Hunstanton On top of Hunstanton’s landmark red and white cliffs is another famous landmark – The Hunstanton Lighthouse, which ceased operating in 1921 and is now a holiday home. Nearby stands the ruin of St Edmund’s Chapel named after the young St Edmund (adopted by the King of East Anglia in Germany) who arrived in Hunstanton in 855AD to claim his land upon the King’s death. In 869AD the Danes attacked and tried to force Edmund to renounce his Christian beliefs. Stories say, because he refused to do so, the Danes tied him up and shot him with arrows. A wolf then stood guard over his body until it could be buried in a shrine at what is now Bury St Edmunds. This is the depiction on the town’s sign.
KLmagazine March 2011
Although it is a pleasure to walk around the seaside resort there are two other, more unusual ways to explore the town – The Wash Monster and The Land Train both operated by Searles Leisure Group. The Wash Monster is arguably the most notable of all the vessels in the Searles Sea Tours collection, recognised for its sharks head design. Originally used by the American forces, this huge craft was the first 60 seater amphibious craft to be used commercially anywhere in the world and can travel at 13mph on sand and 8 knots in the water! A unique way to see Hunstanton’s coast by sea! To save your legs there is a regular service operated by the miniature land train to and from the Searles resort into the town during the season.
Published on Mar 1, 2011