Page 1

LILY ROSE WED Weddings | Events | Designs

Preview Issue

Clean | Simple | Elegant A Lily Rose Entertainment Publication

FALL 2010


Building My Media Empire‌


‌One Calla Lily & Rose at a Time.

www.lilyroseentertainment.net | www.lilyrosewed.net | www.thelilyroseblog.blogspot.com Facebook: LilyRoseEntertainment | Twitter: SheaThomas73 | Youtube: LilyRoseEnt advertise@lilyrosewed.net blogadvertise@lilyrosewed.net tvadvertise@lilyrosewed.net 703-310-4195


A N I V I A

C R U Z


It’s AnIvIA Cosmetics & skin care

www.itsanivia.com


C O N T E N T S


9 PUBLISHER’S PAGE 12 PHOTO ESSAYS 13 WEDDINGS 1 6 Anne & Nate 20 Erica & Aaron 24 Amber & Brandon

28 EVENTS 30 Prom Night 2010 32 Two Birds, One Stone 34 75 Years of Blessings

44 DEPARTMENT OF FINE ARTS 45 Reel Love 48 Book Club & Author Spotlight 50 Treble Clef 52 Poet‟s Pen

54 FEATURES 55 Something Blue: 10 Wedding Planning Tips By Ivori Lipscomb-Warren 57 You Give Me Butterflies By Shea Thomas

36 DESIGNS 38 Interiors 40 Culinary Art 41 Invitations


Shea Thomas

M A S T

Founder | Publisher | Creative Director Editor-In-Chief

Anivia Cruz Beauty Editor

Contributors Nijla Muâ€&#x;min Ivori Lipscomb-Warren

Graphic Design HLT Graphics

Public Relations & Marketing C + R Marketing Group

Multi-Media Advertising

H E A D

Digital Magazine: advertise@lilyrosewed.net Blog: blogadvertise@lilyrosewed.net Television: tvadvertise@lilyrosewed.net

Distribution Online: www.issuu.com Print: www.magcloud.com

Contact: www.lilyrosewed.net www.thelilyroseblog.blogspot.com letters@lilyrosewed.net 703-310-4195

Social Networks Facebook: LilyRoseEntertainment Twitter: sheathomas73 Youtube: LilyRoseEnt


LILY ROSE WED Weddings | Events | Designs A Magazine for all Things Creative Welcome to the preview issue of LILY ROSE WED, a digital magazine featuring the very best in weddings, events, and designs. We truly are “A Magazine for all Things Creative.” My obsession with calla lilies and roses is well documented. After I earned a master‟s in corporate & public communication from Seton Hall University in May 2004, naming my film and television production company was not a struggle: Lily Rose Entertainment, LLC was born. It is the parent company of LILY ROSE WED. After spending a decade writing for various newspapers and magazines including The Star-Ledger, The Network Journal, and The Middletown Journal, I decided to create a magazine celebrating creativity. “Your idea is very um…different,” one perspective publisher said. “There are magazines for weddings, some for events, and many for designs, nothing for all three,” she said. “Your idea may be too different.” Instead of feeling defeated, I was determined. My philosophy: “If I‟m creating something that is not on the market, my publication will be unique.” Originality should be celebrated. I thanked her and decided to add publisher to my bio. Thank you for joining me on this journey, Best,

Shea Thomas

P U B L I S H E R „S P A G E


You are Cordially Invited! Join us on the pages of

Lily Rose WED Weddings | Events | Designs

Advertise with us. Reach: Brides & Grooms, Industry Professionals, and Fans of all Things Creative.


advertise@lilyrosewed.net blogadvertise@lilyrosewed.net tvadvertise@lilyrosewed.net


PHOTO ESSAYS

WEDDINGS | EVENTS | DESIGNS 12 | FALL 2010


Sponsored By

Beyond the Curves

W E D D I N G S FALL 2010 | 13


Beyond the Curves Embrace Your Curves A Reality Television Series Coming Soon


The Universal Language

LOVE Amor English

Spanish

Japanese

Anne & Nate May 15, 2010 Charlottesville, VA

爱 Chinese

Liebe

Amour

German

French

Amore Italian 16 | FALL 2010

사랑 Korean


Location Groom‟s Parent‟s Farm: Charlottesville, VA Catering Smokin‟ Eddie‟s Barbecue Ruckersville, VA Photography Jamie Reinicke Cake Tina Roberts, a family friend Gown Purchased online. “I have no idea who the designer is,” Anne said laughing. “But I am selling it.” Tuxedos Men‟s Warehouse Jewelry Sabine Levy, family friend Hair Christopher Hayes Bella Hair Studio

Make-up Grace Cacciatore MAC Tent Rental F.D.S. Tents

FALL 2010 | 17


18 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 19


Erica & Aaron May 2, 2010 Buford, GA Location Four Oaks Manor Buford, GA

Event Design & Planning Four Oaks Manor Erica K. Faulkner

Invitations Sandstone Invitations

Photographer Tosha Francis

Coordinator Courtney West

Dress Sensualle

Flowers Laurenâ€&#x;s Floral Art

Make-Up Margoux Leroux

Shoes Jeffrey Campbell

20 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 21


22 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 23


Amber & Brandon September 15, 2007 Smyrna, TN

24 | FALL 2010


Location: Smyrna Armory Building Smyrna, TN Amber said she is the luckiest girl in the world. Not only did she marry a great guy, her sister, Wendy , is a successful event designer. “She took care of everything,� Amber said smiling.

Event Design: Wendy Purser Binns Photography Jeremy Binns

One Source Weddings www.onesourceweddings.net Fall 2010 | 25


Before

26 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 27


E V E N T S Sponsored By 28 | FALL 2010

The Captured Life Photography


Modern Fresh Fun 202-257-3458


Prom Night 2010

Photographed By: Tosha Francis

30 | FALL 2010


Fall 2010 | 31


30th Birthday & Company Launch Two Birds, One Stone

Photographed By: Rhonda Jenkins

32 | FALL 2010


Event Planner : Ivori Lipscomb-Warren Simple Yet Elegant Affairs, LLC www.syeaffairs.com Venue: The Hilton BWI Airport, Linthicum, MD Pastry Chef: Duff Goldman, Charm City Cakes, Baltimore, MD Flowers: Regina Davis, Flowers By Gina D., Baltimore, MD Linen & Chair Rental: Select Event Rentals, Baltimore, MD Photography: Rhonda Jenkins, Divine Expressions Photography, Reisterstown, MD Entertainment: Jerry Stamper, JLS Corp, Inc., Baltimore, MD

FALL 2010 | 33


75 Years of Blessings Mount Calvary Missionary Baptist Church , Newark, NJ Rev. Ralph M. Branch, Jr. 75th Anniversary Banquet Location: Crystal Plaza, Livingston, NJ

34 | FALL 2010


Fall 2010 | 35


D E S I G N S Sponsored By 36 | FALL 2010

Lily Rose WED TV


LILY ROSE WED Weddings | Events | Designs

A Magazine for all Things Creative

A Reality Television Series Coming Soon


INTERIORS Master Bedroom Makeover

Before

Photographed By: Michelle Rasmussen Interior Design By: Michelle Hinckley www.windhula.blogspot.com 38 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 39


CULINARY ART The Art of Food

Photographed By: Maggie Winters Prepared By: Ginger Naglee

40 | FALL 2010


INVITATIONS FANCY PAPER

Designed & Photographed By: Yvette Sencion

FALL 2010 | 41


LILY ROSE WED | Lily Rose Entertainment | Lily Rose Foundation www.thelilyroseblog.blogspot.com


Yvette Sencion | www.sdezigns.net | (908) 764-4407


Department of

FINE ARTS

William Shakespeare

FILM | LITERATURE | MUSIC | POETRY

44 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 45


A Nijla Mu‟min Film Photographed By: Jerome Shaw Synopsis By Nijla Mu‟min

SALAAM

is the coming of age story of Sabaa, a junior high school student who loves math. Set in 1999, the film follows the often awkward, rich development of a Black girl navigating the worlds of her Muslim mother, non-religious father, judgmental friends, and the pop-culture obsessed society around her. How she deals with, and ultimately confronts this pressure is as riveting as it is daring.

Filmmaker‟s Bio Ms. Mu‟min is a filmmaker, writer, poet, and photographer. She is a 2007 graduate of UC Berkeley where she earned a bachelor‟s in Mass Communications and African American Studies. She attended the MFA film program at Howard University and is currently completing her graduate studies in Film Directing at the California Institute of the Arts.

For further information, please visit: www.sweetpotatopieproductions.com www.salaamthemovie.com

46 | FALL 2010


FALL 2010 | 47


48 | FALL 2010


By Shea Thomas Victoria Rowell had a mega smile as she entered a private room of the DC restaurant, Bus Boys and Poets for a presentation and book signing. The actress, author, and dancer greeted about 50 guests with hugs before reading excerpts from her two books, Secrets of a Soap Opera Diva and The Women Who Raised Me. “Go after your dream, visualize it, and make it happen,” she said. Rowell is best known for her roles on the CBS network as Drucilla Winters on the daytime drama, The Young and the Restless, and the evening drama, Diagnosis Murder. Her first book which honors all the mother figures in her life has been optioned by HBO. She shared words of encouragement and advice for aspiring entertainers. “Be about the business of this industry,” Rowell said. The mother of two said discipline is key in her life, especially when she writes for 13 consecutive hours. “We always have these moments in life when we want to quit,” she said. “I have to keep breathing and don‟t feel like it, but you have to find a way to push through.”

www.victoriarowell.com FALL 2010 | 49


50 | FALL 2010


By Shea Thomas When it comes to creativity, Joseph Rose, 25, is multi-dimensional. He portrayed a musician in a Howard University student production of “A Raisin in the Sun” for Advanced Film Directing Fall 2009. After his scenes were complete, he switched gears and worked on lighting for the project. Born and raised in New Bedford, MA, Rose also brings versatility to his musical endeavors. He is a musician, singer, and song writer, who plays several instruments including the guitar, key boards, bass and percussion. “ You name it I play it,” he laughed during a recent phone interview. “I love hip-hop, rock, and acoustic.” Although Rose is a solo artist, he is the front man of a collaboration group, N()nes. He has several artists on his current CD, “The Forever Guarantee,” available on itunes.. Rose earned a bachelor‟s in film in 2008 from Howard University in Washington, DC. He plans to earn a graduate degree in audio engineering in the near future. He has been playing professionally for four years and is sharpening his live performance skills at small venues in the DC Metro area. He also is a band member for pianist and vocalist, Desiree Jordan. The one thing Rose looks forward to is directing himself in his first music video: “that‟s the coolest part about being a musician with a film degree,” he said.

FALL 2010 | 51


POET‟S

PEN 52 | FALL 2010


“FAITH & FEAR" A SHEA THOMAS POEM Faith and fear can't reside in the same home. Fear must be evicted, so faith can live peacefully. Fear will make you ask "why me?" Faith will make you ask "why not me?" Fear will trick you into thinking the glass is half empty. Faith will help you realize the glass is actually half full. Fear will have you stuck on "what if?" Faith will have you moving forward to what "will be." Fear will allow that "green eyed monster" to rear it's ugly head. Faith will help you rejoice in your loved one's happiness. Fear will help you make excuses. Faith will teach you procrastination is the enemy. Fear will make you want to follow. Faith will make you want to lead. Fear will allow you to wallow in loneliness. Faith will encourage you to appreciate your solitude. Fear will leave you wondering about your next step. Faith will inspire you to ask The Creator to humbly order your steps. Make this the year you give fear his eviction notice. CIRCA JANUARY 14, 2010

FALL 2010 | 53


SOMETHING

BLUE

54 | FALL 2010

10 WEDDING PLANNING TIPS

FEATURES

By Ivori Lipscomb-Warren Simple Yet Elegant Affairs, LLC


FALL 2010 | 55


56 | FALL 2010


You Give Me Butterflies By Shea Thomas

Akisha & Tim Wedding Date: November 13, 2010 Coordinator: Monica Williams, Couture Events & Weddings www.kikiandtimwedding.com

Sometimes love catches you by surprise! Akisha Eliga, 35, met Timothy Harrison, 38, a man she describes as her “best friend “and “soul mate,” online at Yahoo Personals. She joined the site to mingle and possibly meet new friends. “If I was not aware of God before, I am now,” Eliga said. “He is my BFF. My mission everyday is to not mess this up.” Harrison said he feels the same way. “I love our chemistry together,” he said. “We really are best friends.” Harrison was initially smitten with Eliga‟s picture. However, he said her well written profile was even more impressive. The couple chatted online for about a month before meeting for a casual dinner date followed by their mutual hobby, pool. Their second date at the Cheesecake Factory, sealed their fate. Harrison proposed eight months after the couple met.

“I had no idea we would fall in love so quickly,” Harrison said. “(Marriage) It was the furthest thing from my mind.” Eliga was born and raised in Newark, New Jersey and Harrison is from the District of Columbia. The couple has planned an intimate wedding for about 30 guests in the DC Metro area on November 13, 2010. A second marriage for the groom, Harrison said he looks forward to the festivities. “ I did the Justice of The Peace the first time around. This time, I‟m really looking forward to the church wedding and professing our love in front of our family and friends,” he said. Eliga‟s two children Amir, 16 and Ahyanah, 14, will be part of the bridal party. “When God blesses you, it doesn‟t get any better than this,” Eliga said. “I can‟t wait to be Mrs. Harrison. FALL 2010 | 57


LILY ROSE WED Weddings | Events | Designs WINTER ISSUE Available Online December 2010

www.lilyrosewed.net www.thelilyroseblog.blogspot.com


A Magazine for all Things Creative

Profile for LILY ROSE WED

LILY ROSE WED  

A Magazine for all Things Creative

LILY ROSE WED  

A Magazine for all Things Creative

Advertisement