Page 1

Baseball ’Cats maintain the No. 1 spot for the NWC after losing their first game then winning their next three against Chapman University on April 16 and 17. >> page 15

April 22, 2011

INSIDE

Faculty lecture

Janet Peterson, associate professor of health and human performance, discusses different health benefits of exercise during a faculty lecture April 20 in Riley 201. >> page 5

2011-12 housing Need housing help? Find

tips for choosing a hall or suburb, finding a roommate and registering. >> page 7

Pro Cat Cab

R&B artist, Javier brings a mixture of acoustic, pop and neo-soul during a professional Cat Cab on April 21 in the Fred Meyer Lounge. >> page 12

Linfield College

The Wildcats take the No. 1 seed for the NWC tournament after beating Pacific University, during a doubleheader at home on April 17.

>> page 13

INSIDE

Editorial ...................... 2 News ........................... 4 Features........................ 7 Culture....................... 10 Sports ........................ 16

McMinnville, Ore.

116th Year

Issues of nuclear weapons in Iran fuel discussion

Issue No. 21

Artistic ‘arson’ Linfield and McMinnville community members came out to watch a January Term art project burn on April 21.

Felicia Weller Copy editor

The Political Science Department-sponsored Student Debate Series continued April 21 with a four-person debate on the topic of Iran with the following resolution: “A nuclear-armed Iran poses a clear and present threat to the United States.” The teams were divided into the affirmative, sophomore Kyle Jenkins and junior Brock Johns, and the opposition, senior Jeff Porter and sophomore Keenan Salisbury. Jenkins and Johns opened the debate stating that Iran’s threat to the United States is largely through its production of nuclear weapons and hostility toward Israel, one of the United States’ greatest allies. Jenkins also brought up the possibility of Iran supplying nuclear weapons to al-Qaida and the dangerous implications that could bring for the United States considering its current involvement in the Middle East. Porter and Salisbury responded with the definition of a clear and present danger, stating that Iran’s nuclear program is not an immediate >> Please see Debates page 6

>> Please see Burn page 10

Megan Myer/Online editor

LAB chairs prepare to start positions Jessica Prokop News editor

Softball success

Junior Nicole Bond, Associated Students of Linfield College vice president of programming, announced the hiring of the 201112 Linfield Activities Board chairs during the April 18 ASLC Senate meeting in Riley 201. The LAB chairs announced at Senate are sophomores Tessa D’Alessandro, special events chair; Evan O’Kelly, musical entertainment chair; Emily Jenkins, on- campus programming chair; juniors Amanda McGee, sports and outdoor off campus programming chair; Nicole Szanto, cultural events off-campus programming chair; and freshman Andrew Villeneuve, secretary/publicity chair. “They all have demonstrate[d] a passion for programming, fresh new ideas and overall great potential,” Bond said in an email.

Jenkins is the only hire who held a previous leadership position as a LAB chair. She was the secretary/publicity chair for the

new, good ideas and who are passionate about the position that they were applying for,” Bond said. “There were a lot of highly

I was looking for people with new, good ideas and who are passionate about the position that they were applying for.

- junior Nicole Bond, ASLC vice president of programming 2010-11 academic year. Bond said that of the records she possesses, she received the most applicants seen at LAB hiring in years. “I was looking for people with

qualified applicants who didn’t get positions because of the limited amount.” Bond said that the outgoing vice president of programming usually conducts the interviews. Since

there wasn’t an outgoing Cabinet member this year as Bond holds the same position for next year, she asked junior Rachel Coffey, ASLC president-elect, to join her and Director of College Activities Dan Fergueson with LAB hiring. The three of them interviewed the 22 LAB chair applicants April 12 and 13, and the hires were informed of the outcome the evening of April 13, Bond said. The group met April 18 to discuss ideas and events, Bond said. However, McGee did not attend the meeting as she is spending the semester abroad. “It was a good meeting, and there were a lot of creative ideas, but we plan to keep some old ideas also,” Bond said. “Students have a lot to look forward to.” Because the budget deadline >> Please see LAB page 6


2

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail. com Web: www.linfieldreview.com Editor-in-chief Kelley Hungerford Managing editor Braden Smith Copy chief Septembre Russell Copy editor Felicia Weller Business manager Sarah Spranger News editor Jessica Prokop Sports editor Corrina Crocker Culture editor Joanna Peterson Features editor Jaffy Xiao Opinion editor Chelsea Bowen Photo editor Katie Pitchford Online editor Megan Myer Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla Senior photographer Katie Paysinger Circulation manager Kyle Guth Columnists Matt Olson “Dear Bailey” Adviser William Lingle Professor of Mass Communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists.

Opinions

April 22, 2011

EDITORIAL

Wildcats rise above petty Boxer prank College athletics places a lot of importance on succeeding and pushing yourself to the limit. Even though winning is fundamental when it comes to college sports, sportsmanship and respect also hold a high level of importance. But apparently not to some Pacific University students. A group of Pacific football players showed poor sportsmanship at the April 16 away softball game between the Boxers and the Wildcats by posting red pieces of paper with TLR sophomore columnist Chris Forrer’s name on them all over the visting dugout to try to get under the Wildcats’ skin. Forrer’s commentery had evoked negative feelings by some Linfield

softball players and others in and outside of the Linfield community. However, the Wildcats used the Review’s website to express their opinions. This was an appropriate outlet for their comments and feedback. But the actions by the Pacific students did nothing to advance the discussion started by Forrer’s column, and they served only to harass him and our Wildcats. When you are a college athlete, you are representing the college — whether you are on or off the court or field. This means that any negative choices you make will not only reflect poorly on your team but also on the college. Once a negative choice like this is made by an individual or group, it can be difficult to

re-establish reputations and perceptions. Overall, we think that the Wildcat softball team expressed themselves in a constructive way by posting feedback and comments through an appropriate outlet — responding to Forrer’s column online. Their comments fueled much discussion there. But nothing constructive came out of the Pacific students’ actions, and the Wildcats won anyway, displaying their ability to remain above such petty tactics. We know that Linfield College athletes hold a high standard of class and sportsmanship, and we hope that they will continue to in the years to come. -The Review Editorial Board

Review office hours Editor-in-chief Tuesdays 9:00-10:00 a.m. Thursdays 3:20-4:20 p.m. or by appointment Managing editor Tuesdays 10:00-11:00 a.m. Fridays 12:30-1:30 p.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter @linfieldreview and on Facebook

COLUMN

Controversy reveals need to teach better communication Matthew Sunderland Guest columnist

Something I feel I’ve learned well at Linfield is communicating and dealing with others. I thought the school taught that fairly well. Until, that is, two weeks ago. A close friend of mine is sophomore theatre and communication arts major Chris Forrer, who writes the Review’s sports column. Two weeks ago, he published a column on the future of the women’s softball team (“Swing for the title, ladies, not the fences,” TLR, April 7). After TLR posted the article in the paper and online, Chris immediately began to receive hateful emails pertaining to the supposed offensive nature of the article. One of the online commenters, calling him- or herself “A TRUE Wildcat fan,” even suggested that Chris stick to what he is good at, “like watching Harry Potter movies, playing chess or jacking off.” Others called the writer and

article ridiculous, suggested he quit his job and, as commenter Doug Strahm put it, described the piece as “ABSOLUTE UNINFORMED POPPY-COCK (or as you might say CRAP!!!!).” This kind of hate and immature backlash is inexcusable. I fully admit that the article wasn’t without flaws. It referenced an issue that occurred in the locker rooms in 2008 and compared that to situations that are occurring today and how this might hold the team back. I feel that was not written as tactfully as possible. Also, I can easily see the headline of the article being offensive and misleading as to the actual content of the piece. However, if you actually read what the article says, there is no way that an intelligent person could misinterpret that the story was in support of the softball team and simply pointed out comparisons to things that happened in the past. This, as I think should also be

obvious, is a sport’s columnist’s job: to follow a team or teams, observe how they’re doing, compare that to season’s past and draw conclusions. Chris did this, nothing more and nothing less. He never insinuated that the team was actually, “swinging for the fences” and certainly never bad-mouthed or wished anything but the best for the women of the team. He even said, “I think the drive to win the title after coming so close last year will win out over any personal missions.” How is this anything but a vote of confidence? The comments toward Forrer are indicative of a failure in our school. The liberal arts education of Linfield is meant to train us to work with everyone and communicate effectively in a globalized world. How, if this school can be called a success, can students come out of the program thinking it is OK to send hate mail and borderline threats to someone for stating an opinion? Which professors or administrators are seeing these stu-

The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Fridays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday to appear in the Review the following Friday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

Graphic by Juli Tejadilla/graphics/ads designer

dents and not correcting them? What I expect from my $40k education is personalized attention that extends beyond the classroom and shapes my whole person. I, thankfully, feel like I have received that. Thus I am rather sad to think that I am going to school with such poorly trained peers who have clearly shown a flaw that lies within the student body. Administrators and professors of Linfield, I call upon you to ensure that students who are not receiving the kind of specialized attention that they need to grow as communicators begin to. If students like the ones who commented online are graduating from this college thinking their style of interpersonal communication is appropriate, then you have failed at your job. I am thankful for those who have shaped me. As the mentors of the school, though, it is your task to ensure that I am correct. Matthew Sunderlan can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.


April 22, 2011

Opinions

OPINION

www.linfieldreview.com

3

OPINION

Don’t ‘de-note’ music until you’ve played it all Victor mentality can

Megan Myer Online editor I recently had a conversation with a man, who is quite older than me, about music. Well, as much of a conversation I could have had with barely being able to getting in a word or two. I was forced to listen to him go on and on about how the quality of everything doesn’t seem to matter to people and that things will never be as good as they once were. He basically went on to say that everything that has to do with the qual-

ity in music is going downhill, including today’s “pop music.” Here is where I wished I could have said my two bits, but I will say it here instead: I don’t think the quality of music is lower than it was. I think it has just become simpler in comparison. With the oversaturation of all forms of art and media in our culture and the ease of access that comes with it, it is easy to find exactly what you are looking for. Simple songs are easier for audiences to connect with since there isn’t a high expectation. The chords are all similar so the listeners know what it will sound like. People generally know what “pop” will sound like, and seek out the genre. The same can also be said for many other musical genres. That being said, let’s say

you’re in a CD store — OK, that dates me. How about you are using the Internet to purchase music from iTunes. You have enough money for just one album. When given the choice between an album you’ve never heard of and one with a sound you are familiar with, the average person will choose to go with what is familiar. When I think about it, simple music isn’t as dumb or empty as it seems. It’s actually quite genius. While the “Top 40” may not be my cup of tea, I can respect the fact that there is a reason songs get up there. Another interesting note is that performance and entertainment are also key to many musicians today. People no longer want to see someone just standing on

stage playing instruments; they want to see a show. Granted, there are exceptions; it is generally easier to think about your stage presence when the music isn’t much to think about. The simplicity of this - music seems to make perfect sense to me. I see it as an effect to the cause. Music used to thrive on being complex and abstract. The “primitive” music today is simply a reaction to the action. In some ways, I don’t mind. When people can connect to their roots and the simple beat of the music, it is easier to connect to each other in a world so full of disconnect. Just because something is simple doesn’t mean the quality is any less. Megan Myer can be reached at linfieldreviewonline@gmail.com.

OPINION

Required reading causes unnecessary squabble

Juli Tejadilla Graphics/ads designer A friend recently brought an episode of “60 Minutes” to my attention. The episode discredits the humanitarian efforts of Greg Mortenson, most widely known for his book “Three Cups of Tea.” During my freshman year at Linfield, my class was required to read this book for its inspirational value and discussion points. I’ll admit that it was rather disheartening to find out that many of the tales in the book were either exaggerated or completly false. Mortenson’s failed attempt at climbing K2 (the second tallest mountain in the world) was true, but his rescue and recuperation at Korphe never occurred. Although he fabricated

a myth about the origins of his humanitarian efforts, Mortenson did complete his promise to build multiple schools in Pakistan and Afganistan. “60 Minutes” harshly criticized Mortenson for his exaggerated tales, and it portrays Mortenson as using his nonprofit organization, the Central Asian Institute, for personal purposes with little funding going to the actual building of schools. As for the first point, Mortenson’s story is powerful for the way it was written, and the book wouldn’t be such a success without this false story. Would anyone have paid attention to Mortenson’s pleas for money to help girl’s education in Pakistan if he had told the truth? Of course not. He would still be writing letters to corporations and wealthy individuals for donations (which, according to his book, is how he raised funds for the first few schools he built). Should he really be con-

demned for persuading people to make contributions for the education of girls in Pakistan? As for the allegations against Mortenson’s management of his nonprofit, even CBS knows it takes money to make money. “60 Minutes” probes into the Central Asia Institute’s financial records, namely tax returns and one financial statement, to discover the institute spends too much on its advertising campaigns and book-related expenses relative to its mission of building schools. However, advertising is necessary for the nonprofit to increase awareness about their cause, which, in turn, aids them in raising money for the cause. Without advertising and new book releases, most people would forget about “Three Cups of Tea” and its message of charity. The organization could crumble and disappear entirely. While the organization would benefit from better manage-

ment, it likely can’t afford it, especially if it continues to strive for a maximum of 15 percent in overhead costs. There are other issues the program presents, such as the actual use of the schools, the complete falsity of Mortenson’s capture by terrorists and the withdrawal of one of the first benefactors, Jon Krakauer. Loopholes in stories and questionable reporting on behalf of “60 Minutes” (they included a side note that he used a private jet, which seems completely off the wall) leads to quite a few gray areas of doubt. Alhough I wouldn’t be surprised if some of Mortenson’s tales weren’t true, it is unmistakable that he and his organization have spent millions of dollars building schools and helping thousands of kids in Pakistan. So what is the better alternative: truth and little funding, or exaggerated tales and almost 200 schools? Juli Tejadilla can be reached at linfieldreviewgraphics@gmail.com.

promote arrogance in athletics, players

Matt Olson Columnist I don’t really think I can root for Linfield sports anymore. Let me clarify. I have no desire to cheer for the teams, but I’m not actively rooting against them. See, athletics is a pretty big deal here. Too big, truth be told. Success isn’t expected here; it’s mandatory. And that has made the school into a powerhouse, knocking off opponents with ease. Even the struggling teams here are hanging around in the middle of the standings, not in the cellar. Everybody loves an underdog. Watching the team that nobody wrote in as the victor climb up and snatch victory from the clutches of the favored team is one of the more enjoyable experiences in sports. So why would I want to root for that favored team, that team that everyone knows is going the whole way and keeps telling the world why they’re the best? Winning repeatedly isn’t a bad thing in and of itself. But the mentality that arises among victors can only be described by one word: arrogance. Remember how everyone loved the Boston Red Sox in 2004, and now they’ve become the most annoying franchise in Major League Baseball? Winning is great and all, but it comes with a price. There’s an aura of superiority among the athletes on this campus that should be concerning. But it isn’t. Sports here are so untouchable, it’s insane. Criticism of teams is met

with anger and derision by the conglomerated athletic body. Linfield is over driven by sports, and it shows, repeatedly, by the neglect and lack of respect that other areas of the college receive. I’ve learned two things from athletes here: Sports are more important than whatever I’m doing, and Linfield is amazing at every sport. The first thing is a mentality that is sadly shared by numerous individuals here. The second is something that should be said through action, not through the mouths of those playing. I can’t root for these teams. They’re every team I’ve ever hated, built as an unrelenting dynasty that makes its way by being great and sharing it with the world over and over. We’re Goliath. And I can’t root for Goliath. I think it’s worth noting that hubris is what finally brought Goliath down. When it’s all about winning — and it is, even if it’s not admitted — the idea of battling and working toward success drives people to achieve victory. There’s a lot of work, a lot of passion and a lot of strength necessary to get there, but athletes always doing their best because they think they deserve to hold that trophy (or banner, etc.). Imagine, then, the feeling of euphoria they receive when they finally reach that summit and claim their prize. Now imagine them winning again and again. Eventually, that confidence to make it is replaced by a feeling of entitlement to that success. They almost immediately lose their appeal. Understand where I’m coming from now? The arrogance from constant success permeates the mind very quickly, and I want no part of it. Matt Olson can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.


4

www.linfieldreview.com

News

April 22, 2011

Touring performers provide inspiration about sustainability Chelsea Bowen Opinion editor The performers of a “Muses’s Market” lectured and sang about the importance of sustainability in the Pioneer Reading Room and Ice Auditorium on April 20. According to its website, Muse’s Market is “a nationally touring, carbonneutral, theatrical concert presenting inspired musicians, educational speakers, spoken word poetry and fine art in performance arts spaces where listening is the priority.” Performer Chris Garre gave a lecture and discussed the concept of waste vegetable oil as a sustainable form of fuel for vehicles that have diesel engines. Waste vegetable oil is carbon neutral; it provides the same gas mileage as a vehicle using standard fuel, and it can save people money because they can collect it themselves, he said. Garre also noted that 90 percent of waste vegetable oil goes to the dump and only 10 percent of it is recycled. “We highly recommend

it for someone who is driving a lot of miles,” Garre said. The evening performance in the Ice Auditorium was inspired by theatrical production. It included live music, speeches and poems related to sustainability and environmental issues. Garre’s speeches included several statistics and facts regarding the environment. He said that we dump 16 tons of sewage into our water every minute and that billions of plastic bags are thrown away every year. He also brought up the point that 31 countries suffer from water shortage and that CEOs earn 400 times as much as their workers. Garre said that his main motivation for touring is to put the issues out in the open. “We just want to encourage people to talk,” he said. Senior Avalon Fox attended the concert as a way to get involved with Earth Week. “I think it is great to raise awareness about environmental issues. It provides social commentary,” Fox said.

Senior Sarah Valentine also attended the event and said she was impressed with the truth behind the messages. “We, as a society, have not been willing to face these issues, and we will have to in the coming years,” she said. Senior David KellnerRode is involved with Greenfield, and he arranged the Muses’ Market performance at Linfield. Kellner-Rode became acquainted with Garre and singer song-writer Gabrielle Louise of Muse’s Market when he was traveling in British Columbia. He began talking with them about their touring in a vehicle that used waste vegetable oil for fuel. He developed a friendship with the group, and this year marks their second performance at Linfield. “I thought it was really awesome,” Kellner-Rode said. “It was an amazing use of media and art to send a message. The direction we are headed as a society is very negative.”

Chelsea Bowen can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

Performers of the touring Muses’s Market play live music focused on sustainability and environmental issues during an April 20 Earth Week event in Ice Auditorium.

Megan Myer/Online editor

Health care organization elects nursing student as VP Joanna Peterson Culture editor A Linfield junior’s passion for leadership in the health care field was highlighted when she was elected vice president of the National Student Nurses Association. Margaret Ngai received the position during the NSNA 59 Annual Convention April 6-10 in Salt Lake City. She will be vice president of the 56,000-member organization, which provides professional development opportunities and networking for future health care practitioners. The campaign process at the convention was hard work and time intensive. Ngai said it was filled with attending state caucus presentations, giving speeches and answering questions from delegates. She attended the convention with her campaign manager, senior Stephanie Griffin. Ngai said the campaign process and her involvement in the NSNA have sharpened

Ngai a variety of different personal skills and allowed her to build new relationships in the health care field. “My public speaking skills were definitely refined,” Ngai said. “I also gained a broader understanding of health care from other students across the country. It was cool to hear that people from Arkansas, Maine and Hawaii all share the same concerns about the field.” Her vice presidential duties include chairing the bylaws and membership committees as well as sitting in on other committee meetings and traveling within the country to give presentations at state con-

ventions. Ngai said one of her main goals for her term is to make the NSNA more accessible to average nursing students. “NSNA is what you put into it. There are tremendous professional development opportunities for those who engage themselves in the organization,” Ngai said. “At the same time, we want to make sure that there are benefits for people who can’t dedicate a lot of spare time.” Ngai’s involvement with the NSNA began during her first day of nursing school when she attended a meeting for the Linfield chapter of the organization. She said she went to a state conference three weeks later and ran for a state-level position. This passion for leadership and involvement stemmed from the example her mother set, Ngai said. “I grew up in an environment that emphasized the importance of getting involved in professional organizations,” she said. “My

Photo courtesy of Margaret Ngai Junior Margaret Ngai (second from the right) interacts with group members at the Oregon Student Nurses Association leadership meeting at the ONA headquarters November 13, 2010. mother was the executive director of Oregon Women Lawyers, so I remember following her to meetings and events as a child.” Before enrolling in Linfield’s nursing program, Ngai earned a bachelor’s degree in liberal studies from Portland State University. She said it was a convenient way to take a wide range of classes while

completing prerequisites for nursing school. “I didn’t know I wanted to be a nurse until I was about 18 years old, but health care encompasses a lot of my interests,” Ngai said. “I like science, I like helping people and I like learning.” Ngai said she hopes to use her experience in the NSNA and her nursing education to

impact how health care policies are made, she said. “I think that the things I’ll learn in the NSNA will definitely help down the road,” she said. “In nursing, we clearly need health care reform. I hope to work on some of those issues eventually.” Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


News

April 22, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

5

Lecture suggests movement instead of medicine Brittany Baker Staff reporter Janet Peterson, associate professor of health and human performance, questioned during a faculty lecture April 20 whether the Surgeon General’s recommendation of 150 minutes of exercise per week is enough to sustain a healthy weight. During her lecture titled “The Science Behind the Health Benefits of Exercise,” Peterson explained that eating the same amount of calories that the body burns through normal activity and exercise is the best method for maintaining a healthy weight. “You can’t look at the body separately,” she said regarding the combination of fitness and diet. Peterson focused on the health benefits of exercise, citing that 83 percent of health care spending goes to chronic diseases that could have been caused or worsened by a lack of activity. To change this, Peterson

recommended that exercise should be prescribed by doctors in lieu of medications. “I am very supportive of the idea of exercise as medication,” sophomore Cailtin Rhodes said. “Patients listen to their doctors and do what they say even when they don’t understand, so if their doctors say exercise, they’ll have an excuse to.” Sophomore Kelcey Van Orman agreed. “I liked how she talked about the cause of so many problems being obesity,” she said. “The cause of obesity is inactivity and diet, so exercise would solve a lot of problems. People don’t really talk about it that much but it’s a really big issue.” Peterson also emphasized that while the study of exercise science has brought some definite conclusions about what people need to do to remain healthy, there is a large factor of variability that comes into play regarding what different bodies require. “Human variability is a big factor in the use of our

calories,” she said. “The variability of calories out is very small, but there’s much more variability on calorie intake.” To end her lecture, Peterson answered the question she had already posed: Are 150 minutes of moderate exercise a week enough to sustain a healthy weight? The final consensus was that 150 minutes are enough but only if a person has a healthy diet. People who take more calories than needed would need 60-90 minutes of exercise to avoid gaining weight. Peterson acknowledged that these numbers can be daunting for Americans who have already put on weight, especially because many obese Americans may have never exercised before. “You need to adjust behavior,” she said, in closing. “If I could, I would get some kind of counseling training so I can help people with nutrition and exercise but also with the mental side.” Brittany Baker can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Katie Pitchford/Photo editor

Janet Peterson, associate professor of health and human performance, informs students and faculty of the importance of exercise science and how it can promote longevity of life during a faculty lecture, titled “The Science Behind the Health Benefits of Exercise,” on April 20 in Riley 201.


6

www.linfieldreview.com

News

April 22, 2011

LAB: Chairs brainstorm Get to know the 2011-12 event ideas for next year ASLC Cabinet << Continued from page 1

Position: Club Director Age: 19 Year: Sophomore Major: Mass Communication Hometown: Amity, Ore. Qualifications: Miles’ qualification most related to this Nic Miles position is his experience as the Musical Entertainment Chair for the Linfield Activities Board. While holding this position, he planned and organized events, such as Thursday night Cat Cabs. He also worked on the Associated Students of Linfield College budget and was a Residence Life Advisor. Reasons for applying: Miles said that he did not decide to apply until the week that applications were due. He said he decided to go through with it because he was looking for a position that would cause him to be used as a resource so that students could get more of out their Linfield experience. “I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and jump into something new to see if I could swim,” he said. Goals: Miles said that he wants to increase communication between himself, senators and members of the Senate Club Support and Finance Committee. He also wants to raise awareness of the Activities Council and its availability to students. Words of Wisdom: “Know what your money is being spent on at Linfield,” Miles said. “A lot of students don’t know that a portion of their student body fees goes to the Activities Council.” Interests: Miles runs cross country and track for Linfield. He said he also enjoys playing instruments, such as his guitar, and he is excited to study abroad in Trinidad and Tobago during January Term 2012. Favorites: Miles’ favorite color is red. His favorite movie is “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.” He also likes to watch “The Office,” “Pawn Stars” and the local news when he goes home to visit his parents. Miles said his favorite band is Blink 182. “I’m also a Calvin and Hobbes fan,” he said.

~Compiled by Jessica Prokop/News editor

Debates: Students dissect U.S.-Iranian relationship

<< Continued from page 1

concern as the materials to make nuclear weapons have been accessible for years and not one has been produced. He added that it takes seven years for a nuclear weapons construction and that if one was completed and launched by Iran, the missile would not even reach the United States. After making opening arguments and each conducting three-minute cross examinations, the teams moved into their final rebuttals. The affirmative ended by proposing that the United States put restrictions on Iran’s involvement in nuclear activities, give more funding to the anti-Iran governments and conduct a cyber attack and then a strategic airstrike on nuclear facilities. The opposition concluded its arguments, suggesting that the United States create a more constructive, engaged and responsible Iran instead of bombing the nation into submission. Salisbury quoted Obama

in his final statements. “We should talk to friends and enemies alike,” he said. Salisbury, a political science major, said that although he debated the opposition, he is impartial to the topic.

“I chose this class because it seemed fun and focused on different issues than what I normally see in the business department,” he said. “This is my first debate; the biggest issue [in preparing for debate] is finding credible

I’m not entirely for the side I argued, but it seems Iran is a threat. -Brock Johns

“I enjoyed looking at both sides,” he said. “I can’t say I feel strongly one way or the other.” For Johns, his research for the affirmative influenced his opinion. “I’m not entirely for the side I argued, but it seems Iran is a threat,” he said. A finance major, Johns said he chose to take Assistant Professor of Political Science Pat Cottrell’s U.S. Foreign Policy and Debate course to participate in the debates.

junior

information and formulating it in a way that will change someone’s ideas.” Following the debate, Cottrell tallied the responses from the audience to determine who won. He revealed that the opposition had the most persuasive arguments. The next Student Debate Series event will take place at 2:35 p.m. on April 28 in Ice Auditorium. Students will discuss the topic of democracy promotion. Felicia Weller can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

is April 29, Bond has been meeting LAB chairs individually to discuss ideas, budgeting and what is to be expected for the rest of the year. Position turnovers will take place May 1, but until then, the hires are shadowing and brainstorming with their predecessors, Bond said.

She said that LAB is trying to have all of the events for the coming Fall Semester booked by the end of this semester and all of the contracts for events in September signed by the end of May. Right now, almost all of the “Welcome Week” events for Fall Orientation have gone through the planning process. Bond is holding a focus group with students April 28 to discuss ideas for

events and to find out what kinds of events students want to have on campus. She also wants feedback on her new ideas and what students think went well this year. Bond said she is open to new event proposals. Students can visit LAB’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/LinfieldActivitiesBoard to submit ideas.

Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


April 22, 2011

Features

www.linfieldreview.com

7

2011-12 housing handbook

Housing registration starts April 26 and that means one thing for many students: stress. Finding roommates, picking a housing option and tallying credits may drive many students up the wall, but students in Residence Life offer their advice to make housing registration go as smoothly as possible.

by Kelley Hungerford/Editor-in-chief

Roommate selection tips

Registration tips

Senior Jesse Aerni, Residence Life assistant for program development, said students need to take compatibility into consideration when choosing roommates. This goes for many areas of life: schedules, cleanliness, social lives and rules on sharing. “Also, if you don’t know this person, just looking at the type of people they hang out with or associate themselves with [helps],” junior Mica Parke, who was Residence Life housing assistant in the fall and will be a Resident Advisor next academic year, said. She said you could discern a lot about a person by observing who their friends are. Also, if you haven’t found a roommate yet, Parke recommends scouring the student public folders in the college email system because students sometimes post there when they need a roommate. “You can find roommates anywhere — walking through halls, browsing the Facebook page ‘Do You Need A Roommate?,’ attending hall events, attending the monthly suburb events or by browsing the posters with campus floor plans posted outside of the Student Affairs Office in Melrose,” senior Lacey Dean, housing assistant, said in an email.

The number one tip from Residence Life students about housing? Don’t show up early. “People think if they come early, there’s an advantage, but there’s not,” Fredregill said. Students must bring their ID cards and cards with their total credits, which they received in their unit boxes, and Residence Life staff members will total the credits for the roommates. Aerni said they don’t start registration until everyone’s inside. He said the only benefit to showing up early is getting a seat. “After the first 100 people, there are no seats, and you sit on the floor,” he said. Parke said students should come in with at least two backup plans, especially if they want to live in Elkinton, Terrell or the HPs. “If your first housing choice is taken, it is much easier and more satisfying if you have a second choice ready,” Dean said in an email. But Fredregill said students should not stress over housing registration even if they don’t get their first choice. “People make it into this big, competitive thing, but I don’t think it’s that big of a deal,” she said. “Just stay calm; don’t get so worried about it.” For more information about housing, including location descriptions, pictures, costs, etc., visit www.linfield.edu/reslife/housing/housing-registration.html

Location selection tips Many students choose housing based on locations with the newest facilities, Parke said, so halls such as Elkinton and Terrell and suburbs such as the Hewlett Packard Park Apartments tend to be chosen first during housing registration. But students should look beyond newness. “I would say that if you want to get the feeling of life after college, get into the Legacies because you’re farther away from campus so you’re relying more on yourself,” Aerni said about the Legacy Apartments. He said many students choose to live in the HPs because of the scenic view of Nicholson Library or the exciting view of athletic fields. Students who live facing the fields can watch games from the HP stairwells. Location is a key factor for choosing housing. Aerni said many educationstudying students live in Potter Hall to be near classes, and student athletes often live in Miller Hall because of its proximity to the Ted Wilson Gymnasium. He said students should also consider distance to the library. Junior Hope Fredregill, Residence Life assistant for community relations, said students should not overlook the campus’s wellness halls, Potter and Frerichs. She said students living in wellness halls cannot come back to their halls intoxicated. Parke said students need to ask a lot of questions when considering housing options. “If you’re interested in living there, talk in depth to people who currently live there,” she said. “Talk to [your] RA. They know a lot about these kinds of things.” She said many students forget to look at the negatives of various locations. Aerni said Pioneer Hall has large rooms with high ceilings and is great for girls looking for a quad, but it is an older building. “People tend to complain about bugs and birds flying into the window,” he said. Students also overlook noise concerns. Parke said people living in the HPs forget to consider what level they are on and who is going to live above them. Also, Parke and Aerni both said to be wary of places near dumpsters. “On sides of the building that face where garbage cans are, you can hear the trash being picked up at 6 a.m.,” Aerni said. These buildings include Whitman, Elkinton, Terrell and Jane Failing halls. Aerni said students living in Terrell and Mahaffey halls need to consider their vicinity to the softball field, since the team practices and plays music on game days. Students can find blueprints of all the housing options online at //www.linfield.edu/reslife/housing/housing-registration/housing-options.html. Click on the links to individual locations to see the floor plans.

Housing changes The biggest housing change this year is probably the conversion of Dana Hall from a suburb apartment to a residence hall. Fredregill said many underclassmen students may overlook it because they don’t know about it this year. Like Newby Hall, Dana has a kitchenette and its own bathrooms. Students living in these halls still need to be on a meal plan. Dana will also house triples instead of doubles, with three people sharing two rooms. Suites without bathrooms in Miller and Larsell halls are being converted into three doubles because students weren’t signing up for the suites, Parke said. Many housing options, including Whitman, Pioneer and the College Avenue Apartments, have also been updated within the past two years. Updates include new paint, carpet and furniture, but not all locations got all of these updates. Jane Failing Hall’s garden level and Miller Hall’s second floor will be opened up to male students, and Elkinton, Campbell and Miller third floors will be female student floors.

Kelley Hungerford can be reached at linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com.


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Features

April 22, 2011

Travel through Linfield lenses Catch some glimpses from around the world with photos from the winners of the International Program Office Annual Study “Rescued” in Nairobi, Kenya, by junior Kelsey Harding; 2nd in Judge’s Award Abroad Photo Contest.

“On being still” in Gort, Ireland, by senior Dayna Tapp; 2nd in Landscape

“Tickling at the Tiger Temple” in Hong Kong, by junior Michele Wong; 1st in Linfield Students A

Top: “La Rana Discoteca” in Cahuita, Costa Rica, by senior Daniel Brown; 3rd in Judge’s Award Left: “With My Sister Standing By” in San Juandel Sur, Nicaragua, by junior Molly Chew; 2nd in Linfield Students Abroad

“Temple Mother” in Chennai, India, by senior Brooke Carstensen; 1st in People

“Red” in Galwary, Ireland, by senior Lauren Anderson; 1st in Architecture

“Cyclic” in Galapagos, Ecuador, by junior Rebecca Soderlind; 3rd in Landscape


Features

April 22, 2011

“Eric Stones at the memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe” in Berlin, Germany, by senior Katelyn McCann; 3rd in Linfield Students Abroad

www.linfieldreview.com

9

“Colored Doors” in Dublin, Ireland, by Junior Laura White; 2nd in Architecture

Abroad

“Labrynth” in Versailles, France, by junior Brittany Brostrom; 1st in Landscape

“Gaucho on Horseback” in Buenos Aires Province, Argentina, by senior Lian Yuen; 3rd in People

Top: “Itchy Kangaroo” in Darwin, Australia, by senior Mackenzie Lowen; 1st in Judge’s Award Left: “Fiorella y Su Globo” in Las Musas, Coasta Rica, by senior Daniel Brown; 2nd in People Right: “Loud and Quiet Breaths at Daily Prayer” in MeKong River Delta, Vietnam, by Lydia Larson; 2nd in Architecture


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

April 22, 2011

Burn: Class ignites January-Term sculpture << Continued from page 1 Septembre Russell Copy chief Adjunct professor of art and visual culture Totem Shriver and students from his January Term course, Introduction to Studio Art, filled a wooden sculpture with kindling and set it ablaze in the field outside of the Miller Fine Arts Center at 7 p.m. April 21.
 More than 100 community members, Linfield students, staff, family and friends gathered to watch the collaborative sculpture titled “Hand in Hand” burn during the annual “Built to Burn” event. 
Junior Ariel Martindale said the community aspect was what drew her and her friends to attend. 
 “There were a bunch of people there that wanted to come out on a nice day and see a big fire,” she said. 
“Just about everyone was represented at the burning.” Everyone watched as Shriver climbed past the wooden shapes and designs adorning “Hand in Hand” to the top of the sculpture, where a windmill was counterbalanced by a giant hand. The professor applied paint thinner to the blades while

the crowd cheered loudly.
 The sculpture didn’t collapse immediately. It took about 30 minutes for the flames to bring it down, Martindale said.
 “It ended up a pile of embers — that’s when people started bringing out the marshmallows,” she said. The sculpture’s title “came out of the idea that it was a collaborative effort,” Shriver said. “A lot of my experiences this year with this [project] have come because I incorporated a few things that we’ve lacked here,”
he said. Among the things Shriver incorporated into the third sculpture-burning endeavor were music and food. Tables full of food provided by observers were set up on the field. People grazed on the snacks as they enjoyed each other’s company, talking and taking photos on cell phones, digital cameras and even iPads.
 “There was a bunch of dancing at the end,” Martindale said. 
“There was some good music playing, and the younger crowd was dancing and having a good time.”
 January is the best time to complete a collaborative project because the class meets daily, Shriver said.


Joel Ray/For the Review A student leaps over a pile of burning wood left behind after the “Hand in Hand” sculpture was burned down in the field outside of the Miller Fine Arts Center on April 21. “We get kind of like a family during that month, you can get a lot of work done,” he said. The project began from small-scale toothpick sculptures on display in the library, Shriver said. He gave the class some guidelines, and the students went to

the shop and came up with some ideas. “Generally there’s a hump to get over when you do a collaborative project like this — I’ve found that’s frequently true,” Shriver said. 
“There’s a point when they [students] have to start thinking as one unit or

where they fit within a larger whole unit, but I really love the idea that they can find their place among the pecking order. They get to see their strengths and weaknesses.”
 Marrying experience and community is the primary objective for the “Built to

Burn” celebrations.
 “Art is a way to bring people together and to experience the community. That’s what I’m discovering,” Shriver said. “Every year we’ve done it, it’s grown a little bit.”

 Septembre Russell be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.


April 22, 2011

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Students react uneasily to comedian’s edgy show Michele Wong For the Review

Katie Pitchford/Online editor Comedian Guy Branum performs in Ice Auditorium on April 15. Much of his routine involved interactions with the audience and jokes about his sexuality.

Comedian Guy Branum received mixed responses from students during a performance April 16 sponsored by the Linfield Activities Board. Branum used his homosexuality as the basis of his act. He frequently interacted with audience members, asking them questions about their race, academic interests and sexual orientation. Branum asked a lesbian student to keep a tally of the number of times he insulted lesbians and often singled out and commented on the attractiveness of male audience members. Sophomore Caleb Goad received continous attention from Branum throughout the show.

“I thought he was extremely crass,” Goad said. “I stopped listening after the first two minutes.” Several students said they felt uneasy during Branum’s uncensored comedy show. Freshman Ali Dickey said she was uncomfortable. Junior Bouquet Harger speculated that Branum caused a few students to leave after making a controversial joke about abortion. However, Harger said she enjoyed attending the LAB event. She thought his complaints about Portland were funny. “He made fun of and complained about a lot of things in a good way,” Harger said. Negative comments about Branum’s style were mixed with praise from many other attendees. “I thought he was as funny

here as he was in ‘No Strings Attached,’” senior Geoff Porter said. Sophmore Allyna Murray said she also enjoyed the show. “He was funnier than on the ‘Chelsea Lately Show,’” Murray said. Branum questioned freshman Riley Gibson during the show for propping his broken foot on the railing in Ice Auditorium. Despite being made fun of, Gibson said he thought Branum’s act was “pretty good.” Branum is best known for his work with Chelsea Lately on the ‘Chelsea Lately Show’ and his film debut in the 2011 movie ‘No Strings Attached,’ starring Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman. Michele Wong can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

Global performance lecture

Katie Pitchford /Photo editor Adam Mendelson, assistant professor of lighting and sound at the University of Wyoming, gives a lecture April 21 in Ford Hall. Mendelson’s lecture, titled “Performance in Global Contexts,” explored presenting performing arts in international settings. He also led a student workshop on using multimedia in theater productions.


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

April 22, 2011

Artist combines multiple genres on third album Braden Smith KSLC 90.3 FM Singer and multi-instrumentalist James Pants (real name James Singleton) has been on fire since his debut album, “Welcome,” was released in 2008 to positive reviews. Since then, he has released a second full album, “Seven Seals,” two EPs and a slew of singles through Stones Throw Records (Madlib, Aloe Blacc, Dam-Funk and others). Now, his fifth release and third LP is slated for release May 3. And it does not disappoint. The album is self-titled and features Singleton at his best. It was originally named “Love Kraft,” but this was likely changed after it was discovered that Super Furry Animals had released an album of the same name in 2005. His superb drumming,

Photo courtesy of www.stonesthrow.com James Pant’s third album will be released on Stones Throw Records on May 3. groovy bass lines and lush synthesizer harmonies drive many of his most successful tunes. All of these are wrapped in the warm, lo-fi glow of ’80s funk, new wave and post-punk styles — an amalgamation loosely known

as “fresh beat.” Singleton uses this fun and catchy sound that still allows for a large degree of complexity to draw the listener into a warm, ’80s embrace in his latest album. The album is more rock-

oriented than previous releases, even incorporating some elements of rock ‘n’ roll and doo-wop from the ’50s and ’60s, and features backbeat rhythms with a stronger emphasis on the electric guitar although it never overshadows the other instruments. Singleton’s unique singing is also heard more frequently along with other vocalists. Likely the result of a mix of heavy production effects and intentionally poor-quality recording, all the sounds on the album have that lo-fi ’80s electronic quality to them from echoing, sometimes incomprehensible, lyrics, muffled drumming, fuzzy guitars and cosmic synthesizer effects. It stands in stark yet infinitely amusing contrast to the sleek, over-produced pop music of today.

While these elements seem like they might be a turn-off to most listeners, James Pants is always danceable, and Singleton is known for some killer live performances. James Pants can be placed loosely under the umbrella genre of electronica, but his use of live instruments stands out. The new album began strongly with the energetic and driving “Beta,” a minimal tune with great drumming and a nice guitar solo. The music branches out as the album progresses but always features a solid beat to move to. The most enjoyable tracks come near the end with the songs, “Alone” and “These Girls.” “Alone” features some excellent guitar work and a beautifully intriguing saxophone part and “These Girls” is definitely the most rockin’ track on the album with some

great synth effects. All of the songs also have plenty of cheesy ’80s vocals that constantly entertain in a humorous light. For some nice, romantic ’80s introspection, check out “Screams of Passion” and “Kathleen.” While the album isn’t as groundbreaking as past releases, it still stands solidly on its own with a unique sound that reminds us that the music of the ’80s wasn’t as bad as everybody assumes. “James Pants” doesn’t come out until May 3, but Stones Throw has 7” vinyl singles for “Every Night I Dream” and “Clouds Over The Pacific” available on its website. Tune in to KSLC 90.3 FM to hear tracks from “James Pants.” Braden Smith can be reached at kslcmusic@gmail.com.

Singer fills venue with students, acoustic melodies Sharon Gollery For the Review R&B artist Javier returned to Linfield on April 21 for a Professional Cat Cab sponsored by the Linfield Activities Board. Like his first Cat Cab two years ago, the event was popular. Even with the addition of extra chairs, some students stood or sat on the floor or gathered on the balcony. Javier performed a collection of new and old songs, accompanying himself on acoustic guitar. He also included a few popular country songs and encouraged the audience to sing along. He told the audience that he has come to enjoy country music because it is the last genre that supports storytelling, and he thinks of himself as a storyteller. “I think that music can express emotions better than just spoken words. People can connect to music, and you can really hear emotions,” he said. Javier said that he liked singing from an early age and that he has always been interested in music. “My dad liked to play the radio,” he said. “We always had a radio playing in the house. I think it was around seventh grade that I realized I really liked singing, but even before that, I would sing around the house.” Javier is recognized as one of the most versatile R&B artists of the times, mixing pop, hip-hop, neo-soul and acoustic sounds into his music. “I liked listening to a lot of different stuff when I was

a kid,” he said. “I just love everything, and just from listening, I got to appreciate all these different styles of music.” He is scheduled to appear on NBC’s new reality talent show “The Voice” when the show premiers on April 26. He talked enthusiastically about the audition and encouraged audience members to watch the show. “It was an extremely nerve-wracking audition, but it was exciting,” he told the audience. “It’s weird to see myself on TV because they didn’t tell me they were using my audition in commercials for this new show.” A native of Connecticut, Javier Colon attended the University of Hartford’s Hartt School of Music, where he graduated with a degree in Music Education in 2000. After performing with two other bands, Javier began a solo career in 2002, according to his website. Javier’s music attracted the attention of Capitol Records, and he released his debut album in 2003. Three years later, Javier released his sophomore album, “Left of Center.” His third album, a collection of acoustic songs titled “The Truth-Acoustic – EP,” was released in 2010. The album is meant to reflect how the sound of his music has changed over the years. Javier writes on cdbaby.com that a fourth album, titled “Ok… Here’s the Truth,” will be released this year. Michele Wong can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com

Megan Myer /Online editor R&B artist Javier satirizes a country music song during his performance April 21.

Megan Myer /Online editor Javier performs during the April 21 Cat Cab in the Fred Meyer Lounge.


Sports

April 22, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

13

NWC tourney spreads Catball fever Sports Commentary

Chris Forrer For the Review Hey ’Cats! It’s a great week to be alive, isn’t it? The sun has finally come out from under the boots of nine months of crappy weather, classes are coming to a head, and we’ve got a fantastic weekend of sports coming up on campus. The No. 8-ranked baseball team is playing three home games against George Fox University. There are two on April 22 beginning at 1 p.m. and one April 23 at

noon. That’s the same baseball team that’s tops in the Northwest Conference and just knocked off No. 7 Chapman twice last weekend, for the record. As if that weren’t enough, the track and field and softball teams are hosting the NWC Championships on the same day for their respective sports. In short, any way you walk across campus, Saturday sports will be taking place. That’s what I call the jackpot. You know, it’s really about time Catball gets a home stand that lasts longer than one day. It’s easy to forget amid the growing stack of national and school records, which now includes junior Emilee Lepp’s singleseason D-III record for home runs as well as school records for consecutive wins and most NWC victories, that

our softball field gets wet pretty damn often thanks to the nature of rainy McMinnville. Logically, it follows that our juggernaut of a softball program had to reschedule or move a lot of games. In fact, of the 40 games that our ladies have played so far this season only 10 of them were at home. 10! “Home field advantage?” Please. The ’Cats are road warriors and would probably still win if the NWC tournament got moved to Mars. They’ve won everywhere from elementary schools to middle schools to hostile and sometimes nasty road environments. Last weekend at Pacific, some overzealous (that’s putting it nicely) football players thought it’d be funny to, shall we say, “canvas” the visiting team dugout before Linfield arrived. Their material for distri-

bution amounted to little pieces of red paper with this columnist’s name all over them. Apparently, the Boxer crowd was so desperate to do something to gain an edge (since their stinky 12-14 conference record certainly wasn’t doing the job) that they took to harassing our ladies with chants about the now-subsided controversy regarding my column two weeks ago. The end result was an 8-3, 2-0 sweep on Friday and a 9-4, 8-0 sweep on Sunday in Mac. You sure showed them, Pacific! Showed them how to roll over and die against the best team in the country, that is. That wasn’t even the worst environment Catball has triumphed in this year. In games earlier against Willamette University, Bearcat fans took to making personal attacks and aggres-

sively rude chants and jeers not only aimed at our ladies but at their parents, too. I bet you can guess how that one turned out, too. If you guessed four wins in two days and a combined score of 22-8 over, you get an A for the day. Even after that spanking, Willamette still wanted to try again and had a player suspended from the NWC tournament after she organized a Facebook group designed to bring fans out to Mac and jeer the ’Cats in their hometown this weekend. The Facebook group has since been taken down, probably in an attempt by Willamette to save face after the first embarrassment. Nothing, and I mean nothing, can shake this team on its seemingly unstoppable drive toward the final frontier of sports: a Division III champion-

ship. I was lucky enough to finally get out to the softball field last Sunday. I saw what Catball is all about, and from what I watched, the billing this team has received this season is 100 percent accurate. After coming this far and going through adversity like these players have, the close bond they share and the energy they exude was almost tangible. To close, I’d like to read from the book of “Fight Club,” Chapter 6: “You see a guy come to fight club for the first time, and his butt is a loaf of white bread. You see this same guy here six months later, and he looks carved out of wood.” Well, our ladies certainly began stronger than cookie dough, but make no mistake: This team is carved out of steel. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Softball stays strong heading into post season Rae Smith Staff reporter

Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Junior catcher Emilee Lepp runs to first after hitting her record breaking 25th home run in a single seson on April 17 against Pacific University and was the last at-home appearance of the regular season for the Wildcats.

The softball team won its eighth-straight Northwest Conference championship last weekend. The team swept Pacific University in two doubleheaders April 16 and 17. These were the last four games of the regular season schedule. The ’Cats continued to break records during the two doubleheaders. After earning her 16th win in the first game on April 16, senior pitcher Claire Velaski picked up her record-breaking seventh career save. Junior catcher Emilee Lepp hit her 25th home run of the season during the first game on April 17, which puts her in possession of the Division III single-season home run record. Senior pitcher Elise Karscig noted the team’s talent but indicated other factors in its success. “We are focusing more on the team rather than individual records and goals,” she said. “It’s [also] important to focus on playing one game at a time.” The team has tied its record for fewest losses in a season at one and set a new record for longest win streak with 27 straight wins. April 17’s doubleheader was the last regular season appearance at home for the five Linfield seniors including shortstop Emily Keagbine, Karscig, outfielder Kayla Hubrich and second baseman Alex Hartmann and Velaski. Karscig turned in one of the top performances of the weekend when she pitched a complete-game shutout to cap off the regular season.

She allowed three hits in six innings. The ’Cats maintained their offensive dominance with only a minor slump in the second game April 16, which was a 2-0 victory. Junior outfielder Jordan Mixsell said lower-scoring games such as these will benefit the ’Cats in the post season. “I think it is good to get games like that under our belt going into the conference and regional tournaments because it prepares us for more competitive games,” she said. Five players hit doubles in the first game of April 16 and just as many recorded RBIs as well. Sophomore third baseman Karleigh Prestianni’s three RBIs led the team to its 8-3 win. The team totaled 17 runs in its 9-4 and 8-0 wins April 17. Lepp and junior first baseman Staci Doucette had two hits each in the first game and combined for five RBIs. Hartmann, Hubrich and Lepp recorded two hits each during the second game and Prestianni put the finishing touch on the match with a game-ending double that scored Lepp. Prestianni said the weekend’s wins were also important for the team as it enters the post season. “It was important for our confidence and for other teams to see that we are still doing well,” she said. The ’Cats are the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament that will be held here April 22 and 23. First up, the team will take on fourth seed Willamette University at 11 a.m. April 22. Rae Smith can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

Golf drives on to conference Kelsey Sutton Staff reporter The men’s and women’s golf teams took third place during the Pacific Spring Invitational on April 16 and 17. The teams are headed to the Northwest Conference Championships April 22 and 23 in hopes of another Northwest Conference title. At the end of the first day of the invitational, the men sat in fourth place with a score of 313. By the second day, the team finished in third place with a final score of 608. Junior Alex Fitch took fourth place with an overall score of 148. Senior Yutaro Sakamoto scored one stroke less than Fitch, tying for 5th with University of Puget Sound golfer, Collin Wulff. Sophomore Josh Kay placed 10th, with a score of 152. “We’ve got a good chance at winning the conference,” Sakamoto said. “If we do what we’re supposed to do this weekend, we can make it to nationals. I’m looking forward to that

opportunity again.” The men’s team has won first place in two tournaments this season. “As long as we don’t get carried away, we can hopefully come back with a win. It’s just a matter of believing in ourselves,” Sakamoto said. The women tied with Whitworth University for second place during the first round of the invitational. The team was bumped into third place with a score of 715 after the second day. “As a team, we have been sort of struggling. We haven’t quite performed up to our ability. I hope this weekend we can show everyone what were capable of,” sophomore Brinn Hovde said. Senior Brynn Hurdus tied for third place and led the team with a score of 147. Senior Katie Kilborn scored 182 and finished in 14th place. Hovde shot a score of 189 and tied for 19th. Both one stroke away from Hovde, freshman Ali Smith and junior Lydia Smith tied

for 21st place. As for the NWC Championships ahead, the team is hopeful. “We’ve definitely been practicing really hard this week. We know this tournament counts more than anything else,” Hovde said. “We hope to get our scores pretty low so we can get back to where we know we can be.” Ali Smith had similar positive thoughts about the coming weekend and the strength of the team. “I think we have a pretty good chance playing well this weekend,” Ali Smith said. “We all encourage each other. Even when we’re having a tough day, we have the support of our team. It makes us all better players.” The women’s NWC Championships will take place April 22 and 23 at Columbia Point in Richland, Wash., and the men will play at Canyon Lakes in Kennewick, Wash.

April 22, 2011

Wildcat sports schedule Friday, April 22 Softball

vs. Willamette

11 a.m.

Baseball

vs. George Fox (2)

1 p.m.

Track and field

vs. NWC Championship 2 p.m.

Men’s golf

@ Tri-Cities, Wash.

All day

Women’s golf

@ Richland, Wash.

All day

Saturday, April 23 Track and field

vs. NWC Championship 10:30 a.m.

Baseball

vs. George Fox

Noon

Men’s golf

@ Tri-Cities, Wash.

All day

Women’s golf

@ Richland, Wash.

All day

Softball

vs. NWC Championship TBA

Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Linfield to host track and field championships Corrina Crocker Sports editor The Wildcats will host the Northwest Conference Track and Field Championships on April 22 and 23. All eight schools in the conference will gather to compete. To participate in the conference championship, each athlete had to qualify in every event. Linfield athletes compete in the Rich Allen Classic, which was hosted by George Fox University, on April 16. Here, runners and field competitors had an opportunity to earn a spot in the blocks at the championship

meet. Both the men’s and the women’s teams placed first in the meet. “It was the tune-up we needed going into conference,” junior Clayton Cooper said in an email. “A few more individuals were able to qualify, which should help us score more at conference.” The men’s team performed exceptionally during the meet and won 10 out of 18 events April 16. Senior Michael Eldredge earned his spot in the championship blocks for the 110-meter hurdles. He is one of many Linfield runners who has dealt with injuries.

“This season has not gone the way I expected it

rearrange my goals.  Since it is doubtful I will succeed in

“ It was the tune-up

we needed going into the conference.

-Clayton Cooper, junior

to. I have had to deal with injuries putting me out of practice for a few weeks, but after speaking with the coaches, all I have to do is

the 400 hurdles, I just have to go out there and run my heart out, leaving nothing back,” Eldredge said in an email. “My main goal now

is to do the best I can, but in the 110 hurdles I may actually have a chance to win. I have not lost my speed and technique, so I am hopeful in that race.” Junior Barrett Zetterberg won the 400-meter hurdles and qualified for the championship meet. Sophomore Lester Maxwell won the 800, and freshman Bryan Takano took first place in the long jump. The women also took first place in the meet, with first place performances by senior Brooke Bekkedahl in the 400-meter hurdles and freshman Anna LaBeaume in the shot put and discus.

The first event of the championship meet begins April 22 at 2 p.m. “I am very excited for this weekend because I feel that everyone has been getting better each week, and when it comes to race time, I have a feeling that Wildcats will surprise the conference,” Eldredge said in an email. “I am expecting this weekend to be full of upsets and accomplishments and am really excited to show that [the] ’Cats have heart. Fans always change the dynamics of a track meet and fire up the athletes.”  Corrina Crocker can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


Sports

April 22, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

15

Baseball remains in first after 3-1weekend Kaylyn Peterson For the Review The Wildcats won three of four games against Chapman University on April 16 and 17 despite a strong Panther pitching staff. The Panthers had a strong pitching staff, but the Wildcats still won three of the four games. “Chapman’s pitching was one of the toughest staffs we have faced this year, so just being able to get on base for other guys to get timely hits and score was probably the biggest difficulty this past weekend,” sophomore center fielder Tim Wilson said. The ’Cats lost the first game April 16, 2-3, but came back strong during the second game and won 5-2. Both teams began game two slowly, with no scoring until Linfield’s third inning. Freshman left fielder Nate McClellan was the first to score. After stealing second, sophomore second baseman Eric Evenson scored off a single hit to center field by senior third baseman Dustin Smith. Sophomore designated hitter Clayton Truex scored after a double from junior shortstop Kevin Allan. Sophomore catcher Kyle Chamberlain then scored after Wilson hit a pop fly to center field. Evenson scored for the second time of the game. The Panthers got their only two runs of the game during the eighth inning. On the mound for the Wildcats this game was

freshman pitcher Zach Brandon, who pitched seven innings and only had five hits off him in that time. Junior pitcher Spencer Crepeaux only had two hits off him. The Wildcats scored more runs each game, winning their first game April 17, 7-1. Wilson hit a home run in the first inning and no one scored again until Linfield’s fifth inning, when the ’Cats scored three runs by Smith and seniors right fielder Gunnar Cederberg and catcher Cole Bixenman. Making their way through the line up, Evenson and Cederberg scored in the sixth inning. Chapman scored its only run of the game during the seventh inning. The Wildcats scored their seventh run the same way they scored their first in the game, with a home run hit by senior first baseman Kevin Coleman. “There are obvious implications when you are facing a team that is ranked in the top 10 nationally, so we knew we were in for a challenge. Their first pitcher is one of the best pitchers in Division III baseball, and we competed very well against him, so that was very encouraging,” senior pitcher Evan Hilberg said about the challenge of this series. The fourth game of the series against Chapman University ended in a 13-6 win for the Wildcats. However, the game did not look good for the team at the beginning when Chapman had a fourpoint lead.

Chamberlain made the first Linfield run in the third inning. Linfield began to close the gap in the score in the fifth inning when Wilson brought in three runs after hitting his second home run of the series and allowing runs from Smith and Evenson. This took the Panthers out of their hitting streak, while the Wildcats continued to score. In the sixth inning, three of five runs were scored by McClellan, Wilson and Bixenman, and the last two runs of the inning were scored by Evenson. The seventh inning ended with four more Linfield runs and another home run from Wilson, which brought in two other players. Sophomore right fielder Danny Urness scored the final run, leaving the score 13-6.  “The biggest thing that came out of the weekend was the fact that we played so well against the No. 7 team in the nation. It shows us that we have the ability to play at an extremely high level and compete with any team in Division III baseball,” Hilberg said. However, while Chapman’s team had a good pitching staff, coach Scott Brosius said he has had confidence in the Linfield pitching talent all season long. “We have some talented pitchers and also have enough depth to overcome a couple of injuries. Recently we’ve seen some of the younger players start to

Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

out in first place. The win automatically advances the ’Cats to the NCAA Division III Regional tournament. The women won the match against the Pirates, 5-3, during the championship. Junior Abby Olbrich took the win in the No. 1 singles flight against the NWC Player of the Year, Whitworth senior Rachel Burns. Senior Sarah Click also won in the No. 5 singles flight and clinched the conference win, which allowed

senior Sarah Watanabe’s match to remain unfinished.  “It felt  great to  be able to cinch the conference win.  But to be honest, it was a team effort, and I wouldn’t have even  gotten that chance had it not been for the  earlier hard work by the top four singles players,” Click said in an email.  “Their flight set me up to be in that position, as did Sarah [Watanabe], who was right next to me winning her match as well.” Although her match

ended early, Watanabe said she was excited for the team’s win. “The tournament rule was play until the match was decided so I had to accept that,” Watanabe said in an email. “Obviously, I would have liked to have contributed a win against Whitworth by winning singles, but I was very proud when we won.” Senior Sophie Larson won the No. 2 singles spot and freshman Caroline Brigham took the No. 4

Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Sophomore Zach Manley pitches against Pacific University on April 17. emerge and really complement the upper classmen,” Brosius said. As the season winds down and NCAA Division III regionals comes up, the Wildcats will continue working hard. Their next home series is slated for April 22 and 23 against George Fox University.

Baseball conference standings Linfield Pacific George Fox Puget Sound Pacific Lutheran Willamette Whitworth Lewis & Clark Whitman

15-3 14-7 13-8 11-7 10-8 9-9 9-9 3-18 3-18

.833 .667 .619 .611 .556 .500 .500 .143 .143

Women’s tennis takes the NWC title Corrina Crocker Sports editor

The women’s tennis team traveled to Spokane, Wash., and finished the Northwest Conference season on top during the conference championships April 16 and 17 at Whitworth University. Although the women had lost one match to Whitworth on March 11, the women prevailed during the championship and defeated the Pirates. The team dominated and came

position. Olbrich and Click made up the only Linfield doubles team that won. “We focused on beating Whitman before taking down Whitworth.  It really was one match at a time. We have known all along that we could beat them because we are a stronger team,” Watanabe said in an email. Click agreed with Watanabe about beating Whitworth. “I knew going in to the conference tournament that we were going to compete

well with Whitworth for the top spot. They are a tough team, especially in singles, but there wasn’t a singles or doubles matchup that we couldn’t win,” she said in an email. “This weekend was an excellent opportunity to show that we weren’t going home without a fight.” Linfield will compete next in the NCAA Division III Regionals on May 13-15. The time, place and opponent are to be determined.

Corrina Crocker can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


16

sports

www.linfieldreview.com

Winning Wildcats

April 22, 2011

Baseball is still No. 1 in the Northwest Conference after a four game weekend against Chapman University. Read more on page 15 >>

Softball ends the Northwest Conference season in first place after wrapping up the weekend with wins against Pacific University at home. Read more on page 13 >> Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Senior Claire Velaski pitches the ball against Pacific University on April 17 at home. The ’Cats won both games of the doubleheader.

Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer The Wildcats look on during their game against Chapman University on April 17 at home. They won both games 7-1 and 13-6.

Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Junior Staci Doucette bats against Pacific University on April 17.

The women’s tennis team is the Northwest Conference Champion. More on page 15 >> Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Senior first baseman Kevin Coleman bats against Chapman University on April 17.

Photo courtesy of Kelly Bird The Wildcats pose after winning their conference season.


The Linfield Review  

The Linfield Review

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you