Page 1

Forging a Clearer Path from

Access to

Success Fall 2017

CONVOCATION Tuesday, Aug. 22, 2017 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Eastern Campus


FALL 2017 CONVOCATION 7:45 a.m.

Coffee and Conversation Simon and Rose Mandel Theatre Lobby

8:30 a.m. Welcome Simon and Rose Mandel Theatre J. Michael Thomson, President, Eastern Campus

Andrew Pegman, Associate Professor, English, Eastern

Chair, Joint Faculty Senate

Jeffrey Tuma, Assistant Professor, Philosophy, Western President, American Association of University Professors (AAUP)/ Cuyahoga Community College Chapter

8:45 a.m.

College Welcome and Presidential Remarks Alex Johnson, President

9:05 a.m.

Provost Remarks Karen Miller

Provost and Executive Vice President, Access, Learning & Success

9:25 a.m.

Presentation of Awards President’s Award of Achievement Professional Excellence Award Diversity Award Excellence in Teaching Award in Honor of Ralph M. Besse Innovation of the Year Award Faculty Leadership in Sustainability Award AAUP Awards

10:45 a.m.

Counterparts and All Hands Meetings

12:15 p.m. Lunch ESS Gymnasium 1:15 p.m.

Concurrent Breakout Sessions

Breakout Session One (choose one session to attend)

1. Second Semester Pathway... Connecting Faculty to Students, ESS 2410 Jeffrey Tuma, Karen Miller 2. Strategies in Student Retention, ESS 2101 Chandra Arthur, Assistant Professor, Business, Westshore Stacey Souther, Associate Professor, Psychology, Eastern 3.

Common Reading Program & (re)imaginings, ESS 2208 Kristina Ambrosia-Conn, Sr. Instructional Designer, Eastern Theresa Gromek, Assistant Professor English, Westshore Bridget Kriner, Assistant Professor English, Westshore


Improving Student Access‌Academic Pathways, Online Application and Online Catalog, ESS 2104 Chris Dorsten, College Registrar Suzanne Ortiz, Program Manager, Community Ed./Encore Kris Walz, Program Manager, One Door Lisa Williams, Vice President, Learning and Engagement

5. Speakers Bureau Training on the Capital Bond Issue, ESS 2105 Valeri Furst, Consultant Andrew Pegman Claire Rosacco, Vice President,

Government and Community Relations

2 p.m.

Breakout Session Two (choose one from the list above)

2:45 p.m.

Joint AAUP/Faculty Senate Meeting Simon and Rose Mandel Theatre

4 p.m.

Governance Committees/Special Counterparts Meetings

CO L L EG E - WIDE CO U NTE RPAR T S Counterparts Meetings 10:45 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. DISCIPLINE



EMHC 228


EEC 155C

Automotive Technology

EMHC 101


ESS 2101

Business Administration

EMHC 111

Business Technology

ESS 3404

Captioning & Court Reporting

ESS 1201

Chemistry/Physics/Physical Science

ESS 2105

Counseling/General Studies

ESS 2103

Criminal Justice

ESS 2104

Early Childhood Education

EEC 230


EEC 168


EMHC 122

English as a Second Language

EMHC 124

Foreign Language

ESS 2512

Health Careers Programs

ESS 2208

History/Poli Sci/Geog/Urban Studies/Women Studies

EMHC 120

Hospitality Management

EEC 170

Information Technology

EMHC 117

Journalism/Mass Communications

ESS 3406


EMHC 236


EMHC 125


EEC 128


ESS 2410

Paralegal Studies

ESS 2102

Philosophy/Humanities/Religious Studies

EMHC 234

Physical Education

ESS 2510


EMHC 237

Recording Arts & Technology

EEC 167B

Sociology /Anthropology

EEC 155B


ESS 1301


EEC 155A

Visual Communication & Design

EEC 166


ESS 2104


ESS 3404

Enrollment Management

ESS 2208

Governance Monitoring

ESS 3406

Human Resources and Policy

ESS 2105

Planning and Institutional Effectiveness

ESS 2510


ESS 3306


ESS 2512

Hispanic Council

ESS 1201

Sexual Orientation and Gender Equality (SOGE)

ESS 2103

BOARD OF TRUSTEES Victor A. Ruiz, Chair Jerry L. Kelsheimer, Vice Chair The Rev. Cory C. Jenkins Michael Canty Geralyn Presti Helen Forbes Fields Andrew E. Randall J. David Heller Rachel Von Hendrix

PRESIDENT’S CABINET Alex Johnson President Karen Miller Provost and Executive Vice President, Access, Learning & Success David Kuntz Executive Vice President, Administration & Finance William H. Gary, Sr. Executive Vice President, Workforce, Community and Economic Development Donna Imhoff President, Western Campus Michael Schoop President, Metropolitan Campus Ronna McNair Chief of Staff and Executive Assistant Judith McMullen Vice President, Human Resources Claire Rosacco Vice President, Government Affairs and Community Outreach

Terri Pope President, Westshore Campus J. Michael Thomson President, Eastern Campus Megan O’Bryan Vice President, Development and Tri-C Foundation Renee Tramble Richard Vice President, Legal Services David Hoovler Vice President, Integrated Communications

CONVOCATION COMMITTEE Lindsay English, J. Michael Thomson Co-Chairs Viviane Buchanan Julius Burt Andrew Crawford Kara DePaul Shelly Dooley Christopher Green Patricia Houlehan Jerome Johnson

Cuyahoga Community College

Melissa Swafford Leanne van BeersWerneke Rebecca Wiggins Donna Wilson Christine Yohn

HOW TO DOWNLOAD APP FOR CONVOCATION 1. In your APP store search for ‘Tri-C Employee Events’ or go to 2. Download app and click ‘open’ 3. Click ‘allow’ to receive notifications 4. Click on the ‘Fall 2017 Convocation’ Icon under Upcoming 5. Click ‘Join’ and then ‘Continue’ 6. Enter your Tri-C email and create a password 7. Click sign up 8. Complete your profile 9. Enter the event code: fallconvo 10. Click on the menu tab in top left corner to view app features Please note once you have completed sign-up steps, the app will appear on your screen just like other apps.



Richard Kaplan Leo Mahoney Amy Malaczewski Denise McCory Sandra McKnight Ronna McNair Cory Molner Stacey Souther

Fall 2017 Convocation Program