Page 1

Winter 2010 Issue 1

Welcome Welcome to the first Make-a-Move Leisure Inclusion Team Newsletter. The Make-a-Move Team is responsible for projects and programmes that encourage participation in sport and physical activity in South East Northumberland. We would like to hear about your stories and successes that are going on in sport and play in South East Northumberland. If you have a story that you would like in the Make-a-Move newsletter then contact us at make-a-move@bval.co.uk or ring 01670 542338. The next issue of the BVAL Make-a-Move Newsletter will be distributed in Spring 2011!

Latest News Find us on Facebook

Make-a-Move Leisure Inclusion Team are now on Facebook. To keep up to date with all the latest news visit our page here. You can contact the Make-a-Move team directly by sending the team a message on Facebook.

North East Course Finder The latest edition of North East Course Finder is now available and includes a range of sport specific and generic courses across the North East. To view the brochure please click here.

Make-a-Move Summer Holiday Programme The Make-a-Move Team engaged with over 10,000 young people across South East Northumberland during the summer holiday’s. This was the biggest and most successful programme that BVAL has delivered. Highlights included National Play Days at Ridley Park Blyth, Dr Pit Park Bedlington, & Carlisle Park Morpeth. If you would like more information on the holiday programme contact Nicola Hargreaves on 01670 542588. Ability to Play Football Camp Blyth Valley Arts and Leisure teamed up with Newcastle United Foundation to deliver a Football camp for disabled young people during the summer. The sessions took place at Sporting Club Cramlington where the stars of the future tested their skills against each other. During the training camp Newcastle United Foundation gave away prizes for effort and attitude including a pair of match tickets for Newcastle’s opening game of the season, won by Chris Maddox. Adam Dixon, Coordinator for the Ability to Play project said, “many of the children are fanatical about Newcastle and giving them the chance to feel part of the club is a great thing.” Ability to Play hold weekly Football sessions at Blyth Sports Centre as well as a host of other sporting and play opportunities for disabled young people. For more information on activities email Adam Dixon or call 01670 542587.


Blyth Bingo Wings Game On National Champions A group of young footballers from Cowpen, Blyth aged 14 to 16 years travelled down to Doncaster for the annual Game On National Finals. Through winning the local league held at Blyth Sports Centre on a Saturday night they qualified for the regional finals which were held at North Shields. Winning their first 5 group games comfortably, the Bingo Wings went on to win 6 and draw 1 of their group games which meant a place in the final against another local team from Bedlington. In a close game where both teams had chances, Bingo Wings came out on top eventually winning 3-1. This would be the fourth year in a row that a team representing Blyth had won the National Finals. Team manager Chris Scurfield said, ‘this is the third time I’ve brought a team to the National Finals and every year the lads have been fantastic and went on to win the competition, I think this speaks volumes for the standard of youth football in Blyth and the North East as a whole’. The adventure didn’t stop there for the young footballer’s, they then went on to represent England at the Game On International Finals in Wales on 4th September. After playing some fantastic football and seeing off the challenge of the Welsh and Scottish teams the team fell short in the final losing to another English team from Yorkshire. Special thanks go to The Coalfields Regeneration Trust, and ICCQ for all their hard work. If you’re interested in getting involved in football sessions in South East Northumberland please email Chris Scurfield or call 01670 798405.

Club News Tri Northumberland Tri Northumberland completed the Triathlon season in style on September 12th in Newbiggin by the sea. Over 300 competitors took part to bring to an end a summer of triathlons and try tri sessions across South East Northumberland. Plans for 2011 are in full swing with the announcement that Tri Northumberland will be hosting the ITU world championship qualifier and ETU world championship qualifier. If you would like more information on Triathlons contact Tri Northumberland: trinorthumberland@googlemail.com Cramlington Vickings Basketball Club Cramlington Vikings Basketball Club train at Cramlington Sporting Club and Concordia Leisure Centre and are always on the lookout for new players. Training is on Wednesdays. times listed below: Under 12 – Sporting Club (6-7pm); Under 14 – Sporting Club (5-6pm); Under 16 – Sporting Club (7-8pm); Under 18 & Adults - Concordia (9-10pm).

Ashington Celtics Basketball Club Ashington Celtics currently hold training sessions on Monday evenings: Under 12 - Ashington Leisure Centre (4-5pm); Under 14 - Ashington Leisure Centre (5-6pm); Under 16 - Ashington Leisure Centre (6-7pm); Seniors - Ashington High School (7-9pm). Please email information.

Anthony

Sampson

for

more

Special offer for all CLUBS King Design are offering a 10% discount on flyers, brochures, promotional material and website design for Sports Clubs in South East Northumberland. Please quote ‘Wansbeck CSN’ when placing an order. www.king-design.co.uk


What’s On October Half Term BVAL are running a wide variety of sports activities across South East Northumberland during October half term. Please click here to see what’s on. Halloween Play Roadshow: Thursday 28th October Dr Pit Park, Bedlington (2-6pm) FREE Friday 29th October Hirst Park, Ashington (2-6pm) FREE Saturday 30th October Newbiggin Sports & Community Centre (2-6pm) FREE Halloween Disco: Friday 29th October

Concordia Leisure Centre (3.30-7:00pm) £3 Movie, How to train your dragon (3.30-5.15pm)

Corporate 5 a side Tournament The Annual BVAL Corporate 5 a side tournament will be held at Concordia Leisure Centre on Saturday 18th December 2010, 10am – 1pm. This tournament is open to local businesses, Council departments, school staff, emergency services etc. Has your work place got players to take the 2010 title? For more information email Martin Deagle of call 01670 542589 Pictured left are the 2008 winners Browns 2000 from Cramlington. Move It Community Dance MOVE IT community dance deliver a range of dance and fitness activities throughout the South East Northumberland. Working in partnership with The Buffalo Centre, Extended Services and local community venues, we provide classes which focus on promoting a healthy and active lifestyle. The classes range from Street Dance, Break Dancing, Salsa, Bop to the Top and many more. For more information email Sophie Johnson or call 01670 542587. A full list of Move it Community Dance sessions are available by clicking here

Funding Opportunities Funding for community sport is often considered one of the biggest barriers to development. This section aims to help clubs access funding opportunities! Information on funding streams available: Northumberland Community Chest Scheme Mars Refuel Fund Coalfields Regeneration Trust – Bridging the Gap Wells Sports Foundation Cash for Clubs BT Community Connections Peter Harrison Foundation Other funding opportunities can be found at BVAL


Leisure Inclusion Team Blyth Valley Arts and Leisure Make-A-Move Leisure Inclusion Team offer a wide range of sport and play activities. For more information on these exciting activities please contact the Make-A-Move team on 01670-542338 or 542587 or you can email us at make-a-move@bval.co.uk

Nathan Rogerson Leisure Development & Inclusion Manager Tel:01670 542268 Mob: 07843357864 nrogerson@bval.co.uk Chris Scurfield Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 798405 Mob:07540412088 cscurfield@bval.co.uk

Sarah Haigh Women & Girls Development Officer Tel: 01670 542407 Mob:07540412085 shaigh@bval.co.uk

Tom Lavender Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542246 Mob:07540412079 tlavender@bval.co.uk

Amy Foggett Women & Girls Development Officer Tel: 01670 714154 afoggett@bval.co.uk

Martin Deagle Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542589 Mob:07540412083 mdeagle@bval.co.uk

Adam Dixon Play & Disability Officer Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07540412084 adixon@bval.co.uk

Lee Paris Sports Activator Tel:01670 542338 Mob:07540412090 lparis@bval.co.uk

Ronnie Scheu Play & Disability Activator Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07889320377 rscheu@bval.co.uk

Nicola Hargreaves Sports Coordinator Tel:01670 542589 Mob:07850900402 nhargreaves@bval.co.uk

Luis Perales Outdoor Development Officer Tel:01670 542297 Mob:07540412087 lperales@bval.co.uk

Michael Firek Sports Activator, Health & Fitness Tel:01670 542413 Mob:07540412080 mfirek@bval.co.uk

Hemant Desai Athletics Network Officer Tel:01670 542297 Mob:07540412089 hdesai@bval.co.uk

Sophie Johnson Dance Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07540412082 sjohnson@bval.co.uk

Tom Vickers Cricket Development Officer Mob: 07782375863 tvickers@bval.co.uk

www.bval.co.uk make-a-move@bval.co.uk

Make a Move Newsletter Winter 2010  

Make a Move Newsletter Winter 2010

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you