Issuu on Google+

SIAYA COUNTY

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


KENYA TRANSITION INITIATIVE SUPPORTING INNOVATIVE DEVOLUTION ACTIVITIES The Kenya Transition Initiative provides fast, flexible and uniquely targeted assistance to Kenyan state and non-state actors conducting innovative devolution activities. The Initiative works through its office in Eldoret to provide support to local organizations, predominantly through grants. DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE In August 2010, more than 12 million Kenyans voted in a referendum which adopted a new Constitution mandating sweeping changes. Again, in March 2013, more than 12 million Kenyans voted for a new, representative government that includes county governors, county assemblies, National Assembly members including women’s representatives, a Senate, as well as a new President. USAID will continue supporting these millions of Kenyans to achieve the envisioned reforms, gender equity, and the devolution of authority and budgetary resources to new county level governments. Americans share Kenyans’ belief that participatory governance will

2

Siaya Youth cleaning community

address the historical injustices that fueled past violence and will enable accelerated and inclusive economic development for all Kenyans.

POPULATION AND HEALTH USAID invests in population and health programs that improve the survival, well-being and productivity of the Kenyan population – especially for poor, marginalized, and underserved communities. USAID partners with the Government of

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT

Kenya at the national and county levels to reduce the burden of major infectious diseases such as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, address the main causes of childhood disease and maternal mortality, and meet family planning needs. This includes crosscutting work to strengthen health care systems and capacity, supporting national government to formulate key policies and guidelines, and assisting counties to better plan, manage, and finance quality health services to meet local needs.


USAID’s Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness program, through its local partners, Green Zone Agencies and the 186 members of the Siaya Passion Fruit Growers Association, is supporting the development of a new fruit processing plant in Siaya. The processing plant is funded by SNV in collaboration with the European Union, the Ministry of Agriculture and the MicroEnterprises Support Programme Trust. Smallholder passion fruit farmers who will supply the plant are receiving field-based technical trainings in irrigation skills, crop agronomy as well as farming as a business.

AGRICULTURE AND BUSINESS The U.S. President’s Global Hunger and Food Security Initiative, known as Feed the Future, can help counties increase rural incomes, enhance food security, and improve nutritional status of rural families. Activities focus on increasing the competitiveness of key values chains, including wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking smallholder farmers to domestic and export markets. USAID works with the private sector in agriculture processing, banking, clean energy, and export promotion through many firms. Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives and outreach is within the mandate of the USAID Financial Inclusion in Rural Microenterprises program. USAID can support county government to develop an investment promotion plan. EDUCATION AND YOUTH USAID’s Yes Youth Can program has empowered close to 1,000,000 Kenyan youth to lead their own development, build their communities, expand their economic opportunities, and become responsible members of society. USAID supports programs that provide youth with access to financial services, scholarships and leadership training, health services, conflict mitigation strategies, and workforce programs. NATIONAL AND POLICY PROGRAMS Underpinning the front line programs that USAID supports at the county level are dozens of national level and policy programs that support health systems strengthening, legislative and regulatory work, civil society strengthening and the procurement of health commodities such as antiretroviral drugs and mosquito nets.

PARTNERING WITH USAID USAID partners with non-governmental organizations, private sector enterprises, and government entities that successfully respond to competitive solicitations. USAID posts solicitations on two public websites: www.fbo.gov and www.grants.gov. Search for Kenya to find the relevant solicitations. In the early years of devolution, USAID assistance to counties will be delivered through USAID partners. Some of these partners, listed on the back page, already have offices or field staff working in Siaya County. Others may work out of Nairobi or Siaya, but are able to offer technical assistance in Siaya County. To learn if a USAID partner can help you address a specific challenge or take advantage of a specific opportunity, start by talking to USAID. Here is contact information for the USAID staff with whom you can speak:

Strengthening working relations with national bodies such as the Parliament, Transition Authority, National Cohesion and Integration Commission Capacity building for county preparedness Conflict, Mitigation and Reconciliation Building effective working relations with county civil society organizations. Improving public outreach and citizen engagement Promoting gender equity and women’s empowerment Strengthening Health Systems at the County Level Prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS Improving maternal health and child health services Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of malaria Youth empowerment, youth livelihoods, youth access to finance Scholarships and leadership training for orphans and vulnerable children Increasing access to education for marginalized children Improving reading outcomes in the early grades Feed the Future Expanding private sector opportunities and stimulating investment with county government incentives Wholesale market operations, agriculture input services, and linking small holder farmers to domestic and export markets Protecting wildlife and natural resources; strengthening working relations with Kenya Wildlife Service Resilience and disaster management

John Smith-Sreen Jsmith-sreen@usaid.gov 020 862 2853 John Langlois Jlanglois@usaid.gov 020 862 2105 Sam Kona skona@usaid.gov 020 862 2482 Monica Azimi, USAID mazimi@usaid.gov 020-862-2005 Betty Mugo Bmugo@usaid.gov 020 862 2394 Maria Francisco MFrancisco@usaid.gov 020 862 2360 Rene Berger Rberger@usaid.gov 020 862 2258 Sheila Macharia Smacharia@usaid.gov 020 862 2234 Kaendi Munguti kmunguti@usaid.gov 020 862 2292 Winifred Adhiambo wadhiambo@usaid.gov 020 862 2016 Lucy Kithome lkithome@usaid.gov 020 862 2249 T. Wambui Gathenya tgathenya@usaid.gov 020 862 2268 Chris Pagen Cpagen@usaid.gov 020 862 2755 Millie Gadbois mgadbois@usaid.gov 020 862 2023 Benson Kimithi bkimithi@usaid.gov 020 862 2243 Harrigan Mukhongo Hmukhongo@usaid.gov 020 862 2245 Enock Kanyanya Ekanyanya@usaid.gov 0714 606 526 Isaac Thendiu Ithendiu@usaid.gov 020 862 2255

SIAYA COUNTY

3


SIAYA COUNTY PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT

In Siaya, 2,857 pregnant women received services to prevent the transmission of HIV from mother to child – an important step towards achieving an AIDS-free generation in Siaya

USAID supports 36 Siaya youth through Equity Bank’s Wings to Fly Scholarship Program

In Siaya County, the U.S. Government supports 41,528 people on antiretroviral therapy, improves drug supply chains, and increases access to HIV/AIDS counseling and testing

In Siaya County, 117 health workers received training to improve quality of care and 14 health workers received training on leadership, management and governance with support from USAID

In Siaya, USAID’s partner, URAIA Trust, works through Community Aid International to deliver civic education, including information on the Constitution and what it means for women, youth, and minority populations

USAID helped 25,519 Siaya youth age 18 25 to organize themselves into 1,275 youth bunges as part of the Yes Youth Can program

USAID supports 14,443 Siaya children orphaned, or left vulnerable, by HIV/AIDS

Prepared by: USAID/KENYA GIS Facility Nairobi, May 2013

4

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT

The boundaries and names used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the U.S. Government


SIAYA COUNTY

5


USAID-SUPPORTED PROGRAMS ACTIVE IN SIAYA COUNTY POPULATION AND HEALTH PROGRAM APHIAplus Western Nyanza/Western Dr. Ambrose Misore, Chief Of Party Tel: 0722 810 411 Email: amisore@path.org Dr. Maurice Maina, USAID Tel: 020 862 2535 Email: mmaina@usaid.gov

Mentor Mothers Reducing Infections through Support and Education Project Nicole Fulton, Chief of Party Tel: 0723 803 508 Email: nicole.fulton@m2m.org Isabella Yonga, USAID Tel: 020 862 2380 Email: iyonga@usaid.gov

Leadership, Management, and Sustainability Karen Caldwell, Chief of Party Tel: 0703503359 Email: kcaldwell@msh.org

Dr. John Chimumbwa, Chief of Party Tel: 020 271 483 Email: jchimumbwa@msh.org Alice Micheni, USAID Tel: 020 862 2231 Email: amicheni@usaid.gov

Kenya Pharma Steve Hawkins, Chief of Party Tel: +1 (202) 955-3300 Email: shawkins@chemonics.com James Batuka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2420 Email: jbatuka@usaid.gov

DEMOCRACY, RIGHTS, AND GOVERNANCE PROGRAM Peace Initiative Kenya Jebiwot Sumbeiywo, Director Tel: 020-862-2394 Email: Jebiwot.Sumbeiywo@rescue.org

Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Betty Mugo, USAID Tel: 020-862- 2394 Email: bmugo@usaid.gov

Funzo Kenya

Uraia Civic Education

Dr. James Mwanzia, Chief of Party Tel: 0713 817 938 Email: jmwanzia@intrahealth.org

Grace Maingi, Chief of Party Tel: 020 213 5561 E-mail: gmaingi@uraia.or.ke

Peter Waithaka, USAID Tel: 020 862 2330 Email: pwaithaka@usaid.gov

Zephaniah Aura, USAID Tel: 020 862 2000 Email: zaura@usaid.gov

Nutrition & HIV Program

Shujaaz.FM Multimedia Youth Communications Initiative

Dr. David Mwaniki, Chief of Party Tel: 020 1462 0402 Email: dmwaniki@fhi360.org Rolf Campbell Insta Products (EPZ) Limited Tel: 045 22961/2 Email: rolf.campbell@yahoo.com Ruth Tiampati, USAID Tel: 020 862 2226 Email: rtiampati@usaid.gov

Partnership for an HIV-Free Generation Rosemarie Muganda-Onyando, Chief of Party Tel: 020 387 7177 Email: RMuganda@path.org Rene Berger, USAID Tel: 020 862 2258 Email: Rberger@usaid.gov

6

Health Commodities and Services Management

Rob Burnet, Director Tel: 0726 -052-372 Email: rob.burnet@wts.co.ke Monica Azimi, USAID Tel: 0724-256-758 Email: mmcqueary@usaid.gov

EDUCATION AND YOUTH PROGRAM Wings to Fly Scholarship Program Ms. Ivy Mwai Tel: 0711 026 000 Email: ivy.mwai@equitygroupfoundation.com Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

PARTNERING WITH KENYANS IN CIVIL SOCIETY, PRIVATE SECTOR, AND GOVERNMENT


Global Give Back Circle Catherine Kiganjo, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 168 480 Email: catherine.kiganjo@kcdf.or.ke Dr. Lucy Kithome, USAID Tel: 020 862 2249 Email: lkithome@usaid.gov

Developing Village-based Advisors to Improve Food Security Paul Seward, Managing Director Tel: 0724 700 007 Email: fipsafrica@yahoo.com Samson Okumu, USAID Tel: 0208 622 2245 Email: sokumu@usaid.gov

Yes Youth Can – Nyanza Joan Wangusi, Acting Director Tel: 0722 862019 Email: Joan_Wangusi@wvi.org Rosemary Wanjala, USAID Tel: 020 862 2407 Email: rwanjala@usaid.gov

FEED THE FUTURE PROGRAM

Asset Based Financing for Smallholder Farmers Ravi Nayak, Grants Administrator Tel: 0708-259-248 Email: ravi.nayak@oneacrefund.org Harrigan Mukhongo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2245 Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

Kenya Agriculture Value Chain Enterprises Dr. Steve New, FINTRAC Tel: 071 685 6800 Email: snew@fintrac.com Harrigan Mukhongo Tel: 020 862 2245 Email: hmukhongo@usaid.gov

Kenya Horticulture Competitiveness Program Ian Chesterman, Chief of Party Tel: 0732 761 764 Email : ichesterman@fintrac.com Dr. Julius Kilungo, USAID Tel: 020 862 2215 Email: Jkilungo@usaid.gov

Financial Inclusion for Rural Microenterprises Mark Rostal, Chief of Party Tel: 0707 918 665 Email: mark_rostal@dai.com Benson Kimithi, USAID Tel: 020 862 2243 Email: bkimithi@usaid.gov

Kenya Feed the Future Innovation Engine Program Milton Lore, Chief of Party Tel: 0722 517 149 Email: milton.lore@idd.landolakes.com Makeda Tsegaye, USAID Tel: 020 862 2224 Email: mtsegaye@usaid.gov

SIAYA COUNTY

7


U.S. Agency for International Development PO Box 629, Village Market 00621 Nairobi, Kenya Telephone +254 20 862 2000 Fax +254 20 862 2680/ 2682 http://kenya.usaid.gov


Siaya county