Issuu on Google+

‘Live, love, dance!’ The Dance Ensemble performs for a packed Ice Auditorium in its Spring Showcase on May 7. >> Please see page 10

May 14, 2010

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

115th Year

Issue No. 23

Speaker aims to clarify climate change impacts A visiting climatologist discusses the implicates of human activity on climate change. Jessica Prokop Culture editor A renowned climatologist presented his collaborative research regarding climate change and discussed the controversy surrounding global warming during a guest lecture May 11. Dr. Michael Mann, who has visited schools across the United States, talked about the impacts and predictions that he and others in his field have proved to exist. Linfield and McMinnville High School sutdents, along with professors and community members, attended the lecture. “Mann was passionate about the topic and even questioned the research at times, which makes him more credible because he isn’t just accepting it,” freshman Brittany Baker said. Most of what Mann presented came from his book, “Dire Predictions: Understanding Global Warming,” that he coauthored with fellow scientist Lee R. Kump. Global warming has received a lot of negative publicity lately and has caused animosity between people who believe it exists and those who do not believe it was caused by human activity, Mann said. He also said the issue has also caused scientists to disagree. “Recently, the emphasis has been on controversy, most of it manufactured controversy, which plays into the agenda of people who doubt climate change,” Mann said. “However, it’s about how much the temperature is changing, not Juli Tejadilla/Graphics/ads designer

>> Please see Climate page 4

Swipe card access may be restricted Robert Cepeda, director of Linfield College Community Public Safety & Security, proposes restricting students access to only the residence hall they reside in. Lauren Ostrom Features editor Rumors have been floating around campus that new restrictions to residence hall access may be enacted for the next school year. Specifically, students may only being able to enter their own residence halls, extending the current nighttime access rules to around-the-clock enforcement.

INSIDE

Editorial .......................... 2 News ............................... 4 Features.............................7 Culture............................10 Sports .............................16

Students are familiar with their ID cards not working on other residence halls after 10 p.m., but a proposition is being discussed for a 24-hour restriction instead of just after 10 p.m. Robert Cepeda, director of LCCPS, listed facts about campus security when asked via e-mail about the

60 people voted Answer this week’s question at www.linfieldreview.com

>> Please see Access page 6

Read online

Ericksen retires

Time capsule

View the ASLC Senate blog, columnists’ blogs and Wildcat Production’s latest videos online at: www.linfieldreview.com

Ken Ericksen, longtime professor of English, ends his career with one final lecture May 13.

A quick look at the events that shaped the world this past school year.

>> Please see page 5

>> Please see page 8-9


2

Opinions

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com Editor-in-chief Dominic Baez/ Kelley Hungerford Managing editor Kelley Hungerford/ Braden Smith Business manager Ngoc Tran Copy chief Septembre Russell News editor Joshua Ensler Sports editor Grant Lucas/ Corrina Crocker Culture editor Yin Xiao/Jessica Prokop Features editor Lauren Ostrom/Yin Xiao Opinion editor Braden Smith/Chelsea Bowen Copy editor Amanda Summers Photo editor Megan Myer

We work hard week after week to produce this newspaper, so when people make offhanded or unsubstantiated criticisms of the Review, we naturally take offense. Of course we expect and welcome criticism, but we prefer our critics to be open with their remarks. When sophomore ASLC Vice President Katie Patterson criticized our editorial endorsing ASLC candidates (“Review endorses Jones, Spranger,” TLR, March 5), she did so publicly, and we engaged in a healthy backand-forth argument. Despite disagreements, we both defended our stances in a formal, productive manner. However, many students (although not all) seem much more content to accuse from afar. Whether this is out of laziness, inability to defend one’s position or both, we are not certain. Whatever the cause, we are certain that it aggravates us. It is always frustrating when

The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Fridays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $48 for 24 issues a year and $30 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday to appear in the Review the following Friday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary. Go to www.linfieldreview.com for more information.

someone is not willing to be forthright and open in his or her opinions, assuming he or she has one. What good is an opinion you’re not willing to defend? To those students who think the Review is awful or has degenerated into a “gossip column,” we would love to hear why you think so. For all we know, you could have valid points, but we can’t know that until your points are asserted. We want to improve our work; if you have insights into how we could do so, please tell us. The two possible outcomes of stating your opinion are either that you are wrong and nothing happens, or that you are right, and we can work on increasing the quality of our paper. The Review is not simply comprised of mass communication majors and upperclassmen. Our new editor-in-chief is a business management major. It is open to anyone who wants to participate. Linfield is small, so rarely do we have every

staff position filled. We can’t run without the work of our diverse student body. It is easy to contribute to the paper in a variety of ways. Submitting a letter to the editor is a simple way to participate without directly tying yourself to the paper. Or, simpler yet, post a comment on our website. The Review does not work without student body participation. So if you don’t like how the Review is turning out each week, try it yourself. Join the staff. Write a column. Not only do we want your contributions, we need them. If you think our stories are poorly written, become a writer. If you hate our photos, become a photographer. If you think each issue is riddled with errors or that our headlines are terrible, apply for copy editor. If you hate the whole damn paper, go for editor-in-chief (or begin working yourself up to that position). We need students and their input to make the Review an effective, suc-

CORRECTION May 7 issue: The Fulbright Program was established in 1946.

OPINION

Embrace traits that make you stand out

Senior reporter Chelsea Langevin

Adviser Brad Thompson associate professor of mass communication

May 14, 2010

If you have something to say, then say it

Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla

Columnists Doris ter Horst Jordan Jacobo

EDITORIAL

Online editor Aaron Cody/Megan Meyer

Senior photographer Paoline-Anne Abulencia/ Katie Paysinger

Septembre Russell Hakuna Matata I sneeze loudly. I clap loudly. I laugh louder than I sneeze and clap. You’d better believe, though, that when I sneeze, clap and laugh, people know it’s me. During Christmas vacation, I was in my hometown Wal-Mart with a friend of mine. (Who wasn’t?) I tend to laugh wildly at my own jokes, so it’s possible that was what the circumstances were. Something had tickled me so tremendously that I had my head tilted backward and one hand bracing my back because it tightens up when I’m laughing hysterically. All of a sudden, someone is standing next to me, hugging me. Whoa, creeper Wal-Mart girl, at least ask me before helping yourself to the buffet, right? Wrong. Turns out, lady hugmeister was a girl I went to junior high school, and whom I had not seen since we graduated from the eighth grade. She heard me laughing. There I was with no idea that my chuckle had such range — she was more than three aisles away from where I was standing.

Regardless, she heard me cracking up, somehow knew that it was me and tracked me down using my laughter as a GPS, or maybe WPS — Wal-Mart Positioning System? The fact that she so easily recognized my laughter after all these years since she’d seen me, let alone heard me laugh, was incredible. Even more extraordinary was that she was so confident with her laugh-recognition — confident enough to follow the sound of my voice. (Wouldn’t it have been awkward if her ears had failed her?) The entire happening made me laugh even harder while my friend stood there in shock. He didn’t know what was going to happen next. We were in Wal-Mart; enough said. Although I cannot always help it, I find my laugh to be incredibly bothersome. I laugh, and it causes others to laugh — it isn’t consistently at the most appropriate times. Often, the most unorthodox things cause me to keel over in uncontrollable, riotous laughter, which invites onlookers — mostly my friends — to question my sanity. It’s difficult to tell a story or do a re-enactment (two of my specialties) while you are experiencing a laugh attack, and it’s not rare that it takes away from the objective of explaining what was hilarious in the first place. My laughter does not make

me who I am; it helps other people attempt to figure me out. You can glean a tremendous amount of information from what someone else may deign to chuckle at. Despite my qualms with my laugh and the occasional embarrassment that associates myself with it, I deal with it, and there are positive aspects of having a distinguishably loud, hearty and high-pitched laugh. Case in point: It gave me great pleasure to discover after watching “Dog Sees God” that a lot of the actors (and audience members for that matter) knew I was there watching and supporting them. I also wound up with a free CD from comedian Rob O’Reilly after his stand-up set on campus. The man had me in tears, and I almost ruined his show — he kept getting sidetracked by laughing at me when I was laughing at him. There are idiosyncratic qualities that are discoverable in every one of us. It should be commonplace to let those qualities shine through. If not every day, then some percentage of the time because what you may assume is annoying or embarrassing, someone else may enjoy or even absolutely adore you for. Or, as in my case, use as a tool to find you inside of a Wal-Mart. How cool is that? Septembre Russell can be reached atl infieldreviewcopy@gmail.com

Review roadtrip Seven members of the Review staff, along with its adviser, went to Albany, Ore., on May 7 for the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association Collegiate Day. Among a multitude of colleges and universities, the Review won several caterogies, including Best Feature Story, Best Photography and Best Website. For a full list of the awards, go to: www.orenews.com/Contests/2010/cnc/

Review office hours: Editor-in-chief Tuesday & Thursday 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Managing editor Friday 8:30-10:30 a.m. Follow us on Twitter, @linfieldreview, and on Facebook. cessful publication. If you think you could do better, show us you can. We’ll even pay for your time (for most positions). Producing a newspaper is hard work, and we do our best, but we can always do better. If you have ideas about how to improve it, we encourage you, please, to tell us how or do so yourself. -The Review Editorial Board

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

To many of you, Fred Ross is nothing more than the name of the Assistant to the President. But come this summer, Linfield College will be losing much more than some administrator, as Dr. Fred Ross officially retires, again. Dr. Ross has served the college in many roles for many years. I had the pleasure of learning how to teach from a master teacher. As an education professor, Dr. Ross not only talked about teaching but modeled the strategies being described. I looked up to a man with a tremendous work ethic, who spent countless hours planning, preparing and then executing his duties as professor, student teacher supervisor, and credential expert. He took the time to get to know me personally as an advisor and invested time and energy into my success. I worked side by side on various councils with a person who cared about the institution of Linfield. In 2007, I had the honor of reading some brief notes about Dr. Ross as he retired, the first time. Dr. Ross accepted a position as assistant to the president when asked. The college as a whole has benefitted from his continued servant leadership, his hard work, his caring for the students and his commitment to success for the institution and every student and faculty member that call Linfield home. So as he retires again, I wish Dr. Ross all the best in retirement. Enjoy your travels, your time with family and in the garden and thank you for your contributions to my career and to this wonderful place called Linfield. Patrick Miller Class of 2007, degree in Spanish, secondary education certificate, student center director 2007.

Megan Myer/Photo editor Members of the Review staff at ONPA Collegiate Day.


May 14, 2010

ASLC Notes This is a paid advertisement

www.linfieldreview.com

3

OPINION

Through the eyes of an editor-in-chief

Colin Jones President Hey Linfield! There’s been some great stuff going on with Senate and Cabinet this week and some fantastic events coming up! Also in Senate, the Good News Committee announced that Bradley Keliinoi is this week’s Wildcat of the Week. They recognized him as an extremely active and outspoken Senator who has been working hard on behalf of the student body. They also commended his work as the chair of the Elections Committee. The ASLC Cabinet has also been working hard. We’ve received the support we need from the Athletic Director to start breaking ground on the sand volleyball court announced earlier this year; we will keep you updated as things move along. In addition to that, Cabinet is working with ITS to overhaul the campuswide email system. Starting very soon, you will no longer receive event emails from Jeff Mackay, unless they’re related to Residence Life. Instead, events will be consolidated into a weekly email which will include all the exciting things happening that week and an occasional email from ASLC for the bigger events (Wildstock, Hawaiian Club Lu’au, ASLC Elections, ZTA Duck Derby, etc). We hope this will cut down on the amount of “junk” mail that you get while still ensuring that you know what’s going on each week. Senate approved my proposed Cabinet in a unanimous vote. They will be: Arielle Perkins, VP of Business and Finance; Nicole Bond, VP of Programming; Sophie Larson, Secretary; Keevin Craig, Club Director; Wil Hiles, Sports Director; Bri Reichelt, Publicity Director; and Evan Hilberg, Student Center Director. Cabinet is moving towards the May 1st changeover, the new VP of Programming will start hiring the Linfield Activities Board. If you are interested in serving on ASLC’s programming board as the Music, Special Events, Health & Outdoor Programming, Off-Campus, or Cultural Events Chairperson, be sure to get your application (in the form of resume and cover letter) to Nicole at nbond@linfield. edu by 5pm on Tuesday, April 13th. If you have questions about the positions, check out the LAB website at: www.linfield.edu/ aslc/lab. The VP of Business & Finance is also hiring. If you are interested in serving as the Business Manager for next year, send your resume and cover letter to arperkin@linfield.edu. Questions can be directed to Chris McIsaac or Arielle Perkins. I hope you all have a great week. Be sure to take advantage of the professional comedian on Saturday, April 10th and the professional Cat Cab on Thursday, April 15th (as well as all the other great events going on this week)!

Opinions

Dominic Baez It’s for poor people Another year of newspaper. Another 365 days of learning by doing. Another set of unforgettable memories, skin-tingling successes and heartbreaking failures. After four spectacular years of working for the Review, I can say with bittersweet alacrity and conviction that this is my last opinion piece. As is now tradition for my opinions and editorials, it’s probably expected that I’m going to rant and rave about how pointless Senate is or how asinine the new college tagline is. But I didn’t want my last opinion to be full of chagrin and vitriol. So, instead, this will be a thank you note and memoir wrapped up in one. With the backdrop of graduation and retiring from editor-inchief, I’m blessed with that perfect 20-20 hindsight that allows me to see what went right, what went wrong and all the intricacies in between. Don’t get me wrong: I’m far from infallible. Hell, I’ve screwed up more than I would like to admit. And as editor-in-chief of the Review (which runs through nearly 1,300 copies a week, so I know it’s read), my mistakes are broadcasted to the campus atlarge (and then to everyone who reads the Review online). I’ve never been self-conscious, as those close to me can attest, and working for the newspaper has endowed me with a thick skin. Regardless, I accept all responsibility for every mistake made this year. Yes, I have a staff of writers, photographers and editors that work to get the newspaper to you every week, but when it comes right down to it, I’m the last one to see the paper before it goes to

print. It makes for rough Thursday nights. For the first half of this year, we operated in such a way that things got done, but there was never any motivation to do more, no desire to exceed expectations. It was more about the destination than the journey. It only got worse as December drew near. The atmosphere became toxic, and it was no longer a fun place to work. I won’t go into why, but after break, things settled down a bit. I reorganized the staff, added new positions, hired new people and pushed the online version of the Review even harder. It was a different ballgame. And it’s the second semester of this year that I will always remember. The staff opened up. It became a fun work environment again. I can’t speak for everyone, but I eagerly looked forward to Thursday nights. (Yes, I griped about being awake until some Godawful hour Friday morning, but there was no other place I’d rather be.) People pushed themselves to become better editors, and things just clicked. It was pretty cool. And it showed, too, as a majority of the non-graduating editors decided to re-apply and stay on staff, either in the same capacity or in a different position. I was once told that the greatest legacy an editor can leave behind is a staff for the next year, eager and willing to make the Review better than ever. Only time can tell, but I’m confident that I did that. I would like to offer the most heartfelt, sincere thank you to the staff that put up with me for nine months. I’m hardly an easy person to be around, but only two editors quit this year (one features and one managing). And when Claire Oliver quit, leaving me without a managing editor (who is second in command of the newsroom), I have to admit I was seriously dismayed. But lo and behold, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise. To take Ms. Oliver’s place was Kelley Hun-

gerford, the incoming editor-inchief of the Review. And, in all honesty, I cannot be happier with that turn of events. Sure, we have had our disagreements, but we worked through them without giving up or harboring ill wishes, and I believe we have become better editors because of it. However, I have more editors now than what I began with, so I consider that a net gain, a success in real human capital. (My roommate is an economics major, so you’ll have to forgive the terminology.) So, I have some personal thanks to give out: To Kelley: Thank you for the amazing work you have done this year, and I’m truthful in saying that I couldn’t have done it without you. You’ll do amazing things next year (if you don’t burn down the lab in my absence first), and I look forward to getting the newspaper every week. I wish you the best of luck, and I hope you succeed in all your ambitious plans. The Review is lucky to have you at its heart. To Grant Lucas: You have been the most amazing sports editor the Review has had since I’ve been on staff (since 2006). You challenged me and pushed me to learn more about sports than I ever wanted to. Your section was above and beyond the best section in the newspaper week after week. If it seems as though I didn’t give your section as much attention as you thought I should have, it’s because I knew that I didn’t have to with you at its helm. You’ll go far in sports writing, and I am proud to know that I got to work with you. To Aaron Cody: Without you, the now award-winning Review website would have been naught but a dream. As online editor, you succeeded in so many ways. You took a nearly defunct website and turned it into a fluid, interactive piece of art — something that I am immensely proud of. I brag about our website, and it’s because of

you that I get to do so. You had a vision, and you made it happen. You good-naturedly incorporated as many of my crazy ideas as you could, and you humored me when I rambled on about something that made no sense. You, my friend, deserved that ONPA award more than you’ll ever know. To Megan Myer: I can’t begin to thank you for all the amazing photos you have taken (and graphics made to boot) for the Review. The Review would have been an empty husk without the hundreds of photos you took. I know I asked a lot of you, far more than I had any right to, but you performed an exemplary job. For that, I thank you. To the rest of my staff (who probably hates me now because I didn’t mention them by name): From the bottom of my non-existent heart, I thank you for the work you did this year. And no, I don’t hate you as much as I said I did. I wish you all the best of luck in whatever endeavors you decide to partake in. Take what you learned at the Review and use it to your advantage. I know damn well it wasn’t the paycheck that kept you here. So, in essence, it’s been a long year, one I would never want to repeat, but I will forever remember my experience as editor-inchief of the Review with respect, and I will always have a high opinion of the Review. (I think it’s safe to say where my donation money is going to after I graduate.) This paper shaped me in an unexpected way, in a positive way, and I hope it continues to be a valuable facet of the college and for students in the years to come. And now, as tradition dictates: Mer cat. Thank you, Dominic Baez The Linfield Review, 2009-10 editor-in-chief Dominic Baez can be reached at linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com

COLUMN

Dear America, I bid you a bittersweet farewell

Doris ter Horst Goodbye Linfield Just 279 days ago, my plane from Amsterdam arrived in San Francisco. Customs conducted an eyescan, took my fingerprints, and I had to take off my pants and shoes. I had my Visa, my “e-forms,” other forms and some more forms with me. I almost turned around. If I had, this is what would not have happened: Eating my first two (and last?) hamburgers in my life (both ridiculously delicious and skilled at causing stomach pain). My first breakfast cereal, after resisting the entire Fall Semester. Trying out new foods, from Jell-o for dessert (it is neon, and it shakes dangerously. That’s not to be trusted,

OK?) to deep fried whatever and peanut butter on and with every thing. I would have missed out on laughing outloud because someone walked into my morning class still wearing pajamas, and it would have saved me the humiliation of explaining why that was funny to me only. I wouldn’t have smelled many stinky feet caused by the typical American sneaker. I probably would have kept wearing exercise clothing only while I was exercising, while here I found out the delights of entering Dillin Hall still wearing my sweaty clothes and not worrying about my appearance. The United States let me wear a pink beanie with a mismatching yellow scarf and bright blue tights underneath because I am that “weird little Dutch girl with her European clothes.” I shouldn’t have tried that back home. One year in the U.S. took away all the flirting skills I had worked

on so hard the past couple years, and for that I am grateful. At the parties here, it isn’t only about being pretty, dancing outstandingly and laughing loudly to make sure that everyone knows you’re having fun (perhaps because you can’t possibly get boring than when playing beer pong but hopefully also because the boys here have figured out that if a romance isn’t likely to come into existence, you should at least become friends). I held a snake in my arms. (Dutch readers: I HELD A SNAKE IN MY ARMS!) I pulled an allnighter and drank a five-hour energy drink (illegal in my country; now I know why). I learned how to drive a car. That is to say, I made my way to the library. I celebrated my first Halloween. I became friends with a cheerleader but sadly never got to make out with a quarterback. Thanks to the typical American hospitality, I fell asleep after eating tur-

key on Thanksgiving and made multiple road trips. I saw the horrors of “making babies on the dance floor”— behaviors in an 18+ dance club. I proudly created a list of secrets I will never write about for the Review. I was homesick for the first time in my life, and a best friend took care of me. Oh America, with your nonfunctioning medical insurance system, the government so far away, yet luckily with the sarcasm of South Park close by, your stable relationship with corn syrup and glucose, millions of gas-gulping cars, the tendency to leave the water tap open while brushing teeth and overdoses of stress. But most of all, oh America, oh Linfield, you are the kindest, most welcoming people I have ever met. Thank you for the best year of my life (so far). “Hi, how are you?” “I am GOOD.” Doris ter Horst can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

May 14, 2010

Rough ‘n’ tumble

Bridgette Gigear/Freelancer Freshman Anna Sours runs the ball for the senior-freshmen team in an attempt for a first down during the Better-A-Life Powderpuff game May 7. The sophomorejunior team eventually won the game.

Climate: Misconceptions are caused by miscommunications << Continued from page 1 the fact that it is changing.” Controversies arise from questions of whether humans are responsible for global warming, if it is a natural occurrence or if humans are contributing to the natural process. During his lecture, Mann said that many people’s doubts about global warming stem from the fact that they do not understand the concept clearly. Global warming is caused by greenhouse gas emissions. They can occur naturally or result from the contribution of human actions, such as burning coal, raising cattle and emitting pollution from factories, Mann said. Greenhouse gases prevent heat energy from leaving the Earth, which, in turn, causes the planet’s temperature to increase. “Global warming does not mean a uniform warming of the Earth,” he said. “The land is warming faster than the water and at

Mann a gradual rate over time.” When talking about his and other scientists’ findings, Mann displayed several slides that showed graphs, charts, pictures and areas of Earth that have increased in temperature. He also pointed to evidence of global warming that can be seen from summer of 2003, in Europe, which was the hottest European summer in at least 500 years, Mann said. Other evidence includes the glacial retreat, sea ice receding, sea levels rising and more extreme weather conditions, such as hurricanes. Following the lecture was a Q-and-A session in which audience members

asked specific questions regarding the science and research behind global warming. Mann, whose lecture was devoid of much jargon, used more technical terms during the questioning. “I understood most of his lecture, but he lost me during the Q-and-A section,” Baker said. Before his lecture, Mann visited several classes throughout the day to speak about the global warming and to enlighten students about ways to slow down the process. Some of these preventative measures include water management and decreased car emissions, he said. “It’s all about adaptation,” Mann said. Mann, who is from the Departments of Meteorology and Geosciences and Earth and Environmental Systems Institute, is the director of the Earth System Science Center at Penn State University. Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com


News

May 14, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

5

Historian probes native perceptions of foreign diseases Joanna Peterson Culture reporter An expert in colonial Latin-American history presented a lecture May 12, exploring how the indigenous cultures of Mexico reacted negatively to the major onslaught of disease during the Spanish conquest. Dr. Kevin Terraciano, professor of history and chair of the Latin American Studies Program at University of California, Los Angeles, gave the 2010 Jonas A. “Steine” Jonasson Endowed Lecture to a crowd of more than 60 people. “Most studies on the

spread of disease beginning in 1520 are focused on the types of disease and how they were spread,” Terraciano said. “But I want to explore what the indigenous people of the time thought the cause and spread of disease was.” Terraciano used various historical sources written by Native Americans to illustrate how the people felt about disease and what they thought caused it. “I’m trying to uncover and showcase indigenous voices from the past,” he said. “It is heavy history, but to understand the magnitude of events, we need to try to weigh into it and try

to understand how these people felt and what they thought.” One source, the Relaciones Geograficas, is a questionnaire that was sent to various parts of central and southern Mexico from King Phillip II during the epidemic of 1576-79. “I didn’t expect to find or use this source,” Terraciano said. “I just kind of stumbled upon it.” He presented specific questions from the Relaciones Geograficas and discussed the native people’s answers to the survey, which demonstrated their negative views of Spanish conquest. “I’ve read hundreds of

A professor’s final message

volumes of responses, and not one respondent said that they were better off than they used to be before the Spaniards came,” Terraciano said. “Most respondents associated the disease they were facing with the arrival of the Spaniards.” He used the survey to show that many indigenous people thought the ambush of disease was related to the replacement of their old religious traditions with those of the Spaniards. “Not only did they think they were dying as a punishment from the Spaniards’ god, they thought they were dying from the loss of their old religion,” Terraciano

Ken Ericksen, professor of English for more than 45 years, delivered his final speeches as a Linfield faculty member May 13 in Jonasson Hall.

NewsBrief Robert Cepeda, director of Linfield College Community Public Safety & Security, held a series of feedback discussions with students about his proposal to restrict ID card access to residence halls. He took notes on the objections and suggestions of the attendees. Cepeda asked them to explain their objections to his plan for next semester and took note on their reactions. He said that incidents on other college campuses had inspired him to examine Linfield’s security policies and look for improvements. Cepeda was concerned about “crisis” students. He defined a crisis student as someone suffering from extreme emotional or psychological stress that makes them a danger to themselves or to others.

American Epidemics,” was inspired by the recent swine flu outbreak. “I saw the hysteria that was caused by just a seasonal flu, and I wondered what people must have been feeling during an epidemic,” Terraciano said. “It was a whole cocktail of diseases introduced in the Americas.” Terraciano is the author of six award-winning publications and is internationally recognized for his studies in colonial Latin American History. He was also the recipient of the 2001 UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award. Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

Linfield students encourage children to explore their writing potential Kelley Hungerford Editor-in-chief

Josie Stewert/Freelancer

said. “The idea of salvation must have seemed cruel to these people.” He also said that the natives attributed the epidemics to the drastic change in culture they faced after being put under Spanish control. “Respondents wrote about how they were forced to eat like the Spaniards, replacing fruits and vegetables with heavy food like meats, which they associated with the sickness they faced,” he said. Terraciano said that his lecture, titled “The Unspeakable Cocoliztli of Colonial Mexico: How People Talked About Disease in the Age of

Linfield students in an elementary education class expanded their writing and teaching skills at a youth writing camp May 8. The camp encouraged children to take risks in their writing, develop their identities as writers and learn to communicate through writing. The camp featured a preschool and kindergarten session from 9-10:30 a.m. and a first through fifth grade session from 11:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Mindy Larson, assistant professor of elementary education and elementary education coordinator, organized the event and said almost 90 children came to the sessions. “[Writing] tends to be the thing that gets dropped most easily from classrooms,” Larson said. “My intention really was to target kids who don’t usually get this experience.” Linfield students in Larson’s Teaching Literacy class staffed writing stations during the camp. The morning session included stations such as observation, where children could examine and write about a frog or a hamster, and dramatic role play, where children could dress

up and write about their characters and plays. The afternoon session hosted areas such as graphica (about graphic novels and comics), author study and poetry. The children were encouraged to write about their experiences at the stations. Junior Elissa Blackhurst worked at the graphica station and said some children stayed there for the entire three-hour session. “I thought kids would be goofing off most of the time,” Blackhurst said. “But they were all really interested and enthusiastic in what they were writing.” Junior Stephanie Burke, who worked during the morning session, agreed and said that even the 3-yearolds built foundations in writing by drawing pictures to convey thoughts. “Many of the children were able to express really great stories and ideas in their books even if it didn’t look like a story [with] properly formed letters to an advanced writer,” junior Kelsey Lange, who staffed that morning’s dramatic play area, said in an e-mail. Schools often limit what children can write about and how they write, Larson said. So, providing an environment that is less concerned with conventions, such as spelling and grammar,

allows children to take more risks in their writing, she said. “Certainly conventions are important, but if we’re going to develop engaging writers…it’s going to have to be more than just spelling [that’s taught],” Larson said. “The piece for them that I wanted students to come away with is students need to see a lot of models as writers.” Larson said that these “models” include topics such as plot and character development in addition to grammar. The Linfield students said that encouraging the children to explore their identity as writers was inspiring. “Kids are so creative, and for me, personally, watching them and watching them come up with their ideas, I try to emulate them,” Burke said. Burke and Blackhurst agreed that as they’ve grown as writers, they’ve stopped taking risks in their writing. And the risks that they observed the children take motivated them to practice what they were teaching, Blackhurst said. “They just have an idea and go with it,” she said of the children. “[It’s] inspiring that they don’t have to think about it.” Kelley Hungerford can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com

The Review is hiring!

Write for the best college paper on Linfield Campus! Inform your compatriots! Uncover interesting news! Meet the movers and shakers at Linfield College! Questions? Contact the new editor-in-chief, Kelley Hungerford, at linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com


6

News

www.linfieldreview.com

May 14, 2010

Student Giving Committee exceeds pledge expectations Jessica Prokop Culture editor The Student Giving Committee surpassed its goal of raising $1,500 for the Student Giving Campaign. The committee ended the year with the event “I Went Without,” which aimed to encourage underclassmen to donate to the Student Giving Fund, which benefit the Linfield campus. Committee members manned tables in Dillin Hall for several hours, and students could stop by to give any amount of money. Even though the committee exceeded its campaign goals, College Relations intern Samantha Bartlett, class of ’09, said she wanted to add in one final push.

Students that gave a minimum of $3 received a sticker that said “I went without…” and then chose what to write in, such as, “I went without my Starbucks Coffee.” Donors also received “It’s Your Linfield” lanyards. The concept of the campaign was that giving Linfield money usually spent on a small comfort is rewarding. “George Fox University did a similar event where students stood outside the mail room on pay day and asked others if they would be willing to donate a part of their check, and in return, donors received a Pay Day candy bar,” Bartlett said. “I Went Without’ was a spinoff of that event.” So far, 93 students have donated gifts to Linfield for

The Student Giving Committee and the Annual Giving branch of the College Relations Division have been working together for the 2009-2010 school year to raise awareness of the committee’s Student Giving Campaign, a program aimed at bringing back the tradition of donating gifts to the school. Although the campaign is in its first year, it has not fallen short in its efforts to raise at least $1,500, which is approximately a dollar a student. a total of $2,016. Out of the 93, 82 of those students are from the senior class, and nine of the seniors are from the Portland campus. On their own, the seniors raised $1,925 for the fund. All of the donations raised are put into a pool of money that goes to Linfield’s fund. When going through the budget, officials determine the greatest need, and the money is distributed for that need.

Linfield’s greatest need is in the financial aid department, specifically scholarships, Bartlett said. “I was hoping to get $1,500 and at least 125 students to donate because I really wanted student involvement,” Bartlett said. “It’s not even necessarily about the money.” Junior committee member Jesse Aerni said that even though “I Went Without” was the only event in the campaign that targeted

everyone, it still raised awareness and gave next year’s campaign a head start. “It’s felt so meaningful doing this campaign that it has meant more to me than anything else that I have done on campus,” Aerni said. Bartlett said that because it was difficult for her to plan events for the Fall Semester, as she was still a student. So all of the events have taken place in the spring. “Fall Semester was more of a planning time so we have tried to do one event a month for the spring semester,” she said. In February, the committee held a celebration for Linfield’s Birthday; in March, it hosted Wildcat Wind Up, which strictly

targeted the seniors; and in April, it held Wildcat Wind Up at the Portland campus, which was the first time that the Portland campus was incorporated into the campaign. “The Associated Students of Linfield College have done a great job in supporting the Student Giving Campaign, as well as The Linfield Review, which has given us publicity,” Bartlett said. “It’s been nice seeing the Linfield community coming together.” Forms and information about giving to Linfield, as well as the list of the 200910 Student Honor Roll of Donors can be found on the Student Giving website: www.linfield.edu/student_ campaign.

Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

It’s as close to Hawaii as Linfield will get

Bridgette Gigear/Freelancer

Traditionally songs and dances entertained the crowd as it sampled Hawaiian food and culture at the 38th annual Hawaiian Club Lu’au.

Junior Christina Chuckas dances the La’ieikawai.

Bridgette Gigear/Freelancer Sophomore Kailee Seto performs the opening dance, the Aia La ‘O Pele.

Bridgette Gigear/Freelancer Sophomores Logan Freitas (left) and Jeremy Moll (right) sing during the skits during the 38th Luau May 8.

Bridgette Gigear/Freelancer Sophomore Kala’e Perish (center) leads the Haka dance, which displays the art of intimidation, during the 38th annual Lu’au May 8.

Access: LCCPS director says to focus on community << Continued from page 1

positive side of the 24-hour restricted access. He said that almost 70 percent of resident hall offenses are conducted by students against students and most offenses are committed by someone known to the victim. He also said that institutions attempt to address these issues through a variety of crime prevention techniques,

including limiting access. “The objective of any institution is to create an environment that is as safe as reasonably possible,” he said. “Given the realities of the community environment and the inability to control the actions of those who do harm.” Cepeda said the college is working proactively to educate the campus with ASLC Senate meetings on the subject, an e-mail to the student

body, focus groups, a Facebook group and more. Many students may recall the intruder who tailgated into Hewitt in April. The intruder was not a Linfield student and entered without an ID card. Cepeda warned students about tailgating, when students or others follow students into buildings so that they don’t need to use their ID card.

However, many students don’t understand how restricting hall access during a 24-hour period will prevent tailgating, he said. Freshman Claudia Ramirez said that she doesn’t agree with restricting hall access because it is not only inconvenient, but she believes it won’t be effective. “It doesn’t make a difference of who is coming in and who is coming out,” she said.

“It’s ridiculous; it’s not like we’re housing a bunch of high school students. There isn’t that big of a security problem on campus to restrict access.” Inconvenience is one of many issues that students have with restricted access. Another problem is arranging group projects. Finding a spot to study with a group is sometimes tricky, but having to communicate in a timely manner to let someone

into your residence hall can be trickier. There is still no affirmative answer to whether restricted dorm access 24-hour will be put into action next school year. “No decision has been made,” Cepeda said. “This is [still] under consideration. We continue to welcome student feedback.”

Lauren Ostrom can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com


May 14, 2010

Features

www.linfieldreview.com

7

Coffee to keep

your motor running

A guide to McMinnville s drive thru coffee kiosks By Chelsea Langevin/Senior reporter

'

Cornerstone

-

Location: Second street and U.S. Highway 99W Hours: 7 a.m. – 9 p.m. Monday through Thursday, 7 a.m. – 11:30 p.m., and 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Description: This drive-thru has an extensive list of specialty drinks, ranging from “Snickers” to “Almond Joy” to “White Angel” (white mocha and caramel). If you like the taste of coffee with some added flavor and loads of caffeine, order a “Toddy” — hot or iced. Baristas here are amiable and efficient. And don’t forget to show your student ID because Linfield students receive a 25 percent discount. Specials: It depends on the day, but usually it is a 16 oz. mocha or latte for $2.25. Java Expresso

Location: U.S. Highway 99W in the Little Caesar’s parking lot Hours: 5 a.m. – 7 p.m. Monday through Sunday Description: This stand is always busy during mornings, but the baristas are lively and nice despite the rush. They serve everything from traditional mochas and lattes to “Iced Kahlua” and “Frappe Freeze.” If you’re looking for a steady buzz, order a “Depth Charge,” which is black coffee and shots of espresso. Java Expresso’s signature brew is Bella Selva Coffee. Specials: Monday: 16 oz. mocha for $2.75 Tuesday: flavored latte for $2.75 Wednesday: flavored mocha for $2.75 Thursday: buy one, get one for $1 Friday: double vanilla latte for $2.75 Saturday: The barista chooses based on the weather. It’s usually hot chocolate on a cold day or an Italian soda on a warm day. Sunday: white mocha for $3

Leann s Lattes

Location: U.S. Highway 99W near Wal-Mart Hours: 5:30 a.m. – 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. Saturday and Sunday Description: The name may say “latte,” but this coffee stand redefines the concept of coffee with drinks such as the “Chunky Monkey” (white mocha, almond and banana flavoring) or “German Chocolate,” which has rich chocolate and coconut flavoring. All specialty drinks can be made hot, iced or blended. Specials: Monday: mocha for $2.50 Thursday: buy one, get one for $1 Sunday: buy one, get one for $1 All other daily specials are decided that day. Southside Java

Location: U.S. Highway 99W in the Bi-Mart parking lot Hours: 5 a.m. – 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; 7 a.m. – 6 p.m. Saturday through Sunday Description: The baristas are friendly, efficient and creative. They serve drinks such as “Pirates Revenge,” which is a mix of espresso, milk, butternut, hazelnut and praline. Other specialty drinks include the “Twix Remix” (white chocolate, caramel and peanut butter) as well as the “Grasshopper” (chocolate mint). All drinks can be prepared hot, blended or iced. The stand’s signature brew is titled Longbottom Coffee, but if you want to cut back on your caffeine intake, the barista recommends chai because Southside Java uses the brand “Big Train,” which is a sweet and spicy powder mixture. Specials: buy one, get one free on Thursdays and Sundays Chelsea Langevin can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Features

May 14, 2010

Do you remember t D

espite the Linfield microcosm, the world outside our small college is turning fast. Students may have been out of the loop while spending hours studying or hanging out with friends. This timeline focuses on some of the events that occurred during the course of the academic year. By Lauren Ostrom/Features editor

•September 8 — President Barack Obama gives a speech to students with the intent of inspiring and challenging them to set goals and work hard in school. •September 14 — Patrick Swayze, who starred in movies such as “Dirty Dancing” and “Ghost,” dies at age 57. •September 15 — Lady Gaga continues to surprise audiences with eccentric costumes, such as her red couture outfit, which covered her face at the 2009 VMA awards. •September 27 — Khloe Kardashian and Lamar Odom wed in California in front of family and friends, as well as E-Television. •September 30 — An earthquake in Indonesia kills 700 people. The 7.6-magnitude quake destroyed homes and killed many on the island of Sumatra. Thousands were trapped under the rubble of collapsed buildings in the city of Padang.

•November 4 — Yankees win the 27th World Series against the Philadelphia Phillies. They played the Phillies in Yankee Stadium, which was the team’s first win against them since 2000. •November 20 — “New Moon,” part of the Twilight Saga, premieres at midnight. •November 21 — The investigation of Dr. Conrad Murray, Michael Jackson’s doctor, continues in the media. Jackson died June 25 at the age of 50 from a drug overdose. •November 25 — Tigers Woods’ mistress is revealed in the media the day after his wife finds out about his affair and takes matters into her own hands.

•Januar 7.0 mag

•Januar hit song

•Januar Catcher

September

October

November

December

•October 1 — Obama passes a new bill that bans federal employees from driving and texting at the same time. •October 24 — Obama declares the swine flu a national outbreak.

•December 11 — Kendra Wilkinson, former Playmate, and her husband Hank Basket III, wide receiver for the Philadelphia Eagles, bring baby Hank Basket IV into the world. •December 14 — Kourtney Kardashian gives birth to baby Mason with family by her side. •December 20 — Brittany Murphy, an actress in movies such as “Clueless” and “Just Married,” dies at the age of 32 after going into cardiac arrest. •December 22 — Rapper T.I. is released from jail after a seven-month stay because of a gun possession charge.


Features

May 14, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

9

the time when...?

•March 8 — Katheryn Bigelow won the Oscar for Best Director at the Academy Awards for “The Hurt Locker.”

ry 14 — An earthquake hits Haidi with a gnitude, demolishing homes and families.

•March 5 — The unemployment rate is reported to have been at a steady decrease of 9.7 percent since February.

ry 18 — Justin Bieber comes out with his g, “Baby”.

•March 21 — The House of Representatives passes a bill to overhaul the American health care system. The final vote was 219-212.

ry 28 — J.D. Salinger, author of “The r in the Rye” dies at the age of 91.

Lauren Ostrom can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com

January

February

March

April

•February 4 — Casey Johnson, heiress of the Johnson & Johnson, dies at the age of 30. February 7— The New Orleans Saints wins Super Bowl XLIV against the Indianapolis Colts. •February 12 — The Olympics opening ceremony is held in Vancouver, B.C. •February 27 — Obama announces his elaborate plan to pull troops out of Iraq. He stated that the combat mission will end August 31. The most important thing is the security and the safety of troops, he said.

•April 1 — The government issues guidelines designed by the Environmental Protection Agency about gas emissions. •April 3 — Apple releases the iPad. •April 5 — The Duke Blue Devils win the NCAA Men’s Basketball championship against the Butler Bulldogs. The score was 61 to 59. •April 6 — The UConn Huskies win the NCAA Women’s Basketball championship against the Stanford Cardinals. The score was 53-47. •April 11 — Phil Mickelson wins his third Masters Golf Tournament.


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

May 14, 2010

Left: Freshman Joey Wan bends backward during a hip-hop style dance May 7. She was involved in six performances in the Spring Showcase, including “Tik Tok,” “Broken,” “Made for You,” “Letting Go,” “It’s the Time” and “Far Out.” Right: Sophomore Mai Doan leaps across the stage in a pointe performance in the Dance Ensemble Spring Showcase on May 7. She participated in four performances, including “Mystery of the Night,” “Not the Pointe,” “The Perfect Dream” and “The Legend of the Sea.”

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor

Duc Hoang/Freelancer

‘Global Movement: Live-Love-Dance’

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor Dancers perform a butterfly jump in unison for students in Ice Auditorium as a part of Dance Ensemble’s Spring Showcase on May 7.


May 14, 2010

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Students’ eclectic works fill ‘Face to Face’ exhibit Kelley Hungerford Editor-in-chief Vibrant colors, immense woodcarvings and intimate photography fill The Linfield Gallery. These eclectic works by five Linfield art students comprise the 2010 Thesis Exhibition, titled “Face to Face.” Seniors Dominic Rieniets, Meghan Meehan, Anthony Kordosky, Matt Statz and Joy Nelson said the exhibit represents coming face to face with their artwork and bringing others face to face with their surroundings. For Rieniets, the thesis was a cathartic experience to cope with the loss of a friend. “It’s a commemoration of my friend who died in an accident this summer but was able to donate seven organs to nine people,” he said. “I came up with a playful kind of way to express a serious topic for me.” Rieniets created seven nonfunctional, brightly colored puppets, which he called proxies. Each proxy represents someone who received an organ. Finding only vague information about the organ recipients — males, ages 25-52, blood type B positive — Rieniets said the ambiguity allowed him freedom with his work. They are clothed, big-headed figures with glassy eyes, and each proudly displays his surgical scars, according to Rieniets’ artist statement. “Some of them kind of creep me out,” he said. The proxies’ placement in the gallery has as much meaning as the figures

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor Senior Dominic Rieniets’ collection of colorful puppets serves as a commemoration of his friend, who died in a car accident and donated seven organs. themselves. “Each figure is seated on its own pedestal, suggesting the disconnect they all have from each other. The pedestals are clustered around an empty center,” Rieniet’s artist statement says. “The center is left empty to honor the donor’s absence, which is the only thing holding them all together.” Meehan’s pieces are also about connections between people — in her case, the intimate relationship of two lovers. “I just kind of got naked with my boyfriend and [started] taking pictures,” Meehan said. “Then it came

out to be this really raw narrative about relationships and intimacy.” The narrative plays out in a series of black and white photographs mounted in a cluster on one of the gallery walls. They zoom in on Meehan and her boyfriend through abstract camera angles, sometimes from Meehan’s point of view. “I want the viewers to ask the questions. Who are these lovers? What is their life like outside of the camera lens?” she said in her artist statement. Meehan said that her photos and Kordosky’s woodcarvings stand out

amid the bright colors of the other artwork. Kordosky’s pieces are immense woodcarvings that feature organic and geometric shapes engraved into three large, circular slabs of wood, naturally bordered by bark. “Basically my prerogative was sort of to take a raw material I could find from the Earth and see if I could transform it into fine art,” he said. And Kordosky, who usually works with clay, said he was happy with the end result. “It’s definitely a sort of stepping stone to me; I

Book captures intellectuals’ journeys Diantha Beckham Freelancer A Linfield English professor published a book after more than a decade of writing. What started out as Associate Professor of English Reshmi Dutt-Ballerstadt’s graduate work is now “The Postcolonial Citizen: The Intellectual Migrant.” The book sheds light on those individuals who begin in one country but then switch citizenship to another. These citizens came to English-speaking countries to further their academics, which changed what it meant for them to belong. Dutt-Ballerstadt wrote in her book that when a citizen of one country moves to another, the idea of what “home” is gets compromised. She asks, “There is the question of home. Are we from here or there?” These citizens grew up in one culture, but then studied in

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com Professor of English Reshmi Dutt-Ballerstadt’s book another, which brought a sense of disconnectedness. Dutt-Ballerstadt said the feeling of not belonging arose when she went home and was treated differently. “Maybe I’m more hypersensitive to treatment that marks me as an outsider,” she said. “The intellectual migrants are from an inbetween place.” Along with the sense of not belonging anywhere, intellectual migrants were looked at in a suspicious light, she said. Dutt-Ballerstadt discussed in her book what it was like to be an intellectual migrant after the events of

9/11. She says that before 9/11, “intellectual migrants enabled the country. They were an advantage for the country.” After, though, “intellectual migrants were thought of as dangerous. They became suspects.” The book incorporates her own experiences, and Dutt-Ballerstadt said she used different genres. The book uses experiences, nonfiction, poetry and other styles as well. “Using different genres is like using different languages,” she said. Intellectual migrants are accustomed to speaking different languages, so this

book speaks specifically to that group. “Her experiences give her good insights into the trans-Atlantic literature we read for her class,” freshman Kelsey Hatley said. “I definitely think that I would not get the same experience with another professor.” Dutt-Ballerstadt’s experiences also give her an effective teaching style. She took her experiences and understandings and used them to better teach her students. These same experiences have also helped her finish a book that helps others realize what intellectual migrants go through in their transition years. “She’s really funny and tells quirky stories,” Hatley said. “Her class is more like a room for discussion rather than just lecture.” “The Postcolonial Citizen: The Intellectual Migrant” is on sale now and is also available in Nicholson Library.

Diantha Beckham can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

mean, this is the first time I’ve shown work in a gallery that I’ve been happy with,” he said. The last two students both created long series of pieces. Statz painted 29 vibrant portraits of Linfield students he said he didn’t know or didn’t know well. The oil paintings are different than Statz’ past work, which often comprised larger paintings. “I did see it as the culmination of the skills I had worked on and kind of the mental creative process,” Statz said. “But it’s definitely shaking up the working process.”

Each portrait took four hours to paint, according to his artist statement. Statz painted each person on a couch in Meehan’s house. In his artist statement, Statz wrote that the paintings document the experience of becoming acquainted with each person during that time. Nelson’s work is a series of photographs documenting her and others picnicking in unusual places, such as an attic or a graveyard. Nelson said her photographs are about coming to terms with everyday surroundings. She said the photos are a bit ridiculous but meaningful, presenting a theme of relationships similar to those found in her usual medium: painting. “I think with my paintings it was more a connection of humans to nature. But in the photos, it’s still a relationship of people to their environments,” Nelson said. “I think the piece is really about exploring new spaces.” And while what physically hang on a wall in the gallery are her photos, Nelson made one thing clear: “Picnicking is the art; photos are the documentation.” Overall, the artists said they were pleased with the exhibit and were surprised at the resulting cohesiveness of displaying their individual artwork together. “Face to Face” runs through May 28. The gallery, located in the Miller Fine Arts Center building B, is open Tuesday through Saturday noon to 5 p.m. Kelley Hungerford can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

May 14, 2010

Renowned Linfield band releases gem of a debut album

Jack Ruby Presents’ debut album, “Over Wires and White Plains,” displays the power of the band’s performances Braden Smith Managing editor Linfield’s resident band, Jack Ruby Presents, has hit the ground running with the release of its first fulllength album. The production is an overwhelmingly successful piece of art that will entice and engage any listener. “Over Wires and White Plains,” released under the independent Alaskan record label Home Skillet Records, carries with it a wide range of emotions beautifully presented through the band’s power-

ful vocals and instrumentation. Senior Jesse Hughey explained that “wires” can be seen either as barbed wire keeping people out or telephone wires bringing people together. The album maintains a degree of tension through its majority by blending acoustic and electric sounds and combining the varying vocals of seniors Hughey, Melissa Davaz and Chris Hernandez. The tension is also upbeat with senior Aaron Owens’ drumming, which maintains a certain swing

Photo courtesy of Jesse Hughey Jack Ruby Presents releases its first full-length album May 15. This is the cover.

Photo courtesy of Jesse Hughey Jack Ruby Presents (left to right, seniors Melissa Davaz, Jesse Hughey, Chris Hernandez and Aaron Owens) performs at the Hawthorne Theatre in Portland. that keeps the listener moving, even on some of the darker songs. Altogether, the album serves as a revival of traditional western music reminiscent of Johnny Cash combined with the roots of the Pacific Northwest made popular by folk rock bands such as Fleet Foxes. In fact, the term “White Plains” reminds the listener that, while the sound has a western theme to it, the album largely takes place in the northwest. Hughey called the album, “a throwback to our history as people from the northwest.” The album begins unconventionally with a six-minute waltz, “Spanish Songs,” which sets the stage for the rest of the album by introducing elements of dance and emotion. From this starting point, the listener

journeys through a range of emotions and sounds. With songs swaying between different moods, the listener is never left complacent. Songs like “Dead Man’s Reach” and “White Roses” are fast and fun, while “Stay” and “Strange Fruit/Three Men Hanging” have more soul and power in them. “Strange Fruit/Three Men Hanging” is a cover of two songs: Billie Holiday’s famous “Strange Fruit” and Murder by Death’s “Three Men Hanging.” Featuring Davaz’ sultry singing, the song’s lyrics about lynching and southern racism resonate deep in the soul of the listener. Hughey explained that the band attempted to “rearticulate that pain for a new generation.” After confronting that pain, the album culminates

with “Innocent,” which potently recaptures all the emotions expressed in the album through a hard, steady melody for 10 minutes; yet, it still somehow seems to end too soon. “Dead Man’s Reach II” follows as a short catharsis, reminding the listener that all journeys must eventually end. “I’d like to think there’s some traveling happening over the course of the album,” Hughey said. This traveling — sometimes fast, sometimes slow, sometimes happy, sometimes sad — carries the western theme of the album. The debut album is a huge success and an incredible musical experience that will likely set fans’ expectations high for upcoming releases. But Jack Ruby Presents certainly seems capable of delivering.

“Over Wires and White Plains” will be released May 15 at a free release show (21+) at the Hawthorne Theatre in Portland at 9 p.m. with Pine Language. The CD will also be for sale at Jack Ruby Presents’ final Cat Cab at 9 p.m. May 20 in the Fred Meyer Lounge. For more information visit www.jackrubypresents.com.

RIYD: Johnny Cash, Fleet Foxes, Fruit Bats Recommended Tracks: Dead Man’s Reach (2) Strange Fruit/Three Men Hanging (10) Innocent (11)

Braden Smith can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com

Sour sisters sweetly sing

Bridgette Gigear/Freelancer Sisters sophomore Anna (left) and senior Katie Sours sing a duet during the Cat Cab on May 13.


Sports

May 14, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

13

Stellar team dynamics are like lipstick on a pig

Sports Commentary Alex Harkaway Freelancer The Seattle Mariners’ recent eight-game losing streak revealed a rather large flaw in any team that is built on pitching, defense and team chemistry: None of the above scores runs. The team’s inability to produce during that skid (Seattle averaged a paltry 1.5 runs per game) ruined

several strong pitching performances and left fans wondering what it would take to get the team to put some runs on the board. (The answer, it turns out, was to play against the Baltimore Orioles.) With the team sitting in last place and the offense lacking any punch whatsoever, fingers are pointing at one hitter in particular — Ken Griffey Jr. Even if you don’t believe the reports circulating that the 40-year-old designated hitter fell asleep in the clubhouse during a game last week, the fact is a .200 batting average and five RBIs from Griffey are not going to cut it. On a team that values defense over power production from every spot in the field, the designated hitter position cannot be given to a

“Teams will certainly be willing to engage in trade talks with the Mariners come June, but by then, Seattle could find itself too far out of the race.” player who can no longer hit. The Mariners simply cannot afford to continue to generate such little offense from their DH. Unfortunately, Seattle’s options to improve the offense would appear limited. Its leading home run hitter in AAA Tacoma is batting just .190, preventing any likelihood of a call-up. The only decent hitter left on the free agent market, Jermaine Dye, managed a meager .179 average in 60 games after the

all-star break last year. After Dye, the only other notable slugger available is Barry Bonds; not the most appealing option. Furthermore, no teams seem to be interested in trading any key players this early in the season. “No one is selling. Everyone wants to sit tight and see what their club looks like,” Mariners general manager Jack Zduriencik said last week. Teams out of the playoff race often deal away

veteran players for prospects near mid-season but rarely engage in such trades in May. These teams do not want to concede their seasons so early and risk angering their fans. Teams will certainly be willing to engage in trade talks with the Mariners come June, but by then, Seattle could find itself too far out of the race. The Mariners have one asset that could shake up the entire league’s trading situation: Cliff Lee. The southpaw, with a Cy Young award and World Series appearance already under his belt, is set to hit free agency this winter. With the Mariners’ chances of affording his services longterm not promising, the team could look to shop Lee now in exchange for an impact hitter or two. Losing Lee, one of the

finest pitchers in the game, would be a tough blow to the pitching staff, but improving the offense needs to be its top priority. The Mariners have scored the fewest runs in the league, a dubious feat that they also arrived at last year. In lieu of addressing the offense this past offseason, Zduriencik instead made splashy moves to add even more pitching and defense. Now is his chance to atone for that mistake and acquire the big hitter his team sorely needs. Then again, Seattle could always play it conservative, make no moves and hope that its bats wake up. I wouldn’t recommend it, though. Waking up can be a hard thing to do. Just ask Griffey. Alex Harkaway can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com

Baseball to host West Regional action

Duc Hoang/Freelancer Senior shortstop Kelson Brown (left) takes a pitch during Linfield’s 7-4 win against Pacific Lutheran University on May 1. Sophomore outfielder Zach Boskovich (above) belts a line-drive base hit in the Wildcats’ 11-1 win against the Lutes on the same date. Linfield ranks second in the West Regional and will host regional action on Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor May 19.


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

May 14, 2010

Wildcats blow over Windy City team Kurtis WIlliams Freelancer Linfield’s softball team discovered in the wee hours of the morning on May 10 where it will travel for postseason play. No, it isn’t to Texas or California as some expected, but to Indianola, Iowa. Most of the Midwest Regional teams are from area states: Minnesota, Missouri, Illinois and Iowa. And Linfield, the No. 1 seed in the West Region, was not given any favors by being shipped to the Midwest Regional. As the crow flies, the Wildcats will travel 1,500 miles — the farthest of the eight teams. Linfield began its playoff run in normal fashion: with a bang. The Wildcats scored eight runs, all via a long ball in the second inning off University of Chicago pitching. Freshman third baseman Karliegh Prestianni started and finished the scoring with solo homers. Sophomore designated player Sami Keim added a two-run bomb, and sophomore catcher Emilee Lepp launched a grand slam. Junior shortstop Emily Keagbine belted a threerun home run in the fourth to extend Linfield’s lead to 11-2. U of C fought back for three runs in the top of the fifth before sophomore first baseman Stacie Doucette’s two-run single gave Linfield a 13-5 win via the mercy rule. The ’Cats 2-6 hitters went 7-13 with six runs scored and 11 runs batted in.

Sophomore center fielder Jaydee Baxter was 3-3 with a double and two singles. • With a lot riding on this tournament, which started May 13, let’s analyze the top four seeds battling for the Midwest Regional title. 1. Linfield Wildcats (365 overall, 26-1 conference) Key wins: Pacific University (x4), Willamette University (x4) Outlook: The Wildcats avoided past nemesis University of Texas at Tyler but still have a tough region to claw through. Loaded with players hungry for the first regional title since 2007, Linfield will be difficult to beat, especially if its pitching and defense are in normal form. With 1.48 home runs per game, the No. 8 Wildcats could face a higher caliber of pitching than in the Northwest Conference. Linfield will look to improve on a 20-game winning streak. 2. Illinois Wesleyan University Titans (30-14 overall, 9-5 conference) Key wins: Washington University in St. Louis, Carthage College Outlook: The game is about scoring more runs than the other team. If the Titans want to reign supreme, their pitching and defense will need to lead the way. Having a struggling offense does not help, but leading the nation with a .985 fielding percentage should push the Titans to some victories. 3. Simpson College Storm (31-10 overall, 14-2 conference) Key wins: Central College (x2), Luther College

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor Freshman third baseman Karleigh Prestianni awaits for the pitch during the Wildcats’ 16-8 win against Pacific University on April 24. Outlook: Playing at home will be a major advantage for the Storm. With only three losses at home, this team will be comfortable within its surroundings. Senior pitcher Whitney Oviatt, Iowa Conference pitcher of the year, has started 29 games, but

the team behind her does not have much experience. Also, none of the Storm players has playoff experience. 4. Claremont-MuddScripps Athena (33-8 overall, 21-3 conference) Key wins: Linfield (x2), University of Redlands (x3)

Outlook: With a strong schedule, CMS could be the most tested team in the regional competition. Freshman Harmony Palmer will shoulder much of the offensive load. She leads the team in all offensive categories and hits .473 with eight home runs. The pitching is

also stellar with a team ERA of 2.05. Look for the Athena to compete for the Midwest title along with Linfield. You can follow The Review @Linfield_Review for updates on the Midwest Regional. Kurtis Williams can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com

Photos by Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor Sophomore Jaydee Baxter (left) connects for a hit during Linfield’s 8-0 win over George Fox University, hosted at home April 7. Junior second baseman Alex Hartmann (above) makes a throw to first base during the same game. Linfield is 1-0 in the Midwest Regional after beating the University of Chicago 13-5 May 13.


Sports

May 14, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

15

No. 2-ranks serve up high hopes next season Corrina Crocker Sports editor

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor Sophomore Abby Olbrich moves to return the ball during the Intercollegiate Tennis Association doubles regional championship Oct. 5.

Both tennis teams can put away their rackets for a while. The women’s and men’s teams both finished strong in second place in the Northwest Conference. The men’s and women’s No. 1 doubles teams proved their merit this season. Juniors Brent Kingzett and Mark Magdaong, the No. 1 seed for the men, traveled to California for the Ojai Valley Tournament on April 24. The two made it to the quarterfinals, but they lost to University of California, Santa Cruz junior Brian Pybas and senior Marc Vartabeidan. “I am pleased with the team’s second-place result in conference,” Kingzett

said. “From top to bottom, the conference got much stronger from last year, so moving from third last year to second this year says a lot about the hard work we put in and the improvement we made.” The women’s No. 1 doubles team, sophomore Abby Olbrich and senior Sallie Katter, was picked by Northwest Conference coaches to play on the NWC all-star team. “It’s really nice to be rewarded for your hard work,” Katter said. “It’s a great feeling.” Katter is the only team member graduating, but she will depart with honors. “I guess it’s just a nice way to end my athletic career,” Katter said. “The cherry on top of a wonder-

ful four years.” The team will be similar next year, with only one player on the women’s team leaving. “I expect my team to be just as strong or even stronger next year,” junior Sarah Watanbe said. “We still have a good chance of taking back the Northwest Conference title, and we want to go to regionals, as well.” The men’s team has a comparable goal next year, although it is losing four seniors. “I expect nothing else than competing well against the entire conference next year, and if we win it all, that would be a good senior gift for [coach] Carl [Swanson],” Magdaong said. Corrina Crocker can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com


16

SPORTS

www.linfieldreview.com

May 14, 2010

Catline Track team digs claws into competition Nic Miles Sports reporter

Northwest Conference standings Baseball Chapman

23-4 (26-8)

.765

Linfield

28-7 (30-10)

.750

Ponoma-Pitzer

27-7 (29-9)

.763

Miss. College

30-4(34-7)

.829

Trinity (Texas)

28-6 (32-7)

.820

Texas Lutheran 28-11 (31-11) .738 Coach of the Year: Scott Brosius, Linfield Player of the Year: Kelson Brown, Linfield Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Larson, Linfield

Softball Linfield

35-5

.875

Illinois Wesleyan

30-14

.682

Simpson

31-10

.756

Claremont-M-S

33-8

.805

Central (Iowa)

30-12

.714

St. Thomas (Minn.) 37-6

.860

Fontbonne

24-15

.615

24-13-1

.632

Chicago Coach of the Year:

Jackson Vaughan, Linfield Player of the Year: Staci Doucette, Linfield Pitcher of the Year: Claire Velaski, Linfield

Men’s tennis Coach of the Year: Carl Swanson, Linfield Sportsman of the Year: Joe Wales (Jr.), Whitworth Player of the Year:

Matt Soloman, Whitman

Women’s tennis

Coach of the Year: John Hein, Whitman

University of Oregon’s historic Hayward Field hosted one of the largest meets of the Linfield track and field season. A record crowd turned out for a day of great performance by the Wildcats. Seven of the remaining Wildcats on the track and field team traveled to Eugene, Ore., on May 8 to run at the University of Oregon Twilight meet. Sophomore Chelsea Machida, the Northwest Conference high jump champion, placed third with a jump of 5 feet, 3.75 inches. Her mark tied her previous seasonbest, which she set at the Oregon Preview early in the season. Sophomores Catherine Street and Misty Corwin placed second and fifth, respectively, in the pole vault. Street leaped 13 1/4, which was just shy of her season-best. Corwin vaulted 11-6 1/2 — half an inch short of her season-best. In the men’s long jump, senior Jeremy Lovell placed second with a bound of 21-11 1/2. Lovell’s mark was six inches short of his best mark set at the Northwest Conference championships this season. Representing the Wildcats in the throwing events, senior Clint Moore placed second in the men’s discus with his throw of 157-7. His throw was nearly a foot short of his season best. On the track, freshman Lester Maxwell ran a race consistent with his personal best. Already having a time of 1 minute, 55 seconds in the 800-meter run this season, Maxwell ran just near that this weekend with a time of 1:55.43 to place eighth. As the only member of the team to set a personal record, senior Chris McIsaac ran the race of his career. McIsaac came into the men’s steeplechase with a seed time of 9:26. In a previous interview, he said he was aiming to drop 10 seconds off that time in

Megan Myer/Photo editor/Online editor Junior Carolyn Blood prepares to release a discus during the Linfield Jenn Boyman Memorial Invitational on April 3. the hopes of qualifying for nationals. “I went into [the race] knowing what I had to do to get to nationals,” McIsaac said. McIsaac did just that. Finishing in third place in a time of 9:16.95, he secured a spot as the 15th-fastest steeplechaser in the nation. Only the top 15, plus the next two or three depending on their speed, get to race at nationals. McIsaac said that before his

race, coach Garry Killgore gave him some food for thought: “Let it go, and let it happen.” “I’ve really appreciated the support from everyone on campus,” McIsaac said. “I got a lot of messages before and after my race, even from people like Madeline Jepson from the Upward Bound program, who brought me some power food for before my race.” McIsaac said he is in the midst

of his season peak. Low mileage and short, high-energy workouts are keeping him fresh for the fast approaching national championships. He also sits in the fifth spot on the Linfield all-time list for the steeplechase. McIsaac and the rest of the team will compete at the Willamette Last Chance meet in Salem, Ore., on May 18. Nic Miles can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com

Sportsman of the Year: Rachel Burns, Whitworth Player of the Year: Natalia Agarycheva, Willamette

‘Cats dominate first game

With help from sophomore catcher Emilee Lepp’s four RBIs, the Linfield softball team beat the University of Chicago 13-5 in the first game of its regional bracket in Indianola, Iowa, on May 13. See page 14 >>

Tennis holds high hopes

After finishing in second place in the NWC, both the men’s and women’s tennis teams anticipate successful seasons next year. See page 15 >>

Prestige honor for Wildcat

For the second consecutive year, junior Cole Bixenman was named to the ESPN The Magazine CoSIDA Academic All-District first team. Bixenman earned all-NWC academic honors the last three seasons.

Swingin’ away

Follow The Linfield Review on Twitter for Wildcat sports updates: @Linfield_Review

Sophomore Alex Fitch (left) tees off at the Northwest Conference Championships in Portland on April 25. Junior Brynn Hurdus (above) chips onto the green in the same tournament. The men and women finished third and fourth, respectively, in the championships.

Photos courtesy of Linfield Sports Information Department


TLR Issue 23 5-14-10