Issuu on Google+

Student Testimonials Table of Contents Student Name

Awards Won

Alex Lee Anu Prasad

Global Business: 4th BSLC 2009, 1st BSLC 2010 Business Ethics: 2nd SLC 2010; Parliamentary Procedure: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009; Public Speaking I: 4th BSLC 2008 Business Math: 2nd BSLC, 3rd SLC 2010; Business Calculations: 9th BSLC 2010 Accounting II: 7th BSLC 2010; Banking and Financial Systems: 3rd SLC 2009; Business Calculations: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 8th NLC 2008; Business Procedures: 4th BSLC 2008; Computer Problem Solving: 5th BSLC, 4th SLC 2010; Introduction to Technology Concepts: 6th BSLC 2007 Business Ethics: 2nd SLC 2010; Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure: 1st SLC 2009; Job Interview: 2nd BSLC 2009; Parliamentary Procedure: 1st BLSC, 2nd SLC, 4th NLC 2008; 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009 Global Business: 4th BSLC 2009, 1st BSLC 2010 FBLA Principles and Procedures: 3rd BSLC, 3rd SLC 2010; Parliamentary Procedure: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009 Future Business Leader: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC 2009; 1st BSLC, 1st SLC 2010; Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure: 2nd SLC 2008; Parliamentary Procedure: 2nd BSLC, 4th SLC 2007; 1st BLSC, 2nd SLC, 4th NLC 2008; 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009 FBLA Principles and Procedures: 1st BSLC, 2nd SLC, 1st NLC 2010; Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure: 3rd SLC 2010 Business Procedures: 4th BSLC 2010; Sports Management: 3rd BSLC 2009, 8th BSLC 2010

Arjun Manimaran Brandon Liu

Cathy Xu

Eric Xu Janet Chu Kavya Shankar

Roopa Shankar

Sandeep Peddada

Page Number 2 2 3 3

4

5 5 6

6

7

Key BSLC = Bay Section Leadership Conference SLC = State Leadership Conference NLC = National Leadership Conference Copyright Š Lynbrook FBLA

1


“1) Set up a timeline: schedule out what needs to be done, and when. This timeline needs to be firm and final if anything is going to get done. 2) Have resources ready: make sure you know what you have to study off of. This includes practice tests, textbooks, and any other resource. Compile them in one easy, accessible place. 3) Don't always study by yourself: Meet with others! As unproductive as it may sound, working with others generally will output better results. Find others who are competing in the same event. For oral events, judge each other in speaking and presentation skills. However you should definitely still have some quiet time alone to review your material. 4) Don't cram at the last minute: You may think you can start studying the day before the conference, but it's not going to work. You'll end up losing most of what information you learn, if any. Start early! The day before the conference should be set aside to relax. Get a good night's sleep. 5) Ask questions: If you don't understand something, try to find someone who has competed in that event before. Chances are, they will be able to give you some very good advice and tips. Don't be afraid to ask someone for help!” -Alex Lee Global Business: 4th BSLC 2009, 1st BSLC 2010

“Competitors! I know that competing may seem daunting and sometimes, the process of competing with hundreds of other individuals seems near impossible. However there are ways to make your competitive experience rewarding and worthwhile. Study with a few friends in the same event as you. Or you can simply make a study group with some peers, even not in the same event, to motivate yourself to work like those around you. Try not to cram, because you probably won't retain much. Try to set out a little bit of time since you are given your respective events so you can build up your knowledge as the year goes on. Try to give yourself opportunities to take tests before the day of the competition. Don't just review multiple choice question answers, actually put yourself in a test taking position and attempt the problem set. If you are doing an oral event, have a friend, an officer, or yourself make up a prompt to practice presenting with. And finally, don't stress about winning -there's so much more to the FBLA experience :)” -Anu Prasad Business Ethics: 2nd SLC 2010 Parliamentary Procedure: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009 Public Speaking I: 4th BSLC 2008

Copyright © Lynbrook FBLA

2


“1) Learn the key concepts from books, and test them out on practice tests. 2) Get used to the format of the test, and learn to manage your time wisely. 3) There are a lot of questions and a little amount of time, so if a question seems like it will take a long time, skip it and go back to it once you finish the others. 4) Work quickly, but efficiently.” -Arjun Manimaran Business Math: 2nd BSLC, 3rd SLC 2010 Business Calculations: 9th BSLC 2010

“1) Practice tests: FBLA recycles a lot of questions, and it's crucial to get to understand the scope of the test so that you can... 2) Study from a textbook. But to choose the best textbook, you probably want to... 3) Talk to a student who previously did well in the exam, who can tell you all sorts of tips and tricks, and the best methods for studying for that particular test.” -Brandon Liu Accounting II: 7th BSLC 2010 Banking and Financial Systems: 3rd SLC 2009 Business Calculations: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 8th NLC 2008 Business Procedures: 4th BSLC 2008 Computer Problem Solving: 5th BSLC, 4th SLC 2010 Introduction to Technology Concepts: 6th BSLC 2007

Copyright © Lynbrook FBLA

3


"Business Ethics is not a very difficult event, and screening/presentation should be fun. I know for myself, after competing in Parliamentary Procedure, Business Ethics was relatively stress-free. For screening, you need to write a paper on your opinion about a business ethics situation. I would suggest structuring it as you would any high school essay, with a clear introduction and conclusion, and points in between. Be sure to not only give your suggestion, but to sufficiently address any opposing viewpoints or alternative suggestions. This will really separate the As from the Bs. Also, answer EVERY PART OF THE PROMPT, explicitly. And throw in a few official-sounding fancy business vocabulary terms, to make your paper sound more legit. And have an MLA bibliography. We actually didn't practice that much for business ethics, so we didn't have a "usual structure." But for our presentation (which was awarded 2nd at SLC), I remember our outline went something like this: 1. Hello we are the team from Lynbrook High School. Today's problem is . . . 2. This is a question of business ethics. Ethics are important in today's business culture because . . . 3. So in this situation, ___ could . . . (here, we listed at least two alternative solutions, followed by why they don't work) 4. Our team recommends that ___ . . . (here we explained our solution in detail) 5. Doing ____ might have certain negative effects, such as . . . but we believe that this is the best solution in the long run because . . . (really really elaborate here) 6. Quick conclusion This is definitely not a set-in-stone outline, so definitely take it with a grain of salt. But the most important part about oral screening is always speaking ability, so practice practice practice. For Job Interview, have a really impressive resume and prep answers to all the typical job interview questions which can be found online." -Cathy Xu Business Ethics: 2nd SLC 2010 Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure: 1st SLC 2009 Job Interview: 2nd BSLC 2009 Parliamentary Procedure: 1st BLSC, 2nd SLC, 4th NLC 2008; 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009

Copyright Š Lynbrook FBLA

4


“Complete all of the practice tests available to you online, until you can ace all of the tests without much thought at all. Afterwards, buy or borrow textbooks and study them extensively. I would suggest answering some practice questions and reviewing your answers. Throughout, it is important to learn vocabulary terms and review them periodically. However, there is more to the event than just a written portion. All team events require a presentation or a case study of some sort, so it is important to prepare sufficiently for this. Download sample case studies online and practice them under realistic testing conditions (for example, giving your team 20 minutes to prepare), and be sure to have someone watch who can give good advice! This part is essential. It is useful if you read up on examples, scenarios, quotes, or statistics that you can use in a presentation as they will make you appear more knowledgeable. For events that have different testing formats, you will just have to prepare for those as per the instructions and descriptions found in the Competitive Events Packet. Perhaps most importantly, do not procrastinate! Study, study, study, and you will succeed! If you don’t believe me, then look at the results from various competitors in the past.” -Eric Xu Global Business: 4th BSLC 2009, 1st BSLC 2010

“Just study hard, don't try cramming all of your studying into the last week or even the last month before competitions begin. Start earlier and give yourself lots of time to thoroughly learn your event. Take this competition seriously because your competitors sure do!” -Janet Chu FBLA Principles and Procedures: 3rd BSLC, 3rd SLC 2010 Parliamentary Procedure: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009

Copyright © Lynbrook FBLA

5


“1) Find a textbook related to the subject and INTERNALIZE ALL THE INFORMATION. 2) Use Google to find practice tests (FBLA tests and non-FBLA tests) in order to learn more about the material. 3) Try to get your hands on the test bank for the textbook. 4) Apply the knowledge to your every day life! 5) STUDY IN GROUPS. This is uper effective. Split up material so that you all teach material to each other and create tests for each other!” -Kavya Shankar: Future Business Leader: 1st BSLC, 1st SLC 2009; 1st BSLC, 1st SLC 2010 Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure: 2nd SLC 2008 Parliamentary Procedure: 2nd BSLC, 4th SLC 2007; 1st BLSC, 2nd SLC, 4th NLC 2008; 1st BSLC, 1st SLC, 1st NLC 2009

“My favorite competitive event would be FBLA Principles and Procedures! Studying for this event was a BLAST! (I'm sure you probably would have never heard the words "studying and "blast" used in the same sentence. But it's true.) I made flashcards and color-coded sheets and quizzed myself and printed out 200-400 pages of material and stuck the pages in a binder that I called my “P&P Binder.” You're learning, but at the same time you're having fun with this event. Walking around FBLA conferences, I love the feeling of being the person who knows the most about FBLA and its goals. I truly know what FBLA stands for and what its purpose and goals are. Having an abundance of knowledge about FBLA and its components allows me to truly understand and appreciate the organization that I am a part of, and that’s why I love it!” -Roopa Shankar FBLA Principles and Procedures: 1st BSLC, 2nd SLC, 1st NLC 2010 Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure: 3rd SLC 2010

Copyright © Lynbrook FBLA

6


“1) Take lots of (timed) practice tests, and actually take the time to go over them and see what you missed; afterwards, make a list of concepts that you missed or struggled with. Then, go back and study those topics, and take more tests. You should see an increase in your long-term performance after taking multiple tests. This should work for any event. 2) Alternatively, you could get a book about your competition topic, and read through it/study from it like that. 3) Finally, you could use the study resources provided on the FBLA website, and use that to study, just as you would use a book/etc.” -Sandeep Peddada Business Procedures: 4th BSLC 2010 Sports Management: 3rd BSLC 2009, 8th BSLC 2010

Copyright © Lynbrook FBLA

7


/Student_Testimonials_Document