Issuu on Google+

Leeds Museums & Galleries What’s on

17 leeds.gov.uk/museumsandgalleries


2

Welcome to Leeds Museums and Galleries, a family of nine unique attractions for you to explore across the city. As we welcome the New Year and warmer weather approaches, we’ve got plenty of special events and exhibitions for you to get out and about.

Spring in


3

We’ll be celebrating the arrival of spring and Easter with a variety of exciting events, trails and craft activities across many of our museums. Make sure to check our school holiday webpage for details leeds.gov.uk/schoolholidays.

We’ve also got a host of new exhibitions this season with Abbey House Museum launching a fascinating look into the history of Fairy Tales & Fantasy, Leeds City Museum welcomes For All Seasons exploring how the world around us changes with the seasons, lastly Lotherton Hall will be looking back at fashion through the ages with Fashionable Yorkshire; 500 Years of Style.

our steps

This guide is just a small glimpse of some of our highlights over spring — we also have lots of smaller and regular events at each of our museums and galleries so visit our website to see what else is on leeds.gov.uk/ museumsandgalleries.


4

Exhibitions For All Seasons 10 Feb–28 Aug 2017 Leeds City Museum Whatever the weather, come and explore how the world around us changes with the seasons. From sunny, summery days to the cold chill of winter, this exhibition takes a look at how people and animals respond to the challenges of our weather! With lots of hands-on activities there’s plenty for all the family. Don’t forget to check out our exciting programme of events too. Visit leeds.gov.uk/seasons


5

Fairy Tales & Fantasy 21 Jan–31 Dec 2017 Abbey House Museum Once upon a time in a faraway land everyday objects had magical properties and danger lurked behind every forest tree. A dirty lamp might conceal a genie, a spindle could send a royal household to sleep for 100 years and a pumpkin could be transformed into a golden coach. This exhibition showcases some familiar fairy tales, including Aladdin, Little Red Riding Hood, Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella, as well as the classic children’s fantasy worlds of Alice in Wonderland, The Water Babies and Peter Pan. Drawing on the museum’s fabulous collection of children’s book illustrations, toys and games the exhibition looks at many different interpretations of familiar tales. Visit leeds.gov.uk/fairytales

Fashionable Yorkshire; 500 Years of Style 17 Mar–31 Dec 2017 Lotherton Hall Explore the history of fashion through the clothes and personal stories of a selection of Yorkshire women. Discover the individual lives of each of the women — from a rich merchant’s daughter who married a Yorkshire landowner in the 1600s to an art student enjoying the freedom of the 1970s. See the clothes they have worn and find out how their fashion choices can help to reveal how society has changed over the centuries. Image: Dress worn by Mary Holden-Illingworth of Bradford, designed by Charles Frederick Worth, 1881. Visit leeds.gov.uk/ yorkshirestyle

Flood Response Until June 2017 Leeds Industrial Museum This exhibition is co-curated by the community in Leeds and reflects upon December 2015’s floods. Images and stories from the worst incident of flooding in Leeds in living memory are complemented by the museum’s collections representing historic instances of floods. A programme of events and talks will run alongside the exhibition. Visit leeds.gov.uk/armleymills


6

Displays

Comics Unmasked Sat 21 Jan–Sun 16 Jul 2017 Abbey House Museum

The Window Frame Project Tues 28 Feb–Sun 2 Jul 2017 Leeds City Museum

Yorkshire Pots and People Fri 17 Mar–Sun 31 Dec 2017 Lotherton Hall

From Dan Dare to Dennis the Menace, Marvel to Manga, this display explores comic strips past and present through objects and also the eyes of the local comic collecting community, from cosplayers to convention-goers. A short film looks at a local comic shop’s average day and the Thought Bubble convention at Leeds Royal Armouries. Community groups can book reminiscence sessions themed around our comic collection by contacting Abbey House Museum.

The Window Frame Project offers visual artists based in Yorkshire the chance to exhibit their work in a prominent space by the main entrance of Leeds City Museum. This season Dan Crooks takes inspiration from Henry Moore and how Moore approached the figure, in particular his nude studies and sculptures. Moore wanted to modernise the traditional bronze by challenging the form and approach how the viewer would normally engage with large bronze sculpture.

Discover the rich history of Yorkshire ceramics, from ancient archaeological finds, up to contemporary ceramic sculpture.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/abbeyhouse

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ windowframe

Explore how Yorkshire ceramics have changed and adapted to serve different uses, tastes and parts of society throughout the ages. Historic examples of Yorkshire pottery on display include wares by the Leeds Pottery, finds from Kirkstall Abbey, Burmantofts Pottery and many more. The exhibition also features contemporary sculptural ceramics by Yorkshire artists Rebecca Appleby, Loretta Braganza and James Oughtibridge. Image: Otley Market Jug, c.1802. Visit leeds.gov.uk/ potsandpeople


7

Kirkstall Abbey

Opening Times Tues–Sun: Jan–Mar 10am–4pm, Apr 10am–4.30pm (last entry 30 mins before closing) Price Free entry and free events unless stated otherwise

Enjoy a day out at one of the best preserved Cistercian monasteries in Britain with beautiful and iconic ruins, set within spectacular award-winning parkland.

Contact

World Down Syndrome Day Tues 21 Mar, 10am–3pm

Muddy Monkey Club Every Tues, 10–11am

Kirkstall Abbey Markets 25 & 26 Mar, 29 & 30 Apr

Join us at Kirkstall Abbey to mark World Down Syndrome Day with local charity Sunshine and Smiles. For the second year running we will have a mix of family-friendly crafts, games, toys and activities for everyone to join in and the chance to chat with Sunshine and Smiles.

Come along for some messy and imaginative play activities for under 5’s. Each week we have a range of crafts, toys, books and instruments and if the weather is nice we like to put games outside too. On February 14th our usual session gets a feathery makeover for half term and to coincide with Valentine’s Day, then in April we celebrate spring with Easter themed activities. Older siblings welcome.

Don’t miss our fantastic monthly markets on the last weekend of every month between March and November with over 40 stalls in the cloisters of the abbey — the perfect place to find high quality Yorkshire produce, handmade crafts and collectables and freshly cooked treats for a tasty lunch.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/kirkstallabbey for our full programme of events

Kirkstall, Leeds, LS5 3EH Tel: 0113 378 4079 Email: kirkstall.abbey@leeds.gov.uk

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ kirkstallabbeymarket


8

Abbey House Museum

Opening Times Mon: closed (except bank holiday Mondays) Tues–Fri & Sun: 10am–5pm Sat: 12pm–5pm Last entry 30 mins before closing Price Adult £4.50, child £2.30, conc £3.70, family ticket £9.50* All events are included in admission price unless stated otherwise.

Fairy Tale Dragon Quest Sat 21 & Sun 22 Jan, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Adult Study Days Thurs 2 Feb, 23 Mar, 27 Apr, 11am–3pm

Join us on a dragon quest to celebrate the opening of our new Fairy Tales and Fantasy exhibition. We will make a potion to wake up a sleeping dragon, make a shield, practice our medieval manners and track dragons around our Victorian streets.

Come along to one of our monthly study days this season as we take a fascinating look into a variety of subjects; hear about the inspiring Leeds Suffragette Leonora Cohen, find out more about Leeds’ retail history, or join us for a nostalgic look back at childhood over the last 200 years. Tickets are £10 and include lunch, please book by calling 0113 3784079.

We will also have a series of adult talks to accompany the exhibition, please check online for information.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/abbeyhouse

Visit leeds.gov.uk/fairytales

Visit leeds.gov.uk/abbeyhouse for our full programme of events

February Half Term Tues 14–Fri 17, Tues 21 & Wed 22 Feb, 10am–12pm & 2–4pm Fe Fi Fo Fum, I smell some family fun! In honour of our new exhibition, our February activities will be themed around fairy tales. On Tuesday there will be craft activities based on ogres, witches, giants and trolls, on Wednesday magical potions in Silly Science, on Thursday there will be a new family trail and on Friday more crafts inspired by dragons, unicorns and fairies. Visit leeds.gov.uk/abbeyhouse


9

Contact Abbey Walk, Kirkstall, Leeds, LS5 3EH Tel: 0113 378 4079 Email: abbey.house@leeds.gov.uk

Step back in time and experience wonders of the past in this familyfriendly museum. Explore the three recreated Victorian Streets, discover toys and games from years gone by in our Childhood Galleries or join in one of our many fun and crafty regular events.

The Vintage Youth Club: World of Zine Wed 12 Feb, 12–4pm

Under 5’s Wed 1 Mar, 1 Apr & every Fri (term time)

Easter Holidays Sat 1–Sun 16 Apr

Take inspiration from characters within our Comics Unmasked and Fairy Tales and Fantasy exhibition to create a zine. You will have the opportunity to develop your ideas to write a short story and illustrate your ideas into a booklet and create a comic strip. During the workshop you will learn about art work, design, layout and different styles of zines. Plus you will have the opportunity to meet our young curators from The Vintage Youth Club who developed our Comics Unmasked exhibition. Find out how their illustrative ideas came to life.

On the first of the month in March and April (10am–12pm) we host our popular Silly Science sessions — bring along your little scientists for some experimental fun as we explore the weird and wonderful. Pop in on a Friday afternoon (2–4pm) and there’s always some extra special fun for little ones at Abbey House Museum. As well as the usual exploring, dressing up and toys, on Friday afternoons we like to get messy with crafts and paint!

Join us for two weeks of fantastically creative crafts and activities. We’ll be going down the rabbit hole as we start out the holidays inspired by Alice in Wonderland, with everything from murder mystery to flamingo croquet! In the second week of the holidays it’s all about eggs, with family challenges and silly science. We’ll also welcome our annual guest the Easter Bunny; let’s hope he’s got lots of treats to give out.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/abbeyhouse

Visit leeds.gov.uk/abbeyhouse


10

Leeds Art Gallery

Opening Times Currently closed for essential repairs. Price Free entry and free events unless stated otherwise Contact

A world of art in the heart of the city. Reopening autumn 2017.

Roof Repairs Leeds Art Gallery is currently undergoing major repairs and restoration to the original Victorian roof to help guarantee the longevity and continued use of this much loved gallery. Our shop and the Tiled Hall Café will remain open, as will our neighbours the Henry Moore Institute and Craft Centre and Design Gallery. Leeds Art Gallery will re-open fully in October 2017.

The Headrow, Leeds, LS1 3AA Tel: 0113 378 5350 Email: city.art.gallery@leeds.gov.uk

The Picture Library: Spring Selection Fri 17–Sun 19 Feb, 12–3.30pm What do Matisse, Hepworth and Sutherland have in common? They each have a work of art in The Picture Library collection which you could borrow! Join us at our Spring Selection event where you can choose from hundreds of original works of art to borrow and take away that day. To find out more visit thepicturelibrary.org

Please check the website or follow us on Twitter for the most up to date notices: @LeedsArtGallery Visit leeds.gov.uk/artgallery for our full programme of events

Artspace on the Move Keep an eye on our social media and website for the latest location of our popular creative space Artspace. During Easter Artspace will be on the move once more as we host activities off-site due to the essential repairs happening at Leeds Art Gallery. Come along and draw, build, interact and play with themes and ideas around art inspired by Leeds Art Gallery’s collection.


72


12

Leeds City Museum

Opening Times Mon: closed (except bank holiday Mondays) Tues–Fri: 10am–5pm Sat & Sun: 11am–5pm Price Free entry and free events unless stated otherwise

February Half Term Tues 14–Fri 17 Feb

LGBT History Month Sat 18 Feb, 11am–3pm

February half term is all about celebrating the seasons. On Tuesday 14th we host a special day for families with The Grammar School at Leeds. Then the rest of the week you can embrace your inner Bear Grylls (or should that be polar bear grylls?) with crafts to test your survival skills. There is also an Urban Art Workshop on Friday 17th for those aged 11+.

Celebrate LGBT History Month at Leeds City Museum. Leeds Queer Film Festival will be presenting a series of films, activities and talks. Everyone is welcome to attend and it’s free entry.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays

Visit leeds.gov.uk/citymuseum for our full programme of events

Community Choir Fri 13 Jan, 10 Feb, 10 Mar & 21 Apr, 1pm–2.30pm We are starting a new community choir in January 2017. Singers of all abilities are welcome, including absolute beginners. Leeds City Museum Community Choir will sing songs from all over the world, including songs from our very own city! Linked to the museum’s collections this choir is about releasing your natural voice, using yourself to feel good and celebrating our city. Our choir director is singing teacher Emma Sargison, a Jazz Singer who has an MA in Performance. Interested in joining? call 0113 3787121 or drop in on the day.


13

Whether you love Leeds history, the ancient worlds or natural sciences, or are simply looking for a fun and free day out — there’s loads to enjoy at Leeds City Museum.

Contact Millennium Square, Cookridge Street, Leeds, LS2 8BH Tel: 0113 378 5001 Email: city.museum@leeds.gov.uk

Hippo Easter Holidays Tues 4–Fri 7 & Tues 11–Thurs 14 Apr, 10am–12pm & 1pm–3pm Did you know hippo bones were discovered in Armley in Leeds? Join us on Tuesdays for multi-sensory family adventure sessions about the hippo, with storytelling you can touch, smell, hear and maybe even taste! Our crafts are hippo-tastic on Wednesdays and Thursdays of the holidays. On Tuesday 4th take part in a comic strip masterclass (ages 11+) then on Friday 7th we’re giving you the chance to don a lab coat and investigate 125,000 year old hippo bones (suitable for age 7+). Visit leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays

Museum Minis Dates vary We’ve got a whole programme of events to keep under 5’s captivated this season. Our Mini Maestros sessions are fun interactive music classes, while our Museum Minis Movies continues with special film screenings designed for parents, guardians and your ‘mini’. Lastly, the Tiny Signers are excited to be returning to Leeds City Museum, with lots of singing, puppets, musical instruments, and of course BSL signs. Visit leeds.gov.uk/ museumminis

Sociable History Club Fri 13 Jan, 10 Feb, 10 Mar, 7 Apr, 10.30am–12pm Our club for older visitors continues this season with lots of insightful talks. Hear about the lives of people in Victorian Leeds, find out about conscientious objectors during the First World War and the history of our Leeds City Museum building. Visit leeds.gov.uk/ sociablehistory


14

Leeds Industrial Museum at Armley Mills Uncover the story of Leeds’ industrial heritage in what was once the world’s largest woollen mill.

Opening Times Mon: closed (except bank holiday Mondays) Tues–Sat: 10am–5pm Sun: 1pm–5pm Price Adult £3.80, child £1.90, conc £3, family ticket £8* All events are included in admission price unless stated otherwise.

Contact Canal Road, Leeds, LS12 2QF Tel: 0113 378 3173 Email: armley.mills@leeds.gov.uk

Super Science Day Sun 26 Mar, 1–4pm

School Holidays February and Easter breaks

A fun science day to coincide with National Science Week. Come along for a chance to make simple machines, learn about our local scientific heroes, take part in science experiments or our mystery science quiz. It’s guaranteed to be a blast!

In February half term as part of the literature festival, have a go at printing your own book. There will be poetry trails, demonstrations and talks about literacy and printing. This event is in partnership with Leeds Central Library. At Easter, learn about the important role of our fire and rescue services. Come and see our beautiful Victorian fire engine, dress up as a fire officer, make fire engines, and see some of the wonderful fire services objects in our collection.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/armleymills for our full programme of events

From West Riding to West Africa: A Railway Journey Sat 22 Apr, 10am–5pm Back for its third year, Leeds Industrial Museum will host the wonderful pop-up National Railway Museum of Sierra Leone. The day will explore the fascinating stories linking the two places and the importance in the railways in these stories. A captivating and fun filled day with lots going on.


15

Thwaite Mills Watermill

Opening Times Sat & Sun: 1pm–5pm Open bank holidays & Tues–Fri during school holidays: 10am–5pm Price Adult £3.80, child £1.90, conc £3, family ticket £8*

Feel the force and power of one of the last remaining examples of a fully working water-powered mill in Britain and explore our beautiful and tranquil island rich in wildlife.

 ll events are included in admission A price unless stated otherwise.

Contact Thwaite Lane, Stourton, Leeds, LS10 1RP Tel: 0113 378 2983 Email: thwaite.mills@leeds.gov.uk

February Half Term Sat 11–Sun 19 Feb

Thwaite Fete Sun 16 Apr, 11am–4pm

Easter Holidays Sat 1–Mon 17 Apr

The weather at Thwaite Mills can get pretty wild, but that doesn’t mean it’s not the perfect place for all-weather fun. All week we’ll have indoor games and a picnic area, self-led crafts exploring how animals get through the winter and ready for spring. We will also host two special activities, on Tuesday 14th come and learn how to make a wind chime and on Thursday 16th get hands-on and experimental as we explore what makes power.

Thwaite Island is holding a traditional Easter fete, with fun and games for all. There will be an Easter bonnet competition and the chance to meet the Easter Bunny. Nestled between the River Aire and the Aire & Calder Navigation, don’t miss a chance to see the beautiful island in all its spring glory.

Throughout the holidays we’ll have lots going on, make use of a nature pack to help you explore the grounds, or pick up an artist pack and get creative. Join in one of our special activity afternoons; Creative Tuesdays (4 & 11 Apr) and Experimental Thursdays (6 & 13 Apr), where we’ll have crafty fun, egg experiments and animal investigations to keep the children occupied.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays Visit leeds.gov.uk/thwaitemills for our full programme of events

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays


16

Lotherton Hall

Love Birds Sat 11–Sun 26 Feb, 11am–3pm Join us for our big bird bonanza as we deliver two weeks full of activities celebrating our feathered residents. Keep your family entertained throughout half term with a programme of events including Bird Keeper talks, feeder making, and feathery arts and crafts in the bird garden and house.

Estate Opening Times Mar–Oct: 10am–5pm Nov–Feb: 10am–4pm Last entry 45 mins before closing. House closed Jan & Feb, open for daily guided tours at 11am and 2pm and partial opening for February half term.

Crafty Families Sat 25 Mar & Sat 29 Apr, 2–3.30pm This season we’re launching a special series of monthly arts and crafts workshops. This year’s theme is Yorkshire to coincide with our annual exhibition. Suitable for children aged 6+ with their adults; learn together, try new skills and make something crafty to take home. In March we are tea tasting and mug decorating and in April we are felt making. Spaces are limited so booking is essential, £3 per participant, call 0113 3782959.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/lothertonhall for our full programme of events

A Mad Hatter of an Easter Sat 1–Sun 23 Apr, 10am–4pm Over three weeks at Easter we have a varied programme of activities including daily springtime crafts, outdoor games and a Mad Hatter’s trail to explore the house and gardens. On special days play hopping games with the Easter Bunny, meet the Mad Hatter and friends, see live hatching displays in the bird garden and make a spring planter or basket. We’ve got enough to keep the whole family entertained whatever the weather!


17

Price (effective from 1 Apr 2017) Entrance to the whole estate: Adult £6, child £3, conc £4.80, family ticket £18.00*, membership from £20 All events are included in admission price unless stated otherwise.

Explore a fine Edwardian country home with extensive grounds, red deer park, hay bale maze, bird garden, nature trails, gardens and two children’s play areas.

Contact Lotherton Lane, Aberford, Leeds, LS25 3EB Tel: 0113 378 2959 Email: lotherton.hall@leeds.gov.uk

St George’s Weekend Sat 22 & Sun 23 Apr, 11am–4pm

Tea and Talk with the Curator Tues 25 Apr, 2–4pm

Come and celebrate the great St George with us, as we host a special weekend celebrating English traditions. Follow the Dragon Hunt Trail around the house and gardens, plus the little ones will have chance to dress up as a knight, dragon or princess. Get involved in some medieval family crafts or just soak up the atmosphere with live music from the brass band.

Join our Curator Adam Toole for an exclusive in-depth look at our latest exhibition Yorkshire; Pots and People. This event will include a tour of the exhibition, a chance to ask our expert questions about the display, all followed by afternoon tea. Booking is essential, tickets £7.50/£3.50 for members, please call 0113 3782959 to book.

Food & Drink Festival Sat 29 Apr–Mon 1 May, 10am–5pm Lotherton Hall hosts its second Food & Drink Festival. Take your pick of delicious snacks, shop for local products and produce and sample the different drinks on offer. There will be family entertainment and live music all bank holiday weekend to get you in the festival spirit. Keep up-to-date on our website for suppliers, stalls and programme of activities.


18

Temple Newsam

House Opening Times

Farm Opening Times

Mon: closed (except bank holidays). 1 Jan–10 Feb by pre-booked appointment. 11 Feb–31 Oct: Tues–Sun 10.30am–5pm

Mon: closed (except bank holiday Mondays and during school holidays) Tues–Sun: 10am–4pm Price Please visit the website for admission prices

Winter Programme Until 10 Feb

February Half Term Sat 11–Sun 19 Feb

During winter we give the house some down time, but we have heaps going on behind the scenes — call ahead and take advantage of a great selection of tours, special sessions looking at conservation in action, or join us as we reveal 18th century beauty secrets in a hands-on session. Not forgetting our younger visitors, there’s a chance to ‘Get Crafty’ as we host a range of creative activities on Saturday afternoons.

On the opening weekend of half term visitors will get the chance to step into a real life ‘cluedo’ mystery, as you follow the clues through the house to solve who committed murder! Come and sit on our magic carpet as part of our Storytime on Wednesday 15th this time it will be about love and friendship. We’ll also have a host of craft activities throughout the holidays on the theme of love and secret liaisons.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ winterprogramme

Visit leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays

Visit leeds.gov.uk/templenewsam for our full programme of events

Mother’s Day Sun 26 Mar, 10.30am–12.30pm & 1.30–4pm Plan a special day out with all the family this Mother’s Day and enjoy the delights of Temple Newsam. We’ve planned some special activities for the occasion, so take a break and get crafty! Using Temple Newsam’s beautiful collection of teapots for inspiration create your own special teatime craft for someone special.


19

Contact Temple Newsam House, Off Selby Road, Leeds, LS15 OAE Tel House: 0113 336 7461 Tel Estate: 0113 336 7560 Email: temple.newsam.house @leeds.gov.uk

Easter Sat 1–Sun 16 Apr From bonny bonnets, to escaped lambs, to a more traditional look at Easter — we’ve got it all this holiday. Join in our creative workshops and make your very own jolly Easter headgear, take a closer look at some of our pictures around the house as we think about how bible stories are told in paintings, lastly follow the trail and solve the clues to find the escaped lambs around the house... you could be in with a chance of winning a chocolate treat! Visit leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays

Discover 500 years of history in this beautiful country mansion set within 1500 acres of parkland, complete with a rare breed farm. Explore rooms filled with fine and decorative art treasures and uncover the secrets of past residents.

Objects of Desire Tues 14 Feb and Easter Holiday, 2.30pm The house really is a treasure trove stuffed with all sorts of things. During the holidays at 2.30pm there’s a chance to find out more about the secrets and stories behind our treasures. There are transforming tables, clocks that dance and sing, and tardis like cabinets. Every Sunday at 2pm the Organ Pyke Clock springs to life to play at least one of its eight musical tunes.

Temple Tours Tues, Thurs & Sat The house offers a number of tours to help you unearth the secrets and the history of this fantastic stately home. From introductory discovery tours and special rooftop tours, to hidden tours of the secret passageways — you can explore every inch of this magnificent house. There is a small additional cost for some of our tours and prior booking is advised, please ring ahead for times and prices; 0113 336 7461. Groups are welcomed; take a look at our special packages on leeds.gov.uk/groupvisits


20

Leeds Discovery Centre Home to a million wonders, Leeds Discovery Centre cares for the city’s collections and is a centre for learning and exploration.

Opening Times Visits by appointment only Mon–Fri: 9am–4pm. Closed on bank holidays. Drop-in store tours Thurs 11am & 2pm Price Free entry and free events unless stated otherwise. Contact Carlisle Road, Leeds, LS10 1LB Tel: 0113 378 2100 Email: discovery.centre@leeds.gov.uk

Museum Art Class Every first Thurs of the month, 6–9pm A unique chance to find artistic inspiration in the wonderful and unusual items within Leeds Museums and Galleries’ collections. On display will be an eclectic mix of visually interesting objects made available to draw. All abilities are welcome, with on-hand advice and tuition if desired. The session will be hosted by Neil Owen, an award winning printmaker and geology curator. £5 per class, please bring your own drawing materials.

Historical Gadget Show Wed 15 Feb, 10am–12pm

Eggsperiments Wed 5 & 12 Apr, 10am–12pm

Do you love gadgets? Discover how modern day gadgets have developed from humble beginnings. Can you invent the gadget of the future? Take a look at our social history collection for inspiration. Free, family-friendly event, to book please call 0113 378 2100.

Take a look at our amazing eggs and egg cases from our Natural Science collection. Why are eggs so strong? Take part in our egg drop challenge, can you protect your egg from smashing? Guaranteed fun for the entire family, free event, to book please call 0113 378 2100.

Visit leeds.gov.uk/discoverycentre for our full programme of events


22

Get involved Who are we?

Our friends

Leeds Museums and Galleries is responsible for nine of the city’s museums and galleries. These are Abbey House Museum, Kirkstall Abbey, Leeds Art Gallery, Leeds City Museum, Leeds Industrial Museum, Leeds Discovery Centre, Lotherton Hall, Temple Newsam House and Thwaite Mills Watermill. We also care for 1.3 million objects and have one of the largest collections in the UK.

We are fortunate to be supported by a number of charitable organisations including Leeds Art Fund, Friends of Leeds Museums, and the Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society, whose support in the past has been invaluable with object and art purchases, conservation projects and special exhibitions. To find out what benefits you could enjoy by supporting one of these groups visit leeds.gov.uk/ museumfriends

Volunteer with us There are many opportunities to volunteer with us including conserving our collections, supporting community projects and greeting our visitors. Latest opportunities can be found online at leeds.gov.uk/volunteer Join in with us Each year hundreds of local community groups engage with our museums, galleries and collections through curating displays, planning events and more. To get involved visit leeds.gov.uk/communityengagement Plus, if you are aged 13–24, join our youth groups, help to curate exhibitions, and get involved with our creative workshops. Visit leeds.gov.uk/youthprogramme Support us Over one million people visit our attractions every year, seeing the exceptional collections which belong to our city. Your donation or legacy helps us maintain, restore and display them. To see how you can support us please visit leeds.gov.uk/legacy

Keep in touch Keep up to date with all our events, exhibitions and activities throughout the year by joining our mailing list: leeds.gov.uk/museumsmailinglist (Your information will not be passed on to any third party). leeds.gov.uk/museumsandgalleries facebook.com/museumsandgalleries @leedsmuseumsandgalleries @leedsmuseums We welcome your feedback, please email museumsandgalleries@leeds.gov.uk

Sponsor us Sponsoring an activity or project at one of our venues is an exciting way to get involved. Opportunities start at just £500 and are an inexpensive way to market your company and entertain your clients. Visit leeds.gov.uk/sponsormuseums and let us know what we can do for you.

All information is correct at time of going to print. Family ticket includes two adults and up to three children.


leeds.gov.uk/venuehire


Explore the city this Easter and discover nine fascinating attractions crammed with a range of exhibits, workshops, activities and headline events — we’ve got this school holiday sorted!

leeds.gov.uk/ schoolholidays


Leeds Museums and Galleries - What's On Spring 17