Issuu on Google+

Sports

Men’s was soccer unable to snag wins as it approaches final game. >> page 11

November 5, 2010

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

116th Year

Matt Sunderland Senior reporter The Linfield Forensics team hosted the 80th Mahaffey Tournament, the largest annual tournament for the team, Oct. 29 to 31. The team produced many winners. Eight members of the team reached finals in at least one event, and several took home awards. Senior Darren Valenta, President of the Linfield branch of the Pi Kappa Delta forensics honor society, took first place in poetry reading. In the dramatic duo contest, Valenta took second with freshman Katie Pitchford and third place with freshman Kate Wyckoff. He also took second in mad libs interpretation. Valento was the second best overall speaker in the individual events category — one of the most sought-after awards of the tournament. Sophomore Chris Forrer won first place in the dramatic interpretation category, as well as fourth in dramatic duo with Pitchford, and was ranked as fifth-best overall speaker. Pitchford won second place in junior prose interpretation and third place in junior poetry interpretation. Wyckoff took second place in junior program of oral interpretation, as well as third in mad libs interpretation. Sophomore Linh Tang also brought home third in junior extemporaneous speaking. For the first time in the tournament’s 80-year history, the mad libs event was added and the Brenda Devore Marshall Award was conferred. Jackson Miller, associate professor of communication arts and director of forensics, created the mad libs interpretation event, during which competitors selected a series of mad libs words to put into a story, which they complete. Miller also created the Brenda Devore Marshall Award, which he said was in honor of the current chair of the commu-

“This is a violation of federal law,” Michael Huntsberger, assistant professor of mass communication and a faculty adviser to the station, said. “I need to look up the specific penalties there are. I just don’t know.” Huntsberger said he found out about the violation from a story in The Linfield Review (“Will date for charity,” TLR, Oct. 29). He said no inquiries have come from the FCC. “This is pretty straightforward,” he said. “It’s a rule, and a rule is one of the things we’re supposed to learn here. For me, this is a teachable moment.” Tompkins suspended Avritt and Coleman via e-mail less than an hour before their show, which normally begins at 10 p.m. on Tuesdays, Coleman said. “As far as I am concerned, they’re Please see Radio page 4

Diversity Week

>> page 6

Please see Mahaffey page 5

Juli Tejadilla/Graphics/ads designer

Features

INSIDE

Editorial .......................... 2 News ............................... 4 Features.............................7 Culture............................10 Sports .............................16

News

Culture

Two disk jockeys working for KSLC 90.3 FM, Linfield’s student radio station, were suspended Nov. 2 for violating Federal Communications Commission regulations on their radio show. Seniors Taylor Avritt and Kevin Coleman lost their weekly radio slot after junior Eric Tompkins, student general manager of KSLC, discovered they raised money for the Susan G. Komen for the Cure breast cancer awareness foundation by auctioning off dates with Linfield men. Avritt and Coleman raised $252 for the foundation. According to FCC regulations, it is illegal for stations with a noncommercial education license, such as KSLC, to raise money for organizations other than themselves if the fundraiser alters or suspends regular programming.

Issue No. 10

Eight Linfield students see success at tournament

KSLC DJs fired for illegal on-air fundraiser Joshua Ensler News editor

Out-of-state students

>> page 8-9

‘Lend Me a Tenor’

>> page 10


2

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com Editor-in-chief Kelley Hungerford Managing editor Braden Smith Copy chief Septembre Russell Copy editor Hillary Krippaehne Business manager Sarah Spranger News editor Joshua Ensler Sports editor Corrina Crocker Culture editor Jessica Prokop Features editor Jaffy Xiao Opinion editor Chelsea Bowen Photo editor Sarah Hansen Online editor Megan Myer Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla Illustrator Jenny Worcester Senior reporter Matt Sunderland Senior photographer Katie Paysinger Circulation manager Kyle Guth Columnists Matt Olson “Dear Bailey” Adviser William Lingle professor of mass communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Fridays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday to appear in the Review the following Friday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

Opinions

November 5, 2010

EDITORIAL

Unreliable printing poses a recurring issue The computer labs in Renshaw Hall are great locations for students to finish homework during the evening. Although the Renshaw computer labs are helpful to students, they have a downfall. Neither are reliable places to print. The printers in Renshaw Hall are unreliable because they only work occasionally. This causes a lot of stress for students. Students often come to Renshaw Hall to print documents 5 minutes before class only to find that the printers are not functioning properly. This happens too often. Students should call Integrated Technology Services when printers are out of order so that problems aren’t

left unsolved for others. We know that a large number of students choose to simply ignore printing issues, but this just leaves the problem for other unsuspecting students to deal with, and it leaves ITS unaware that problems exist. Students appreciate having an ITS support team to call when computer printers are not working, as we at the Review do, but more action could be taken by ITS to ensure that Renshaw Hall printers are continually functioning. One suggestion we offer is that ITS could visit Renshaw computer labs to check the printers in the morning. Sorting out problems early facilitates

smooth printing during the day. A second suggestion we offer is to have an ITS representative work a night shift to help with computer and printing issues. Students work in the Renshaw labs all through the night, especially during midterms and finals week, and it would save a lot of headaches if students had someone to call when technical issues occur during those hours. We appreciate all the effort that the ITS support team makes to help students with technical issues, but it may help solve more problems if both ITS and students take more active roles in the Renshaw computer labs. -The Review Editorial Board

Review office hours

of the crash, even though the driver that hit them, Daniel Algeo, was quite intoxicated. In the article, Aaron Granum, stated that “the girls came out onto the road suddenly.” I would first like to point out that the author failed to take into account any other eyewitness or police statements and did not report that Justine and Celeste Wilson were walking

across the street not alone, but in a group of four people when they were hit. In addition, the women had to cross one full lane on the street before reaching the lane the driver should have been in. Granum stated in the article that Algeo “did not seem intoxicated,” and he believes, “the accident was not caused by Algeo’s intoxication.” It was not mentioned that

Algeo did not pass his field sobriety test, was not able to stand on one leg and blew a 0.2 (2 ½ times over the legal limit for driving in Oregon) when he hit the victims. I have to wonder, was Granum’s perception of the incident the eyewitness account of a sober student? Sincerly, - Robbie West Pillar

student who rushed to aid Justine, called 9-1-1, gathered in prayer and made sure she was kept from moving. For those of you who witnessed my daughter (as Granum described) looking like “a ragdoll,” “grotesque” and moaning, “help” before she lost consciousness and was put upon the helicopter, I hope this incident stays with you for life and you will warn your own friends and loved

ones of the dangers of drinking and driving. Thank you to the many 2010 Linfield alumni and junior Ryan Cook, who rushed to the hospital in the night, supporting Justine, each other, and our family during a very scary time. My appreciation and thanks also to the wonderful Linfield College staff, Accounting Department professors, and members of Alpha Phi Sorority for being so kind in send-

ing love, cards, gifts, prayers and wishes for Justine’s recovery. Wildcats, please go easy on your parents and/or loved ones who remind you to be careful. I hope you all are lucky enough to avoid the next drunken driver, and most importantly are bright enough to never ever be the drunken driver.

Editor-in-chief Thursday 8-9 a.m. Friday 2-3 p.m. or by appointment Managing editor Tuesday & Thursday 10-11 a.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter, @linfieldreview, and on Facebook.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR My daughter Justine Pillar, Class of 2010, is the young woman who was struck by a drunken driver over Homecoming weekend as she crossed Davis Street and had to be life-flighted to Portland. I am very disappointed the article “Student, alumna injured in crash” that was published in The Linfield Review, which seems to place blame on the two victims

LETTER TO THE EDITOR While I feel The Linfield Review article “Student, alumna injured in crash” lacked important information, such as the 0.2 intoxication level of the driver who brutally crashed into my daughter Justine Pillar over Homecoming weekend, I would like to send thanks to the members of the Linfield community for their support during and since the accident. Thank you to every Linfield

Best wishes, - Kirk Pillar


November 5, 2010

Opinions

OPINION

www.linfieldreview.com

3

ADVICE COLUMN

Religious people should have open minds Cancer-causing STD requires additional protection, caution Sarah Hansen Photo editor Does anyone else find it fascinating that every religion has its own way of explaining how the world works? I think it’s a wonderful thing. Each person is able to explain the world in his or her own way. It’s one of the beauties, and downsides, of religion. Most people believe their way is the right way. The question remains: What is the right way? My answer: every way. Imagine that someone was trying to tell you his or her religion is the only way

to believe or you would go to hell. How would you feel? You probably wouldn’t listen because, honestly, who wants to believe his or her life is worthless? This is one example of someone thinking his or her way is the right way. If you are the type of person who believes everyone who is different from you is going to hell, how would you feel if someone told that to you? You wouldn’t like it. Think about those you love who have died. What kind of life are you living if you think they are burning in hell? Aren’t all religions supposed to be about finding a purpose in life and explaining what happens when you die? That shouldn’t be depressing. In reality, no one is going to change his or her beliefs

because someone else told him or her to. Life shouldn’t be about comparing who is right and who is wrong. It’s a terrible thing for someone to think that every person who doesn’t have similar beliefs is destined to eternal despair. Every person who has grown up with a different religion doesn’t have the same beliefs, and why should they? Why would you say he or she is wrong? No one is wrong regarding his or her beliefs. Regardless of how you feel, it is never your job to tell someone what to believe. I don’t understand why any religion would think it is better than another because religions are all essentially the same. They all find explanations for the world. I think people should

listen to their friends who have different beliefs. Even if you believe your way is right, take some time and think about someone else’s beliefs. You might learn something. Everyone must find his or her own way of thinking and believing because no two people are exactly the same, and no two people have exactly the same beliefs. Every person is right in his or her own way because, honestly, there is no way to determine which way is right, and we’ll probably never know. Religion is about explaining the world, not comparing which belief is better than the other, and religion is definitely not about telling someone what to believe.

Sarah Hansen can be reached at linfieldreviewphotos@gmail.com.

OPINION

Paper towels are bathroom necessities

Hillary Krippaehne Copy editor Two short months ago, I moved into my residence hall for the first time. My mom and dad came to help me move my belongings into my new room. After spending several hours re-arranging furniture and unpacking, I went to the bathroom. I examined the miniature showers and the gross urinals that are in the women’s restroom. I went to the bathroom and proceeded to wash my hands. I tried to locate paper towels, but I had no luck. There were none in the bathroom. Since moving in, I’ve tried to figure out why facilities wouldn’t include paper towels on the list of

bathroom necessities. I realize it would cost a great deal of money to supply all the residence halls with paper towels, but we pay enough in tuition. This should at least cover the cost of something to wipe our hands on. Also, it is unsanitary not to have paper towels. Some people already don’t wash after going to the bathroom. (Gross!) It would be encouraging to have paper towels there as a reminder to wash up when you’re finished. Dripping wet hands on the door handle most likely cause germs to sit and fester. This could increase the spread of colds and the flu. We already live in close quarters; there is no need to increase opportunities to get sick. If you don’t wash your hands, there is always the hand sanitizer option. The hand sanitizer is attached to the wall outside of the bathroom, but this makes no sense. If people don’t wash

their hands, and they use the sanitizer outside of the bathroom, then their germy hands will have touched the door handle anyway. This doesn’t solve the problem. I understand that it is environmentally friendly not to use paper towels. Trust me, I’m all for saving the world. I recycle, use a metal water bottle and turn off the water when I brush my teeth. But I don’t comprehend why there aren’t any paper towels in the bathroom. My roommate and I hosted a prospective student one night. She went to the bathroom and came out with dripping-wet hands. She was curious about why we don’t have paper towels. This could show prospective students that Linfield can’t afford to give students something to wipe their hands on. Do we want people to view our school as environmentally friendly, cheap or unsani-

tary? There are several solutions to this problem. One idea is that we should get air dryers for our hands. This wouldn’t cost too much money, and it would still be sustainable. The only problem is they might be too loud and disturb students in nearby rooms. We could have real towels in there, but they would be wet and gross all the time. People don’t want to leave their own towels in the bathroom because people might take or use them. Bringing a towel with you every time you use the restroom is a little unrealistic. There are many other sustainable options for hand-drying methods in the bathroom, but I think something needs to be done about the situation. We need to have a hand drying solution in the residence hall bathrooms. Hillary Krippaehne can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

Dear Bailey, As a woman, if I have a partner with HPV can I get it if we use condoms? If we are both participating in oral sex without a condom, do I risk getting HPV orally? If I have HPV will I get cervical cancer? Human Papillomavirus (HPV) is the most commonly spread sexually transmitted disease. There are more than 40 types of HPV. More than half of sexually active Americans will have one version of this virus at one time or another. It is possible for someone to carry the virus for years without exhibiting symptoms. Because of this, routine testing is important. HPV can cause genital warts and certain cancers. Condoms can reduce the chances of contracting HPV when used properly and every time sex occurs. This includes oral sex. HPV can be spread during sexual intercourse, anal sex, oral sex and with simple genital-to-genital contact. With oral sex, the virus can infect the mouth and throat. There are also vaccines that prevent common types of HPV. Cervarix and Gardasil are vaccines that can be used for women, while only Gardasil is available to men. These shots for women also protect against cervical cancer. Cervical cancer is rare but extremely dangerous. Every year, about 12,000 women are diagnosed with this type of cancer, and 4,210 women die each year from it. If it is not caught early enough, the chances of effective treatment and survival are significantly decreased.

HPV can cause other cancers as well, some rarer than cervical cancer, including vulvar, vaginal, anal, penile and some head and neck cancers. Approximately 17,300 of cancer cases a year are caused by HPV. While the v a c c i n e route is an excellent decision, there are some risks that accompany that choice. Some become sick, and some deaths have occurred as a result of the shots, but both occurrences are rare. If you are interested in receiving the shots, do some research and talk to your doctor about the risks before making an appointment. This information and more about HPV, prevention, and cancers linked to HPV is available at www. cdc.gov/hpv/index.html. Finally, a quick note about my last column: It was brought to my attention that I didn’t mention the local source for victims of abuse: the Henderson House at 610 SE 1st Street. Its crisis line is 503-472-1503 or 877-2275946 and more information can be found online at www. hendersonhouse.org. When looking up crisis information, always be careful. Use a public computer if you feel that your abuser is keeping track of your computer use. Bailey can be reached at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com.

Comic courtesy of USBICEF Stranahan Program


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

November 5, 2010

Professor co-edits book on bicycle philosophy Chelsea Bowen Opinion editor Linfield Assistant Philosophy Professor Jesús Ilundáin-Agurruza published a six-part book of essays in August 2010. The book, Cycling — Philosophy for Everyone: A Philosophical Tour de Force, was co-edited by Ilundáin-Agurruza and Associate Professor of Philosophy Michael Austin from Eastern Kentucky University, according to a press release from Linfield College website. Production began in the

Ilundáin-Agurruza spring of 2008, and the book was completed one year later, Ilundáin-Agurruza said.

According to the press release, “The book wheels its way through the terrain of life’s more complicated philosophical questions, with essayists covering everyone from Lance Armstrong to Socrates, and discussing cycling’s identity crisis, ethical issues related to success, women bikers, critical mass rides and the environment.” Ilundáin-Agurruza said that philosophy can be looked at as a way of thinking more carefully and deeply. “It’s a different rhythm of thinking,” Ilundáin-

Radio: DJs protest recent suspension << Continued from page 1 suspended indefinitely from having a show at the radio station,” Tompkins said. He said that he discussed the issue with Huntsberger and Professor Emeritus Art Cuscaden, another KSLC station adviser, before issuing the suspension. Tompkins said Huntsberger had also consulted with Brad Thompson, assistant professor and department chair of mass communication. “We’re concerned about losing our license,” Tompkins said. “That’s why we can’t let them have a show anymore.” Avritt and Coleman said they disagree with Tompkins’ interpretation of the law. Specifically, they argue that they did not “alter or suspend” regular programming to hold the fundraiser. “Eric [Tompkins’s] e-mail said we substantially alter the programming,” Coleman said. “We’ve never had guidelines for our program. Neither Eric nor anyone else has told us what to do for our hour.” Tompkins said he elected not to determine the content of student’s programs. “What the DJ chooses to do during [his or her] show — it’s a sticky business if you start getting into the whole

content argument,” Tompkins said. “I try to keep clear of that unless it’s really pushing the limits as far as legal content goes. I didn’t think their show was pushing things too far until the money became a legal issue.” Coleman said he disagreed with how KSLC is being run. “I’ve never met Eric [Tompkins],” he said. “I’ve never met anyone who works for the station. We do everything over e-mail.” Tompkins said they have met, although the suspension and the discussion surrounding it was made entirely by e-mail. Coleman also said he thought there wasn’t enough oversight to catch problems early. “That was our second [fundraising] show,” he said. “They didn’t listen to it. They didn’t hear about anything we’d done. They read [The Linfield Review] article, and that’s how they found out about it.” Coleman said he thought the two of them could have spent all semester raising money and the management would not have noticed. Avritt said that they had planned on continuing the show without an auction on Nov. 2, but Tompkins vetoed the idea. Avritt said that he never

intended to cause legal problems for the station. “It’s kind of upsetting,” he said. “I understand getting in trouble last semester, but we tried to turn it around this semester.” Avritt was cited for recklessly handling station property in the booth, Tomkins said, as well as using risqué content during his show in the spring of 2010. “This was the straw that broke the camel’s back,” Tompkins said. “They were warned about pushing the envelope, and they kept pushing.” Avritt said he believed that he had not clearly violated FCC regulations for thirdparty fundraising. “It’s upsetting to know we were kicked off for an interpretation of a law,” he said. Avritt said he met with Huntsberger after his suspension to discuss what happened. He acknowledged that he should have spoken to Huntsberger before running the auction and that he would not have conducted the auction if he knew it would get KSLC in legal trouble. “We are now aware we could have got the station in trouble, and that was never our intention,” Avritt said. Joshua Ensler can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Agurruza said, referring to his experience with looking at cycling from a philosophical angle. “It’s related to meditation.” Ilundáin-Agurruza said that virtually anything a person is interested in can be viewed as a philosophy. For example, there can be a tennis, golf or running philosophy, he said. It’s most meaningful when it’s connected to things you care about,” Ilundáin-Agurruza said, referring to the concept of philosophy. Ilundáin-Agurruza has been a dedicated cyclist

for 18 years. His first serious interest in cycling came after he suffered from a knee injury, he said. Cycling helped his knee grow stronger. On top of cycling being a way of life, he has been racing since he was in graduate school. According to the press release, he “competes as a category two racer.” Even though IlundáinAgurruza owns a car, he said he prefers to commute by bicycle unless he has to travel somewhere such as the airport. “The bicycle is the most

effective vehicle.” IlundáinAgurruza said. As far as expectations for his book, Ilundáin-Agurruza said that he hopes it becomes popular within bicycle circles. “It has something to offer to racers and commuters,” Ilundáin-Agurruza said. For more information about Cycling — Philosophy for Everyone: A Philosophical Tour de Force, contact professor IlundáinAgurruza at jilunda@linfield.edu. Chelsea Bowen can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

Costumed ’Cats dance

Joel Ray/Freelancer

Freshman Takahiro Ishizawa poses as Tupac at the Oct. 29 Rocktober Dance Party.


News

November 5, 2010

5

Mahaffey: Tournament requires training, focus

‘Dillo-ween’

<< Continued from page 1

www.linfieldreview.com

Sarah Hansen/Photo editor

Sodexo employees filled pumpkins with mystery items and asked patrons to guess the contents as part of their Halloween festivities Oct. 31. The staff also showed the movie “Paranormal Activity” in Dillin Hall.

nications and theatre arts department, and the team’s former coach. The award was given to the person who scored the highest in junior or novice categories. Finally, the Mahaffey Award, a 3-foot tall traveling trophy, was given to the team with the highest score overall. The award this year went to Carrol College in Montana. A competition for speaking and debating, the Mahaffey Memorial Tournament is held annually in the fall of each year and brings in about two dozen schools. Most of these schools are from the Northwest, though some teams come as far away as Boston. Linfield speech alumna and one of the organizers for the tournament Morgan St. Jean, ’08, said planning

for Mahaffey began months ago. Miller found and registered schools that wanted to participate. St. Jean said it was a team effort bringing the tournament to fruition, as all members spent hours during the week and night before the event setting up the venues and moving things from Ford Hall, the usual headquarters of the team, to Riley Student Center. Senior member of the team Rachel Mills testified to the rigor of the training program. Everyone entered in multiple events and trained for them at least two days out of the week. The team prepared debate briefs Tuesdays and put on mock debates in the Speech Lab. There was individual event practice on Wednesdays, during which team members rehearse for each

other. Ultimately, Mills said, each member of the team is motivated to succeed and practiced outside of the scheduled times. “It’s a very individual contest. You can’t rely on your coach to prepare you; you have to really do it yourself,” she said. Such training was particularly called for this year since half the members are freshmen. Valenta says that this has been great for the team overall and the freshmen’s success is a positive sign. Half of the team graduated last year, and with even more poised to graduate this spring, he finds it encouraging to see the new generation doing as well as they are. “The talent coming in from high school is great,” he said. “It’s great to see that talent replacement.” Matt Sunderland can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Marketing for Canine Assistants

Photo courtesy of Michelle Nelson Two Linfield marketing classes will join L.C. Marketing Group for real-world experience 11 p.m. Nov. 6 at the football game at Maxwell Field, where they will fundraise for the group with a raffle. Students will see a street team in action as they represent the Canine Assistants, a national volunteer program that trains service dogs for people with disabilities or special needs.


6

www.linfieldreview.com

News

November 5, 2010

Linfield is recognized for scholarship success Septembre Russell Copy chief The Chronicle of Higher Education included Linfield College among its Oct. 24 list of schools at which leading numbers of students receive Fulbright scholarships. Competitive Scholarships Adviser Debbie Olsen said that the Chronicle’s list is erroneous. There were eight applicants representing Linfield and of them, four won scholarships. She said this was the

most applicants and winners she has seen. The 2010-2011 Fulbright scholarship grantees are Ashley Bennett, Krista Foltz, Lily Niland and Brett Tolman, all class of ’10. Through the governmental educational exchange program, Fulbright, the graduates will travel to Germany, Chile, Peru and Sri Lanka, respectively. The Linfield scholars are abroad, except Foltz, whose Fulbright in Chile is set to begin in 2011. “It’s a huge honor to have

made it onto this list,” Olsen said. “If you look at it, some of our sister schools are not on the list.” The college appeared with 30 other Fulbrightproducing top schools under the Bachelor institutions category, which includes Wellesley College, Lewis & Clark College and Luther College, from which President Thomas Hellie graduated magna cum laude in 1975. “[The news] is really exciting for Linfield,” Olsen said. “It’s far more indica-

tion that Linfield is competing with some big-name schools.” Olsen said the recognition is a boon to the school’s academic reputation and could catch prospective students’ attention. As far as the Fulbright list goes, there are some schools that have a large number of applicants and produce only three or four winners. Linfield has a high yield, Olsen said. When the college made the 2006 list, there were five applicants, three of whom

received scholarships. Twenty Linfield seniors have been awarded Fulbrights since 1999. Seven Fulbright applications submitted their applications this year. Fulbright applications were submitted by Oct. 18, Olsen said. “It’s a long process,” she said. “People begin to work with me in the spring of their junior year, and then, throughout the summer, they begin to work more and more intensively.” Students don’t just work with her on their Fulbright

Students celebrate diverse cultures

(Above) Junior Garrick Rozario prepares to strike with a cricket bat Nov. 4, during Diversity Week. Cricket is a new event this year in Diversity Week, which is organized by the Linfield Activities Board. (Top right) Freshman Katharine Thomas sits as henna artist Wendy Rover draws art on her forearm at the henna diversity event Nov. 1 in Riley Student Center. Henna is one of the most popular Diversity Week events. (Left) Sophomore Katharine Holm hides her embarrassment from onlookers in Dillin Hall on Nov. 2 while the Azteca de Oro mariachi band serenades her for her 20th birthday. (Bottom right) Sophomore Jinglin Zeng holds a cricket bat in the Nov. 4 cricket game. All photos by Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer

applications, she said. “Linfield has a wonderful, supportive faculty who help mentor students in the process,” Olsen said. “I think what makes a difference for us is the one-on-one help that they get from all of their mentors on campus.” For the Chronicle of Higher Education’s full list of Top Producers of U.S. Fulbright Students, visit http://chronicle.com/article/Table-Top-Producers-ofUS/125073. Septembre Russell can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.


November 5, 2010

Features

www.linfieldreview.com

â&#x20AC;˘

7


8

Wayward Wildcats •

A

www.linfieldreview.com

Features

November 5, 2010

pproximately 53 percent of Linfield students come from Oregon, but the rest travel much farther. Senior Dulce Kersting’s Iowa hometown is

1,862 miles from campus, and if senior Tyler Huynh wanted to drive to his North Carolina home, it would take him 45 hours. Sophomore Sara Peterson faces a 27-hour drive to her home in Little Falls, Minn. Junior Kate Koten must drive 2,142 miles to reach her hometown of Hinsdale, Ill. What make them come all the way out to Linfield? Read on to find out. by Rachel Mills/Freelancer

A long way from home

“It’s a long trip home,” Kersting said. “Six to eight hours to fly and about 35 hours to drive.” Unlike the many Linfield students who can head home for the weekend, Kersting said that she only sees her family a few times each year because she lives in Iowa. “I’ve stayed in Mac the last two summers but [had] gone home at the beginning of June and the end of August,” she said. Kersting usually flies home for Christmas, but her Thanksgivings are spent in Seattle with her father, who moved there just after her freshman year. “Even though we have a week for Thanksgiving Break now, it isn’t any easier to go home,” Kersting said. “It’s too close to Christmas to pay for the extra plane flight and deal with the hassle of traveling during the holidays.” Although Kersting can’t go home on weekends, that doesn’t mean that she doesn’t stay in touch with her family. “I talk to my mom every day,” she said. “And I probably talk to my dad at least twice a week. Mom comes to visit me during the semester, and I go home on breaks.” Huynh said that he hasn’t been home since Spring Break of his freshman year. “I usually stay in Oregon for breaks and visit family,” he said. “This Thanksgiving, I’ll be with my grandma in Salem.” While some students find it difficult to stay at Linfield for extended periods of time, Huynh said that it is normal for him. “I miss the home cooking, but it doesn’t really affect me much,” he said. However, Huynh said that it is harder now than when he was a freshman. “My first year, everything was new,” he said. “New experiences; new people. Now, I start to look back and miss it.” Peterson feels the opposite. She said that as a freshman, she called home frequently. “Any time I failed a test or something bad happened, I’d call my mom,” she said. “Now, I call and sit down and talk to my parents about once a week, but I call about little things less often than before.” Koten said that she is lucky to have supportive parents. Without them, the distance would be harder to cope with. “They are always willing to Skype or chat on the phone,” she said. Although Koten is only able to go home twice during the school year and for the summer, she said she feels lucky. “Some people aren’t even allowed that much,” she said. Koten said that she struggles with being away when times are hard. “I don’t like it when something is happening at home, and I can’t be there to help,” she said. She said she gets homesick when she is ill, but overall, she loves Oregon. “I am so glad I made the decision I did,” she said. Peterson said that studying far from home is difficult sometimes but that it has been good for her. “Other students never had the chance to find out

who they are on their own,” she said. “I had to start fresh in Oregon without knowing anyone.”

Searching for a fresh start A fresh start is a common theme for out-of-state students and one of the primary reasons they start searching for a college far from home. Their search is made more difficult, however, by the fact that Linfield doesn’t recruit in certain states. “Counselors from the Admissions Office travel to Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and Utah,” Senior Associate Director of Admissions Kristie Patterson said. She said that many out-of-state students, who didn’t learn about Linfield from a targeted search, heard about Linfield and choose to call or apply. Peterson’s search was specific. She grew up in central Minnesota, and although her parents pushed her to look at schools near home, she started looking out of state. “I searched online for places with D-III tennis teams, good science programs and small campuses,” she said. “I had an inkling that I’d like to go the Pacific Northwest.” Peterson said that in the Northwest, she had only ever visited Seattle, but she said she heard the Portland area was pretty. “When I flew to Linfield to visit, I thought the campus was gorgeous,” she said. “I talked to the tennis coach and really liked her, and I met [Assistant Professor of Biology] Anne Kruchten and talked to her.” She said that her parents wanted her to stay closer. “When my sisters wanted to go to college out of state, they said ‘Oh good, you should go!’ But when I wanted [to], they said ‘You should look at schools in Minnesota!’” She said that she heard a lot about Linfield and its community when she visited. “I just got a vibe here,” she said. Koten, who grew up in Hinsdale, Ill., felt the same way when she and her family first flew into Seattle and took a road trip through Oregon. “I fell in love with the dry summer, delicious pine scent and stunning scenery,” she said. “It was that summer I knew, some day, I would live there.” She first heard about Linfield when her great aunt, a high school counselor, helped her find several schools that matched her interests. “She made a list for me: schools out West, schools in the Midwest and one out East. My parents were pushing for Wittenberg University in Ohio, but I wanted out of the Midwest,” Koten said. Huynh, from Hickory, N.C., also heard about Linfield from family members. “My aunt and uncle went to Linfield,” he said. “We always visited Oregon, so when I told my mom, she just said, ‘If you want to go to Oregon, that’s fine.’” Kersting grew up in Ames, Iowa. She, like Peterson, searched specifically for a school similar to Linfield. “I knew that I was looking for a private, liberal arts school in a small town,” she said. “Everything that Linfield is.”

Name: Sara Peterso Year: Sophomore Hometown: Little F Why Linfield: D-II program and small ca go to the Pacific Nort coach

She said that she searched online and then took a road trip with her father to visit her top schools. “I fell in love with Linfield,” she said. That is a common reaction for visiting students, Peterson said. “Students are attracted to the kind of education and community that Linfield offers,” Patterson said. “The friendly atmosphere and connection that students have to the faculty is something that prospective students pick up on when they visit.” That atmosphere made it easier for these students to feel at home from their hometowns despite the long distance.

Oregon vs. home

If Peterson could go back and do it again, she said that she wouldn’t change anything. “It’s almost like studying abroad,” she said. “I’m just in a different state instead of a different country.”


Features

November 5, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

Name: Kate Koten Year: Junior Hometown: Hinsdale, Ill. Why Linfield: For the dry summers, pine scent and scenery Name: Dulce Kersting Year: Senior Hometown: Story City, Iowa Why Linfield: Private, liberal arts school in a small town; friendly atmosphere and connection between students

on Name: Tyler Huynh Year: Senior Hometown: Hickory, N.C. Why Linfield: Aunt and uncle went to Linfield

Falls, Minn. II tennis, science ampuses; liked to thwest; liked tennis

She said that many people are surprised to learn that she is from Minnesota. “Everyone asks ‘Why are you here?’” She said. “They always want to try the Minnesota accent, and they are disappointed that I don’t have an accent.” Kersting said that many people don’t know where her home is. “They think that Iowa is in the south,” she said. “It’s just silly. Didn’t you pass fifth grade geography? I know where your state is; why don’t you know where mine is?” Overall, though, she is happy in Oregon. “I’ve never been so homesick that I thought about transferring,” she said. However, she said that the distance can be difficult sometimes. “As I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten more homesick,” she said. “I’ve learned to appreciate home.” Kersting said that this is one of the advantages of attending a school far from home. “When I left home, I was sick of Iowa,” she said.

“I graduated with the same people I went to kindergarten with, and I was ready to leave.” It has also made her more self-reliant, Kersting said. She said that one of her high school friends came to visit her once and watched her go grocery shopping, do her own laundry and manage her own money. Her friend was surprised by how Kersting’s maturity. “I probably wouldn’t have learned that if I had stayed home,” Kersting said. “I might still be working for my mom like I did in high school.” Moving to Oregon has changed Koten drastically, she said, but in a good way. “Ever since I stepped on campus, I felt totally comfortable and in my element,” she said. “I knew I would be successful here, and I would love it.” She said that she is a lot more outgoing than she used to be and more outdoor-oriented. “It is difficult to guess what I would have been like if I had stayed, but, so far, I feel good about

the kind of person I’m becoming,” she said. “I’m so glad I made the decision I did.” Huynh said that the distance has made him more independent. “I have to feed myself and take care of myself,” he said. “I have no parents to take me out to dinner.” The hardest part for him was not leaving his family in North Carolina, but leaving his friends. “It’s hard to stay in contact with them,” he said. “Family is always there for you, but friends are harder. I’ve learned to let go.” All four students have moved far from home and left some pieces of their lives behind, but they say that they have received much from their Linfield experience, and none of them regret it. In fact, all four plan to continue spreading their horizons outside their home states after college, either in Ore. or in a different state that is waiting to be explored. Rachel Mills can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.

9


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

November 5, 2010

Cast members embrace challenging, comedic roles Jessica Prokop Culture editor The Linfield Department of Theatre and Communication Arts opened its first play of the season, a comedy by Ken Ludwig, titled “Lend Me A Tenor” on Nov. 4 in the Marshall Theatre in Ford Hall. The play, set in 1934, is about a famous opera singer, Tito Morelli, Il Stupendo, who is supposed to perform at the Cleveland Grand Opera Company for one night. Saunders, the general manager of the opera company, constantly puts down his employee, Max. When Tito arrives late and sick to the show, Max tries to win his boss’ approval by helping him out and giving him sleeping pills. However, Tito takes too large of a dose and passes out. Saunders and Max think that he overdosed and died. To get a handle on the situation, Max pretends to be Tito, fooling everyone and filling in for him in the show. Eventually, Tito comes to and is ready to perform. The rest of the play turns into a confusing scenario of mistaken identity between Tito and Max and the women who pine for them, cast member freshman Ellen Brahe said.

Brahe plays the lead female role, Maggie, who is Max’s girlfriend. Max asks her to marry him, and she says no because she wants to wait. She declined because she is obsessed with Tito and wants to lose her virginity to him, Brahe said. “Maggie is a busybody; her character is everywhere,” Brahe said. “She wants to charm [Tito] and fall in love.” This was Brahe’s first formal audition and casting at Linfield and the first time she has ever played a female role in her acting career, she said. “Playing Maggie has gotten me to open up my femininity,” she said. “It’s been a real journey for me.” “Lend Me A Tenor” also opened up new experiences for male lead, junior Jeremy Moll, who plays Tito. “I had to step out of my comfort zone because my character is so energetic, and it was a challenge acting ‘dead,’” Moll said. “This was by far the most in-depth I have been in a role.” Besides Tito’s drama onstage, there is a lot of action off stage such as, running from the police and getting sick in the bathroom, Moll said. “It is a great script, and I really enjoyed it,” he said.

“It is clever, entertaining and fits together well.” Other students cast in the play are freshman Jenny Layton; sophomores Chris Forrer, Aaron Granum, Jenaveve Linabery and Claudia Ramirez; and senior Chris Lambert. Approximately 39 students auditioned for a part in the play; however, there were only eight spots available, Brahe said. Janet Gupton, associate professor of theatre arts and resident director, chose and directed the play. “I recommend anyone to watch this play because it is a whimsical comedy,” Brahe said. “The misidentity is a big part of the comical aspect.” Tickets can be purchased at the Marshall Theatre Box Office by phone, on the Web or in person. General admission is $9; seniors, 62 and over, and Linfield faculty and staff pay $7; and student tickets are $5. Student tickets can be purchased for $3 on Nov. 5. “Lend Me A Tenor” will be performed Nov. 4-6 and 11-13 at 7:30 p.m. and Nov. 7 at 2 p.m. in the Marshall Theatre in Ford Hall. For more information about purchasing tickets, visit www.linfield.edu/ arts-and-culture.html. Jessica Prokop can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer

Freshman Jenny Layton (left), plays Julie, a rich and extravagant older woman. She performed a scene with senior Chris Lambert (right), who plays Saunders, during a Nov. 3 dress rehearsal.

Singer-songwriter advises aspiring artists Robin Fahy Freelancer Kris Gruen, a singersongwriter from New York, gave an informative presentation on how to advance musical talents from hopeful hobby to prospective profession on Nov. 3 in the Delkin Recital Hall in the Vivian A. Bull Music Center. Growing up in Vermont and New York, Gruen struggled to bring his poetry to the forefront until he found a way to express it through music. Through producer and friend Charles Newman, who owns the Mother West Records label in New York City, Gruen recorded and produced his finished product that eventually launched him into the media world. “I’ve done years of live performance and studio practice to get to this point,” Gruen said. “It’s important not to get caught up and spend too much time in the creative process.” As part of the independent scene, Gruen played at some larger venues, such as the South by Southwest

music festival in Austin, Texas. Part of his workshop was about making connections with people in the music business. “You have to be willing to deal with people,” Gruen told the audience of approximately 30. The audience engaged the speakers, hoping to gain insights from those in the music business. “As an aspiring artist, it is important to listen to perspectives of other artists in the business,” sophomore pianist Collin Morris said. The workshop offered advice on networking in the area. Musical collectives, such as the independent scene in Portland, are changing the music culture into an unplugged, experimental sound. At this stage in Gruen’s career, he said the studio sound and editing take over most of the creative process of the music. Gruen said, he honed his sound by using a studio. He also played an acoustic set for everyone, with accompaniment by New-

Joel Ray/Freelancer

Singer-songwriter Kris Gruen, a New York native, performs an acoustic set with accompaniment, producer Charles Newman, during a music workshop Nov. 3 in the Delkin Recital Hall in the Vivian A. Bull Music Center. man. Being involved in the academic world has changed his standard audience to collegiate level, which influences his work with students, he said.

“In particular when I’m looking at schools, I’m looking for an open community, a liberal arts college, like Linfield,” Gruen said. A considerable portion

of his promotion, he admitted, was because of selling songs to commercial agencies. “I recently sold some of my music to Proctor & Gamble [Co.] to use during

the Olympics,” he said. He called this “consumer commercial success.” “Sometimes you’re conflicted when you’re supporting a cause but don’t believe in the company,” he said. However, Gruen said his commercial success helped to further his profession. “There’s a real human element in the industry, and the artist is the heart,” he said, explaining that art can be a viable prospective career. Gruen said that success with a music degree is more about time organization and strategy than massive amounts of songwriting and practice. Mike Fite, a McMinnville musician, attended the show and agreed with Gruen. “It’s incredibly important to manage yourself to be successful,” Fite said. For more information about singer-songwriter Kris Gruen, visit his website at www.krisgruen.com.

Robin Fahy can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


November 5, 2010

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Portland band says ‘Hello’ during Cat Cab Gabi Nygaard Staff reporter Hot on the heels of its new album release, Hello Electric introduced students to its raw electronic sound in a Nov. 4 Cat Cab. The bearded, multiinstrumentalist trio dug in with hard-hitting, aggressive songs, maintaining high energy throughout their set. The band tried out a new song for the audience. “I think it was really cool, especially the drums and guitar,” freshman Suzi Sumkhuu said. “I think they should bring this kind of band more often so people can [get to] know this kind of music more.” Hello Electric hails from Portland, consisting of members Kirk Ohnstad, Zachary Bendt and Henry Gibson. Ohnstad founded the band in 2005, starting it as a project out of his dorm room in Eugene, Ore. “It’s cool that they’re local,” freshman Lizzie Curtis said. In 2008, Bendt and Gibson joined, and the band began performing around Portland, fine-tuning its

sound. The result is a highimpact show that leaves the audience looking lost in contemplation. The band’s first studio effort and second full-length album titled “Skychief” was released last summer. John Gourley of Portugal. The Man, a band that performed a Cat Cab last fall, acted as producer. “We’re rereleasing the album; we’re working with a publicist in Montreal and doing a music video for that,” Ohnstad said. “It will be released officially on Jan. 25 on a vinyl. The editions that we sold in Europe were different ones with different songs so we switched it up.” Each member of Hello Electric began his music career playing the drums, something Hello Electric attributes as its fundamental base in rhythm. Building on a foundation set by beat machines and drums, aggressive electric guitar and edgy vocals drive Hello Electric’s bold sound. “It started out as me just recording for a long time and the live shows just followed,” Ohnstad said. “Playing music live is a pas-

Joel Ray/Freelancer

Portland-based band Hello Electric performs songs from its newest album, “Skychief,” during a professional Cat Cab on Nov. 4 in the Fred Meyer Lounge. sion.” Hello Electric recently returned from touring across Austria. Ohnstad said it was an awesome experience for the band. Techno is popular in Austria. The clubs the band played in had good

sound systems which Ohnstad said worked well with Hello Electric’s music. “We made some really good friends in kind of a small part of the world to play in,” Ohnstad said. Hello Electric has more

shows scheduled in Oregon this winter. “We’re pre-releasing [the album] right now, doing a few shows. We’re doing an East Coast tour in February,” Ohnstad said. To hear more from Hello

Electric, visit the band’s MySpace page at www. myspace.com/spaceflight127 or website at www. helloelectric.com. Gabi Nygaard can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Pep band and drumline rock the beat

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer

The Linfield Wildcat Pep Band and Drumline perform during the football game’s halftime show on Oct. 30. The pep band and drumline had a drum off, playing “Stink and Garbage” for spectators in the stands. This is their second-ever performance at Linfield.


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

November 5, 2010

Album release is no ‘Small Craft’ ‘Dead Rising 2’ Braden Smith KSLC 90.3 FM Brian Eno: The ubiquitous British musician, producer, theorist and father of ambient music released his latest album, “Small Craft on a Milk Sea,” Nov. 2 in the U.S. on Warp Records. He collaborated with Jon Hopkins and Leo Abrahams. It’s been more than 30 years since Eno’s first ambient album, “Another Green World,” was released in 1975, and the musical mastermind has not lost his touch. The new album is thrilling and mysterious with an array of electronic sounds combining to form an exciting narrative experience. Fans looking for Eno’s true-blue, ambient style will not be disappointed with “Small Craft,” but they may also be pleasantly surprised by some of the new, heavy twists Eno takes with the album. The variance truly defines the album and sets it apart from Eno’s other work. The album begins with Eno’s traditionally calming, peaceful music with the opening track “Emerald and Lime.” The song eloquently features soft, smooth tones and lulling melody. However, in true narrative fashion, this peace

quickly turns to dread and tension with the next song, “Complex Heaven,” which features an eerie pulse in the background and dark, haunting piano and guitar melodies. The tension builds with the next few tracks, particularly on “Flint March,” an intense chase scene showcasing talented percussionist Jez Wiles. This tension snaps two thirds of the way through the sixth track on the album, “2 Forms of Anger,” which builds up with Wiles’ forceful drumming until heavy, jolting electric guitar chords burst onto the scene in climactic fashion. The action begins to descend over the next few songs, although it is still dark and upbeat. “Dust Shuffle,” the last track to feature Wiles, and the following track, “Paleosonic,” conclude the more rousing sounds of the album with upbeat drumming and shadowy electronic and guitar melodies. This falling action ends by returning to the eerie and ghostly sounds from earlier in the album, reaching a peak with the cold and hallow “Calcium Needles.” The last three songs are more traditional Eno, starting with the song “Emerald and Stone,” a cathartic con-

offers a zombiekilling good time Clayton Martin Freelancer

Photo courtesy of www.brian-eno.net. Brian Eno’s latest album, “Small Craft on a Milk Sea,” was released Nov. 2 on the English record label, Warp Records. tinuation of the first track, “Emerald and Lime,” and ending with the 8-minutelong mystery world of “Late Anthropocene.” This latest work by Eno is one of his greatest, perhaps even surpassing his first ambient music masterpiece, “Another Green World.” For those who are unsure about the boundless world of experimental and ambient music, Eno is the perfect album with which to start, and “Small Craft” is a fantastic showcase of Eno’s talents, unique style and eccentricities. Eno first entered the music scene in the early ’70s and has risen to become one

of the most influential musicians in the modern musical world. From producing albums for Talking Heads, Depeche Mode, U2, Coldplay and others, to composing the six-second start-up music for the Windows 95 operating system, Eno has done it all. “Small Craft,” his 25th solo album (not including his 19 collaboration albums), is a scintillating continuation of Eno’s rich musical legacy. Tune into KSLC 90.3 FM to catch a glimpse of Eno’s newest musical voyage, “Small Craft on a Milk Sea.” Braden Smith can be reached at kslcmusic@gmail.com.

Megan Myer/Online editor and Joshua Ensler/News editor

Ever wanted to bash someone’s skull with a nail bat but just found it unreasonable? Chase down a group of old people with a chainsaw but couldn’t find a time or place? Don’t worry. In “Dead Rising 2,” you can do just that and feel great about it because everyone you’re beating down is a zombie. “Dead Rising 2,” released on Sept. 28, is a Capcom and Blue Castle Games baby. The sequel to the popular title “Dead Rising,” the game follows the protagonist Chuck Greene as he tries to prove his innocence to the people who just had their safe zone (Fortune City, Nev.), overtaken by zombies. Apparently someone let in the zombies, and Chuck shouldered the blame. The cool part about the game is that depending on how fast you complete all the core missions, the ending changes. For example, let’s say you were too busy punting zombie heads and didn’t make it to the subsequent core mission in enough time. Well, then you definitely didn’t prove your innocence, and you can expect to be left for dead (pun intended) by the military rescue squad. If you actually clear your name, I will go out on a limb and say you get out of that hellhole. Of course this is only feasible because every time

you start over, you get to save your characters level and stats, so the next time through is much faster. Topping off the awesome story mode is the ability to kill hordes of zombies. When I say hordes I mean H-O-R-D-E-S. There are an infinite amount of zombies to kill, and thousands can be seen onscreen at any given time. You may be saying to yourself, “That sounds like it would get old fast.” Well think again, noobs. “Dead Rising 2” allows the user to unlock new weapon combos. Ever wonder what damage you could do with a pitchfork and a power drill? Well, add the drill to one end and you have a spinning pitchfork of doom that you can impale one zombie with and use to bash all other zombies with while he is spinning like a propeller. Have a machete and a broom? Attach the machete blade to the end of the broom, and you’ll have a spear to make zombie shish kabob. If this game doesn’t get your imagination cooking, I don’t know what will. “Dead Rising 2” is a masterpiece of gore that will feed the nerd-raging side of your soul. So get out there, all you murderous inventors you, and create new ways to mutilate zombies! Clayton Martin can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


Sports

November 5, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

13

’Cats can’t shake their losing streak Matt Bayley Staff reporter Men’s soccer endured rough road games during the weekend, losing matches to Whitman College and Whitworth University on Oct. 30 and 31, respectively. The ’Cats squared off with Whitman in Walla Walla, Wash., where the Whitman Missionaries took control of the game early, scoring in the 6th minute of play. Sophomore forward Leland Matthaeus assisted on the early goal by junior midfielder Sam Freedman to put Whitman ahead 1-0. Missionaries senior midfielder Connor Bottomly scored in the 38th minute and again during the second period to give Whitman a commanding 3-0 lead. Freshman midfielder Abel DeVos scored in the 88th minute for the ’Cats off of an assist from senior midfielder Kevin Donato. DeVos’ score trimmed the lead to 3-1, but the ’Cats would get no closer. The ’Cats had a chance to bounce back against the Whitworth Pirates on Oct. 31, but lost a heartbreaker 0-1. Pirates junior midfielder Cameron Bushey was ejected from the game in the 42nd minute after getting a red card. The loss of Bushey forced Whitworth to play shorthanded for the remainder of the game. Both teams attempted 12 shots within the first 90 minutes of play, but none found the net. The match was decided on a game-winning goal by Pirate senior midfielder Tra-

vis Gutierrez in the 99th minute. The Whitworth defense held strong throughout the game, helped by solid play from junior goalkeeper Brian Sherpe, who finished the game with four saves. Despite holding a 15-14 advantage in shot attempts, the ’Cats failed to capitalize on their scoring opportunities. Senior midfielder Carter Elhabbassi said he thought the team played well, but it also hurt to lose such a close game. “We played with a lot of heart but just couldn’t get a goal,” he said. “It was tough, especially when we had our chances to score. Just tough — just hard to swallow.” Head coach Ian Lefebvre said it’s been particularly difficult to win on Whitworth’s field. “It was tough, especially with their place. I haven’t won there in the four years I’ve been here,” he said. “But we had our opportunities to win that game, and we weren’t able to do it.” The two losses dropped Linfield to a 7-9-1 record overall and 6-7 in the conference. The ’Cats have tumbled down the standings during the past two weeks. Linfield has lost four of its last five games and now sits above only Willamette and George Fox universities — teams that have combined for a 1-22-3 record on the season. But the ’Cats are at the heels of the University of Puget Sound, trailing by only three points in the conference standings. Five points sepa-

Victor Zhu/Freelancer Freshman forward Tyler Repic kicks the ball during a chilly Oct. 24 game at home against the University of Puget Sound. The Wildcats won 2-0, their only win in five matches. rate the third and sixth place teams in the conference. The ’Cats were in the middle of the pack before their skid, holding a 6-5 overall record and 5-3 conference record on Oct. 16. As of Nov. 4, the men hold a 7-9-1 overall record and a 6-7 conference record. Despite tough late season losses, Elhabbassi said this season has turned out better than past seasons. “I feel like this was a better season. We have a great

group of guys and we were right in the mix all season,” he said. “And in the past, we didn’t really compete for the title, but this year I feel like we actually had a chance.” Lefebvre said the team has improved since last season. “I feel like we took a step forward from last year. I think we’re going to lose a couple of our core guys this year,” he said.“After Saturday, we have to move forward, and I like our core group that is coming back next year.”

The ’Cats match up against Willamette for their final game of the conference season on Nov. 6. Willamette has struggled this year, only managing one victory all season. Elhabbassi said that the team will need to be focused to finish the season on a winning note. “We just need to play our game — just play how we play,” he said. “We need to possess the ball and make the most of our opportunities.

And we need to avoid costly mistakes.” Lefebvre agreed with Elhabbassi, stressing the importance of execution. “We’re going to have to do the things we’ve been preaching all year. We don’t go away from the game plan,” he said. “If we connect on our passes, play simple, finish our chances and defend as a unit, then good things will come.” Matt Bayley can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

The Ws give volleyball a hard time Jerry Young Freelancer

Katie Paysinger/Senior photographer Junior Rosa Gimson sets the ball during a practice.

The volleyball team continued a losing streak this week, but there were noticeable improvements in its most recent matches. The Wildcats lost matches against Whitman College and Whitworth University. The losses moved the Wildcats to 6-8 in NWC play. They are still in fourth place. On Oct. 29, Linfield traveled to Walla Walla, Wash. to take on Whitman. The Wildcats came out strong in the first match. They pulled ahead 18-10 and never gave up their eight-point lead. They won the game 25-17. Game two might have been the closest of the matches. Neither team held more then a two-point lead. With the score tied at 23, Whitman scored two quick points to win the game 25-23. Whitman continued their momentum into the third

game winning 25-18. In the fourth match, the Wildcats showed their fight. Whitman had two chances to win the match leading 25-24 and 26-25. Each time, however, Linfield fought and won the match 28-26, forcing a fifth and final game. The match was back-andforth at the beginning, but Whitman won 15-12 in the end. Coach Shane Kimura was pleased to see the drive in the team. “We played well in game one and inconsistent in two and three,” he said. “But we played really hard in game four and came back. The kids battled and pulled it out.” During the match, junior libero Samantha Lau set the season and career dig record. Lau, broke her career record by recording her 1,236th dig. Kimura pointed out that it is impressive that it only took Lau three years to reach this accomplishment.

“She is a great defensive player that keeps a lot of balls in play,” he said. “To break the record in three years: That is a pretty great accomplishment.” Lau and the rest of the team turned their attention to the Whitworth Pirates. The first two matches were extremely close. In game one, neither team was ahead by more than three points at any moment. In the end, Whitworth held a threepoint lead and won the game 25-22. In the second game, the Pirates jumped to a 21-14 lead and appeared to have the game won. Linfield fought back valiantly, pulling within three points before losing the match 21-25. After a decisive threegame win by the Wildcats, 25-14, Whitworth won the match with a 25-15 game four victory. With only two more games on the schedule, Nov.

5 will be the final home game for seniors Emily Carpenter and Rae Smith. Kimura was pleased to have the opportunity to coach these players. “They both came into the program as transfers and adjusted well,” he said. “Rae [Smith] works hard out there, and Emily [Carpenter] has been setting more for us lately. It has been nice to have both of them in the program.” The Wildcats will return all but two players and have one of the top defenses in the conference. With the offense continuing to grow, the Wildcats will look to build upon this year and become contenders in the future. The Wildcats face Pacific Lutheran University 7 p.m. at home on Nov. 5 for senior night. The women have their final game at 7 p.m. at George Fox. Jerry Young can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

November 5, 2010

Football: Oaks wither under ’Cats << Continued from page 16

Chris Forrer Freelancer The football team defeated the Menlo College Oaks 38-0 at home Oct. 30. The game was also a special “Bring a Kid Day” event, and the children were wearing their Wildcat gear with pride. The ’Cats lead the alltime series 12-0 against Menlo, which, until last season, was part of the Northwest Conference. A game against a nonconference foe is unusual this deep into the ninegame season, but head coach Joseph Smith said that Menlo’s sudden departure caused scheduling to fall that way. “Menlo has been difficult for us,” Smith said. “We haven’t played exceptionally well against them over years. I liked our maturity in this game.” Senior quarterback Aaron Boehme completed 20 of 37 passes for 287 yards and two touchdowns, with an additional 92 yards on the ground. Most importantly, Boehme played a clean game, giving up no turnovers. Additionally, senior tailback Simon Lamson added three scoring runs on a modest 61 total yards rushing. Despite these impressive statistics, the story of the game was defense. The Wildcat defense smothered the Oaks, holding them to only 187 total yards of offense and racking up seven sacks in the team’s first shutout victory since 2008. “I was pleased with [the] young guys at end of game,” Smith said. “They held on. It’s hard to shut anybody out.” The LamsonBoehme tandem got things rolling early for their team. Boehme broke open a 34-yard run shortly after the game began, and Lamson scored less than 2 minutes later on a 2-yard bolt into the end zone. Toward the end of the first quarter, Boehme saw senior tailback Taylor Avritt open and dialed up a short, 3-yard touchdown strike to stake Linfield to an early

14-point lead. Despite this quick start, the Wildcat offense struggled for much of the contest, such as in a four-andout on the Menlo goal line late in the second quarter. “We did not probably play our best on offense, but some of that was due to their defense schematic,” Smith said. “Boehme played fantastic, though. It was one of his better games.” Offensively, the ’Cats picked up steam in the middle of the second quarter after Boehme hit a streaking senior wide receiver, Chris Slezak, open for a 47-yard hammer — his longest pass of the game. That big play set up Lamson’s second scoring run of the contest: another short run from only 1-yard deep. Linfield led 21-0 heading into the locker room. “Offensively, we’re still having assignment problems up front,” Smith said. “We’re going to keep working that in practice every day and hope to see improvement.” Freshman kicker Scott Goodman had plenty of field time at the top of the third quarter as the ’Cats failed to mount a drive and had to punt twice. But with about 6 minutes to go in the period, Boehme slashed Menlo for big plays of 11, 25 and 12 yards to set up Lamson’s final, 5-yard touchdown sprint. However, after a big

NEXT GAME Linfield vs. Whitworth Date: Nov. 6 Time: 1 p.m. Location: McMinnville

defensive stand on Menlo’s next possession, senior kick returner P.J. Sequeira choked up the ball after fielding a punt and kept the Oak offense on the field. “We have to continue to work on protecting the football,” Smith said. “We’re doing better as of late, but that area is still a concern.” The defense held strong for the remainder of the contest, snagging another

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer Senior quarterback Aaron Boehme looks to pass the ball Oct. 30. The Wildcats had their first shutout of the season that day against the Menlo College Oaks. two sacks. Boehme added a 14-yard pass to Avritt to score the game’s last touchdown, and with time almost out freshman kicker Jordan Walker boomed in a 45-yard field goal to mark the final score at 38-0. “The kicker position has been an ongoing battle and issue,” Smith said. “Jordan Walker has a tremendous leg and can get it up quickly, but Maika [Kunioka] and Josh [Repp] are great as well. It’s a good problem to have.” Following the game’s conclusion, children received autographs from many of the players, including Boehme, Lamson, senior defensive tackle Paul Nishizaki and senior defensive end Eric Hedin. Hedin, who had five tackles and three sacks during the game, needs only three more sacks to break the school’s 13-year-old, single-season record for sacks. He is also closing in fast on the single-season marks for yards lost from sacks, tackles for loss and

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer Senior wide receiver Ryan Henderson runs the ball toward the end zone as he sneaks by a Menlo College defender Oct. 30 at home. The ’Cats won 38-0. yards from tackles for loss. “Statistically, Eric [Hedin] has a chance to do what no one’s done, and that’s break the all-time season sack record in nine games,” Smith said. “He’s as good as anybody who’s played the game here.” The ’Cats remain at home for another week to face Whitworth Uni-

versity in a NWC game Nov. 6. Linfield sports the No. 12 ranking in the www. d3football.com Top 25 poll and is also ranked No. 7 in the NCAA’s latest regional rankings. Those numbers mean that if playoffs began today, the Wildcats would be seeded seventh and face the University of Wisconsin-

Whitewater, the team that eliminated Linfield in the 2009 playoffs en route to the national title, during the first round. With two games left in the regular season, the Wildcats plan to climb a little higher before playoffs begin. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


Sports

November 5, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

15

Soccer could steal top spot Corrina Crocker Sports editor The women’s soccer team is still battling for the No. 1 spot in the Northwest Conference despite a loss to Whitworth University in Spokane, Wash., on Oct. 31. The Wildcats traveled to eastern Washington on Oct. 30 to play Whitman College and then to the home of the Pirates on Oct. 31. The ’Cats won 3-2 against Whitman but suffered a tough loss against Whitworth as the game ended in 0-1 shutout. “We are definitely a bit frustrated with the overall outcome of the weekend,” senior midfielder Rennika Doty said. “We had high expectations of coming out with two wins.” Senior forward Brittany Willis agreed. “We were obviously upset with the result on Sunday,” she said. “We are

the better team, but there will always be some games that just don’t fall in your favor.” Sophomore midfielder Anna Sours led the Wildcats in goals scoring two on Saturday. Freshman forward Emily Fellows was second with one goal, tallying her season total to 25 goals. She is nationally ranked fourth in Division III women’s soccer. Although the women did not win both of the games, they still have the opportunity to win the conference title and go to the playoffs. If the women win both games this weekend against George Fox University and the University of Puget Sound, and then UPS loses or ties with Pacific University on Nov. 5, the title will be theirs. “We are confident we can still get first,” Willis said. “We are focusing on what we can control, and that’s

winning both our games.” If the weekend does not go their way, it could be the last weekend for the ’Cats. “We have made such huge strides from last year, which is really encouraging for the years to come. We’re only going to get better from here,” sophomore midfielder Bridget Grant said. “I think we are all really proud of what we have done. Everyone has worked really hard this season, and because of that, we have done what no Linfield women’s soccer team has ever come close to doing,” Willis said. This season will be the ’Cats’ second-winning season in a row since 2002, even if the women do not win this weekend. “Dom [Doty] asked us at the beginning of the season, ‘How do you want to be remembered as a team?’ And looking back at our

Victor Zhu/Freelancer Wildcat freshman keeper Apololine Martinez drop kicks the ball during the Oct. 17 game at home against Pacific University. The ’Cats won 5-0. season, I feel, as a whole we can all say we will be remembered as a team that left a mark,” Willis said.

The next game is at noon on Nov. 5 against George Fox in Newberg, Ore. The team also plays at noon

Nov. 6 against UPS for its final home game. Corrina Crocker can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

’Cats: Season is underway Column: Watch for Pioneers << Continued from page 16 newcomers for fresh talent. Huynh and juniors Conor Colahan and Marc Pereira will be the only upperclassmen competing this season. Although the men’s team is small and young, it plans on working hard and developing skills to compete against hard competition. The women’s team has a larger roster of 26, with many newcomers as well. Senior Adriana Daoust, sophomores Stephanie Longmate and Katie Main and freshmen Natalie Groat and Nicole Paulachak will contribute greatly to team success this season.

“The freshmen are looking great. I want to be supportive for the newcomers,” Daoust said. “I want us to have the best sportsmanship and attitude in the pool.” With all of the young swimmers, the teams plan to use to their advantage. Head coach Gary Gutierrez is in his 13th season. Both teams enjoy his laid-back coaching methods and his confidence in his athletes. “He has a great coaching style,” Huynh said. “He’s very helpful with his teaching techniques and drills.” This season will bring the Wildcats a lot of competition, but both teams plan to improve times and place higher at conference than in

previous years. “The team dynamics are really good. We have great team chemistry,” Rivers said. “I’m excited to watch everyone improve throughout the season.” The Wildcats will host their next meet at 1 p.m. Nov. 6. The women’s team will compete against Mills College and College of Idaho, and the men will also compete against College of Idaho. “We competed against College of Idaho last year,” Daoust said. “They provide good competition, and it’s a great meet to start the season off with.” Katey Barger can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

<< Continued from page 16 yards a contest. Don’t count out their offense, either: 39 points and 453.8 yards per game are nothing to sneeze at. Also like PLU, the Bearcats have a shot to break into the West Region’s top eight teams and secure an at-large playoff berth if they can win out in its last two games against the Lutes and the Pioneers. Should Linfield drop their remaining games and the Bearcats win out, Willamette would even win the NWC. Their final game of the

season against Lewis & Clark looks to be a retelling of the age old adage, “What happens when an unstoppable force (Lewis & Clark’s prolific offense) meets an immovable object (Willamette’s sturdy defense)?” Lewis & Clark, 4-3 (2-2) The Pioneers are undoubtedly the biggest surprise in the NWC this season. Predicted to finish last, Lewis & Clark has defied all odds to surge to the middle of the pack in the conference race and are not completely removed from title contention. If the Pioneers defeat Willamette and Linfield in their final two games, and

the Wildcats also lose to Whitworth, Lewis & Clark would wrap up its first conference championship in God only knows how long. Freshman Pioneer quarterback Keith Welch is averaging 279.5 yards of total offense in a breakout season, but the Lewis & Clark defense has been atrocious, allowing 404 yards and 34.2 points a game. If Lewis & Clark can mange to crack Willamette or Linfield’s defensive scheme, it just might be able to outgun them and eke out a huge upset victory. Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Wildcat sports schedule Friday, Nov. 5 Men’s basketball

@ Portland State

7 p.m.

Women’s soccer

@ George Fox

Noon

Saturday, Nov. 6 Volleyball

vs. Pacific Lutheran

10 a.m.

Football

vs. Whitworth

1 p.m.

Men’s soccer

vs. Willamette

6 p.m.

Women’s soccer

vs. Puget Sound

Noon

Swimming

vs. Mills (women only)

1 p.m.

Swimming

vs. College of Idaho

7 p.m.

Volleyball

@ George Fox

6 p.m.


16

sports

www.linfieldreview.com

Catline

Sports Commentary

A look at NWC top dogs

Northwest Conference standings

Chris Forrer Freelancer

Football Linfield

4-0

Hey ’Cats. With only two regular season games left, I figured now would be the perfect time to write a column dissecting the Northwest Conference football playoff picture. So, without further ado, a short analysis of the top contenders in the NWC, with their current standing, name, record and conference record (in parentheses):

1.000

Pacific Lutheran

3-1

.750

Willamette

3-1

.750

Lewis & Clark

2-2

.500

Whitworth

2-2

.500

Puget Sound

1-4

.200

Pacific

0-5

.000

Volleyball Whitworth

12-2

.857

Puget Sound

10-2

.800

Pacific Lutheran

12-3

.800

Linfield

6-8

.429

George Fox

5-9

.357

Lewis & Clark

5-9

.357

Whitman

5-9

.357

Willamette

4-10

.286

Pacific

3-11

.214

Women’s soccer Puget Sound

12-1-1

.893

Whitworth

11-3-1

.767

Linfield

11-3

.786

Pacific

8-4-2

.643

Willamette

5-7-2

.429

George Fox

4-9-1

.321

4-10-1

.300

Whitman Pacific Lutheran

3-10-1

.250

Lewis & Clark

1-12-1

.107

9-2-2

.769

Men’s soccer Pacific Pacific Lutheran

9-4

.692

Whitman

8-3-2

.692

Whitworth

7-4-2

.615

Puget Sound

6-4-3

.577

6-7

.462

Willamette

1-10-2

.154

George Fox

0-12-1

.038

Linfield

November 5, 2010

Wildcats finish at home Men’s soccer suffered a tough weekend but will finish the season at home at 6 p.m. Nov. 6 hosting the Willamette University Bearcats. See page 13>> Volleyball ends season The Wildcats faced tough losses after a trip to Eastern Washington but have chance to finish the season strong. See page 13 >> Women eye top spot The conference title and playoffs are still possibilities for the women’s soccer teams as they finish the season. See page 15 >> Sports schedule Missed out on the sporting events last weekend? Check out the sports schedule to see when your favorite teams play this weekend. See page 15>> Follow The Linfield Review on Twitter for Wildcat sports updates: @Linfield_Review.

Danyelle Myers/Freelancer Senior quarterback Aaron Boehme hands the ball off to senior running back Taylor Avritt during the game against Menlo College on Oct. 30. The Wildcats shut out the Oaks.

The Wildcats shut out Menlo College at home on “Bring a Kid Day” on Oct. 30. Read more on page 15 >>

Wildcats shut out the Menlo Oaks

’Cats splash into new season Katey Barger Staff reporter Linfield’s men’s and women’s swim teams competed in their season opener against all of the Northwest Conference teams Oct. 29 and 30. Friday’s sprint meet was held at Willamette University, while Saturday’s relay races took place at home. Swimmers said that the meet provided them an opportunity to scope out the competition for the season and see what teams will be the strongest. “Everyone participates in the same races, so it’s a great meet to watch teams compete,” freshman Lee Rivers said. The men’s and women’s team placed sixth out of seven and had a team score of 48, which set them at sixth place. Whitworth University swept the races, taking first place on both the men’s and women’s sides

Pacific Lutheran University, 6-1 (3-1) The Lutes began hot this season by rattling off five consecutive victories before getting emphatically swatted by Linfield at home two weeks ago. Their success has largely been on the back of senior quarterback Jordan Rassmusen, who is playing the best ball of his life this year at around 230 yards per game and 10 touchdowns. In the end, PLU’s porous defense led to its undoing; the Lutes are allowing just more than 393 yards a game in total offense. Despite all this, they remained No. 8 in the NCAA’s latest regional rankings, meaning they may be able to secure an at-large bid in the playoffs should Linfield win out. PLU controls its own destiny now, and their final regular season game against Willamette will ultimately decide whether one team or two will represent the NWC when playoffs come around.

men’s side, most being underclassmen, the team is going to look to the veterans for leadership and to the

Willamette University, 6-2 (3-1) Just like PLU, Willamette’s lone conference loss was a 35-7 drubbing at the hands of Linfield. Defense has been the Bearcats’ strong suit this season, as they only allow 18.8 points and 291.2

>> Please see ’Cats page 15

>> Please see Column page 15

Victor Zhu/Freelancer Junior Marc Pereira competes in the men’s 100-meter butterfly relay race at home during the NWC relays on Oct. 30. and ending with a combined score of 186. “Whitworth will be our hardest competition,” senior Tyler Huynh said. “They have a huge team.” With only 11 swimmers on the

Linfield College, 6-1 (4-0) Linfield has once again shown why it is the cream of the NWC crop with commanding victories in each of its four conference games. The ’Cats are averaging an unreal 487.2 yards and 47.8 points per game while only allowing 13.8 points and 290.5. With only games against Whitworth University and Lewis & Clark College left, Linfield figures to waltz into the playoffs wearing the NWC crown for the second-straight year. Watch out for Lewis & Clark on offense, however: The Pioneers are just behind Linfield in both points and yards per game. Whitworth’s stingy pass defense may present some problems for senior quarterback Aaron Boehme as well.


TLR Issue 10 11-5-2010