Page 1

Winter 2016

News For the Community

CELEBRATING THE HOLIDAYS WITH GOOD WISHES Dear Neighbor,

It’s that time of year again. Before we know it, family parties, end of year office deadlines, gift shopping, house tidying, and cookie baking will be upon us. In this flurry of activity, it’s important to take a step back to appreciate those around us who make all that chaos worth it! I, for one, couldn’t serve as your Mayor without the love and support of my family and friends. Equally important to the success of any mayor, council, or city is the staff who keep us safe, build our streets, promote our economy, and serve us all. Our monumental progress wouldn’t be possible without world class professional partners. The holiday season is also time where anticipation grows for the year to come. As for Kate and I, that means anticipation for our growing family! Neighbors across Des Plaines have been incredibly generous with their well wishes and parenting tips for our first child, and with some luck I’ll be able to report a happy and healthy addition to our city in just a few months! Let’s come together as a community to celebrate this holiday season. Join me on Friday, December 2nd, from 4:00 P.M. to 7:00 P.M. in Metropolitan Square for our annual Tree Lighting Ceremony. This year, we will host guest appearances of the little yellow Minions, enjoy savory hot chocolate, and revel in the live music. Following tradition, the winners of this year’s Holiday Poster Contest will accompany Santa into the square aboard a fire engine! Then, together as one community, we’ll flip the big switch and light up our city! While the event is free to all, we ask neighbors to consider bringing a non-perishable food item and/or winter clothing item for donation to the Des Plaines Self-Help Closet & Food Pantry.

Your Mayor, Matt Bogusz

IN THIS ISSUE

From the City Manager............2 The City Clerk...........................3 Economic Development...........4 Finance Department ...............5 Public Works & Engineering...6-7 Fire Department........................8 Police Department....................9 History Center News.............. 10 Health & Human Services........11 Frisbie Senior Center..............12

Your Elected Officials Mayor • Matthew J. Bogusz 847.391.5301 mbogusz@desplaines.org City Clerk • Gloria J. Ludwig 847.391.5311 gludwig@desplaines.org First Ward • Patricia Haugeberg 847.514.8526 phaugeberg@desplaines.org Second Ward • John Robinson 847.530.3345 jrobinson@desplaines.org Third Ward • Denise Rodd 847.514.6318 drodd@desplaines.org Fourth Ward • Dick Sayad 847.204.7729 dsayad@desplaines.org Fifth Ward • James Brookman 847.812.6463 jbrookman@desplaines.org Sixth Ward • Malcolm Chester 847.372.1097 mchester@desplaines.org Seventh Ward • Don Smith 847.878.5289 dsmith@desplaines.org Eighth Ward • Mike Charewicz 847.878.5291 mcharewicz@desplaines.org

THE CITY OF DES PLAINES  |  City Hall, 1420 Miner St  |  847.391.5300  | desplaines.org

December 2016 Des Plaines Digest  

Read our most recent newsletter.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you