X 4 double doors torsion axle
COMMONWEALTH TRAILER 804-737-2500
6x10 Freedom Vending Trailer
Tiny house 20’ chassis
BIG TEX DUMP, 14LX-12BK combo gate, pull out ramps, GVRW 10,000
Used Haulmark Gooseneck 6x12 Freedom with ramp
18’ Motorcycle Hauler
WELL-BILT 6’10 x 12 2’ tall expanded metal sides, 2990 GVW
Freedom 24’ Car Hauler
EXPLORE 2016 25
Hill feature permanent and temporary exhibitions on the history of Petersburg. Permanent exhibits include memorabilia and photographs from Centre Hill’s archives, a turn-of-the-century aviary of stuffed birds from Australia and church furnishings from First Baptist Church, Harrison Street, Petersburg, the oldest African-American congregation in the United States. The Petersburg Museums central gift shop is located in Centre Hill Museum. Centre Hill Museum is located at 1 Centre Hill Court, Petersburg. For more information, call (804) 733-2401. Free Parking is available on the Court in front of the Mansion and in the lot behind (on the North side) of the Mansion. The Museum is not handicapped accessible. Blandford Church and Cemetery Blandford Church was built in 1735 as the seat of worship for members of Bristol Parish. The church building was abandoned
in 1806 when membership in its congregation dwindled as a result of the consecration of a new church building in downtown Petersburg. In 1901, work began to restore the building for use as a Confederate Memorial chapel. As part of the restoration project, the Ladies Memorial Association solicited funds from each former Confederate state for the creation and installation of a stained glass window in memory of the Confederate soldiers from that state. Louis Comfort Tiffany’s studio was commissioned to design the fifteen memorial compass windows. The cemetery adjacent to Blandford Church has been used as a burial ground since the early eighteenth century. The oldest marked grave dates from 1702. Among the more noted individuals buried within the cemetery is one foreigner, Major General William Phillips, British citizen and commander of the British troops during the April 25, 1781 “Battle of Petersburg.” In June 1866, the first Memorial Day
WELCOME TO THE AREA!!
(804) 458-4800 110 E. City Point Road • Hopewell
My name is Edwina Daniel, and I’ve been a local realtor for over 25 years. I specialize in this area of Virginia and have extensive experience in the real estate market. Growing up in Prince George County and working in the City of Hopewell for so long has earned me several awards in the real estate field, and I do whatever it takes to make those sales! Our office is a small family business, and we are always available for your real estate endeavors. Please feel free to contact me, and I will do my absolute best to assist you in buying or selling a home. Support your local family-owned real estate office by becoming one of our valued clients, and friends.
Edwina Daniel , Realtor Cell (804) 731-7667
Join Ginger & Cicero in Cruising Downtown Hopewell!
Old-fashioned haircuts by Keith & Kenny!
Just as they have for years!
BROADWAY BARBER SHOP Main & Broadway • (804) 452-1275
26 EXPLORE 2016
was celebrated in honor of the 30,000 Confederate soldiers buried on Memorial Hill inside the burial ground. The Blandford Visitors’ Reception Center is located at 111 Rochelle Lane, Petersburg. For information, call (804) 733-2396. Battersea Historic Battersea is a beautiful eighteenth century Neo-Palladian style home built in 1768 by founding father Colonel John Banister, a signer of the Articles of Confederation and the first mayor of Petersburg. Battersea is located on Upper Appomattox Street and Battersea Lane in Petersburg. For information, call 804-7332400 or (800) 368-3595 or visit www.petersburgva.gov. Petersburg Visitors Center One of the nation’s only bank museums, the Farmers’ Bank was incorporated in 1812 and opened its Petersburg branch in 1817. The three-story Federal structure became a
frequent gathering place for the Petersburg community. The first floor of the building held the banking area with the original vault. Clerks cashed checks and made exchanges from the other side of a long counter. In the early 19th century, the executive officer of the bank and his family lived on the upper floors of the bank. The rooms were well-appointed with intricately decorated mantels and doorways. A family kitchen has been built on its original site. The bank continued to operate through the Civil War. In 1866 the General Assembly passed an act that affected all state banks and forced the Farmers’ Bank to liquidate its assets. The Bank became a private residence and passed through many hands before being conveyed to Preservation Virginia (then the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities) in 1960. The first floor is now exhibited as a bank. The Visitor’s Center is located at 19 Bollingbrook Street, Petersburg. For more information, call (804)733-2400.
We cover Dinwiddie, Prince George, Sussex & Surry Counties, and the Tri-Cities
Prompt Service and Quality Products Since 1926
EXPLORE 2016 27
Siege Museum Housed in the ca. 1839 Exchange Building, the Siege Museum interprets civilian life in Petersburg before, during, and immediately after the Civil War. Through artifacts, documents and photographs, emphasis is given to the ten-month siege of Petersburg (June 1864 - April 1865) - the longest period of time that an American city has been under a military siege. The exhibition illustrates how the siege impacted civilian life in Petersburg. In addition to the permanent exhibitions, visitors to the Siege Museum can view the film, â€œThe Echoes Still Remainâ€? narrated by the late film star and Petersburg native Joseph Cotten. The 18-minute film shown on an hourly schedule explores Petersburgâ€™s involvement in the Civil War. The Exchange Building, built between 1839 and 1841 is an excellent example of Greek Revival architecture. The building was commissioned by a group of merchants
to create a trading center where graded and certified samples of agricultural products could be shown to prospective buyers. The Siege Museum is located at 15 W. Bank St., Petersburg. For more information, call (804) 733-2404.
Prince George County Parks Prince George County has three recreation parks. â€˘ Scott Memorial Park is located at 6680 Courthouse Road, Prince George. This park offers 10 acres with a large pavilion and picnic tables, restrooms, a totâ€™s playground and a softball field. â€˘ Temple Recreation Park is located at 14307 Prince George Drive, Disputanta. This park offers 32 acres with one large and one small pavilion with picnic tables, restrooms, a nature and jogging trail, tennis courts, a softball field and a basketball court.
Quick Luncďż˝ 113 HOPEWELL STREET â€˘ HOPEWELL
OPEN MONDAY to SATURDAY 6am - 2:30pm
TAKE OUT AVAILABLE
BREAKFAST SERVED ALL DAY!
28 EXPLORE 2016
TALIAFERRO & MALLORY, LLP ATTORNEYS AT LAW “The Little Firm With BIG RESULTS”
GUARDIAN / CONSERVATOR LAW
WILLS AND ESTATE / ADMINISTRATION REAL ESTATE
Contracts, Deeds, Litigation
CRIMINAL LAW • FAMILY LAW
ALL KINDS OF COMPLEX LITIGATION Including Appeals In State & Federal Courts
PRACTICING IN COURTS THROUGHOUT VIRGINIA
(804) 520-4822 320-C Charles Dimmock Pkwy. Colonial Heights, VA 23834
www.TandMLawVa.com Tracy L. Taliaferro, Esq. Is Responsible For The Content Of This Advertisement
EXPLORE 2016 29
• Appomattox River Regional Park is located at 800 Folar Trail, North Prince George. The Appomattox River Regional Park is located between I-295 and the Riverside Regional Jail on River Road. This park offers 48 acres of wooded trails with an observation pier, an education center/pavilion, restroom facilities and additional green space on the Appomattox River. Each park is available to citizens from
- WE BUY JUNK CARS/TRUCKS! - CASH PAID ON THE SPOT, NO HIDDEN FEES - FAST SERVICE, FAMILY OWNED/OPERATED - LICENSED SALVAGE DEALER MEANS NO HASSLE WITH DMV - DOESN’T MATTER THE CONDITION, WE WILL BUY IT
dawn to dusk each day. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited. County residents, businesses and organizations may reserve pavilion facilities through the Parks and Recreation Department. Park reservations must be made in the Parks and Recreation office. Pavilions are reserved for a half day either from dawn to 3 p.m. or 3 p.m. to dusk, in an effort to accommodate as many groups as possible. Full-day reservations exceptions may be
DELIVERING A LOT MORE THAN FUEL FOR 80 YEARS!
804-505-0087 Many Locations to Serve You
(804)458-1213 www.parkeroilcompany.com 139729
Richmond And All Surrounding Areas RVAHAULING@GMAIL.COM
QUICK, CONVENIENT & INEXPENSIVE DIVORCE & SEPARATION AGREEMENTS
Flat Rate Fees Starting at $135 • Payment Plans • Visa/Mastercard
SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY Have questions about disability? Give me a call (no fee up front) DIRECT LINE: (804) 755-7655
JoAnne C. Monticelli, Attorney @ Law • 7826 Shrader Road, Richmond, VA 23294 MonticelliLaw@comcast.net
30 EXPLORE 2016
Redemption Inn & Conference Center 5201 Courthouse Road, Prince George, VA., 23875 ~ 804804-862862-9201 ~ www.redemptionministries.com For more information contact Lynn Birt at ext. 100 or email at email@example.com The Redemption Inn & Conference Center is set on 120 beautiful acres in Prince George, VA. Centrally located in the heart of the Commonwealth, this statestate-ofof-thethe-art facility should be the location of your next church, corporate, or private event. The 4,000 sq ft training area can serve as either classroom seating (150+), theatertheater-style seating (300+), or four break out rooms. Contact our office for more information or make an appointment for a private tour.
Conferences, retreats, weddings, receptions, banquets
Banquet Area (up to 120 people)
Dining Hall (Catering available)
Sleeping accommodations (up to 110), 11 private rooms (sleeps up to 10), 1 Bunkroom (sleeps up to 14)
Executive Conference Room w/ 56’’ flat screen
InIn-ground Swimming Pool
EXPLORE 2016 31
Auto Brokers of Ashland
Cars & Parts
32 EXPLORE 2016
made upon request. Self-cleanup required. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited. Call (804) 458-6164 for more information. Prince George County Regional Heritage Museum Set on Courthouse Square in the Prince George County Historic Courthouse District, the Heritage Center brings together centuries of artifact and stories. Its artifacts and stories uniquely present the society and cultures of those who have settled and lived in Prince George: the natives to the land, the English settlers along the James River, the African â€“Americans, the Czech-Slovaks, and many others, all contributing to the story of the County. Open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, 1 to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. The Heritage Center is located at 6406 Courthouse Drive. For information, call (804) 863-0212 or email PGHistory@aol. com No admission charge.
Additional information about the history of Prince George County can be obtained from the Prince George County Historical Society at www.princegeorgevahistoricalsociety.org. Pamplin Historical Park & The National Museum of the Civil War Soldier One of Virginiaâ€™ s Best Places to Visit according to the Travel Channel, and designated as a National Historic Landmark, Pamplin Historical Park & The National Museum of the Civil War Soldier is a 422acre Civil War campus located in Dinwiddie County, Virginia offering a combination of high-tech museums and hands-on experiences. The Park has four museums and four antebellum homes. The Park is also the site of The Breakthrough Battlefield of April 2, 1865. For more information, call 804-8612408 or visit www.pamplinpark.org.
ED & TED AUTO
We Buy Late Model Cars & Trucks We Also Buy Junk Cars & Trucks
We Pay $125 Up To $5,000 7 Days a Week, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Office: 804-523-2631 Cell: 804-218-1892
327 Cavalier Square, Hopewell
Aaron’s Approved Cash Advance Boost Mobile C & A Clothing Store Citi Trends Crazie Overstock
K&L Barbeque Metro PCS Oyama’s Karate Studio Peebles Roses Save-A-Lot
Dollar Tree Dragon Palace Restaurant Firestone Headquarters H & R Block Jackson-Hewitt Tax Service
Sherwin-Williams Shoe Show Spa and Nails Tyler’s Consignment Wash Inn Laundromat WingTown
For leasing information, call Susan Davis at (804) 541-7938
FUNERAL HOME & CREMATION SERVICE
Serving families since 1856
Burial, Cremation, Pre-Planning & AfterCare
458-8516 We gladly accept contracts from other funeral homes.
34 EXPLORE 2016
EXPLORE 2016 35
Poplar Grove National Cemetery In July 1862, Congress passed legislation giving the President of the United States the authority to purchase land for the establishment of cemeteries “for the soldiers who shall die in the service of their country.” This legislation effectively began the National Cemetery system. At Petersburg, implementation of this system did not begin until 1866. During the siege, Union soldiers who were killed in battle were hastily buried near where the fighting took place, some in single shallow pits, others in mass graves. Identification was as simple as a name carved on a wooden headboard, if there was time to leave even that. In 1866, Lt. Colonel James Moore began his survey of the Petersburg area to locate land for a National Cemetery. Eventually, a farm just south of the city was chosen. This tract of land had been the campground for the 50th New York Volunteer Engineers. During the war they constructed a gothic-
style, pine log church called Poplar Grove. With the cemetery now established, work began to move approximately 5,000 Union soldiers from nearly 100 separate burial sites around Petersburg. Bodies were moved from nine Virginia counties, reaching as far west as Lynchburg. The burial corps worked for three years until 1869. In that time they reinterred 6,718 remains. Only 2,139 bodies were positively identified. Poplar Grove National Cemetery is located at 8005 Vaughan Road, Petersburg (Dinwiddie County).
Richmond NATIONAL BATTLEFIELD PARK Richmond’s story is not just the tale of one large Civil War battle, nor even one important campaign. Instead, the park’s resources include a naval battle, a key industrial complex, the Confederacy’s largest
Therapeutic Massage Center & Boutique Massage • Couples • Facials Body Treatments jane iredale • Lampe Berger (804)722-1720 Fax: (804) 722-1721 257 E. Bank Street, Suite B Petersburg, VA 23803 TMC-and-boutique.com EmoryTMC@aol.com
ASAP TOWING WE BUY JUNK VEHICLES
*NOW PAYING $250 - $1000* CALL TODAY FOR PROMPT SERVICE
2 LOCAL NUMBERS TO SERVE YOU 804-399-1987 or 434-264-2834 “Let Us Pay You To Clean Up” *Some Restrictions Do Apply
36 EXPLORE 2016
hospital, dozens of miles of elaborate original fortifications, and the evocative spots where determined soldiers stood paces apart and fought with rifles, reaping a staggering human cost. We recommend that you start your visit to our park at the Civil War Visitor Center at Tredegar Iron Works located at 470 Trede-
gar Street. Park Rangers will provide maps for touring the battlefields. Park battlefield areas are open sunrise to sunset. Visitor Center Hours: • Tredegar Visitor Center: Open daily 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Exhibits, two short films.
GOT HVAC, PLUMBING OR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS? Super Sale On 2.5 Ton Heat Pumps, Installed $3575 (14 Seer)
Sales, Service & Installations Residential & Commercial LICENSED & INSURED ASK FOR FREE ESTIMATES
HANDYMAN CLASS A CONTRACTOR
GOOD CREDIT BAD CREDIT WE FINANCE
804-358-4888 Best Prices - Best Service - Best Warranties
MATTRESSES & BOX SPRING
Twin - $35 & Up Full or Queen - $50 & Up or $99 Set King - $150 & Up • Bunk Beds - $159 & Up New & Used Tools & Lawn Equipment
804-651-3809 216 Jefferson Davis Hwy. - Richmond, VA 23224
*We also carry household furniture.
APPLIANCE SALE Refrigerators & Freezers $99 & Up Washers $99 & Up • Dryers $75 & Up
New & Used Tools & Lawn Equipment
We also carry household furniture.
216 Jefferson Davis Hwy. - Richmond, VA 23224
EXPLORE 2016 37
• Chimborazo Medical Museum: Open daily 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Surgical and medical displays, 17 minute film. • Cold Harbor Visitor Center: Open daily 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Walking trail, electric map programs. • Fort Harrison Visitor Center: Open early June- early August, Wednesday-Sunday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
• Glendale/Malvern Hill Visitor Center: Open early June-early August, WednesdaySunday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. • Shelton House at Rural Plains: Open afternoons on Saturday and Sunday from April through October, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
BANKRUPTCY Get a fresh start! STOP phone calls and garnishments
KEEP your property! Payment plans available
Call me FIRST! Compare my rates!
All Your Home Repair and Construction Needs Solved! • Decks (New Builds, Repairs, & Remodle) • Porches / Screened Porches • Vinyl Railings • Fences ( All Types ) • Sun Rooms
Clinton M. davis
(804)332-4041 11900 Chester Village Dr. Chester, VA 23831
CONSULTATIONS! I am a debt relief agency. I proudly help people file for bankruptcy under the federal Bankruptcy Code.
www.leehandyman.com • www.decksrva.com
BULLZ EYE GLASS Locally Owned & Operated Windshield Replacement Chip Repair • Same Day Mobile Service Direct Billing for Insurance
ELLIS AUTO SALES INC.
Used Cars, Trucks & SUVâ€™s 300 W. Nine Mile Road
BUY HERE! PAY HERE!
Highland Springs, VA 23075
Most Monthly Payments Range from $200 - $250 per month GUARANTEED FINANCING! 1999 Ford Windstar
2008 Honda Accord
2004 Ford Explorer
1999 Toyota Camry
1994 Ford Ranger
1999 Lincoln Navigator
2001 Chevrolet Malibu
2003 Honda Civic LX
2003 Mitsubishi Lancer
1997 Honda Civic LX
1998 Nissan Altima
2001 Jaguar S-Type
2002 Chrysler Sebring
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
2007 Honda Od Van
1999 Olds Cutlass GL
1998 Ford Explorer
2003 Honda Od Van
2001 GMC Jimmy SLE
2006 Chevrolet Silverado
2000 Pontiac Sunfire
1992 Honda Accord EX
1993 Ford F150
2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer LT
Down Payments Range from $500 - $1500 Prices Exclude Tax, Title, Tags & $125 Processing Fee
DELEGATE Riley Ingram 62nd District Your Support is Always Appreciated
Representing Parts of Hopewell, Prince George, Chesterfield and Henrico
FOR ALL YOUR REAL ESTATE NEEDS
3302 Oaklawn Blvd., Hopewell, VA 23860
HOPEWELL 804-458-9873 CHESTERFIELD 804-748-0177 Rental Management 804-541-8353 www.ingramhomes.com