Page 1

Summer 2011 Issue 4

Welcome Welcome to the Summer Make-a-Move Leisure Inclusion Team Newsletter. If you have a story that you would like in the Make-a-Move Newsletter then contact the team at make-a-move@bval.co.uk or call 01670 542338. The next issue of the BVAL Make-a-Move Newsletter will be distributed in Autumn 2011!

Latest News Cramlington Town Fair The Cramlington Town Fair organised by Cramlington Town Council took place on Saturday 4th June 2011. The Make-a-Move team offered face painting and a drop in play session which included hula hooping. For more information on Cramlington Town Fair please email Cramlington Town Council or click here to visit the website.

Make-a-Move recognised by High Sheriff The Make-a-Move team have been recognised by Northumberland High Sheriff for its work with young people in the community. The award was made in recognition of inclusion projects such as dance, holiday programmes and evening and weekend diversionary activities which steer young people away from anti-social behaviour. Colin Jackson and Christopher Maddox were invited to receive the award which will now be invested into other inclusion projects in the local community. For more information on Make-a-Move projects in your area contact Make-aMove or call 01670 542338. Make-a-Move Easter & Summer Mid-term Holiday Programme The Make-a-Move team engaged with over 1900 young people during the Easter and Summer Mid-term holidays. Some of the highlights included Easter Eggstravaganza events and National Family week which included 9 event days to compliment a range of activities throughout the holidays! We are now looking at new ways to promote our school holiday activities in the future. This includes email distribution and the use of Facebook. To receive future Holiday Programme’s by email or to access our Facebook page please visit our website. For more information please contact Nicola Hargreaves on 01670 542589.


Try a Tri branded a success A group of adults have completed an introductory course aimed at newcomers to Triathlon. The scheme, branded as ‘Try a Tri’ has been organised by BVAL in partnership with Tri Northumberland and Triathlon England. 21 first time participants attended the programme at Ashington Leisure Centre led by level 3 coach Barry Jameson and 2002 Commonwealth Games Waterpolo bronze medalist, Neil Bowers. The programme concluded with a Mini Triathlon at Druridge Bay. The programme has been branded a success with 10 out of 10 participants happy to recommend it to a friend and 8 out of 10 showing an interest in taking part in the programme again. Some of the group have already completed the Ashington Sprint Triathlon and QE2 Sprint Triathlon with several others looking to compete in Triathlon events over the summer. Following its success, there are plans to organise another programme in early 2012. For more information contact Lee Paris on 01670 542338.

Club News Tri Northumberland organise ITU World Championship Qualifier 360 competitors took part in the QE2 Sprint Triathlon on Sunday 5th June organised by Tri Northumberland. The ITU World Championship Qualifier for Beijing proved a success, with both competitors and spectators providing excellent feedback. The QE2 Sprint Triathlon was also completed by 8 athletes as part of the British Paratriathlon Series 2011. The annual Ashington Sprint Triathlon continued to grow with 270 competitors who took part on Easter Monday including 43 first time competitors who can now call themselves Triathletes! For more information please visit the Tri Northumberland website. Cramlington Vikings Cramlington Vikings continue to go from strength to strength which is largely down to the coaching staff and volunteers involved. Andy Tovey became involved in Basketball when his son began playing at the club. He has since gone on to complete his level 2 coaching award and support club sessions on a weekly basis. “There have been some fantastic kids coming through the teams and one of the most rewarding aspects is seeing them grow in skill and confidence over the years and even for some to progress to National League teams.” To read the full story please visit our website.

What’s On Beacon Lane activities A NEW activity programme is now taking place at Beacon Lane MUGA in Cramlington. Thursdays 5-6pm: Play Roadshow (6-11 years) All sessions offer a range of sporting and purposeful play activities in a safe, fun and friendly environment. Thursdays 6-7pm: Multi Sports (11-16 years) Take part in a variety of sports, including Football, Basketball, Netball and Cricket. For more information on activities at Beacon Lane contact Chris Scurfield on 01670 542246.


BVAL to celebrate one year to go to London 2012 In partnership with Tri Northumberland and Newbiggin Town Council, BVAL are currently planning for London 2012 Open Weekend at Newbiggin Promenade. On Saturday 23rd July, the Make-a-Move team will be offering a wide range of activities including Beach Games, Bungee Trampoline and School Sports Day events. This will be in addition to a Family Fun Run along Newbiggin Promenade and Tri Northumberland’s Couple Challenge Swim. Please click here for event details. Newbiggin will also host Tri Northumberland’s Couple Challenge Triathlon on Sunday 24th July For more information on the London 2012 Open Weekend in Newbiggin contact Lee Paris on 01670 542338. Communities for Health—Valley Moves First Step: First Step mother and baby exercise class has been running for a number of weeks with great success. Adults are encouraged to include their baby in the class. Activities include Flying Baby, Kiss the Baby Crunches, Baby Leg Lifts and Horsey Ride! Sessions take place on Thursdays 1.30-2.15pm at Seaton Delaval Sure Start. Barefoot Bowls: During the summer holidays the Make-a-Move team will be delivering some Barefoot Bowls across the Seaton Valley area. Further details will appear on our website soon! Please click here for more information on Valley Moves or contact Michael Firek on 07540 412080. BVAL Summer Sizzler 2011 BVAL’s Summer Sizzler programme is available now and includes activities, events, camping trips and more! The programme is supported by Cramlington, Newbiggin & Morpeth Town Council’s. Highlights include: -Beach Bonanza (Monday’s at Cambois & Friday’s at Newbiggin) -Pirates Beach Party (4th August at Cramlington Town Fair) -Overnight camping (25th August at Kielder Reservoir) -A2P/Aiming High for disabled children events (various dates) -Bungee Trampoline (Thursday, Friday & Saturday throughout the holidays) The Summer Sizzler is packed with many more activities and events! To receive future holiday brochures register your email address on our website. You can view the programme online by clicking here.

Funding Opportunities All of the links below provide information on funding opportunities for sports clubs and organisations in Northumberland. Make-a-Move Volunteer Package Northumberland Sport Northumberland High Sheriff Newbiggin Town Council Cramlington Town Council Morpeth Town Council Other funding opportunities can be found at www.bval.co.uk or by contacting the Make-a-Move team on 01670 542268.


Leisure Inclusion Team Blyth Valley Arts and Leisure Make-A-Move Leisure Inclusion Team offer a wide range of sport and play activities. For more information on these exciting activities please contact the Make-A-Move team on 01670-542338 or 542587 or you can email us at make-a-move@bval.co.uk

Nathan Rogerson Leisure Development & Inclusion Manager Tel:01670 542268 Mob: 07843357864 nrogerson@bval.co.uk Chris Scurfield Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 798405 Mob:07540412088 cscurfield@bval.co.uk

Sarah Haigh Women & Girls Development Officer Tel: 01670 542407 Mob:07540412085 shaigh@bval.co.uk

Tom Lavender Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542246 Mob:07540412079 tlavender@bval.co.uk

Amy Foggett Women & Girls Development Officer Tel: 01670 714154 afoggett@bval.co.uk

Martin Deagle Sport Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542589 Mob:07540412083 mdeagle@bval.co.uk

Adam Dixon Play & Disability Officer Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07540412084 adixon@bval.co.uk

Lee Paris Sports Activator Tel:01670 542338 Mob:07540412090 lparis@bval.co.uk

Ronnie Scheu Play & Disability Activator Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07889320377 rscheu@bval.co.uk

Nicola Hargreaves Sports Coordinator Tel:01670 542589 Mob:07850900402 nhargreaves@bval.co.uk

Luis Perales Outdoor Development Officer Tel:01670 542297 Mob:07540412087 lperales@bval.co.uk

Michael Firek Sports Activator, Health & Fitness Tel:01670 542413 Mob:07540412080 mfirek@bval.co.uk

Hemant Desai Athletics Network Officer Tel:01670 542297 Mob:07540412089 hdesai@bval.co.uk

Sophie Johnson Dance Inclusion Officer Tel:01670 542587 Mob:07540412082 sjohnson@bval.co.uk

Tom Vickers Cricket Development Officer Mob: 07782375863 tvickers@bval.co.uk

www.bval.co.uk make-a-move@bval.co.uk

Summer Newsletter 2011  

Make a Move Summer newsletter 2011