Page 1

Women’s soccer places second in the Northwest Conference >> page 16

November 7, 2011

INSIDE Study abroad Students share their stories of how they dealt with disasters while abroad Nov. 3 in Jonasson Hall. >> page 4

Tap That Linfield students connect with one another on the topic of using plastic water bottles and their harming effects on the environment Nov. 2 in Ice Auditorium. >> page 6

Dating humor

Comedian Jonny Loquasto had the audience laughing, finding the humor in dating and relationships Nov. 5 in Ice Auditorium .

>> page 10

Coming back to win Football falls behind in the first half of its game but came back the second half to win 42-38 against Whitworth College on Nov. 5. >> page 16

INSIDE

Editorial ...................... 2 News ........................... 4 Features........................ 7 Culture....................... 10 Sports ........................ 16

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

117th Year

Issue No. 10

Student breaks out, busts a move Joanna Peterson Managing editor When he dances, he says he feels like nothing else exists but his movements and the beat of the music. That’s why sophomore Timmy Marl said that entering the Coke Zero Rewards dance competition was a natural move for him. The Coke Zero Reward competition is a video contest designed to help the company find a face for its Coke Zero advertising campaign. Contestants must submit videos of themselves dancing, using a move called “the toe tappy,” which was created by Joel Turman, a star on America’s Best Dance Crew. The contest winner will be featured in Coke Zero advertisements, dancing alongside Turman. Marl said he discovered the competition through a Youtube channel he follows, so he decided to submit his own video. Marl’s first submission was of him moving through campus, teaching the toe tappy move to various groups of people who were dealing with conflict. “It was just a quick video,” he said. “I only worked with a few close friends.” However, Marl’s submission gained popularity among the

other videos, earning a spot on the top-five favorites list in the contest. Eventually, the contest judges contacted him and asked him to record another video, he said. Marl said he was determined to put more effort into his next production, so he enlisted the help of friends, a sociology class, McMinnville high school’s dance team and some staff members. The result was a music video with about 200 people performing the toe tappy. Marl said that Jessica Wade, community service coordinator, danced in the video and even recruited her husband, Rob Gardener, assistant professor of sociology, to help. One of Gardener’s classes agreed to perform in the video, moving back and forth to the beat of the music during a class session. “It felt so good to have people who I didn’t know very well be so willing to help with the project,” Marl said. “They made the video possible.” The contest will end in late November, when judges will decide on the best set of submissions. Marl is working on a third video to add to his series. Even though Marl said that he would be honored to win the com>> Please see Coke page 4

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Sophomore Timmy Marl entered the Coke Zero Rewards dance competition, which is designed to find a face for its Coke’s advertising campaign.

College ASLC sponsors Community Safety Forum to address students’ concerns offers new online degree to adults Jessica Prokop Editor-in-chief

Students, faculty and staff voiced concerns and asked questions regarding campus safety after the latest campus incidents during a Community Safety Forum sponsored by the Associated Students of Linfield College on Nov. 2 in Riley 201. Apart from ASLC, Dawn GraffHaight, professor of health education; Jeff MacKay, associate dean of students; Robert Cepeda, chief/director of College Public Safety; Ron Noble, chief of the McMinnville Police Department; Dan Fergueson, director of College Activities; and the school’s area directors and residence advisers (RAs), were also present at the discussion. The forum, which was facilitated by Graff-Haight, opened the floor for students to express >> Please see Safety page 4

Samantha Sigler News editor

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Ron Noble, chief of the McMinnville Police Department, talks about how McMinnville police will be assisting College Public Safety in keeping students safe during a community forum Nov. 2 in Riley 201.

Linfield’s Adult Degree Program now offers students the option to receive an online bachelor’s degree in marketing. The program is designed to allow students to receive a quality education while balancing work, family and other responsibilities. The online marketing degree contains an equal amount of course material as the degree available on-campus, and it allows students the option to gain a “sound basic education in business, accounting and marketing,” as well as their liberal arts education. The Adult Degree Program is similar to Linfield’s undergradu>> Please see Degree page 4


2

Opinions

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com Editor-in-chief Jessica Prokop Managing editor Joanna Peterson Copy chief Kelsey Sutton Copy editor Business manager Jessica Pham News editor Samantha Sigler Sports editor Kaylyn Peterson Culture editor Sharon Gollery Features editor Ivanna Tucker Opinion editor Meghan O’Rourke

November 7, 2011

EDITORIAL

LAB provides fun entertainment The Linfield Activities Board (LAB) is working to keep students thoroughly entertained this year by planning many events for students, such as comedians, movies, off-campus events and Pro Cat Cabs. “I think LAB has been constantly improving,” said Nicole Bond, vice president of programming for LAB. “We have a great staff this year, and we have been working hard to bring the student body a diverse array of fun events.” All of LAB’s off-campus event sign-ups have been full this year, which is a sign of LAB’s success in providing students with fun offcampus events for only a few dollars. “The LAB events are seeing a greater diversity of attendees,” said Nic Miles, ASLC club director. With events such as Portland Fashion Week, the “Taste of..” series and hikes, there are a variety of fun events for all types of students.

On-campus events have also been successful. LAB has hosted some well-received comedians and provided recently released movies, such as Transformers 3, for students to watch. This year’s Cat Cabs have hosted various musicians for different students’ tastes in music. “All of the Cat Cab performers this year have been very talented and entertaining, and they have been from all different genres,” Bond said. With LAB doing such a great job at providing a wide array of events, students should be sure to take advantage of what LAB has to offer. “LAB has a budget of $150,000 this year, which comes from the student body fees we all pay each semester,” Bond said. By not attending any LAB sponsored events, one is essentially wasting his or her own money. If an event sounds interesting, there

is no harm in checking it out. Plus, off-campus events can provide an escape from the Linfield bubble for those who don’t have cars. From Nov. 3 to Nov. 6, LAB was at the National Association for Campus Activities West Regional Conference. While there, it viewed various musicians, comedians and other performers, working with boards from other schools in the area to hire acts for the upcoming semester. “We are always open to suggestions from students for bands we should bring, or any other event or activity,” Bond said. LAB is working hard to bring us entertainment that we will all enjoy. We can all try to attend an event from time to time to support LAB, if nothing else. A musician or comedian who you are unfamiliar with may become your new favorite. If there haven’t been any appealing events for some students, they

Review office hours Editor-in-chief Tuesdays 2:30-3:15 p.m. Fridays 12:00-1:00 p.m. or by appointment

Managing editor Mondays 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. Tuesdays 2:30-3:00 p.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter @linfieldreview and on Facebook should make suggestions to LAB about what events or performances would be fun to attend. LAB appreciates feedback from the students, because the students are LAB’s audience. -The Review Editorial Board

Photo editor Joel Ray Online editor Jaffy Xiao Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla Illustrator Yura Sim Senior reporter Andra Kovacs Senior photographer Melanie Timmins Circulation manager Samantha Sigler Columnists Chris Forrer “Dear Bailey” Adviser Brad Thompson Associate Professor of Mass Communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Mondays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than noon Friday to appear in the Review the following Monday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

CULTURE

Let go of technology for a day Have you ever realized how much you use technology? I took somewhat of a break from technology recently, and it really showed me how much I used it in my daily life. It’s everywhere we turn. From the second we wake up, to the minute we go to sleep at night, we use our phones, computers or iPods. Modern amenities surround us, and it’s pretty hard to escape them. Even if phones or the Internet are taken out of the equation, technology is still dominant in our lives. I was feeling stressed out, so I decided I would turn off my cell phone for a few days and not check

Kelsey Sutton Copy chief my Facebook. I’ve had some people tell me that it’s nice to not have to answer to anyone and just shut out the world for a while. They were right. It was so liberating, and I felt so free. I felt like I could finally get some peace of mind. Turning off your phone doesn’t mean you have to shut the world out, how-

ever. It can simply just make things quieter. Sometimes, when you’re caught up in the world of instant updates and constant alerts, it can be hard to concentrate on anything—especially important things. The first day was hard. I wanted to turn my phone back on and just see who had texted me. I wanted to check all my wall posts and messages. It took a lot to hold myself back. But once I did, I was amazed at how fast I got things done. Without the Internet to distract me, I was able to be totally productive. I finished homework in half the time, and the quality was better. Taking this step back

from technology also strengthened some of my relationships. I truly missed the people that I’m far away from, and I could have more meaningful conversations now that there was a few days’ worth of things to talk about. I also had more face-toface interactions instead of just calling someone or sending a text. Instead of using my cell phone to find out where they were, I had to actually go and find my friends, which was difficult. I felt so much better at the end of the week that I almost just wanted to keep my phone off for good. I’ve found that I’m using my computer less to waste

time. Instead of surfing pointless websites, I find new books to read. I think more people should try to take this kind of a break, at least once. Take more time for the little things. Staying off the Internet makes more time for things like reading a book, or painting, or running or anything else that truly brings you joy. Take a look at the sky. Get some coffee with a friend and actually sit down and talk. You might decide you like the calm so much that you’ll want to make it more than a couple days.

Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.


November 7, 2011

Opinions

CAMPUS LIFE

www.linfieldreview.com

3

MONEY

Keep consideration Travels don’t have for neighbors in mind to drain your pocket When we come to college, the dorms become our homes. We sleep there, eat there and even do our laundry there. This is why it is so problematic when the other people living in our homes choose to treat them so disrespectfully. I have found that many people, not just in my own dorm, behave as though they are the only ones living in our dorms and using our facilities. Often, I walk into bathrooms in dorms around campus and find that the showers are full of clumps of hair, toilets are left unflushed and toiletries are left scattered all around. Not only this, but all around campus I’ve heard of many resident advisors insisting on kitchens being cleaned or the kitchens will become restricted unless the RAs facilitate its use. This has happened in my own dorm because of people’s lack of respect and not

Samantha Sigler News editor cleaning up properly after themselves. This is simply unacceptable.

to wait until my RAs are home before I can cook or clean any dishes I may have used, which is often inconvenient for me and many of my other neighbors. Many people around campus should become more aware of how their actions affect others, and they should clean up after themselves when using facilities that we all share. The dorms have become

Many people around campus should become more aware of how their actions affect others.

We share these facilities with one another, and oftentimes I cannot believe others’ lack of awareness of how their behavior impacts everyone. Because other people could not clean up after themselves, I now have

home to all of us, and because of this, we should become more cautious of how we affect others and how our actions can have consequences that affect us all. Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

With the holiday season drawing near, it’s time for students to start figuring out how they will get home. Near or far, prices for getting home will be high. With average Oregon gas prices at $3.76, you can bet that the cost to go home won’t be cheap. First, let’s look at the price of a plane ticket, considering almost half of the Linfield student population is not from Oregon. According to the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, the national average airfare price right now is $355.72. For college students, that’s a good chunk of change. Then, multiply that by two for a round-trip. That could easily cover part of the cost for our textbooks for a semester. Look at the price for those of us who drive home for the holidays. The other 52 percent of Linfield students will stay in Oregon for the holidays. They can decide to drive home with that $3.76 gas, or take the train or bus around

Kaylyn Peterson Sports editor the Northwest. Just going from Portland to Seattle, Wash., will cost you $52 by train, and if you were to go to Eugene from Portland, it would cost $45 to go by train or $25 by bus. Although these prices are significantly cheaper than paying for a plane ticket or gas, going back and forth can cost you. Looking for cheap alternatives can be tiresome between finishing up midterms and other things. But not all is lost. There are ways to get around expensive trips, or at least ways to make them cheaper. For instance, there’s probably someone who lives

somewhere near you. For those of us from the greater Portland areas, you can get a ride to Portland from a friend, and then catch the public bus. If you’re from Washington, consider taking the train. It’s cheaper than buying a plane ticket, it just takes a little longer, and sometimes train companies offer student discounts. For those students from states not on the West Coast, find a frequent flyer program. As long as you’re flying here and back for the next few years, you’re sure to gain enough points to get one of those flights free. When all else fails, find a good friend or family member who lives in the area. People tend to be nice around the holidays and would love to share it with a friend. Then you’re able to save up your money for the next long break. Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Brewster Rockit by Tim Rickard

Corrections The Linfield Review publishes corrections from the previous week’s issue in this spot every week that a correction is needed. To submit a correction, email linfieldreviewmanaging@ gmail.com.

MOVIES

Remakes devalue classic movies There are multiple movies made in history that have been claimed as classics. Some movies made in the ‘80s are deemed as the classics that live on for generations. According to Dictionary. com, the definition of classic is “of the first or highest quality, class or rank: a classic piece of work.” However, the movies that we claim to be “classics” in the movie industry are constantly being remade. If a classic is known to be

Ivanna Tucker Features editor of highest quality, then why are there remakes of them? Movies such as “Fame,” “Footloose,” “King Kong” and “3:10 to Yuma” were remade for the new generation. To understand and grasp

the true meaning why these movies are classics, one should just watch the original version, but if the movie industry keeps remaking them then they will lose their value. Every year, more and more movies are discussed about being redone. How can you “redo” a classic? It’s not just the story that makes it this way. It is the cast, crew and everything that happened in the movie during that time period. Each time a movie is redone, it just makes the

other movie less valuable or sends the audience the message that the original is probably as bad as the remake. For instance, “King Kong” was originally made in 1933, then in 1976 and made again in 2005. This movie was deemed a classic then because of the special effects used. However, remaking it twice is a bit too much. After the original was redone, there were also sequels to it. “King Kong” is just one of the examples of what the movie industry has done to

a classic in order to make some money. Now there is discussion of remaking movies such as “Gremlins” and “Dirty Dancing.” It seems that the movie industry is just using these remakes in order to gain revenue in an easier way rather than coming up brand new movie ideas. There are script writers waiting for companies to pick up their scripts but they probably do not really care what the scripts are about. Ivanna Tucker can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.


4

www.linfieldreview.com

Degree: School offers online marketing << Continued from page 1 ate program, as it allows students to receive financial aid through grants and loans, with workshops to aid students to gain scholarships. It is meant to enable students to receive credit for life and work experience to lower the amount and number of courses that are necessary in order to earn their bachelor degrees. Once enrolled in the program, students partner with an academic advisor who can aid them in choosing courses . Also, the Division of Continuing Education’s Adult Degree Program allows students the option to receive both a bachelor’s degree or a certificate in a combination of online as well as in classroom settings. Through this program, students have a choice between receiving a Bachelor of Science degree in Marketing or the Bachelor of Arts degree in marketing. In addition to this program, Linfield’s Adult Degree Program also offers degrees in accounting, social sciences, management, international business and RN to BSN. Certificates are available in accounting, marketing and human resource management.

Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

News

November 7, 2011

Coke: Student dances in global competition << Continued from page 1 petition, submitting videos to the contest is just part of his love for dance. Marl’s interest in the sport stretches back to when he was four years old. “I just started dancing

one day,” he said. “I never really had formal training or dance classes because it was too expensive for my parents at the time, but I just kept dancing and dancing.” Marl said he gleans most of his dance knowledge

from watching music videos and MTV performances. When he has spare time, Marl can usually be found in his room, scouring the Internet for music videos or practicing his own dance techniques in front of a mirror.

He said that this personal practice time serves as a way to stay updated with trends in the dance world, but it also allows him to process the world and his reactions to it. “Dance is a big expres-

Three students gave a presentation about their study abroad experiences of the recent earthquakes in Japan and Christchurch, New Zealand. The presentation took place Nov. 3 in Jonasson Hall. Senior Elizabeth Stenger began the presentation with her experience of the Christchurch earthquake. “We didn’t have any idea what was going on,” Stenger said. “The power went out, and the ground was shaking. We thought it was an aftershock but it just kept going.” Junior Jen Boston was also studying abroad in

Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Safety: Students voice safety concerns << Continued from page 1 their feelings and concerns about the student assaults that occurred last month. Students were encouraged to ask questions about the incidents, as well as about the college’s response, GraffHaight said in an email. One issue that students raised during the discussion was that the email sent out to parents about the assaults was not clear enough. ASLC Vice President senior Bradley Keliinoi said that the emails about the incidents could have been sent earlier. Students heard about the assaults through word-of-mouth before the administration had sent anything. Other students agreed and said that the information in the emails was confusing and vague. Some of the RAs in attendance said that when approached by students in their dorms, they did not have enough information to give them about the incidents. Another concern students brought to the forum was a lack of lighting on and around campus. Keliinoi said that the street leading to the new development area is pitch black at night, and many students have to walk home.

Joel Ray/Photo editor Dawn Graff-Haight, professor of Health Education, facilitates the safety forum in which students expressed their concerns about their safety after the latest assaults. MacKay addressed this by saying that the school does not control the lighting off campus. But, he and Cepeda maintain a good relationship with the city and have sent a request to check if Davis Street is up to standards. He also clarified that anyone with lighting concerns can send a request to the city. CPS also offers rides to students. Cepeda said the service has been underused so far, and he clarified where

CPS’s boundaries are. Students also suggested creating a cab service for students who go off campus. ASLC President senior Rachel Coffey said that ASLC is looking into it and that students would probably have to pay a small fee. In the meantime, Noble said that Davis Street is being closely watched, and officers are on overtime patrolling. Noble also said that students should contact the McMinnville Police Depart-

ment when they see things happening. “I think an interesting point brought up during the forum was that there has not been much information provided to the police about the incident,” Graff-Haight said in an email. “[Noble] encouraged students who witnessed the incident to come forward so the police have more information with which to investigate. He acknowledged that students might have been reticent to

When study abroad disaster strikes Sharon Gollery Cultures editor

sion for me,” he said. “I dance when I’m angry, I dance when I’m happy, and I dance when I’m having a bad time. Dance is therapy.”

New Zealand when the earthquake hit, although she said she was in Dunedin, a city south of Christchurch. “I didn’t find out until my host said to go watch the news,” Boston said. “On TV there were pictures of cracked roads and flooding. It was shocking because N.Z. doesn’t censor their news like the U.S. does. You could see bodies lying under rubble and stuff.” Senior Ariel Lillico experienced the earthquake and subsequent tsunami that hit Japan while she was studying abroad in Tokyo. Lillico said the earthquake was far away from Tokyo, but they could still feel it. “I was in my dorm when

the earthquake hit,” Lillico said. “The school was near a hospital, so we got power back pretty quickly, but most of the area around didn’t have power.” Lillico said one of the first things she did after the earthquake ended was get on Facebook and tell everyone that she was okay. The presenters advised any student who might encounter a natural disaster while studying abroad to keep in contact with their parents and the people at home. Staying in the loop of communication was important during an emergency, they said. Stenger said that it took two and a half hours for her to get cell phone service so

she could call her mother. “I remember the first message we got was ‘people are hurt,’” Stenger said. “We got a message from the school that they were evacuating the international students. My roommate and I went to spend a week at a friend’s house in Wellington. I think that was a good decision—the parents were wonderful.” Lillico said that Linfield gave its students in Japan the option to stay or go home, unlike some schools that pulled their students out of Japan. “I never considered going home,” Lillico said. “I never really felt in danger. A lot of other students were required to go home.

Everyone who stayed was really passionate about their opportunity to see Japanese culture, and they didn’t want to have to give that up.” All in all, the presenters agreed that experiencing disasters while studying abroad was an unforgettable experience, and not necessarily in a bad way. “The Christchurch earthquake opened up another window into the culture– how they react to disasters,” Boston said. “They pulled through in the most incredible way possible. I learned a lot about myself in that time.” Sharon Gollerycan be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

come forward out of fear of being cited for a MIP. Chief Noble was quite clear that there is no chance that students could be cited, so they should definitely call police if they were there.” Noble said that although it is up to the discretion of the officer, it is often a matter of priorities. He said that officers often are in the area for other calls, unrelated to students drinking on campus. Noble stressed that the McMinnville Police Department is not out to get Linfield students. And, calls can be anonymous and confidential. “It is my hope that the assaults nearly two weeks ago were isolated incidents,” Graff-Haight said. “I’m pleased about the increased presence of police on Davis Street, and I encourage all of us to look out for each other, to be a little more vigilant and if any of us see something that is questionable, we call CPS on campus and the Mac PD when we’re off campus.” For more information about what was discussed during the Community Safety Forum, visit www. linfield.edu/linfieldreview/?p=8560

Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com.


News

November 7, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

College students, parents face tough economy Students and their parents are feeling the pressure of rising college expenses and the heavy burden of debt and loans piling up. With loans increasing each year, students find that their debt is becoming too much to deal with after graduation.

Average debt for bachelor’s degree up by half, report shows Dianne Stafford (MCT) McClatchy Newspapers KANSAS CITY, Mo.The average student debt for bachelor's degree graduates mushroomed 50 percent from 1996 to 2008, according to a new report. Over the same time frame, debt for associatedegree graduates grew to twice the amount of their 1996 counterparts. Analysis of National Center for Education Statistics data by the Pew Research Center's Social & Demographic Trends Project found that the higher debt loads were driven by three trends: More students borrowed—60 percent of graduates in 2008, compared to 52 percent of graduates in 1996. Students borrowed more—2008 bachelor's degree recipients borrowed an average of $23,000 compared to $17,000 in 1996 (inflation-

adjusted to 2008 dollars), and associate degree recipients borrowed an average of $12,600 compared to $7,600. More students attended for-profit schools that had higher tuition. The final point indicates loan-repayment difficulty. The Pew study found that, over the past decade, enrollment in private, forprofit schools outpaced enrollment in public or nonprofit schools and that students enrolled in forprofit schools were more likely to borrow money. For-profit schools granted 18 percent of all undergraduate degrees in 2008, up from 14 percent in 2003. The report said onefourth of for-profit school graduates borrowed more than $40,000, compared with just 5 percent of public school graduates and 14 percent of nonprofit school graduates. One takeaway from the

study: "Generally, private forprofit school graduates have lower incomes and are older, more likely to be from minority groups, more likely to be female, more likely to be independent of their parents and more likely to have their own dependents," Pew reported. "For almost every field of study at every level, students at private for-profit schools are more likely to borrow and tend to borrow larger amounts than students at public and private not-for-profit schools." DEGREES OF DEBT Share of 2008 bachelor's degree graduates who borrowed more than $30,000: All schools: 17 percent Private, for-profit schools: 54 percent Private, nonprofit schools: 25 percent Public schools: 12 percent (Source: Pew Research Center).

Charts comparing average debt at graduation, 1992 to 2010, for U.S. college students to current median earnings they can expect, by degree.

Average student-loan debt of 2010 graduates up 5.2 percent, tops $25,000 Walter Hamilton (MCT) Los Angeles Times You don’t have to be a math major to understand this statistic: The average student-loan debt of last year’s college graduates topped $25,000 _ the first time it’s exceeded that ignominious mark. Seniors who graduated in 2010 had an average student-loan burden of $25,250, up 5.2 percent from the $24,000 owed by the class of 2009, according to a report by the Project on Student Debt at the Institute for College Access & Success in Oakland.

Some experts had expected a bigger increase in debt given the gloomy economy, but increased financial aid at some schools partially offset the hit for low-income students and those at pricier colleges. Still, the increased debt load is another challenge for college graduates who already were facing a punishing job market. The unemployment rate for college graduates age 20 to 24 rose to 9.1 percent last year, up from 8.7 percent in 2009 and the highest annual rate on record, according to the nonprofit research organization.

The report is based on data reported voluntarily by more than 1,000 public and private nonprofit fouryear colleges. It did not include so-called for-profit colleges. In California, the average debt load last year was $18,113, with 48 percent of graduating seniors owing money, according to the study. Students and their families (who will be footing many of the college bills) can get data on average student-loan rates for many schools on the research organization’s website, at projectonstudentdebt.org.

Sustainability forum

Joel Ray/Photo editor Regina Hauser, educational director for the Natural Step Model, talks about sustainability and what to consider when trying to make a sustainable decision and working to make Linfield more sustainable as a whole.

5


6

www.linfieldreview.com

News

November 7, 2011

Tap That works to liquefy bottled water use on campus Andra Kovacs Senior reporter Junior Collin Morris and sophomore Annika Yates have given “tap that” a whole new meaning. The two have initiated a new campaign on campus called Tap That, based on the nation-wide movement, Take Back the Tap. The hope and purpose of their campaign is to empower and educate the Linfield community on the degradation and external costs that come along with bottling water. The main goal is to eliminate bottled water on Linfield’s campus, just as many other schools have begun doing across the nation. As one of the first public events to promote the campaign, they held a documentary and panel, presenting the documentary “Tapped,” and holding a follow-up panel about the issue on Oct. 2. Morris first watched “Tapped” last year and was inspired to take initiative on the issue, which, after months of planning, became Tap That. “The documentary addresses the water issue, then the plastic issue is

Yates addressed, and the health concerns surrounding that, then the environmental issue,” Morris said. “So many different issues are put into one commodity, which is why it’s so powerful.” Yates agreed, saying that “it does a really great job of shocking you without making you feel like a culprit,” which is exactly the response they hoped to stir. They said that felt the documentary was also important for students to watch because it helps to gain awareness and instill a sense of personal responsibility. “The goal is to eliminate bottled water.” Morris said. “But when you’re dealing with people, it’s important to frame these kinds of things in positive terms so that people don’t feel like you’re taking away something that they’re so used to. Instead we are

Morris empowering them to make smart consumer choices.” During the panel, Rob Gardner, associate professor of sociology, raised many questions and issues surrounding the bottled water industry, such as questioning the role of corporations in our society and asking who really owns our water. “It’s really perverse that so much time and money goes into bottling water,” he said. “Especially when it has been proven that 40 percent of bottled water from companies like Nestle, Coke, and Pepsi, is just tap water anyway.” In the discussion, students brought up ideas, such as putting a campus tax on bottled water, educating the freshman class in Colloquium about the issues with plastic bottles and making it more convenient to refill the reusable bottles.

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Rob Gardner, associate professor of sociology (right), discusses the importance of making smart choices about water use with students, alongside junior Collin Morris (left) on Nov. 2 in ICE Auditorium. The ideas and discussions were purposeful and empowering, however Yates and Morris believe that their campaign will not be able to progress unless all students are willing to at least listen and engage themselves in these issues. “There hasn’t been much outward disagreement [with our promotions] at all,” Yates said. “I think the bigger hurdle is that people don’t care.

The people who are apathetic are our biggest setback.” Yates and Morris plan to fight this problem with persistency—by spreading the word as loudly and powerfully as possible, expanding their message to reach more people. “This is important to us and our school,” Morris said. “I think [reaching our goal is] totally possible and the reason I keep saying that

is because so many other schools have done it, and Linfield is small and powerful, so why can’t we?” If you’re interested in signing their petition, helping with the campaign or just learning more, contact either Collin Morris at comorris@ linfield.edu or Annika Yates at ayates@linfield.edu. Andra Kovacs can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


November 7, 2011

Features

Easy Recipes: Ivanna Tucker/ Features editor

www.linfieldreview.com

7

College Edition Vegeta

ble Ramen Stir 1 bag of your fa Fry vorite ramen 1 cup of mixed 2 cups of water ve

ggies

i and Cheese n ro ca a M d e p m a v Re ¾ cups milk

and cheese 1 box of macaroni tablespoons butter 2 gs in pp to rite ¼ cup of your favo s, 1 quart water oe at m to , es iv ol s, (ham, pinapple onions, etc) n minutes. Next, ve se t ou ab r fo l w red on microwave-safe bo e the pasta uncove Boil the water in a av w ro ic M . er at w the boiling ly while cooking. al on si ca oc ir St place the pasta in . er nd minutes or until te d mix together. an HIGH for nine to 10 gs in pp to d an tter, cheese Drain. Add milk, bu

Follow the instru ctions on the pa ckage when coo noodles. When king the the noodles start softening, add th of mixed vegeta e cup bles. Allow it to cook until the n are completely oodles tender, stirring occasionally. Aft finished, drain th er it has e vegetables an d noodles and p into a bowl. Add lace the seasoning a nd stir until com mixed. pletely

Pizza n a ic x e M le b Microwavea ½ cup of salsa

eam ons of sour cr o p s le b s ta la 2 il rt 2 To zarella ¼ cup of moz r ddar cheese microwave fo e th in it k o ¼ cup of che o s. C for another of the tortilla k e o n o o C r . e it v f o o e s p e e on to Spread the ch the top of the other tortilla r e e v th o is ce th la P d . a s d n . Spre about 30 seco nd sour cream a a ls a s e th ix 10 seconds. M to sections. in it t cu n e th tortilla and

2 eggs 3 slices of bread

French Toast

Butter/Olive Oil/ Ground cinnamon Nonstick spray Crack open the eggs and place in a bow l. Stir eggs until th white are completel e yolk and y blended. Dip the bread into the egg m entire piece is satura ix until the ted. Cover a skillet with the butter or ol spray. Place the co ive oil or nonstick vered bread onto th e skillet and cook on for four to five min medium heat utes. Flip the bread to the other side an desired, serve with d repeat. If a sprinkling of cinn amon.

dge u F r e sting t Butt

u ro Pean of vanilla fbutter

a vanill and can ut n ) e a e h c t e g at oun of p l. He the frostin . w 1 (16 unce) jar o b o ixing lted. Mix aking pan m 1 (18 a r into letely me x into a b e t t u p i b anut until com our the m s. e p f p ro or on the ja 0 seconds nd quickly mall secti y t p Em g for 6 her a g it into s t e n g i o t t fros t butter ore cuttin f u pean t to set be i Allow

Ivanna Tucker can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.


8

â&#x20AC;˘

www.linfieldreview.com

Fea

Jessica Prokop/ Editor -in-chief

Spotlight: Despite the rain, members of the Wildcat football team support their teammates during each play at the Willamette game Oct. 5.

Athletes who make an impact off the field and court Ivanna Tucker/ Features editor


atures

Sports are driven by competitive nature. Athletes on the field or court work hard to be successful and to do their best. When it comes to spotlighting players, people tend to focus on those who score all the points or have the most playing time. However, the athletes who don’t have the highest stats are just as important.

Men’s Soccer

Freshman Emerson Morris-North is a varsity rightback/left back on the men’s soccer team. He has played soccer since he was about four or five years old and plans on playing for the next three years. “It’s a beautiful game,” said Morris-North. “It kept me in line throughout my life, and I really benefitted from it.” He says he feels that his role outside of being a player is to encourage others. He points out the positive and constructive aspects of his teammates. With a challenging season, whenever he gets the chance to actually play on the field, he goes for it. “It was a tough season. It makes me be hopeful for the future since we have such a young team,” MorrisNorth said. He bonds with his teammates through hanging out with them on and off the field. Through his support, he was able to become an important part of the team, even as a freshman.

November 7, 2011

9

Fellows said in the letter. “I have learned what it means to be a teammate—not only a teammate, but a teammate who cares, worries and finds joy in the successes of the players.

Volleyball

Sophomore Michon Hunsaker has played varsity volleyball for the past two years. She has recognized that even though she isn’t one of the highest ranked players, she still has to remain positive and be an example. “It’s important to be there for my team and work hard to improve myself and increase the level of play of the team during practices,” Hunsaker said. During games, she looks out for ways to help the players who are usually missed while being on the court. Hunsaker is supportive of her teammates as she hangs out with them during practices and retreats, and at sophomore-freshman dinners in Dillin after practice. “It’s character-building,” Hunsaker said. “I make an impact off the court and am supportive of my team in a different way.”

Football

As wide receiver on the varsity football team, senior Joseph Kloucek has realized the importance of being a great contribution to a team. “I try to challenge myself everyday to bring a For women’s soccer, Em Fellows was one of the star positive attitude and a blue collar-like work ethic, players last year. This season, Fellows has been on the regardless of what challenges my team or I may be sidelines for six weeks from a bone bruise on her knee. faced with,” Kloucek said. Even though her injury kept her from playing, she has As a senior, he serves as a role model for the taken advantage of the situation and has shined as a underclassmen because he has had experience with the leader and motivator. way the program functions and operates. Fellows joined the team with a high level of training As one of the “behind-the-scenes” teammates, and now that she observes the team, she offers feedKloucek works hard and is determined to better himself back to the players. and those around him, he said. “I’m not going ask of anyone anything that I’m not While spending about five to six hours a day and six doing,” Fellows said. days a week on the field, Kloucek said he feels that he As one of the captains, many of her fellow players has bonded with his teammates because they share a look up to her. common goal. “The whole team is playing for her,” freshman Zoe He continues to play, bettering him overall as a person Langsdorf said. and allowing him to be a part of something bigger. Recently, Fellows wrote a letter addressed to the “If it weren’t for my teammates, I wouldn’t be playing whole team, expressing what she learned throughout the game of football today,” Kloucek said. her experience this year. “The season has been a blessing in disguise for me,” Ivanna Tucker can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.

Women’s Soccer


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

November 7, 2011

Latest play spotlights themes of family Lydia Driver For the Review Though the theatre was not full, the buzz of conversation from the crowd filled the air. As the crowd slowly filed in, a big band number drifted from the speakers. “Fifth of July,” written by Lanford Wilson and directed by Janet Gupton, associate professor of theatre arts, is set in 1977, on Independence Day. A group of old college friends and several family members return home to Lebanon, Mo., so they can scatter their uncle’s ashes. The young cast, comprised of mostly freshmen, worked to join their collaborative efforts to make the play shine. The audience found the play positively entertaining, engaging with the actors on stage by responding with laughter and applause. The oldest actor in this play is junior Chris Forrer who plays the character Kenneth Talley, Jr. Talley is a gay Vietnam Vet who lives in his family’s farmhouse with his boyfriend, Jed Jenkins. Forrer said that when he first read through the script he was a little shocked.

“There wasn’t anything that I could relate to,” Forrer said. “I thought it was going to be very challenging.” He said that the more he got into the play though, the more he learned from it. “I definitely think I have more in common with the character than I first realized,” Forrer said. Talley’s boyfriend, Jed Jenkins, is played by freshman Jeremy Odden. Although Odden is a freshman, he was recently in Linfield’s production of Chekhov’s “The Proposal.” When commenting on the character that he played, Odden said he most enjoyed it because, “He [Jed] is a quiet, observant person. It was really fun because I could be really laid back and relaxed. I could look like I wasn’t really paying attention, because that is how my character felt.” He said the family relationships were an important part of the story that the audience should take away. “The undertone that John [Landis] is Shirley [Talley]’s father is really important,” Odden said. “During the preview audience, several people didn’t get that. We had to change a few things to make

Joel Ray/Photo editor Freshmen Kristin Miller (left) and Nicholas Granato (right) play Shirley Talley and John Landis in the Marshall Theatre production of the “Fifth of July” on Nov. 3. that more understandable.” Forrer agreed that family was an important aspect of this play. “People fight, but it’s because they love each other deeply,” Forrer said. “Their arguing comes from wanting what is best; it’s because they care.” Freshman Kristin Miller

also brought up the aspect of family, but on a more personal level to the actors. “I loved the cast,” Miller said. “Everyone got along really well, like a big family. We are always laughing and dancing around.” On a more serious note, she said this play can definitely teach people about the

importance of our veterans. “We need to see things from their perspective,” Miller said. “How things affect them and their lives.” She said there are a lot of ways viewers can relate this play to the present day, dealing with soldiers who are coming home from Iraq. Walking away from the

Belov sang passionately during the middle segments, illustrating how the narrator must have felt to see the woman he loved betray him. “It’s a dark kind of love story,” Belov said. Timmons and Belov also performed works by Tchaikovsky, Franz Liszt, Francesco Santoliquido, Alexander Glazunov and Sergey Rachmaninoff. The duo chose Schumann’s piece because Belov had previously performed it many times, and

because Timmons said she had always dreamed of performing it. “I have such a strong connection to the piece,” Belov said. “There is so much hidden. There is secret meaning in each poem and strong connections throughout.” Timmons said she and Belov met weekly before the recital, working on song interpretation, style and performance. “Sometimes we had different interpretations of the pieces, but we worked through them,” Belov said.

Timmons said that working collaboratively was a positive experience because it gave her the opportunity to see pieces from new perspectives. “The beauty of working with another musician is the way you adjust to each other’s interpretations of the piece,” Timmons said. “[Belov] had a different view of the work than I did, so I found myself adapting, which was really refreshing.” The pieces evolved during their practice times,

foyer, Forrer called out, “Tell all your friends about [the play]!” Students are encouraged to attend the Veteran’s Day performance Nov. 11 with a post-show discussion from Vietnam Vet and Linfield alumnus, Bob Ferguson. Lydia Driver can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Faculty sing, play poet’s dark love story Joanna Peterson Managing editor

Two professors told a love story through a vocal and piano duet Nov. 13. Anton Belov, assistant professor of music, and Jill Timmons, professor of music, combined talents to create their faculty recital in Ice Auditorium. Belov, a baritone, sang pieces by a range of composers, from Tchaikovsky to Robert Schumann. Timmons accompanied him on piano. The recital, titled, “A

Poet’s Love,” featured the works of Schumann, who used Heinrich Heine’s poetry to compose the song, “Dichterliebe.” The song tells the story of a poet who falls in love with a young woman. The piece incorporates strong images from the natural world, using things like plants and water to evoke the descriptions attached to the characters. Throughout the segments of the song, the characters’ love develops before falling apart.

Belov said. He said they would continue to change each time the duo performed them, shifting along with the musicians. Timmons said she enjoyed the performance and the wide range of audience members who attended—from trustees to the president of the school to students. “We had great audience interaction,” she said. “We felt strong participation in the music and poetry.” Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Comedian explores dating, sex Sharon Gollery Culture editor A comedian gave an interactive performance dealing with the subjects of dating and relationships. The show took place Nov. 5 in the Ice Auditorium. Comedian Jonny Loquasto has hosted shows for the Gameshow Network, TBS, Break.com and various shows at CBS. “At the beginning of the show, he rearranged people in the balcony,” sophomore Tim Marl said. “He told them to sit next to each other to make relationships happen.”

Junior Julie Schoettler said she was not entirely sure what to expect, but she enjoyed the show. “I didn’t really know what he was going to be like,” Schoettler said. “I had never heard of him before, and there weren’t a lot of people in the audience when I went in there, so I didn’t think it was going to be very good. But it was a lot better than I thought.” Schoettler said one of her favorite parts was a remark that Loquasto made about the gender ratio. “He made a comment about how the Linfield freshmen class is 70 percent women and 30 percent

men, so the guys have good odds,” Schoettler said. One of the most memorable parts of the show was the end, Marl said. “He did a little dating show at the end with people he picked from the audience,” Marl said. “There were two girls and four guys. It was like a typical dating show. He asked the guys questions, and at the end, the girls had to pick which guy they liked.” Marl said that, overall, it was a funny and engaging performance. “I laughed a lot during the show,” Marl said. Schoettler appreciated how Loquasto worked with the

audience during his comic routine. “He really listened to the crowd,” Schoettler said. “He listened to what we liked, what we got, what we laughed about, and he would change his jokes depending on the crowd’s reaction. The crowd liked him.” Schoettler said that she enjoyed the show and she would watch Loquasto perform again if he came back to Linfield in the future. “I think it’s great that ASLC puts on these events for us,” Schoettler said. Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Joel Ray/Photo editor Comedian Jonny Loquasto engages his audience during his show Nov. 5 in Ice Auditorium.


November 7, 2011

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Cat Cab artist shows versatility in music Cassie Wong Staff writer

Photos by Viktor Zhu/Staff photographer Jared Mahone presents his audience with an array of talents, styles, genres and original songs during the Pro Cat Cab on Nov. 3 in the Fred Meyer Lounge.

Musician Jared Mahone is a grab bag of music— soul music, rap, beat-box, Michael Jackson, Black Eyed Peas and Disney. On Nov. 3, the Ohio native returned to Linfield and showcased his multifaceted musical talent to Linfield students. The musician began singing a slow song with his guitar, followed by a song with beat-box. Meanwhile, the size of the audience doubled to a few dozen. When asked how many of them had seen the last show, about a quarter of them raised their hands. Throughout the night, Mahone kept interacting with his audience. He jokingly asked them not to get up and dance or to bob their heads. Instead, he told the audience to nod to themselves, to him or to their neighbors. The crowd was amused by his demonstration of these “proper responses.” Before continuing, Mahone revealed the secret of his richly layered music—sound panel. He explained that his music is rhythmic and needs the layers. Thus, when his band members are absent, he will record part of his music when playing

a song and keep replaying it throughout that song to make up for the missing parts. He then invited the audience to help add to the texture by snapping along. After that, he talked about his inspirations. He once wrote a song inspired by a girl with whom he has gone from dating to breakup to reunion within a week in a summer camp. The musician also said he was raised with soul and hip hop music, which inevitably became a big influence in his music. However, inspirations also included theme songs of TV or radio programs and Disney songs. “The common factor is me,” Mahone said. Then before anyone expected it, he performed an a cappella version of one of his childhood favorites— “Part of Your World.” After the Disney song, he started beat-boxing and sang remixes of pop songs. Meanwhile, he controlled his imaginary DJ panel and gave different effects. Following the performance, Mahone said that of all his artistic inspiration, there was one who influenced him the most. He then revealed the answer with Michael Jackson’s “Do You Remember.” Mahone, who has been

challenging himself to write a song a week, finished the show with his latest songs. The songs drew inspirations from daily life and people around him. These songs include “He Doesn’t Get It,” a song about lopsided relationships, and “From: Joe To: Betsy,” a touching song about his late grandmother from his grandfather’s perspective. Although the audience was not passionate during the show, they generally enjoyed and appreciated Mahone’s performance. Sophomore Francesca Walpole said that he was versatile. In return, Mahone was satisfied with the audience response. “They were chilled and enjoyed the way they wanted to enjoy,” he said, explaining that the night was more of a song writing discussion and showcase of new songs. Having been working as an independent artist for six years, he said he enjoyed what he did and was not interested in chasing after a deal from record companies who could restrict his creativity. “I am an independent musician from the mid-west who loves music,” he said. Cassie Wong can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Performance piece encourages free dance

Joel Ray/Photo editor Students participate in Ready Made Drop Box, a collaborative performance piece that took place Nov. 4 in the Linfield Gallery. The stages of the event included a guided group meditation (above), a period of free dance (left) when participants were invited to dance to electronic music in any way they wanted and a group drumming session reminiscent of a tribal celebration. Junior Lucas Cook hosted the event. About 19 students attended this extraordinary display of rhythm, dance and free expression.


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

November 7, 2011

New Age group plays psychedelic tunes James Testa KSLC 90.3 FM Atlanta-based rock group, Elevado, brings a blend of ’70s and ’80s melodies to the alternative stage with a retro-futuristic approach that proves to be enticing for listeners of multiple genres. Psychedelic guitar riffs and original rhythms give the group solid weapons for its arsenal to pursue higher levels of the music industry. Elevado’s album, “This World is on Fire,” provides a great sample of the group’s upbeat, eclectic tunes. Comprised of Cain Wong, Don Dudenhoeffer, Justin Hughes, Justin Sias and Ripley Torres, Elevado looks

to mix live electronics with alternative music and produce unique music. The track “Song of a Purple Man” opens with the daring guitar riffs that make this group something special. The vocals and overall rhythm certainly strikes a chord with its post-punk classifications and reminds the listener of another retrolike band, The Killers. The title-track crosses between early Police and some of the United Kingdom’s early ’80s anarchist bands and gives Elevado strong footing in the alternative world of music. “Indigo Torch Serenade” proves to be the psychedelic

“This World Is On Fire” album cover. love song on the album. A smooth electronic beat in the background leads the way for a sensual guitar riff

that gives the track the intimate feel that makes it a highlight of the album. The lyrics show dark dec-

larations of love in a cool way: “She’s my valentine, love cannibal, and I’ll kill anyone who tries to take her away…” It sounds like something from the diary of a mad man, but it is a big part of what makes the group so unique and interesting to listen to. The song “Our Turn Came Tonight” is a great representation of the ominous style the band pursues. The track is marked by sharp, stinging guitar riffs set against a danceable, pounding rhythm one would find in a New York City underground venue. With a sound similar to that of Depeche Mode, the track serves as something

you can both dance to as well as jam to while in the library. Elevado could be described as New-Wave, Electronica, Post-modern, as well as many other genres, but the best thing about this group is that it has the ability to appeal to those who listen to all types of genres. Its upbeat rhythms make anyone want to put on the dancing shoes, and its superb musical talents call for musicians to strive to learn their stuff. Look for Elevado on the KSLC airwaves; it is definitely worth a listen. James Testa can be reached at kslcmusic@gmail.com.

‘Attack the Block’ fails to impress Hayden Mace For the Review “Attack the Block,” although attention-grabbing because of its promise for action and drama, really isn’t all its cracked up to be. Although the director has created successful movies before, “Attack the Block” didn’t live up to expectations. “Attack the Block” is written and directed by Joe Cornish, who brought us “Hot Fuzz.” It’s the story of a teenage gang in London and their unlikely battle against a group of aliens who have

landed in their neighborhood. I enjoyed “Hot Fuzz,” and the trailer for “Attack the Block” looked pretty good, so I thought I’d give it a shot. The alien invasion story is a bit overused, and this story wasn’t anything fantastic. The humor wasn’t there, and I could hardly understand what anyone was saying because of the accents. There wasn’t anything special about this movie, and overall, it wasn’t that entertaining. I give “Attack the Block”: 6.5/10. Hayden Mace can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

“Attack the Block” movie poster.

parts of the body. Sometimes people are quiet, while others may have an uncontrollable need to cry out. Generally, there is a feeling of release. Men and women both have full-body responses, but they orgasm differently. Women are able to orgasm more than once. Men have more parts that are involved than women and commonly ejaculate when they have an orgasm. Men can, however, orgasm without ejaculating. Women also have the

ability to have a similar ejaculation experience called squirting. This can take a lot of concentration on her part that can be difficult to accomplish because it feels similar to relaxing to pee, and the woman needs to feel comfortable. While it is easier for men to have an orgasm during intercourse, not all women are able to. There is the mysterious G-spot that can cause some women to orgasm when stimulated. This can be reached more easily in different positions, such as doggy style or raising the hips by placing a pillow under them. Many women can also reach orgasm by stimulation of the clitoris. This can be done with one or more fingers or orally. When aroused, the cli-

The truth about orgasms

Dear Bailey, How can I be sure I am having an orgasm? ~The Big “O”

Dear The Big “O,” When I was younger, I remember having it described to me as an explosion. When I finally had my first orgasm, that definitely wasn’t the case, and my reaction was, “That’s it?” This doesn’t mean this is how it is for everybody. Orgasms can still be “mindblowing” at times. Experiencing orgasms is different for everyone and varies each time from smaller, fleeting sensations to more exhausting or intensely demanding body reactions. There can be a warm sensation, numbness in some areas, toe curling or vibration of the legs or other

toris becomes larger and firmer, making it easier to find under the hood at the top of the pubic area. While in a relationship, or with a continuous sexual partner, you should not fake an orgasm to try to make the other person happy. An orgasm is a form of sexual communication that means something is being done right. Faking can lead to different expectations and your needs being unmet. The best way to find out if you are having an orgasm or how you react when you have one is practice. Yes, I do mean go play with yourself. Find a private setting and have fun. It may take a while, but it’s worth it.

Bailey can be reached at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com.

Upcoming events

Fall Band Concert

7:30 pm. Nov. 8, Ice Auditorium

Taste of Korea

5:00 pm. Nov. 9, off campus

Pro Cat Cab

9:00 pm. Nov. 10, Fred Meyer Lounge

“Fifth of July” Post-show discussion

After the show Nov. 11, Marshall Theatre


Sports

November 7, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

13

’Cats block out Bruins in final game of season Kelsey Sutton Copy chief The Linfield volleyball team ended the season positively with a loss and a final win. The Wildcats lost to Pacific Lutheran University in three sets Nov. 4 and took home a win against George Fox University on Nov. 5. Pacific Lutheran stepped up its blocking, with 15 blocks from the opposing side. The strong energy from PLU’s side caused 34 attack errors and 8 service errors from the Wildcats. PLU quickly gained its lead in the first match with a score of 14-3, and then 22-7. The Lutes worked together to win the first set with a score of 25-9. The momentum was sustained in the second set for the Lutes as they jumped to the lead early in the game. Senior Samantha Lau, however, had 5 digs, and freshman Leimomi Hookano had two kills. The Lutes took the second set 25-16. The Wildcats were able to keep things closer in the third match but were unable to hold out for a win. Freshman Audrey Frazier contributed with 12 assists, while freshman Kailana Ritte-

Volleyball Score by Sets: George Fox (2) 23 25 25 19 9 Linfield (3) 25 16 22 25 15 Score by Sets: Pacific Lutheran (3) 25 25 25 Linfield (0) 9 16 17 Camara had five digs and five kills. Pacific Lutheran won the match with a final game score of 25-17. Facing off against George Fox University again, the Wildcats came away with another winning score. Hookano started out the first set with five kills and Frazier had 12 assists, out of her match-high of 36. The Wildcats won the first set with a score of 25-23. Both teams stayed within two points of each other throughout the whole second set until the Bruins sprang ahead, earning a 19-9 lead and winning the game 25-16. The Bruins and the Wildcats continued to keep it close in the third set. The

Joel Ray/Photo editor

The volleyball team celebrates after the final match of the season Nov. 5 at home. Bruins charged ahead once again and took the set 22-25. Linfield came back in the fourth and fifth sets. The Bruins committed a few errors, giving the Wildcats the momentum they needed to win the match.

“Although we lost two sets in a row, we regained a lot of momentum after the third set and ended up with a win,” Hookano said. Sophomore Kelsey Ludin had 12 kills. Freshman Victoria Thompson

had six kills along with Hookano, who had nine kills and eight digs. The volleyball team ended its season with a record of 11-14 and 6-10 in the Northwest Conference. “Our team ended the

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Freshman Eric Gutierrez goes after Willamette defender Luke Falcone to retrieve the ball Nov. 5 at home.

Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

Men’s soccer retires cleats after final loss Samantha Sigler News editor

season on a high note. We had a lot of energy that night and everyone was on the same page,” Hookano said.

The Wildcats’ men’s soccer team played its last game of the season against the Willamette University Bearcats and lost with a score of 0-3 Nov. 5. This was the Wildcats’ fifth consecutive shutout game of the season, which is not how it wanted to end the season. While the Wildcats outshot the Bearcats with 14 shots to their 12, and both teams gained the same amount of corner kicks with five each, the Wildcats appeared unable to finish their attempts at goals while the Bearcats proved to be more successful. Willamette scored 69 seconds into the game, which gave them a quick advantage over the Wildcats. This was also the fastest any opponent has scored against the Wildcats all season. Just seven and a half minutes later, another goal was made, which the Wildcats’ goalkeeper sophomore Scott Goodman was unable to block. By the 22nd minute,

Men’s Soccer Score by Halves: Linfield............ 0 0 - 0 Willamette...... 3 0 - 3 Willamette made its third and final goal of the game with an additional unassisted goal. While both Linfield and Willamette each made five shots, neither team proved successful in making any goals the second half of the game. This led to Willamette’s victory, which tied it for fifth place in the Northwest Conference. This was the final game for Wildcat seniors Kyle Brouse, Zach Farrington and Wil Hiles, with Farrington graduating with the third most minutes played in program history. The Wildcats ended their 2011 season with a record of 1-12-1 in league matches and a record of 2-14-11 overall.

Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

Flashes of the Wildcats’ future In a few months, there are going to be a lot of stunning reasons to remember the incredible season the women’s soccer team just wrapped up. There will be program records for wins in a single season, a year-long duel with Puget Sound for the conference title and breakout seasons for players such as freshman Zoe Langsdorf. The list of positives goes on. But right now, other things come to mind. A tantalizing 0-0 draw last Friday that would have secured the program’s first playoff berth still stings. I can’t help but wish for the offense of injured forward sophomore Emily Fellows at times like that, but that’s just the way the ball rolls sometimes. One crossbar-rejected shot

Sports Commentary

Chris Forrer Sports columnist that went in on any number of contests could have made that last 1 percent of difference. I know there is an overwhelming list of high points to discuss and bat around. But it stings. This team was so damn good this year, and I was so eager to see how they matched up with the nation’s top programs that I could already taste it. And after watching its 6-1 drubbing of a helpless Pacific

Lutheran squad on Saturday, I’m going to be hungry for it next season, too. Beyond the joy of watching one of your teams lay a backalley whipping on somebody else at home, I saw the future of this team in the second half. Already up 4-1, coach Dominic Doty emptied his benches and gave a handful of underclassmen their first shot at extended game action. These ladies were tough. They didn’t spin their wheels and dribble the clock out. They scrapped, bumped and clawed PLU apart. The result was another two goals set up and scored exclusively by players who weren’t part of the regular rotation this season. Incidentally, we’ve also been starting sophomore goalkeeper Taylor Collinsworth in the last five games.

She’s compiled an impressive 3-1-1 record while only allowing three goals in that span. What does the future of this team hold? In short, a lot of promise and a lot of talent. We only regularly played three seniors in our rotation this year; 10-time conference champion Puget Sound played six. See where I’m going with this? It may only be days since the 2011 season ended, but for my way-too-early 2012 Northwest Conference pick, I’m selecting Linfield by a landslide. With this many talented youngsters, a healthy Emily Fellows and a talented new goalie, with a few games under her belt, I can’t see any other possible outcome. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

November 7, 2011

Wildcat Sports Schedule Friday, Nov. 11 Swimming

@ Tacoma, Wash.

6 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 5 Cross Country

@ Claremont, Calif. 9 a.m.

Football

vs. Lewis & Clark

1 p.m.

Swimming

@ Tacoma, Wash.

1 p.m.

Special event Saturday, Nov. 5 Hall of Fame Banquet @ Home

6 p.m.

Soccer: Wildcats finish second in conference << Continued from page 16

“Friday was just one of those times we didn’t finish our chances. We didn’t have quite the bite we needed in front of the goal, which happens sometimes,” Sours said. Saturday’s home game against Pacific Lutheran resulted in many more goals than Friday’s game. Lute Mimi Granlund scored the first goal with a header, assisted by Blake Warner. After a couple of missed goals, the Wildcats made a comeback. Junior Christine Tamamoto scored a goal, assisted by senior MacKenzie Doty. Not too long after this first goal was scored, the Wildcats scored yet again, this time by Doty with an assist by senior Jenna Quiring. The Wildcats kept rolling in the goals. Freshman Zoe Langsdorf scored the third goal for Linfield in less than three minutes after the second goal was scored. The Wildcats kept up their scoring streak in the second half. After Lute goalie Lauren Chambard saved a few goals, Sours managed to get one past her, scoring the fourth goal for Linfield. Less than 10 minutes later, Schmidt scored a goal for the Wildcats, assisted by Doty.

Women’s Soccer Score by Halves: Linfield............ Pacific (Ore.)...

0 0- 0 0 0- 0

Score by Halves: Whitman......... Linfield............

0 1- 1 3 3- 6

The Wildcats didn’t stop scoring yet. With less than four minutes left in the game, sophomore Sara Miller scored a goal for the Wildcats, assisted by freshman Emily Ing. Linfield won the game 6-1. “We played as a team, which was just amazing— everybody played their role and contributed,” Sours said. The Wildcats just barely missed out on the conference title, losing by two points to University of Puget Sound. “I feel like the season went amazing,” Sours said. “It’s hard to be as consistent as we were.” While the Wildcats may not have won the conference title, they now have the highest number of wins in Linfield history and the highest standing finish in women’s soccer. “We really believe we are the best and play together,” Sours said. Meghan O’Rourke can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

Joel Ray/Photo editor Junior Anna Sours and sophomore Stephanie Socotch pass the ball between each other, dribbling down the field toward Whitman’s goal Nov. 5 at home.


Sports

November 7, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

15

Football: Wildcats battle against Whitworth << Continued from page 16

at a high enough level as a team.” Inns and the offense wasted little time in the second half, marching down field on their quarter-opening drive to score on a 39-yard pass to junior receiver Deidre Wiersma. Later in the quarter, Inns connected with senior receiver Buddy Saxon for another score to put the ’Cats ahead. The offensive outburst continued with two more touchdowns, one to Priester and another to junior tailback Stephen Nasca. While the offense got rolling, the defense clamped down on Peterson with five sacks and an interception by sophomore safety Ian Zarosinski. “It was great to see the offense bounce back a little after last weekend’s game,” Mace said, “But there is still a lot we need to improve on as a unit.” Whitworth kept things interesting by scoring twice more on Peterson’s passes to pull to within four with three minutes remaining, but the Wildcats ran the clock out to preserve the 42-38 margin. With the victory, Linfield moves to 8-0 on the season and faces Lewis & Clark College on Nov. 12 at home to decide the Northwest Conference Championship. The winner will also receive the NWC’s automatic bid to the NCAA Division-III playoffs. “It’ll be great to be back in the Catdome next weekend playing in front of our home crowd for the conference championship,” Mace said. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Football Score by Quarters: Linfield............ 7 7 14 14 - 42 Whitworth...... 12 13 0 13 - 38

Scoring Summary: 1st 10:22 WHTW - Ehlo, Austin 5 yd pass from Peterson, Bryan (McNealley, Sean kick blockd) 4 plays, 20 yards, TOP 2:20, LIN 0 - WHTW 6 07:11 LIN - Hill, Josh 5 yd run (Kay, Josh kick) 3 plays, 33 yards, TOP 0:51, LIN 7 - WHTW 6 00:33 WHTW - Lambert, Kasey 6 yd pass from Peterson, Bryan (McNealley, Sean kick failed) 7 plays, 48 yards, TOP 2:35, LIN 7 - WHTW 12 2nd 10:37 WHTW - Ehlo, Austin 39 yd pass from Peterson, Bryan (McNealley, Sean kick) 7 plays, 83 yards, TOP 3:04, LIN 7 - WHTW 19 06:15 LIN - Priester, Jacob 3 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 5 plays, 21 yards, TOP 1:30, LIN 14 - WHTW 19 00:14 WHTW - Ehlo, Austin 23 yd pass from Peterson, Bryan (McNealley, Sean kick blockd) 9 plays, 70 yards, TOP 2:59, LIN 14 - WHTW 25 3rd 13:05 LIN - Wiersma, Deidre 39 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 5 plays, 71 yards, TOP 1:49, LIN 21 - WHTW 25 05:51 LIN - Saxon, Buddy 8 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 4 plays, 26 yards, TOP 1:36, LIN 28 - WHTW 25 4th 14:55 LIN - Priester, Jacob 3 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 3 plays, 48 yards, TOP 0:46, LIN 35 - WHTW 25 09:43 LIN - Nasca, Stephen 7 yd pass from Inns, Mickey (Kay, Josh kick) 5 plays, 56 yards, TOP 2:12, LIN 42 - WHTW 25 05:33 WHTW - Turbeville, K. 21 yd pass from Peterson, Bryan (McNealley, Sean kick) 5 plays, 33 yards, TOP 1:56, LIN 42 - WHTW 32 03:24 WHTW - Thomas, Ronnie 78 yd run (McNealley, Sean kick blockd) 2 plays, 86 yards, TOP 0:36, LIN 42 - WHTW 38

Photo Courtesy of Kelly Bird Senior Drew Fisher returns a punt during the game against Whitworth University on Nov. 5 in Spokane, Wash.

NBA players’ ultimatum: Accept by Wednesday or else Kate Fagan (MCT) The Philadephia Inquirer New York - The NBA— players and owners alike— is standing at the edge of a cliff, staring into the abyss. Early Sunday morning, NBA commissioner David Stern issued an ultimatum to the league’s 450 players: accept the deal on the table by Wednesday, or watch as the deal becomes progressively worse. No further meetings have been scheduled between the two sides before Wednesday’s deadline. The NBA said its proposed deal offers a “band”

of between 49 and 51 percent of basketball related income (BRI) and tightens all of the system regulations, such as luxury tax and midlevel exceptions. Stern said if Wednesday’s deadline passes without movement on the current deal, NBA owners would drop the deal to 47 percent of BRI and also propose a de-facto hard salary cap. “We hope that this juxtaposition will cause the union to assess its position and accept the deal,” Stern said. Even more pertinent, union president Derek Fisher spoke after Stern on

Sunday and said the offered deal—crafted with the help of federal mediator George Cohen—was so poor, the union wouldn’t even bring the deal to its players. “Our job is to take a deal to our players that we’re comfortable presenting and that we feel will get passed and will receive the votes to get basketball back up and running,” said Fisher. “And at this point, we don’t have a deal to propose.” Multiple NBA players confirmed to The Inquirer that the deal on the table, which needs a simple majority vote to pass, would likely have about half of the support of the

league’s 450 rank-andfile players. These players explained that the general feeling among the players is that they’ll eventually be forced to “take a bad deal” because any leverage they might have had —for example, by boycotting last season’s All-Star Game or NBA playoffs—is gone. These players said that the NBA players are united and willing to miss paychecks, but that they also understand holding out will become counterproductive very quickly. The players explained that the lawyers negotiating for the union must put aside their egos, get something done,

and live with it. So where does this leave us? At a crossroads called decertification. The NBA owners are hoping the rank-and-file players will demand that the union put the current proposal to a vote, while within the players union a movement has already begun to test the waters of decertification. On Sunday, ESPN reported that the players leading the decertification push believe they can get the requisite 130 signed petitions (approximately 30 percent of the league’s 450 players), which would force a vote on decertifica-

tion. The union would then have a 45-day window in which to hold a vote on decertification. Decertifying the union—essentially, taking this fight to the courts— would require a majority vote. Those pushing for a decertification vote hope the move would give the union leverage and force NBA owners to change their bargaining stance sometime during the 45-day window. “I’ve been ready to sign a decertification petition since July?” New Jersey Nets guard Deron Williams tweeted on Sunday. “Can’t believe we are just now going this route!”


16

www.linfieldreview.com

sports

November 7, 2011

Catline Young team performs beyond expectations Meghan O’Rourke Opinion editor

Northwest Conference Standings Football Linfield

5-0

Lewis & Clark

4-1

1.000 .800

Pacific Lutheran

3-2

.600

Whitworth

3-2

.600

Willamette

2-3

.400

Pacific

1-5

.167

Puget Sound

0-5

.000

Pacific Lutheran

12-2

.857

Whitworth

12-2

.857

Puget Sound

10-4

.714

Men’s Soccer

Whitman

9-5

.643

5-8-1

.393

Pacific

5-8-1

.393

Linfield

1-12-1

.107

George Fox

0-16-1

.036

Whitworth

14-1

.875

Pacific Lutheran

13-3

.812

Puget Sound

10-6

.625

Willamette

Volleyball

Lewis & Clark

9-7

.562

Pacific

7-9

.438

Linfield

6-10

.375

George Fox

5-11

.312

Willamette

5-11

.312

Whitman

3-13

.188

Women’s Soccer Puget Sound

12-2-2

Linfield

11-2-3

.812 .781

Willamette

10-5-1

.656

Whitworth

8-4-4

.625

Pacific

7-5-4

.562

5-8-2

.400

Whitman George Fox

2-10-4

.250

Pacific Lutheran

3-12-1

.219

Lewis & Clark

2-13-1

.156

Sports column shows support In this week’s sports column, the women’s soccer team’s succussful season is analyzed. See page 14>> Volleyball comes to an end The Wildcats finish their season with two final games against Pacific Lutheran University and George Fox University. See page 13>> Men’s soccer draws to a close The men’s team ended its season with a hard final loss against Willamette University. See page 13>> Sports schedule Missed out on the sporting events during the weekend? Check out the sports schedule to see when your favorite teams play this weekend. See page 14>>

Photo courtesy of Kelly Bird Freshman Ellie Schmidt receives a yellow card after going for the ball while it was in the Pacific University goalie’s possession in the 18-yard box Nov. 4 in Forest Grove, Ore.

The women’s soccer team played its final two regular season games, tying 0-0 with Pacific University on Nov. 4 and winning 6-1 against Pacific Lutheran University on Nov. 5. The Nov. 4 game turned out to be a game of missed shots. Early in the game, both Pacific and Linfield tried for goals, but aimed too high. Minutes later, both teams tried once again for a goal, but aimed too wide this time. In the second half of the game, neither team could get past the other’s defense. Junior Anna Sours attempted a goal for the Wildcats, but Pacific goalie Brittany Hartmann saved the ball Pacific player Shekema McCarthy tried for a goal, but goalie, sophomore Taylor Collinsworth, saved the ball. With no goals scored, each team was battling hard for a win. Linfield players senior Emily Allison and freshman Ellie Schmidt each received yellow cards, as did Pacific player Kaitlyn Harper. The rest of the game consisted of blocks and saves, resulting in a score of 0-0. The game went into a 10-minute overtime, but neither team could score, and the game went into a second 10-minute overtime. Pacific committed several fouls during this second overtime, resulting in two Pacific players getting carded. Sarah Tuffey received a yellow card and Kaitlyn Harper received a red card. Pacific player Bryanna DeLima tried for a goal with only two seconds left, but Linfield goalie Collinsworth saved the ball. The game resulted in a tie. >> Please see Soccer page 14

’Cats lead conference with win over Pirates Chris Forrer Sports columnist The No. 5-ranked Linfield football program faced its most difficult and surprising road test yet against the Whitworth Pirates on Nov. 5 in Spokane, Wash., and escaped with a 42-38 victory. One missed and three blocked Whitworth PATs, two of them by sophomore linebacker Tyler Robitaille, proved to be the difference in the long run. “It was a game filled with a lot of adversity,” senior center Hayden Mace said. The game shaped up to an impressive passing duel, as junior quarterback Mickey Inns set career-high marks with 344 yards and five touchdowns. Pirates quarterback Bryan Peterson owned the first half, however, lighting up the ’Cats’ usually stiff secondary for four touchdown strikes before halftime. The Wildcats were out gained by halftime for the first time all

Inns

Peterson

season. “They had some guys making good plays on the ball,” Mace said. Linfield found the end zone twice on a short scoring run by junior tailback Josh Hill and a three-yard scoring lob to sophomore tight end Jacob Priester, but couldn’t get out of it’s own way for much of the first half. The ’Cats fumbled the ball away twice in the first half and ran up 11 penalties for 104 yards, leading to a 25-14 halftime deficit. “We made some mistakes,” Mace said. “We weren’t executing >> Please see Football page 15

Photo Courtesy of Kelly Bird Senior Buddy Saxon completed a pass by junior Mickey Inns and made a touchdown Nov. 4 in Spokane, Wash.

The Linfield Review  
The Linfield Review  

The Linfield Review

Advertisement