Page 1

Late Spring 2011 Issue 3

Welcome Welcome to the Late Spring Make-a-Move Leisure Inclusion Team Newsletter. If you have a story that you would like in the Make-a-Move newsletter then contact the team at make-a-move@bval.co.uk or call 01670 542338. The next issue of the BVAL Make-a-Move Newsletter will be distributed in Summer 2011!

Latest News Ability to Play Disability Fundraising Event success at Linden Hall A fundraising event for families with disabilities has taken place with all proceeds to be re-invested into local projects for people with disabilities. The event which took place on Sunday 23rd January at Linden Hall was organised by Ability to Play participants Chris Maddox and Tony Fuller with support from the Make-a-Move team. 350 people accessed activities including an outdoor ice rink, laser battlefield and pony rides. Thank you to Aiming High, Northumberland Play team and the Panto Co. who supported this event. Please visit our Flickr page to see photo’s from the event. For more information on future events please contact Ronnie Scheu on 01670 542338. Morpeth Multi Sport project awarded £443,000 Sport England grant A grant from Sport England will help pay for a new six-lane synthetic running track and improved changing rooms in Morpeth. The grant of £433,000 is part of the £1m Morpeth Multi Sport project which also includes improvements to paths and a ramp to ensure accessibility to disabled users at King Edward VI High School. There have also been improvements carried out to four Football pitches and an existing allweather area which will benefit from a new synthetic surface. Match funding for the Sport England grant is coming from Northumberland County Council (£375,000), Aiming High Fund (£40,000), Morpeth Harriers (£11,000) and King Edward VI High School (£175,000). Other organisations involved in the project include Morpeth Town and Morpeth Juniors Football Clubs and Blyth Valley Arts & Leisure.

Make-a-Move February Holiday Programme The Make-a-Move team engaged with over 600 young people during February half term. Some of the highlights included ‘Have a Blast’ activity day at Concordia, an Ability to Play trip to Sno!zone indoor ski centre in Leeds and a full afternoon of Multi Sport activities in Newbiggin which allowed young people to try Futsal for the first time. Please visit our Flickr page to see our new photo’s. For more information please contact Nicola Hargreaves on 01670 542589.


Communities 4 Health—Valley Moves Young People Activity Programme A new programme of activities for young people in Seaton Valley is coming soon. If you have any suggestions on what we could deliver we would like to hear from you. Young people’s activities will be in addition to the Adult Activity Programme currently being delivered. More information on Adult activities is available in the ‘What’s on’ section. Contact Michael Firek on 0740 412080.

Club News Bedlington Cricket Club Three Cricketers have successfully completed the UKCC Level 1 Coaching award which will allow them to coach younger members at their local club. Since completing the course, Kevin Harnett, Peter Finch and Sean McCafferty have become part of the coaching team at Bedlington Cricket Club. All three were funded through the Recruit into Coaching programme and since completing the course they have supported the work of more experienced coaches. Supporting partners include Blyth Valley Arts & Leisure and Northumberland Sport. To see the full story please visit www.bval.co.uk. Walk4Life The new Walk4Life website is a free tool to map and share your favourite walks! The website uses clear, colourful maps and is really easy to use. You can see how long a walk is, record the walks you have done, and add photos or comments. You can map your own town or countryside walks and print them off at home. There is plenty of help to get started, visit www.walk4life.info to find out more!i Barnesbury Cycling Club Barnesbury Cycling Club are looking for new cyclists to take part in time trials throughout the summer. Sessions run on Wednesday evenings from 6.45pm for young people aged 12+ at Nelson Way, Nelson Industrial Estate, Cramlington. For more information please visit www.barnesbury-cc.co.uk or email cngray@hotmail.co.uk.

What’s On Communities 4 Health—Valley Moves Adult Activity Programme Below is a list of current activities taking place in Seaton Valley. For more information contact Michael Firek on 07540 412080. Mon Wed Thus Thus Thus Thus

Just Jhoom Boot Camp Just Jhoom Archery (Beginner) Archery Zumba

S.Delaval Arts Centre S.Sluice Community Centre S.Sluice Community Centre S.Delaval Community Centre S.Delaval Community Centre S.Delaval Community Centre

7:30-8:30pm 6:00-7:00pm 10:00-11:00am 4:30-5:30pm 5:30-6:30pm 7:00-8:00pm


Easter and Summer Mid-Term Holiday Programme BVAL will be delivering a wide variety of sport and play activities and events during Easter and Summer Mid-Term. Highlights during Easter include Easter EGGstravaganza events in all 3 zones plus: Blue Zone— Cramlington, Blyth & Seaton Valley: -Have a Blast -Just Jhoom! Green Zone—Ashington, Newbiggin & Bedlington: -Indoor Athletics -Multi Sport Clubs Red Zone—Morpeth: -Archery -Paddlesport You can pick up a copy of the Holiday Programme from your nearest Leisure Centre or click here to view online. For more information or to be the first to receive future Holiday Programme’s electronically please contact Nicola Hargreaves on 01670 542588. Fresh Start The Make-a-Move team will be delivering Fresh Start sessions between 7:308:30am during the Summer Term. Developed to give young people the opportunity to ‘kick start’ their day, sessions take place at parks close to school and are open to all. Locations include Hirst Park, Alexandra Park, Dr Pit Park and Astley Park. Last year the Fresh Start programme engaged with 480 young people over 12 weeks. For more information please contact Michael Firek on 0740 412080.

Cramlington Town Fair Following the success of the 2010 Town Fair, Cramlington Town Council are currently planning the 2011 Town Fair which will be held at Eastfield Playing Fields on Saturday 4th June 2011. This will run alongside Turners Fun Fair. Partners on the day include BVAL Make-a-Move, The Parachute Regiment Freefall Team (The Red Devils), Metro & Magic 1152, Tyne Tailwaggers, Think Bikes and The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers with their inflatable paint ball range. If you are part of a Cramlington Community organisation and you would like to be part of the Fair, please email fair@cramlington-town-council.org. More details can be found at www.cramlington-town-council.org.

Funding Opportunities All of the links below provide information on funding opportunities for sports clubs and organisations in Northumberland. Northumberland High Sheriff Northumberland Community Chest AENA (Netball) Make-a-Move Volunteer Package Other funding opportunities can be found at www.bval.co.uk or by contacting the Make-a-Move team on 01670 542338.


Leisure Inclusion Team Blyth Valley Arts and Leisure Make-A-Move Leisure Inclusion Team offer a wide range of sport and play activities. For more information on these exciting activities please contact the Make-A-Move team on 01670-542338 or 542587 or you can email us at make-a-move@bval.co.uk

Nathan Rogerson Leisure Development & Inclusion Manager Tel:01670 542268 Mob: 07843357864 nrogerson@bval.co.uk Chris Scurfield Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 798405 Mob:07540412088 cscurfield@bval.co.uk

Sarah Haigh Women & Girls Development Officer Tel: 01670 542407 Mob:07540412085 shaigh@bval.co.uk

Tom Lavender Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542246 Mob:07540412079 tlavender@bval.co.uk

Amy Foggett Women & Girls Development Officer Tel: 01670 714154 afoggett@bval.co.uk

Martin Deagle Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542589 Mob:07540412083 mdeagle@bval.co.uk

Adam Dixon Play & Disability Officer Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07540412084 adixon@bval.co.uk

Lee Paris Sports Activator Tel:01670 542338 Mob:07540412090 lparis@bval.co.uk

Ronnie Scheu Play & Disability Activator Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07889320377 rscheu@bval.co.uk

Nicola Hargreaves Sports Coordinator Tel:01670 542589 Mob:07850900402 nhargreaves@bval.co.uk

Luis Perales Outdoor Development Officer Tel:01670 542297 Mob:07540412087 lperales@bval.co.uk

Michael Firek Sports Activator, Health & Fitness Tel:01670 542413 Mob:07540412080 mfirek@bval.co.uk

Hemant Desai Athletics Network Officer Tel:01670 542297 Mob:07540412089 hdesai@bval.co.uk

Sophie Johnson Dance Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07540412082 sjohnson@bval.co.uk

Tom Vickers Cricket Development Officer Mob: 07782375863 tvickers@bval.co.uk

www.bval.co.uk make-a-move@bval.co.uk


Make a Move Late Spring Newsletter  

Make a Move Late Spring Newsletter

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you