Issuu on Google+

Soccer The Wildcats are once again tied for first place. >> page 15

October 22, 2010

Student, alumna injured in crash

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

116th Year

Issue No. 8

Service student earns new award

Joshua Ensler News editor

Matt Sunderland Senior reporter Beginning this month, Linfield’s new Changemaker of the Month program acknowledged the community service accomplishments of Linfield students.

The first winner of the award is junior Mary Stevens for her work this summer with the Bike & Build program, with which she built homes for the poor. The program’s founder is junior Lindsey Thomas, a community service assistant, said that she noticed during

the last two years that many Linfield students achieve tremendous deeds and never received any recognition. Thomas said she and her friend, sophomore Rachel Coffey, decided >> Please see Service page 4

Alumni honored for achievements Septembre Russell Copy Chief The Alumni Leadership Council honored five individuals for their contributions to the college during Homecoming weekend. The Outstanding Young Alumna, Distinguished Alumnus and Alumna of the Year, Alumni Service and Walker Service awards were presented on Oct. 15 in the McMinnville Grand Ballroom. Susie Kuhn, class of ’97, received the Outstanding Young Alumna Award for leadership prowess in her career abroad. Kuhn is an apparel and accessories director for Nike/Converse in Shanghai, China.

Her position in the global company allows her to travel to countries such as India, Australia and Malaysia. The Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award went to Dr. Shawn Chen, class of ’87. He provided China with adequate educational opportunities — an effort that inspired the council to give him recognition. Chen is the founder and chair of Sias International University, a private American instructional techniques university, in China’s Henan Province. The Linfield campus has hosted students from the university studying English language and American culture. Theresa Betancourt, class of ’91, received the Distinguished

House renovations

Alumna of the Year Award for her unwavering aid to the underprivileged children in Africa who are affected by HIV/AIDS. Betancourt is an assistant professor of child health and human rights at the Harvard School of Public Health, where she and her team conduct research studies. The leadership council presented Brian Gerritz, class of ’98, the Alumni Service Award. His presence as a volunteer at Linfield stands out; he serves as a member of the President’s Circle, which recognizes alumni, parents and friends of the college who provide annual support. He is the president and founder of Pavilion Construction and contributes his knowledge of the industry to the Business Advi-

>> page 5

Corn mazes

sory Council. Laura Edman’s volunteer endeavors led her to receive the Walker Service Award. Edman is a founding member of the Parents Council Leadership Team. Her involvement in the PCLT is an expression of her dedication and desire to maintain contact with Linfield. Three years ago, Edman became an ambassador for parent events at Linfield. The awards program aims to recognize those who made a difference through their service or dedication. For more information about the 2010 Alumni Award recipients, visit www.linfield.edu/ linfield-news/?p=1060. Septembre Russell can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

Culture

INSIDE

Editorial .......................... 2 News ............................... 4 Features.............................7 Culture............................10 Sports .............................16

Junior Mary Stevens rode her bike from state to state this summer to build houses for low-income Americans with a program called Bike and Build. The program worked with other community service organizations such as Habitat for Humanity.

Features

>> Please see Crash page 6

Photo courtesy of Lindsey Thomas

News

A Linfield student and an alumna were hospitalized Oct. 18 when a drunken driver crashed into them while they were crossing Davis Street. Senior Celeste Wilson of Linfield’s Portland campus and Justine Pillar, class of ’10, were hit by Daniel Algeo, 45, of McMinnville. Pillar was carried by Life Flight to Emmanual Hospital in Portland. Wilson was taken to McMinnville Hospital. Algeo was charged with a DUI and third-degree assault. Both women have been released from the hospital. The two women are rumored to have been drunk at the time of the crash. The crash stunned students and residents living near the intersection of Davis and Ford streets. “I heard what I thought were fireworks,” junior James Rhodes said. “I came outside and saw the accident. There were several people calling 9-1-1.” Witnesses said that Algeo slammed on his brakes before hitting the women. “I heard brakes, then a thump, and I turned around and saw someone lying in the road and called 9-1-1,” Doug Deets, a security guard for Prostar Security, said. At the time of the accident, Deets was working at the Theta Chi Fraternity house as a security guard for a toga party. Sophomore Aaron Granum witnessed the entirety of the accident. “The girls came out onto the road suddenly,” he said. “Justine [Pillar] passed between two cars [in the lead]. If you were a driver, you couldn’t see them.” Witnesses all said they heard brakes, and Granum said he saw Algeo decelerating before he hit the women. He also said Algeo

>> page 8-9

Art exhibit

>> page 11


2

www.linfieldreview.com The

Opinions

October 22, 2010

EDITORIAL

LINFIELD REVIEW

School should charge bikers like drivers

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com

If you have a car on campus, we’re sure that at least one time or another you felt like it was a hassle. With paying for a parking badge, registering your car and dealing with finding parking that isn’t clear out in no man’s land, it’s enough to make your head spin. However, bikers have practically no hassle compared with drivers. They are not responsible for registering their bicycles or for paying a yearly fee for keeping a bike on campus. Also, they are not ticketed when they park in illegal areas, such as on residence hall stairways. There needs to be an abrupt change regarding bicycle policy on campus.

900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Editor-in-chief Kelley Hungerford Managing editor Braden Smith Business manager Sarah Spranger Copy chief Septembre Russell Copy editor Hillary Krippaehne News editor Joshua Ensler Sports editor Corrina Crocker Culture editor Jessica Prokop Features editor Jaffy Xiao Opinion editor Chelsea Bowen

Senior photographer Katie Paysinger Senior reporter Matt Sunderland Online editor Megan Myer Illustrator Jenny Worcester Circulation manager Kyle Guth Columnists Matt Olson “Dear Bailey” Adviser William Lingle professor of mass communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Fridays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for 26 issues a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday to appear in the Review the following Friday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

campuses in the past two years. Requiring the bikers to pay for bike-related accommodations is a more sustainable business model. You have to re-apply for grants and gifts. But yearly bike registration offers an ongoing fund for maintenance and upkeep of accommodations, just like drivers pay for vehicle-related accommodations such as overnight campus parking spaces. Similarly, give biker’s tickets for locking their bikes up illegally or for moving violations. They need to obey bike road rules. Let’s have bikers take some responsibility when it comes to having their bikes on campus. -The Review Editorial Board

Review office hours Editor-in-chief Thursday 8-9 a.m. Friday 2-3 p.m. or by appointment Managing editor Tuesday & Thursday 10-11 a.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter, @linfieldreview, and on Facebook.

CORRECTION

Oct. 15 issue: Brad Sinn’s title is director of facilities & auxiliary services.

OPINION

Count nutrition facts, not calories

Photo editor Sarah Hansen Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla

Revenue needs to be generated to fund the campus’ bike racks. Drivers pay for parking. Have bikers register their bicycles for a fee to pay for their parking accommodations. Since bikers are not currently paying to keep their bikes on campus, funds must be coming from other resources right now. Director of Facilities & Auxiliary Services Brad Sinn said in an e-mail that the Associate Students of Linfield College funded one bike rack last year, and the Advisory Committee on the Environment and sustainability footed the bill for two. Sinn also said in his e-mail that bicycle use has increased on the campus as well as on other college

Kelley Hungerford Editor-in-chief I am a huge fan of the Jazzman’s yogurt parfaits — the blueberry ones. For less than $3, I can get my daily “yum” of sweet dairy, fruit and carbs. But when I told this to a friend of mine, who works at Excel Fitness, she dropped her jaw and said, “The yogurt parfaits? No way; do you know how many calories those have?” Well, my friend, no I don’t — nor do I care. Anymore. This summer, I practiced yoga for two hours a day. Then, I powered through an intense hour-long butt

workout, an hour-long leg workout and a 30-minute arm workout. I tried to eat only nutritious, healthy foods. There was no way to keep up such a routine when I got back to school. With an average sleep schedule of two to three hours per night, I would probably pass out during every workout. And I love junk food. Give me lime Tostitos, and I’m in hog heaven. Often, it’s not even junk food; I just love foods that tend to be calorie rich. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this. I have heard far too many people, especially women, at this school complain about calories, thunder thighs and big booties. Our era of see-through leggings and T-shirts for dresses fosters this awful behavior. And I’ve done it, too. But I’m trying not to. I’m starting with my diet. Eat-

ing at Taco del Mar three nights a week has not been so great for me; I’m limiting it to double-punch Mondays, but I won’t feel guilty. And I stopped buying nonfat products. I buy low-fat or full-fat Greek yogurt, and I’ve stopped buying nonfat, skim milk. Now, I buy whole milk fortified with Vitamins A and D. But wait, isn’t switching to nonfat dairy an easy way to skimp on calories? Maybe not. According to a study in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, women who consumed whole milk and cheese gained less weight than those who ate nonfat. In addition, low-fat dairy products are often higher in that evil fat fiend: saturated fat. Plus, let’s be real. Whole milk tastes better. I conducted a side-byside taste test, and skim milk just tastes like milky water in comparison. So I’m going to stop counting

calories and start looking at the rest of the nutrition label. I hope others will do the same. Even if you’d rather be sad and skinny than fat and happy, I’d rather be “fat” (I use quotes because, no, size five is not fat) and mentally sane than a skinny (anything less than a size two is too skinny) basket case who stresses about the caloric content of gum. That brings me back to my super “nom” yogurt parfait. Screw the calories. If it goes to my thighs, who cares? Didn’t you see that Pitbull video? Curvy is gorgeous. Regardless of figures, I love the antioxidants in the blueberries. I love the carbs and protein in the granola. And I love the calcium and probiotics in the yogurt. Even if I don’t love the calories, there’s so much more in there that’s wonderful for my body. So just eat it.

Kelley Hungerford can be reached at linfieldrvieweditor@gmail.com.


October 22, 2010

Opinions

OPINION

www.linfieldreview.com

3

ADVICE COLUMN

Students need time for themselves, too Students should be

Braden Smith Managing editor Between jobs, classes and our variety of other social obligations, students are simply too busy. How busy we are directly affects the quality of not just our schoolwork but all of our other interests, passions and goals. There is so much that I want to accomplish and complete, but, hell, I don’t have the time. Sure, I’d love to do all the reading for my courses, write better fiction in creative writing, practice more of what I learn in music theory and not miss classes on Friday. I would be overjoyed if I could

devote more time to improving the student radio station and work harder at the Review. I wish I could read more books and news, talk to my close friends, stay in shape, go to more Cat Cabs and participate in a club or two. I might be able to accomplish all of these goals, but, unfortunately, I place a high value on my sleep. I pull one all-nighter out of every week, and that’s enough for me. Some students barely sleep at all just to scrape by in their work. Sure, I could sleep a lot less and get more work done, but my work would be lower quality, and I’d be exhausted all the time. A reasonable amount of sleep is not something I or anyone else should have to sacrifice to make it through each week. But sometimes people don’t think they have a

choice. Maybe their professors overwork them; maybe they overload themselves by wanting to do too much or overestimating their abilities. Perhaps it’s just how society shapes us. We go to school to learn how to be busy, and then we graduate and busy ourselves to death for the rest of our lives. People overwork themselves so much that they began to accept these routines as normal, enslaving themselves to time and schedules. When we overload ourselves, we end up performing worse in all our commitments and have even less time to devote to ourselves which, contrary to popular belief, is incredibly important. As one of my respected coworkers posted on Facebook recently: “We’re killing ourselves as college students, writers, good people, professors, baristas, athletes, playwrights ... What do we have

left for ourselves?” We should not sacrifice ourselves to our abundant commitments. We must instead challenge ourselves to be in command of our own time and not the other way around. It can be extremely difficult, but it can also be extremely liberating. I’m tired of going through the motions and rolling with the punches, and I think others are too. We all need to do what is best for ourselves or find out what that means for us as individuals. Parents, advisers, bosses and friends aside, we are all in charge of our own lives. It often seems like we have no choice, but we should remember that there always is and that no matter what decision we make, it’s never the end of the world. Braden Smith can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

OPINION

Shout out for Stern, Sokol Blosser Matt Sunderland Senior reporter Ah, fall. I love fall. Football games, Halloween, good food, that special crisp in the air. And every couple of years, it means it’s also time for election season. As a political science minor, I find this element of the season particularly fun and interesting. For anyone who managed to slug through my 9,000 character story last week on local elections, I thank you, and I hope you’ll stay tuned for this piece on why you should vote for Mary Stern for County Commissioner and Susan Sokol Blosser for State Representative. First, I think the rallying cry of this election should be, “throw the bums out.” The incumbents in power have managed to pass a failed $1 trillion bailout bill, a health care plan that may or may not manage to cover all Americans and overall failed to bring us out of the worst recession since the Great Depression. I don’t know about anyone else, but I think

it’s time to play a game of ditch the incumbent and start anew with business-oriented leaders. The first candidate I shall advocate for, Stern, is the exception in my opinion. She is the incumbent, for eight years now, and in that time has managed to bring Yamhill County from a drug-infused suburb to a nice place to live in. She commissioned the Meth Task Force, brought in more than $9 million for Oregon’s rainy day funds and even managed to have Yamhill County selected as one of only seven counties in the country to try out a new evidence-based system toward law enforcement. She has decades of law enforcement experience, both locally and nationally, which should be the main requirement for a county commissioner. Also, the McMinnville Police Force and the current sheriff, Jack Crabtree, support her. Let’s spend a minute looking at her opponent, Mary Starrett. Starrett is, in a word, psychotic. No, seriously. She’s a conspiracy theorist from a right-wing party that makes the Republicans look like treeloving hippies. She was once fired from a radio station for espousing beliefs that the U.S. government was involved

in 9/11 and the Challenger explosion. Let me quote Starrett, about Martin Luther King Jr.: “Get ready for the annual con job that’s been hoisted on the populace for 21 years. For if we judge Martin Luther King Jr. on ‘the content of his character’ and ‘not the color of his skin,’ surely no banks or schools or post offices would be shut down for a day.” She also has no law enforcement experience in her background at all. Is this the Mary we want out fighting crime for us? Sokol Blosser, or rather her opponent and incumbent Jim Weidner, is a little more along the lines of, “throw the bums out.” Now, I don’t think it’s fair to call Weidner a bum, per se. He’s a Yamhill County local who is passionately dedicated to his job and does have several years of experience under his belt as the incumbent. But Sokol Blosser knows what Oregonians need in a time of economic turmoil. Sokol Blosser, as many know, was one of the founders of Oregon’s wine industry back in the 1970s. She used to be the head of the family business until she decided to retire in 2006. She was perfectly happy living at home and being retired until the

recession struck, and she realized, as I have, that someone with her business experience is exactly what Oregon needs right now. She was a woman in a man’s world when she began her business and managed to make Sokol Blosser Wineries internationally recognized. Before her business grew to the size and strength it is now, she had to live like so many other small business owners: at the mercy of the tax laws in the state and the will of those in Salem. Sokol Blosser is more aware of what Oregonian businesses and farmers need to survive this recession and even turn it around — something that her opponent simply lacks. In short, Stern and Sokol Blosser are both deeply rooted in their fields and in the people of Oregon. Both are more than qualified for the jobs, and both are aware of what their constituents need from a law enforcement and an economic perspective. I urge a vote for both of these women in the coming election — in what could be the most important election for years to come. Not just because of these two local candidates, but certainly dealing with them in Yamhill County. Matt Sunderland can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

wary of domestic violence warning signs

October may be one of the the most outstanding months out of the year. It has Halloween with tons of candy and dressing up, and it is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. In addition to these, October is also Domestic Violence Aw a r e n e s s M o n t h . Domestic violence is, according to the National Domestic Violence Hotline and the Domestic Violence Awareness Project, “a pattern of abusive behaviors including physical, sexual and psychological attacks as well as economic coercion used by one intimate partner against another (adult or adolescent) to gain, maintain, or regain power and control in the relationship.” Domestic violence doesn’t happen to only a specific group of people. It can happen to anyone, especially if you don’t know what classifies domestic violence. The article “Domestic Abuse Can be Subtly Sinister” on OregonLive.com reports that in November 2009, 14 people, six of whom were abusers who committed suicide, died from domestic violence. Most people understand what a physically abusive relationship entails, but the emotional, sexual and economical abuses are not always so obvious. Signs of emotional abuse are much harder for people outside the relationship to notice. The most telling signs are when the abusive partner tries to isolate his or her partner, monitors his or her calls or contacts and acts overly possessive. Sometimes the abuser will threaten to kill themselves if the victim leaves. Economical abuse (which I never would have thought of until doing the research) is a form of abuse that is also easily hidden. In this case, Finances

are taken over by the supposed abusive partner and an allowance is given to the victim. This doesn’t mean that one person paying the bills and keeping track of finances is abusive. That is financial responsi bility and can save m o n e y for the couple. A b u s e occurs when one partner takes all the money, spends it and gives his or her partner little money for necessities. Sexual abuse is not easy to spot. Besides rape, sexual abuse can include being guilty or pressured to have sex when one doesn’t want to, ignoring a partner’s feelings about sex or insulting a partner in a sexual manner. Frequently, abuse will happen to women, and they will not be aware of it or won’t accept that it has happened. Many women may think that violence against women is the norm and that it is OK once in a while. But it is not OK for these women, and it is hard for them to change their views on treatment, especially when they have been in an abusive situation for a long time. If you think that you or someone you know is in an abusive relationship, please go to either the Domestic Violence Awareness Project at dvam.vawnet.org or the National Domestic Violence Hotline at www.thehotline. org or call 1-800-799-SAFE. Remember: It is never the victims’ fault; it is the fault of the abuser. Make sure that you and your friends are aware of the signs of abuse in a relationship. It is important to be safe in your college relationships. This is the beginning of your adult life. E-mail your questions to Bailey at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com. Bailey can be reached at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com.

Jenny Worcester/Illustrator


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

Sustainability committee seeks full-time leader Jaffy Xiao Features editor The Advisory Committee on the Environment and Sustainability meeting Oct. 14 focused on the possibility of hiring a full-time sustainability coordinator. Senior David KellnerRode, a member of ACES committee, said the biggest problem for ACES is that the committee comprises faculty members, staff and students with some interest in sustainability or climate change, but everyone has difficulty finding time to focus on the issues. He also said it’s necessary to have a full-time sustainability coordinator for Linfield, since it’s a leader in higher education working toward sustainability. Thomas Love, professor of Anthropology and chair of the Sociology and Anthropology Department, said he thinks ACES needs a central person to collect all the committee’s work. According to the Linfield Sustainability website, President Thomas Hellie appointed the ACES committee in Sept. 2007 and signed the American College & University Presidents’ Climate Commitment on Earth Day in 2008. ACES was charged with maintaining an updated Green House Gas Inventory and developing a Climate Action Plan. The long-term Climate Action Plan is a major goal

for the ACES and was finalized in early September. Based on a semester-long project by the Environmental Studies Problem Solving Seminar in Spring Semester 2009, ACES came up the Climate Action Plan with the help of an environmental counseling group. “[The] Climate Action Plan is a 50-year plan for college climate sustainability, ” Kellner-Rode said. “I hope to make more concrete work on it.” He also said it entails many ideas for reducing carbon emissions: behavior changes, such as having shorter showers, turning off computers and heaters and unplugging appliances not in use; building designs, which would make energy more efficient in old buildings; and reducing expenditures in air travel. For instance, an admissions officer should have teleconferences instead of flying to different high schools to visit prospective students. As the only student member of ACES, KellnerRode said there will be two more students joining the meeting in the future, and he welcomes any students who are interested in sustainability to attended the meetings. The next meeting will be at 8 a.m. Oct. 28 in The President’s Dining room in left wing of Dillin Hall. Jaffy Xiao can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.

October 22, 2010

’Cats coming home to dance

Sarah Hansen/Photo editor

Students danced in celebration of the football team’s victory over Pacific University Oct. 16 at the Homecoming dance. The dance ran from 9 p.m. to midnight and was one of the Associated Students of Linfield College’s additions to this year’s program.

School sponsors week of service Sean Lemme Staff reporter Linfield joined schools across the nation in its commitment to community service by participating in the National Learn and Serve Challenge Week starting Oct. 18. The college sponsored a number of events to create awareness and encourage students and faculty to take an active role in solving societal and environmental problems. The college kicked off the

week of Oct. 18 by sponsoring a workshop on “understanding the importance of critical reflection for a more meaningful service-learning experience,” Community Service Coordinator Jessica Wade said in an e-mail. There was a grant-writing workshop to help students apply to the ASLC Sustainability Fund on Oct. 20. The college also hosted an Oct. 21 information session in which counselors from area elementary and middle schools spoke about

mentoring. Linfield’s Make a Difference Day is Oct. 22, and the college will offer service project opportunities for more than 150 volunteers to make an impact on the community. Wade explained the benefits of service opportunities for students in an e-mail. “Service-learning gets students out of the classroom and provides them with real-life experiences that in turn support and contribute to academic learning and address critical

community needs.” It gives students an opportunity to become active citizens — to be part of the problem solving solutions that impact the community and the environment.” The concept of National Learn and Serve Challenge comes from the National Service-Learning Partnership, a national network dedicated to advancing service-learning as a core part of education. Sean Lemme can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Service: Nine weeks spent building homes, biking << Continued from page 1 to pioneer a program that allowed the Community Service Office to recognize people monthly for good deeds done outside of the college. The result is the Changemaker of the Month program, which is overseen by Community Service Coordinator Jessica Wade. Thomas, Coffey and Wade chose this month’s winner. Future winners will be chosen through student nominations. The winners receive a certificate. Thomas said that since the purpose of the program is to recognize students, a certificate is appropriate. Thomas heard of Steven’s story through connections on the cross-country team and realized it was an

amazing accomplishment. Stevens spent nine weeks this past summer biking across the entire country, from Providence, R.I., to Seattle, Wash., with a team of others. Every few days, the team stopped at designated areas and built homes with organizations, such as Habitat for Humanity, and raised money for the main organization: Bike and Build. They brought with them only what they could carry on their backs in duffle bags or backpacks and did laundry every four days. At night, they slept on the floors of churches, barns, schools and wherever else they could find charity. Rain, hail and intense heat proved to be problems at some times. “There was this one day when it was so hot [that] everyone ran out of water

Photo courtesy of Lindsey Thomas The bikers traveled from coast to coast across the US, constructing homes and braving the elements. Occasionally facing extreme elements, the bikers spent nine weeks raising money for the Bike and Build organization. by second lunch ... and stopped and drank from people’s hoses,” Stevens said. In the end, the group raised about $160,000 for

Bike and Build. Five other groups of people were riding across the country as well; they raised a similar amount of money, bringing the total to

almost $1,000,000. Thomas said she knew that this story needed to be told. “I never could have imagined people doing

some of these things, like riding across the country,” she said. Stevens has had her name and story mentioned in the Linfield Newsletter, but true to the nature of the Changemaker program, she isn’t looking for recognition. She said she wants people to get involved with Bike and Build. She said she hopes more students will undertake the journey in the future and participate in what she calls “the greatest experience of my life.” The nomination forms will be located in Renshaw Hall. Students will be able to turn the forms in at the Office of Community Service, located in Walker Hall. Matt Sunderland can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


News

October 22, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

5

Fraternity house finally get its facelift Kelley Hungerford Editor-in-chief After two years of waiting for the go-ahead, renovations to the Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity house commenced Oct. 10, and members couldn’t be happier. “We’re shifting toward a new era, like a new brand,” Pi Kappa Alpha President senior Jon Thompson said. Interior demolition began a year ago, but the fraternity members have lived in alternative housing, called the Annexes, near the house for two years. They were told to leave the house for safety reasons in 2008. Thompson said the school and the McMinnville fire marshal assessed the building and declared it unsafe and uninhabitable. He said the entire interior will be redone, including everything from reworking electrical wiring and plumbing, to adding new bed frames to removing an oversized furnace. “Before we started the remodel, there was an entire room dedicated to a furnace that no longer worked — that we weren’t allowed to use. There was an entire room dedicated to storing the fuel for that furnace,” Pi Kappa Alpha Vice President senior Scott Wickham said. “And now we can use those rooms as other things to better the living experience.” Wickham said the project will cost close to $500,000. Most of the wait resulted from fundraising problems. Thompson said people were hesitant to donate because of the poor economic climate, and banks wouldn’t give loans because they were worried about a fraternity repaying the money. But Pi Kappa Alpha alumni came to the rescue. While the current members could raise only $500 to $1,000 here and there, the alumni raised larger amounts. These alumni make up a group called the Housing Corp. Wickham said the Housing Corp. called many alumni to gather investments. “A few alumni started stepping up, saying I’ll put $10,000 here, $20,000 there. Then, next thing you know, people started saying $50,000; people started saying $100,000,” Thompson said. “A lot of the alumni knew that without a house, we were basically cut off, and they wanted to help.” Thompson said he received an e-mail during the summer saying that a few alumni were willing to give triple-digit donations. “Our focus is supposed

Joel Ray/Freelancer

The Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity house may look normal from the outside, but the interior is completely torn apart as part of house renovations, which began Oct. 10. Fraternity members have not lived in the house for two years because the school and the McMinnville fire marshal said it was unsafe for live-in residents.

Photo courtesy of Jon Thompson The interior of the Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity house is gutted and redesigned. The fraternity’s president, senior Jon Thompson, said renovations include reworking wiring, fixing plumbing and adding new walls. to be our education; our focus here is to stay in school — to not worry about things like this. The alumni have done a good job of taking the reins,” he said. “The active [members] are … blessed to not have to go and put that strain on our lives.” The monetary commitment attracted the attention of the national Pi Kappa Alpha group, which subsequently promised a $150,000 to $175,000 loan toward the house’s completion, depending on how much the Linfield members raise in total. Thompson said the construction is expected to be completed during the first week of Spring Semester. The remodel will also

include study space, Wickham said. “With most fraternity houses, kids move in because they want to be where the party is. But I think the way we’re designing it — we’re creating study rooms in the house,” he said. “Our number one goal is to have a nice place that people want to live in that is conducive to academia.” Thompson said that the absence of a big, open space in the house encourages a positive environment to study instead of one that promotes partying. A completed house means big benefits for the fraternity, especially when it comes to rush, which is a time during which Greek

organizations recruit prospective members. The fraternity has 15 active members, but Thompson said the fraternity had more than 30 when he was a sophomore. “When we have so little members, it’s tough going against Kappa Sigma, which has like 70 guys,” he said. Wickman agreed, adding that recruitment concerns detracted from philanthropy and community service efforts. Sophomore Brad Dupea, the fraternity’s active rush chair, said having a house will make recruitment easier. “If you have a common place to bring people to, it’s easier to get your name out,” he said.

In the past, the fraternity experienced trouble maintaining high membership, since many potential pledges are drawn toward the fraternities with houses, Thompson said. Part of the problem was that other fraternities would bad-mouth Pi Kappa Alpha, Wickham said. “All the other organizations would say, ‘Don’t join ‘PIKE’; they don’t have a house,’” he said. “But now we’re going to have a house; we’re going to have a level playing field, and I think our recruitment numbers will go up.” President of Theta Chi Fraternity senior Beau Slayton said in an e-mail that he is excited that Pi Kappa Alpha’s house is returning to use. He said Theta Chi will continue to recruit as usual but perhaps will become more creative in its recruitment approach. “[We may] put more effort into checking on guys and trying to establish our relationship with them early on,” Slayton said in an e-mail. President of Kappa Sigma Fraternity junior Nick Irving said Pi Kappa Alpha’s improved house will strengthen Linfield’s Greek system overall, but he is not worried about recruitment. “Young men worldwide have joined Kappa Sigma because we are the most preferred fraternity in the world, not because of what a house looks like,” Irving said in an e-mail. “Kappa Sigma will continue to recruit high caliber men into our brotherhood and remain the number one fraternity both on campus and worldwide.”

But Thompson said recruitment is a competitive time. “Everybody was like, ‘Oh, they’ll never get it done, it’ll never happen,’” Thompson said about the renovations. “I just love it when other fraternities say, ‘Oh your house is getting done? Oh that’s great; that’s so awesome!’ When a few months ago it would have been …” “[T]hem using it as a recruitment tool for themselves,” Wickham finished. Having an established house will reaffirm the fraternity’s existence, too. Dupea said many people don’t know that Pi Kappa Alpha still exists at Linfield because people mentally connect fraternities to houses. Since Pi Kappa Alpha hasn’t had a livable house for social functions, people think the fraternity doesn’t exist, he said “It shouldn’t even be about the house; it should be about the guys in the fraternity,” Thompson said. “It’s a shame that it comes down to the house — that the house is a major deciding point.” Thompson said that without a house, potential members would only talk to other fraternities, but the new space will allow Pi Kappa Alpha to join the conversation. The house will also make meetings for current members easier. Right now, the fraternity holds chapter meetings in the Annexes — cramming 15 members into a space designed for only six or seven people, Thompson said. Also, unlike the other fraternity houses, the Pi Kappa Alpha house is an actual house, and not a dormitory-style abode. And, because of the fraternity’s small numbers, everyone in the group would be able to live in it. Even when the fraternity numbers outgrow the house, members can live in the Annexes, Wickham said. And the president and vice president are proud to have been a part of the project. “My worst nightmare was that, when I would leave this school, that it [the fraternity] wouldn’t be around anymore,” Wickham said. “Knowing that you were part of the rebuilding process and bringing it back into the forefront of Greek Life — I think it’s a really nice thing.” Thompson agreed. “I’m happy that it’s not just three fraternities and a couple of guys without a house,” he said. Kelley Hungerford can be reached at linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com.


6

News

www.linfieldreview.com

Linfield scores slice of Coalition’s grant Joshua Ensler News editor Linfield is sharing in the success of a coalition of colleges that are receiving a $45,000 grant to improve service learning in college curriculums. The grant will go to providing co-curricular activities to Linfield students. Co-curricular lessons are experiences outside of the classroom that relate to classroom material. Jessica Wade, community service coordinator, secured the money for Linfield. She worked with Catherine Jarmin Miller, director of Foundation & Corp Relations, and Fred Ross, former assistant to the president of Linfield College. Some of the community service projects that the money will benefit are environmentally motivated. “I think this strengthens and enhances our sustainability efforts,” Wade, said.

Sample projects include habitat restoration and energy efficiency audits. A document from the Office of Community Service also lists civic development as another objective. “We’ve convened a student roundtable on sustainability, and they’ve already come up with six service learning projects already,” Wade said. “The first one will be on Nov. 5. Students will complete the eco-roof on the new bike shelter.” Wade said that students would learn about eco-roofs, storm water management and other environmentally friendly techniques. She said other projects are intended to teach students real-world skills. Money from the grant will also go to Linfield’s faculty for a Fellows program. Five faculty members will work together to remake and improve a current Linfield course by adding service

learning to the class, or to create a new course designed to link service learning and sustainability. The grant is from Learn and Serve America, an organization that aims to make service learning core to the education of American students. This is Linfield’s first federal grant from the Corporation for National Community Service, which is the primary funder of this grant. “The goal is that students walk away with skills but also knowledge of the issues they’re addressing,” Wade said. Linfield applied for the grant through the Oregon and Washington divisions of Campus Compact, a nationwide community service agency that, according to its website, seeks to increase service learning as part of higher education. Joshua Ensler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Out of the darkness

Photo courtesy of Lauren Ostrom Linfield community members participate in the Out of Darkness Community Walk on Oct. 17. Sponsored by the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, the walk raised money and awareness for suicide prevention.

Crash: Incident was unavoidable << Continued from page 1

appeared to be going the speed limit before the accident. Granum said he saw Wilson take a glancing blow from Algeo’s pickup truck, but Pillar was struck headon. “The only way I could describe it is [as] a ragdoll,” Granum said. “You take it and drop it on the ground in whatever inhuman position it fell in. It was grotesque.” He said the sound of the impact, which alerted many of the people who called 9-11, was equally frightening. “It sounded like a car hitting another car,” he said. “It was amazingly loud. Deceptively loud.” Pillar, the woman thrown by the impact, was in so

Algeo much pain she couldn’t communicate, Granum said. “She did say ‘help me,’ but after that she was so injured she couldn’t make normal sounds,” he said. “She was unable to say coherent words. Justine [Pil-

lar] was not movable until the medics arrived.” Granum said that Algeo seemed to know that Pillar should remain untouched until the medics arrived in case she had a spinal injury. “I’d say he might have been in shock,” Granum said. “He was calm and not in a panic. His first words were ‘Don’t touch her.’ He seemed concerned about her.” Granum also said he thought the accident was not caused by Algeo’s intoxication. “He did not appear to be a hazardous driver,” he said. “He did not seem intoxicated. I don’t think the scenario could have been avoided if he was sober.” Granum said he called 9-1-1 within 10 seconds of the accident, but by then the operator had enough

October 22, 2010

information to finish his sentences. “I was really impressed by people’s reactions,” he said. “It was good to see a genuine emotional response.“ Granum said students huddled into small groups that night. Some were strangers to the injured women trying to understand what happened. Others were comforting friends of the injured women, Granum said. One group was praying for the girls’ well-being. Paramedics from the McMinnville Fire Department were on the scene first, followed by an ambulance and several police cars. “The paramedics were there within a few minutes,” Granum said. “But it felt like a lifetime.” Joshua Ensler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

News brief The Associated Students of Linfield College Senate approved a proclamation Oct. 18 affirming student support of diploma distribution during Commencement. Students don’t have a final vote on the issue, but the document officially declares student opinion on the matter. The faculty Student Policy Committee is considering mailing out diplomas after graduation. This would give faculty more time to grade senior finals. But senior Evan Hilberg, ASLC student center director, said the faculty is fairly split on the issue. Hilberg is one of two student representatives on the Student Policy Committee and also sits on the Graduating Senior Grades Work Group, a subcommittee that discusses senior grades and diploma distribution. After an hour of discussion, senators voted on the proclamation’s final content and wording. The document states that “postponing the distribution of diplomas ... until after commencement is the least desirable outcome.” The proclamation was sent to the committee Oct. 21. To read the proclamations, visit www.linfield.edu/ aslc/senate/proclamations.html. Check TLR next week for an in-depth look on the diploma dilemma. ~Compiled by Kelley Hungerford


October 22, 2010

Features

Heckling by Corrina Crocker/Sports editor They come in all shapes and sizes. They sport the colored wig and the painted chests, and they rocked the retro Goodwill clothes that scream team spirit two sizes too small. They are the fans. They are dedicated and can be found at all sporting events, but at Linfield, they tend to turn up at soccer games. The die-hard fans can also be identified as hecklers. The Dictionary.com definition of the word heckle is “to  harass  (a  public  speaker,  performer,  etc.)  with  impertinent questions, gibes or the like; badger.” The leader of the Linfield hecklers, senior Stephen Dennis, said they only use intelligent, classy and ad hominem attacks. “We don’t settle for ‘Hey Rick, you suck,’” Dennis said. At the soccer games, the hecklers help the Wildcats by badgering the other team. “We make fun of their haircut, shorts, hometown — anything we can. But obscenities cross the line. We keep it pretty PG; it is a family event,” Dennis said. The Linfield soccer hecklers show up and sit in the front row, yelling at the opponents when they make mistakes or when they miss the ball. They shout out names or cheer when the Wildcats win tackles or dribble past a player, senior men’s soccer player Michel Camacho explained. The Linfield soccer hecklers consist of a core group that varies in size depending on the game and the weather. The principal students behind the madness are Dennis and juniors Greg Larson, Josh Bott, Dan Harmon and John Frank. These fans support teams that don’t attract the same size crowd that sports such as football or basketball do. “Soccer is the most conducive sport for heckling,” Dennis said. “You are just a couple of feet removed from the game. You have great proximity to the game. It is also a quieter sport compared to a sport like football. You get the most bang for your buck.” Heckler Harmon agreed with Dennis. “Soccer is not as enthusiastic as basketball. When you start yelling and heckling, it brings the fans into the game,” Harmon said. The main idea behind heckling is not to be cruel or rude to the opposing team but to take its focus from the game and to frustrated the players. Dennis explained that he is in

www.linfieldreview.com

Hooligans a sports class in which he learned that an athlete only has so much attention he or she can give to spectators. He said he came together with the other hecklers to try and dominate that attention. Although heckling can be a burden on the opposing team, one thing the group has to worry about is distracting the team it is there to support. Luckily, the Wildcat soccer players are in full support of the heckling of the other team. “It is not distracting at all,” Camacho said. “It’s awesome when the crowd gets into it. It gives you a little extra motivation and fuel, especially in close games when you are fighting to keep a lead or fighting to get that goal in the end.” Senior Carter Elhabbassi, also on the men’s soccer team, agreed with Camacho. “It does not distract me at all. I’m usually focused on the game, so all the extra stuff gets zoned out,” he said. “If the ball goes out or randomly I hear them, it is funny.” He thought the Heckling has a negative affect on opponents, Elhabbassi said. “I like them doing that [heckling the other team] because sometimes you can tell that it gets to the players on the other team and it messes them up,” he said. Dennis said the hecklers are a constant factor for our players. The other team is simply not accustomed to the heckling. “It is a novel thing for the opponents,” he said. The hecklers are often at the men’s games, although they show up to the women’s soccer games also on occasion. “[The heckling] does not distract me,” senior women’s soccer player Sara Blake said. “I block everything out and focus on the game.” Dennis will play for the men’s basketball team during the winter, so heckling in that sport is not an option for him, although he would love to see it continue in the students’ section. “I can see it continuing into basketball when we get back from January Term, since some of us are going abroad,” Harmon, who will travel to Australia in January, said. The hecklers would love company with intelligent, inventive and creative ideas, so join them on the soccer field Oct. 23 against Pacific Lutheran University and Oct. 24 against University of Puget Sound for the men’s games and on Oct. 23 against Pacific Lutheran for the women’s game. Corrina Crocker can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

7


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Features

October 22, 2010

Maze Craze: Fall fun on Oregon farms by Jessica Prokop/Culture editor

t’s that time of year again, when people begin to visit pumpkin patches to pick gourds for the season’s I festivities. But what makes pumpkin patch farms stand out from the grocery stores that sell pumpkins? The farming community has come up with several creative ways to draw in customers during the

fall season, using attractions such as petting zoos, hayrides, food and musical entertainment. However, another attraction growing in popularity is corn mazes. Many farms use corn mazes to appeal to customers. Farmers are beginning to step it up and take corn mazes to a new level. Rare are maze mades of random patterns and lines. Nowadays, farmers are incorporating intricate designs planned out months in advance. Some rely solely on in-home planning, whereas others are bringing in professionals. Since Linfield is situated right in the middle of farming country, many of these farms are located down the road. So if you are looking to have some fall fun, here is a compilation of a few farms and their corn mazes to keep in mind this season.

Farmer John's P

Farmer John’s Prod its “Fall Harvest Celeb of Oregon, employee A The farm manager’ design. Last year, the words “Farmer John’s “As far as I know, n coming back out throu The corn maze cost Farmer John’s Pro McMinnville, Ore. For more informatio farm offers and hours sproduce.com.

Willamette Valley Fruit Company

Willamette Valley Fruit Company features a 13-acre corn maze (right) in the design of the company’s logo, along with the words “Finding Hope” across the top. The design was inspired by this year’s theme: “Finding Hope in 2010.” WVFC partnered with The Maize Company, the world’s largest corn maze consulting and design company, to design its maze, owner Jeff Roth said. “We already had ideas for the design of the maze and the company took those ideas and put them on paper,” Roth said. “Hope” came to his mind because of the hard economic times people have been going through during the last few years, and he wanted a way to incorporate that into the farm, he said. The inspiration for the idea and slogan stemmed from a Hope Station conference Roth attended. Hope Station is a non-profit organization that aims to eliminate hunger. A portion of the farm’s proceeds will benefit Hope Station and the Marion-Polk County food-share program. Roth, who is overseeing the corn maze project, is one of six owners of WVFC. “We want to make a difference in people’s lives,” Roth said. “We have been trying to get more people to come out and spend time together as a family and enjoy the nature around them.” Roth said he believes that WVFC’s corn maze is the largest maze in Oregon. This is the second year that the farm has created a maze, so it is still building up its popularity, he said. So far, approximately 2,000 people have visited this season, Roth said. Last year, Roth went out with his mower and made circular and straight

line designs to create a 3-acre corn maze. “It was meant to be small for family and friends,” Roth opened it to the public.” Tuesday through Thursday, the maze costs $7 for adults dren. Friday and Saturday it costs $8 for adults and cost $ WVFC is located at 2994 82nd Ave. in Salem, Ore. For more information about the corn maze and its attracti website at www.wvfco.com.

Bauman's F E.Z. Orchards Farm Market

This farm takes an educational approach to its nearly 2.5acre corn maze, which features Oregon state and its roads and highways. There are 50 signs within the maze mapping out the different pathways (roads and highways) along with significant geographical locations in Oregon. “We have done the state before because it works out well for educational school tours,” owner John Zielinski said. Zielinski designed the maze and used a surveyor to help lay it out to ensure its accuracy. He said the idea came from a conference he attended during which he met a Washington farmer that used done the same concept using Washington State. Last year, the farm’s maze featured a covered wagon pulled by oxen. The design represented the Oregon Trail to keep its educational aspect. Zielinski is anticipating approximately 15,000 visitors this year. On weekdays, the maze costs $3, and during the weekend it is included as part of a $7 general admission to the farm. E.Z. Orchards is located at 5504 Hazel Green Rd. in Salem, Ore. For more information about the corn maze, additional attractions that the farm offers and hours of operation, visit its website at www.ezorchards.com.

This farm ha ioned saloon. Th Each year, a ne to fit with that t Sarah Bauma Brian Bauman, “We always l year, it was a ca Because of th maze during th complete, Baum However, the approximately 1 he said. Bauma 30,000 to 50,00 The farm off $8 and $12 pac Bauman’s Fa Rd. in Gervais, For more info at the farm offe


Features

October 22, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

Produce & Nursery

duce & Nursery acknowledges the fall season with bration,” which features a corn maze in the shape Angelica Sully said. ’s nephew, Jordan Bernards, drew up this year’s e maze was in the shape of a windmill with the s” written out, she said. no one has made it out the exit yet. Everyone keeps ugh the entrance,” Sully said. ts $4. oduce is located at 15000 SW Oldsville Road in

on about the corn maze, other attractions that the s of operation, visit its website at www.farmerjohn-

Heiser Farms

This farm features a 4-acre corn maze with a design that promotes the farm’s newest attraction: a railroad track with small trains. The design reads “Grande Island Railroad” and has a pumpkin and train incorporated into the words, owner Kristi Heiser said. “We purchased a railroad track for small train enthusiasts to operate at our pumpkin patch,” Heiser said. She invented the design, and her husband John Heiser oversees the maze, she said. “We both worked together in a step-by-step process, which included flagging the maze and spraying the rows of corn,” Heiser said. “From there, we just let it grow.” During the 2008 election year, the theme was based on politics, and the maze featured the words: “Obama or McCain?” The maze, which takes anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour to navigate, has so far drawn approximately 1,000 people to the site. It costs $2.50 to travel through. Heiser Farms is located at 21425 SE Grand Island Loop in Dayton, Ore. For more information about the corn maze, other attractions that the farm offers and hours of operation, visit its website at www. heiserfarms.com.

h said. “We later

s and $5 for chil$6 for children.

ions, visit WVFC

Farm and Garden

as a 5-acre corn maze in the shape of an old-fashhe design was inspired by this year’s western theme. ew theme is chosen, and the corn maze is designed theme. an came up with the saloon design this year, brother , class of ’02, said. look for something new every year,” he said. “Last astle, and three years ago it was pirates.” he complex design, the farm began preparing for the he spring, and it took approximately six months to man said. e hard work has paid off since Bauman’s Farm had 16,000 people come out to the farm Oct. 16 and 17, an anticipates that the farm will have approximately 00 people visit this fall season. fers three packages: a $4, $8 and $12 package. The ckages include the corn maze. arm and Garden is located at 12989 Howell Prairie Ore. ormation about the corn maze and other attractions ers, visit its website at www.baumanfarms.com.

Airlie Hills Farm

This farm took a different approach this year by designing an abstract, 4-acre maze with random patterns to increase its difficulty. The change occurred in part because of time constraints, so a decision was made to focus on the expansion of the pumpkin patch’s other areas instead, owner Aaron Kennel said. However, in past years, the design has been a giant sunflower with a honeybee and small designs around it, he said. So far, approximately 2,000 people have visited the farm and its new corn maze. The maze is part of an all-inclusive $4 charge on weekdays and $5 on weekends. Airlie Farms is located at 10775 Airlie Rd. in Monmouth, Ore. For more information about the abstract corn maze, visit its website at www. airliehills.com.

Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

9


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

October 22, 2010

Readings offer look into Oregon winemaking Gabi Nygaard Staff reporter Two authors provided a behind-the-scenes look at local winemaking as part of the “Readings at the Nick” series Oct. 21 in Nicholson Library. Winemaker Susan Sokol Blosser read from her memoir “At Home in the Vineyard” and was followed by readings by author Brian Doyle. Sokol Blosser, co-founder of Sokol Blosser Winery, is widely hailed as a pioneer of the wine industry in Yamhill County. “At Home in the Vineyard” explores Sokol Blosser’s personal and business accomplishments in the industry. “My story should give hope to all budding entrepreneurs,” Sokol Blosser said. The odds seemed stacked against her in 1971, when she planted Sokol Blosser Winery’s first vines with no business or agriculture training and in an area with no wine industry. “The fact that we are still here in business, that the sec-

ond generation is now running the show, that we are distributed internationally ... [it] shows you that miracles can happen,” Sokol Blosser, a Stanford University graduate, said. “And it proves that you can do anything with a liberal arts education.” When prompted by an audience member, she explained that protesting activities at Sokol Blosser Winery went so far as trespassing in a move she called “below the belt.” People protested because they accused her of hiring illegal immigrants, which Sokol Blosser admits may have happened without her knowledge. Sokol Blosser is also running as a candidate in the Oregon House of Representatives District 24 race. Sokol Blosser joked that she was “happy to be at a literary event and not a campaigning event.” Sokol Blosser is also a familiar face to the campus as a subject featured in the “Bringing Vines to the Valley” exhibit currently displayed in the library. “[This reading] goes hand-

Megan Myer/Online editor Susan Sokol Blosser points out how her political opponent’s low-blow tactics are actually helping to sell her book “At Home in the Vineyard,” which she read excerpts from in a winemaking talk with fellow writer Brian Doyle on Oct. 21 in Nicholson Library. in-hand with the exhibit,” said Library Director Susan Barnes Whyte. Sokol Blosser’s readings touched on topics such as sustainability in agriculture, the role of the International Pinot Noir Celebration in growing the Oregon wine industry, the birth of her winery and how she “came to love the vineyard.”

“[Working in the vineyard] gave me a sense of oneness with the land and a fulfillment I never imagined,” Sokol Blosser said. On sustainability, Sokol Blosser said she gained “a sense of the interconnectedness of everything” and integrated into her business an emphasis on what she calls a triple bottom line: people,

planet and profit. Following Sokol Blosser, Doyle, author of nine books and editor of Portland Magazine at University of Portland, read various pieces of his work, including passages from his book “The Grail.” “The Grail” follows his story of a year spent at Lange Winery in Dundee, Ore., where he pinned down the

nuances of creating the perfect pinot noir. Doyle also read from his new novel “Mink River,” which was published this month. Doyle’s readings ranged from comedic, such as in his “rules for the bathroom” as told to his young sons, to touching, eliciting tears from speaker and audience members alike, as in his account of the bittersweet moment of a parent cutting the apron strings and sending his child off to college. “It seems like I’m not a writer any more; I’m a listener,” Doyle said. “I wander around listening to stories.” The result of his listening is an eclectic assortment of literary odds and ends, expressed in his reading, which include teaching the audience to curse in Gaelic, recounting his experience of getting glasses and seeing the world clearly for the first time and the story of a former homicide detective who became a father of triplets. Gabi Nygaard can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Theater program cleans out its costume closet Chelsea Bowen Opinion editor Linfield held its first costume sale Oct. 21 in Ford Hall. Costume shop manager Alethia Moore-Del Monaco said that the idea for the costume sale arose because costume storage in Mahaffey Hall needed to be re-organized and cleaned out. Moore-Del Monaco said that she followed two criteria to help her choose which costumes to sell. She would keep them if, first, the costumes were safe for the actors to wear on stage again and, second, if they were specific to a particular show. The costumes at the sale are priced from $1 to $20. “I’m trying to keep it affordable for students,” Moore-Del Monaco said. Some of the items for the costume sale include a number of unique Greek garments and a variety of hats, shoes, jackets and dresses from past productions. “There’s a really interesting tree costume that I’m happy to see go,” Moore-Del Monaco said, referring to an elaborate green costume made to look like a bunch of leaves. Senior Steven Stewart has been working in the theater costume shop for more than

a year, and he is the costume coordinator for the sale. One item from the sale that Stewart is excited to purchase is a blue glittery rhinestone jacket that he plans to use as part of his Lady Gaga costume. “To see what people choose to mix together and what people are drawn to will be exciting,” Stewart said. Freshman Gabrielle Leif said she was drawn to the costume sale because it was a way for her to find a costume without having to look off campus. “It is a bunch of stuff from old shows, so I thought I’d find something fun and unique,” Leif said. “I just heard about it, and I was curious to see what they have.” Moore-Del Monaco said the sale isn’t about turning a profit. “If we make a little money, great, but at least students will have had the experience of coordinating a costume,” Moore-Del Monaco said. For more information about the costume sale, contact Moore-Del Monaco at amoored@linfield.edu. The costume sale will also run from 3-6 p.m. Oct. 22 in Ford Hall. Chelsea Bowen can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Alethia Moore-DelMonaco, instructional associate, costume designer and costume shop manager, organizes one of the costume pieces during the theater programs first Halloween Costume Sale on Oct. 21.


October 22, 2010

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Sculpture display shows unique architectural pieces Chelsea Ploof Freelancer Students attended a reception featuring the work of Chicago artist David Corbett in the Linfield Fine Art Gallery on Oct. 20. Corbett’s work illustrates the artistic structure in buildings and architecture. His art visually exemplified the process of how structures were built and formed. “David is a very unique artist. He has a unique style. I think it’s a great opportunity for art stu-

dents and students at Linfield,” Cris Moss, gallery director and instructional associate, said. Moss said he has been following Corbett’s work and progress since his last appearance at Linfield in 2007. Corbett has been in practice since 1994. His artwork is sometimes described as minimalist, but his sculptures are fairly new. The exhibit featured Corbett’s recent sculptures, which were all focused on the elements of construction. Corbett will give a lec-

ture at the end of October or early November. His presentation will focus on his creative process, and he will discuss the elements involved in producing artistic pieces. The Fine Art Gallery is open Monday through Friday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on Saturday from noon to 5 p.m. For more information about the art gallery, visit www.linfield.edu/art or contact Moss at 503-8332380. Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Chelsea Ploof can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Junior Alison Pate observes a construction structure created by professional artist David Corbett at his gallery opening on Oct. 20 in the Linfield Fine Art Gallery.

Student portrays modern, traditional Irish music in exhibit Tim Marl Staff reporter Senior Barrett Dahl presented an Irish music anthropology exhibit in Walker Hall on Oct. 19. The exhibit, titled “An Ceoil na Éireann: The Generation Dichotomy of Music in Galway Ireland,” presents the culture of Irish music. “Music is an expression of culture, and it is really rooted in [Irish] culture,” Dahl said. The exhibit is her idea for her senior thesis. Dahl studied abroad in Galway, Ireland, which, Dahl said, has a popular young adult scene in music. During her study in Ireland, Dahl visited different musical areas and studied the culture of music.

The exhibit features photos of various singers, both of traditional Irish music and of hybridized music, which is music that fuses both traditional and current styles. One artifact in the exhibit is a traditional Irish drum. The exhibit also includes a video featuring a concert in Ireland and pictures of various other concerts and their audiences. The exhibit portrays the difference in Irish music from the traditional sense and what is considered more modern. It also demonstrates how people from different generations perceive music and its heritage. “It’s not the typical exhibit you see at the museum,” Dahl said. “It’s a contemporary issue that people should be

Sarah Hansen/Photo editor Patti Bonofiglio, secretary/receptionist for Academic Advising & Learning Support Services, views a traditional Irish drum in the exhibit on Oct. 19 in Walker Hall. more aware of and take a look at what we are changing.”

The exhibit introduces onlookers to the culture

of Ireland by playing traditional and current Irish music in the background, alternating between the two styles throughout the tour. “I wanted to better understand the sentiments of the different generations over the hybridization of traditional Irish music …with infusion of modern rock, pop, jazz and other genres,” a panel on Dahl’s exhibit read. Dahl’s exhibit leads onlookers through her experience in Ireland to the older generation’s view of music to the younger generation. “I thought it was really interesting,” junior Bouquet Harger said. “I liked the video and the music playing throughout.” The exhibit presented a great deal of culture. “I thought it was interest-

ing and informative — the traditional and popularized,” senior Craig Geffre said. As the last panel put it, “The history of Ireland is largely told through the singing of stories, and if the songs are forgotten, so are the stories.” Dahl’s exhibit is located in the Anthropology Museum in Walker Hall and will be open until the end of the semester. The exhibit is open Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. For more information about the exhibit, contact Dahl at bdahl@linfield.edu or Keni Sturgeon, adjunct professor of anthropology at kenis@missionmill.org. Tim Marl can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Choirs perform together

Joel Ray/Freelancer The Linfield choirs come together to sing a finale piece at their annual Fall Choral Concert, hosted by the Music Department on Oct. 17 in Ice Auditorium. The choirs also annually perform a Spring Choral Concert.


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

‘Cataclysm’ approaches for WoW fans Clayton Martin Freelancer Yes, the end is near … or is it? World of Warcraft: Cataclysm, gaming company Blizzard’s next big expansion for the Warcraft Universe, is set for release Dec. 7. Increasing the level cap to 85 is just one of the new adventures Blizzard undertakes for this expansion. Others include a complete level 1-60 environment and questing revamp, new level 80-85 content, revamped raids, revamped UI’s and a new bamf to kill at the end of it all: Deathwing. That’s right, Deathwing (a giant, bamf dragon, for those of you not privy to World of Warcraft lore) is coming, and he is pissed. He is so powerful that he actually “sunders” the land when he returns, causing the Cataclysm. This expansion has all 12 million of Blizzard’s loyal subscribers (that’s right, 12 million) either drooling at the mouth or trembling in fear as to which direction the expansion will take the game. For all the noobs out there, Blizzard has been increasingly pushing for conformity in the game mechanics (multiple classes having the same role or abilities), which is different from where the game began (everyone being completely independent). What do I have to say about it? Well, there isn’t much to be said. With the release of patch 4.0.1, Blizzard has definitely made things different. As always,

new things can be difficult to learn at first, but most of the experienced players are already well-attuned to the new mechanic changes Blizzard has made, and a majority of them are happy with it. Coming off an expansion that was lackluster at best (World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King), Cataclysm seems to be a promising game. An updated graphics engine along with changed class/game mechanics and a new raid system will breathe a second life into this game. Not like Blizzard has much to worry about though. Still increasing in subscribers, this game is ceasing to die despite all the criticism it receives from pop culture. With Activision now backing Blizzard and running all the finances, new paid features have been spawning like a zergling mass in StarCraft II. Race change, faction change and even purchasable in-game pets and mounts have increased the income for Blizzard. So what is the final verdict you ask? Even though I personally wish it would die so another game can take over, World of Warcraft: Cataclysm seems to be a promising expansion for the No. 1 MMORPG of all time. With all the new features and graphical changes, new and old players alike should find it an interesting take on the popular gaming series. Clayton Martin can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

October 22, 2010

Wildcats go ‘Bloom’

Joel Ray/Freelancer Dahga Bloom, an anglobeat band from Southern California, belts its tunes during a professional Cat Cab performance on Oct. 21 in the Fred Meyer Lounge.

Allo Darlin’ releases cheerful debut album Eric Tompkins KSLC 90.3 FM This week on the review rack we have some great music from across the pond: the self-titled, freshman effort of Allo Darlin’, a U.K.based band with folk and pop inclinations. It’s rare to have such a well-polished first effort from a newcomer, and while this isn’t the sort of catchy music you’re likely to hear on top 40 radio (either from the U.S. or the U.K.), none of the songs off “Allo Darlin’” stand out as singles. They are all equally good, and best of all, they’re fun to listen to. This is an ease-into-fall album: nothing too over the top or experimental, but it’s extraordinarily comforting music. In listening to an album these days, there’s often a bit of judgment from any newer band — a sort of uppity, in-your-face, we’re-artistsand-so-we-know-what-theworld-is-really-like, angsty, teenage one-upmanship. I suppose it’s the lack of this rebellion in “Allo Darlin’” that partially accounts for why it’s so cheerful. There’s a childlike innocence captured here in “Allo Darlin’,” and it’s nothing if not charming. Brilliantly optimistic and possessing the fluff and vocabulary of a teenage girl’s diary, Allo Darlin’ reminds us of why we like unpretentious music.

As with anything that’s well-made, it’s incredibly difficult to find a “single” in this album. However, there are a few tracks that stand out above the rest as not necessarily the most refined but certainly as the most interesting: “Kiss Your Lips,” “The Polaroid Song,” “Heartbeat Chilli,” and Allo Darlin’s magnum opus “Let’s Go Swimming” are songs worth giving a first listen to. My favorite track of this album would certainly have to be “Let’s Go Swimming,” which has a definite, American country twang to it, although overall it sounds like a combination of Midwestern influences and West-coast beach breeziness. It’s a meeting of different genres, there are influences from Belle and Sebastien, the twang of The Cure’s guitars, the vocals of Club 8 and a bit of the trippy soundscapes of Boards of Canada or Great Lake Swimmers. It’s got a bit of every sound tailored into a single track, and it’s a full-bodied showcase of the band’s musical potential. This being a first album, there are some rough bits that could use some polishing out; the lyrics in most songs on this LP are crammed into the music or are merely overlaid, as if both music and lyrics are unaware of each other. This works, in a way, but the lyrics usually make little sense, anyway, or are downright sinister in some

Photo courtesy of www.allodarlin.com. U.K.-based band Allo Darlin’ released its self-titled debut album in early October on British record label Fortuna Pop. cases. Perhaps it’s best that we don’t notice them, such as with “Heartbeat Chilli”: “It seems silly, but spaghetti has two heartbeats in the recipe/ so come over and give your heart to me.” Awkward and slightly creepy. If there is a second, hopelessly Achaean flaw about Allo Darlin’, it’s Elizabeth Morris’ and Paul Rain’s strange vocal choices, which occasionally backfire with results that will make the more cultured listener’s ears hurt from the funky discord. This is best illustrated with “Dreaming,” the opening track. Starting midrange, Morris’ vocals build pleasantly higher with the instrumental backing, and this seems like a good song initially — that is until Paul

Rain’s deep, bassy voice awkwardly breaks in, without either singer attempting to harmonize with the other. This track is out of place given the gentle tone of the rest of the album. Abrupt and discombobulated, it is this album’s single greatest disappointment. Overall, this is a great album, with a few, small weak spots. This is not lifechanging music; you aren’t likely to find some poetic wisdom in the lyrics, but it makes the listener happy, and what’s not to like about that? Tune in to KSLC 90.3 FM to hear Allo Darlin’s debut album. Eric Tompkins can be reached at ksclmusic@gmail.com.


Sports

October 22, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

13

Winning streak over, ends for No. 4 ’Cats Matt Bayley Staff reporter Men’s soccer defeated George Fox University on Oct. 16, but the team’s three-game winning streak was snapped after a tough loss to Pacific University on Oct. 17. Senior midfielder Michel Camacho scored Linfield’s lone goal in the 1-0 win against George Fox. The ’Cats shut out the Bruins, not allowing a single goal in 90 minutes of play. The ’Cats took the lead in the first half following Camacho’s score. Senior midfielder Kevin Donato set up the goal with his fifth assist of the season. Donato and Camacho lead the team in assists and goals, respectively, for the season. Linfield outshot George Fox 22-13. The Bruins hold an 0-8 conference record following the loss, and an 0-10-1 record overall. The ’Cats moved on to Pacific, losing the game 0-4. It was the second time the Boxers held the ’Cats scoreless this season. Pacific held a large advantage in shot attempts, finishing the game with 19 compared with Linfield’s two. Senior Boxer defender Avery Neal scored a goal late in the first half. Junior midfielder Patrick Murray

scored shortly after to give Pacific a 2-0 lead. The ’Cats were outshot 11-1 in the first half. Linfield continued to struggle in the second half, managing only a single shot to Pacific’s eight attempts. Senior midfielder Colin Bebee attempted Linfield’s only shot on the goal. Senior Boxer midfielder Kizamu Tsutakawa put the game out of reach with two goals in the second half. Tsutakawa leads the Boxers with seven goals this season. Pacific is now 11-1-2 overall and hold a 7-1-1 conference record. Despite another tough loss to Pacific, sophomore forward Danny Snelgrow remains confident in the team’s abilities. “I feel our team can match up very well with the tougher teams if we play focused and on key,” he said. “I don’t want to take any credit away from Pacific and their defense, but we definitely weren’t in sync.” Snelgrow also stressed the importance of execution. “Our mental preparation needs to be a little better, but a lot of it is just trusting our teammates,” he said. “When we start getting on our teammates about making mistakes, they make more mistakes, so we need to just let it go and play.”

Head coach Ian Lefebvre said that missing players decreased the team’s offensive abilities against Pacific. “We were missing two guys: Danny [Snelgrow] and Michel [Camacho]. We had to make an adjustment and pull Colin Bebee into the back line,” he said. “So we had two guys up front who hadn’t put much time in up front, and that kind of took away our offensive firepower with our two leading goal scorers on the bench.” Next up for the ’Cats is a meeting with Pacific Lutheran University on Oct. 23. The Lutes hold a 7-6-1 overall record and a 6-3 conference record. The ’Cats are 6-6-1 this season with a 5-4 conference record. The match will present the ’Cats with a chance to tie Pacific Lutheran’s conference record. Linfield is currently fourth in conference standings, but a win on Oct. 23 would tie them with Pacific Lutheran for second. The ’Cats play the University of Puget Sound on Oct. 24. The teams last met Sept. 18, when the ’Cats were defeated 2-1 in Tacoma, Wash. Snelgrow said the coming game is important to the team. “It’s going to be a big game for us, and if we can

Victor Zhu/Freelancer Senior Colin Bebee practices as the Wildcats prepare for the weekend when the ’Cats take on University of Puget Sound and Pacific Lutheran University at home. come out with the ‘W,’ it’s going to help us out a lot more,” he said. “We just need to play focused and together.” Lefebvre agreed with Snelgrow, saying he’s looking for a strong finish to the

season. “I hope to finish it on a positive note. I feel like we still have a chance to finish in the top three. That’s where I would like to finish, and we have the ability,” he said. “It’s going to take a

lot of hard work and strong leadership toward the end of the season.” Kickoff for both Oct. 23 and 24 is at 2:30 p.m. at home. Matt Bayley can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Linfield sports love lives in loyal hearts

Sports Commentary Chris Forrer Freelancer Hey ’Cats. Now that we’re midway through the fall 2010 season, I thought I’d take a minute to step away from analyzing sports and look to the heart of some Linfield aspects that I only fully realized recently. Linfield has a lot of love, in terms of its sporting teams. In fact, this might be the most lovely campus I have ever seen or heard of. Yes, even more than the football titan that is the University of Oregon, which lies only a few, short

hours away. Linfield loves its teams, and they love it back. Don’t believe me? I don’t blame you (unless you’re just basing your disagreement on Division-III hate, in which case you don’t matter). After all, Linfield is small; this fact is readily apparent in our new slogan and symbol. Ignoring the obvious chance for a phallic joke, the small Linfield community is indeed a powerful one. Our football program, holder of the NCAA alldivisions record for consecutive winning seasons, has consistent fan support pour in through large attendance at home games. Alumni, who have loved their Linfield since their first tentative steps through Melrose Hall, come out for these games in droves. Heck, we even have a pretty decent tailgating scene on Saturday mornings in the south parking

lot out by Ford Hall. And if anyone tries to tell you that Linfield sports are a one-trick pony (foot-

As someone who is not an athlete, I can’t say I personally relate; but as a theater major, I know that

... [I]f anyone tries to tell you that Linfield sports are a one-trick pony (football), think again. ball), think again. The women’s soccer team is having a season that has surpassed all expectation. They are in the thick of the conference race and are playing some inspired ball right now, and it has not gone unnoticed. Attendance at these games has seen a noticeable increase. That’s right, folks; the students respond when their sports teams need them to. The uptick in fan support for our ladies has no doubt had an impact.

when the house is packed on a show night, I bring my “A+” game every time. In turn, the athletes pour their souls into this school’s sports teams. I don’t think many of you realize just how loyal Linfield’s athletes are to the Old Oak and all it stands for. Take senior quarterback Aaron Boehme. I’ve been able to talk with him often in my short time at Linfield while writing about the football team, and one day last spring, I had a curious

question in the back of my mind. Boehme is a stellar athlete, sure, but with graduation looming and a year of eligibility left, he had some decisions to make. Luckily, I found him on Facebook one night, and I asked him these questions: “Are you planning on coming back next year?” and “What do you want to do after graduation?” His answers were indicative of the aforementioned truths about Linfield athletics. “Yes, I’m coming back,” he said. “And when I graduate, I want to teach high school. Maybe coach some day.” Do you follow me, Linfield? Are you picking up what I’m putting down? Boehme doesn’t have plans to play after college. Coming back for his senior year wouldn’t boost his draft stock or get him any closer to becoming a teacher. If anything, it could only put him at risk

to seriously hurt himself during the course of the season. But his drive to win a national championship for this school is so deep, so all-pervasive and so passionate that he put his career plans on hold to come out for one last goaround and try to bring glory to Linfield and all its students. That’s what I call loyalty, and that’s what I call love. How often in Division-I programs do we see amazing athletes spurn their colleges to make the jump to the pros and chase the almighty dollar? Sam Bradford did it; Mark Sanchez did it. But that is something you will never see a Linfield athlete do. Students, your athletes love you, and they love this school. So give a little love this week — for them and for what it stands for. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

October 22, 2010

Football: Second half flaunts younger quarterbacks << Continued from page 16 junior Joe Kloucek. At halftime, the Wildcats led 49-7. “We executed very well,” Smith said. “At one point, our coaching staff was joking that since all of our plays were looking so good, we should just pick one arbitrarily.” In between the Linfield drives, the Wildcat defense did its part by shutting down Pacific’s young offensive unit. The ’Cats racked up four sacks in the second quarter alone — three from senior defensive back Eric Hedin. Hedin collected seven tackles and four sacks, continuing a stellar season. “I feel like we had a pretty big advantage over Pacific’s offensive line given the fact that they were mostly all freshmen,” Funk said. “But then again, we have a pretty big advantage over most lines considering the talent and depth we have.” The second half saw Linfield play three more young quarterbacks in sophomore Mickey Inns and freshmen Logan Krellwitz and Josh Yoder. Inns and Yoder threw touchdown passes in the second half, and all three young play-callers were a combined

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer Sophomore wide receiver Josh Hill goes down with the ball during the Homecoming game against Pacific University. The Wildcats beat Pacific University’s first year team, 66-14 on Oct. 16. 4 of 7 with 63 yards. With a 37-yard field goal by sophomore kicker Josh Kay and a meaningless Pacific touchdown late in the third quarter, the final margin was

set at 66-14. For Yoder, it was a memorable end to a memorable first game. “Going into the game with that big of a lead, I didn’t

Tacoma, Wash., to face Pacific Lutheran University on Oct. 23 for a game which has NWC championship implications since both squads are undefeated in conference play.

The Wildcats are ranked No. 12 in the www.d3football.com’s Top 25 poll, and the Lutes sit at No. 22. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Sports briefs

Golf

The men’s golf team competed in the Whitman Invitational on Oct. 16 and 17, finishing one stroke behind Whitworth University. On the first day of the tournament, senior Yutaro Sakamoto carded a seasonbest, five-under-par 67. With a 72, junior Alex Fitch took fourth place. Whitworth was in the lead with a 292, and the Wildcats were behind by five strokes. On the second day, Sakamoto remained in the lead and received medalist honors for a total score of 139. Junior Alex Fitch hit a round-best 71 on Oct. 17 and finished with a total score of one-under-par 143. Freshmen Tommy Schmitz and A.J. Taylor tied for 18th place with scores of 156. The Wildcats ended their game five strokes behind Whitworth to one stroke down for a final score of 592. -Compiled by Tim Marl

Sport

expect to get to pass much,” Yoder said. “When it turned out to go for a touchdown in my first college game, it really made it special.” The ’Cats will travel to

Swimming

Half of last year’s swimmers graduated, and the team this year is as fresh as the water in the pool. Team captains junior Marc Pereira and senior Adriana Daoust said they see this year as an opportunity to grow a new team into a close-knit unit capable of winning and producing a new generation of Linfield swimmers. They organize weekly bonding events, such as pantless Tuesdays and “feed the upperclassmen” brunches. The two ensure that, although the teams are separated by gender, they are not treating them as such. Head coach Gary Gutierrez, said the team’s youth can be a beneficial factor. “Having role models to look up to is good, but having too many talented people can be off-putting,” he said. As for specifics on what he intends to do to make the team a success, Gutierrez said it’s up to the team to decide what it wants to focus on. “Those guys are more in charge of their experience here than I am,” he said. -Compiled by Matt Sunderland

Wildcat sports schedule

Date

Opponent or event

Location

Time

Volleyball

Oct. 22

Puget Sound

Tacoma, Wash.

7 p.m.

Football

Oct. 23

Pacific Lutheran

Puyallup, Wash.

12:30 p.m.

Men’s golf

Oct. 23-24

NWC Fall Classic

Redmond, Ore.

1:30 p.m.

Women’s golf

Oct. 23-24

NWC Fall Classic

Bend, Ore.

All day

Men’s soccer

Oct. 23

Pacific Lutheran

McMinnville

2:30 p.m.

Women’s soccer

Oct. 23

Pacific Lutheran

McMinnville

Noon

Volleyball

Oct. 23

Whitman

Walla Walla, Wash.

All day

Men’s soccer

Oct. 24

Puget Sound

McMinnville

2:30 p.m.


Sports

October 22, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

15

’Cats claw up to first place in conference Katey Barger Staff reporter

Victor Zhu/Freelancer Freshman Emily Fellows dribbles past Pacific University junior Shelyce Ichimura during an Oct. 17 game at home. The Wildcats won 5-0.

Linfield dominated its Northwest Conference opponents, Lewis & Clark College and Pacific University, Oct. 16 and 17. The Wildcats brought two wins home and left their opponents scoreless in each game. The team now holds a 9-2 standing in the NWC, which puts the team one loss behind the top-ranked University of Puget Sound Loggers (9-1). Lewis & Clark holds a last-place ranking among the NWC teams, but going into Saturday’s game, the ’Cats didn’t look past their opponents. “We try to take it one game at a time and not get ahead of ourselves,” freshman Emily Fellows said. Before the half, Linfield made nine unsuccessful goal attempts, which resulted in a 0-0 halftime score.

Minutes into the second half, Fellows scored off of a penalty kick to put the team up 1-0. Near the end of the game, freshman Lindsay Dahl scored a second goal, sealing the 2-0 win for the Wildcats. Throughout the game, the team held the Pioneers to only two goal attempts and left them with a 0-9 overall NWC record. “We really capitalized on the scoring opportunities,” Fellows said. “We moved the ball around really well, too.” The home game against Pacific on Oct. 17 saw many scoring opportunities. Fellows scored Linfield’s first goal after 15 minutes of play off a well-timed pass from senior Rachel Miles. Sophomore Anna Sours scored 1 minute before halftime to put the Wildcats up 2-0. The second half brought three more goals for the team. Freshman Stephanie Socotch

scored in the 55th minute, and Fellows scored her second goal of the game 6 minutes later. Junior Emily Schulte scored the last goal in the 76th that finished the game. Pacific ended the game scoreless and now holds a 5-4-1 NWC standing. Linfield’s goalie, senior Kelsey Hasselblad, made four saves during the weekend and now has 426 total saves, which makes her Linfield’s No. 1 goal-saver. With Linfield in the running for first place in the NWC, the team is looking forward to the rest of the victorious season. “It’s really exciting,” Fellows said. “We have lived up to our potential; we just need to keep playing hard and show up to play.” The Wildcat’s next game is at home against Pacific Lutheran University on Oct. 23. Kick-off is at 11 a.m. Katey Barger can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Volleyball drops one spot in NWC Jerry Young Freelancer The Linfield volleyball team dropped to fourth place in the NWC with a record of 6-4 — three games out from first place. This record comes after beating Pacific University on Oct. 13, and losing to Willamette University on Oct. 15. On the road against Pacific, the Wildcats knew they were in for a tough match. Coach Shane Kimura said he was impressed with how his team handled the energized Pacific crowd. “The players responded well to the crowd. I don’t think we handled it very well at the start,” he said. “After a while, we got a handle on it, and we stopped hearing the crowd.” With the score tied at 13 in the first game, the Wildcats scored the next five points to pull ahead 18-13. Linfield never looked back and won the game 25-22. Junior defensive specialist Kelsey Franklin pointed out that while the crowd wasn’t on its side, the ’Cats still played off the energy. “We definitely brought our own energy and that was sustained by feeding off of the crowd,” Franklin said. In the second game, Pacific pulled ahead late and squeaked out a tough win 25-20. It seemed the momentum was shifting toward the Boxers, and as the third game neared an

end, Pacific held a 23-21 lead over the Wildcats. However, the team responded in true Wildcat fashion by scoring the final four points of the game to win 25-23. The fourth game played out similarly to the third. The teams battled back and forth, and Pacific pulled ahead late in the game with a 24-23 lead. It needed one more point to force a fifth game. The Wildcats responded again by scoring three straight points to seal the victory at 26-24. Kimura said it was great to see the team pull out close games on the road. “The ability for us to maintain focus, especially at the end of games three and four, was impressive,” he said. “We were able to come back, stay in it and then win those close games.” With an impressive road victory in the books, Linfield traveled back home for a match against Willamette. In the first game, the teams went back and forth with gaining control. With the score tied at 21, Willamette pulled and won the game 25-22. Linfield never recovered. It lost the second game 25-14 and dropped the third 25-20. Both Franklin and Kimura said that they had chances to win this match but never took advantage

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer Junior Tara Hill reaches up to spike the ball during a win against George Fox University on Oct. 9. of them. “We had leads in every game, and we weren’t able to sustain them,” Kimura said. “We also got caught in some rotations where we gave up a lot of points. And Willamette played well.” Franklin said much of the match came down to not playing hard enough. “We were playing timid; we always need to play to win,” she said. Linfield’s next four games are on the road. The first two are against the University of Puget Sound

and Lewis & Clark College. Kimura said the key for him was to make sure the team learns from past matches and moves on. “For us, we focus on what we need to do to get better,” he said. “Every time we come into the gym, hopefully, we will be a little bit better both mentally and physically.” The Wildcats return to Linfield Nov. 5 for their final home match of the season. Jerry Young can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


16

sports

www.linfieldreview.com

Catline

October 22, 2010

Northwest Conference standings Football Linfield

3-0

1.000

Pacific Lutheran

2-0

1.000

Willamette

2-1

.667

Lewis & Clark

1-1

.500

Whitworth

1-1

.500

Puget Sound

0-3

.000

Pacific

0-3

.000

Puget Sound

9-1

.900

Whitworth

8-2

.800

Pacific Lutheran

7-3

.700

Volleyball

Linfield

6-4

.600

Lewis & Clark

4-6

.400

George Fox

3-7

.300

Willamette

3-7

.300

Whitman

3-7

.300

Pacific

2-8

.200

Women’s soccer Puget Sound

9-1

.900

Linfield

9-2

.818

Whitworth

8-2-1

.773

Pacific

5-4-1

.550

Willamette

5-5-1

.500

Pacific Lutheran

3-6-1

.350

3-8

.273

Whitman George Fox

2-7-1

.250

Lewis & Clark

0-9-1

.050

7-1-1

.883

Men’s soccer Pacific Pacific Lutheran Puget Sound Linfield Whitman

6-3

.667

4-2-3

.611

5-4

.556

4-3-2

.556

Whitworth

4-4-1

.500

Willamette

1-6-2

.222

George Fox

0-8-1

.056

Men’s soccer stays put The Wildcats suffered a tough loss against Pacific University, but the weekend at home could bring a win. See page 13 >> Swimming into high gear Swimming practices have kicked off, and the teams first meet is quickly approaching. See page 14 >> Sports schedule Missed out on the sporting events last weekend? Check out the sports schedule to see your favorite teams play this weekend. See page 14>> Wildcats tie for first again The Wildcats tie for the No. 1 spot in the Northwest Conference with the Loggers of University of Puget Sound. See page 15 >>

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer Senior receiver Chris Slezak fends off Pacific University freshman Joseph Dunn on a run during the Homecoming game on Oct. 16.

Boxers knocked out at Homecoming game Chris Forrer Freelancer In what has become a familiar story this season, the Wildcats scored early and often in a 66-14 romp over Pacific University on Oct. 16’s Homecoming game at the Catdome. Pacific, playing its first football season in more than 20 years, looked more than outmatched on both sides of the ball, allowing Linfield to gain 557 yards of total offense and only picking up 273. Besides another big Northwest Conference win, the game also allowed some of the younger ’Cats to see their first extended action on the field. These players included freshmen quarterback Josh Yoder and cornerback Brandon Funk. Head coach Joseph Smith said he was pleased with the performance of his young players.

“All of our younger and backup players played really well,” Smith said. “I was especially pleased with Josh Yoder’s play. He threw some great balls while he was in.” While the game certainly had a youthful tone overall, the first half still belonged to the old dogs. Senior quarterback Aaron Boehme did his most efficient work of the year, completing 10 of 12 passes for 171 yards in only one quarter of play. He also added a pair of early touchdown passes to junior receiver Deidre Wiersma and senior receiver Chris Slezak. This far in the season, Boehme has amassed 1,270 yards and 11 touchdowns in the air and an additional 182 yards and six scores rushing.

Boehme has also given up six interceptions, but Smith said that statistic is misleading. “Aaron [Boehme] is having a tremendous season,” Smith said. “Some of those interceptions are bad tips or fluke plays — over half aren’t on him. I’m pleased with him.” Senior tailback Simon Lamson got the game rolling in a powerful fashion on the Wildcats’ opening drive by punching through the line and streaking down the field for a 39-yard touchdown

Volleyball hits the road Volleyball travels north to Pacific Lutheran University and Whitman College for this weekend’s matches. See page 15 >> Follow The Linfield Review on Twitter for Wildcat sports updates: @Linfield_Review.

Danyelle Myers/ Freelancer Senior Chris Slezak displays the ball after a touchdown against Pacific University on Oct. 16 at home.

run, which sent the fans in the Catdome into a frenzy. Pacific quickly answered, however, by taking advantage of broken coverage on a 79-yard touchdown pass from freshmen quarterback P.J. Minaya to wide receiver Jordan Fukumoto. Boehme then tossed his touchdown throws on back-to-back possessions, and Funk leapt up to pick off a Minaya pass to snuff out a Pacific drive for the first interception of his career. “It felt awesome to get my first interception,” Funk said. “And having it in the Catdome  made it that much better.” Boehme and Lamson left the game shortly after the first quarter began and gave way to reserve seniors quarterback Cole Bixenman and running back Taylor Avritt. Avritt, who saw sizable action early last season after Lamson broke his collarbone, spearheaded a drive downfield and scored on a short 5-yard scamper to cap it. Bixenman led two more scoring drives and launched two scoring strikes of his own — one to freshman Conner Varnell and one to >> Please see Football page 14


TLR Issue 8 10-22-2010