Issuu on Google+

Softball loses regionals in Tyler, Texas on May 10 and 11 >> page 16

May 13, 2013

INSIDE Margaret Groening

Margaret Groening, class of ’41 and mother of “The Simpsons” creator passed away April 22.

>> page 4

Fulbright Scholars

Find out who won Fulbright scholarships and will soon be participating in English Teaching Assistance programs abroad. >> page 7

Spring choir concert Linfield’s choirs perform in the last concert of the year, which focuses on Linfield’s PLACE theme, “Legacies of War.” >> page 11

Comedian

Marc Lamotte visits and performs at Linfield, sharing stories from his life May 11 in Ice Auditorium. >> page 11

Linfield College

Harvard professor to speak at graduation

Read about senior Tim Wilson, a two-time All American and three-time first team all conference player on Linfield’s baseball team. >> page 15

INSIDE

Editorial ...................... 2 News ........................... 4 Features........................ 7 Culture....................... 10 Sports ........................ 16

McMinnville, Ore.

118th Year

Issue No. 22

Performers rock Wildstock

Kaylyn Peterson Copy chief Graduation is just around the corner, whether those graduating have chosen to accept it yet. As the long journey comes to a close, the alumna chosen to give the commencement address shares her story and advice to take advantage of all the opportunities offered at Linfield. Theresa (Stichick) Betancourt graduated in 1991 with a degree in psychology and a minor in international studies and art. Now, 21 years later, Betancourt is a professor at the Harvard School of Public Health and director of the Research Program on Children and Global Adversity at the FXB Center for Health and Human Rights. But she says she wouldn’t be where she is today without everything she learned while at Linfield. “Linfield helps you build an excellent foundation for so many things that you might want to do in the future,” Betancourt said. As her success and research grows, Betancourt said that Linfield is a great place to start out. “It’s a tremendous foundation,” Betancourt said. “[Students] are well-prepared. Linfield gives you a broad and well-grounded education.” Working for the Upward Bound program, Betancourt served as a tutor during the school year and a counselor in the summer. Through working with the different students in the Upward Bound program, Betancourt found the motivation to work with refugees. Also influencing her passion for cultural studies was her interactions with the International Programs Office (IPO). >> Please see Graduation page 4

Tim Wilson

Joel Ray/Senior photographer Richard Andrew, known by his stage name Outasight, performs along with The Ready Set and Rootdown during Linfield’s Wildstock on May 10 on the I.M. Field.

>> Please see Wildstock page 5

Linfield takes students to see Dalai Lama Kelsey Sutton Managing editor His Holiness the Dalai Lama recently traveled to Portland to give multiple speeches and participate in an Environmental Summit. Linfield students were given the opportunity to attend events on May 9 and 11. Maitripa College, the first Buddhist College in the Pacific Northwest, hosted the event, along with the University of Portland. David Fiordalis, associate professor of the Linfield Religious

Studies Department, contacted colleagues at Maitripa College and requested the tickets for his classes. He also offered the opportunity to other students not in the Religious Studies Department, allowing junior Robin Fahy to organize a pool of tickets for students who otherwise might not get the chance to go. “The main reason I chose to see the Dalai Lama is my interest in Buddhist philosophy and thought,” freshman Mariel PratzAlbert said in an email. “I am also

sympathetic toward the Dalai Lama and his advocating of Tibetan autonomy. So I thought the chance to see such a highly regarded individual would be an opportunity that I just couldn’t pass up.” The Dalai Lama spoke in many sessions, first at the University of Portland on May 9 in an interfaith gathering and an additional session in the afternoon. He spoke about the importance of preserving the environment and the responsibility we all have to the Earth. On May 11 he participated in a

panel alongside Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber; Andrea Durbin, executive director of the Oregon Environmental Council; and scientist David Suzuki, with the theme of “Universal Responsibility and the Global Environment.” The rock band “The Red Hot Chili Peppers” played a 90-minute set, concluding the day with a Q-and-A session. “I expected the Dalai Lama to speak more on fundamental Bud>> Please see Dalai page 4


2

Opinions

www.linfieldreview.com EDITORIAL The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com Editor-in-chief Jessica Prokop Managing editor Kelsey Sutton Copy chief Kaylyn Peterson Copy editor Kiera Downs Business manager Jessica Pham News editor Samantha Sigler Sports editor Ivanna Tucker Culture editor Carrie Skuzeski Features editor Sarah Mason Opinion editor Alyssa Townsend

May 13, 2013

Study abroad fears set straight Linfield is known for its great study abroad opportunities. You cannot walk across campus without meeting someone who studied abroad and absolutely loved it. This opportunity is something we are all lucky and proud to have. Since hearing about a student being robbed while abroad, some students have been worried that they might not be as prepared as they originally thought they would be. “Linfield requires all participants to attend a study abroad orientation, which also includes preorientation assignments. Students are also encouraged to take a course in Intercultural Communication and to attain a high level of proficiency in the target language,” said

Shaik Ismail, director of International Programs. “Aside from general cross-cultural factors, issues of cultural adaptation and societal values of the host country, students also learn about the specifics of the host city, country and about the host institution itself, he said. “The orientation program goes into various ‘real-life’ scenarios that are aimed to prepare students for unforeseen circumstances. We also discuss issues of health and safety and how to avert or minimize exposure to risk.” Although study abroad preparations are thorough, it may be beneficial to make programs even more individualized, depending on the

country the student is traveling to. Since cultural values, beliefs and norms are different depending on the country, it is important that students are educated on differences. “Educational systems and the culture of learning vary quite a bit, depending upon where you go to study. One of the outcomes we seek from our students is the ability to negotiate successfully within a system that is markedly different than the one we are accustomed to in the U.S.,” Ismail said. Ultimately, students are given adequate tools to be prepared to study abroad. It is their job to use these tools and tailor them to their specific

needs. So no one needs to worry excessively about studying abroad. Linfield provides students with the appropriate tools to deal with difficult situations. Otherwise, it is your own duty to continue preparing individually and specifically for the country you are going to. “We try to individualize these sessions as much as possible, bringing in faculty experts of the countries and universities where our students will be studying. Students are also encouraged to learn as much as possible about their host country in the pre-departure assignments,” Ismail said. -The Review Editorial Board

Review office hours Editor-in-chief Tuesdays 2:30 p.m.-3 p.m. Sundays 12:00-3:00 p.m. or by appointment Managing editor Mondays 1:30 p.m. -2:00 p.m. Fridays 12:30 p.m.-1:00 p.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter @linfieldreview and on Facebook

Corrections

In May 6th’s issue, the news article on Linfield’s second annual Frederick Douglass Forum on Law, Rights and Justice contained an incorrect fact. Senior Aaron Good placed first in the forum and senior Mary Campbell placed second.

Photo editor Kate Straube Online editor Nicole Johnson Graphics/ads designer Brinn Hovde Illustrator Lionel Parra Multimedia editor Julian Adoff Senior reporter Chris Haddeland Senior photographer Joel Ray Tyson Takeuchi Circulation manager Samantha Sigler Columnists Tyler Bradley Kourtney Bailey Adviser Brad Thompson Associate Professor of Mass Communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Mondays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2013 ONPA second place Best Website 2013 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than noon Friday to appear in the Review the following Monday. Letters are limited to 2,500 characters or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

Lionel Parra/Illustrator

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR I’m writing in response to the editorial on donation requests. As a student who works at Phonathon in the College Relations Department, I, more than most, understand why Phonathon is so vital to the college. The fact that I receive scholarships and that they were one of the deciding factors in my decision to attend Linfield also enhances my understanding of the importance of philanthropy. Linfield College is a wonderful school and

the community here is close-knit and extremely supportive; the affinity for supporting one another is also present in our alumni and parents. It isn’t difficult to see just how much they love and support us— all you have to do is look at the numbers. More than 2,500 alumni and 765 parents give every year to Linfield because they all believe in Linfield and its students, in us. They know the power of a good education, and they understand

I put this under other, as it’s not purely a complaint or a correction that needs to be reprinted in a later edition by any means (as what I read appeared in the opinions section of the newspaper anyway),

but can maybe just serve as a reminder (if anyone wants to take it) to make sure what is being said is actually true, and not merely exaggerated stories influenced by media overlooking the facts of the case.

the value of giving back to the Linfield Community. It is because of them that more than 93 percent of students can rely on scholarships and financial aid each year, myself being one of them. Not only do those donations go toward scholarships, but they also make a huge impact on our daily lives here at Linfield. Not many students know that tuition only covers 86 percent of what it actually costs to educate a Linfield student, and without (Just to reiterate, this comment is not meant to be taken as an insult or harsh criticism by any means) In the opinions section on page 3 of the April issue, a student wrote an article that rose good points

the support of our extended community, we would not be here. This is why we have events like Tuition Free Day. Tuition Free Day, which we celebrated April 18, represents when our tuition runs out and the rest of the year is paid for with donations. Without donations from people like our alumni and our parents, we would not be able to be in school right now; the semester would have had to end on April 18. called “Be smart, don’t ruin things for others.” Though I agree with what she said about underage drinking, her comments about the coffee lawsuit irked me a little, as it was a bit

This is a tangible reminder of how important donations are to the college, and how much we are indebted to our donors. So yes, Linfield is an expensive school, but it also takes care to lower costs as much as it can for students and their parents. The only way it can do that is if we have donor support. Phonathon is a way for students to reach out to the donors, not only to ask them to continue their support, but also to thank them. apparent there wasn’t research done about it beforehand. In this case, McDonald’s was clearly at fault for the burns suffered by the 79-year-old lady as the store was repeatedly warned the tem-

Being a caller has given me the invaluable opportunity to personally thank our alumni, parents, and friends of the college who donate. Knowing that they all have a hand in my education and my experience at Linfield is incredibly moving. I want them to know, as I want you to know, just how much we rely on their support and are grateful to them for believing in us.

Kelsey Hatley ‘13 perature of its coffee was too hot (180-190 degrees) and did not comply with regulation.

Kadi White ‘13


May 13, 2013

Opinions

www.linfieldreview.com

3

POLITICS

News outlets should encourage the use of comedy Recently, the White House Correspondents dinner has made me think about the use of comedy in politics and news in general, and how the popular comedy news sources are still under fire as not being legitimate forms of news information. Comedy Central shows like “The Daily Show” and “The Colbert Report” have become more successful during the years following an upward trend as traditional news sources and newspapers are going out of business. This information isn’t new, but it is surprising to see the shift during the last 13 years.

Olivia Marovich Staff writer In a 2009 study that shocked many people in the journalism world, 21 percent of 18 to 29 year olds said these comedy shows were their main source of news, growing from 9 percent in 2000. Only 23 percent said they found information from the broadcast news

sources, which had fallen from 39 percent. Since the creation of journalism, there has always been news satire, one of the most famous satirists being author Mark Twain. There is obviously a trend for younger audiences toward these comedy news sources. So why are so many people fighting the idea of using comedy in journalism? I understand the main goal in journalism is to write with objectivity, to present the facts and let the audience decide how to view a story. But like Rachel Smolkin wrote in her 2007 article, there are many things journalists can

learn from shows like John Stewart’s, including audience numbers. As readership for major news sources goes down, maybe variety and comedy is exactly what is needed to keep people reading. There should still be a commitment to the facts, but after seeing five or eight or 10 articles with the same facts on major news websites, I’m not going to want to read another boring article with the same information. Instead, as so many people in my generation are now doing, I’m going to go to YouTube and watch interviews by Zach Galifianakis. Wouldn’t it

be great if news media could begin to try and break into this audience market? Though news shows like the ones on Comedy Central may not be giving us all the news information we need, they still make us more informed than we would be otherwise. If more news sites began to engage a younger audience with comedy, it would be much easier to get people to pay attention to the stuff that counts. I’ll admit that one of the reasons I kept informed during the 2012 election was because I wanted to know who the people were that I was laughing at while watch-

ing the Bad Lip Reading videos. And though I sometimes disagree with its choices, The Onion tweets on my twitter feed are often a welcome break from the monotony of news information. It’s not that I don’t appreciate traditional news, but sometimes I want variety. I want to be able to agree with journalists because they are showing me their opinions. Sometimes I want to laugh because I know other people in the world are seeing the same ridiculousness I am and aren’t afraid to call others out on it.

Olivia Marovich can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

CAMPUS LIFE

Landscaping, maintenance goes overboard

When spring comes around, the leaf blowers and lawn mowers come out to play all day long. I understand the school’s desire to keep the campus looking attractive, but the level of maintenance is sometimes over the top. Linfield has bright green lawns and pristine bushes and flowers, and that’s something that really attracts prospective students and parents. But will it really matter if the grass is longer than an inch and there is some dirt on the sidewalks? I don’t enjoy being suddenly woken up from a delicious slumber by a heinously loud riding lawn mower driving right past my open window at 9 a.m. And as soon as I fall back asleep, along comes a trimmer, loudly grazing the edge of the grass that no one ever looks at. My room and apartment are then filled with the lovely morning smells of gas fumes and cut grass, which don’t go away for hours. In the afternoon, this disrupting maintenance continues outside of classroom windows, making it next to impossible to hear what the professor is saying and distracting the whole class. It’s to the point where it feels like it happens all day, every day. Okay, my rant is over. The point is, the school could afford to cool it a bit with the landscaping. The campus is beautiful as it is. It seems that there is constantly some kind of machine running somewhere on campus. It then makes me wonder about the sustainability of it all. As stated in our Decem-

Kelsey Sutton Managing editor ber editorial, Linfield uses 4-cycle blowers instead of 2-cycle blowers in an effort to be more environmentally conscious and produce less exhaust emissions. This is great, but I still think that less maintenance would be a better option. Less fuel use is less fuel use. I just think that there is an excess amount of maintenance on our campus. There is nothing wrong with some overgrown foliage and not-so-perfectly manicured shrubs. It seems like an unimportant priority to me, and those are just my personal beliefs. Some people enjoy seeing uniform landscapes and consider overgrowth to be an eyesore. But I prefer a more natural look. It’s one thing I love about Oregon—the lush, wildly growing plants and trees. I don’t see why a college campus has to be so tightly and neatly maintained. It begins to feel somewhat forced and unnatural. I sincerely wonder the impact that less landscaping would have on our community. I’m guessing little to none, and I think that few would even notice. The campus would still be beautiful.

Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Lionel Parra/Illustrator

TRANSPORTATION

McMinnville could be more bicycle friendly Many of us have bicycles or rent them from the bike co-op. We are, after all, college students on a budget and not all of us can afford cars. We all know it is common knowledge that wearing your bicycle helmet can prevent injuries and save lives. You don’t have to wear your helmet over the age of 16, but let’s face it; it would be a good idea. Not all of us wear bike helmets and I myself have been guilty of this. But have we ever really thought about why we aren’t wearing helmets? I have ridden my bike into town a few times, and it’s not exactly the safest

Kiera Downs Copy editor place for a cyclist. There are not many bike lanes, and the bike lanes that are present are in pretty bad condition. Three weeks ago, I fell off my bike three miles off campus on Highway 99. I was trying to turn into a driveway so I could get up onto the sidewalk. Instead, my bike hit some divots in the road and I slid across the side-

walk scraping up my hands, a knee and bruising my other leg. I am really lucky that I did not fall into the road, especially since I was not wearing my helmet. A pedestrian about 20 feet behind me did not bother to see if I was okay. Nor did the cars driving past bother to stop or even slow down. Not knowing what else to do, I got up and with bloody hands, I grabbed my bike and continued to my destination where I was able to wash my hands and put on Band-Aids. Now, I have scars on both hands, and I am afraid to bike anywhere. The part that bothered me the most was the fact

that cars did not even bother to slow down. This is a college town and there are a lot of bicycles on this campus so you would think that McMinnville would be more bicycle friendly by having clearly marked bike lanes, free from divots or potholes and that drivers would be considerate of bicycles. Bikers beware! Read the bicycle manual, available at the DMV and learn the turn and stop signals. Then use them. It will help keep us safe against these angry transforming monsters. But most importantly, wear your helmets!

Kiera Downs can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

May 13, 2013

Looking for college credit? Welcome to the buffet Jon Marcus The Hechinger Report Danine Adams has taken a few courses at a four-year university, some at a community college and still more online while working all over the country as an investigator for the Federal Bureau of Prisons—career experience that she’s also been able to transform into academic credit. A little from here. A little from there. And now Adams, who’s 42, is just a few credits shy of earning a bachelor’s degree. “I’m the whole ball of wax,” she said cheerfully. “On-campus education, community college, online classes, life experience.” She’s also a forerunner of a new type of college stu-

dent, one who doesn’t start and finish at a single brickand-mortar campus, but picks and chooses credits toward a degree or job from a veritable buffet of education options. These include dualenrollment courses—college-level courses offered to students while they’re still in high school—advancedplacement programs, military or corporate training, career and life experience, and classes taught online. “We are at or approaching a point of significant transformation, where you will be able to snap modules together from a wide array of choices or link them in ways that produce what are sometimes called stackable credentials,” said Molly Corbett Broad, the

president of the American Council on Education, the predominant national association of colleges and universities. All these alternatives to conventional higher education are growing exponentially, thanks to their flexibility and, often, considerably lower cost. A new federal report shows that 1.3 million high school students took courses for college credit in the 2010-2011 academic year, up 67 percent from the last time the government checked, in 2003. More than half of all colleges in the U.S. award at least some credit for military and career experience, according to the Council for Adult and Experiential Learning. The number

of transcripts from military and corporate training courses submitted for college credit through an accreditation service provided by the council on education rose 35 percent in the last 10 years, and a consortium of colleges that agree to accept credit for military experience now awards an average of just under 18 credits per year to each of more than 45,000 service members. More than 6 million people are enrolled in one or more college classes online, the Babson Survey Research Group and the College Board report. “You’re seeing learning becoming much more open,” said Mark Milliron, the chancellor of the Texas branch of Western Gov-

ernors University, which awards degrees based on “real-world competencies” obtained from work experience and elsewhere. “People have access now to lots of different learning resources, and ways to prove what they’ve learned.” Other than at a handful of accredited alternative institutions, such as Western Governors University, a private, nonprofit online university based in Salt Lake City, getting a degree this way depends on mainstream schools accepting nontraditional credits toward one, something they’ve been slow to do. After all, it cuts into their business of providing classroom education for a fee. There are also legitimate concerns about quality. Just

because the council on education awards academic credits to certain military and corporate courses doesn’t mean that colleges are required to accept them, and there’s no way of tracking whether they do. Last year, when the Department of Defense asked colleges that enroll service members under its tuition reimbursement plan to accept more nontraditional credits - which would have saved the government money - the colleges balked, saying it was undue interference, and the Pentagon backed down. But under growing pressure to improve graduation rates, more colleges and universities are coming to terms with this new higher education model.

Dalai: His Holiness discusses environment, education << Continued from page 1

dhist aspects like compassion and impermanence, but I was pleasantly surprised by the wide range of subjects he discussed, especially the environment and education,” Pratz-Albert said. The Dalai Lama interacted with guest speakers and answered questions from audience members. Students were particularly struck by the white silk scarves, or katas, that were handed out to each audience member at the end of the event. “Inspired by an Indian tradition, white scarves were handed out to the thousands of people in the audience. Everyone held up their scarves in offering to the Dalai Lama. The Dalai Lama then explained how the white of the scarves are symbolic of purity of heart, and the scarves themselves represent connectedness and compassion between people, Pratz-Albert said. “It was really beautiful to

see so many people standing in unison with the white scarves around their necks.” Fahy said the visual representation was striking, as nearly 11,000 people wore the scarves in “symbolic reverence and solidarity.” Pratz-Albert said many people mentioned the moment they will remember most was when Grandmother Agnes Baker Pilgrim, a Native American spiritual elder, and the Dalai Lama shared a hug. “It was pretty adorable,” Pratz-Albert said. Students described the overall feel of the event to be positive and enlightening, some calling it surreal. “The Dalai Lama has the best laughter, so every time he laughed the entire audience also erupted into laughter, Pratz-Albert said. “It didn’t matter what the joke was, everyone felt drawn to join in with his joyfulness. Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Kiera Downs/Copy editor

The Red Hot Chilli Peppers perform, closing for the Dalai Lama on May 11 at the Memorial Coliseum.

Kiera Downs/Copy editor Linfield students were given the opportunity to see the Dalai Lama on May 9 at the University of Portland and May 11 at the Memorial Coliseum.

Graduation: Risks Real-life Marge Simpson, Linfield alum dies can lead students to future career paths Jessica Prokop Editor-in-chief

<< Continued from page 1 Traveling abroad to France, Mexico, Greece and Turkey helped her to deepen an appreciation for cultural exchange and gave her a sense of humility in working and living in diverse settings. For more than 11 years, she has been leading a study in Sierra Leone following the lives of a cohort of war-affected youth, many of them former child soldiers, and working with Partners in Health in Rwanda to launch research on

an intervention to promote mental health among children and families affected by HIV/AIDS. “[My experience at Linfield was] an amazing one,” Betancourt said. “I was able to pursue my interests in language and crosscultural exchange and plant the seeds for a career that I enjoy immensely. Linfield provides a tremendous foundation.” Betancourt will speak June 2 during the commencement ceremony. Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

Margaret Ruth Groening, a ’41 Linfield graduate, died in her sleep at the age of 94, April 22 in Portland. Groening, mother of “The Simpsons” creator Matt Groening, was born March 23, 1919 in Chisolm, Minn., as Margaret Wiggum, according to a paid obituary in the Oregonian. Margaret married Linfield classmate Homer Groening, “whom she chose because he

made her laugh the most,” according to the Oregonian obituary. Margaret Groening said that the highest honor she received throughout her schooling was being named May Queen of Linfield College. After college, she taught high school English before starting a family. Margaret and Homer Groening supported the Oregon Symphony, the Portland Trail Blazers and many local yarn shops, according to the

Oregonian obituary. Margaret’s son, Matt Groening, said on several occasions that he named Marge and Homer Simpson after his parents, and Lisa and Maggie after two of his sisters. His other sister, Patty, shared a name with Marge Simpson’s sister. Additionally, he used his mother’s maiden name, Wiggum, for “The Simpsons” character, Chief Wiggum, chief of police in Springfield, according to an article in the Oregonian.

Margaret Groening is survived by her brother, Arnold; her child r e n , M a r k , Matt, Lisa Groening and Maggie; eight grandchildren; and two great-grandchildren, according to the Oregonian obituary. Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com.


May 13, 2013

News

www.linfieldreview.com

Wildstock: Students celebrate end of school year

Deryck Stanek, member of The Ready Set, plays the guitar onstage at Wildstock on May 10 on the I.M Field. Other performances were by Outasight and Rootdown.

The Ready Set performer Jordan Witzigreuter performs onstage.

Richard Andrew, known by his stage name Outasight, performs onstage at Linfield’s Wildstock on May 10 on the I.M. Field.

Sophomore Taylor Klopp (left) participates in Linfield’s bungee run with a friend. Other activities included laser tag and an obstacle course.

Junior Sylvan Tovar participates in laser tag along with other Linfield students during Wildstock.

All photos by Joel Ray/Senior photographer Sophomore Jonah Flores tosses a football to other students before Outasight and The Ready Set perform.

5


6

www.linfieldreview.com

News

May 13, 2013

Visiting professor discusses artists’ work, history Kaylyn Peterson Copy chief Art is often used to communicate how one is feeling at any given moment, and for many artists it was how they conveyed the pain and suffering in El Salvador during its civil war. Martivon Galindo, professor of Latin and Latino/a studies at Holy Name College, spoke on several artists’ work, including her own, and how they coped with being exiled from their home country May 8 in Riley 201. Galindo has written four books since being in the United States, and her artwork has been on display in exhibits in the United States, El Salvador and Japan. Each of the pieces of artwork shown focused on the pain and loss the country was going through. With many of the artists being exiled, they traveled to the United States. Upon her arrival into the United States, Galindo had a deep hatred for the country. “[At the time], I couldn’t distinguish between the government and the people,” Galindo said.

Galindo found herself in San Francisco, where she and her son rebuilt their lives with the help of the other exiles in the area. “I was a political exile and had a small child with me, I had no idea what to do or where to go,” Galindo said while visiting the PLACE program class, “Revolutions: 20th Century Latin America” on May 8. Once finding help in San Francisco, Galindo began to heal through expressing the pain and suffering she had experienced in paintings and poetry. “I had this friend, and she was taken away, and I never knew what happened to her. I still don’t,” Galindo said after reading a poem she dedicated to this friend. There were many people who disappeared during the Salvadorian Civil War, and their families still have no idea what happened to them or whether they’re even alive. “It was a terrible to live there. Some of my classmates had become Guerillas,” Galindo said. “There was a terror that anything could happen.”

Joel Ray/Senior photographer Martivon Galindo, professor of Latin and Latino/a studies at Holy Name College, speaks with Ron Mills, professor of art and visual culture, after her lecture about artists’ work and exile May 8 in Riley 201. Art helped Galindo, and many like her, survive the memories and aftermath of

the war. “Art kept me alive,” Galindo said. “The memo-

ries were terrible, and people asked me why I didn’t just try to forget them. But I

didn’t want to forget.” Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

Linfield Guests debate universal service requirement Review wins 24 awards I hope students come away Samantha Sigler News editor

The Linfield Review Staff writer

The Linfield Review received 24 awards in the 2013 Oregon Newspaper Publisher Associations’ Collegiate Day on May 10. The Review placed second in general excellence, first in best headline writing, second in best design and second in best website. Individual awards were also given out to numerous staff members. Sophomore Samantha Sigler placed first in best writing, senior Jessica Prokop placed third in best writing and second in best series, junior Kaylyn Peterson placed third in best series, sophomore Sarah Mason placed first in best feature story, sophomore Carrie Skuzeski placed second in best sports story and junior Kate Straube placed third in best photography. Other awards included sophomore Chrissy Shane receiving third in best section and first in best graphic and sophomore Alyssa Townsend receiving second in best editorial. Sophomore Paige Jurgesen placed second for best review and senior Joel Ray placed third for best feature photo.

Visitors to Linfield College debated both for and against compulsory universal service May 6 in Riley Hall 201. The debaters were asked to answer whether it should be allowed to require all 18-year-old citizens to commit to compulsory 18 to 24-month service in either military or civilian service. The two debaters were asked to focus specifically on the version created by the Clinton administration. Will Marshall, president of the Progressive Policy Institute, argued for having a program that was

not compulsory but would instead allow young people to engage in active citizenship. In contrast, Tom Palmer, senior fellow at the Cato Institute and director at the Atlas Economic Research Foundation, argued that young people should be free to choose whether they participate in service. “It was a spirited debate,” said Nick Buccola, assistant professor of political science. “It was well attended [and] a successful event.” Palmer and Marshall discussed the pros and cons of having compulsory universal service, which Buccola said made people feel

a little bit pulled in both directions. “I think that the lib-

erty aspect of it is very powerful,” Buccola said. “I thought it was a really interesting contrast for peo-

sal service do not fall into ideological categories. Typically the essential contested concepts involve liberty,

Although he is retiring, he is staying on as a radio broadcaster for the Wildcats. “If I bring anything of value to the broadcasts, it’s knowing the kids outside of the football realm. I have the opportunity of interacting with them through the week,” Hansen said about radio broadcasting. Due to all his years of service to Linfield, he is able to offer unique insights about the school, bringing the past into the present. Sophomore Michael Zeir had Hansen for a “Principle of Economics” class.

“Professor Hansen is a wise man. What really

become boring,” Zeir said. “To help illustrate com-

ple to see.” Often times, debates over issues such as univer-

with a deeper appreciation of the arguments on both sides of this debate. -Nick Buccola,

assistant professor of political science

patriotism, obligation and the common good, Buccola said. “I am still in the process of educating myself on the issue, Buccola said in an email. “I can identify some persuasive arguments on both sides. I hope students come away with a deeper appreciation of the arguments on both sides of this debate. Although I think a system of universal service is unlikely to be adopted any time soon, there will continue to be serious discussions about more modest versions of this proposal.” Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Professor, Wildcat football announcer retires Quinn Carlin Staff writer

“Twice Told StoriesMost of Them True” is the title of the last lecture that Dave Hansen, professor of economics, will ever give after four decades of teaching. The lecture will take place at 7 p.m. May 13 in T.J. Day, Room 222. Hansen is an economics professor and the playby-play Wildcat football announcer. He is distinguished in the Linfield community for the relationships that he made both inside and outside the classroom.

Professor Hansen was a wise man. What really stood out for me about the class, though, was his particular style of teaching. -Michael Zeir,

stood out for me about the class, though, was his particular style of teaching. He would never let the class

sophomore

plex economic theories, he would pick a student in the class and break the theory down into an inter-

active story where the student would go through the problem as if they were the business facing the problem. This helped everyone in furthering their understanding. He was a good economics professor and will surely be missed.” After more than four decades of teaching, his lecture will be his last words of wisdom for the students at this school. However, his voice will still be heard over the radio during the Wildcat football season. Quinn Carlin can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


May 13, 2013

Features

www.linfieldreview.com

7

Scholars 2013 Julian Adoff/Multimedia editor

infield senior Gabrielle Nygaard and Keith Welch, class of ’12, have both been named Fulbright Scholars for 2013 and will take part in the English Teaching Assistant programs in their respective countries. Welch will travel to Germany in mid-August to teach at a secondary school. Nygaard will depart for South Korea July 5 to teach at a public middle or high school. Both Welch and Nygaard commented on their study abroad experiences at Linfield as great learning opportunities. Welch spent a semester in Vienna, Austria, and Nygaard spent a semester in Japan. “I discovered that my career goal is to work directly with international populations. This experience made me realize how much I enjoy working with people with diverse language and cultural backgrounds,” Welch said. Both Nygaard and Welch gained teaching experience while abroad. Welch volunteered as a teaching assistant in his free time. “I’ve always been interested in teaching English abroad so the great experience I had in Japan just reinforced that. By the end of studying abroad, there was no doubt in my mind that I wasn’t done traveling and seeing the world yet,” Nygaard said.

L

Photo courtesy of Keith Welch Keith Welch, class of ’12, was named a 2013 Fulbright Scholar. In August, Welch will travel to Germany to teach at a secondary school.

As Fulbright Scholars, both Welch and Nygaard will not only teach English in their respective countries, but also act as representatives of the United States. They both described this task as an honor. Welch shared the importance of looking to your professors for advice if you wish to apply to be a Fulbright Scholar. He received advice from his professors and said that he would not have received the award without their aid. Nygaard described the application process as long. She stressed the importance of commitment during the process. “In the end, I went through more than 60 drafts for just two pages of text,” Nygaard said. Nygaard and Welch recommend that students who are interested in applying for a Fulbright Scholarship talk to their professors and former Linfield recipients. There are many options in the program, with more than 150 countries participating in the program.

Photo courtesy of Gabrielle Nygaard Senior Gabrielle Nygaard poses with students during her study abroad experience in Japan

Julian Adoff can be reached at linfieldreviewonline@gmail.com


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Featu

Clockin’ exper summer Five Linfield students are taking advantage of summer vacation to take part in internships and research programs to apply what they have been learning in the classroom. Although they are nervous about what to expect, they feel that Linfield has more than prepared them for their opportunities. Sarah Mason/Features editor Sarah Mason can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com

Haydn Nason Senior Nordstrom Haydn Nason will start a management internship at Nordstrom Downtown Seattle Store 1. She will be assigned to shadow a department manager and will learn about the corporate structure of Nordstrom. Nason found the internship after visiting the careers page on Nordstrom’s website. Michael Hampton at Career Services encouraged her to think about a company she admired and to apply for a position she thought has promotion opportunities. Nason said she is looking forward to learning about Nordstrom’s management and other positions, making connections and taking advantage of the employee discount. She said she also hopes the internship exceeds her expectations, as this will be her first experience out of college.

Sarah Berkov Junior Intel Sarah Berkov will be interning at Intel as a product marketer. She will be learning about market segmentation, positioning, drive awareness and other marketing strategies. Berkov is a double major in marketing and mass communication. Sharon Wagner, a business professor, shared the opportunity with several students in one of Berkov’s business classes. She was hired after submitting a cover letter and resume and interviewing with an Intel employee. Berkov said she is looking forward to applying what she has learned in her mass communication and marketing classes to her experiences at Intel. She is nervous to be working with such a wellknown company, but she is excited for the learning experience, she added.


ures

May 13, 2013

9

rience during vacation Kevin Romero Sophomore Northwestern University Kevin Romero was accepted into the Research Experience for Undergraduates program at the Northwestern University Materials Research Science and Engineering Center. He said he is excited for the opportunity and hopes to continue researching during the fall semester. Romero hopes to be assigned to the “Using Biomimetic Nanoreactors to Study Skeletal Formation in a Model System” program, he said. The program uses the nanoparticle scale to understand how animals create their skeletons, which will lead to medical advancements.

Daniel Namazi Junior Linfield College Daniel Namazi will be completing his third summer as a researcher at Linfield College. He will work with Anne Krutchen, associate professor of biology, to determine whether phosoralitiation of proteins are involved with the migration and metasis of cancer cells. In the past, he has worked in the chemistry department and is looking forward to researching in a field he is more interested in, he said. Namazi is excited for the research opportunity and preparing himself for medical school, he added. He said he feels that this research experience is important because he will be working with professors around the country and adding to the field of cancer research.

Katie Rees Freshman Linfield College Katie Rees will continue researching fruit flies with Catherine Reinke, assistant professor of biology, on campus this summer. Rees has worked with Reinke since January Term and is looking forward to continuing the project. She will study microRNAs in the insulin pathway of fruit flies. Rees will also assist with Anne Krutchen’s, associate professor of biology, lab on genetics and cancer cells. In addition, Rees will attend conferences and present to Willamette University about her summer research experiences. Rees said she is thankful for the research opportunity because she wants to be a geneticist in the future.


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

May 13, 2013

Photos courtesy of Cassandra Pangelinan Senior Cassandra Pangelinan stars in McMinnville Gallery Theater’s production of “The Wiz.” Showings are 7:30 p.m. on Fridays and 3 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays until May 25. Pangelinan said she enjoys being involved in the McMinnville community and participates in shows at the Gallery every year.

Linfield actress isn’t in Kansas or campus anymore Carrie Skuzeski Culture editor Senior Cassandra Pangelinan will star in McMinnville’s Gallery Theater’s musical “The Wiz.” Pangelinan is portraying the lead role of “Dorothy” in a contemporary version of “The Wizard of Oz.” Pangelinan has been performing with the Gallery Theater since she was a sophomore at McMinnville High School. The first role she played was younger “Amy” in “Little Women.” “Ever since that time, I try and participate in at least one play at the Gallery every year,” Pangelinan said. “I really wanted to be involved in ‘The Wiz’ because the style of the music is where I feel very comfortable, and the moment I heard Gallery was doing ‘The Wiz,’ I immediately wanted to try

out for Dorothy. No question.” Pangelinan said her favorite parts about performing in “The Wiz” were the music and working with the other cast members. “I absolutely love making new friends [and] working with new people,” Pangelinan said. “Most of the people in this cast I had never worked with before. And it’s been a blast getting to know everyone.” She said learning lines for “The Wiz” could be difficult at times. Working with such a large cast with younger kids could also be challenging. “But I definitely enjoy all these challenges,” Pangelinan said. “Every show has challenges. And it definitely provides a unique learning experience, which I appreciate.” Pangelinan says that

balancing it with school has not been easy. “What’s kept me going is the support I’ve received from my colleagues, directors, my professors, friends and especially my advisor in the music department,” she said. The opportunity to be involved in the McMinnville community outside of Linfield has been great, Pangelinan said. “That’s part of the reason I keep coming back to Gallery every year. I’ve met some of my closest friends through Gallery shows. Being tied to this community in this way definitely makes me feel more at home here,” she said. Pangelinan hopes that Linfield students will attend a showing of “The Wiz” because it is fun, busy and features wonderful songs. “The cast is great and

so much fun. Everyone has worked so hard and it’s such a treat to come see,” Pangelinan said. “You also get to support local artists of all ages doing what they love.” Pangelinan says that “The Wiz’s” powerful message about home always being there, despite life’s demanding journey, applies to college students’ lives. “We’re constantly being taken away from home and familiar,” Pangelinan said. “But home never leaves you, it’s never really gone.” Show times for “The Wiz” are 7:30 p.m. on Fridays and 3 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays until May 25. Tickets are $14 for students and seniors and $16 for everyone else. Call 503-472-2227 to reserve seats. Carrie Skuzeski can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

Artist borrows cello to perform Leah Harrison The Charlotte Observer When Kendall Ramseur boarded his flight to Charlotte on Tuesday, he didn’t bring his cello. He didn’t think he would need it. An accomplished cellist and Charlotte native, Ramseur is in town for his sister’s graduation. A friend notified the Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts + Culture that he was in Charlotte, so they invited him to play a Mother’s Day concert 1:30 p.m. Sunday.

The Violin Shoppe lent him an instrument for the event. Ramseur lives in Boston, where he performs and records his own music. He was trained classically at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts and Boston University, and he just released his first album—T.I.M.E.—featuring a fusion of vocal tracks, cello, piano and choir. Sunday’s concert will feature works from T.I.M.E., so he will play with tracks on his amplified cellphone. In Boston he performs with a band

instead of the tracks. A few of Bach’s cello suites may also show up on the program along with Adele or Chris Brown covers. A lot of the CD includes vocal tracks Ramseur authored, conjoined with melodies he wrote. The music is uplifting and meant to offer hope to those who have lost it, a philosophy Ramseur takes from his Christian faith. “It’s my dream to really inspire people to pursue their dreams in spite of opposition and difficulty,” Ramseur said. “I feel that

I’m able to touch more lives through the music that I write.” Ramseur got his start playing the cello in fifth grade at Pawtuckett Elementary School. He served as principal cellist for the 2008 Grammy Awards Orchestra and gave a private performance in poet Maya Angelou’s home on her 80th birthday. The hourlong performance will conclude with a CD signing at the Gantt Center.

Photos courtesy of Cassandra Pangelinan Pangelinan plays the lead role “Dorothy” in “The Wiz.” She says the style of music in this musical is where she feels most comfortable.


May 13, 2013

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Choirs capture essence of war in music Olivia Marovich Staff writer The Linfield Music Department hosted its annual Spring Choral Concert on May 12, using the PLACE theme to select songs from eras and locations affected by war. Deborah Olsen, retired history professor and Linfield’s competitive scholarship day advisor, narrated as the Men’s Glee Club, Women’s Vocal Ensemble and Linfield Concert Choir sang selections from a wide variety of years. Songs went as far back as the Civil War and as recent as the Bosnian War. The concert aimed to illustrate the pain and suffering caused by war through music. Ice Auditorium was packed as the choirs sang in their last performance of the year, and for the seniors, their last performance in college, with choral director Anna Song. “We thank you for all the hats you wear,” senior Kit Crane said in a tearful tribute to Song at the concert’s end. “As a mother, an advisor, a friend, a wife and a teacher. We couldn’t have done this without you.” To prepare for their concert, the Linfield Choirs

Joel Ray/Senior photographer The Men’s Glee Club sings “Varjele, Jumala, Soasta” during the Spring Choir Concert on May 12 in Ice Auditorium. received a visit from a survivor of the Bosnian War in Yugoslavia who spoke to them about her experience as a victim of war and how music helped her cope with the devastation around her. “It was especially helpful for our song ‘Prayer of

the Children,’ about the conflict in Bosnia,” sophomore Charlotte Laport said, who sang in both the Women’s Vocal Ensemble and Concert Choir. “Her story explained the music through a different lens that I had never seen it through before.”

Beginning the concert, the Men’s Glee Club sang a rendition of “Do You Hear the People Sing” from “Les Miserables,” emerging in groups from the entrances, balcony and audience. The group joined together and waved the red flag of class revolt and

the French flag on stage. Another highlight came from the Concert Choir’s version of “Trois Beaux Oiseaux du Paradis” or “Three Lovely Birds From Paradise”. Conducted from memory by Chris Engbretson, a visiting assistant professor for the

music department, the song featured solos by junior Brita Gaeddert, Jessica Newton, Josef Komarek and the Director of Cantores in Ecclesia, Blake Applegate. The choirs have been practicing these selections since February, but had a short break when the concert choir traveled to Costa Rica during Jan Term break. “We all grew closer,” Laport said of the groups trip, “and I’ll really miss the seniors now that they’re leaving.” The Concert Choir also sang an ambitious seven-part piece accompanied by Debra Huddleston, who played piano for all the other selections, on the organ. Titled “Missa Brevis in Tempore Belli” or “Short Mass in Time of War” by Zoltan Kodaly, the song was written about World War II, and was a call for peace on earth. Linfield’s choir will have no more performances until school starts again in the fall, but upcoming events for the music department include a Chamber Recital on May 16, a Jazz Night on May 17 and a Senior Recital for Reveca Primachenko on May 18. Olivia Marovich can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

Comedian calls President Hellie Kiera Downs Copy editor

Marc Lamotte, a comedian from Athens, Ga., came to Linfield to perform May 11 in Ice Auditorium, ending his show with a phone call to President Hellie. Lamotte grew up in Florida and has a degree in Leisure Services and a master’s in education. After working in educational settings, including at the University of Georgia, Lamotte began performing comedy full time after realizing that he made just as much money as his day job. He started the night by saying that he in fact did not know Honey Boo Boo. Many of his jokes were stories from his life. Lamotte shared many stories about his own college days and the numerous awkward situations he has faced by raising a son. He also said that regardless of peer pressure, especially when it comes to alcohol, an individual can always say no. He repeated himself for further emphasis. Through these shared experiences, students learned that owls are vicious and can run fast, dolphins have a “no-no square” and young women will often go to the restroom in groups.

Joel Ray/Senior photographer Comedian Marc Lamotte performs for students May 11 in Ice Auditorium. He ended his show with a phone call to Linfield College’s President Thomas Hellie. He was able to keep the audience laughing with his gestures and a high pitched “Gremlin’s” voice, something he said he’s been able to do since he was a kid. Lamotte said that he was “always a big comedy fan, even as a kid.” He “always thought it was really cool” but never thought it would be his career. In college he started doing open mic, and he

later entered a contest that started his comedy career. He realized that if you keep doing something long enough, it can be your career. Lamotte finished by calling up Hellie. The audience was fearful of what Lamotte would say if he answered, but they were relieved when it went to the voice mail for his office. Lamotte thanked Hellie

for having him there to perform comedy and said that the students who attended wanted to say “hi,” in which the audience responded with a loud “hi.” Lamotte wished him a good weekend then hung up.

Kiera Downs can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com


12

www.linfieldreview.com

Entertainment

May 13, 2013

Novel takes readers down updated yellow brick road Paige Jurgensen For the Review What makes a villain villainous? Is it the henchman? The general ill-will toward society as a whole? Green skin? Or is villainy just an illusion brought on by the expectations of society? Gregory Maguire reimagines the classic tale of Oz in “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.” The novel centers on Elphaba, both before and during her time as Wicked Witch of the West. Elphaba was plagued since birth with

green skin and a deadly allergy to water, and she spends her childhood as the public shame to her parents and her crippled sister, Nessarose (better known as the Wicked Witch of the East.) Throughout her life she meets Oz’s classic characters shown in a different light. For instance, when Elphaba enters university, she is forced to room with Galinda (also known as Glinda the Good Witch). The Tin Man, Scarecrow, and Cowardly Lion all appear and have their lives altered (mostly unintentionally) by Elphaba, leaving the trio hell-bent on

“Wicked” book cover revenge. Maguire’s Oz is less magical and luminous than the original and more scandalously unpleasant.

Self-aware animals, who differ from regular animals, are subject to persecution by the governing forces of Oz, who Elphaba tries to hinder while in the Emerald City. Unfortunately, her actions against the Wizard mark her as an enemy of the state. The novel follows Elphaba during her experience with Dorothy. Anyone who has a sister can empathize with Elphaba. She just wanted her sister’s shoes that she had admired her entire life and they were rightfully hers. And anyone would dislike the idea of a gang of hap-

py-go-lucky freaks coming to murder you. “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West” was adapted into the famous Broadway musical “Wicked” in 2003, which was nominated for 11 Tony Awards in 2004, including Best Musical. The musical differs from the novel, but only in such ways that makes the story happier. The popularity of the musical inspired Maguire to create “The Wicked Series,” which includes three additional novels about Oz. A large portion of Elphaba’s actions are justifiable

and were made with good intentions. Unfortunately, as good as the intentions might be, the results are not always good. Arguably, anyone could become wicked, especially if society already does not like the way he/she looks. Maguire’s take away message is not to judge anyone unjustly based on appearance or reputation because you never know when that person will gain access to flying monkeys.

Paige Jurgensen can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

Students should stay safe, get tested Dear Bailey “I am always talking about how important it is for people to have safe sex and that, in order to do so, people need to get tested. Well, it can be a little intimidating if you don’t know what to expect or what to get tested for and how often.” I asked Patricia Haddeland in the Linfield Health Center what she tested for at Linfield, and what the process was for each type of test. She told me that the Health Center screens for many STDs/STIs, but the most common were chlamydia, gonorrhea, Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) of the cervix and HIV. These are screened for in students the most because people may have symptoms that are difficult to distinguish. Chlamydia and gonorrhea are tested using either a urine sample or a vaginal swab.

HPV is a cervical swab. Swabs are samples taken with something that looks like a cotton bud with a much longer stem. They are taken at the tip of the penis for men, and for women a device called a vaginal speculum is used to hold open the vagina to insert the cotton bud and sample the vaginal walls. The speculum is slightly uncomfortable but not painful. A pap smear tests for cervical cancer and also uses the vaginal speculum. Instead of the cotton bud, a tiny wooden spatula and a tiny brush are

used to take samples from the cervix. This is slightly more uncomfortable than getting a vaginal swab but still not painful. These are only recommended every two years between the ages of 21 and 30. Women over the age of 30 should be swabbed annually. HIV testing is done using a blood sample. Other tests are free at the Health Center but HIV costs $20 because lab testing is done elsewhere. The Center for Disease Control (CDC) recommends getting tested after you change partners or suspect your partner may have been sexually active with another person. Women under 25 years old should be tested for chlamydia and gonorrhea annually. Women over 25 do not need regular testing unless they are at risk. Pregnant women should be tested in their first trimester. Genital warts and her-

pes are diagnosed by clinical inspection. This means that symptoms are present and seen. Herpes can be tested for by scraping the skin where symptoms are present and lab tested, however a negative does not rule out herpes. Blood tests for herpes are also not always conclusive. The Health Center would like students to know that it provides partner testing and diagnostic testing if students have symptoms of an infection. The Health Center would also like students to know that screening can prevent the spread of infections by making individuals aware if they have one and that aside from abstaining from sex, condoms are the best way to prevent spreading STDs/STIs.

Kourtney Bailey can be reached at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com

2008 punk rock album still poppin’ Jerry Young KSLC Music Director Tapping into its inspiration of New Wave and punk rock music from the ’70s and ’80s, the indie rock band The Kaiser Chiefs released its third album “Off With Their Heads” in late October 2008. The first single off of the album, “Never Miss a Beat,” was released earlier that same month. The opening song on the album, “Spanish Metal,” sets the tone for what is an entertaining, high energy, and upbeat album. The fast paced music hits hard with a thundering but not overpowering drum rhythm, powerful guitar chords and high octane vocals. Throughout the album, the band’s punk rock inspirations are extremely noticeable. “Never Miss a Beat” was released as a single in early October and has an even faster tempo than the first song. Like most other punk rock music, the tempo and

“Off With Their Heads” album cover aggression of the music is a little bit hard to handle at the offset if the listener isn’t used to it. From song to song, much of the music can sound similar in its tempo and style. One will hear strong guitar chords, fast drumming and loud vocals. However, for fans of the genre, The Kaiser Chiefs hammer it home with perfection. After the opening six

tracks on the 11-track album, the seventh, “Tomato In The Rain,” changes things up a little bit. The tempo slows slightly and brings with it an added emphasis on vocals instead of guitar and drums. During the chorus, the drummer, Vijay Mistry, gives an odd but entertaining style of drumming different than the rest of the song. The rest of the album

goes back to the more classic punk rock style, finishing with a beautifully done eleventh track, “Remember You’re a Girl.” After releasing the album in October 2008, the band went on tour in the United Kingdom. The tour started at Leeds Academy and ended at London Forum. The band has released five albums plus a compilation album. In October 2012, the band’s success continued when it was confirmed that it would be one of the two support bands for a one-off Green Day concert in London in June 2013. At the same time, it will be doing its own tour of the United Kingdom. Fans of the punk rock genre should be sure to tune in to KSLC 90.3 FM McMinnville to hear The Kaiser Chiefs and its album “Off With Their Heads.”

Jerry Young can be reached at kslcmusic@gmail.com

Upcoming events Pecha Kucha

7 p.m. May 13, Ice Auditorium

Chamber Recital

4 p.m. May 16, Delkin Recital Hall

Macreads Lecture

7:30 to 9 p.m. May 16, Austin Reading Room

Jazz Night

8 p.m. May 17, Ice Auditorium

Senior Piano Recital: Reveca Primachenko

6 p.m. May 18, Delkin Recital Hall


Sports

May 13, 2013

www.linfieldreview.com

13

Softball: ‘Cats struggle on offense, losing both games

Photos courtesy of Sports Information (Left) Sophomore Erin Carson hits the ball during the University of Texas-Tyler game May 11. (Right) Grace Middelstadt slides into base during the game against University of the Redlands on May 10. The Wildcats lost both games. << Continued from page 16

Photo courtesy of Sports Information Junior Karina Paavola pitches the ball during the game against University of the Redlands on May 10. Paavola only allowed three runs and seven hits during the game.

hits, scoring the fourth and final run. The bottom of the seventh proved to be the largest output of offense for the ’Cats in regional play, as they had been shut out in the previous 13 innings. Sophomore Erin Carson led off the inning

with a strike out. Three time All-American senior Karleigh Prestianni finally put the ’Cats on the board, crushing a home run in her final collegiate at-bat in an effort to keep the season alive. The next two Wildcat batters struck out, ending the game and the season for the sixth ranked ’Cats. Paavola allowed four

earned runs off of three walks and 10 Tyler hits in her seven innings of work. Prestianni supplied two of the three Wildcat hits, while junior Haylie Watson added the third hit for the ’Cats, a single in the fifth inning. In total, the Wildcats were held to just eight hits in both games of the regional tournament, with Prestianni sup-

plying three of them. The lone run scored by the Wildcats came off of Prestianni’s solo home run in the final inning of the second game. Paavola allowed seven runs, six earned, in her two outings. Catball finishes its season with a 36-8 record. Chris Haddeland can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Track coach finishes first in Corvallis Half Marathon Kaylyn Peterson Copy chief Running is about as simple as walking, just faster, but for many it has become a passion and a lifestyle. This is no exception for one of Linfield’s very own assistant track coaches, who took his passion to the next level, winning the Corvallis Half Marathon on April 14. Coach Greg Mitchell went out to Corvallis, Ore., April 14, with little training, which he averaged running 70 miles per week leading up to the event. “My decision to run the Corvallis Half Marathon was pretty last minute, so my training was a bit less than I’d normally do, but there was prize money and I thought I could win it,” Mitchell said via email. Despite the last minute decision to participate in the race, Mitchell won the half marathon finishing in one hour, seven minutes and 42 seconds. Mitchell serves as a sixth year assistant coach for the track team, associate head coach for the cross country team and the assistant director of Linfield’s UpwardBound program. Prior to joining the staff

Mitchell

at Linfield, Mitchell was a Wildcat himself. Recruited by Garry Killgore, professor and chair of the Health, Human Performance and Athletic department, Mitchell came to Linfield to run cross country and track. “I was more of a basketball and soccer guy in high school,” Mitchell said via email. “During my junior year, the track coach saw me running a two-mile time-trial for soccer and tried to get me out for the spring. I think in the end, some cute girl on the track team said I should come out, and that sealed the deal. I ended up setting the school record in the 3,000-meters and being All-State my senior year.” While Mitchell encourages students and other aspiring runners to try an event

like the Corvallis Half Marathon, he also says not to just jump in. “Road races have a great atmosphere. However, if someone wants to run a half marathon, they need to respect the distance and train appropriately,” Mitchell said via email. “I’d encourage anyone who wants to get into the running scene to start with a 5k and work from there. A half marathon is 13.1 miles, which is basically the distance from McMinnville to Newberg, so consider this before you just jump in on two weeks of jogging. There are easier ways to get a finisher’s medal.” With plans to run more races in the future, Mitchell will continue living on his feet. “I run because people seem to be really impressed with my skinny physique and short running shorts, based on the ‘encouraging’ words I have yelled at me on a daily basis,” Mitchell said via email. “Seriously though, I run because I believe I have a God-given gift and I want to do everything I can to make the most of it. I feel more alive when I run.” Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

Wildcat Sports Schedule Wednesday, May 15 Baseball

@ NCAA Division III Regionals

TBD

Baseball

@ NCAA Division III Regionals

TBD

Track & Field

@ George Fox Final Qualifier

@ 4 p.m.

@ NCAA Division III Regionals

TBA

@ NCAA Division III Regionals

TBA

@ NCAA Division III Regionals

TBA

Thursday, May 16

Friday, May 17 Baseball Saturday, May 18 Baseball Sunday, May 18 Baseball


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

May 13, 2013

Coach takes pro experience to college Tyler Bradley Sports columnist Inside the third base dugout at Roy Helser Field is a mini locker room and the office of Scott Brosius. It’s hot outside, and the heat inside the office is sweltering. Nevertheless, Brosius shakes my hand and says, “this field. We didn’t have this nice of a field when I played here.” Is it as nice as Yankee Stadium? After all, rumor has it that he called that home for four years. No, it’s not just a rumor. Brosius played baseball at Linfield for three years before being drafted in the 20th round by the Oakland Athletics in the 1987 MLB draft. He played in 11 seasons in the MLB and was one of the best defensive third basemen in the league. He won three World Series titles in a row with the Yankees from 1998-2000, and narrowly missed winning in 2001. He won the World Series MVP in 1998, the same year he made the American League All-Star team. He hit .257/.323/.422 with 141 home runs and recorded two seasons with more than five WAR (Wins Above Replacement). Coming from a tiny school in McMinnville, Ore., to playing on the biggest stage is unbelievable. After the 2001 season, he had multiple offers from around the league to continue his career. Instead, he retired and came home to McMinnville, and he thinks this was an excellent choice. “I had a few options after that season…but the decision to retire was not a baseball decision. I had accomplished everything I could have wanted to accomplish…and I wanted to see my kids grow up,” Brosius said. For Brosius, his homecoming was not only good

for himself and his family, but it was great for the Linfield baseball program. Linfield baseball has always been one of the top teams in the country in NAIA or Division III, and under his management the tradition continues. After spending several years as an assistant coach for the Wildcats, he took the reigns as manager for the 2008 season and is now in the midst of his sixth year as the head coach of the ‘Cats. Although there are many games yet to be played, this team may be the best Brosius has had in his coaching career. Interestingly, the best team he may have ever played for in the MLB also came in his sixth season as a professional baseball player—the 1998 Yankees. The team won 114 games, which only two teams have ever topped in history (the 1906 Cubs and the 2001 Mariners). To cap off the season, Brosius was awarded the World Series MVP trophy. “Growing up, this is what you dream about. Hitting a home run in the World Series and winning —it may sound cliché but I was literally living the dream,” Brosius said. Amazingly, the year prior to 1998 was probably his worst season as a professional. Brosius hit .203 while enduring injuries and bad luck on a Oakland Athletics team that finished the season 65-97. “Anything that could go wrong in a season went wrong that year. Entering the next season, you start to wonder if you might be in danger of losing a job, so you work a little harder,” Brosius said. This year’s Linfield team clearly channels Brosius’ work ethic and affinity for learning from difficult situations. Last year’s Wildcats came into the season with high expectations, but failed

Ivanna Tucker/Sports editor Head baseball coach and Linfield alumni Scott Brosius was honored as Northwest Conference Coach of the Year. This is the fourth time he has received this award in the past five seasons. to even make the Regional Tournament. “Hosting the tournament and not being a part of it— that really stings,” Brosius said. “But it’s been great to see that a lot of the players on this year’s team used last year’s experience as motivation and a learning experience. Sometimes you learn the most from the more difficult situations, and I think that has been the case for this year’s team.” Brosius’ fifth season as a professional was a nadir. His fifth as a coach ended with disappointment. But in his sixth season as a professional he ended up on top. Could his sixth season as a coach end in the same man-

ner? The Wildcats enter Regionals as the number one team in the country, and in no way is it a fluke. The entire team has contributed to this incredible year, and Brosius’ eyes light up when talking about the success of this team. Brosius said, “I think me, the players and the coaching staff had high expectations for this team because we had a lot of key guys back who had that experience last year.” When asked if he had a favorite moment from this year, he said, “I am going to go with the dogpiles. That’s why you do this, to win the conference championship.

Playing water pong for alcohol awareness Quinn Carlin Staff writer The gym was filled with red solo cups and pingpong balls as 16 different teams all raised awareness about alcohol and sports. The second water pong tournament aimed at addressing concerns of mixing alcohol with sports May 8. Freshmen Thaddeus Cox and Conner Purnell won the tournament. The event was sponsored by the Student Athlete Advisory Committee. The event offered more than just a chance at playing water pong. It included four different stations all to help understand the effects of alcohol.

The stations were a goggle run, a blood alcohol content simulation, an information table and a red cup drink demonstration. In the goggle run, students had to wear goggles that distorted their vision and then run a short obstacle course. At the blood alcohol content simulation, you entered your weight, and it told you how many drinks you would have and at what level it became dangerous to drink at. The informative station allowed students to learn about the effects of alcohol on the body and brain. Lastly, at the red cup station, students got to pour the amount of water into a

red solo cup they thought was a shot in order to show how much each person thought a shot was. After completing all four stations each person was put into a raffle to win a Linfield athletics gift basket. “The beer goggle obstacle course was the most fun and the most difficult. I don’t know how accurate the goggles actually were, since everything looked like it was about two feet to the left,” junior Zach Lea said. “Also, I was little disappointed that I wasn’t able to make the shot at the end of the course.” While that was going on there was also a water pong tournament where

teams could compete for a first place prize of $50 to Golden Valley Brewery, a second place price of $25 to McMennamins or a third place prize of $10 to Serendipity. “The point of this whole event was to help students realize that alcohol doesn’t just affect people the night that they drink, but there are lasting effects upon your body that can seriously impact athletic performance over a period of time,” said junior Jerry Young, tournament director. “Also, this is a fun way to learn about it instead of hearing some boring lecture.” Quinn Carlin can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

But I am proud of the perspective this team has too. After the George Fox series, which was really important for us on the field, the team did the fundraiser for St. Baldrick’s and shaved their heads. We did well on the field, and then to do that in the stands? That was a good day.” The St. Baldrick’s foundation works to raise money to find cures for childhood cancer. Cancer took Brosius’ mom and dad at relatively young ages, which probably gave the fundraiser even more meaning for Brosius. Brosius is a board member for the Willamette Valley Cancer Foundation to go along with his coaching

duties and busy life at home. Brosius believes in this team, and the team is playing gorgeous baseball. So as Brosius and the Wildcats enter the final stretch of the season, the possibility to reach incredible heights is in play. Brosius knows a thing or two about incredible heights. It doesn’t matter where the heights are attained—the old Linfield baseball field, the new baseball field, the Regional fields in Texas, Yankee Stadium, the community and at home—but there is no doubt that he will continue to reach them. Tyler Bradley can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


Sports

May 13, 2013

www.linfieldreview.com

15

Senior infielder hits away competition Ivanna Tucker Sports editor

Running full speed toward the left field fence with the ball moments away, senior Tim Wilson did the unbelievable. Taking off at the warning track, Wilson soared above the fence, robbing a George Fox hitter of a home run April 20. A catch like that is often the highlight of a college baseball player’s career, but Wilson has much more to look back on. Wilson is a two-time All American and was selected as a preseason All-American for 2013. “It is always nice to see hard work get recognized, but ultimately how the team performs is the biggest indicator of my success,” Wilson said. Having three older brothers that already participated in baseball, Wilson found his passion for the game after spending so much time on the field. While at Redmond High School, Wilson was a two sport varsity athlete in baseball and basketball. He set the team record for batting average and received conference and state honors. Prior to attending Linfield, Wilson went to the University of Washington. “The main deciding factor was the differences in academic emphasis between the schools,” Wilson said. “My brother graduated from Linfield in 2004, so I knew what Linfield had to offer academically and saw it as a great fit for me.” During his first season in 2011, he was selected as sec-

ond team American Baseball Coaches Association AllAmerican. Wilson had the leading batting average in the division, with .490. He also scored 33 runs and successfully stole 19 bases in his 22 attempts. During the Chapman series, Wilson hit four home runs throughout the weekend. His first experience at the regional tournament is something that he will always cherish. “Because it was my first year at Linfield, and after taking two years off from playing baseball, the odds weren’t really on my side, and it really made the experience stand out,” Wilson said. In 2012, he was honored as third team d3baseball.com All American. Wilson had the top batting average for the Wildcats, with .404. He also had 67 hits and stole 20 bases. Going into this season, Wilson was motivated to continue to play his best. “Being recognized on a national level definitely provided me with extra incentives to work hard to prove that I was worthy of receiving those awards,” Wilson said. “Some people may think it adds pressure to achieve lofty expectations that are given them, but I try to ignore them to focus on my individual goals.” Wilson holds a .429 batting average, which ranks him second in conference and 26th in the division. He is second in the division for hits with 75 and holds the top spot in stolen bases. Wilson has stolen 30 bases in his 36 attempts. Before each game, Wilson,

Ivanna Tucker/Sports editor Senior infielder Tim Wilson is a two-time All-American and was recently honored as first team all-conference for the third time in his career. He holds a .429 batting average and has the most stolen bases in the division. along with juniors Garret Speyer and Nate McClellan, eat a pack of fruit gushers. He started the “gushing” tradition with one of his best friends at home and continues to do it so that he plays well that game.

His parents are constantly there to support him at every game, making trips from Seattle to see him play. His brothers also check up on him and see how games went or attend home games. As a co-captain with

senior Jordan Harlow, Wilson tries his best to be a leader for the team on and off the field. He is also the lead-off hitter for each game. “Because I am the lead-off hitter, I feel that it is my job to create momentum for the

team to start the game,” Wilson said. “When I get on base to start the game, it usually correlates with us having a great game offensively.” Ivanna Tucker can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Students should get involved in intramural sports We love our athletes on this campus. Our athletes are excellent both on the field and in the classroom. Sports are a major cog in the Linfield machine. And this includes intramural sports as well. We often don’t think about the importance of I.M. sports. Sure, many students participate, but why are I.M. sports so popular? As the year winds to a close, it is awesome to think about the number of I.M. sports that take place throughout the year: football, ultimate frisbee, volleyball, basketball, dodge-

Sports Commentary

Tyler Bradley Sports columnist ball, soccer, softball and last, but certainly not least, bowling. If you have not played volleyball, grab a few friends and make a team. If you played soccer in high

school but chose not to play in college, I.M. sports are a great way to get back on the field and have some fun. Fun. With the amount of time and money invested in sports in this country, it can be difficult to remember that sports are only just a game. Well, maybe if you are in love with sports it can be difficult to remember. If you don’t like sports to an obsessive degree, it is likely because you remember that they are just games at all times. I envy you. I also digress. Too often we focus on

NCAA scandals (looking at you, Auburn. And you, Oregon), and performance enhancing drugs and oversized contracts. I.M. sports offer an opportunity of fun for everyone. One of the greatest feelings in the world is hanging out with close friends, and another amazing feeling is making magic happen on the pitch, the gym floor, the field or the bowling alley. “It’s a great way to stay in shape and to meet people and compete in a fun environment. It allows people to play sports they love

without the time commitment of a college team,” senior Will Mchenry said. Senior Max Virnig said, “It gives me a chance to play sports I never played, or that I only played for a short period of time. Students can meet new people and build friendships through teams and have fun doing it.” That idea of building friendships that Virnig mentions goes hand-inhand (awww) with having fun. Linfield has an amazing community, and I.M. sports help contribute to this community.

I.M. sports occur throughout the entire school year, but we almost never think about them. I.M. sports are almost like a more organized version of what many people would do when they were growing up: go in the backyard and play catch or shoot some hoops. This is why I.M. sports are great, and let us take a minute to thank the people who help organize the sports throughout the year for the benefit of us all. Tyler Bradley can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


16

www.linfieldreview.com

sports

May 13, 2013

Catline Pitching baffles ’Cats at Texas regional Chris Haddeland Senior reporter

BASEBALL Linfield George Fox Willamette Pacific Lutheran Pacific Puget Sound Whitman Whitworth Lewis & Clark

SOFTBALL Linfield Pacific Lutheran Whitworth Pacific George Fox Lewis & Clark Willamette Puget Sound

MEN’S TENNIS Whitman George Fox Pacific Lutheran Willamette Lewis & Clark Whitworth Pacific Puget Sound Linfield

21-3 17-7 13-11 12-12 12-12 11-13 8-16 8-16 6-18

Whitman

George Fox Willamette Pacific

34-6 26-12 20-20

22-17 17-23 17-23 16-22 14-25-1 9-31

Overall

NWC

25-3 18-10 16-12 16-12 15-13 10-18 10-18 2-26

36-8 27-17 23-20 21-19 18-22 16-22 14-24 2-37

NWC

Overall

12-0 11-1 9-3 7-5 5-7 5-7 4-8 1-11 0-12

18-6 14-5 11-8 7-10 6-11 6-13 5-11 2-14 0-13

NWC

Overall

12-0 11-1

18-4 16-5

7-5 7-5 7-5 5-7 4-8 1-11 0-12

13-5 8-10 8-10 7-10 7-11 1-15 3-14

WOMEN’S TENNIS

Lewis & Clark Puget Sound Linfield Whitworth Pacific Lutheran

Overall

NWC

Coach wins half marathon Track coach Greg Mitchell finished first

in the Corvallis half marathon April 18. See page 13>>

Water pong tournament The Student Athlete Advisory Committee held a water pong tournament to help raise alcohol awareness with sports. See page 14>>

Join I.M. sports Sports

columnist

Tyler

Bradley

explains how more students should get involved in intramural sports. See page 15>>

Infielder stands out

Senior Tim Wilson has made a strong impression in his three seasons at Linfield, racking in two All American titles and three first team all-conference. See page 15>>

Photo courtesy of Sports Information Three-time All American senior Karleigh Prestianni hits a home run during the seventh, leading to a 4-1 loss to University of Texas-Tyler on May 11. Prestianni gave the Wildcats their only run in the regional tournament.

A chance at reaching the NCAA Division III championship was halted after the Wildcat softball team lost their second consecutive game at the West Regional on May 11. Catball lost to University of Texas-Tyler 4-1. The Wildcat offense was held in check by a strong pitching performance from Tyler’s Kelsie Batton, who allowed just three hits in her seven innings of work. Tyler got on the score board first, scoring one run in the first inning off of Northwest Conference Pitcher of the year and first team West region pitcher junior Karina Paavola. After a lead off walk and a stolen base by Joey Cronin, the Tyler offense strung together two hits, scoring the first run of the afternoon. The next four and a half innings were dominated by the pitchers, with neither team able to put a runner across home plate. Tyler struck again in the top of the sixth for two runs. The Patriots got things rolling with back-to-back singles. After a fielders choice where the ’Cats were unable to gather an out, Tyler struck again with another single. Paavola responded by recording two consecutive fly outs, none deep enough to plate the runner on third, but then walked the potential third out, allowing the second Patriot run of the inning, moving the score to 3-0. Linfield was unable to respond in the bottom half of the inning. The ’Cats were sent back to the field after being retired in order. Tyler struck again in the top of the seventh. After a leadoff double, the Patriots gathered two more >> Please see Softball page 13

Baseball team takes in conference awards Tyler Bradley Sports columnist The NWC All-Conference Team may as well have been Linfield’s roster plus a few players from other teams. The ‘Cats had seven players chosen for the first team, two players on the second team and four honorable mentions. Scott Brosius was named Coach of the Year and sophomore starting pitcher Chris Haddeland won Pitcher of the Year. With a .429 batting average and stellar defense, second baseman senior Tim Wilson claimed his third straight appearance on the NWC First-Team. His double play partner, sophomore Corey VanDomelen, made the first team for the first time in his career as well, leading the NWC in walks on his way to a .432 OBP. The outfield triumvirate— juniors Nick Fisher, Kramer Lindell and Jake Wylie—mashed all year, hitting .395, .410 and .384 respectively. For Lindell, this was his second appearance on the NWC first team. Haddeland compiled one of the best pitching seasons in Lin-

VanDomelen field’s history, firing six complete games to accompany an ERA of 1.16 and a 11-1 record. In his 93 innings, he struck out 73 and held opponents to a minuscule .193 batting average. Fellow starting pitcher sophomore Aaron Thomassen made the First Team as well, with a 2.66 ERA and a 10-1 record, including an undefeated record in conference play. The man behind the plate for most of Haddeland and Thomassen’s outings was senior Kyle Chamberlain, who made the NWC second team. Chamberlain threw out six runners attempting to steal and also hit two home

Chamberlain runs. Junior closer Justin Huckins was named to the NWC second team with an excellent K:BB rate of 30:6 in 31 2/3 innings. He also led the league in saves with seven. Seniors Jordan Harlow, Nate McClellan and junior Clayton Truex were the ‘Cats’ honorable mention recipients. Truex had a disappointing season at the plate in 2012, but he responded this season with a .343 batting average and 15 extra-base hits. Harlow manned the hot corner all season and hit .263 with a number clutch hits throughout the sea-

Harlow son. McClellan hit to the tune of .275 as the Designated Hitter and accumulated 27 RBI by the end of the year. The leader of the team, Scott Brosius, may need a larger award shelf in the future. This is his fourth Coach of the Year honor in his six seasons. Is it any surprise that the number one team in the country collected this many honors? No, but it is another example of just how good this team has been all season. Tyler Bradley can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


The Linfield Review