Page 1

’Cats win the Northwest Conference title >> page 16

November 14, 2011

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

117th Year

Issue No. 11

Student files restraining order against her ex-boyfriend

INSIDE

Samantha Sigler News editor

Faculty lecture A Linfield professor shares the content of her upcoming book about the extinction of salmon, during a faculty lecture Nov. 9 in Riley 201. >> page 4

Seeing double Twins at Linfield talk about how they feel about their college experiences together or apart. >> page 8 & 9

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Mike Barrow, a Linfield alumnus and Vietnam veteran was honored with a study room in Nicholson Library on Nov. 12. Throughout the ceremony, friends of Barrow, such as Brian Petterson (above), spoke of the huge impact Barrow had on him and Linfield.

Linfield alum, veteran honored with study room Kelsey Sutton Copy chief

Musically diverse The Linfield Concert Band played fun, diverse songs during its Nov. 8 concert in Ice Auditorium. >> page 10

Individually strong Although individual swimmers performed well, the men’s swim team lost against the University of Puget Sound with a score of 97-164. >> page 16

INSIDE

Editorial ...................... 2 News ........................... 4 Features........................ 7 Culture....................... 10 Sports ........................ 16

A Linfield alumnus and Vietnam veteran was honored for his life and accomplishments with a study room in Nicholson Library. Friends, family, college teammates and fellow alumni gathered to tell stories and remember Mike Barrow on Nov. 12 in the library. Barrow graduated from Linfield in 1968 and entered the military in

Vietnam, where he was killed during combat in 1969. Barrow was described by his friends and family as an outgoing, competitive person and a “rascal.” He lettered in both football and baseball at Linfield, playing as a successful quarterback throughout his college years in 1963 through 1968. Friends of Barrow stood up to speak about his memory and share anecdotes. His laughter and his big heart were frequently highlighted

by his loved ones. His sister, Mary Gail Barrow, told a story from their childhood about how his competitiveness went all the way back to grade school when they played softball at recess. One friend, Brian Peterson, stood to speak of the great impact that Barrow’s friendship had on him. He showed his ring, which was >> Please see Room page 5

A Linfield student was threatened by her ex-boyfriend, prompting her to file for a restraining order against him Nov. 1. Freshman Laura Jean Lichit’s re s t r a i n i n g order was approved, prohibiting McMinnville resident Zachary Ryan SpenSpencer cer from coming within 150 feet of campus. The need for a restraining order rose after Lichit broke up with Spencer after coming to college, she said. Spencer then began to send her obscene and threatening text messages, at which point, Lichit felt that obtaining a restraining order was the best thing to do to prevent Spencer from contacting her, she said. “I wanted to take every precaution,” Lichit said. Spencer is a 5’6,” 20-year-old Caucasian male who is often seen wearing a baseball cap. Spencer has a barbed wire tattoo around his neck and shoulders as well as a skull tattoo on his right shoulder. If seen on campus, students are advised not to contact him and to call 911 immediately. Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Fergueson recognized for 11 years of dedication Andra Kovacs Senior reporter In the same office that so many students and administrators have gone to over the years seeking help, advice or just a friendly ear, there now hangs a plaque in recognition of excellence. Last weekend, at the West regional National Association of Campus Activities Conference, Dan Fergueson, Director of College Activities, received the Shelley K. Bannish Award for Outstanding Staff Adviser, which is given out each year to a nominated adviser at a college, community college or university in one of the 11 participating states. Fergueson said that he has attended this conference 20 or 30

Photo courtesy of Nicole Bond Dan Fergueson, director of College Activities, receives his award from Shelley K. Bannish. times, and the award came as a complete surprise to him. The award is a huge honor, with

more than 50 schools attending the conference. The receiver of the award is nominated by students and administrators from their school, who submit letters of support. Senior Nicole Bond, vice president of programming, has been to the conference three times and said that she had the idea to nominate Fergueson last year. She approached students and staff about writing letters of support earlier this fall, and soon enough, she had eight letters from both his students and colleagues. As an adviser to the Cabinet, LAB, senate, the activities council, cheerleading program and a track coach, Fergueson is greatly involved on and off campus, making him a well-known, reputable

leader at Linfield. “I think everybody on campus knows him just because he does so many things. He helps with RA’s, he’s a track coach, he’s on the sidelines of football games, he’s spread into so many different areas and everybody has a positive opinion of him,” Bond said. “I think that he’s really seen as approachable, and he’s really well-known among other administrators, and I think many of them see him as their window to the students because he has such a good relationship with other students. He achieves that level of friendship better than any other administrator.” As an active leader on campus, >> Please see Dedicate page 4


2

Opinions

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com Editor-in-chief Jessica Prokop Managing editor Joanna Peterson Copy chief Kelsey Sutton Copy editor Nick Hahn Business manager Jessica Pham News editor Samantha Sigler Sports editor Kaylyn Peterson Culture editor Sharon Gollery Features editor Ivanna Tucker Opinion editor Meghan O’Rourke Photo editor Joel Ray

November 14, 2011

EDITORIAL

Should Paterno have been fired? Joe Paterno, the head football coach at Penn State for 46 years, was fired Nov. 9, along with the Penn State president, Graham Spanier, for failing to report sexual abuse to authorities. Jerry Sandusky, former assistant football coach at Penn State, faces enough sexual abuse charges to put him in prison for 460 years. Nine victims, all male, have come forward so far. In 2002, Mike McQueary, the Penn State receiver coach, saw Sandusky with a boy in the shower, and reported the incident to Paterno. Paterno relayed the information to athletic director Tim Curley and vice president Gary Schultz. Curley and Schultz, who were allegedly involved in covering up the scandal, were charged with failing to report the abuse to authorities. Many people still question whether Paterno deserves to be fired. Thousands of Penn State students don’t think so. Students started rioting after discovering that their football coach had been

fired. After having such a successful football program for many years, students are probably angry about Paterno being taken away from them. While students may not want their football coach gone, Paterno made a mistake and must deal with the consequences. In this case, the consequence is losing his job. Paterno isn’t necessarily a bad person. He just made a bad choice by not notifying police about what Sandusky did. It is easy to pass on the responsibility of dealing with a serious issue to someone else, which is exactly what Paterno did by notifying Curley and Schultz rather than the police. By not reporting the abuse, Paterno was essentially permitting the abuse to happen. Paterno also probably didn’t want to believe that Sandusky would do such a thing, and because of this, the Penn State faculty likely chose to ignore the problem, hoping it would go away on its own. People often turn a blind eye to

something they don’t want to admit is happening. Indeed, this is not the first time an official at a school has gotten away with sexual abuse for a long time. According to an editorial blog by the Statesman Journal, a Linfield professor got away with sexual abuse for decades and was not prosecuted until he was 81 years old. While Paterno should be held accountable for his role in allowing Sandusky’s actions to continue, he should not be turned into a villainous scapegoat. Instead, we should all learn from this incident and prevent ourselves from acquiescing to similar abuses. No matter the circumstance, call the authorities if you are a witness to sexual abuse. Even if you aren’t positive that what you saw or heard was sexual abuse, it is much better to be safe rather than sorry, as the Penn State case proves. -The Review Editorial Board

Review office hours Editor-in-chief Tuesdays 2:30-3:15 p.m.

Fridays 12:00-1:00 p.m. or by appointment Managing editor Mondays 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. Tuesdays 2:30-3:00 p.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter @linfieldreview and on Facebook

Corrections The Linfield Review publishes corrections from the previous week’s issue in this spot every week that a correction is needed. To submit a correction, email linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Online editor Jaffy Xiao Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla Illustrator Yura Sim Senior reporter Andra Kovacs Senior photographer Melanie Timmins Circulation manager Samantha Sigler Columnists Chris Forrer “Dear Bailey” Adviser Brad Thompson Associate Professor of Mass Communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Mondays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than noon Friday to appear in the Review the following Monday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

POLITICS

Michigan bill gives kids right to bully The Lansing State Journal recently published an article about the Michigan Senate, which passed a bill Nov. 2 called Matt’s Safe School Law. This was apparently intended to be a bill that would prevent bullying. In fact, the boy whose name is preserved in its title, Matt Epling, was bullied to such extremes that he committed suicide in 2002. Before this bill was passed, it was revised to preserve First Amendment rights. The end result is a bill that enables bullying, as long as the bullies have “sincerely held religious belief, or moral conviction.”

Sharon Gollery Culture editor So, as long as the schoolyard tyrant can put together a sentence about how sincerely he believes God intended that everyone else’s lunch money should belong to him, he is now allowed to continue beating everyone else up. I have trouble articulating exactly how much this idea horrifies me. Nothing, absolutely

nothing, excuses bullying, and I don’t care how many reasons you can give me to “justify” it. Children who have been victims of bullying can be scarred for life. You can’t tell them that the bullies were doing it for religious reasons and expect them to forget the awful misery of being tormented. Secondly, I can’t believe that a bill that basically gives bullies an excuse to keep harassing kids was named after a boy who died because of bullying. I don’t care why these kids were bullying him or how many religious or moral reasons they could imagine. Matt Epling and

many others have still died legislation could support because of it, and that is bullying of homosexuals. something that should be People who often bully respected. homosexuals tend to hold This is a bill that will religious beliefs against legitimize the kinds of bul- them, and this law will lies who drive kids to their only reinforce these condeaths. victions. Furthermore, it disconBullying can kill. No firms the victims. If even amount of excuses will the law says that bullies cover up how wrong this have the right to pick on is. Regardless of one’s relithem, where can they go gious beliefs, the harm it for help? induces is unacceptable. Telling a little girl that No one should have to her tormenters are only suffer because of someone exercising their right to else’s beliefs. free speech will not make This bill that outlines her feel better. how to get away with bulIt will give her the mes- lying should never have sage that she is wrong for been written. wanting to make them stop picking on her. Sharon Gollery can be reached at On top of all this, this linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


November 14, 2011

Opinions

www.linfieldreview.com

3

COMMUNITY

Citizen science engages people in world issues It can be difficult for average citizens to break into the scientific community. Unless you’re trained to sift through pages of data or you’re naturally inclined to process the world through numbers, the scientific world can seem daunting. Yet, because major world issues and everyday life depend on science, it’s important to find ways to engage in the topics that researchers explore. This is why you should

Joanna Peterson Managing editor consider adopting a citizen science project. Citizen science is a general term for a variety of projects meant to engage a

wide range of people in the scientific community. You can sign up to participate in these projects at websites, such as www.citizenscience alliance.org. Projects range from measuring rainwater in your backyard to recording data about native plants in the area. After collecting specific data about your topic and plugging it into a pre-made form, you can upload your findings to the project coor-

dinators, adding to a collaborative research opportunity. Some argue that the data from citizen science projects doesn't actually get published in any actual studies, making the projects useless. Even if scientists don't actually consider citizen science collected data when they make assertions about the world, the projects are still valuable. Citizen science engages average people in the world they inhabit.

People who will never have the opportunity to sit in labs, peer into microscopes and analyze data, suddenly have the chance to interact with the natural world in a semi-formal manner. Doing something as small as stepping outside to check a rainwater gauge on your sidewalk has the power to affect how you view larger issues, such as global climate change or water conservation. Taking time to make your

own observations about the world gives you a chance to take ownership of your role as an active player in the world. So, whether you sign up to record data about constellations or to go bird watching, take pride in being proactive in understanding how the world works and contributing to the scientific community in a tangible way. Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

SCHOOL

Schedule and organize your school time wisely A few weeks ago, I was invited to attend a Colloquium class and give my perspective on various aspects of student life. It seemed that time management and the arrangement of classes were the most important topics we covered. The classes you take are important. However, potential employers are highly unlikely to look at your transcripts. They want to ensure that you are highly motivated and efficient enough to accomplish tasks in a timely manner. As a student adjusting to college life, it can be difficult to juggle classes, new friends, clubs and personal time. The best way to handle this is to know exactly what you have to do and about how long each task will take. I set up task lists for myself so I know all I need to accomplish during a certain week. By laying everything out, you can decide what to do on what day and estimate how long you will spend on it. While I can’t tell you exactly how long you should take writing certain essays or working on various projects, I do recommend that you start paying attention to your own work habits. If it takes you three hours of intense study to finish a well-written essay, then schedule three hours without friends, Facebook or parties. This brings me to another point: don’t forget to schedule fun in your life. Try focusing your studies to leave a few weekends a semester for complete debauchery. If you schedule your time well, you deserve a break. So go to the beach, go to Portland, go wherever you see fit, just make sure you’re ready to come back in on Monday and work your butt off. As for class arrangement,

Juli Tejadilla Graphics designer don’t get too set on those four-year plans they hand out in freshman year. Yes, they are helpful, but class schedules rarely work the way they should. The nice thing about Linfield is the small class sizes. However, most of those classes are scheduled at the same time. Give yourself some flexibility and fill in those gaps with the basic college requirements. It is also incredibly helpful if you know exactly which majors and minors you want by sophomore year. As for my experience, I knew freshman year that I wanted to be a business major. However, I really fell in love with the art department. So I compromised; I became a business major with an art minor. This idea lasted until last semester when my art professors convinced me to add an art major. Filling the requirements for the majors in my last year of college wasn’t hard, but the general Linfield requirements created a new problem since most of my LCs were tied up in the art department. Therefore, to graduate this spring, I have to retake about half of my LC’s. My advice: don’t do this. It’s a pain in the butt. Decide your majors and minors as early as possible, so you don’t find yourself in a pickle senior year. Juli Tejadilla can be reached at linfieldreviewgraphics@gmail.com.

Say ‘thanks’ on Thanksgiving

HOLIDAYS

Thanksgiving is just around the corner. As we all prepare to enjoy a week off from school, we should ask ourselves: What am I thankful for? Thanksgiving is supposed to be a time of giving thanks. It should be a time spent in the company of loved ones, while being thankful for what we have and love in life. Thanksgiving seems to have lost its meaning for the average American. It is merely an opportunity to watch football games and parades while eating massive amounts of turkey and pumpkin pie. Thanksgiving comes and goes without being made truly meaningful. The holiday often passes without anyone giving a single “thanks” to anyone for anything. Rather, it seems that many Americans expect

Meghan O’Rourke Opinion editor these things on Thanksgiving instead of being thankful for the opportunity to have them. Something needs to change. People can still enjoy their football, turkey and pumpkin pie. But rather than acting greedy and ungrateful, it is important to remember that there are many people who aren’t fortunate enough to be able to enjoy eating as much food as they could possibly desire. Instead, these people worry about where they will get their next meal.

This year, when you enjoy all of your Thanksgiving delicacies, say “thank you” to whoever prepared the food, and be thankful that you can enjoy such a meal. Better yet, donate food or volunteer at a local food bank so that other people can enjoy a satisfying meal on Thanksgiving. Some restaurants may also be serving free Thanksgiving meals to low-income families. Check out restaurants in your area to see if there are any restaurants putting on such a program with volunteer opportunities. Since it is starting to get colder outside, consider donating an old coat to an organization such as the Salvation Army. Anything that you do to help someone else during the holiday season will make the

holidays more meaningful to you and to the person that you’re helping. You’ll feel good knowing that you helped someone else enjoy their holiday season, and inspire other people to help people in need of necessities. Since Thanksgiving is a holiday generally spent in the company of close family and friends, take the time to tell loved ones why you are thankful to have them in your life. Through simple acts of kindness such as donating cans to your local food bank and telling people why you care about them, we can transform Thanksgiving into the holiday that it is supposed to be. Meghan O’Rourke can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

November 14, 2011

Dedicate: Award given to adviser

<< Continued from page 1

Bond has worked with Fergueson for four years now and said that having him as an adviser has made her better at what she does. “I really like how he makes us feel like we have ownership of what we’re doing,” she said. “We feel like we’re running stuff, and we feel like we’re the people in charge. I feel like I get most of the credit for LAB events, but it wouldn’t be possible without him. He’s just kind of that unsung hero.” She said that outside of him being there as an adviser, Fergueson is also a friend to her as well as many students on campus. “He’s a really good listener, and sometimes my job can get stressful so he’s had to listen to me vent plenty, and I think that’s true for a lot of other ASLC leaders,” Bond said. “He’s not just an outstanding supervisor, he’s also there for advice and is always a good sound board.” In his 11th academic year at Linfield, Fergueson still has not forgotten what brought him into this field of work. He said that he simply wanted to “help students have a similar experience I did.”

As a highly involved student in college, he wants to help students develop and learn outside of the classroom. It is in this dedication to his students’ experiences that pushes him to continue doing what he can for others. “It’s the students that keep you passionate about the job,” Fergueson said. “It’s what makes you keep coming back each day with a smile on your face, knowing that you’re helping inspire hope for these students but also helping them learn and grow.” Jeff Mackay, associate dean of students, discussed this same dedication to his students in the letter of support he wrote in order to nominate Fergueson for the award. “With all of the work that Dan does for our profession and NACA, he does not forget the real reason he is here and that is to enhance the student experience,” Mackay wrote in his letter of support. “A true educator, Dan sees the vast opportunities to teach outside of the formal classroom. He not only sees the Activities Office as a programming body for students but as a learning laboratory.” Because of his commitment to his students, Fergue-

Photo Courtesy of Nicole Bond

(Left to right) Senior’s Nicole Szanto, Amanda McGee, Nicole Bond; Dan Fergueson, director of College Activities; sophomore Andrew Villenueve; and juniors Evan O’Kelly and Emily Jenkins of the Linfield Activities Board pose with Fergueson after receiving his award. son said that having many of the letters and nominations for the award come from those students he works with made the experience that much more gratifying. “It was a very humble experience for me to be awarded an award that I knew my students had a big part in,” he said. “It’s one thing to get an award

from the association, when it’s colleagues nominating you, but it’s different when the folks that you actually work with day to day go out of their way to do it. It was a bit overpowering in some ways to know that students took time to write letters and to campaign in some ways to get me that award. It was a pretty special day.”

Wadewitz presents upcoming book Samantha Sigler News editor Dr. Lissa Wadewitz, assistant professor of history, presented “The Nature of Borders: Salmon and Boundaries in the Salish Sea,” as a part of the Faculty Lecture Series on Nov. 9. Wadewitz has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Asian studies and presented her lecture to inform those who came of her upcoming book being published in spring 2012 called “The Nature of Borders: Salmon and Boundaries in the Salish Sea.” The book examines the connection between the border area between British Columbia and Washington, and how it led to the decay of the salmon runs. The book itself has been accepted into the prestigious Emil and Kathleen Sick Series, a series that concentrates on publications in regard to American West. Throughout the lecture, Wadewitz described why borders and human relations have always influenced the lives of salmon. From the borders created by the Native Americans, all the way to fish piracy in the 1800s and 1900s, Wadewtiz described how the Native people drew “specific types

While Bond said she was incredibly excited for Fergueson to receive the award and the recognition he deserves, she hopes that all students are able to see the amazing resource that they have in Fergueson because he has shaped so many students’ experiences in more ways than one. “We as students should

feel very honored to have access to such a great adviser,” Bond said. “We are lucky to have someone as kind, hardworking, calm, experienced and fun as [Fergueson]. He has made my time as a student leader not only more pleasant, but a better learning experience as well.” Anrda Kovacs can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

News Brief

Linfield College was recognized with 130 media stories and citations in October, according to a press release sent from Nadene LeCheminant, the director of Media Relations. Some of the top featured stories appeared in The Washington Post, Planet Science, e! Science, ScienceBlog, the University of Cambridge Science Portal, OPB’s Think Out Loud program, The Oregonian, The Statesman Journal, The News-Register, The Bend-Bulletin, The MedfordMail Tribune, the Polk County Itemizer-Observer, KGW television, MSNBC, The Iowa City Press Citizen and The Lund Report. OPB’s Think Out Loud featured Daniel Pollack-Pelzner, assistant professor of English, who discussed the controversial, new movie about Shakespeare. The Oregonian and Lund Report showcased Margaret Ngai, class of ’12, who was elected as vice president of the National Student Nurses Association. There are 56,000 members in the association. The News-Register featured the dedication of TJ Day Hall, including an interview with TJ Day, class of ’71. ~ Jessica Prokop/Editor-in-chief

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Dr. Lissa Wadewitz, assistant professor of history, presents the content of her upcoming book “The Nature of Borders: Salmon and Boundaries in the Salish Sea,” during a faculty lecture Nov. 9 in Riley 201. of access borders around their fishery” in which the goal was to conserve the salmon. Additionally, border between Canada and America supported salmon smuggling and piracy which lead to the transnational conservation policies in an attempt to preserve what was left of the salmon.

Wadewitz used maps throughout her presentation to give a visual of the border between Canada and America in order to better explain the causes of the decline of the salmon runs. In addition to her book being published in the spring, Wadewitz may also

be invited to the University of Washington campus in Seattle to give a talked based on the book, she said. “I am also hoping to be able to do some readings in Portland,” Wadewitz said in an email. “But, nothing has been planned yet.” Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


News

November 14, 2011

Room: Alumni receives dedication << Continued from page 1 inscribed with the words “Remember Mike.” “He was a Delta, I was a Theta. You wouldn’t think that we would bond, but we did. I was a center, he was a quarterback. The bond’s still going on,” he said. Tom Taylor, Barrow’s roommate in college, met Barrow outside of the spotlight and attention of sports. “Mike had a zest for life that I haven’t seen since,” he said. Pete Degenis, another close college friend of Barrow, was one of many who mentioned his large character despite his small stature. Odis Avritt, a fellow Delta Psi Delta, spoke of Barrow’s leadership. “Mike was kind of our leader. Everyone knows freshmen were hazed. So, as freshmen, we would go aside and figure out how we were going to get those older Deltas,” Avritt said. Avritt talked about how he tried to talk Barrows out of going overseas. Barrows told him, “I’ve made my peace, and I will go and do what it is that I need to do.” “He wasn’t very big, but he had the heart of a lion,” Avritt said. Barrow met a girl in college, fell in love and proposed. Barrow left for war, but Janet Gerfen never stopped loving him, even after she went on to marry and have children. Gerfen’s daughter, Stephanie Baird, spoke of her mother’s undying love for Barrow. “My mom wore Michael’s engagement ring on another finger until the day she passed away, three years ago.” There are pictures and mementos in the study room in Nicholson Library. It is the hope of many that Linfield students will see the pictures and imagine what it was like to be a student at Linfield during another time. And of course, students will be able to see the great role model that Mike Barrows was. Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

www.linfieldreview.com

5

Linfield hosts character debate Joanna Peterson Managing editor Despite that they were debating about serious topics, such as the swine flu, the students used their acting skills to impersonate famous characters like Ellen Degeneres and Jon Stewart. These character debates were part of the 81st Mahaffey Memorial Tournament, where 24 colleges and universities met at Linfield’s campus Nov. 12-14, capitalizing on their debate and speaking skills to compete. “The character debate is an event that isn’t offered at other colleges,” sophomore Clara Martinez said in an email. Martinez said Linfield’s forensics team did well in the tournament, with Martinez scoring first place in the junior persuasion category and freshmen Matt Baurichter and Michal Zier making it to semi-finals in junior British Parliamentary Debate. Even though Martinez

Joel Ray/Photo editor Students from visiting schools debate about serious topics, such as oil and the swince flu, in the 81st Mahaffey Memorial Tournament on Nov. 12-14 on the Linfield campus. said the event required a lot of set-up and preparation time, she enjoyed how the home tournament allowed a comfortable atmosphere. “Home tournaments are usually much more relaxed

for us as competitors,” Martinez said. “In between rounds I can stop by my dorm room if I forget to grab something and getting some rest is a bit easier.”   But despite the wide

range of participating schools and success of the tournament, few Linfield supporters attended the event, freshman Caitlyn Bruno said. Buno said that because

the forensics team is such a small program, it’s difficult to get extensive support. “In general, most people don’t know everything that goes into the team, even if they’ve heard of it,” Bruno said. “But they are still interested when I tell them that I’m part of the program.” But despite the lack of recognition, Martinez said the tournaments and being part of the team have enhanced her speaking and reasoning skills. “Competing in a variety of individual events has helped  me improve  my debating skills,” Martinez said. “I have gained so much public speaking  experience that it has spilled over into my classroom  participation and presentations  for the better.  I have realized that with speech and debate, all I can do is improve with dedication,  passion and practice.”  

Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Occupy Wall Street insists it’s not political Gianna Palmer McClatchy Newspaper

The Occupy Wall Street protest may be a movement, a momentary phenomenon or something in between, but one thing its most fervent activists insist it’s not is a team of shock troops for any political campaign. That’s a disappointment to Democrats who wish the Occupy activists would animate their party the way the tea party lit up Republicans in the past two years, but the protesters at the original Occupy Wall Street scene say that’s not what it’s about. “I don’t see us endorsing candidates or trying to form a party,” said Mark Bray, 29, a doctoral student in history at Rutgers University and a spokesman for Occupy Wall Street. Efforts to shift the movement in a partisan direction would be unlikely to be approved by the consensus process at the protesters’ regular General Assembly meetings, he and other protesters say. “There would be so many people who would balk at the endorsement of any party or candidate that I don’t think it would happen,” Bray said. Not yet, at least. Like other protesters from various Occupy Wall Street organizing groups, Bray did not rule out political possibilities for the future. Protesters from the Occupy Cincinnati group have announced a platform for a new political party _ the Occupation Party. The protests are far from apolitical. It’s difficult to walk even a few feet in Zuccotti

Katelyn Ferral/McClatchy Newspaper

Police brandished guns and assault rifles on Sunday, Nov. 13, 2011, as they arrested a group of demonstrators who had taken over a vacant car dealership Saturday night in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Park, the New York protest’s base in Manhattan’s financial district, without hearing political issues being debated and finding groups weighing in on a wide range of subjects such as health care, education, national debt and defense spending. Though most activists at Occupy Wall Street claim to be dissatisfied with the state of American government and politics, their views come in many flavors. Some are leftists of the 1960s generation, and others are curious newcomers to political activism. Still others are Ron Paul supporters, anarchists, or soured

Obama campaign volunteers. Last Wednesday, a group of protesters left for a twoweek march to Washington, with plans to arrive by Nov. 23, the deadline for the congressional Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction to decide how to deal with federal budget deficits. The activists plan to protest extending the Bush-era tax cuts. But beyond such singular acts of protest, most Occupy Wall Street activists hope their movement will remain outside organized politics for now. They offer several explanations. Some say they feel the

political status quo is so corrupt, it’s best not to engage with it at all. Elisa Miller, 38, a New Orleans resident who came to New York for the protests in late September, said she was boycotting the 2012 elections. “This system is grossly dysfunctional,” she said, then entered a heated exchange with a passing organizer about why she thinks electoral reform is impossible. Several protesters said they want their effort to avoid being co-opted by or beholden to a particular party or candidate. Many praised the pro-

tests as a place to nurture the exchange of new political ideas entirely outside of the two-party system. “We’re literally opening a space that did not exist before,” said Kobi Skolnick, 30, who said he was amazed at the creative problem-solving he’s seen. Others said the question of what would become of the protests, politically or otherwise, was missing the point. “The question to me is, what’s the right way to come up with an answer to that, based on democratic principles?” said Bray, the spokesman.


6

â&#x20AC;˘

www.linfieldreview.com

News

November 14, 2011


Features

November 14, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

7

Turkeying it up with Linfield students Ivanna Tucker/ Features editor Thanksgiving is around the corner, and many are about to gather with their families to eat and spend time together. Here are some activities Linfield students will be partaking in this year. “Every Thanksgiving my brother and I curl up and watch the Macy’s Day Parade. From the time we get up, we are eating, non stop eating. There is food all over the house! We also put on the first Christmas music of the year. After dinner, we all curl up with whatever book we’re reading, or my mom is usually knitting, and try to fight our food coma before we all play cards.” -Anna Statz, junior

“We bake pumpkin pies together.” -Christine Fujiki, sophomore “Ever since I was a little kid I remember sleeping in just long enough before rushing out of bed to watch the Macy’s parade. I’ve never missed it.” -Heather McDaniel, freshman

“We usually go see my Nana and Papa in Arizona.” -Chelsea Ploof, sophomore

“We go around the table and say what we each are thankful for. Also, in my family, we cook the turkey upside down.” -Paloma Dale, senior

“I usually go up to my grandma’s and sometimes go hunting with my uncles.” -Sam Gauksheim, sophomore

“On Thanksgiving, my family gets the Christmas lights together and starts to put them on the house. My mom and I usually say what we want and then my dad and brother hang them up.” -Holli Brouillette, freshman

“We all stick our Christmas lists on the fridge, so that everyone can go look at them discretely later.” -Sammi Palmer, freshman “My family has a Thanksgiving book where everyone writes what they are thankful for.” -Morgan Seymour, freshman

“My mom and I always wake up early and get the turkey in the oven and spend all day baking.” -Katy Brosig, sophomore

“The funniest tradition we have is that each person brings a dish for “Thanksgiving is the only time of year when dinner and names their dish after my whole family is together—for Christmas. some controversial figure in the Everyone breaks off to smaller family media. The turkey has been named gatherings, but at Thanksgiving, everyone is “George Bush” before.” together and the chaos that ensues is de-Katherine Thomas, sophomore lightful.” -Sarah Korn, senior Ivanna Tucker can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Fea

How a twin on c twin the college Ivanna Tucker/ Features editor

Siblings tend to bond easily because they experience most of their lives together. A greater connection, however, is made when your sibling is born around the same time as you. As a twin, you grow up and connect on a deeper level because of the lack of an age difference. Having a twin causes students to experience college differently. Sophomore Dillon Casados has a twin brother, who does not attend Linfield, and has learned about himself through the experience. “Being in college by myself has definitely helped me figure out a few things about myself that I otherwise don’t think I would have figured out if he attended the same school,” Casados said. By being in a different state, Casados has not been able to communicate with his twin as much because they are busy and have different schedules. Being referred to as a “twin” all his life made the transition to college more difficult for Casados because he had to do it on his own. He decided that he would make the effort to meet and talk to everyone that he could, he said. “When I came to college I didn’t have another person that looked just like me for people to put their attention toward,” Casados said. “It’s made things such as socializing in college harder for me, which is good because I’m learning how to socialize on my own rather than people approaching me as [one of] ‘the twins’.” Sophomore Courtney Alley has a fraternal twin sister who attends the University of Idaho. Throughout her youth, Alley and her sister would do typical twin behaviors, such as following each other around and talking at the

Amanda Gibbons

same time. Over “Since colle thought I did,” A happen to me a it was her,” Alle As a junior a twin who isn’t individual. Her twin br she is still near “I think the special connecti but Austin and I weren’t in the sa Since he is when she is hom not have that op Through he she is by not ha her with challeng “I don’t hav me, but it has a me,” Burgess sa one so close, ha after my dreams Freshmen D identical twins w gether by attend From a you such as gymnas Dana is kn Amanda is more They are ta also roommates “It’s nice to for you,” Dana G The Gibbon because they di places. Originally schools, but in t the same schoo “If Dana we me to be more Now that the preciate that the ly, in those mom “It’s like I ne part of home,” A

Ivanna Tucker can be


atures

November 14, 2011 •

campus impacts experience

r time, they developed their own characters. ege started, I’ve noticed I’ve needed her more than I Alley said. “During my freshman year, I had some things and I felt like the only person I could really talk to about ey said. r, Ashley Burgess has been able to realize how having at the same school has allowed her to grow as an

rother, Austin, attends Oregon State University, so him but still has some distance. e coolest thing while growing up was having that ion that only twins have. Call it what you want, I always knew when the other was hurt even if we ame town,” Burgess said. s about an hour away, she is able to go visit him mesick, unlike other twins who are separated and do pportunity. er experience, Burgess has been able to define who aving her twin at the same school. It has presented ges and rewards as well, she said. ve my comfort zone of having him right next to also inspired me to find out what makes me, aid. “With that said, having a twin, especially as also given me the confidence to chase s.” Dana Gibbons and Amanda Gibbons are who share their college experience toding the same school. ung age, they did the same activities, stics and playing the viola. nown as the more outgoing one, while e shy. aking the same classes, and they are s. o always have someone that is there Gibbons said. n sisters attended school together idn’t feel ready to go to different y, they were going to attend separate the end, they both decided to go to ol. eren’t here, it would probably force outgoing,” Amanda Gibbons said. ey are here, Dana and Amanda apey are here for each other, especialments when they become homesick. ever left home. My sister is a big Amanda Gibbons said.

reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.

Dana Gibbons

9


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

November 14, 2011

Band creates storm of compositions Cassie Wong Staff writer The Linfield College Concert Band created a storm to open its fall concert. The Department of Music hosted the fall concert, “Songs of Sea, Air, Storms, Love & Friendship” on Nov. 8 in Ice Auditorium. The opening song was Jim Casella’s “Stormbreak,” which required a large variety of exotic and untraditional percussion instruments, such as maraca shakers, ocean drums, rain sticks and wood blocks. The piece was an energetic imitation of a storm presented in an outburst of powerful sounds. Almost all of the performers played more than one instrument for “Stormbreak,” switching between instruments. Their effort was reciprocated by the passionate applause of the audience. After resetting the stage, the band performed Ron Goodwin’s “Tall Ships,” followed by Samuel Hazo’s “In Heaven’s Air.” The latter was dedicated to the composer’s friend

Joel Ray/Photo editor Seniors Chelsea Janzen and Alex Fitch perform during “Songs of Sea, Air, Storms, Love & Friendship for the band’s fall concert Nov. 8 in Ice Auditorium. whose mother had passed away. Hazo presented his piece with Shakespeare’s Sonnet 21, which Paddock read as the introduction of the piece. The last song before the intermission was “Suite

on Greek Love Songs,” by Dutch composer Henk van Lijnschooten. Paddock shared an interesting incident during the band’s rehearsal of this song. According to Paddock,

a trombone player in the band had the European publication of the sheet music, which resulted in unfavorable effects during the final rehearsal. Luckily, they discovered the problem and were able to per-

which there was already a wide array of appetizers, including broccoli and fishcakes, with several dipping sauces. The walls of the restaurant were painted orientalstyle, depicting people living the ancient, traditional Korean lifestyle. Even the dishes reflected Eastern culture, with Asian characters printed on the plates and cups. The menu included various meats and tofu. The meat was uncooked, allowing the customers to prepare the food themselves over a grill constructed into the center of the table. “I thought the beef was delicious,” sophomore Alex

Lazar said. Besides the meat and vegetables, each student was given a rice bowl, tea cup and soup bowl. Pots of green tea were placed on both sides of the table, as was a pot of vegetable and tofu soup. There was an array of food to choose from, for a wide variety of taste buds. The food came in a steady stream. Once the waiter or waitress saw that food was running low, they quickly replaced whatever was needed. “My favorite food would have to be samgyusal, which is Korean pork belly meat and the kimchi jjigae, which is a kimchi (spicy pickled cabbage) stew,”

Tran said. Students left the restaurant with full stomachs. The entire experience cost four dollars per student. “I would most definitely go on another “Taste of” event in the future,” Tran said. Senior Nicole Szanto, the cultural off-campus events chair, organized the event, and DJK Korean BBQ is only one of many restaurants to which LAB has taken students. “Taste of” events showcase different cultures, treating students to a different type of food every time. Past events this year have included “Taste of Portland” and “Taste of

Students sample Korean food Meghan O’Rourke Opinion editor A plethora of meat, vegetables and tofu ready to be grilled sat in the middle of the customers’ table. DJK Korean BBQ, located in Beaverton, Ore., was the destination for a group of Linfield students hungry for Korean food. On Nov. 9, The Linfield Activities Board (LAB) organized “The Taste of Korea,” taking a small group of students off-campus for dinner at DJK Korean BBQ. “I thoroughly enjoyed the event,” freshman Sandra Tran said. “It was a fantastic meal.” The students were taken to their reserved table, on

form the “non-dissonant version” of the piece. After a short break, senior oboe soloist Amanda Summers performed Émile Paladilhe’s “Concertante” with the band. Summers is in the Lin-

field Chamber Orchestra and Concert Band, and is the director of the Linfield Pep Band and Drumline. More unusual instruments, such as the dumbek, a Middle Eastern and North African drum, were introduced and the band performed the exotic “Arabic Dances” by Henry Fillmore. The lively piece required the musicians to shout from time to time and hit the drums so hard that one of the drummers’ hands were trembling when it ended. The last piece was Henry Fillmore’s “Golden Friendships,” a circus-style farewell to the composer’s friends before he moved away. Freshman Caitlin Evans said she liked the diversity and tone of the performance and that it spanned “every bit of the world.” The Linfield Concert Band has rehearsed once a week since the start of the semester. Freshman tenor saxophone player Daniel Bradley described the rehearsals as “lighthearted but intense.”

Cassie Wong can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Photo courtesy of Meghan O’Rourke DJK Korean BBQ provided a wide array of food during the Taste of Korea event in Beaverton on Nov. 9. Lebanon.” Students can sign up for“Taste of” events in the Campus Information Center (CIC) inside of the Riley Center. The price for these

events is usually around $4-5, which includes the meal and transportation. Meghan O’Rourke can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

Veterans share stories during theatre talk-back Sharon Gollery Culture editor Audience members were invited to join the cast of the Linfield theatre program’s “Fifth of July” in a special Veteran’s Day post-show discussion. The talk, “Veterans’ Perspectives on War,” followed the performance Nov. 11. Sophomore Jenny Layton said the theatre program holds discussions after at least one show every year. “We call them talkbacks,” Layton said.

“There’s a panel of people who are invited. The talks usually fit with the theme of the show. It’s usually an open discussion, and the audience and the cast are free to ask questions.” The panel for “Fifth of July” consisted of six men who were veterans of World War II, the Vietnam War and the second Gulf War. Bob Ferguson, a 1965 Linfield graduate, Daniel Belderrain, a 1973 Linfield graduate, James Duckworth, a 2007 Linfield graduate, Professor Michael Jones, Professor

Eric Schuck and Jim Ragsdale were all on the panel. Layton said that since the play focuses on a veteran returning home, the panel shared their perspectives on war and their post-war homecoming stories. “They mostly talked about what it was like coming home and adjusting to being back with people,” Layton said. “They all had different experiences coming back. One of them said he went hitchhiking after he went back, and one was in Europe for six or eight

months before he could go home.” Besides the panel, several audience members who participated in the discussion were also veterans. “One woman talked about how women are kind of overlooked as Vietnam veterans,” Layton said. “She was a nurse in Vietnam, but she’s had trouble getting the same benefits and things as other veterans. That hit me so hard, that in Vietnam and WWII, women weren’t really appreciated.” The cast of “Fifth of July”

felt touched by this discussion of real life war experiences, Layton said. “We were all so in awe of what these men and women were saying,” Layton said. “There were several times when we were in tears or near tears.” Layton said the subject of the play brought the cast and the veterans together in this discussion. “To listen to these experiences of war, and then insert myself into my character watching my nephew come home as a veteran—it was

so interesting to listen to them,” Layton said. “And then for the veterans watching the play, it was similar to watching themselves.” The Veteran’s Day performance was for the benefit of the Disabled American Veterans Auxiliary of Yamhill County, which the veterans on the panel said they were grateful for during the talk. “It was a beautiful discussion,” Layton said. Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


November 14, 2011

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Alumna’s debut novel stems from thesis Joanna Peterson Managing editor Molly Johnson, class of ‘04, began writing her debut novel as her undergraduate thesis. Now, seven years later, the novel has been published. Johnson described how she struggled through the writing and publication process during an author reading in the Nicholson Library on Nov. 7. Johnson’s novel, “Sparticus and the Circus of Shadows” is geared toward young adult readers and chronicles the adventures of a young explorer’s quest to rescue his missing mother from a traveling circus. She said that after writ-

Johnson ing the original manuscript and graduating from Linfield, she decided to attend Portland State University for a master’s degree in writing. Johnson used her graduate thesis project to continue revising the same book she began for her undergraduate degree. After she graduated

with her master’s degree, one of her professors recommended that Johnson give herself some time to clear her head before she continued trying to revise and edit the book. “I was told to give it six months of breathing time,” Johnson said. Johnson left to teach English in China, bringing the manuscript with her to continue editing after she was settled. Her writing progress was delayed, however, when the flash drive containing the only version of her manuscript was stolen while she was traveling. Johnson was forced to write a letter to Portland State, requesting a copy of

her thesis. She received a hard copy in the mail and went through the painstaking process of retyping the entire document. During this time, Johnson said she continually made major changes to the book, trying to fill plot holes and develop characters. “The book always felt like water,” Johnson said. “It was never static.” Even after hours of revisions and sending her work off to be considered for publication, Johnson still received multiple rejection letters. Little did she know, her first major break would come from a request from a former professor at Port-

land State. Johnson said the professor contacted her, asking if a class could use her graduate thesis for an editing and publishing course. Johnson agreed, hoping that she could publish one of the revised versions someday. Coincidentally, months later, a Portland State alumnus contacted Johnson, telling her that he read her manuscript when he took the revision and editing course. The alumnus had recently opened his own publishing house and wanted to kick off the company by publishing Johnson’s book. “I think it was at this point that I realized that I needed to be an active

player in the production of the story,” Johnson said. “I wasn’t just along for the ride anymore.” Johnson said her fiance was a key player in the success of her finished book, as he read through the story, pointing out character inconsistencies and plot holes. She said that now, even after a long editing process, there are still things she would like to change about her book. “I already marked up a copy of the book with revisions,” Johnson said. “But I have to believe in my work and what it turned out to be.” Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Portland band gives enthusiastic Cat Cab Breanna Bittick Staff writer Audience members danced and cheered enthusiastically as Portland, Ore., pop band Pocketknife made its college debut at the Pro Cat Cab on Nov. 10. Pocketknife is signed by a Portland indie label SoHiTek and consists of four members: drummer Karen D’Apice, keyboardist Jessica Boudreaux, vocalist David Chase and guitarist Marlin Gonda. The band began with Chase and Gonda playing with two other members they knew from school. Their drummer left the band and moved, and he was replaced with D’Apice. Shortly after, their keyboardist quit and was replaced by Boudreaux.

“I’m pretty sure I only got the keyboard spot because I look a lot like their old keyboardist. But at least I’m good at what I do, right?,” Boudreaux said. The band was wellreceived by students. “They were great,” freshman Peggy Barrett said. “Their sound was really unique, but also sounded like pop should sound. I loved it. It made me want to get up and dance around and be happy.” Pocketknife’s excitement and enthusiasm showed in its performance. Each member was genuinely happy to be there, loving what they were doing. They danced around with the beat of their music. Pocketknife has a happy, pop beat in each of its songs, making it hard not

to dance along to it. “They reminded me of a mixture of Death Cab for Cutie, Brand New and Owl City. Their music just made me want to dance around. It was so upbeat and enthusiastic. It just made me happy,” freshman Linnea Caso said. Between all the dancing and joy in the room, Pocketknife’s performance was a good time for everyone present. “Linfield was awesome, especially for our first college show,” D’Apice said. “Everyone was so nice and they all danced for us. A couple people even hung out for a while after the show to talk. This was definitely a good show.” Breanna Bittick can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Melanie Timmins/Senior photographer Guitarist Marlin Gonda performs during Pocketknife’s Cat Cab on Nov. 10 in the Fred Meyer Lounge.

Scholar shares Sufi history Sharon Gollery Culture editor

Latif Bolat, a native of Turkey, gave a presentation about the history and development of Sufi philosophy, poetry and music, followed by a concert in which he played some of the music mentioned in his lecture Nov. 10 in Ice Auditorium. In the pre-concert lecture, Bolat explained the origins of Sufi mysticism and its parallel but separate existence to orthodox Islam. He told stories about Sufi’s first poets, its first martyr and the people who helped to develop its philosophy. He also illustrated

the differences between Sufi mysticism and mainstream Islam by comparing the buildings, lifestyles, methods of worship and views on music of the two denominations throughout history. Bolat began the concert by giving an in-depth description of the development of Sufi music, which he called “troubadour music” and compared to the troubadours of Europe. He said the Sufi word for troubadour translates literally as “the one who is in love,” a reference both to the musicians’ love for their god and to their tendency to start off as shepherds who have their hearts broken by young women. “This is why there are

40,000 brokenhearted love songs,” Bolat said. “So many young men would begin making music for this girl, and then realize their true beloved was up there, not this woman who married someone else and had eight babies. There’s a Sufi saying that goes, ‘If you lift a stone, there’s a mystic poet under there.’” Bolat read Sufi poetry in Turkish so that the audience could hear the sound of the language before rereading the poems in English. He performed several Sufi songs and encouraged the audience to sing along with the refrain of one of them. Two of the songs were 800 years old, while two others were about the

bombing of Hiroshima and Robin Hood figures in Turkish history. For the last part of the concert, Bolat put on a slideshow of Turkish landscapes. He accompanied the slideshow with more Sufi music. Bolat has performed in concert halls, community centers and universities around the world and has led cultural tours to Turkey for the past 10 years. “I like traveling,” Bolat said. “In order to host cultural tours, people get to learn every single stone of the places they visit. I enjoy getting to know places so well.”

Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

November 14, 2011

Indie rock band melds heartbreak, love, folk rock Haydn Nason KSLC 90.3 FM Warsaw, a Seattle-based indie rock band, combines the sounds of heartbreak love songs with folk rock roots to provide a soothing combination of a unique alternative band. Warsaw is a five piece pop-folk group mostly known throughout the Northwest, but it has played and traveled all across the United States. The five-man band contains Scott Schrock Jr. on the bass and symphonics, Kris Orlowski on the guitar and main vocals; Aaron O’Neil playing the percussion; Torry

“Warsaw” album cover. Anderson on the keys, glock, vocals and melodica; and Mark Isakson on the guitar,

banjo, pedal and lap steel. These unique instruments are mixed to form wild emo-

“Paul” movie poster. religious young woman, whose beliefs are frustrated by the very existence of Paul. I really enjoy the humor of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, both from “Hot Fuzz” and “Shaun of the Dead,” but it’s not for everyone. I’ve met a handful of people who have loved both movies and another group who didn’t understand them at all. I recommend testing one out

before diving into this humor genre subsection. Also, I go back and forth on Seth Rogan, so I was initially a little uncertain with the casting of his voice for the alien, Paul, but he does a magnificent job and I ended up liking the character. I thought the writing of Pegg and Frost combined with the directing of Greg Mottola, the man who brought us Superbad and Adventureland, made for a great combination. Everything worked extremely well together. The jokes are smart and crude, and I know science fiction fans will get a good laugh from all of the gestures toward the genre. The lines about people hinting that the two might actually be a couple and the jokes about anal probing got a little old, but in the end, everything ran fairly smoothly. Paul is definitely an

situation. Consider how you would feel about seeing them after. Would you be able to continue the friendship? Others decide to try it with people they would not have continuous contact with. If you just want to try it, and you’re not sure about how you might feel later, exploring with someone you don’t know might be a better option. There are many online resources to find people who are willing to join. Be careful if you decide to do this. The person on the other end can be anyone. It might be best to let a

friend know what you’ve decided to do so that someone is aware of your situation. There are other concerns with this approach. These people have an unknown sexual history. That doesn’t mean that the history is bad, but it does mean you need to take precautions. If you decide to plan it ahead of time, you could request that they be tested. Always practice safe sex in these situations. Lay down some ground rules and limits. It would be a good idea to choose a “safe word” as well. These suggestions are good for any situation you decide is the best for you. There is also the matter of if you are in a relationship and how your partner would feel about it. Presenting the idea to them might be scary, and unless it has come up prior, their reaction might be unpredictable.

tions that can be felt through their indie-folk sounds. The album name and the title track, “Warsaw,” is a heartwarming love song describing being stuck and tied to a person in time. The symphonics and percussion flow together in the track “Warsaw,” as the vocals provide the story overlapping these soothing sounds. Lead singer Kris Orlowski has been inspired by many famous artists, such as Mumford & Sons, and similarities can be found in his music and lyrics. He also recognizes influential artists and bands, such as Jason Mraz, Coldplay and

‘Paul’ is almost an intergalactic hit Hayden Mace For the Review “Paul” is an unexpected breath of fresh air in the midst of all of the pollution coming from Hollywood. I’m a huge sucker for excellent trailers and high expectations, and I’ve been in somewhat of a rut lately when it comes to picking solid flicks. But I decided to give “Paul” a chance. It’s a road trip comedy about two sci-fi geeks who travel, via a battered RV, to all the alien “hot spots” in the United States. Along their way, they stumble upon Paul, an alien who has been held captive on Earth for several decades. The two comrades agree to help Paul get to his mother ship but don’t know what they’re getting into. Along their journey, they are chased by federal agents and accidentally kidnap an extremely

Bon Iver. The song “Way You Are,” brings a more indie-rock sound, which is different from every other song. This song is a perfect transition on the EP and one of their most famous tracks so far. Kris Orlowski has been called a “troubadour by definition” from the Seattle music blog “Sound on the Sound.” His tracks have a charisma of their own, which is why he is becoming increasingly popular. Warsaw was released on Nov. 22, and has been on many artists’ radars ever since then.

KSLC hopes to see tour dates soon for the Northwest region. The album Warsaw is a perfect example of how indie-pop music can provide love lyrics while telling a story through acoustic and unique sounds. To hear more songs and to check out Kris Orlowski on Warsaw, go to KSLC and listen. We are now streaming online, so go to our website and listen to the Best in the Northwest Student Station, KSLC 90.3 FM, www.linfield. edu/kslcfm. Haydn Nason can be reached at kslcmusic@gmail.com.

underdog type of movie, and I don’t mean the story. It’s just got a lot stacked up against it from the beginning. Not a lot of people are huge fans of Pegg and Frost’s work, Seth Rogan or alien movies in general, whether they’re comical or actionbased. I think the movie was an overall success just from this standpoint alone. It’s not the best work of Pegg and Frost, but it was definitely still a good ride. Jason Bateman, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Blythe Danner, Sigourney Weaver and many others join Pegg, Frost and Rogan. I give “Paul” an 8.4/10. Once again, this was Hayden from haydensmovies.com bringing you the latest and greatest in movie news and reviews.

Hayden Mace can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Threesomes sometimes

Dear Bailey, “I’ve been having fantasies about a threesome. Is this normal? What should I do?” -Anonymous

Dear Anonymous, First off, yes, it is normal. Many people have fantasies about threesomes, and it is your decision if you would like to participate in one. For some people, it is just not for them. They may feel that it isn’t acceptable, or they would feel uncomfortable. For others, it can be enjoyable, enhancing their sex life. You must analyze for yourself if it is right for you. If you do decide to be in one, you should consider how you would like to choose who to explore this with. Some people choose to ask a friend who they trust and feel comfortable with. If you have friends you can trust to be understanding and private, this can be the best

It could be as simple as asking if they have ever thought about a threesome. It is not just you deciding to do this. You need to take your partner’s thoughts and feelings into consideration as well. Stricter rules may need to be considered because it can be a more complicated situation. Communication needs to be open. Talk about what you each expect and want. Share what each of your fantasies includes. What should be off limits for both of you and the third person? What sex do you want joining? What concerns do each of you have, prior, during or after? It is a big decision. It could be unenjoyable for you, or it could also open up your sex life a little more.

Bailey can be reached at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com.

Upcoming events Literary Open Mic

7:00 p.m., Nov. 14, Fred Meyer Lounge

Wine history lecture

7:30 pm. Nov. 15, T.J. Day Hall

Evan O’kelly Cat Cab

9:00 pm. Nov. 17, Fred Meyer Lounge

Open Mic Night Cat Cab

9:00 pm. Dec. 1, Fred Meyer Lounge


Sports

November 14, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

Teams warm up for winter season Kaylyn Peterson Sports editor Fall is coming to an end, meaning that volleyball, soccer and football are as well. With the end of fall, comes winter, and Linfield sports that will be starting this season are men’s and women’s basketball, as well as the men’s and women’s swim teams. Both basketball teams will kick off their seasons this week, with the men playing Nov. 15 and the women playing Nov. 18. The men’s basketball team looks forward to the upcoming season despite graduating five seniors last year. The team has welcomed one new freshman to the team, as well as bringing up three other players from junior varsity. The team has eight returning players. “We have a very talented group of freshmen,” coach

Larry Doty said. “Andrew Batiuk will see significant playing time on the varsity at the post position. At 6’9,” he is the second tallest front line player.” Doty highlighted Batiuk’s raw talent. “He is a talented player who can play from the 3-point line as well as with his back to the basket,” Doty said. “Two of our post players are injured currently and will not be in the line-up until sometime in December, giving Andrew significant playing time at the post.” The team’s goal is to make it to the Northwest Conference playoffs, meaning the team must finish in the top four teams. The women’s basketball team also has high hopes for the upcoming season. The team welcomes back seven all-star players returning to the team, as well as 10 new freshmen. “[The new players] will all add great excitement in

the program,” said coach Robin Potera-Haskins. Potera-Haskins also said that each returning player has made an impact on the team. “Senior Gretchen Owens led the conference in scoring last year and we are striving for the same this season,” Potera-Haskins said. “Brynna Fuller, also a senior, will lead the team at the point guard position and is a good outside shooter. Sophomore Kaely Maltman started as a freshman last year and will have a hugh impact on the team with her scoring ability and aggressiveness. Junior Nicole Barton is a very versatile player who will add great depth.” With a strong team, Potera-Haskins believes that they will be a contender for the Northwest Conference. “We look forward to building a strong competitive D3 program”, PoteraHaskins said.

As both basketball teams start up this week, the swim teams have been hard at work in competition for the last three weeks. With a combination of new and old swimmers competing this season, the team has hopes to build a strong program that can go head to head with the other large teams in the conference. The men’s team has doubled in size since last season with 19 swimmers, while the women’s team has 24 swimmers. “We have significantly grown as a team this season and it is great to see us stand up next to the other large teams,” junior captain Rhiannon Ladwig said. The swim teams’ next six meets will be at home. While each winter sport gears up for a strong season, the teams all have geared up for a good season. Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

13

SportsBrief Both the men’s and women’s cross country teams competed in Claremont, Calif., on Nov. 12 for the NCAA regional meet. The men’s team finished seventh overall, while the women’s team came in fifth place. Senior Scott Gage placed seventh overall, and he was Linfield’s only runner to qualify for the NCAA Cross Country Championships. Gage is Linfield’s first runner to qualify for NCAA Championships since 2009. The Cross Country Championships will be held in Oshkosh, Wis., on Nov. 18.

- Compiled by Kaylyn Peterson


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

November 14, 2011

Making sense of a strange playoff bracket Chris Forrer Sports columnist The NCAA released the bracket for the 2011 DivisionIII football playoffs on Nov. 13 and was received with much surprise from pundits and student-athletes. No. five Linfield, which captured the Northwest Conference Championship and therefore the league’s automatic bid to playoffs, is slated for a rematch against No. eight California Lutheran University on Nov. 19 at Maxwell Field.

This marks the fifth time in the past three seasons the two teams have faced off, with Linfield owning a 4-1 advantage in the series. During an interview on Nov. 12, head football coach Joseph Smith said he did not expect to face Cal Lutheran in the first round of the playoffs. “I’d be surprised,” Smith said. “Possibly Redlands [College], a team from the South they move in or someone else.” The 2011 playoff bracket bucked several trends in seeding and regional grouping

that had been present in prior seasons. For example, this year’s bracket did not identify specific seeds, leaving fans and pundits alike unaware of how matchups in later rounds might play out in terms of which school hosts what game. Also, playoff brackets from previous seasons of DivisionIII football generally have tried to keep teams from the same region in the same area of the bracket. This season, according to www.d3football.com, the

four bracket areas appear to be organized with four teams from the highest seed’s region and two teams each from two other regions. This could create many interesting and potentially difficult travel situations for teams. Although the seeding was not revealed, it can be somewhat gleaned by identifying the bracket area’s top seed and working backward from there to get a rough idea of ranking. Doing so reveals a few puzzling scenarios in terms of both seeding and location

grouping. For example, undefeated and 9-0 Linfield appears to have been inexplicably seeded No. three in one bracket area behind a one-loss Wesley College team seeded No. two. This means that the NWC champion Wildcats could be on the road all the way to Dover, Del., where Wesley is located, as early as the second round of the playoffs. Without being a part of the seeding committee and knowing exactly which team went where, and why, it’s impos-

sible to fully grasp the logic in some of the stranger parts of this bracket. However, according to junior quarterback Mickey Inns, the ’Cats are ready to take on all comers, starting with a much improved Cal Lutheran squad. “It’d be fine by me, they’re a good team,” Inns said. “Our mentality is that we’ll be ready to go against anybody, anytime. We’re going to stick to that and ride it into playoffs.”

Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Football: ’Cats advance to NCAA playoffs << Continued from page 16

Joel Ray/Photo editor Freshman wide receiver Evan Peterson pushes down the field during the Nov. 12 game against Lewis & Clark at Maxwell Field.

The Pioneers did find the end zone before the contest was over, but down 37-0, the outcome was already all but set. Sophomore quarterback Keith Welch scored his only touchdown of the day late in the third quarter before being replaced by Evan Stanbro. Stanbro added a touchdown of his own in the fourth quarter to set the final margin. Welch, who had been leading the NWC in many statistical categories, figured to cause some problems for the Linfield defense. However, according to Smith, the Wildcat scout team got an assist from Aaron Boehme, class of ’11, in practice in the week leading up to the game. “The biggest thing we did is have Boehme mimic him [Welch],” Smith said. “We had him suit down and play a little football.” Having locked up the NWC crown and the automatic playoff bid that comes with it, the ’Cats now await the NCAA seeding committee’s playoff bracket announcement at 3 p.m. Nov. 13 to learn of their firstround opponent. In a mock bracket produced Nov. 13 by www.d3football.com, the ’Cats secure the No. two seed in the West Region and would play the 8-2 McMurray University Warhawks. However, no matter who Linfield is slated to compete against, Inns says the ’Cats are ready to “Send ‘Em Up.” “Our motto this year is ‘Send ‘Em Up,’” Inns said. “We’ll be ready to go against anybody, anytime. We’ll stick to that motto and ride it into playoffs.” Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Football Score by Quarters: Lewis & Clark.. 0 0 7 7 - 14 Linfield....... 13 21 10 3 - 47 Scoring Summary: 1st 13:35 LIN - Kay, Josh 25 yd field goal 5 plays, 52 yards, TOP 0:00, LCFB 0 - LIN 3 09:08 LIN - Kay, Josh 27 yd field goal 12 plays, 89 yards, TOP 2:37, LCFB 0 - LIN 6 03:36 LIN - Hill, Josh 6 yd run (Kay, Josh kick) 11 plays, 67 yards, TOP 4:25, LCFB 0 - LIN 13 2nd 10:41 LIN - Wiersma, Deidre 3 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 12 plays, 80 yards, TOP 5:18, LCFB 0 - LIN 20 07:37 LIN - Saxon, Buddy 9 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 5 plays, 44 yards, TOP 1:31, LCFB 0 - LIN 27 04:50 LIN - Saxon, Buddy 10 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 4 plays, 49 yards, TOP 1:41, LCFB 0 - LIN 34 3rd 12:51 LIN - Kay, Josh 41 yd field goal 4 plays, 3 yards, TOP 1:04, LCFB 0 - LIN 37 04:43 LCFB - Andrew Frisina 28 yd pass from Keith Welch (Tucker Laurence kick) 7 plays, 66 yards, TOP 2:44, LCFB 7 - LIN 37 04:30 LIN - Peterson, Evan 29 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 1 play, 29 yards, TOP 0:07, LCFB 7 - LIN 44 4th 13:43 LIN - Kay, Josh 24 yd field goal 11 plays, 60 yards, TOP 3:40, LCFB 7 - LIN 47 11:27 LCFB - Evan Stanbro 21 yd pass from Dustin Dailey (Tucker Laurence kick) 7 plays, 69 yards, TOP 2:10, LCFB 14 - LIN 47


Sports

November 14, 2011

Wildcat Sports Schedule vs. Corban

Sports Commentary

7:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 18 Women’s Basketball vs. Northwest Christian

7:30 p.m.

Men’s Basketball

vs. Concordia

7:30 p.m.

Swimming

@ Home

All day

Cross Country

@ Oshkosh, Wisc.

11 a.m.

Swimming

@ Home

All day

Football

@ Home

Noon

Saturday, Nov. 19

15

First-round playoff predictions

Tuesday, Nov. 15 Men’s Basketball

www.linfieldreview.com

Chris Forrer Sports columnist Hey ’Cats. The regular season is now officially over, and with the Northwest Conference championship sewed up, we can start talking playoffs as a reality. The NCAA’s selection show on Nov. 13 revealed that No. five Linfield will host a rematch against a revamped No. eight California Lutheran University team that hasn’t lost since the season-opening game at

Maxwell Field. Cal Lutheran has been a vastly different team since the ’Cats won a low-scoring affair on Sept. 10. The Kingsmen have scored more than 52 points in their last six contests, including a 70-20 pasting of Occidental College on Nov. 12. Their defense only allows 16.2 points and 292.2 yards of total offense per game, and has taken the ball away 18 times for a +6 turnover margin so far. However, take these statistics with a grain of salt: only three of Cal Lu’s eight victories this season have come against teams with winning records. The win-loss percentage of the teams they’ve top 52 points against is a combined 19-35, so it’s not as if they’ve been playing teams like Linfield every weekend. Furthermore, their aver-

age margin of victory against teams with winning records (Pacific Lutheran and Redlands) is a meager 7.5 points. I have my doubts as to how tough this Kingsmen team will really be when facing a Top-five team on the road, especially one that already held them to a season-low 14 points last time they met. Cal Lu can score a pile of points if they’re facing a defense that will let them score a pile of points, and any defense would look good playing teams like PomonaPitzer, who didn’t win a single game this season. On the other hand, Linfield’s defense has consistently shut down teams with high win-loss margins, like Willamette, Lewis & Clark and Cal Lu, and that consistency is going to be what anchors this team through their playoff run.

Furthermore, junior quarterback Mickey Inns was making his first career start against the Kingsmen to start the season and had a marginal outing. Since then, he’s become a red-hot scoring threat from any distance any time he drops back to pass. I’m not kidding you; the kid’s got a damn laser out there. Here’s my prediction: Cal Lu puts a few points up early to keep things close out of the gate, but the Kingsmen offense is once again baffled in the long run by Linfield’s tough D. A seasoned Mickey Inns is the difference maker in a game that quickly becomes a Wildcat blowout in the second and third quarters. Final score: Linfield 38, Cal Lu 14. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Linfield’s Hall of Fame welcomes new athletes

Joel Ray/ Sports editor Athletic Director Scott Carnahan embraces Emily Chadwick, class of ’98, after presenting her with a plaque commemorating her induction into the Linfield Hall of Fame on Nov. 12 in the Ted Wilson Gymnasium. Seven former athletes and the 1981 national runner-up volleyball team were added to the Hall of Fame.


16

www.linfieldreview.com

sports

Wildcats flounder against Loggers

Catline Northwest Conference Standings

Kaylyn Peterson Sports editor

Football Linfield

6-0

1.000

Lewis & Clark

4-2

.667

Pacific Lutheran

4-2

.667

Whitworth

3-3

.500

Willamette

3-3

.500

Pacific

1-5

.167

Puget Sound

0-6

.000

Pacific Lutheran

12-2

.857

Whitworth

12-2

.857

Puget Sound

10-4

.714

Men’s Soccer

Whitman

9-5

.643

5-8-1

.393

Pacific

5-8-1

.393

Linfield

1-12-1

.107

George Fox

0-13-1

.036

Whitworth

14-2

.875

Pacific Lutheran

13-3

.812

Puget Sound

10-6

.625

Willamette

Volleyball

Lewis & Clark

9-7

.562

Pacific

7-9

.438

Linfield

6-10

.375

George Fox

5-11

.312

Willamette

5-11

.312

Whitman

3-13

.188

Women’s Soccer Puget Sound

12-2-2

Linfield

11-2-3

.781

Willamette

10-5-1

.656

.812

Whitworth

8-4-4

.625

Pacific

7-5-4

.562

6-8-2

.438

Whitman

November 14, 2011

George Fox

2-10-4

.250

Pacific Lutheran

3-12-1

.219

Lewis & Clark

2-13-1

.156

Joel Ray/ Photo editor NCAA bracket predictions This week’s sports column features an outlook for the first round of the NCAA playoff bracket. See page 15>> Winter sports preview The men’s and women’s basketball and swim teams gear up for a winter of athletic competition. See page 13>> Hall of Fame Banquet Linfield celebrates its outstanding athletes during the banquet Nov. 12 See page 15>> Sports schedule Missed out on the sporting events during the weekend? Check out the sports schedule to see when your favorite teams play this weekend. See page 15>>

Junior wide receiver Josh Hill darts past senior defensive line Angus Blair during the Nov. 12 game against Lewis & Clark at Maxwell Field.

’Cats humble Pios, lock in NWC crown Chris Forrer Sports columnist

Linfield football secured its third consecutive Northwest Conference championship in a 47-14 blowout victory over the Lewis & Clark Pioneers on Nov. 12 at Maxwell Field. The Pioneers and their normally explosive offense hit a wall against the Linfield defense, gaining only 347 yards of offense. Lewis & Clark wouldn’t score until garbage time late in the game, but junior quarterback Mickey Inns carved up a porous Pioneer secondary for 296 yards, four touchdowns and no interceptions. “Things started clicking,” Inns said. “We focused on being steady and not turning over the ball this week. Turnovers would have been the only way we could lose.”

The offense couldn’t capitalize in the red zone early on and had to settle with two field goals of 25 and 27 yards by junior kicker Josh Kay to start the game. Inns caught fire after that and tossed three of his four touchdown strikes in the second quarter. Junior receiver Deidre Wiersma pulled in a short, 3-yard lob from Inns and senior receiver Buddy Saxon added catches in the end zone of nine and 10 yards to lead 34-0. Meanwhile, the Linfield defense forced two Pioneer turnovers while limiting the Lewis & Clark offense to only 96 yards in the first half. “We tried to scheme up what they do and take advantage of it,” head football coach Joseph Smith said. “From a schematic standpoint, I thought Mickey did a nice job of that.”

The ’Cats continued to pile on points in the second half. Kay booted two more field goals of 41 and 24 yards to begin the third and fourth quarters, respectively, while Inns tacked on his final touchdown pass on a 29-yard strike to freshman receiver Evan Peterson. Kay’s four field goals and five PATs were good for second in the Linfield record books for points scored by kicking in a single game. On the season, Kay has only missed a single PAT and is 11-14 on field goal tries and attributes his success to a stellar kicking unit. “This year I’ve gained a lot of confidence,” Kay said. “I attribute a lot to my holder, my snapper. I’ve got a real good setup back there; I’ve got all day to kick.” >> Please see Football page 14

Traveling to Tacoma, Wash., the two swim teams geared up for their first dual meet of the season. Linfield fell to the University of Puget Sound on Nov. 11 and 12. “This weekend, our team really came together and supported each other,” junior Rhiannon Ladwig said. “The team spirit was high and I think we made a strong Linfield presence against UPS.” Though the men’s team fell 97-164 against the Loggers, it didn’t go down without a fight. Junior Seth Ruwitch placed first in both the 100-meter breaststroke, finishing in 1:12.30, and the 200-meter breaststroke, coming in at 2:24.16. He also placed second in the 400-meter individual medley, which he finished in 5:13.72. “Our team has improved in a number of ways since our last meet, but most notably I would say that everyone seems much more determined this time around,” senior Marc Pereira said in an email. “We had some tough events at some tough pools this weekend. The temperature and the architecture at the pools this weekend were difficult to deal with, but overall we did pretty well. I expect our times will be improving a lot in the next few weeks.” Junior Miles Phillips and sophomore Lee Rivers also placed well. Phillips placed second in the 200 freestyle with a time of 2:09.49, and Rivers placed second in his three events. For the women’s team, sophomore Natalie Groat placed first in the 200-meter freestyle. Meanwhile, freshman Kelcie Kimura placed first in the 50-meter freestyle, beating University of Puget Sound swimmer Ava Williams by .05 seconds. “There were many great swims, and I think Natalie Groat had an amazing weekend. She swam the 200 butterfly each day and also did well with the 200 free against UPS,” Ladwig said. “Also, Alex Lyles was a freshman who did very well. He was put in difficult events and pulled through with a great time and a smile.” Athletes who were on the team in previous years have high hopes for this year’s team. “The team hopes to rank much higher this year than we did last year,” Pereira said. “ I think it’s an achievable goal too, with our bigger number of swimmers and the new talent we have.” The Wildcats will host their next six meets, with the next competition being the Northwest Invitational. Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

The Linfield Review  
The Linfield Review  

The Linfield Review

Advertisement